Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Duffel Bag 55L

Write Your Review

4.74 /5

Filter Reviews

All 160 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Duffel Bag 55L

4.74
Kinda Large
April 13, 2021

Black Hole 55L

Awesome, durable bag. The size is prefect for keeping all of my ski gear ready to go in one place. Great access through top zippered flap.

April 1, 2021

Best duffel ever

Never leave home without it.

March 31, 2021

Great bag!

The only reason I am only giving 4 stars is because the colorway I ordered isnt what I thought it would be from the product image. I have the 55l bag in lemongrass. The straps and print appear grey-ish to black even in the product photo. But they are actually blue. No big deal really. but If you are like me and are overly specific about color, its ... Read Moregood to know before hand. Also had I scrolled down to the photos of features, I would have seen the more accurate strap color.

March 25, 2021

Solid Quality Duffel

This is a great duffel, the 55L size is perfect for a long weekend (3-4 days) stay and it really is comfortable to pack, load and unload. Bonus points for it being packable into itself becoming a smaller pouch to stow away.

March 23, 2021

Able to go any where

My Blackhole 55l is the travel companion for me. It holds a ton or a little, can be carried by hand or on my back, and is durable like any good hiking boot. The ability to separate wet from dry is huge as there are times when the weather does always comply with my request. It is big enough for 2 weeks or 2 days. I should have purchased long ago. I ... Read Moreappreciate the ability to put it overhead or check it. I will be a life long friend.

March 21, 2021

Great bag!

I got this bag for my son because because he prefers to use duffels instead of rolling bags. He absolutely loves it!

March 20, 2021

Good size!

I got the 55 L duffel to give it a try while traveling around and I will say it does the job! I wish the straps were more kinetic to be soft on the back but I really think its comfortable and fits over a week of clothes and gear for me.

March 17, 2021

Sturdy Build

The material of this bag feels highly durable and I suspect it will last a long time. I purchased the 55L bag and was impressed by how much could fit inside of it. It would be great to include a single shoulder strap, but the backpack straps are nicely made and work well. The built-in pockets and dividers are limited, but do the job well. Would def... Read Moreinitely recommend this bag.

March 14, 2021

Awesome pack!

This pack is quality! Good size for traveling and storing in a small space is great too.

March 11, 2021

n/a

The duffle is exactly what my grandson was looking for and size wanted.

March 4, 2021

It Works

Love the material and how burly the bag is. The 55L is perfect for a long weekend, no matter the activity. Works great thrown in the bed of my truck where it won't get completely soaked but I still don't need to worry much about rain. I should have done a bit more research, a regular shoulder strap would be much more practical for me; the... Read More backpack straps it comes with just ain't it. Would still 100% recommend.

March 1, 2021

Just what I expected

I got this for my husband for traveling, his old duffel was worn out. We haven't used it yet but the material seems very sturdy, as do the handles. Our kids got in (one at a time, one thirty lbs and one 50 lbs.) and he was lifting them up in it. The straps feel very secure. It's very shiny and plastic-y feeling, just as it looks. He'... Read Mores excited to use it for traveling this year, the size seemed great and more than enough for a week-long trip's worth of clothes and extras.

February 28, 2021

Great bag!

This bag is lightweight but incredibly well made and sturdy. You can fit an amazing amount of stuff in it and... It still counts as a carryon! Love it!

February 28, 2021

Great Duffel

Great Duffel . I use it for crossfit

February 27, 2021

Efficient

This duffel does exactly what it says. It has great space inside with the small accessible pocket. Some would like to see this no accessible from the outside, but if you know to expect it, its fine; put your valuables somewhere else. A lot of duffels with backpack straps have the straps on the bottom, but this makes it so when you put the pack down... Read More, it lands on the top; I appreciate that the straps on this bag make it so when it is set down, it lands on its protected bottom.

February 26, 2021

Great Duffle

It's perfect for 2-3days climbing trip!

February 26, 2021

Bought my first one, have bought three more since

This bag makes a excellent one stop shop for your travel carry or as a personal gift. I bought mine before spending a weekend on a fishing trip and have since bought more for my family and friends. I do not recommend purchasing this item if you plan on storing it back inside of its interior pocket, there are youtube tutorials but it is more work th... Read Morean it is worth. Quality bag, find the color you like because the unit seems indestructible with proper care and use. Highly recommend.

February 24, 2021

Great travel bag

This bag is perfect for a 1-5 day trip. It serves as a carry on and comfortably can be worn as a back pack

February 24, 2021

Roomy and light

This bag is great for travel Flyfishing. I use it as a carryon when I fly to my destination to carry my fishing gear. When I go fishing I add on the backpack straps to carry my gear to my favorite fishing spots.

February 24, 2021

Black Hole 55L Duffel storage for DAYS

Excellent bag, tough- has taken a lot of abuse and various cold and hot weather conditions. Fits into the overhead compartment carry-on during air travel.

February 24, 2021

Perfect duffle for sports travel & life!

This duffle is the perfect size for sports/ travel/ ski stuff & life!

February 23, 2021

Versatile and Well Made

This is my favourite bag for car camping trips and travel. It's very well made and fits in the overhead bins on planes.

February 23, 2021

Great travel bag

I have 3 of the 55L and 2 of the 70L black hole duffels. I love them so much, can always squeeze one more thing in and use this for travel especially during the winter to haul our snowboarding gear. The bag is waterproof but super durable. Could not recommend this more.

February 20, 2021

Go-To Bag

As the title suggests, this is my go-to bag for trips that are going to require a couple weeks worth of gear/clothing. When I'm not using it to travel around, it houses my ski stuff so I can throw the bag and my skis/boots/poles in the truck and head straight up to the slopes. The internal straps have been useful to compress and fasten down cl... Read Moreothing and gear. Not a whole lot of pockets but the big side one provides easy access and the ones on the top of the lid are good for keeping small things organized out of the massive main compartment. I've had the bag for about 4 years now and it's still in great shape- I plan on being able to pass this one down a generation at this rate. I will say when you really load it up to capacity, it's not the most comfortable to wear as a backpack with the shoulder straps and walk for long distances/durations... but it's a duffel and not really made for that so can't complain too much ¯\_()_/¯

February 15, 2021

Superhero Duffel: 75l gisguised as 55l

Always wanted a Blackhole Duffel, the tough material and the ease of packing. I already own a few Blackhole items, Cubes (super useful) and smaller backpacks as everyday carry. I also have various expedition grade backpacks .... so I couldn't justify it! Until this came along, on sale. After having read reviews that say this is much larger t... Read Morehan what it's advertised to be, I decided to try it out. I packed the 2 cartons my Patagonia shipment came in (mostly a collection of clothes, pooled together with friends into 1 shipment) and it fit into the 55l duffel. Still not full, I threw in a bunch of bananas and a full-size pineapple, that was on my kitchen table! It all fit comfortably and I can still close it easily! So my guy feel is this is about 70-75l. I have both a 60l and a 80l top loading packs which I'm very familiar with. My only gripe is the lack of mountings for a sling, across shoulder carry. But no big deal, I'm used to carrying a backpack over one shoulder, when running around airports, so can do that with the supplied shoulder-harness straps. Just to assure other, one reviewer complained that the zip-opening from the outside to access the inside, cannot be secured!. True, the zipper opens into a pocket, whose top is open, and can then be used to access the insides! Solution to Patagonia, 1. bar-tack a small tape-loop loop at the end of the zipper 2. Use a double-zip; (Both will allow yhe zip to be pad-locked) 3. sew/bar-rack the top of the pocket to the top, thus closing off the too. But this will prevent total access to the inside, thus deviating from its convenience! I intend to use this mostly for air-travel, replacing my crappy luggage, so security overrides convenience for me. I'll probably implement fix no. 1, I can get a local Cobbler to do it. The advantage of living in SEAsia ;-) (hence the banks and pineapple mention above). I'll recommend this for anyone for traveling and it'll also be ideal for car-camping, etc... I think you'll only need the bigger duffels if you're hauling gear like rock/ice climbing hardware, or scuba gear.

January 26, 2021

Black Hole Duffel 55L

I absolutely love this bag. My girlfriend got me the 40L and I couldn't believe how well built it was. I travel almost every weekend so I also bought the 55L and I am amazed how much clothes I can fit in these bags. They are bigger than you would think and stronger than you could imagine. I really like to have options depending on the activiit... Read Morees I have planned for the weekend or week so I am actually considering going for a hat trick and purchasing the 70L as well. Thanks for a great product Patagonia! These are very well made bags.

January 23, 2021

Great Duffle

Its a great bag and fits way more than I thought it would! The backpack straps are very convenient too.

January 19, 2021

50L Black Hole Duffle. What a BEAST!

I traveled with my 50L duffle and the thing is huge! I actually managed to carry the bag on for all 6 flights, but a fully packed plane might not offer that luxury. Holds a ton, built tough, and easy to transition to a backpack. LOVE IT!

January 12, 2021

Amazing

The bag was exactly what you need for a weekend or even a whole week

January 9, 2021

Durable and easy to pack

This duffle is constructed very well. The zippers and straps/handles seem like they will hold up for many years. The top opening allows for great accessibility. Looking forward to many trips with this one!

January 5, 2021

Great bags for boating

Good size and easy to open. Bought them in two sizes

January 2, 2021

Nice Duffle!

This duffle is perfect. Handsome. Holds lots of stuff! Versatile!! Love it and best of all its PATGONIA

December 24, 2020

Love this bag

Great bag. Recommend. Buy it!

December 23, 2020

Obsessed. Durable and functional.

I just received my 55L and I'm so psyched to use it. I've owned the 45L Black Hole Duffel (now discontinued) for about 2 years now and I've taken it on planes (both carry-on and checked), road trips (sometimes underneath heavy gear). It's been tossed on the ground in warm climates (dry heat up to 104 degrees F) and has sat in th... Read Moree cold (inside a car overnight, below zero). I have had zero issues with the zippers, pockets (even the mesh ones), and outer/inner material. No cracks in the material, no rust on the zippers. Water-resistant material is awesome. My dog has jaws of steel and tried to chew through this sucker to get to a bully stick -- couldn't get to it.

December 23, 2020

Quality but odd shape

Was hoping for a similar bag to the 60L black hole duffel we have. Though the 55L is obviously smaller in volume the footprint is larger. The new design is long and shallow as another review noted. The quality is still there but it just looks odd.

December 15, 2020

Love this bag

I just bought a second bag as as family that likes to travel we always "argue" who get's the black hole duffel. Problem solved! Now we have two. I love how easy it coverts to a bag pack and am already having my eye on a 3th one...

December 11, 2020

Best bags!

I love the Black Hole bags. Have quite a few in different sizes, but the 55L is perfect to keep all my fishing gear together. Waders, socks, boots, net, jackets, and fly bag + extra boxes all easily fit in it. Also, it's super easy to clean after putting wet/dirty gear in it.

December 7, 2020

Compression straps?

We have 2 of the 60L bags that my kids use for overnights, camping and school field trips. I love the size! Well, fast forward a year and the newly redesigned sizes are different. I bought a 55L and was surprosed at how big it is. Plus NO compression straps?? My kids bags have compression straps but the new ones dont? Is this a fluke? It seems odd ... Read Morea 55L bag wouldnt have them...

December 3, 2020

This is a duffle bag

Purchased this for car travel and find it very easy to use /carry for a senior citizen. Ample room to pack a variety of things

November 23, 2020

Significantly larger than expected

It's advertised as a larger weekend bag, but it is absolutely MASSIVE. Definitely a great bag for week-long trips, or very heavy packers, but if you are looking for a weekend bag, choose the 40L option. Besides the unexpected size, it's a great bag.

November 21, 2020

55L Black Hole Duffel

This duffel is awesome. I love versatility of being able to carry it like a backpack. Holds a week's worth of clothes.

November 17, 2020

Excellent Quality Tried to hard on Extra Features

This is one very well built duffle bag. However it does not include a shoulder strap. It has two straps you can attach to wear as a backpack. I usually am carrying both a normal backpack and this duffel. The slick design would have been to make one the backpack straps also a shoulder strap which is how I am using it now. Its just not nearly as comf... Read Moreortable as a typical padded one would be.

November 5, 2020

Perfect

This bag is so durable, and there is a good amount of room in the bag. The best duffel I have ever touched.

September 13, 2020

Great Design

The bag is as pictured.

September 11, 2020

I love this duffel.

The 55L is huge. And you can easily store days worth of clothing and still have room. Highly recommend. Great quality too!

September 9, 2020

Patagonia bag

I love it and it keeps my clothes dry and is the perfect size for what I need

September 1, 2020

All In One!

I can pack for a weekend or a week & use this bag. It's my 1 stop shop for packing for fun & adventure. Thanks Patagonia!

August 11, 2020

How can this be??? Is it a 70L or 80L marked as a 55L

I purchased a 60L Black Hole duffel several years back and just loved it to death! In fact we still have one. I then received a replacement for my old tried and true 60L, it was marked as a 55L and that was cool figured they just changed it up a bit, made it a little smaller. Figured I would need to roll my clothes a little tighter rather than just... Read More throwing it all in. Fast forward and I'm about to use it for the first time and this thing is huge, like way big. I was hoping to take on as a carry on, but it looked like a 70L or 80L, marked as a 55L??? I do the side-by-side comparison with one of our old 60L and it is way bigger. Kind of funny... I showed my family all three black hole duffels that we have (55L, 60L and 90L) and the 55L looks like a 70L or 80L, because its larger than the 60L and smaller than the 90L. I wonder if the 40L is the same size as the old 60L?

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the new the dimensions aren't working as well for you. If you find you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that or exchange for a smaller size, please feel free to do so.

July 13, 2020

Everything you need in a bag

Traveling for pleasure or for sport, this bag is durable with capacity for a week off the grid. Recently headed out for 10 days in a remote cabin and this bag carried all of my clothes, shoes and personal items with easy. And the color is so awesome! I imagine getting off a plane (at some point) and seeing it straight away at the baggage claim.

July 11, 2020

Best dufflebag

This duffle bag has so much space inside of it and is very good looking. the functionality of it raises the standard. best dufflebag on the market. I will be getting the bag in all sizes!

July 10, 2020

Everything you need in a bag

Traveling for pleasure or for sport, this bag is durable with capacity for a week off the grid. Recently headed out for 10 days in a remote cabin and this bag carried all of my clothes, shoes and personal items with easy. And the color is so awesome! I imagine getting off a plane (at some point) and seeing it straight away at the baggage claim.

July 5, 2020

Nice bag but horrible zipper

The zipper on the side pocket has been nearly impossible to use due to it always getting caught and jammed on the inner fabric which is nearly impossible to clear without tearing up the fabric. The inner fabric is now torn up and zipper is even getting a little damaged due to the challenge of clearing the zipper of the fabric. The side pocket is pr... Read Moreetty much useless due to this zipper issue. It doesn't appear others are having this problem so maybe I have a defective bag.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

Hi Micah, we're so sorry to hear that you may have received a defective Black Hole. Please follow this link to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/on/demandware.static/-/Library-Sites-PatagoniaShared/default/dw9ac3afab/slots/RMA/S19_Patagonia_returns_form_r3.pdf

June 23, 2020

Baffling design choice

I have a wheeled 70L black hole for travel that I love so I picked up a 55L and it seemed perfect until I noticed the front pocket has a second zipper inside to access the main section of the bag. These zippers nor the compartment can be secured. So for travel this bag leaves all of your contents insecure, for the trade off of being able to access ... Read Morethe front pouch contents from both the inside and outside of the bag? I contacted customer support to verify I wasn't misunderstanding something but this does appear to be the case. I have to return it due to this but otherwise it is a fantastic looking bag and I love the camp green color, hopefully in the future they add at least a second zipper so it can be locked.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Jarad,we're sorry to hear the 55L Black Hole Bag has been disappointing, but we appreciate your detailed feedback. We'll be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee here: https://help.patagonia.com/s/

June 22, 2020

Awesome Bag

I use this bag to strap to my sissy bar on my motorcycle and whenever I travel or go camping. The backpack straps are super easy to use and the tie downs are perfect for securing to my motorcycle. The bag is made of strong material (I believe it's the same ripstop material used in the roof top tent I have). Super stoked to put this to more use... Read More on my motorcycle trip from Flagstaff to Yellowstone. Thanks Patagonia!

June 21, 2020

Perfect for On-the-Go

This is a perfect size to throw a bunch of gear and clothes and shoes and whatever you need to head out of town, whether on a hotel getaway or camping excursion. It's easy to throw over my shoulder, or use the backpack straps. And it's very waterproof.

June 21, 2020

Everyone needs one of these

Super durable and fashionable bag. Waterproof, rugged material. The zipper isn't water tight, but it's close. Super-versatile. I own two 55L bags from previous years and this one is defintelly bigger.

June 19, 2020

Great for traveling

Perfect size bag for weekend trips. Exactly what I got it for

June 17, 2020

My Pata duffle

This duffle carriers all my needs for a long weekend trip. Its light and easy to carry. Also it looks cool

June 17, 2020

Best go to travel bag

Love the backpack conversion. Made to last. Stylish and ready for quick trips. Durable.

June 17, 2020

Perfect for On-the-Go

This is a perfect size to throw a bunch of gear and clothes and shoes and whatever you need to head out of town, whether on a hotel getaway or camping excursion. It's easy to throw over my shoulder, or use the backpack straps. And it's very waterproof.

June 17, 2020

Everyone needs one of these

Super durable and fashionable bag. Waterproof, rugged material. The zipper isn't water tight, but it's close. Super-versatile. I own two 55L bags from previous years and this one is defintelly bigger.

June 17, 2020

Black Hole Duffel

Plenty of room to pack for a two night trip. Durable and easy to transport. Excellent value with this duffel.

May 13, 2020

It's a duffel bag you can wear on your back

I've used this bag for two years, and although at first I thought it was perfect, now I realize it has its limitations. Basically, it's a duffel bag you can wear on your back. It's not a backpack. It doesn't have many internal pockets or compartments, and the ones it does have are under the top flap you use to close it so that... Read More when you wear it has a backpack, whatever you've put in those pockets, in my case locks, chargers, etc., inevitably end up poking you in the back while you wear it. this is extremely frustrating, especially when you have to walk far. It makes it almost useless as anything but a duffel bag. Granted, this is the only design flaw, and even though it's just one, I feel it severely limits the bag's potential. The problem is that these pockets are the only compartments in the whole bag for storing smaller items, so they end up being basically useless. You just have to throw everything loose into your bag together, which means you have to rifle through all your stuff whenever you want to get anything. I thought this would be the bag to solve my problem of wanting something more than a backpack but less than a camping pack. It does not.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this bag didn't live up to your expectations and we really appreciate the feedback. If you decide you're unsatisfied with the purchase, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

March 30, 2020

The go-to for everything

Well I had the old 60 liter for 3 years and it had been on countless trips to the Sierras for camping,paddle boarding, and some mtb missions. A trip tonEurope and then backpacking through Asia for 2 months when one of the straps started coming undone by the buckle. I came home for Xmas and contacted Patagonia on getting it repaired. They were too f... Read Morear out but offered for me to go to the SF store for a straight swap to a new 55l. So I did, and Ive been living out of my cobalt blue 55 for almost 3 months. Rugged for sure and pretty water resistant. Got caught in a crazy rain storm in the Philippines on a motorbike with my bag on my back, was in the rain for 2 hours and it was pouring most of the time. When I opened my bag a shirt on top was wet and some condensation on the inside. Think it leaked through the zipper. For how long I was in the rain, it wasnt too bad. The bag is simple and it does the trick no matter the situation I need it for. I have a 90 l for all my snow/mtb and its my action sports closet. From the fjord flannel, the nano puff pullover, and a beat up pair of baggies surviving dirt bagging through Asia during the coved-19 pandemic. Ill rock Patagonia everything Always. Thx and be safe

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Chris! Thank you so much for providing great feedback on your Black Hole® Duffel Bag 55L. We are so pleased it has been good to you along your journeys. While a great travel bag, it is water resistant not waterproof. If you are heading out on another adventure and need a waterproof bag check out our [Waterproof Bags!](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/luggage-waterproof-bags). Thanks again!

March 4, 2020

Big, tough, comfortable travel bag

It's cavernous inside but not ridiculously large outside. The shoulder straps are easy on/off and comfortable. If it lasts like all of the other Patagonia stuff I've accumulated over the last three decades like I expect it to, I'll be happy.

March 2, 2020

more like 80 liters / what is Patagonia doing?

- I have the previous "60L black hole" from a year or two ago. It's a great bag and I wanted another. I was disappointed to see it was now 55L as it was the perfect size for everything. I bought one and found the 55L is actually MUCH larger than the 60L. - Dimensions with some blankets filling each: 55L: 26.7" x 15.7" x 1... Read More1.8" (consistent with the website) Measuring the 60L in the same fashion: 24.5 x 15 x 10.5. - Just a straight LxWxH = volume says: --55L black hole = 83L --60L black hole = 63L --(yes some of the bag itself takes up some volume but this is to portray the bag sizes) -WHY did Patagonia take a really perfect bag size (for weekends, planes, carrying on your back, carrying a normal amount of clothes and other stuff, really anything), label it as smaller, then make it actually have 30% more capacity than the label?? the 55L is kind of big and dumpy. - They did improve features though: no more useless straps inside that I never used, and the top flap that opens is bigger (previous one had too small an opening that can get a little annoying packing / unpacking, minor complaint but they definitely improved it) - I just wish they made an ACTUAL 60L black hole duffel with their new modifications. -the new 40L is not long enough, the new 55L is 80L and giant

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hi Jeff thanks for your feedback about the new sizing on this product. We have recently changed the way we are measuring the bags in order to make the volume more accurate. If you are not satisfied with the size of this product feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item to us.

February 22, 2020

Great Bag

We have three black hole bags and love them all. Patagonia stands behind their products, period.

February 7, 2020

Great, but could be better.

I absolutely love this bag. I use it all of the time. It is my camp bag, my weekend bag for trips. I take it with my Mountain biking to hold my gear. This really has become an everything bag for me. It's great except for one thing. The "water resistance" on the bottom of the bag is lacking. Why add such awesome TPU fabric to the top ... Read Morewhen sitting on wet grass will allow moisture to soak through? I am always fearful that bedding and electronics will end up wet. I know place the bag on a tarp when at campsites and tend not to leave the bag on the ground too much because of this. Sorta silly when you think about it since the bag should be used and abused. I coddle the bag :-/ When you are out on a 50-mile bike ride, you don't wanna be worrying if the sudden downpour is going to leave your gear wet back at the campsite. Why not add some TPU material to the bottom as well? Being weatherproof seems to be more useful than packability (which is the reason I have received for why the bottom material is what it is). Please, please, please redesign this bag!!!! Please! That little feature would add a world of difference. Designers, any logic you can provide for this would be greatly appreciated. (prayer hands)

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Hi Robert, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on the duffel. We truly appreciate feedback like this as it's absolutely crucial to improving products for future seasons. The choice to keep the TPU-coating from the bottom of the duffel is really one of pack-ability. However, we understand that comes with a trade off which can be disapointing. If you're interested in taking a look at one of our duffels with a TPU-coated bottom we'd suggest the [Stand Up Duffel](https://www.patagonia.com/product/stand-up-duffel-42-liters/48375.html?dwvar_48375_color=COI&cgid=luggage-duffel-bags#tile-10=&start=1&sz=24). Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you're not happy with the performance of your duffel you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 3, 2020

Have had no problem using this as a carry-on for domestic flights

In contrast to what another reviewer implied, I have had no problem taking my new 55-L black hold duffel as a carry on for domestic flights (Delta, Alaska Airlines). The fact that it isn't rigid and doesn't have wheels helps it fit into overhead bins despite its size, and TSA and gate agents have never given me a problem about it. It does... Read More exceed the 45 linear inch limit (length+width+height <= 45 inches) for international flights. It has gone with me as a checked bag to Costa Rica, where it held 10 days worth of clothes, a pair of hiking poles (broken down), and a huge pair of size 11 men's heavy duty hiking boots. The bag got wet but our clothes and gear stayed perfectly dry. I love that the straps can be adjusted and have had no problem carrying it on my 5'5" aging frame, even with a smaller backpack worn across the front of the shoulders. It works perfectly with the black hole cubes, in which I can fit tons of underwear, etc. Used with cubes, you can take this bag on a multi-week trip where you need to bring multiple pairs of shoes, poles, hats, jackets, fleece layers, etc.

January 25, 2020

Arbitrarily Sized??

I bought a 60L a few years ago and it's the best bag. I bought my wife a 55L for xmas. Comparing the 55L to the 60L, the 55L is HUGE. too big for an airplane overhead. I swear the thing is mislabeled so I contact Patagonia support - I'm told they use beans to measure the size and this new 55L used to be the old 70L? How does that make sen... Read Morese? Patagonia used liters to advertise the size, but their support people claim that I should have checked the measurements?? Why list a size if it can change based on how many beans fit in there? Bag is high quality, but this change is very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

We are very sorry for the confusion and the discrepancies with the new sizing. We do measure our bags in terms of liters, which is why we use beads, not beans, to measure the volume. Nonetheless, we did change the way in which we were measuring the volume to make it more accurate, which is why there is some variation between the older bags and our new ones. Please know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us, or exchange it for a smaller size, we are happy to help.

January 13, 2020

AMAZING!!

This back is water resistant, comfortable, works like a bag or a backpack. It held all of my stuff for my two week vacation. IN LOVE!

January 13, 2020

Fits it all and still qualifies as a carry-on (US)

The 55L Black Hole is what you want if you need something large enough to carry a few days worth of clothes/gear, but still want a bag small enough to put in an overhead bin. The backpack straps hook on quickly and turn this into an easy-to-carry piece. I've taken it on Frontier, United and Southwest with no issues (carry-on not personal item)... Read More.

January 11, 2020

why am i just now discovering the black hole goodness

i ordered the 55 liter peppergrass green color way. paragonia has a reputation for making some of the best products on this planet, this bag is no exception. i love that it’s made from recycled plastic bottles with the most eco friendly processes available. the duffel came packaged well, and it was stuffed inside its own side pocket. i didn’t know ... Read Moreit could stuff away in its own pocket, i should’ve since most Patagonia products do. im literally taking this bag out for its first international trip in a few weeks but im fully confident it can handle the abuse from airline baggage handlers. according to dimensions this bag fully packed shouldn’t meet carry on requirements, but i have heard and read that people were able to. so Patagonia, can we get some Black Hole wallets and passport wallets too please—that would be a big hit, no question!

January 4, 2020

Love

This bag simply cannot be beat. This size is the largest I think you can comfortably carry on you back. for a while. I've had mine for 2 years and it still looks great. I use it weekly, and just bought the larger size for when I need a bit more gear.

January 2, 2020

Love this bag!

I bought the Black Hoke 55L duffel for my son for Christmas. I can't tell you how happy we both are with the quality, look, and roominess. What a good looking bag. I'm so pleased with the color! (HAGO) My son just finished packing for a quick trip down to SannDiego. There's more than enough space for a week's worth of clothes an... Read Mored I love the option of wearing it in your back. The straps are sturdy. I can see him carrying this bag for years to come. We already talked about the 40L for sorter getaways. Thanks, Patagonia!

January 1, 2020

Love this bag

If you need a really good weekend bag then I would highly recommend this Black Hole bag

January 1, 2020

love my new bag

the size is perfect. the finish on the material. great as a carry on on plane!

January 1, 2020

Black Hole Duffel

Excellent. Aptly named; difficult to find items unless in stuff sacks. Perfect for travel!

December 31, 2019

AWESOME!!

Got it as a present for my boyfriend, he loved it and has used it everyday since receiving it! Holds a ton of supplies and clothing, and isn’t too big to be both used as a backpack and duffle

December 30, 2019

Black Hole Duffle Bag

I bought this bag for my husband as a Christmas present. He loved it! Hel’ll get great utility and the backing of one the world’s greatest companies. Love it.

December 29, 2019

Excellent bag

Comfortable as a backpack, perfect size for traveling for a 3-4 day trip.

December 29, 2019

Great bag

Great bag

December 29, 2019

The ultimate bag

These bags are exactly what you’d dream them to be. So roomy, and comfortable to wear.

December 29, 2019

Great Travel Bag

Got this for my husband, who does long trail runs and travels. He loves it. Holds a lot but still can carry on and is lightweight.

December 29, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

December 29, 2019

Black Hole

Great product just what I needed!

December 28, 2019

Absolutely perfect for carrying my

Absolutely perfect for carrying my snowboard gear.

December 28, 2019

Best Duffel Ever

My second Black Hole duffel, and I’m obsessed. Everything fits in it for a weekend away, sturdy and strong. Easily can be your standard duffel or backpack— it’s like a 2 in 1. Can’t recommend it enough.

December 27, 2019

Amazing

Amazing

December 26, 2019

I finally understand why it's called the Black Hole Duffel

Fits an incredible amount of stuff. Love the removable backpack straps too.

December 24, 2019

Great size and construction

This holds enough for a almost a week of traveling and is durable enough to withstand serious abuse. I have small sizes for day trips and the 55 is a great addition to the quiver.

December 23, 2019

Durable, giant, well made

Such a high quality product, great reinforced zippers (so lame, but so important) and a great color too... Enough space to spend two weeks vanning aroung New Zealand amidst lots of different micro-climates. I would love an extra few pockets (there are two already but I am a compartmentalizer) but other than that its perfect. Straps are high quality... Read More too.

December 23, 2019

Loves it

Purchased for my 16yr old. He loves it. Like the removable backpack straps and the sturdy construction.

December 23, 2019

Favorite Bags

These things are the best for pretty well any trip you are planning to go on. It is strange that the new recycled style run bigger (ie 55l is larger than my old 60l).

December 22, 2019

Patagonia 55L

All purpose bag. Just works. Manageable size for travel.

December 20, 2019

Best Investment Ever

This bag is the highest quality and has made it across the country with me and still looks brand new. Perfect size for any trip up to a week or more!! Can't wait to take this bag with me on many more adventures!

December 19, 2019

best bag ever

works on an airplane just fine, backpack, duffel, it does it all. soft and comfortable too. completely indestructible

December 18, 2019

Best bag for the money

Best bag for the money

December 9, 2019

great bag

great duffel. does the job and then some. also cool colors.

December 8, 2019

Best duffle ever!

We have several of these and love them!

December 4, 2019

love

love

December 3, 2019

Great bag

I was surprised how much fit into this duffel and how easily it could be worn as a backpack. Great purchase!!

December 1, 2019

I have used it for

I have used it for travel and camping and it has been amazing. Sturdy bag with a lot of room for about a weeks worth of clothing. Definitely would recommend.

November 30, 2019

A bag is a home

If you are on the go or shacking up. Perfect place to store items from home.

November 29, 2019

55L Black Hole

Sizing is ideal for what I need. It feels rugged, and the color is good on the eyes. Front pocket is a little awkward on the inside but serves a good function for collapsing.

November 25, 2019

12L Black Hole Bag

Perfect carry on bag.

November 22, 2019

Incredible

Big, blue and perfect. These bags are it!

November 22, 2019

Great bag

We have two of these bags now - they are a good multi use size - good quality, sturdy and reliable.

November 19, 2019

55L Duffel

Duffel was far too big and came with frayed stitching. Took it in to exchange it and got the same results from the second bag. Customer service was great though.

November 18, 2019

Duffle Bag

My bag arrived in a very short period of time. It was a delight to open up the package and discover that the bag looked better in real life than watching YouTube reviews. I bought the 55 and it is deep and perfect for holding heaps of stuff. I took it all the way to Australia and it held up beautifully. The material it is made of is really hearty. ... Read MoreIt is beautifully made and worth the investment.

November 16, 2019

Great Bag

This bag held a ton of stuff on its maiden voyage 55L . The straps were very comfortable and the straps are the same size on the 55L and 40L which is nice when going between bags

November 16, 2019

Awesome Patagonia Travel Bag

We recently purchased a new Black Hole Duffel 55 L. I had one from the late 80’s and this new one is AMAZING…. so lightweight and I love the features of the backpack straps, how it folds up into itself for storage, and the fact that it zips at the top with a flap! The Deep Plum color is gorgeous - a nice change from black and blue and still dark so... Read More it won’t show the dirt.

November 15, 2019

Great bag that is nice

Great bag that is nice and durable. The green color is absolutely amazing and easy to spot. Just remember that if you check your bags with the straps off and you have to go through customs, don't open your bag to put the straps back on because your bag is heavy. Security will come over because they don't want you digging in your bag befor... Read Moree customs check. Be careful with amount of clothing that can fit into the 55L. You might think if it fits it ships, but this was a lot of weight for my back.

November 14, 2019

Awesome Bag!!

Awesome Bag!!

November 13, 2019

The Perfect Bag

This bag is AMAZING for long and short trips, works well as a carry-on, and handles any weather/travel conditions like a champ. The only thing I would change is the internal mesh pocket. One big pocket is great for stashing larger things but doesn’t hold toiletries and other smaller objects in place as well as the old two-pocket system. Overall- th... Read Moree only duffel I’d ever consider buying.

November 11, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

My husband and I have the smaller versions of this bag already, but he wanted one a little larger. We were evacuated recently due to the Kincade fire in northern California, and these duffels were what we used!

November 11, 2019

Great bag!

Great bag!

November 11, 2019

Greatest gear bags of all time

Bomber construction for all sports.

November 10, 2019

Love the versatility of the

Love the versatility of the bag. Can be duffel or backpack. Can also be used as a carryon. Fits a lot of clothes and not bulky.

November 8, 2019

Great bag, but the new model runs HUGE!

I love the bag, but prefer the prior model. The new 2019 model feels a lot more floppy and wide than my 2018. I also preferred the dual zip pockets on the underside of the U zip. I used my previous model at minimum 4 times per week and it just felt more compact, while still fitting so much inside. This feels more like a 70 L bag, not nearly the com... Read Morepact feel I was used to. Still a great bag. I just wonder if they mislabeled my 55L as a 70 L. If anything, it’s too spacious for my usual two-day jaunts. Not a bad thing, I just liked my old one best.

November 6, 2019

Black Hole Duffel 55L

Love the new color cobalt blue! I have several of these black hole duffel bags. The bags will last forever super durable. The only reason I bought another was for the color. I am always on the road and the 55L bag can handle all methods of travel.

November 6, 2019

Simple

Durable and well made. Basically one big compartment (black hole). Best to organize small items into stuff sacks before tossing them in here. Great backpack straps!

November 5, 2019

It is a black hole

This is the second Black Hole Duffel for our family. The versatility of this bag is unbeatable. The fabric holds up to years of abuse and holds everything.

November 4, 2019

Carry-on carry all

This is the second Black Hole duffle that I have, (60L + 55L) and I love them both. The 55L actually looks and seems to be bigger than my 60L which is a bit confusing but it still was small enough to tote around Europe for 10 days with no problems. One thing to note with this updated version; there are no tie-down straps on the inside of the bag li... Read Moreke previous version- which is kind of a bummer, it helps with slimming the back down. I used both sizes as a carry-on traveling on small European airlines and never had any trouble with it fitting in the overhead bins. This bag just falls short of 5 stars because of it's (seemingly) larger size and no internal tie-downs resulting in a mushier feel when carrying like a backpack. Still a great bag!

November 3, 2019

Throw it, smoosh it, haul it, sit on it

Love my black hole duffel. I use it for ski gear, bike gear, camping gear. Love the backpack straps making it wearable in an airport or walking to and from my destination. It is tough as nails and I have probably hauled a few on those around in my bag too.

November 3, 2019

Black hole duffel

I love the size and design of this bag.

October 29, 2019

Perfect bag for airplanes!

I just got back from a short trip, and the bag worked great. It was especially nice being able to wear it on my back all through the airport. Plus, it stuffed into the overhead bin easily.

October 24, 2019

Great bag

This is the 2nd one I bought. The amount of space inside makes this bag worth the purchase. Durable, easy to assemble and keeps my stuff dry.

October 21, 2019

I live out of mine

Everyone needs a black hole duffel! Serious daily driver if you travel a bunch. As a photographer I pretty much live out of my black hole bags. For most trips I take the 55L with all my clothes and the black hole back pack as my laptop / day use bag. I have been using the same pair for 5 years now with no end in sight. I have a pair of giant 120L ... Read Morethat we use for big expedition trips. Will fill them with tents and sleeping bags and even smaller hard cases of less fragile equipment that we can check.

October 16, 2019

Great purchase

I love this bag. It’s spacious, comfortable, and cool. I recommend it.

October 15, 2019

Best Blak Hole

I love this bag! Good for a weekend or a week (like I'm on right now). Sturdy and functional.

October 9, 2019

Best Duffel Ever

Another great Patagonia product. The fit and finish, functionality, everything are perfect. The orange color is a must have. I am using it for fishing which it is perfect for with plenty of pockets useful for storing bits of gear that I don’t want loose. The bag can even be packed inside of one of the internal pockets. It can be worn as a backpack ... Read Morewith the included straps but it would need to be packed pretty full to be comfortable. Still a nice option to have. Just buy it.

October 9, 2019

Great bag, great sizing, comfortable as backpack

I have both this bag and the smaller version, the 40L duffel. I originally bought the 40L thinking it would be big enough to house what I need, and while it's a good size for carryon on an airline, it's both a bit too small for packing for a weekend adventure (with rock/running/fishing gear), and sort of uncomfortable for taller people to... Read More wear as a backpack. This size is perfect. Great size, great construction, and the water resistance is nice for protecting from splashes. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend.

October 9, 2019

Nice weekender!

Everything and more that you would like in a weekender all purpose travel bag.

October 9, 2019

Love the color!

I bought this bag thinking it would be smaller than my sons 60L but it is actually a bit bigger..wider. 🤔 Worked out ok for my trip and my son will probably steal it from me and I’ll get a smaller one. But the color and durability and everything are just perfect!!

October 7, 2019

Larger than expected

We thought this would be similar to the old 60L but is quite a bit bigger, still the best bag in the house!

October 3, 2019

First time Black Hole Duffel Bag buyer

I love the bag. I bought it because on one leg of my upcoming Guatemala trip I need it to be a carryon and I can squish it down to fit the recommended size. I love the color, I love the size, I love the backpack straps. However, it has one serious design flaw that will cause me to have to make my own adjustment. Whoever thought it was a good idea t... Read Moreo put a zippered pocket on the outside of the bag with another zipper on the inside of the bag, making the entire contents of the bag completely accessible to petty thieves? For the cost of this bag, I expect not to have to make my own adjustments to make it secure from theft. What were you thinking? Otherwise it would have gotten a much higher score.

October 1, 2019

Great bag

Great bag but I wish there was a better over the shoulder strap instead of the backpack straps

September 14, 2019

Life Containers

Simple, functional, durable. I have at least 3 of these in larger sizes and 3-4 cubes too. Annually I may travel from the Rockies to Africa, Europe, Japan, or South America. For months at a time and sometimes all in the same year. The Black Hole bags keep my life together.

September 13, 2019

Great duffel

Well built and more room than I thought. I can't wait to use it for longer trips to see how much I can fit. The packing cubes really help too!

September 12, 2019

Great Duffel

This is a great bag. The shoulder straps to wear it like a backpack make it easy to travel with. The 55L size is perfect for carry on or checking luggage as well.

September 10, 2019

A travel staple

I have too many of these. Several of this size a smaller one and several of the larger sizes too. This size makes an awesome carry-on and even when stuffed is manageable in boats or cars or motorbikes during the rough remote sort of travel I do.

September 8, 2019

Black Fitz 55

Plenty of volume for 2 on a Chicago overnight. Totally durable enough for a solo hunting week in SE Colorado.

September 6, 2019

Great bag!

Purchased for an upcoming trip and it worked great! Able to pack more than enough and breeze through airport with back straps. Stowed as a carry-on with no issues. Cannot recommendation enough.

September 5, 2019

First time Patagonia buyer!

First time purchasing anything from Patagonia! Honestly, used to think it was an over priced line that just had a brand name to it. Looked into Patagonia a lot more, and found that it’s an absolute awesome company with great initiatives. The travel bag I got is great! Excited to take this out on a lot more trips. Will definitely be shopping here mo... Read Morere!

September 5, 2019

Love it!

Bought this for my boyfriend as we travel a lot. He loves the bag. It has a lot of space and is very convenient! The quality is really good as well! You can turn it into a little pouch, so it doesn’t take a lot of space and you can throw it in a luggage if you ever needed to. The colors are nice too! Just great! The customer service was awesome as ... Read Morewell!

September 4, 2019

The perfect travel bag!

I travel for work weekly and have used this bag for 8 yrs. It has been flawless and barely shows any wear.

August 28, 2019

Great duffle

It’s exactly what we needed: large bag we could stuff clothes in for our daughter to take to college. Storage is minimal in a dorm room, and the ability to fold this bag up to the size of a shoebox was a must. Great Patagonia quality. Feels sturdy. Would buy again. No frills, no compartments. It really is just an open-and-stuff bag. But it fits A T... Read MoreON.

August 27, 2019

So far, so perfect

Great duffel for a weekend or a week+. Great space, features, durability, and style. No shoulder strap, but the backpack straps serve the need for the one-shoulder throw. Will buy other sizes in the future.

August 26, 2019

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

Awesome bag. Stores all gear safely. Very durable, will last for years to come

August 21, 2019

Perfect weekend bag!

I love my black hole duffel. It's the perfect size for a weekend trip. The backpack straps are awesome. My husband has a larger black hole duffel and is so obsessed with his bag that I had to get one for myself.

August 19, 2019

Great quality and plenty of

Great quality and plenty of space. My son used this for a 20 day trip overseas and it was perfect.

August 15, 2019

Fantastic!

I have used the 55L duffle by itself for a short climbing trip with a rope and light rack, I've also used it in conjunction with a roller bag for a 3-week trip involving camping and alpine climbing gear. The backpack system is surprisingly comfortable and the straps are easily removed for checking it. I have two other Black Hole bags and the m... Read Moreaterial is incredibly durable.

August 11, 2019

Built Tough

Amazing all around bag, built to last and looks great.

August 10, 2019

Good Size, Good Bag

Great bag with a lot of space. Shoulder straps are good addition. Could have been a bit more inner organization compartments.

August 10, 2019

Great product

I love the material and design. Worked as expected. Worth the money as it is well constructed.

August 10, 2019

Black hole bag

Bag was perfect. Love the back pack straps!

August 10, 2019

Perfect size

I love this duffle. The backpack stapes make it easy to carry. I was able to fit a weeks worth of clothes/gear for camping. The color is great and material is very durable. Great quality. I'm thinking about getting a smaller one for weekend trips.

August 10, 2019

Solid, durable duffel bag. Easy

Solid, durable duffel bag. Easy to handle.

August 10, 2019

WoW

Was not expecting how much would actually fit in there! Also had no problem gettin it onboard as a carry on when 90% full. Impressed. I'm buying them for my traveling friends for sure.

August 7, 2019

Durable, spacious bag. Limited compartment options (3 total).

I love the Black Hole bags because I can be confident they will hold up to sharp edges, tough conditions, and weather exposure when slinging this around on travel or outdoors. This bag would be a 5/5 for me if it added a little more utility in the form of additional compartments. Although this bag wasn't designed as a gym bag, I use it daily f... Read Moreor gym/work and find myself struggling to compartmentalize my things. Specifically, if this bag had an inner zipper pocket on the left or right walls (on either of the short sides) the user could store dirty clothes in there without the fear of soiling or smelling the rest of the bag. The meshed pocket in the lid can't offer this, and the side pocket designed into the bag is where I keep my medium sized work objects or tools that wouldn't fit well in the flat mesh pocket. Bottom line: worth the cost, looks great, handles well, and would love an extra pocket in future designs.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches