Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel Bag 55L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 393 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

4.8/5
True To Size
August 31, 2023

Good, but could be improved

I keep waiting for Patagonia to upgrade the Black Hole series with better zippers. They should really have the slide lock zippers that allow a person to secure the bag contents with a TSA lock or any lock. North Face, Tom Binh, Gregory, and others have that feature. As others have said, the initial packaging is frustrating. I had to put the thing d... Read Moreown a few times because I was afraid I would rip something. No one is ever getting that bag back into the small internal pocket. Another thing, if this is a duffel, it should have a standard single shoulder strap. Most people already have a backpack on their back and would like to use this on their shoulder/crossbody. I've been faithful to Patagonia for 25 years but am probably going to return this. Function could be better.

August 30, 2023

Perfect duffel

When you need a duffel that keeps your things safe, dry, and easily accessed, just choose a Black Hole. Everything you need, nothing you don't.

August 22, 2023

Holds a Ton

Went on a week trip to Colorado, road-tripping. Needed bags for the kids clothes that would last for years of travel. Really liked the straps to convert to backpack if needed. The zippers are strong and sturdy. Extra pockets a plus for smaller items. I am also looking forward to snowboarding trips with this bag as well!

August 22, 2023

exceptionally useful

I had been waiting for this to go on sale for sometime as I needed a soft-sided case for a while and this didn't disappoint. Good organizational pockets, extremely spacious, the material is durable and protective, it folds down to essentially nothing. It's perfect.

August 22, 2023

Perfect Family Bag

This bag comes in useful for every member of our family as we head out for weekends, plane trips, and camping.

August 22, 2023

works as a backpack, surprisingly comfortable.

Purchased this product on sale, it was such a great deal, the color is vibrant which I'd prefer to buy so it doesn't look alike with others while on the airplane.

August 21, 2023

great bag. get yourself one

great bag. get yourself one

August 13, 2023

Love it but hard to carry

Love everything about the bag EXCEPT the lack of a waist strap. The bag gets super heavy when carrying it for longer than 10 minutes and I wish it had an extra waist strap like a hiking pack would to take some of the weight off of the shoulders.

July 18, 2023

Best Bag for Travel

The 55L Black Hole Duffle is super well designed. This bag is the perfect size to just be under 50 pounds so you can fly with it at minimal cost. The weight of the wheels for the Patagonia bags with wheels sometimes take those bags over the 50-pound mark and result in an airline fee. This bag works perfect to get you there, and the backpack straps ... Read Morework well. It is also easy to tie onto vans and boats when exploring.  

July 7, 2023

Large, Impossible to go as check-in

The bag is Beautiful! I just want to warn you that I bought the 55L and is not possible to use the bag as a carry on on flights. I am very curious if someone did. Also, I checked in the bag and now the bag has some black spots on. I am trying to clean it and nothing seems to remove. Brand new. I thought the material looked very simple to clean, so,... Read More if Patagonia or anyone has an advice on how to clean the bag, it would be great, because it is disappointing that is Brand new and I cannot remove the dirty.

Response from Patagonia
July 11, 2023

Hey Stephanie, thanks for the review. We do include dimensions on the product page so you can double check if one of our duffels would work as a carry on. Since the required dimensions vary from airline to airline, it's tough to make that call but the dimensions are there to reference. You can find them underneath the materials tab section, in a black outlined box. We find that most airlines would accept the 40L as a carry on, but we have also had some luck with the 55L. We do have a stain removal guide on our website which you can reference [here](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#asset-modal-holiday21-repair-stain-removal-accordian-modal). The method will change depending on the type of stain, if you have additional questions about this please connect with customer service.

July 2, 2023

Backpack & Duffel

Great versatility & fun graphics with Pitch Blue print. Easy to spot as a checked bag & Patagonia Black Hole quality! Thanks

June 30, 2023

Super efficient

I have a couple of these bags...set up for different travel requirements...fit in plane, tough, back pack straps awesome, better than wheels

June 27, 2023

Love the 55L Black Hole Duffle

The 55L Black Hole Duffle is the perfect bag for a long weekend loaded with all my fishing gear, a weekend getaway sharing the bag with the wife, or for the multiday camping/float trip strapped down to the raft. The shoulder straps make it easy to carry and the water-resistant application comes in handy while on the raft or during those rain storms... Read More that always seem to find you while you are setting up camp.

June 25, 2023

Perfect Pack for European Travels

This is the my 4th Blackhole bag and found it to be the perfect selection for multi-week summer travel. Love the backpack option to travel swiftly without the wheels and always fit in the overhead on the plane. Wish it had the internal cinch straps like the older model. Also some added, light weight solution for small items/ inside the larger int... Read Moreernal pouches would be nice.

June 12, 2023

Absolutely Perfect

I honestly could not have dreamed up a better bag, and I work in a design job. This is phenomenal- perfect size, somehow easy to carry with straps, holds an absolute ton but never seems big. Took it for a week working at a wilderness camp in the mountains. rugged, waterproof, holds all my stuff - love the top flap, easy to search for items..pockets... Read More are a bonus. Adore the Lago blue color- bright and fun but not flashy. If I had to go to my grave with just one bag, it would be this one, lol ;) Always adore these patagonia innovations, you guys are the best. Thanks!!

June 7, 2023

Awesome bag!

Amazing bag to store all my gear!

May 19, 2023

The Best

I travel internationally for multiple weeks on a carry on and have had pro deals with a number of outdoor equipment manufacturers, including Patagonia. I am exacting about my gear partially because I am passionate about it and partially because it matters so much - particularly when there is less of it. When my old 40L carry-on handle broke, I deci... Read Moreded to do an in-depth comparison of all available options - including Tumi and Briggs and Riley. For my purposes - using packing squares, bags go through rough treatment, more outdoor exposure, and a ton of movement on and off of busses, trains, etc - and the 40L stood out as the best - even as I tried desperately to like other products. This is the best engineered small carry on I could find for world-wide travel given its minimalist design but overall solid engineering - particularly the TPU exterior. I will say the larger volume bags could be better balanced and someone needs to do some chassis and roll engineering because for such innovative technical materials and design, the handle needs work.

May 8, 2023

Mysterious Geometry = Perfect Inside & Out

The 3 dimensional Trapezoidal shape of this duffel means it packs WAY above it's rated capacity; and - oddly - the dimensions of today's 55L are greater than those of the previous 60L. But who cares? It swallows a huge amount of clothes and gear, especially if you use packing cubes. There's a video on the Internet of a guy placing th... Read Moreis 55L into the overheads of a Lufthansa flight from Germany to Chicago then a United flight from Chicago to Hawaii. The bottom of the 55L EXACTLY matched the bottom edge of the overhead, and - yet again - that wonderful Trapezoidal shape helped the inside end of the duffel to conform to the inner curve of the overheads. Sheer genius IMO. Plus, their are so many colorways to choose from; you can either make a statement or go stealthy.

April 29, 2023

Souvenir bag

I really do love this bag. I have this one and a 40L that I'll bring with me on trips (usually one but sometimes both, depending) for dirty laundry, souvenirs, etc. I love how foldable it is but do not love having to unfold/refold it. I'm not going to gripe too much about that only because I believe part of the stifness is due to it'... Read Mores sturdiness and I'd rather have the option to check my bag, as that was one of the main draws for me. It's more that i have to think long and hard whether I absolutely have no other choice than to deploy this bag. Definitely give yourself time to fuss with it. It is a solid bag, construction wise. My biggest gripe is the lack of long strap or ability to convert the backpack straps into a single long strap. I would even settle for anchor points and I'd move the long strap from my Cotopaxi 42L over. I'm not picky! Since it's my back-up bag, I really don't want to have to redo all of my packing if I don't need to in order to make this bag easier to carry.

Response from Patagonia
May 1, 2023

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Cassandra. We're sharing it with our product designers. Some customers have added an aftermarket shoulder strap, clipping it to the haul handles on the ends. Others like to take one of the backpack straps, extend it to its maximum length, and clip it from one attachment point to the one diagonally across the bag. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

April 20, 2023

Exceeds expectations

Have used as hand luggage on numerous domestic and international flights, 4x4 trips, and currently use daily on deployment in Antarctica to lug gear from residence to work in (sometimes) extreme conditions. Has not failed yet.

April 18, 2023

Perfect Bag for traveling

This bag has become my go to bag for traveling. I can get a weeks worth of clothing inside of it.

April 6, 2023

Black Hole Fit

Backpack was easy to carry Contains/Carries large number of items Frame/Construction is well built/durable

April 5, 2023

High quality duffel

The 55L duffel is made of high quality materials, like all Patgonia gear and clothing I have purchased. I have used this bag for weekend trips, work travel and for 10 days travel abroad. It holds whatever I need to take along. Zippers are made for heavy use. The detachable backpack straps make mobility easy. Very high value here.

April 3, 2023

Warm

Wish double side pocket.

April 3, 2023

Amazing Bag!

Absolutely love this bag! Can pack and pack and pack it.... Will say that the new "55L" seems larger than my old 55L. Hope it will still go as a carry on. Great purchase!

March 27, 2023

Great size

Great size. I use it for work trips. I take my son to swimming classes, ski lessons and everything in between using this awesome duffel. It fits everything, it is waterproof and you can use as a backpack. I recommend this bag for any person who needs to carry lots of stuff.

March 16, 2023

Comfortable and Spacious

Love all the pockets and back pack style! The water resistance is a great plus.

March 11, 2023

Great Gear Bag

Great for storing/hauling gear up to the mountains for skiing/camping. Love these bags!

March 4, 2023

Love it.

Looks great, roomy, takes a beating.

March 3, 2023

Great except no shoulder strap

I wanted this bag for a while and was thrilled to buy it during the Winter Sale -- it is so sturdy and it's great that it can be worn as a backpack. But there are times I just want to sling it over my shoulder, so it's really too bad there's no shoulder strap. That would make it perfect!

February 20, 2023

Terrific all around

Love this bag for a million reasons, but most importantly its sleek design and durability put it over the top. 5/5 would recommend for all uses, work to travel.

February 15, 2023

Its a true black hole

Went ice climbing for an extended weekend and was able to pack ALL winter gear plus normal clothes into this bag and while it was full I was still able to keep shoving stuff inside. It ate whatever I put in it and feel like it wasn't even close to maxed out. I found the backpack straps to be comfortable as long as you don't pack anything... Read More hard at the top of the bag. Would recommend the Black Hole to anyone wanting to upgrade their duffel game

February 15, 2023

No shoulder strap!

Great bag, would be perfect if it came with a shoulder strap. It only has handles and backpack straps, alas.

February 14, 2023

Nice but a bit big

This 55L bag is noticeably larger than the 60L from a few years ago. Also they no longer have straps in the bag to sinch down the gear you pack. That is a big disappointment. Overall quality is solid and you can fit a lot of gear in. I got away with it as a carry on on Southwest but it was pushing it.

February 13, 2023

Fantastic bag. Buy it.

Title says it all. Fantastic company and fantastic products.

February 9, 2023

Love this bag!

I got this bag for road trips and travel. I purchased the red and obsessed with the color! It will be my go to travel bag.

February 7, 2023

Perfect !

Love the size and openness of this bag. Very easy to pack clothes in. Waterproof which is great since I use it as a ski bag. Im not big on the packable bag into the smaller section. I found it hard to unroll and remove. I thought it would be larger considering the price of the bag. This size is regular duffle bag size. I will be purchasing another ... Read Morein the next size up. Love how it can be carried as a backpack.

February 7, 2023

55L duffle bag

I was told by a friend that she uses the 55L Patagonia bag for travel, and I purchased some and they are fabulous!!

February 7, 2023

Plenty Of Space

This bag is our 3rd one, and we've loved every single one and abuse it daily and it takes it and has never given us any problems when we travel and over pack.

February 6, 2023

It's a Patagonia!

Outstanding quality and workmanship. Fills my need perfectly for a travel bag on my 3-4 day ski trips!

February 6, 2023

All around great bag

My husband and I each have the 40L bag. We used them for traveling - camping etc. even 16 days travel in Europe (with compression sacks). Being one of my favorite things - got one for son in the military. He loves it.

February 6, 2023

Practically Perfect in Every Way

We have had a 70 L for years since we bought it at an REI garage and we finally decided to get two 55L. They are a great size, and the quality of the bags are incredible. I love how durable they are- we never have to worry about our gear. The colors are also bright and add fun to life! The only thing that seemed a little rough was getting the bag t... Read Moreo fit back into its little pocket pouch- but as we aren't planning to store them like that its not a big deal to us.

February 1, 2023

Perfect traveling bag

I love that this backpack/bag is water resistant. The zippers in the insides are perfect. You can fit during winter(cold gear) 3 -4 days. Summer time clothes, a good 7 days worth of clothes. This pack is worth the investment. Perfect travel buddy.

February 1, 2023

Great, durable bag 55L

This is the perfect bag for a long weekend. The 55L is big enough to fit lots of thick winter gear and then some while still being lightweight.

January 31, 2023

Great bag

Very spacious, but not too big, easy to pack up for storage, and holds up well in inclement weather.

January 29, 2023

Everything Bag

Love! Works for everything, this is my weekend getaway/travel bag. Also is amazing camping and hiking and carrying everything, lives up to the black hole name.

January 29, 2023

Not Heavy RAIN resistant.

Our fam has been a fan of Patagonia for many years. We love the quality and designer of their products, and the earth conscious approach. So we have gotten several jackets and bags and this time we got our second 55L black hole duffle and three more as gifts for family members. We got very disappointed in our recent trip when we had our bags expose... Read Mored to rain for a few hours during our trip and come to find all of our items be soaking wet. The main hype was the weather resistant aspect. So maybe y resist drizzles and not heavy rain. We are not very happy with it this time. Still a great Bag.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2023

Hi Eva! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with bags. Our Black Hole Duffel isn't waterproof just water resistant so it will wet through in extend periods of rain. If you're unsatisfied with the bag you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 26, 2023

Second duffle bag Ive purchased!

I loved my 100L black hole duffle so much that I purchased this 55L. This smaller size is perfect for weekend trips, but probably a bit too big for day trips. The material is very durable! Patagonia, if youre reading this, could you please make matching luggage tags for these bags? Would buy them in a heartbeat!

January 25, 2023

Love the bag, durable and dependable

I love these bags I have had one for 5 years and it looks brand new I bought all of my groomsmen these as a gift so they will have some thing to use in their daily lives that is of the utmost quality. Cant say enough positive things

January 22, 2023

I love this bag. I

I love this bag. I am going to buy another one for all my fishing gear. I use this one to travel on the weekends for skiing. It holds all my clothes for weekend and ski gear. It is very strong. And some what weather proof

January 22, 2023

Fits everything!

A fantastic durable duffel bag that fits a lot of stuff! It collapses and makes it easy to carry around. One thing is the backpack straps are tricky to pull off (my hands always get into the handle).

January 21, 2023

Great travel bag

This bag is perfect for travel. It can be packed in the suitcase and then used as an extra bag

January 19, 2023

This bag is amazing

I Purchased this bag because I am on the go for a couple of months in my tiny little Acura. This bag is super durable, waterproof, and fits so much. I love the fact that it has backpack straps. Really great purchase that should last for years!

January 17, 2023

Perfect Carry On

Got this for a 2 wk trip to Costa Rica. It has loads of space, was able to pack a pillow, hiking boots, 2 extra pairs of walking/water shoes, and all the clothes you may need. I had left over space too. The color is perfect, the bag is going to be an heirloom.. I cant imagine anything out of regular use that would destroy it. I adore that its t... Read Moreear resistant and water proof. Those were necessary to my purchase. The back pack straps are great if you are needing to walk with it for awhile. The zippers are large enough to put a lock on it. No flaws. Wish I had found this sooner. I plan to buy more from this series. Thank you!

January 16, 2023

Great bag

I own multiple black hole bags and so does my family. Perfect weekend or carry on bag. Years ago I did a two week trip to Alaska. I got picked up by a friend at the airport and threw my black hole bag in the back of their pickup truck in the rain. 2 hours later when I got to their house everything was still dry.

January 13, 2023

Awesome quality

My Family has three of these, (one for each of us). Our life is always on the move and these bags are always full and ready to go at the foot of the bed. We have been in and out of them (literally) every day for the last 3 years, and with the newest addition to our family it was only fair to get him his own. He doesn't even know how much he go... Read Morenna love it :)

January 11, 2023

Sailing gear

Love this bag for travel to events and on the yacht. Waterproof, fits all my gear, and love that its also a backpack.

January 10, 2023

Love the blue hole

I recently bought and used the 55 liter black hole for a week long trip. Worked out very well. And I love the blue..

January 10, 2023

A perfect duffel bag

I'm in love with my Black Hole Duffel - it's durable, fits more than you'd expect, and looks great! I'm thrilled with the color and quality, and would happily purchase other sizes when I need other luggage options.

January 10, 2023

Great for hauling gear

Love the black hole bags, I have them in many sizes for various trips. So strong and durable.

January 10, 2023

Incredible!

This bag really is so much larger than you would think when looking at the folded / packed state. Its a robust and durable bag, yet lightweight and weather resistant. It is truly amazing and better than all my cheap travel bags I have had in the past.

January 9, 2023

Travel Essential

Only duffel you'll ever need

January 9, 2023

Bigger than expected

I did not realize that the newer black hole duffels are a whole lot bigger than older versions. My partner has had a 60L bag for years and I was excited to get the 55L expecting it to be a tad smaller. While I do love the quality of the bag, I am disappointed that this bag is actually significantly larger than the old 60L. Will probably keep the ba... Read Moreg but wish it was smaller.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

You're absolutely correct, Victoria; the 55L has larger dimensions than the earlier 60L version (26.7" x 15.7" x 11.8" vs 25" x 13" x 10"), but the capacity measurement is more accurate. We have changed the way we measure the volume of these packs, and the current pack really does carry 55L. If you do decide this won't work for you, we will be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Thank you for sharing this feedback!

January 7, 2023

It was a gift, and

It was a gift, and I was concerned, because it was on BACKORDER, BUT I did get it before Christmas, I WAS VERY HAPPY. THANK YOU.

January 6, 2023

All Around

Had for 3 years and love it! It fits a deceptively large amount of stuff so works for short or long trips- I've lived out of it for a little over a week with no issue. Fits in overhead bins and comfortable as a backpack. Only thing is I wish the water resistant material was on the bottom as well

January 6, 2023

Totally worth it

I got this after a cheap Amazon Duffel I bought broke mid trip. I love how durable the material is and how cool it looks. I'm excited to bring this aboard for an international trip next week knowing I can convert it into a backpack when I need to!

January 6, 2023

Plane Travel Backpacker

I have owned a "Worn Wear" Patagonia 60-liter "black hole" bag for 5 years and it is my favorite travel bag. It can be carried one-handed as a duffel or zero-handed as a comfortable backpack that easily fits in the overhead bins of airplanes with rows of 4 or more seats. If not packed too full, it will also fit under most airpla... Read Morene seats. The two shoulder straps detach when not needed like when it went kayaking. The fabric is 100% Polyester and is water resistant, if not waterproof. I recently bought the 55-liter version for each of my sons who travel regularly and seemed to like it, too.

January 3, 2023

Best all-around bag ever!

Impressed by the ruggedness of the Black-Hole bag, yet it's amazingly lightweight. The 55L has ample storage capacity for several days to a week (depending on how you pack...), pockets in all the right places, and the ability to carry as a duffle, shoulder, or backpack style, making this my go-to bag. Thanks, Patagonia, for another great quali... Read Morety product.

January 2, 2023

Great for Travel

Black Hole bags are great for travel or weekend getaways. I have bought several and they last a very long time. Highly recommend.

January 1, 2023

Great looking duffel bag

Duffle bag arrived as good looking as I had hoped and very functional. Will use it for camping and local/ car travel.

December 31, 2022

Terrible! Too difficult to carry

I was super excited to purchase and use the 55L black hole duffle. The reviews were mainly great and Patagonia products have always been fantastic. I love the color, the durability and the look of the bag. I did read the reviews regarding straps being an issue, but assumed the backpack option would work for me while traveling, as they have in the p... Read Moreast with other brands. However, it really was a terrible travel experience with this bag. I used it as a carry on, and it was not packed to the brim, just a couple if changes of clothes, small toiletries bag, swimwear, book and a pair of flip flops. It was not full at all. But, when wearing it as a backpack it was incredibly uncomfortable since everything shifted to the bottom and then bumped around as I walked. The bag straps do not easily slide over a luggage handle either, so if I wanted to roll it on top of my larger roller bag, it slid off very easily, making rolling through a crowded airport almost impossible. And today, my back is killing me after one day of travel while trying to maneuver this unwieldy bag. I hope to return it, as no one else in my family wants to use the bag, after seeing how terrible my experience was. I will talk to customer service about a refund after they return from holiday break.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2023

Hi Jenni, we were saddened to hear about your experience with the Black Hole Duffel Bag 55L. We want you to be comfortable with your gear, so we'd be more than happy to help out with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out to you privately with further assistance.

December 31, 2022

Good quality

I like it !

December 30, 2022

Perfect size

I've been looking for a duffel that doubles as a backpack and fits in an overhead compartment for when I'm traveling. The 55L is perfect for that and it looks cool too! Airlines conveyor belts have destroyed some of my favorite luggage but with this piece, I can go away for a week and still not have to baggage check. No lost luggage, eith... Read Moreer!!!

December 30, 2022

Travel bag

Great travel bag, can and have lived out of this for weeks.

December 30, 2022

Great carry-on travel backpack

Love this travel backpack as its large enough to fit your items for a weekend trip, no problem. It fits overhead too! Great colors.

December 30, 2022

Best duffel ever!

I own one of these and love it so much that it is my go to wedding gift. Everyone should own one of these. The 55L is the best size for Week long trips and car travel. I also love the backpack straps. Just an all around useful bag.

December 28, 2022

Amazing duffel!

This bag is incredible! Patagonia delivers with this one. As a fishing guide, I am looking for products that can take a beating and are useful in the field. This duffel is that and more. The coating on the outside of the bag is durable even in the toughest conditions. If you need something that is tough and stylish, you cant go wrong with the black... Read More hole 55!

December 28, 2022

Perfect Bag

My son and husband love love love this bag!!!

December 26, 2022

Great carry all

Perfect for all kinds of travel. Indestructible.

December 25, 2022

Doesn't have a shoulder strap?!?

Should have read more of the reviews. No shoulder strap?? On a traditional duffel???? Sure, the backpack straps are nice but that should be a bonus feature, not the primary option. What a shame. Really undermines a seemingly good bag.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

Hey Jordan, thanks for the feedback. That is correct, this bag has removeable backpack straps and the handle straps as well. We're happy to pass along this feedback to our product team. In the meantime, we recommend checking out the [Black Hole MLC 45L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html?dwvar_49307_color=BLK) which has the option to use it with backpack straps, as a shoulder bag or using the handle.

December 25, 2022

Ideal Travel Duffel

I like the design of the black hole duffel line because of the simplicity. The large stowe pocket makes storing essentials easy, and its got just what you need for an effective transport of your clothing or gear. Its super durable, Id feel fine carrying it in heavy rain or tossing it around in transit on a longer trip. Great bag, great design, love... Read More the choices of sizing for what you need.

December 24, 2022

Great quality!

Love the size and versatility of this bag!

December 18, 2022

Multi Purpose Perfect Size Travel/Carry On Bag

I had an old 60 liter that has been around the world and back. I updated with the 55L model and its superior when used as a backpack. Also the new design of the flap is more useful than the old two compartment set up. Large enough to carry personal gear and a weekends worth (or more) of clothing. Also, the top opening allows easy access to all your... Read More gear. Hard to go wrong with the 55L BHD.

December 12, 2022

Great Product!

You will not regret buying a black hole bag! I use it for all of my trips, and have even used it as a carry-on when flying. It fits everything you could possibly need, and then some.

December 10, 2022

Versatile bag, questionably sized

I have a 45L black hole duffel that has been the go to for plane travel for years. Tough, maneuverable, and perfectly sized as a carry-on. This new 55L duffel looks deceptively similar, but the extra space causes it to be a bit paunchy when under packed and a bit too big to carry-on comfortably when fully stuffed. Wish the 45L was still available. ... Read MoreThey can be more expensive than new on the secondary maket for a good reason.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2022

Hey Grant, thank you for the review. We no longer make the 45L Black Hole Duffel, but we do have the Black Hole MLC 45L which you can check out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html?dwvar_49307_color=SEQR&cgid=root). We also make the Duffel in 40L, both regular and wheeled. If this bag isn't working for your needs, we recommend checking out those options!

December 8, 2022

Perfect

This is my fourth black hole duffel - I love them! They last forever and hold everything. Great to travel with.

December 7, 2022

Lots of room

This bag is great. Its super big but very packable and the backpack straps are very nice.

December 6, 2022

Great bag, but..

I have always been a huge fan of the black hole series, I have a few. My only complaint with the newer model is that there are no more internal compression straps. They were so nice for keeping everything contained if you have a smaller load. I hope that Patagonia will bring back the internal compression straps :)

December 6, 2022

PLEASE bring back a proper shoulder strap; PLEASE!

I'm lucky enough to have bought a 40L BHDB after they added a shoulder strap but before they converted it to the backpack straps. I wasn't as lucky with the 55L. Everyone loves the BHDB. I use mine as a carry-on, which means it's part of my backpack/duffel combo. Which means I already have a backpack, and can't use the BHDB&#x2... Read More7;s backpack straps, leaving just the handles. So I'm out of luck which stinks because I love this bag. Patagonia, you're innovators! Create a strap that converts to either backpack straps or a single (long-enough) shoulder strap. Include proper centrally located strap positions. I personally just need the backpack strap, but some people want/love the backpack straps, so find a solution that fits us all. I'd re-buy my 55L if Patagonia came out with a new proper shoulder-strap option. Please?

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

Thank you for these suggestions, Matthew! We are sharing them with our product designers. In the meantime, some customers have had opted to add an aftermarket strap clipped to either the handles or the loops. Another hack option is to clip one of the shoulder straps diagonally across the top of the bag, possibly adding a wraparound pad where it sits on the shoulder. In any case, this is very useful feedback, and we will pass it to the right team!

November 14, 2022

Great durable bag!

I purchased this duffel bag for a two-week trip to Northern Spain, and it was the perfect size for all of my clothes and cycling gear.

November 14, 2022

Carry-On working fine and can fit so much!

Just flew with Air France and Viva Aerobus with this bad boy as carry-on no questions asked. It fits really a lot. It's too heavy for me to carry it for long but that's just normal - Now I want to find a small retractable trolley :)

November 12, 2022

Excellent luggage

I absolutely love the Black Hole 55 duffle. The shell material is that vinyl feel and its super durable. I get SO many compliments in the color scheme I got and I still look at it in wonder myself. The only downside I find is that there is no over the shoulder strap option. The backpack carry is fantastic but Id love to throw it over a shoulder if ... Read MoreI am wearing another backpack while traveling, which chances are I will be. This aside, this is an extremely durable and great looking pack.

November 8, 2022

10/10 bag

Ive had one of these for a few months now and my wife steals it all the time. The 55 L size is perfect and with the option of turning into a backpack its good for so many situations.

November 4, 2022

Perfect

It is one of those Patagonia pieces that works even better than you could hope. So small for how much gear it absorbs into its depths. Seriously the all year perfect pack for clothes, i have baselayers to fleece in this thing. The water resistance is legit.

October 13, 2022

Great duffel bag

This bag is great. The 55L works well for 2 people for an extended weekend as long as you both pack organized!

October 12, 2022

Runs big!

Really great 55L bag, such a good color and so useful. I have the 45L and it's MUCH bigger than that one, even though I got the 55L. I compared it to my other 90L one and it's closer in size to that one, so bear that in mind! The new 70L is about the same size as the old 90L. But great bags as always. If you're buying outdoor gear th... Read Moreese days and you're not getting patagonia, you're making a darn mistake.

October 11, 2022

Great bag!

I really love this bag! It was big enough to fit my tent, sleeping bag, sleeping pad and a change of clothes for one night of camping. I was confused when it arrived and this 55L bag is larger than my husband's older 60L bag, but was told that Patagonia used to size their bags incorrectly so mine is an accurate 55L. Either way, I'm really... Read More happy with this bag and would recommend it to everyone!

October 6, 2022

Perfect for a cruise getaway!

I was going between the 55L and the 70L bag and decided to go with the 55L. The bag itself is sturdy and the zippers held up better than I expected! My husband and I took a quick 4 day cruise to Cozumel and the bag held up to two transfer flights and of course getting on the boat, without a scratch. Took a lot of clothes and two pairs of shoes and ... Read Morestill had a bit of room for some small souvenirs. The backpack straps also made this bag easy to carry getting from the hotel to the port very easy. Very happy with the purchase and will probably buy the 70L for longer trips.

October 4, 2022

Great and roomy bag

This bag was a gift and it is great for my weekend trips. It holds everything I need with space left over. I like the versatility to carry it as traditional duffle or as a back pack.

September 29, 2022

Holds a TON

Black Hole bags are awesome and rugged. They are lightweight and seem to be endless on the inside. They handle being tossed around, shoved into tight places and I've even had mine fall out of a truck on the a backroads highway. The zippers are sturdy and tight - never had one open on me and the stitching is tough. This bad will survive all kin... Read Moreds of unexpected scenarios and will last a long time. Well worth it.

September 28, 2022

Functional but ugly as hell after a few years

Functionality of this is superb. I've used it as a carry-on around the world and transitioning from duffle to backpack is fantastic in transit. The only complaint is the Black Hole exterior has essentially worn off and it looks ugly as hell after just a few years. If you wear it, you will, inevitably, be brushing off flakes of the material f... Read Moreor half an hour after you take it off. Patagonia says (accurately) that it's 'cosmetic' so not covered by their warranty so it doesn't go out that much with me anymore. I have other Black Hole products and they've never done this before and look good despite far harder use.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

Hi Terry! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're incredibly sorry to hear about what is happening to the exterior of your duffel. You're correct that this won't effect the performance of the bag it can be unsightly. That said, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us under warranty.

September 28, 2022

Really good duffle bag!

I use this duffle bag as my practice bag for Rugby, holds everything I need and more!

September 26, 2022

Black Hole Bag 55L

Overall, like most all Patagonia products, the bag is sturdy and well made. What would have made me rate it at 5 stars would have been the addition of more nooks and crannies, like pockets, a couple on the outside, and a few inside to store those things you like to grab fast.

September 20, 2022

Great product. Used as a

Great product. Used as a walk in back pack and bag for various activities plus to keep things organized in my car rather than back and forth to the house and then back to the car. Tough bag. Only issue is in back pack use there is a need to keep the straps from coming off your shoulders while s rambling over talus etc. I just tried them together on... Read More the front on my chest with a slip knot for easy on off as needed. As said. Good product.

September 19, 2022

These bags are the BEST!

These bags are the BEST! work great for everything and fit in the overhead bin.

September 14, 2022

The most useful piece of gear

These duffels are simply the best for travel unless you need wheels. They are my go to gifts for weddings.

September 2, 2022

Great size

I was going back and forth on sizes of duffel bags and I am glad I went with the 55L. Great for traveling and will fit all your necessities

September 2, 2022

Almost got a 5

I love the product but ended up returning because I found a competitive product that also had compression straps. Should add compression straps!!

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Alina. We're sorry this design didn't work for you! Feedback like this is vital to improving our products going forward, and we will share your thoughts about the lack of compression straps with our product designers.

August 23, 2022

Black hole long term review

Great bag for hauling tons of stuff. This thing has had me covered for fly fishing trips, ski trips, and everything in between. I bought it to accommodate fly rods and gear in one bag (9 foot 4 pieces are real snug, 8.5 foot 4 pieces rods fit better) and it does the job. The backpack straps are key to lugging this thing through airports. After 10... Read More+ years of use my only gripe is that the rubberized coating is shedding off pretty bad (started about year 6).

August 18, 2022

Love the black hole bags!

I have several of these bags, in a variety of sizes... and just ordered a couple in the new pitch blue color that is coming soon. I love the back pack straps, make it super easy to carry multiple bags in one trip. I've used these for over a year, 2 trips a month, no snags, tears, or issues with wear. They've been perfect!

August 17, 2022

My New Favorite

I bought this for a upcoming Alaska fishing trip and it work perfectly for all my gear

August 12, 2022

Great travel bag

Live in Hawaii and got x3 of these bags to travel to London for world outrigger canoe sprints with my 2 teenage sons. Able to fit all our gear for a 10 day event. Able to still put in overhead carry on. Like the addition of right and left labels on shoulder straps on current bags. I had purchased a 60 L bag several years ago and really liked it and... Read More got three more for the current trip. Current bags dont have Internal since down straps with my old bag had prayed would be great to bring those back but otherwise I would say a new bags are excellent!

August 12, 2022

Best bag ever

This is my 4th purchase of a black hole bag. I have 1 for myself, 1 for my spouse and 2 were gifts. They simply cant be beat. Best duffle bag on the market bar none.

August 12, 2022

Fantastic Duffle Bag

I love this duffel bag! The option to carry as a backpack is a great feature. Its durable and easy to clean.

August 7, 2022

Best bag ever!!!

Patagonia absolutely perfected the weekend bag with the 55L Black Hole Duffel. I love the backpack straps and the internal compartments. Can't live without it :) Fits great on airplane too.

August 3, 2022

Love these bags!

I have two sizes, one for packing myself and my kids when they were smaller and a 55L that I was able to use for myself for a 10 day trip to Italy. The back pack straps make hustling thru the airport a breeze. Heavy duty fabric survived international baggage handling without a scuff. But I needed a YouTube video to get them folded back up in the po... Read Moreuch for longer term storage. It was a small price to pay though. Couple them with packing cubes and youve got an efficient travel combo. Now that the kids are older, I purchased one for each of them so they can carry their own gear.

July 22, 2022

Excellent

55 liter black with Fitz Trout. Excellent duffel. First use as a carryon for long weekend to Rocky Mountain National Park/Estes Park with hiking, fly fishing and horseback riding on the agenda. Swallowed cowboy boots, vasques, chacos, jeans, fishing and hiking gear and dinner clothes, with a bit of room to spare for kids gifts on the way home. Way ... Read Moremore room than anticipated, and tough. Easy to haul with backpack straps , and easy to pack and live out of due to structure. Would love tie downs for a fly rod but other than that fantastic!

July 18, 2022

perfect size

I got this bag to pack clothes and equipment for the 400 mile supported bike tour from Buffalo to Albany. It was perfect (55L) and the mechanism for the shoulder straps made quick attachment/detachment a breeze. High quality fabric and mechanisms. Have an older and smaller bag which is a gem. The fact these are sold out speaks for itself, indispens... Read Moreable and completely reliable product. Don't know if I could lift a fully packed larger size, but others likely can.

July 15, 2022

2 week trip bag.

Bag has plenty of space for a 2 week trip! Packed it with hot, rainy, and cold climate gear. 55L had more than enough space for the trip. Even fully packed its easy to carry as a backpack, especially for a lot of small flight jumping! Bought the wife a 55L as well since her 90L is quite large and not as easy to handle when on the go a lot.

July 10, 2022

The best travel bag

This bag is fantastic! You can put more than enough clothes and whatever else you need. We are taking it on a two week European vacation and it holds everything. Highly recommend!! My family loved mine so much they bought their own.

June 26, 2022

The Perfect Travel Bag

I kept this bag in it's packed form for my trip back to my parent's and then unfolded it and stuffed it to use as a checked bag for my flight home. The bag still looks in new condition after being checked! This bag also makes a great weekender if that's what you're looking for.

June 1, 2022

best travel bag

Black hole duffle 55L is the best travel bag. We never had any issues on domestic and international flights as a carry on. Depending on how you pack, you really don't need to check in an airline bag and risk losing your luggage or the airline being rough with it. The bag can take a beating and is pretty water proof/resistant. As a family, we h... Read Moreave also have the patagonia 45L travel bag and an older black hole 60L( which is smaller than than the 55L for some reason). This bag has been to Alaska for halibut fishing, San Diego for bluefin fishing, snowboarding in Utah and Japan, and traveling all over internationally and domestic, and the bag still seems like there is very little wear and tear if any.

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2022

We are so stoked to hear your Black Hole Duffle has traveled to so many awesome locations! The progression of the Black Hole Duffle has changed including how we measure their capacity. This makes your older 60L Black Hole smaller than the revised 55L Black Hole.

May 25, 2022

WATCH OUT FOR THAT BLACK HOLE!!!!!

The black hole you do want in your universe! I purchased this bag not really knowing its capabilities. The more trips i took it on, the more i noticed how it just gobbles up whatever you put in it. It seems to expand and contract exactly to it's contents - so well that i often use it as my airline carry-on. My favorite feature has to be the du... Read Morerability. The bag has gone to every climate and on every vehicle imaginable. It's collected a few scratches & scrapes but most seem to have been able to be buffed out (mine's white - eek!). My next faorite features are the large zipper that makes zipping up very easy and the daisy chains that are on either side of the bag. i always carry a few extra carabiner's because you never know what you're going to want to attach. The last favorite feature of mine is the backpack straps. Whenevr my hands end up full, the straps have come in major clutch!!

May 23, 2022

Nice size

Should work great for weekend travels

May 19, 2022

My Favorite Bag

Replacing my favorite bag that I cannot live without! Somehow I lost my original one in a recent move and this is my go-to travel and camping bag.

May 7, 2022

Great bag

Incredible bag - tons of room, functional and durable.

May 7, 2022

Perfect Size

I have the 55L Black Hole duffel and I can't say enough about it. It is my go to bag for an overnighter to a week long trip. Add the fact you can add the straps super quickly to make it a back pack. Which is quite comfortable. Can't recommend this enough for someone looking for a durable bag capable of holding allot more than you might th... Read Moreink. Plus it is made of recycled materials as well.

April 29, 2022

Strange size

Love these bags and have used them for over a decade. Had a 45L previously and found that to a great size for clothes to not shift around or sink to the bottom when carried as a back pack for carry on. Find this bag is just a bit too wide and long. When bag isnt very full, when carried as a back pack weight shifts to the bottom making it feel uncom... Read Morefortable. Would like to try the 40L but havent had luck finding inventory.

Response from Patagonia
May 2, 2022

We're sorry that the larger bag has been disappointing. Please reach out to our Customer Service team for updates on our inventory. We do expect to have more of the [40L Black Hole Bags](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-duffel-bag-40-liters/49338.html) very soon!

April 27, 2022

55L Duffel must have

So pleased with this purchase. This 55L is just the right size for traveling. Very nice material.

April 24, 2022

My go to wedding gift

These are the most useful piece I own. Ive chosen this to give as wedding gifts as I know they will be long appreciated and oh so useful.

April 21, 2022

Great bag

This bag is the perfect size for traveling. I can fit about a weeks worth of stuff in it and the straps are made to be super comfortable for carrying around.

March 17, 2022

Great Bag

This is my 3rd Black hole bag... I now have multiple sizes and bought one for my husband. They are virtually indestructible, repel water and have great zippers. The 55L is great for weekend or several day-long trips and I use the 40L as a gym bag. The backpack and carabiner loops are a bonus.

March 16, 2022

Adventure bag

We have two of these 55L Black Hole bags and have used them for both snowboarding, holding camping gear, and travel. Love that they stack on top of each other in the car since the bottom is a rougher material that grips the top of the other Black Hole 55L bag. We have used every handle in this bag. The side handles make it easy to adjust and drag w... Read Morehen were pulling out gear from the back of the van. The top flap is big enough to easily access everything and also holds a lot of smaller items w/ its zip pouch. We dont unpack our bag, even if we are in a hotel or Airbnb, since it keeps everything super accessible and organized during travel, especially for our teenage boys. The backpack straps are great when we are jumping in and out of Tube stops, up stairs at train stations, over cobblestones in older cities where wheeled suitcases are a hassle to roll. We are not easy on our gear and these bags still look brand new. I have a feeling our kids will be taking these bags with them on their college trips and outdoor adventures for many years to come. Tip: If you do want to pack it back into its original self-contained bag, I recommend recording yourself unpacking it so you know how to repack it. Its a pretty tight fit.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi Aislin! Thank you for writing us such a detailed review. We love to hear that your duffels get so much use, and we hope they see your kids all the way through college. This feedback is greatly appreciated so we'll share it with our design crew. Wishing you and your family well on all the future adventures!

March 15, 2022

Best Bag Ever

This most recent Black Hole 55L duffel I purchased for my youngest son. I bought mine about 5 years ago and I have been using it constantly ever since for all of my travel. My job requires me to travel overseas about 30% of my time and this is my only bag. I can fit enough to basically travel for several weeks assuming a few opportunities for laund... Read Morery at hotels. The bag is a great, simple design. It is easy to carry with the backpack straps and can be stuffed into any overhead. Even small regional jets or jammed under your seat if necessary. For me it is perfect. Thank you.

March 13, 2022

Great bag

I have a few of these. Theyre perfect for travel. They hold up and they shed water well.

March 10, 2022

Patagonia High Standard

Own every size in this carry all. I love the new colors and the easy wipe down and wash. Perfect for travel and camping. This size can be worn as a backpack with the carry straps.

March 6, 2022

Fav gear bag. Bought this one for my sons sailing gear.

Love the black hole bags. I use one daily for trail running gear and just got another for my son. Super durable.

March 5, 2022

Solid Choice for a 55L Duffel Bag

Great bag, all its missing is a removable shoulder strap and end pockets. Because I think those two upgrades would improve the bag dramatically, 4 stars.

March 1, 2022

Great bag

Great bag. Durable, tough, looks great, and holds everything I need for a short trip! One recommendation - add a few small pouches inside. I like small pouches attached to the interior sides or ends to throw little things into...helps keep them from getting lost in the cavernous bag. otherwise, awesome product!

March 1, 2022

Great but want softer shoulder straps

Took this as a backpack so i didnt have to check a bag while on a week vacation. Stuffed it full. Walked through several airports and it chaffed my shoulders so i loosened up the straps but didnt feel as secure. Maybe its fine for a big guy but as a woman (who works out several times a week) it was uncomfortable on my shoulders. It truly needs soft... Read Moreer shoulder pads towards the top of my shoulders. Id be happy to pay extra to upgrade or purchase softer straps.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with the straps. This feedback is immensely helpful to our product designers!

February 26, 2022

Waterproof, durable

I got the 55 liter version, good for a weekend travel bag, a big gym bag if you carry lots of stuff. I use mine primarily for skiing, where it holds my pants, parka, extra socks, extra gloves, a down mid layer and a synthetic mid layer if there might be rain. Everything that doesnt fit in my boot bag. Its waterproof so your stuff stays dry if you ... Read Morethrow it on wet or snowy ground, and durable mine shows no signs of wear after being repeatedly thrown into and out of the truck many times.

February 25, 2022

Rugged Black Hole Duffle

Rugged travel bag, a little pricey but should stand the test of time and wear/tear that comes with travel.

February 25, 2022

Duffle Bag

Love this bag. Perfect for a weekend get away. Fits nicely on planes and easy to carry. Highly recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

We're so happy to hear that you've been able to use this as a carry on! Please be sure to verify carry on restrictions with specific airlines, as the measurements can vary by company.

February 5, 2022

My trusty travel companion

If my trip is 7 days or less, this is the only piece of luggage I need. I can get all my work clothes, workout kit and two pairs of shoes in easily. It fits well in overhead bins in all but the smallest puddle jumpers, where I cram it under the seat instead. I once had another passenger spill a full coffee on it once. There was no damage to anythin... Read Moreg inside and it was a quick clean-up with a paper towel. I cannot imagine a better bag!

January 7, 2022

Surprisingly large

The 55L can carry so much stuff the backpack straps come in super handy when its very full. Great bag for travel and weeklong trips.

January 6, 2022

Great all around bag!

This 55L bag is a great weekend bag that is the perfect size. I like that its durable sides can be wiped down, or layer on a wet grounds and still keeps the contents dry. I love the 3 sided top opening which makes it easier to use and not need 2 hands to pack/unpack. Fun colors too!

January 4, 2022

Great travel bag!

Love the Black Hole duffel! Have had one a few decades, bought one for my son now.

January 4, 2022

Sturdy and comfortable to carry

Versatile, comfortable and sturdy duffel.

December 7, 2021

Black Hole Bags are the Best

This is my second black hole bag and more of a mid-size that my previous larger black hole bag. Bar none, these are the best bags and the backpack straps make it super versatile.

December 7, 2021

Bigger than the old 60L

I grabbed a 55 because the 60L I had was so useful, and was somewhat surprised to find that it is larger - quite a bit - than the old 60L model.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches