Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel Bag 100L

Write Your Review

4.62 /5

Filter Reviews

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel Bag 100L

4.62
Kinda Large
September 14, 2020

Disaster Relief Gear Bag

We havent deployed since COVID-19; but, now Im better prepared. This bag will allow the carry of some base camp Kit, an emergency field pack and other gear as needed for the situation. It will be supplemental to other bags, such as a carry on when traveling by commercial flight. We have used - and used up - many types of bags. This one is much more... Read More resistant to heavy rain, etc. It looks, feels, handles likereal kit! I could almost (operative word) engineer a tougher bag... which would cost 2-3 times as much in both types of expense...

July 14, 2020

Great Gear Hauler

The Black Hole wheeled duffel is so good, my first one was stolen! Durable construction with great wheels enable you to get where you are going. Its holds so much stuff that you can easily get over the air carriers weight limit!

June 21, 2020

The bag

Looking for a true travel bag, it is this one.

June 17, 2020

The bag

Looking for a true travel bag, it is this one.

April 24, 2020

Top shelf bag!

Ive had my first 100L black hole wheeled duffel bag for just under two years. In that time, it has traveled throughout North, Central, and South America with me several times. Despite unavoidable and harsh treatment through the handling of esteemed airline baggage handlers, to cramming it in the back of the worlds tiniest taxi and bringing it thr... Read Moreough a variety of environments, the materials with which this bag was made show very little wear and tear and seem almost self healing. So, not sure what wizardry was applied to my bag but Im grateful and I love it! One of my favorite parts is the robust (but light) frame and harder shell that makes up the bottom and back roller feature of the bag. Ive used this aspect to pack away delicate souvenirs or bottles of whatever local adult beverage I wanted to bring home to share with friends without any issue or fear of damage. Its trusty and has the space and protection which has given me confidence in packing for trips from a week to six months away. Though I probably didnt need to, I bought another one of these bags and its been, and always will be my go-to for travel. Thanks!

February 6, 2020

The wheels are cheap

After 4 trips the wheel axel was bent. As of this morning the bag was rolling fine but after a two hour flight the wheel was gone when I picked it up from baggage claim. Now I'm on a 3-city work trip for 2.5 weeks, dragging around a 100L bag of clothing with one wheel. Not what I paid for or expected. So frustrating considering I already threw... Read More out my old duffle roller that I got from a discount retailer in 2002 that never lost a wheel!! Other than the quality/design issue, the bag looks great and is a perfect size. My partner and I were deciding on another 70L or 100L, but now we're probably going to rethink that.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Sorry to hear the bag had a wheel issue so soon after purchase, but we really appreciate the great feedback! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the bag to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center. We'll gladly send wheels to you on your trip if that fits into your schedule as well. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us!

February 2, 2020

Black Hole Wheeled Duffle 100L

Great travel bag, always my main pack for my month long work events Great resistance to the weather, the belly of a plane, and the camp sites. The quality of the craft over all is on par with what I can expect from this company. I wouldn't complain if it were a bit more sturdy in regards to the metal frame as well as maybe a upgrade for the wh... Read Moreeels. Putting it short, sometimes I travel along rougher roads. So having some kind of all terrain wheel option to be a game changer!

January 19, 2020

Bag needs better design

I'm an avid Patagonia user. My job takes me around the world where I am traveling to a wide range of environments. I have a three bags from the Black Hole franchise and I love them. I bought the 100ml bag for a film where I was going on a shoot deep into the amazon. After packing my bag I quickly realized this bag had some design flaws. 1st im... Read Moreprovement needed are handles on all four sides so you can grab from the side and top to quickly lift and store. 2nd improvement needed is a support bar at the bottom front of the bag so when you stand it up the weight doesn't make it topple over. 3rd improvement needed on this bag is to increase the length of the retractable handle. It is nice to be able to throw a smaller bag on top when you are rolling through an airport and need to give your back a rest. Thx.

January 10, 2020

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

Big fan of this bag. The wheels seem quite sturdy and the bag rolls effortlessly. The ability to roll a 100L bag packed full of clothes and supplies takes a big strain off of the back

January 5, 2020

Amazing Gear Bag

I got this bag right before Christmas for a ski trip and was able to pack all my gear and casual wear in it. The size is perfect for toting ski gear (ie jackets, pants, baselayers, etc.) all over the place. The tote is super durable and the wheels make for an easy stroll through the airport no matter how full it is. I used to travel with 2-3 bags, ... Read Moreand now it all fits in the rolling duffel.

January 2, 2020

Awesome!

The best bags ever and they will last you forever!

December 31, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

An excellent quality, wheeled, tough duffel.

December 30, 2019

Love this bag

I gave this bag to my daughter and her husband for Christmas. They already have one in a different color and needed a new one now that they have two kids. Left our house repacked for a ski trip to celebrate Christmas with the in-laws singing the bag’s praises for being able to hold all they needed including presents for the in-laws!!

December 24, 2019

Love this duffel!

Lots of room, hardy bag.

December 23, 2019

Recommended, but only conditionally

Based on the glowing reviews this bag has received from others, I thought I'd purchase one. I was very pleased with most aspects of it - all aspects in fact, until the third time I used it, when airline baggage handlers managed to somehow severely bend one of the axles. I tried searching the internet to find if/how axles can be repaired and wh... Read Moreile the autocomplete of the search engine filled in what I was about to type, I found very little information. I suspect, since the search engine knew where I was going with my query, I'm not the first person to search this topic. It's unfortunate that a bag as pricey as this one would be so easily damaged and I'm not certain, after looking at how things are assembled, that it can be repaired. So, I would say that if you are going to be able to ensure that the bag is handled with reasonable care i.e. not entrusted to airline baggage handlers and such it would be a great bag but I can't recommend it for use when it must be entrusted to those who handle luggage sans kid gloves.

December 22, 2019

The handle anything bag

Fantastic bag. Super durable and easy to pack everything in. Great for long trips or to pack the whole family in one bag.

December 20, 2019

100% for the 100L!

Big, and looks great. I’ve yet to use it, but I know it will do a great job like all Patagonia products. You can’t go wrong here!

December 19, 2019

Great bag so far

I just returned from my first trip with this bag and so far it is wonderful. Plenty big to fit all sorts of gear (no problem putting full size dive fins in). Thankfully, it has enough form to stand upright regardless of how full it is. Be prepared to wind up over standard checked baggage weight limits, it's easy to put more than 50 lbs in this... Read More bag. I can't speak to how it will wear over time, but so far I'm quite impressed, and already considering buying a second for large and extended trips with family.

December 18, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

Love this bag! It's true to its name, its definitely a black hole!

November 29, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

I'm going to Patagonia in Argentina on a fishing trip soon. My guide recommended this bag since it is large enough to carry my fly rod (4 pc), waders, Patagonia-Danner fishing boots, a week's worth of clothes, other fishing gear and maybe even a fishing boat. It is a big bag. I haven't traveled with it yet, so don't have any exp... Read Moreerience to share, but so far it seems good.

November 29, 2019

Black hole wheeled duffel

This bag holds everything you need for a week of skiing (or more) and is built like a tank. The scars from the airplane baggage handlers only improve its looks; like honest playing wear on a nice guitar.

October 21, 2019

Bought the 100L after the

Bought the 100L after the zipper broke on my smaller one that I had for years. Still tough, still well-made, and still perfect for every trip.

October 9, 2019

Too big, way too heavy

Bought this bag during a 5 month seasonal job in Alaska, while I still had 5 months worth of clothes and gear. Had been wanting a rolling bag for a while, carrying a 40L backpack and a non-rolling 60L duffel had become more trouble than it was worth. I travel frequently in my downtime and needed a solution to the back breaking. I also take remote s... Read Moreeasonal jobs most of the year and needed something big enough to put supplies and gear in. My 60L black hole duffle is great, but always stuffed to the brim when I take these jobs/long trips, and it’s hell on my body to schlep it in addition to my pack. But now I’m dealing with the stress of meeting the standard checked bag limit of 50lbs for most flights and train rides. The bag is near 10lbs on it’s own. I barely have it filled now, in-fact I’ve had to give away or toss most of my clothes and gear... and it’s still weighing in at 47lbs. I have my stuff stripped down to the very bare minimum, only practical things one would need for transitioning from warm climates to potentially snowy mountain towns in Japan. That being said, I don’t even have a winter coat or boots in there. I guess most people who buy this bag and claim they can fill it are also the type who don’t have to think twice about paying oversized luggage fees at the airport? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Pros: -VERY sturdy -pretty weather proof so far -lots and lots of room -no longer traveling with neck/back pain that comes with juggling a 40L backpack and 60L duffle -handles make it easy to lug this beast in and out of taxis or oversize bag bins on trains -could probably ride down a snowy mountain on it, if the occasion called for it Cons: -maybe a little too big for a single traveler who doesn’t fly first or business class -struggle to pack it for a 3 month travel stint in varying climates and have it be below 50lbs weight limit for checked baggage -frustratingly empty for how heavy it is. I really, really, really wanted to fall in love with this bag. Have been wanting to upgrade from my beloved 60L black hole duffel to a roller. But at the end of the day, it’s jus not right for me.

October 8, 2019

Big duffel

This duffel is bigger than you think. It fits so much stuff, that invariably I have space left over. It is well constructed and durable in all aspects. Easy to haul and roll.

October 3, 2019

So much space

I love this bag. It's durable, plenty of space an extended vacation and the large wheels make it possible to roll across a lot of different terrain. I bought the 70L first but it was just a little small. I really wish Patagonia had a size between 75L & 100L, that would be the perfect for me.

September 24, 2019

Durable and stuff able. Can

Durable and stuff able. Can put all my Plein Air painting gear ( plus some clothing) in it for flying to painting locations.

September 23, 2019

Best roller bag!

This is the hands down best travel bag.. it seems to store more then my other roller from TNF even though it’s the same volume. I highly recommend this!

September 16, 2019

Best travel bag ever!

I have had many bags but this one takes the cake! Durable strong plenty of room and bullet proof!

September 16, 2019

A great large traveling pice of luggage

Can’t wait to use it on my trip to Florida this winter. Just about fits everything I need to spend a few months in the Keys. Perfect luggage size to check if flying.

September 8, 2019

Greatwheeled duffel

Just back from a trip to Chamonix with my new Black Hole duffel. It does exactly what I needed it to do: carried all gear and clothing needed, weathertight, easy to roll over cobbles, through airports, etc, easy to spot on the luggage conveyor, Showed NO marks after 2 weeks in some difficult travel.

September 5, 2019

International travel to weekend car camping is great, but did not hold up to baggage handlers

I have the older 120L. I took ONLY this bag for a 1 year trip to Korea and then a 1.5 year trip to the Dominican Republic. It has tons of space and looks great. The wheels can be a blessing and a curse. The bag is so big it holds a lot and is suited to be wheeled but the wheels took some damage on my international flights which took it from a bless... Read Moreing to a curse. The good: It's huuuuge! The outside material is very durable Handle placement is superb The zippers all work great (I even put a TSA lock on the main compartment, np) Extended handle is sturdy and well built Rolls easily* The bad: The inside compression straps work ok but because it's so big it needs another one in the middle, it bulges in the middle The wheels did not hold up to the baggage handlers. First flight I had one of the wheels bent. Maybe the third flight and the other bent. Patagonia is great, even internationally, unless you're in a country that does not supply that type of bag. They tried to repair it while I was in Korea and made it worse. I had it fixed when I got back to the US. If you are doing a lot of airline travel (my problems could be limited to international), I would be wary of taking this bag. Otherwise, it is amazing!

September 5, 2019

Handle and wheels

For the price the handle and wheels seem cheap

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback! Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed on Patagonia products. To initiate a return, please view our [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 29, 2019

Why didn't I buy one sooner?!

Black hole is a very accurate description. I'm pretty sure this bag can also double as Mary Poppins bag. It can seriously pack a ton of gear with ease. We packed for hiking adventures with a 9 month old in this bag and were able to fit an entire external frame baby carrier in the bag and still pack everything we needed with room to spare. The ... Read Morematerial is very durable and extra points because it is recycled. We bought two bags, with the trout on them and this made our bags super easy to pick out at the airport. Just get the bag. You will use it, you will love it, you will also want the carry-on 40L.

August 28, 2019

Travel bags

The 100L Blackhole duffel is a great bag. Durable and holds all my gear.

August 25, 2019

Rugged and easy to manage.

I packed this bag full on a recent trip to Ecuador. We moved around quite a bit over the 12 day trip and this wheeled duffel was perfect. Easy to roll and very well made.

August 18, 2019

Perfect for gear heavy solo traveling

I've been hemming and hawing about getting a wheeled duffel, as I've been able to get by with my regular duffels, but with more frequent gear heavy solo traveling, I made the plunge. Holy guacamole, life is easier! With the rigid framing of the wheeled duffel you don't have as much give as you would with the regular duffel, but man i... Read Moret makes a difference to be able to pull it around on wheels rather than doing the duffel shuffle in both hands, one on your back, and one turtled on your chest. The new 100L has the same dimensions as the previous 120L, for those who are curious about what the new sizes mean!

August 12, 2019

The BLACKEST Hole

I have enjoyed traveling on different continents with my 70L .. and purchased the 100L for an extended travel adventure. However, it didn't service me well for several reasons. Primarily, the wheels weren't versital enough -- if they redesign, I'd suggest those rotating/pivotal types. Next, it was too big and deep -- I couldn't ... Read Morefind things -- they got lost! Finally, it was too large -- bulky & heavy-- to comfortably take it off the luggage carousel.

August 12, 2019

Great Bags

We use these bags for hauling gear for work and definitely put them through the wringer. From the van to the airlines these things work great!

August 12, 2019

Awesome bag, just a bit too large

I just took this bag on a 3-week adventure through France, Italy and Switzerland. The bag handled the trip well, I only wish it was a bit smaller. I didn't need all the room it offered, it was at the weight limit for air travel without being packed full, and it was a bit of a beast to get up stairs without help. I would have liked to have purc... Read Morehased a 90 liter version instead, which doesn't seem to be available any longer in a roller bag. I do have the 90 liter black hole bag, and it's the perfect size, but I wanted a roller bag for this recent adventure. I will say that it was easy to live out of this bag, moving daily and not unpacking at all.

August 10, 2019

Well crafted!

The 100L wheeled duffel securely held all my travel gear. The design allows easy access and the ability to move a lot of my gear without straining my back. I'm impressed and will be using this bag for most of my long trips!

August 10, 2019

Homerun bag

While the hopes for this bag and its travels are more grandiose. The week trip to the beach it worked flawlessly. I was able to pack for myself and two kids all in one bag. Made for an easy trip at the airport.

August 10, 2019

Travels great!

This is our second black hole bag on wheels. These really are the best! I was a little disappointed that the new ones are 100L and not the 120L like my old one but it just makes me travel a bit lighter☺️ Love this bag!!!

August 10, 2019

We love our bag!

We bought two of these and traveled overseas with them. They are a great size and easy to cart around. We bought these bigger ones after loving our medium size Patagonia bag.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches