burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel Bag 40L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 212 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel Bag 40L

4.9/5
True To Size
January 24, 2023

Bomber travel bag

I was gifted a 55L about 8 years ago and couldn't believe how durable and functional it was. It is still in fantastic shape and over the years I have been inspired to purchase the 40l and 70l. Today, I got the 100l and I know how much utility I will get out of it. Looks amazing and I know I will have it, likely for the rest of my life. Can&#x2... Read More7;t say that about too many travel items! You can't go wrong with these black hole bags!

January 23, 2023

Amazing Bag

I bought the larger version of this bag and within minutes of opening the box and getting it out, I was back on the Patagonia site buying the other size! Truly durable and cosmetically beautiful bag.

January 21, 2023

Perfect travel size

I own a 60L but found that I rarely used its full capacity on 3-14 day trips, and as such it didn't sit as comfortably as I'd like on my back and shoulders. So I bought a 40L, and after just coming back from a 4 day trip with it, I think it's perfect for my needs. I would say I'm a medium packer, so if you also travel fairly lig... Read Morehtly and don't need to pack any large items like parkas or snow boots, this size should work perfectly. On this recent trip, I took 5 pairs of underwear, 2 pairs of long underwear, 3 short-sleeve shirts, 2 long-sleeve shirts, 1 lightweight fleece sweater, 1 rain shell, 2 pairs of winter gloves, 1 beanie, a small bag of toiletries, a small electric razor, and the removable hood of a down jacket, and I still had a little room for more on top without smashing anything. Due to the slightly smaller size, it also fits better on my back, the straps are comfortable, and while I have sometimes been able to carry my 60L onboard planes, I now know I can for sure do so with this bag as it meets the carry-on size requirements for most airlines. Durability with the 60L has been great, so I've got no doubt it'll be the same here. Definitely recommend.

January 18, 2023

Black Hole Fan

Love black hole duffels. I have a 100l, 70l, 55l and this is my second 40l. A little heavy but super sturdy and built to last. Love the assortment of colors and the recycled fabric. Great for travel

January 17, 2023

The packing !!!

Great bag bought on sale at a reasonable price but the manner in which it was shipped almost ruined it. Patagonia has out smarted itself with the way it ships bags making it infuriating to unpack.

January 15, 2023

Love these bags.

We use them for skiing, sailing, and travel.

January 12, 2023

amazing bag!

This 40 L bag is perfect for taking back and forth to Crossfit! it holds all I need, is easy to maneuver and fits easily into my life!

January 11, 2023

Stylish and functional

I have always loved everything you guys put out

January 11, 2023

Perfect For Carry-on Wise Traveler

I have used several different sized Black Hole duffles. They are all excellent travel companions. But, the 40 l is perfect for carry-on travel. Holds enough for a week or more if careful with packing. Easy to carry with back pack straps or handles. Fits overhead compartment easily. Durable and fairly water resistant. Recommended!

January 10, 2023

Great Cabin Bag

We have at least 10 of these bags; some for the boat ( because they are soft) and some at home for larger weekend bags. I bought this one to carry clothes & other things belonging to my niece & nephew back to NZ. I will check it but it can easily fit in the overheads as long as it isn't stuffed to the gills!

January 10, 2023

Great product!

Great product!

January 9, 2023

Great Travel Bag

Able to fit plenty of clothes and works great as a carry on.

January 7, 2023

Great bag , have multiple sizes

These bags will outlive me . I decided to give several as gifts , its ( the 40l) is the most useful size for me great for carry on , great for weekend trips , the material is durable and washable , important in these times . I have entire wheeled set in black , and all sizes in duffel, but use the small duffles and pack in 2 for weekend trips , et... Read Morec Love new camo ! And they were on sale ! All the people I gifted lived them too !

January 6, 2023

Perfect Duffel

I bought this bag for an eight day sailing trip and it fit all my clothes, shoes and toiletries with extra room to spare! I was able to carry it on my back and got a ton of questions at the airport about what size and model the bag was. It was extremely easy to put in the overhead bin on planes and lug around airports. It was compact enough to fit ... Read Morein the small storage areas of the sailboat as well as it collapses so nicely. 10/10 recommend!

January 4, 2023

Built well

Its what you would expect. A bag that could be passed down to your kids Only request would be that they had a regular shoulder strap option as I always travel with a backpack

January 3, 2023

Rugged yet stylish

The 40 liter Black Hole is the perfect size for weekend getaways and travel carryons. The construction is top notch and the zipper quite durable. I find the detachable shoulder straps particularly useful when my hands are full.

January 2, 2023

Great bag!

This is actually the fourth black hole duffel we've purchased, so now everyone in our family has one for travel. They really do hold an incredible amount of stuff and are durable.

January 2, 2023

Deceptively Large!

My wife and I each own the 55l versions which are MASSIVE inside. I bought the 40l to scale down a bit for short weekend trips. I would HIGHLY recommend adding the Black Hole packing cubes to this, makes organization super nice. * One suggestion/request for the design team: it would be nice if there were some way to remove or stowaway the handles ... Read Morefor when the duffle is worn as a backpack. They ride in the center of your back and if you leave them loose and hanging, your arm has a 98% chance of slipping through them when slinging it up and going for the actual shoulder strap.

January 1, 2023

Holds stuff

I love the simplicity and function of the Black Hole Bags. They are built super bomber to take the abuse of travel. And they are lightweight, allowing more contents on highly scrutinized airline travel. The backpack straps give a great alternative to heavy roller bags. I often use the smallest bag as a day pack around town or on a trip to the showe... Read Morer in a campground. It's a fantastic travel companion.

December 31, 2022

Industry gold standard.

I work as a product designer for a company that manufacturers OEM solutions for bags and everyone at the office considers this the gold standard from which we measure. PHENOMENAL craftsmanship and quality.

December 29, 2022

Tough in a good way!

I have the 55 Black-Hole Duffel and wanted the smaller size to lug field gear in. This fits the bill. The shoulder straps work for me too. I never use them on the 55 but have on the 40. Expect years of use out of them without thinking twice. Get one!

December 28, 2022

Please bring back the 45L

I love love love my 45L black hole bag, which I believe Patagonia calls the "briefcase" - even though it has all the same function as these duffel back packs. I came on line to buy another one for my fiance only to see they don't make it anymore. Too bad as it is the perfect size - maximum capacity while still passing as carry on. Pl... Read Moreease bring it back!

December 28, 2022

Love the color

The Patagonia bag is great for travel

December 24, 2022

Best Bag Ever!

Love this bag so much! I travel for work and it is perfect for a carry on with flying. 10/10 recommend

December 24, 2022

Legit bag

These bags are killer. I just got the 40L size for carry on air travel, and have had the larger sizes already for years. They hold up great to use. The more scuffed up they get, the cooler they look. Great waterproofing. Watch the zippers over time. I had the main zipper on the bag seize up due to corrosion which locked the zipper up. This happened... Read More while stored for months then I took it out and noticed it. I put some lubricant on and it seemed to clear it up again. One request: I would LOVE to have a shoulder strap for these bags. They come included with the backpack straps, but every time I am traveling with these I am already wearing a backpack. I have rigged up my own shoulder strap from a different bag, but its awkward due to not having center line attachment points that line up well for balance, other than the end grab handles, which don't work great for that purpose.

December 23, 2022

Bomber bags

I love these bags. I now have them in 3 different sizes for different needs.

December 22, 2022

Great bag.

One of the best small duffels out there. use it all the time, and this bag has stood up to some abuse. Big fan of the blackhole line.

December 21, 2022

Awesome!!!

Great quality, all around fantastic product

December 20, 2022

Best backpack ever had

Best backpack ever had

December 19, 2022

Perfect gym bag

This is the perfect bag for the climbing gym or standard gym. Its big enough to hold all my sport climbing equipment or weightlifting essentials and still has room for any miscellaneous items (shoes, change of clothes, bottles, etc). I used to use a 20L backpack but found that it wasnt big enough to carry everything. Its big enough to comfortably c... Read Morearry everything but small enough to fit in the gym lockers with ease. This duffel does the job.

December 18, 2022

Love the black hole series

Love all of the black hole bag series. So versatile and easy to carry as a duffle or backpack. Very durable as well!

December 17, 2022

Best Duffel EVER

I've actually never been a huge fan of Duffel bags bc they seem long and oddly distributed ( kinda like a weiner dog), but this Duffel has a truly great shape, is easy to carry (even as the backpack option!), and holds soooo much. The material is so durable, and wipes clean very easily. Can be used for a weekend ( or even week) away, as a work... Read More bag, gym bag, etc. I love this 40L so much, I bought another one! I have a camper van and this is a great size for luggage that I keep in my van, it stay full of clothes and toiletries and I'm stoked for such a smart option.

December 11, 2022

Please bring back the 45L version

These black hole backpacks are THE BEST!! I have an old 45L version and is perfect!! I had it pre children and now is my go to carryon with my kids. It fits EVERYTHING for long haul travel and we dont use screens. I wanted to get a second for my husband and ordered the 40L but its just too small !!!! Please Patagonia bring back the 45L. It is the p... Read Moreerfect travel size for a carryon Europe with all airlines and international travel. I will look out on worn wear but the 45L is just too small. The 45 L took me through week long trips and more. Anyways best bags and hope to see the 45 L soon :-)

Response from Patagonia
December 15, 2022

Hi Helena, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts, and we'll be sure to take your feedback into consideration.

December 11, 2022

Perfect carry on

I picked up this bag for my trip to Vegas. The bag was perfect. The backpack fit was great. Picked up a few cheap packing squares which made for an easier pacing experience altogether and helped me keep to the shape of the bag. 10/10

December 1, 2022

love the color

Very convenient bag for travel.

November 4, 2022

Practical.. great size for a carry on. Wish there was more compartments inside.

Practical.. great size for a carry on. Wish there was additional interior compartments.

October 28, 2022

Love it

Perfect size for a weekend trip. Easy to carry as a duffel, simple to convert to a backpack and have free hands to carry other stuff.

October 25, 2022

Great Overall Duffel, could use a shoulder strap

I bought this duffel to use as a carry on for plane travel. I was tired of having the airline check my bags at the gate. I think this bag is really well constructed. The material and zippers are sturdy and seem like they will last years. I also very much like the colors. My biggest setback with the bag is that there is no included shoulder strap. ... Read MoreThe backpack straps are great, but I was intending to use the bag with a backpack, not AS a backpack. I think adding the option for an included shoulder strap would make this bag absolutely perfect. I ended up using two carabiner hooks and using a generic shoulder strap. It worked OK, but not perfectly.

Response from Patagonia
October 27, 2022

Thanks for your feedback! You might appreciate one of our [Maximum Legal Carry-on Bags](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html) which come in two sizes. They have a shoulder strap and backpack straps. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. We'll be happy to help!

October 20, 2022

Good bag for travel

So far I used this bag once for a 5 day trip as my carry on bag. It had enough space for my clothes and toiletries, but was definitely a tight squeeze. I think its great and loved wearing it as a backpack. However, the buttons got scratched super easily so its not too rugged in that regard. But, the material overall feels very durable so I do like ... Read Moreit.

October 18, 2022

I wanted a high quality

I wanted a high quality bag to take to the gym and sometimes for short trips, I had to choose this over the northface base camp because of all the great reviews the bag had I'm very happy with it and would buy it again.

October 18, 2022

Perfect travel duffel bag

Love the versatility of the black hole duffle. Can be worn as a duffle or asa backpack. Very roomy and super comfortable when carried as a backpack. Stylish and sleek. Highly recommend.

October 10, 2022

Tough as nails

The bag look stylish and very functional. Material is tough and the zippers are strong. One thing I would like to see is a shoulder strap for this bag. I had to modify my own strap to carry it. It has a optional backpack strap but I already had a backpack with me.

Response from Patagonia
October 11, 2022

Hey Stanley, thanks for the review. We recommend checking out our newly redesigned [Black Hole MLC 45L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html?dwvar_49307_color=SEQR). It comes with a strap that doubles as not only a shoulder strap, but a hip belt; and it also comes with backpack straps as well. It's very versatile and might be better suited for your needs.

October 9, 2022

Super functional

Have used this as carry one, jammed pack and still fits under the seat. Its not precious (sturdy) so can shove into tights places. Backpack straps awesome too. Good value.

September 24, 2022

Heavy duty

This is a nice looking, quality bag.

September 20, 2022

Favorite duffel

Absolutely love the black hole duffel bags! I have a few different sizes, love them for traveling, work back, over night bags, camping. The really big ones are great for traveling with ski gear.

September 15, 2022

Good bag!

Good bag with plenty of space at 40L. I haven't gotten to use it yet but it will work well for traveling.

September 5, 2022

Great weekend bag!

Prefect size bag for a couple day trip! Weather Im flying or driving I can fit everything I need!

August 28, 2022

Best bag Ive ever had

Absolutely flawless. No complaints. A little pricey but worth it. Cant imagine ever replacing this bag.

August 27, 2022

Gym bag, occasional travel bag

Excellent quality and well thought out. A minor irritation is that opening the bag requires both zippers to be fully unzipped. An additional centered zipper would help although it would sacrifice the unessential pocket in the lid.

August 20, 2022

Great quality travel bag

This bag is such high quality. Cant wait to cram in my travel clothes for a two week in the go trip.

August 19, 2022

Wish there was a shoulder strap option

I love everything about this bag, it fits enough clothes for a week worth of travel. Its only downside is that it does not have a strap option. If I am already carrying a backpack, then it becomes difficult to carry the duffel when it is full.

August 18, 2022

Seriously awesome!

I have multiple Black Hole bags and they are perfect for everything from gear to a weekend get away. They hold up well and continue to look good - even with rough treatment! I especially like that they are light weight and weather repelling. The BH bags don't have a space-hogging-weight-adding dividers or tech pouches - a plus for me. I can cr... Read Moream in more stuff than I need. The backpack shoulder straps are actually comfortable. Love color combos! If you don't have one, ya gotta get one.. or 3!

August 17, 2022

They ruined a great product

I have a 40 L black hole from a few years ago, and its perfect. I use it every day for work to pack scrubs, lunch, etc... I just sling it over a shoulder and go. I bought this one for my wife who also does anesthesia and has admired mine. There is no longer the strap to sling it over your head/shoulder! Only hand grips or backpack (both shoulders) ... Read Moresetup. What a shame :(

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2022

We're sorry for the disappointment, Michael! An aftermarket shoulder strap can be attached to the newer design. Also, you might prefer the [Black Hole MLC 45L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-briefcase-backpack-45-liters/49306.html), so reach out if you'd like any help with a return!

August 16, 2022

The Perfect Getaway Bag

I got the 40L blackhole duffel after losing my 70L and the downsize was the best choice I've ever made. I travel for weekend getaways often and this is the perfect bag, with a water resistant exterior for all the adventures, plenty of space inside to bring the extra pair of shoes. I wish I could convince everyone to buy one of these bags- it&#... Read Morex27;s a game changer! If you're on the fence, go for it. I also had a small issue with supply chain and it interfering with my move and needed to change the delivery address and Patagonia's customer support was helpful and set me right where I needed to be!

August 12, 2022

Perfect Bag!

I purchased this bag after borrowing my friend's for almost 3 months! I'm a student athlete and I'm often going away for long weekends where I need a couple changes of clothes on top of sports clothes. I am always amazed by how much this bag fits! I was able to fit 1 weeks worth of clothes (without access to laundry) in this bag and ... Read Moreit fits perfectly as a carry on for any airline, both domestic and international. I highly suggest this bag to anyone who is looking for something versatile and easy to pack.

August 8, 2022

Great Sailing Bag

Perfect lightweight duffel for cruising, coastal, and offshore sailing. The bag weighs only 2.5lbs, so while it is larger than a backpack nobody can complain that I am bringing too much weight aboard. Fits a PFD/lifejacket, shoes, gloves and all of my foul weather gear! Backpack straps means I can use both of my hands while carrying it (really he... Read Morelpful when loading/unloading). Have also used it as a pillow when filled with clothing. Another handy feature is that the pockets/bag layout are easy to describe to someone else if you need something retrieved from your bag while you are on-shift. I also found that this bag fits most US/International airlines requirements for a carryon (not personal item).

July 26, 2022

Black Hole bags rock!

I bought the 55L for my adult kids for Christmas and liked them so much I got one for me. Then I decided to get a 40L for overnights or to carry on if I check my 55L. I carry in the 55L all the time. These bags are rugged, look good, super functional, love the removable backpack straps.

July 25, 2022

Perfect size and weight

I loved the color, size and weight. Very practical duffel bag. I would highly recommend. I will be using mine on my next trip to Alaska as my carry on piece.

July 24, 2022

Perfect for a weekend getaway

I pack minimal so the size works out perfect for me. Great product!

July 24, 2022

Great travel bag

Great bag that can serve as a carry on bag. Very versatile in uses!

July 23, 2022

A bit disappointing.

The shoulder straps were an extremely poor fit, to the point I returned the bag. I also found I was looking for more features. I crew on two different boats and now recognized I need a bag with more compartments - ones for items I need to quickly/easily access; ones for shoes; ones for wet foul weather gear - at a minimum. It might be an ok airport... Read More bag, but it doesn't work for my needs. I'm a long-time customer (ask me about my baggie lights...circa 1987 when they were made from ripstop nylon) and I'll continue to be a customer...this bag just wasn't it for me.

July 23, 2022

So I really have never

So I really have never thought about how a So I really have never thought about how a duffel bag fits, But I guess the small duffel was true to size. Actually, I can get more into it then you would think from looking at it. I guess it really is a black hole.

July 22, 2022

Perfect carry on travel size

A water proof bag that carries well. This is my second bag. I use this as a extra empty travel throw in and use this for extra goodies for the trip home.

July 22, 2022

Super cool

This dufflel bag its just awesome when going out of town in any adventure, its water proof,sand proof and its super handy to pack and go and the backpack straps! The best addition!

July 22, 2022

Not what I wanted...

First of all, after waiting for several months of backorder, and ordering the size smaller and returning it to order this, I feel like this size is too large. I have friends who have the same bag ordered a couple years ago that is right in the middle, and a much more usable size for daily use. On the first trip I took this on, the snaps on the hand... Read Moreles completely broke off, I wonder if velcro is better than snaps for the handle strap.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2022

Hi Ben! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the duffel. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 18, 2022

The bag is terrific for

The bag is terrific for carry on for planes and for gym equipment Well designed

July 10, 2022

Incredible Bag

So I purchased this more as a weekend getaway bag that could fit as a carry-on. Good news is it is JUST under carry-on dimensions for, as far as I have seen, any American airline (Delta, SW, AA, etc). Bag was lots of trouble to get out of its packed state (way it came from ship facility) so I do not see myself packing the duffel back into its poc... Read Moreket anytime soon. The material is awesome because it stays mostly rigid and can clearly be water resistant. Also seems like it will be able to survive the occasional tear. Again, I am using this more as a travel bag, but with the backpack straps there is no reason you cannot use this for camping or hiking. I looked up and down the Internet for reviews about what could fit in the bag. People were only throwing in toiletries, camping equipment, and a small tent. Good news, reader, I am here to tell you about what every day items you can shove inside of this bad boy. Warning: some wrinkling may occur to items if you are XXL in pretty much all of your clothing like I am. I was able to fit 1 pair Vans low, 1 pair birkenstocks, 4 pair socks, travel size toiletries (convenient pocket on top flap), 8 pair underwear, 7 heavy cotton tee shirts, 4 pair shorts, and 3 pair long pants (1 jeans and 2 khaki). This bag is pretty darn impressive. I have scoured the Internet looking for this kind of info on the bag to no avail, so figured I would run the test myself and share. Put your name on the E-Mail Waitlist and get you one. And it's made from recycled materials? Incredible.

July 8, 2022

Perfect size

I saw the Patagonia 40L on a recent trip. It is the perfect size for a carry on, love the backpack straps. After getting stranded in the airport overnight, I will never not have toiletries and a change of clothes. The 40L is perfect for that. The fabric of the bag is weather resistant, another plus. In addition to the above it that the bag looks co... Read Moreol!

June 19, 2022

Sturdy bag with many uses, worth the price

I ordered the 40L and it was definitely bigger than expected. Initially I had imagined it to have the width and length of a large school backpack. It was pretty hard to unstuff and I wish that this bag had more internal compartments and pockets, but those are my only complaints. The quality of this bag is amazing. It has very sturdy fabric, seams, ... Read Moreand zippers and I really appreciate the fact that it is water-resistant. I dont mind the price of the bag since I know that it will be able to last me awhile and I will always support businesses that have sustainable and ethical practices. Im not big on outdoorsy stuff outside of glamping, but this bag is great for traveling, camping, and daily use.

June 5, 2022

Great weekend bag

This bag is built to last. Very well built. It is also a lot larger then I expected. Holds lots of stuff. Great weekend bag.

May 29, 2022

Better than backpack and sustainability

I use this for extra gear, snacks, drinksin the boat for late autumn Musky Hunting. Bag sits out in weather on boat, shore back of F150. I have hauled building materials in this bag too. Lasted travels to Finland it was my carrying. Navy blue and chartreuse are super attractive and I am proud to carry it everywhere. Utility of size, pockets, zipper... Read Mores, straps, handle work great for my life. I also love how the bags are measured in Liters. I love this brand so much. Had first stand-up shorts 30 years ago and was hooked.

May 15, 2022

A bag for the Beach

I swim in the ocean four times a week. I need a durable and handy bag to carry my wetsuit (a Patagonia R3) and all of the related stuff. It is much easier to access the contents of a duffle than with the backpack style bag most of my friends use. The bag is very well designed and has been made to last a long time. The previous Patagonia bag that I ... Read Moreused for this purpose lasted almost 20 years. The new bag has the right number of pockets and the detachable shoulder straps are a great feature, plus I could pick the size that was correct for how it would be used. I buy Patagonia products because of their quality and the knowledge that everything about the design, materials and the production of my purchases is based on an very high environmental ethic.

May 15, 2022

Black hole duffel bags

We love the black hole bags for travel. Our family of 4 each has one and we pack in them and they are great for carry on.

April 25, 2022

Good build and Perfect Size for flying

I bring this to work as my gym bag, but also regularly fly with it. It is the perfect size and the build quality is very nice. I like the water resistant exterior.

April 18, 2022

Best Travel Bag

I bought this bag as a travel carry-on, and it is fantastic. The size is perfect, and I didn't look like a tourist with a rolly bag when I made my way around the city after landing. The straps are easy to tuck in if needed. My only qualms were that it was really hard to unstuff upon recieving it- so I definitely won't be able to stuff it ... Read Morein the future- and that the straps aren't super comfortable after a while, which is to be expected. Still definitely love it, and would recommend to everyone.

March 19, 2022

Lots of space, easy to carry.

Purchased this bag for a trip, wanted something easier to carry onto planes for checked baggage. The backpack straps are incredibly convenient, felt that the price was slightly high, hence only the four-star rating. Overall quite a nice bag.

March 14, 2022

Really a Black Hole!

I've been eyeing this bag for a while. I wasn't sure it would be big enough for my needs, because it looks small. But this thing really is a black hole! I crammed a ton of gear in it as a carry on on a trip and had a lot of extra room to spare! I like the option of backpack straps too. The outside pocket is accessible inside too, which is... Read More convenient. I really love this bag!

March 10, 2022

Patagonia standard

I own every sized tote in this. The new colors are fabulous! Wear and tear from hiking and travel, this covers everything. Thank you Patagonia!

March 3, 2022

Perfect Weekend getaway bag

This BlackHole bag will fit everything you need for a long weekend getaway! These bags will take a beating and still look great. I have several sizes now for all travel and camping occasions and do not travel with out them. They are great for hauling all your gear for a trip too.

March 2, 2022

Black Hole Duffel Bag 40L Review

Great Bag! Versatile, durable, and lots of space. I would recommend adding a few internal pockets on the sides or ends to provide additional space for small items that get lost inside the larger bag.

February 25, 2022

Love it!

Super useful product. The size is perfect for a weekend trip or to pack up a bag to the gym. Overall I love the black hole duffel bags and enjoy that I don't have to worry about wear and tear

February 24, 2022

Perfect Travel Bag

Having had two of the 60L Black Hole Duffels for five years now, I ordered the 40L for my son. It's perfect, just a smaller version of the bigger bag I've taken to multiple countries, 20+ states, countless trips and campsites. Holds up well, great material. My only complaint: the 40L is a lot more difficult to fold back into the little po... Read Morecket than our 60L bags. I want to buy myself a smaller one now, too!

February 23, 2022

very good gym bag

the 40l version is the perfect size for a gym bag. it is not too big and not too small. also doubles as a travel duffel. the material is high quality and water resistant. could not have asked for more. the backpack straps also add a good way to comfortably cary the bag.

December 12, 2021

Super Warm

Your review is based on clothing. My past purchases have been Black Holes. Which are some of the best built traveling/adventure duffles built. Water proof, they take a beating and are easy to transport. I do have a large selection of Patagonia clothing. Have not purchased anymore lately. They just do not wear out.

November 30, 2021

GREAT DUFFLE BAG

I have the larger bag and I loved it so much that I wanted a smaller bag as well for day trips/use!

November 22, 2021

Gear bag or for Travel

These are so helpful. Use one all summer to keep mtn bike stuff in the truck. That way there are always extra gloves or water bottles when needed. Then throw the babies clothes in for a night at Grandma's, and you are dialed.

November 14, 2021

Solid, sturdy and well designed

Ok This is a durable incredibly constructed piece of travel gear that I had to replace because my daughter "borrowed" my first one when she went to college. Suspicously she hasn't returned in. Great gear!

October 22, 2021

Super durable

This bag can take a legit beating

October 13, 2021

Black Hole Duffel Just Fine

I have been intrigued by the Black Hole line of duffels and finally bought one at 40 liters in navy. It is just what I hoped it would be, a versatile travel bag or back pack that fits enough clothing for a California (read mostly warm weather) week. It is light weight, but built well. I am quite satisfied with this purchase.

October 7, 2021

Fits so much!

Just fit everything for a two week trip in this duffel as my carry-on, and I am HOOKED.

October 7, 2021

Super Durable

Durable and stylish. Packs extremely small. Only wish it came with a shoulder sling carry option.

September 30, 2021

Great bag

The bag is durable! Its a perfect size for short trips or busy weekends or anything in between. The strong material looks like itll stand the test of time

September 21, 2021

Solid weekend bag

Bought this for weekend trips and it does the job. I don't pack heavy but you need to pack smart as things get tight pretty quick. It's mostly one space, and I wish there was a section for shoes or toiletries (I used a smaller bag for them). Not sure how useful mesh in the top flap is either. Shoulder straps are great, as are the other ha... Read Morendles. Fits in overhead bins nicely.

September 21, 2021

Great duffel from a great company!!

Bag was so good I bought another smaller one for weekend trips.

September 11, 2021

Great bag!

We love this bag, use it for camping, traveling, sports, etc. Its great to fold up and store after using and not taking up a lot of space like other bags. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

September 8, 2021

Excellent Bag for Airports and Car Rides

This bag has been excellent. I have used it as a carry on for planes as well as for car trips. The backpack straps are comfy and, of course, if you need a shoulder strap, just use one backpack strap at it's longest length, diagonally. The handles on the bag are excellent, and the water resistance is a nice touch. The bag is quite aesthetical... Read Morely pleasing to my eye. I have received several compliments on it. It fits enough clothes for about a 5 day trip, especially when supplemented with a small backpack. Great for flying when checking a bag is not favorable. Overall, really couldn't be happier!

September 5, 2021

Perfect Duffel

I travel out of town for work. This 40L duffel holds all I need for 3 to 4 days out of town. No extra nonsense just a big cavernous bag that swallows my gear. Love the bag.

August 31, 2021

Just the right size

I use this bag for transporting my motorcycle helmet, boots and gloves to the race track. My race leathers go in an original Black Hole Bag purchased in 1992. Great products, but I would expect nothing less from Patagonia.

August 30, 2021

Great Bag!

I use this bag for the gym. At first I thought it was kinda small but after reorganizing my items that I keep in there such as my foam roller, a jump rope, two pairs of training shoes, and extra clothes for work, everything fits like a glove with room to spare. I love this bag! All black color-way looks so sleek too.

August 29, 2021

Travel

Ive needed a few bags just to move things around this summer. I thought the 40 and 55L black hole bags are the perfect size!

August 28, 2021

Replacing a 25 year old Patagonia Duffel

My trusty duffel from decades ago functions as well as it did when it was new but this will be much more appropriate for the travel I do these days, and the removable backpack straps and waterproof materials are a huge improvement in functionality. Dont worry the old one will still work great for winter equipment hauling!

August 23, 2021

Travel Bag

Great travel bag that can take a beating!

August 21, 2021

Versatile nice resistant

Excellent material, brown color and orange logo is really nice. The posibility to carry it as a bag or as a backpack is the best thing overall. The only thing that it could be better is that there could be a pocket especially for carrying things vertically as a backpack.

August 20, 2021

Fits Everything!

Bag can pack more than expected and looks great!

August 13, 2021

Loved this bag

I used this on my trip to Hawaii. Perfect for the beach with sand cleaning easily off without getting the inside wet. I wish there was a pocket for a water bottle, but love the backpack straps.

August 12, 2021

Perfect travel bag for economy flying

This bag cubes out perfectly to fit under the seat in front of you perfect for 3-5 days of travel. Both my partner and I each have one as well as the kids.

August 11, 2021

Duffel bag

Great duffel bag ! Outstanding quality! Perfect for the gym or a weekend getaway.

August 4, 2021

40L Black Hole

I've had a 55L Black Hole bag for years, and used it for everything from camping out of the truck to hauling gear to AK for remote trips. But its too big for a carryon bag. With air travel back, and baggage fees thought he roof, I was looking for a carryon bag that would hold enough for a flight east to catch up with my family, my daughters an... Read Mored grandkids after this long break. The 40L back was perfect, fitting in enough clothes, a little extra gear, and still fit in the overhead. And it looks to be every bit as durable as my larger bag.

August 2, 2021

Great...except for the non-waterproof bottom

I love using the 40L black hole bag for everything from 7+ day vacations to long weekend car-camping trips. The padded, removable shoulder straps are great for hauling it around airports, and it's spacious enough to store everything I need. However, I took it for a very rainy weekend in Yosemite and mistakenly left it on the floor of my tent,... Read More which got very wet. I was feeling comforted thinking about the waterproof black hole fabric until I realized that every part of the bag EXCEPT the bottom is lined in black hole fabric. It was pretty unpleasant having damp, smelly clothes all weekend when I thought I could count on the durability of my black hole bag.

July 22, 2021

Amazing!

Great product! Sturdy and makes carrying my gear easy and hassle free.

July 22, 2021

Great bag, a little too small for weekend travel

55L is a better option for a weekend travel bag

July 21, 2021

My 13-year-old grandson loves it

My 13-year-old grandson loves it This was a birthday gift for my 13-year-old grandson who is a man of very few words. He must've used the word "cool" six times And actually said he loves it. He used it the very next weekend to go to a family wedding

July 17, 2021

Quality

Great workout bag. Plenty of space. Quality zippers. Wish it had a separate section for dirty clothes but overall a great purchase.

July 13, 2021

Stylish and practical

Love this duffel. Its the perfect size for a getaway weekend or packing a bag for a sleepover with friends. It passes the cool factor for our kids.

July 9, 2021

black hole bag 40L

Nice bag - another reviewer complained that the bag didn't have a shoulder strap.

July 7, 2021

awesome travel bag

This is my favorite carry on travel bag, I love the space and the way it organizes.

July 3, 2021

Ttavel

This bag is the perfect size for a carty on.

June 30, 2021

Perfect carry on/travel bag

Well designed , and functional, it's the perfect carry on/travel size duffle.

June 30, 2021

Awesome bag

Perfect bag for weekend getaways.

June 27, 2021

Functional & built to last & perfect size!

Amazing duffel! It is built to last. Im really happy I purchased it. It is used multiple times a week. Its the perfect size for quick short trips. I like that there are multiple ways to carry it. I really like the side handle, I use that the most.

June 24, 2021

Carry on, duffel, backpack extraordinaire

First bag from Patagonia, and expectations were quite high. So, when arrived I was blown away by the thoughtful details. 2 way zippers, minimal wasted space, flap covers zipper, easy on-off backpack straps, when backpack main compartment is against back (safer, harder to steal from). First trip was family vacation to Lake Tahoe. Knew we needed a s... Read Moreimple pack for food, water, towels, etc for full days outdoors. Put on the backpack straps and didnt look back. No, it is not as comfortable as a real pack, but more than amazing for light tourist hikes and climbs. Sand from beach simply shakes out. Searching for a reason to buy next size up its that perfect, go-to weekend pack.

June 21, 2021

perfect

Bought the item for a rafting trip down the Grand Canyon and the size limit was specified. The bag had extra spots to put stuff and the backpack straps made it super easy to carry around.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Thanks for the feedback, Robert! Even though the Black Hole bags are not waterproof, we're glad this duffel worked for your trip.

June 18, 2021

Easy carry-on

This duffle bag was just what I was looking for. I wanted a carry-on suitable bag, compliant with size restrictions, comfortable for carrying and sufficient space for my clothes. It met all of those with total satisfaction.

June 15, 2021

Great for Travel

I bought this bag as a gift for my husband and he used it as a carry-on for a recent airline trip. He loves the size, sturdiness of the bag, and the shoulder straps that make it easier for him to carry.

June 11, 2021

Great Bag

Not too much to say, it's a great bag! Perfect size, made from recycled material, comes in all black, what more do you want from a duffle bag? I purchased it for fishing, and then grabbed a second for travel (because it's the perfect size). 10/10 would recommend.

May 24, 2021

Perfect carry-on

If you're trying to decide between this and the MLC 45L, go with this. I've lived/traveled out of both for extended periods of time and can say that if you can manage with 5 liters less, you are going to get a bag that has much better backpack straps, balance, and structure. Separate from your carry-on many airlines allow a small 10-15L b... Read Moreackpack as a "personal item," allowing you to more than reclaim that extra 5L anyway.

May 10, 2021

You need several of these

Love these travel duffels, I ended up buying one of each size so I always have the perfect sized bag for travel. The backpack straps are great. 40L is perfect for carry-on, 55L is borderline too big. Can get away with it if it isn't packed too full.

May 4, 2021

Great bag, incredible quality

Bought this for two main purposes: 1) carry my snowboard boots, binding and helmet/goggles; 2) biz trips (less than week). The quality and durability are amazing and designed incredibly well. Love the backpack straps, which can come off. Also, love all the color options. It's a keeper.

May 3, 2021

The best duffel there ever was

I have a few black hole bags in different sizes. The 40L is my favorite. Its my go to weekender and short trips. Love the backpack straps for navigating airports.

April 30, 2021

Excellent Duffel

This is my second black hole duffel. I cant imagine using any other bag for travel. Love the strap options!

April 21, 2021

40L Black Hole Duffle Bag - AMAZING!

Absolutely an amazing bag! Great structure, perfect size for a day out or a weekend get away. Converts to back back and I love it! I bought the Hot Ember (orange/red) LOVE IT!

February 16, 2021

Great Bag

I have the 40 and 55. At 59, the 40 is very comfortable to use as a back pack when fully filled. One thing I would change... instead of the bag being able to be packed inside of the side pocket, I wish it was made to be stored into a stuff sack that wasnt a part of the bag itself. Like how TNF base camp is. Being realistic, 9/10 people arent going ... Read Moreto be able to pack it back into its pockets. Luckily that pocket is reinforced because I almost ripped it apart trying to get it out of the original packaging. Other than that, great bag. Fits my needs better than the 55.

February 11, 2021

Almost great.

Nice well made bag, feels durable. The 40L size is perfect for my needs. The lack of a long single strap for throwing over one shoulder seems like a pretty big oversight. The backpack straps work as intended, but I bought a duffel not a backpack. I added my own strap by hooking it diagonally to the lashing loops and it works ok, but looks a bit out... Read More of place.

February 11, 2021

Perfect bag! Amazing quality

This bag is amazing! Love the size, The color is shiny even tho its black. I did have a lot of trouble trying to open it since it comes packed in the actual inside pocket for the duffle bag itself, it took me a good 5 minutes. I wish they just shipped it in a small box instead.

February 8, 2021

Black Hole is perfect name

I purchased this bag as a weekend bag. It is perfect! Bigger than I imagined and I like the back pak straps. I will and have recommended this to all.

February 6, 2021

Compact and easy to carry

Perfect for all my travel needs.

January 13, 2021

LOVE this bag!

The black hole duffle is the bag you have been looking for. I have the 40 L one and have gifted it to many people who also love it. It is the perfect size for a weekend trip. Looks small but can hold so much more than you think! The back pack straps can be removed but I keep them on to throw over my shoulder for easy transport. These bags are so du... Read Morerable I have had them on top of cars for long road trips, camping, on sail boats, just about everywhere your adventure takes you. Upgrade your adventure luggage game and buy this bag!!

January 13, 2021

Perfect Weekend Bag

This duffel is perfect for a weekend trip when Ill be able to take one which Im hoping is soon!

January 6, 2021

Love it!!!

This duffle bag is perfect weekend travel and then some...

January 6, 2021

Great for EMT work

I am an EMT starting out. This bag is the right size for all my personal needs on the ambulance. It fits perfectly in the ambulance. Im very satisfied with this purchase

December 30, 2020

Great bag!

Perfect size Such good quality

December 28, 2020

Travel bag.

Excellent, well made bag. Versatile it, converts easily to a backpack.

December 23, 2020

Great duffel

This duffle bag is awesome for short trips. My husband loves it - very handy and easy to carry.

December 22, 2020

It works as intended.

I wish the zipper was different so I can secure them and be more confident it wouldnt get snagged and unzip on the conveyor belt for checked bags. But its a nice bag.

December 16, 2020

Black Hole Bags are extremely durable

I purchased my first Black Hole 55L duffel bag for a trip to Thailand. The ability to turn the duffel into a backpack with ease is what made me excited about this purchase. I found the black hole backpack was one of my favorite bags. I went on to purchase the 25L backpack and the smaller cubes for my travels. This most recent purchase of the 40L ba... Read Moreg was to use as my carry on bag for a trip to Singapore. These bags are extremely strong and work well on your back or strapped to the roof of your vehicle for an off road trip.

November 17, 2020

multi use bag

what a great purchase! I am stunned at how much I can fit into this duffle, the bomber construction and the technical features. Wonderful design and execution Patagonia!!

September 16, 2020

great bag

we have this bag in a few other sizes, this is my fav, and I love the purple camo !

July 13, 2020

Great bag

I used this bag for the first time for a camping trip this weekend and it worked great. Nice size (I got the 40L bag) and good side pockets. Plus the straps and pack away pocket make it flexible for different uses.

July 13, 2020

Perfect weekender or gym bag

The 40L duffel is amazing. For one, it packs into itself for storage convenience. You'd be surprised how much clothes you could fit inside. You can carry it in your hand or use the detachable backpack straps. I recommend anything in the black hole collection.

July 13, 2020

Convenient and Durable

This duffel bag has been very convenient for every activity I do! I got it in black so it wouldnt stand out but many people have complimented on it. From the courts to the gym and the trail it has really maintained its quality. My only recommendation would be for it to have a typical duffel shoulder strap for when I only want to sling it onto one s... Read Morehoulder.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches