Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel Bag 40L

Write Your Review

4.84 /5

Filter Reviews

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel Bag 40L

4.84
Kinda Large
July 13, 2020

Travel

Perfect size for carryon or weekend trips, love the green color, great pockets and compartments

July 10, 2020

Travel

Perfect size for carryon or weekend trips, love the green color, great pockets and compartments

June 20, 2020

Durable, Sleek and Travels Well.

It's a simple product that works very well. Mine's been on planes, trains and automobiles and looks as new as the day it arrived. It works as a carry-on or checked bag. It's durable, easy to spot and holds a good amount of gear without the seduction of overloading. Worth every penny.

June 19, 2020

Great Bag

Bought this as a replacement for a traditional suite case. Love it. Light wight easy to move.

May 10, 2020

A Better Carry On Wheelie.

This Black Hole wheeled bag is wonderful. It may be the smallest size wheelie, but there is an abundance of room inside this traveler. I bought a Black Hole Mini MLC thinking I would need more storage space, but I probably never will. This bag is slightly blocky, but super functional. The inside is thoughtfully laid out and the outside seems rugg... Read Moreed enough for any airline brutality. Im super stoked to travel with my new Black Hole wheelie bag. Big Thanks!

March 8, 2020

Good but the protective surface may not be strong

I had been longing for this bag for a while and finally went for it. I was impressed at the modification of the zipper over previous models which allowed better access to the insides. Its nice to have some wheels, especially when carrying one of my other larger duffels. First trip, I was forced to check the bag and when it came out on the belt, it ... Read Morecontained deep scuffs on the shiny black surface. This is a big disappointment as my other black hole bags have been bombproof for years. The scuffs are deep and rough as though the surface had been melted. I suspect that the new materials are not as durable as previous and that this bag will look pretty banged up in no time. Other than this strength factor, this is a perfect two night flyer.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hi John! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear the duffel didn't hold up as expected. All our garments are under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). You are always welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us for a warranty evaluation.

March 6, 2020

Performed well on multi-country trip

We purchased this rolling duffel because of growing frustration with our hard-shell spinner; the wheel kept locking and the suitcase and attached laptop bag would topple over. I wanted to try something with a bit more flexibility and having had very good experiences with our Patagonia clothing, I was keen to try out the travel gear. I was fortunate... Read More to find the 40L Black Hole rolling duffel in Birch White (which is what is shown in the demonstration video on the website). Pros: 1) Durability - after 10 days of travel through three southeast Asian countries with multiple flights and baggage transfers, there were several scuff marks but those were easily erased (mostly) with a wet wipe. 2) Sufficient space - I made use of packing cubes for the first time and I would highly recommend this since there are no section dividers inside the duffel. I am a medium height woman and was able to take 2 pairs of shoes, 3 pairs of trousers and a skirt, 6 blouses/shirts, underwear, pajamas, ample bag of toiletries/medications, bag of electronic cables and adapters, travel umbrella, notebooks, and two large gift boxes of chocolates. 3) Looks great - the light color looks stylish while the material looks tough; it was easy to spot amidst everyone's dark colored suitcases. 4) Fully packed laptop backpack balances on the top of the duffel against the extendable handle when the duffel is full i.e., no toppling over. Cons: 1) Tilts when held vertically by the fabric handle - the main inconvenience is walking down the airplane aisle, as it tends to hit the seat armrests. However, if you hold the duffel by the cloth handle and by the top of the extendable plastic rolling handle (i.e., using both hands), it can be held straight, or if you just hold it by the side handle and aim it forward but that is a little harder to control if it is heavy. This is not a problem if you have both hands free but if I were wrangling a two year old at the time, it would have been very challenging. 2) When pulling it behind and to the right of me I knocked it with my right foot a few times but that may just be my gait. Bonus tip: I replaced my old mini-padlock-style travel locks with combination travel locks that work with a steel cable and that was easy to fit through the little zipper holes. I also purchased a steel cable to lock the bag to the hotel fixtures; probably a bit of overkill but always happy to make my bag a little less easy to steal than the next one.

February 21, 2020

40L Bag is Great

I love this bag! I have flown from AK to the East coast twice at this point and a few other smaller trips and this bag is durable. It has plenty of storage for me on a 2 week trip (I do pack light), the sliding handle is stable, the wheels are durable and I have no bad things to say about this bag. I do wish it came in a size in between 40L and 70L... Read More, but maybe I'm just being picky. I've wheeled this thing around DC and Seattle and it did great. It withstands airport baggage practices well, only one little scuff from a trip but the materials are so durable it is hardly noticeable.

January 16, 2020

Perfect Quick Hitter!

A great bag for those quick hitter trips. Easily swallows a few days worth of clothes and can be internally cinched down to compress loads if you get a little carried away packing. Shrugged off a little light drizzle and snowflakes while running from hotel to hotel and slides right in to overhead compartments. My only complaint is that I like it to... Read Moreo much! Now I have to add the 70l for those times when winter layers eat up space or you're extending the trip beyond a few days. I suppose it's only a matter of time before the 100l joins the ranks as well...

December 28, 2019

Great bag

Great bag

December 18, 2019

Great bag

Easy to carry a lot of things, and stores easily in upper compartment!

December 16, 2019

Great product.

Great product.

December 1, 2019

Great 2-3 day travel carry-on!

I was greatly impressed by this bag that easily carried my work clothes (with extra blazer) and work out clothes for a 3 day, 2 night work trip. I had no problems carrying the bag on and it handed trips through the airport and on shared rides like a champ. VERY HAPPY with the bag that aligns with my needs and my values.

November 24, 2019

Wheeled Duffel for air travel

Works excellent for travel. Key feature on recent flight was the ability to take something out and compress the top to allow to fit in the smaller overheads. Great product.

November 22, 2019

Great for traveling

Great for traveling

November 20, 2019

Love it!

Great product. We have bought two of them over the years and love traveling with them!

November 15, 2019

Beautiful, effective, and expensive

I love the Black Hole bag, but only wish I had paid a little less for it. However, if it lasts me for years and years, it will have been worth it. Only time will tell if it is actually a 3-star bag or a 5-star bag. For now, it gets 4. It appears rugged, holds a goodly amount of stuff, and rolls smoothly. Yay!

November 10, 2019

Great bag.

Great bag.

November 4, 2019

this bag is unbelievable!!!

everything you want in a carry on and more. I travel a lot for business and this bag has all the features you want for a quick on the go. Perfect size for a 3/4 day trip. I was able to fit 3 pairs of shoes and all my clothes/ toiletries all in the bag. it’s not to heavy which is great as well. highly recommend to anyone who does a lot of carry on o... Read Morenly flying

October 31, 2019

Great carry-on sized luggage! Love

Great carry-on sized luggage! Love the look

October 19, 2019

Travel duffel

Patagonia travel essentials. Well made wheelie for quick trips.

October 14, 2019

Wheeled Duffel Weekends

Very nice, perfect for short trips.

October 10, 2019

Birthday gift for me. Replaced

Birthday gift for me. Replaced 14 yr old Briggs & Riley which was a great bag but feels like a 747 compared to this stealth fighter bag. Brilliant work again on lightweight, maneuverable & holds all my crap AND it’s flat out beautiful.

September 21, 2019

Finally a wheelie carry on

I like duffels on principle, and equally important, I like minimalist. But sometimes you gotta have a carry on wheelie because you have too far to walk and are also carrying a backpack. I can bring this 40L wheelie and a small backpack on a plane with enough stuff for two weeks. Yay

September 11, 2019

Best Duffle out there

This is the best duffle out there! So much space, light weight and durable. Would love it if this had straps to convert to a backpack when rolling isn't preferred though.

September 2, 2019

Perfect roller

This thing is amazing light fast sturdy and epic style

August 29, 2019

Black Hole is Right

I LOVE my black hole rolling duffle! I was shocked by how much I could fit in, and that it's still within carry-on regulations. The wheels roll smoothly, and the sleek outer material is really durable!

August 13, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled duffle (carry on)

Perfect size for a quick trip or as a carry on for longer excursions.

July 25, 2019

Black hole wheel bag Carry-on

I have used the black-hole wheeled carry-on since 2016. My travels are extensive as a retired airline guy. Every time I pack up this bag, I am still in awe of it’s interior size. The name ‘Black Hole’ fits this to a T. One trip was three weeks out of the US and this bag +plus a small day pack handled the entire trip. The durability and quality of t... Read Morehe materials, both inside and out, are exceptional. Mine has a shiny black finish and looks as good as it did 100+ flights ago.

July 8, 2019

Get It!

Have been through five or six travel bags from all the major out door companies and at last ordered the 40 Liter roller duffle that looked like it would fit in commuter plane overhead bins...bingo! With room to spare. In its simplicity it packs easily and carries much more than the more expensive fancy boy suitcases. Pants for example don’t need to... Read More be folded in thirds but stretch right out folded in half. I am sitting on a plane right now with more than I usually carry nicely folded into this easily handled and accessible bag...side pockets make easy access to cords and passports. The handle slides easily and is sturdy...walked through pouring rain this morning and all my gear stayed dry. Get one!

July 1, 2019

Solid Kit

Just back from 3 weeks of paddling in Norway & Iceland. This roller was large enough to be my sole piece of travel luggage (excluding gear). Meets euro bag requirements. Finish is water resistant and thus far, construction and wheels have been durable. Have purchased numerous pieces of Patagonia luggage over the years - expensive, but I anticip... Read Moreate a long effective life. My wife liked mine so much she received one for her birthday. We also got complements and questions while traveling.

June 26, 2019

Perfect travel bag

I bought this bag for work trips--I wanted something that could carry a suit, or could fit enough stuff for a week if you really crammed it, would meet the airline carry-on requirements, and had wheels. After traveling with a backpack for years, this bag really is a revolution in my travel. It easily fits enough stuff for a work trip, with a separa... Read Morete compartment that could be a suit compartment, or else a compartment for your laptop and toiletries. It is light, fits easily into overhead bins even of small aircraft, and roomy enough to hold everything I need. I'm sure I will be using it for years to come. The only thing I wish is that it had a shoulder strap or stowable backpack straps for carrying around town if you wanted to. Thanks Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches