Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Duffel Bag 40L

Write Your Review

4.82 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 62 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Duffel Bag 40L

4.82
Kinda Large
July 10, 2020

Perfect weekender or gym bag

The 40L duffel is amazing. For one, it packs into itself for storage convenience. You'd be surprised how much clothes you could fit inside. You can carry it in your hand or use the detachable backpack straps. I recommend anything in the black hole collection.

July 9, 2020

Convenient and Durable

This duffel bag has been very convenient for every activity I do! I got it in black so it wouldnt stand out but many people have complimented on it. From the courts to the gym and the trail it has really maintained its quality. My only recommendation would be for it to have a typical duffel shoulder strap for when I only want to sling it onto one s... Read Morehoulder.

July 9, 2020

Best Duffel Ever!

I love this bag. It's very spacious with a nice inside pocket. It's great for a long trip because it fits everything and it can be used as a backpack or duffel. The smolder blue color is actually a charcoal - love it.

June 22, 2020

Surprisingly Spacious

Patagonia has invented a new form of geometry, because their latest iteration of Black Hole Duffels all seem to have more capacity than their rated liters. MY 40L is no different. It holds my 4 pairs of climbing shoes, harness, chalk bag climbing shorts and t-shirt and a Patagonia Down Sweater Full Zip, all with some room still to spare. Plus, when... Read More I get to the gym and change, I can throw my pants and work shirt in there. The Cobalt Blue color is nice; elicits compliments.

June 21, 2020

Best bag on the market

I used this bag to camp, ski, bike trips. Its great for everything and you can just drop it in the dirt, snow slush, in the rain, doesnt matter your stuff will stay dry. Also very heavy duty and zero concerns about it !

June 19, 2020

Perfect travel bag

Love this bag. Easily convertible to backpack- the size of the 40L bag is surprisingly big enough for a short trip but also not too big for your back. Not sure why they had a sale on the color I bought but it was the one I wanted and ended getting it for 50% off. Not a bad price in full and an amazing value at $70. Durable zippers and water resista... Read Morent.

June 17, 2020

Best bag on the market

I used this bag to camp, ski, bike trips. Its great for everything and you can just drop it in the dirt, snow slush, in the rain, doesnt matter your stuff will stay dry. Also very heavy duty and zero concerns about it !

April 27, 2020

Best Bag

One of the best purchase I've made. Absolutely love this bag. Carryon sized and always fits more than I expect. The straps are an awesome addition too!

April 27, 2020

All around awesome!

The Black Hole Duffel 40L is the perfect carry-on for international travel! It passed as my carry-on to and from Belize. It was perfect for a 15 hour travel day that included a bus, a plane, another plan, a boat, another boat, and a golf cart. Would highly recommend to anyone that travels light. Also, my wife has the same bag from last year, and we... Read More noticed that the 2020 edition is slightly bigger than the 2019 edition - the extra room was seriously appreciated!

March 10, 2020

Perfect Wknd Pack or Carry-On

Having already invested in several Patagonia packs - the old Kid's 15L no longer avail, replaced with Refugio 28L for my son's school backpack, the old 60L Black Hole Duffel, the old MLC Headway 45L - I decided it was time to invest in another Black Hole - the new 40L. This one is for my son (I truly believe in quality over quantity with ... Read Moregear and clothing - even though he is 6 and will outgrow everything eventually!) - so he can have his own camping/ski weekend pack. Aka so I can reclaim more room in my own duffel! Bonus - the 40L will also double as his carry-on pack (while I use my old MLC Headway) for plane rides. As always, the quality and functionality are top-notch. I have been a long-time supporter and customer of Patagonia for so many reasons, including the Iron-Clad Guarantee. And just like all my Black Hole Cubes (I have Small and Medium) and the previous 60L Duffel, I know I will be able to stuff a lot of clothes, shoes, dopp kit, and gear into this 40L. I also appreciate the bright, clash-y, and somewhat garish colors, for the immediate recognition especially when camping with friends or on plane trips. I got the Roamer Red for my son. The easy latching for the backpack straps are great! And the burly exterior and bottom are awesome for throwing around in the wilderness and an overhead bin or under the seat. I know this 40L will be used for so many years to come on all our adventures! Thank you, Patagonia!!

January 16, 2020

Best gear bag

Fits my gear. Sneaks into carry-on Bin.

January 5, 2020

Convenient weekend bag. Ready for

Convenient weekend bag. Ready for bad weather. Love the black hole material.

January 4, 2020

Dimensions don't seem to be as advertised. Otherwise a useful and seemingly rugged bag.

I carefully measured my husband's trusty old travel bag (that is coming apart at the seams) and it seemed that this new bag would replace the one he has used for years and loves. When it arrived, I couldn't figure out where the dimensions advertised online came from. The new bag, although it was advertised to be larger, actually fit insid... Read Moree of his old bag. It seems like the dimensions advertised don't account for the fact that the bag actually tapers quite a bit from the base to the top. This reduces the total area and makes the bag smaller than it appears to be based on the specs. I'm going to return the bag because it's not the size my husband wants, but if you're not worried too much about size, I think it would probably make a great smallish/carry on-sized duffel.

January 2, 2020

Ideal travel bag

I bought this for travel and am so pleased I did. The size is great for easy lightweight travel, and fits in the overhead compartment of planes. I like the rugged nature of all the black hole products and can see myself using this for a very long time. Space wise it challenges me to be more go light which is good, best use is for a long weekend or ... Read Moreweek long trip. 40 liters is a perfect for a long weekend but doable amount of space for up to a week or so, depending on how you pack.

December 31, 2019

Black Hole® Duffel 40L

Excellent!

December 31, 2019

Great Gift!

Got it for my father and he loves it!

December 28, 2019

great gift

great color and quality, love the versatility

December 28, 2019

This is my 2nd Black Hole Duffle

I ordered the 55 L and took on a horse pack trip where it rained for 7 days. All my stuff stayed dry. Got the 40L for an upcoming trip to Africa where we are weight and size limited. Love the back pack straps as well as the ability to carry it on my shoulder.

December 24, 2019

Mo

Love my new black hole bag and all of the previous ones I own. There is no better duffel out there.

December 23, 2019

Duffel 40L

Great bag. Perfect addition for my travel gear.

December 16, 2019

Just the. Right size!

Beautifully made, sturdy and just the right size for a weekend trip

December 15, 2019

Durable awesome bag!

Super cute color! Will fit perfectly for an extended week trip (I pack small). Or even on day trips when you need a spare bag for anything. Ample pockets and perfect use of space. Fits on my back perfectly. Going to use it during my holiday travels going home.

December 14, 2019

Great bag bigger than it

Great bag bigger than it looks perfect for traveling

December 6, 2019

The Best

I plan on getting at least one of each size of the Black Hole Duffel. Great from overnight to multi-week trips.

December 4, 2019

Overnight Fishing Trips

The durability and packability of this bag exceeds all standards set by any angler. I can throw in some clothes and essentials as well as some spare tackle, load up the truck and set out on a new fishing adventure!

December 4, 2019

Will last a lifetime!

I am SO happy with my purple duffel! The quality is beautiful, the size ideal and with it being waterproof too and with removable backpack straps, I think I'll use this for the rest of time.

November 25, 2019

9 day trip made light!

Favorite new bag. Hands free and wheel free, and carry-on friendly with no questions or dirty looks from flight attendants. I pack light and managed to go on a 9 adventure with only this bag and small sling as "personal item."

November 25, 2019

Great Travel Bag

Great Travel Bag

November 23, 2019

You want this luggage.

Awesome, functional piece of luggage. Stands on end without falling over, great wheels for uneven surfaces. Tough outer fabric. Just traveled to Peru and it came home unscathed. As long as you're not packing bricks, it will hold about 50 pounds of normal travel/clothing/shoes/gear.

November 23, 2019

great bag!

I just bought it and I love it! At first, I struggled getting it out of the packaging, but worth it!

November 22, 2019

Great bag

much better than the lightweight version - this is actually a practical "stuff" carrier

November 17, 2019

Patagonia 40L black hole duffle

Great bag and the backpack straps are. Great addition to the older model. Would be nifty if it had the ability to have a shoulder strap.

November 16, 2019

Great Bag

Took on 2-week sailing adventure. Kept all my gear accessible. Not as beefy as past bags but seems very durable and light weight for its size.

November 15, 2019

Perfect

Took on a trip as my carry on. Perfect in every way. Love the backpack straps.

November 14, 2019

40L Duffel Bag

Perfect size for a long weekend trip. Fits under seat on plane easily. Conversion straps for backpack a real bonus. Lastly, well made, as usual!

November 12, 2019

Perfect bag

This bag is sturdy and fits everything I need for a trip to the gym or for a weekend trip. The backpack straps are awesome, and it overall seems very durable. I'm very happy with this purchase.

November 11, 2019

40L Black Hole duffel bag

I bought it as a weekend Getaway bag. Perfect size!

November 10, 2019

Perfect Travel Bag

Not to big and not to small, this bag is great for transporting gear. Rugged enough to handle being tossed around

November 10, 2019

BLACK HOLE DUFFEL

I LOVE PATAGONIA AND HOW THEY ARE SO EARTH AWARE. MY RECYCLE BAG IS THE BEST...LOVE IT!

November 8, 2019

Love it. Stuff it, throw it, haul it, drop it...

Love this size for small, short trips. Slings like a backpack for easy maneuvering. I think it will house my mountain biking gear to and from the trail head so I always know where everything is.

November 6, 2019

Great for weekends, perfect size

Great for weekends, perfect size and color!

November 4, 2019

Well made, sturdy

I chose Patagonia because I wanted something that would last more than a decade and still look good. I wish I was someone who could be gentle with expensive things but this bag makes it unnecessary. The little while I've had it, I've shoved it into lockers, spilled water inside, and loaded it with food, snacks and clothes and it took it i... Read Moren stride looking brand new. I was a little concerned about the fabric holding creases but it goes back to it's smooth shape immediately. When I spilled water inside, the fabric didn't absorb it so I could just tip the bag over a sink and all was good. I packed it full with clothes, a towel, books, a lunch, and lashed my yoga mat to the side and the seams didn't look the slightest bit strained even though it was really heavy. I'd recommend this bag for any activity.

October 23, 2019

Another great bag

I have a slightly larger Black Hole Duffel and the 40L fits my needs perfectly for a run to the gym. Pockets, straps etc. work great for my needs.

October 22, 2019

Nice bag but poor fitting straps

The included shoulder straps are too short. I have them at full length when the bag is full and they barely fit my shoulders. Not very functional to wear as a pack.

October 20, 2019

I think it'll work

I bought this bag as I live abroad and travel with my small children (currently 1 and 3) by myself on the 24 hour journey back to my parent's house annually. Between carrying one child and pulling the other in a wheeled kid's suitcase, I don't have hands for anything else. BUT a regular backpack doesn't carry enough diapers, sna... Read Morecks, changes of clothes, etc for the long flight, and a hiking backpack isn't very accessible for placing on the floor of the plane when you're holding a kid in your lap. While I haven't gotten to test this bag out on the plane yet, I have used if for a full day outdoors outing for the family. We have no problem storing all of our stuff and when water bottles exploded and soaked kids jumped around we didn't need to worry about the things in the bag getting wet or soggy diapers - everything stayed dry! I would definitely recommend planning to compartmentalize with this bag though since there are no pockets except a mesh pocket only large enough for papers (I kept a dry washcloth) and the pocket which doubles as the bag for packing the duffle back up (though I am not confident I will ever get it back in there) which was large enough for a small wallet and my iPhone.

October 15, 2019

Bomber duffle

Plenty of room, sturdy construction and backpack straps. Love it!

October 15, 2019

Black Hole Worth Its Reputation

I had heard for a long time that the Black Hole was a fantastic bag. I decided to grab the small version as I generally only need a few days and pack light. It held all I needed for a four day trip to Chicago for a race with space to spare. Easy to carry and fit in the overhead bin with no difficulty, the Black Hole was fantastic.

October 15, 2019

Lightweight nylon duffel backpack

I bought the smallest size for my 6’ tall husband. It is plenty big, he can pack everything he needs for normal noncamping travel and carry it easily. Better than his backpack for regular trips, because it has a suitcase interior. Love the blue color combo!

October 11, 2019

Perfect Size!

So I have been wanting this type of bag for a while due to its versatility as a backpack/duffel combo. I recently went on a trip that I specifically needed a sturdy duffel for, which gave me a great excuse to spring and buy one. At first, I reasoned that the 55L would be a better fit for me, as in the past I had considered the 60L. After watching a... Read More video on youtube of someone comparing the two versions, the 55L looked noticeably bigger for whatever reason. Even so, I ordered and received the 55L. I am a 5"2', 135 lb woman and wearing the 55L as a backpack made me look like a kindergardener. The bag was long and flopped over in a weird way when I tightened the straps. Even with the extra space, I could not justify the largeness of it, especially because I planned to use it for the gym regularly. The 40L is perfect, and it is what I would classify as general duffel bag size. It looks fairly normal as a backpack too. Now I look super cool whenever I bring it around- exchanging was definitely the right choice for me. The blue is GORGEOUS, it is honestly more of a deep blue/purple which is my favorite color. Very satisfied!

October 5, 2019

Love my 40L Black Hole Duffel!

I bought this as a bag to use for short trips when a roller bag isn’t necessary. A typical duffel isn’t practical for me because I am not strong enough to comfortably cannot carry one through airports and train stations. That’s why I love my Black Hole Duffel! The backpack straps are extremely comfortable and allow me to haul it around with ease. P... Read Morelus the deep plum color is so pretty. :-)

October 4, 2019

Pretty perfect gym bag

Good size. Great zipper pockets and seems super tough. Would recommend after doing tons of research.

October 2, 2019

Great Duffel

This bag is amazing. Great for weekend trips and traveling. Very high quality.

September 19, 2019

the best carry on/ weekend adventure bag ever

my sister had this bag before me and I borrowed it once and LOVED it. Had to get my own- it’s the perfect bag for a weekend flight somewhere. I can fit three pairs of shoes and a bunch of clothes in it. Would highly recommend.

September 16, 2019

Perfect

Love this bag - got the 40L but then sent it back and upgraded to the 55L. I use these bags for the extreme adventures when I need my stuff to be secure and water tight. Love the bright blue color too!

September 3, 2019

Black Hole Duffel 30

It is difficult to attach the shoulder straps to the bag on one end.

August 31, 2019

Great for wet fields

I bought this because I can bring it to soccer and lacrosse fields and leave it on the wet grass and the gear inside stays dry! It’s great that you can wear it as a backpack. Nice size for extra sweatshirts water bottles - I can even stuff a blanket in it.

August 20, 2019

Perfect bag

I’ve taken this on a week-long car camping trip and now a cheap flight where nothing but a backpack are allowed. This bag has worked perfectly in both situations. Love it’s tough exterior, how much it actually fits, The wide 3 side opening of the zipper, detachable backpack straps, and side handles. I went for the blue though I debated a while betw... Read Moreeen that and plum. I don’t know if I’ll ever get it back in the pocket-packbag, that was thought pulling it out. But I’m not sure I’ll ever want to because I’ll be using it so much.

August 16, 2019

Its a duffel bag from a great mfger

This is a very well made duffel. For me the 40L is the most versatile, since it can be used as a daily carrier or for a long weekend. I would not say that this bag is better than TNF, Osprey, Mammut or any other bag from top manufacturers of outdoor gear. It certainly is way overpriced, which is why 4 stars are given. Also, branding is a bit large ... Read Moreand obscene.

August 16, 2019

Great bags, interesting new sizes

I have been a long time user of the black hole bags and love them! I honestly have more then I need! They stand up to the test of travel for sure. The old 90L was my go to when I needed to check a bag when flying and the 60L was perfect for a carry on. They are durable, waterproof and all around awesome to take anywhere! I recently bought a new 55... Read MoreL to help me with moving and was surprised to find that it was much bigger than my old 60L. I could easily fit my old 60L in the new 55L and once I packed it it was clear is it way to big to carry on a plane. I ended up buying a new 40L which I found to be similar to the old 45L but it's actually a little bigger which was nice. I used this as my carry on and checked the 55L. My one suggestion is that if you are in the market for a new black hole bag look at the dimensions. The new ones are a bit different from the old ones so check the dimensions to make sure you get the right size. A huge positive on the new bags is the main opening, it closer to the edges of the bag so it seems much bigger than the old ones!

August 15, 2019

Great bag

This duffel is tough and performs exactly the way it is designed.

August 10, 2019

Nice looks, poor design

I return the bag without using it. Bag was not a functional duffel. No separate pocket for wet or dirty gear — OK if you want to carry around only clean clothes; not OK if you want to carry around wet, sweaty or dirty clothes. No shoulder strap to carry in a horizontal way over one shoulder, like a duffel. Can be rigged to carry on end as a backpac... Read Morek, but the backpack straps are padded in a way that does not enable single strap duffel type carrying. Great looking bag, great material...tried to make it work ... but it isn’t functional.

August 5, 2019

Best Carry on Bag

Well, this is the fourth Black Hole I have purchased (to have one in every size) and I could not imagine going back to using regular luggage. Perfect size for the plane. Fits about 7 days worth of clothes and an extra pair of shoes. Love the colors.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches