Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Mini Hip Pack 1L

Write Your Review

4.56 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 78 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Mini Hip Pack 1L

4.56
True To Size
May 17, 2020

Perfect PKW bag

Phone-keys-wallet all fit in here perfectly. Great little bag for bike commuters who don't want to flip their backpack around to access keys.

April 14, 2020

Wider Zipper is Key

Thank you Patagonia for making the opening wider. The previous version was great except for the fact that (for some weird reason) the zipper barely would open very wide and I couldn't fit my iPhone 8 in with a case on it. But the new version fixes that and makes this waist pack perfect!! I still run sometimes in my older one with the skinnier... Read More opening, but this new one I can use as my wallet-on-a-waist with phone and such.

March 23, 2020

Amazing

Purchased this a year ago and wear it EVERY weekend. Still going strong. I will buy another, especially since they made the top zipper just a little wider to help with carrying a phone or something just as wide as the fanny. I will say the straps do move if you load this puppy up and move briskly. Therefore, if you want to carry more weight, purc... Read Morehase a different pack. This one is for a quick trip/leisurely stroll. Love Patagonia gear so much.

March 11, 2020

Easy to store

Bought this for an upcoming cruise. Figured it would be easier to have this than have to carry around a backpack in the heat. It is a little smaller than I expected, but I like that it folds into itself and makes it easy to store. Pretty excited to use this for the gym and running as well

January 31, 2020

Cute but too small.

Cute mini hip backpack but it's really small compare to the regular size hip bag. Maybe a cellphone, keys and chapstick!

January 24, 2020

Perfect size for daily bike ride

I am 71 and ride my bike for 40 minutes to an hour a day, every day, outdoors usually about all but 15-20 days (Northwest Pennsylvania). I have five bicycles that I use depending on conditions. The two for the bike trail or highway have dedicated toolsets etc. that live on the bike, but the other three, which I ride 90+% of the time around the neig... Read Morehborhoods have minimal tools. I carry my wallet, a small Blackburn hex and Phillips tool, a Swiss Army knife, a clotting bandage because I am on blood thinner, several full-size hex wrenches for saddle adjustment, etc, house key, a few zip ties, and a bit of old boxers for a rag. This small pack is JUST the right size to hold these necessaries. It will fit my iPhone if necessary, too, (in high summer when I don't have a chest pocket) but normally I carry that in a shirt or fleece. I got this because the next bigger size, which I have and my wife is using for her day essentials on a bike tour in Florida as I write this, was too big for my daily needs.This is perfect size, waterproof, everything is there-- all I need to goon my ride is to slip in my wallet. For cycling, walking or running it's a no brainer, but if you can get yourself over the nerd-point and personally have the wherewithal to wear a little waist pack on your daily routine for whatever, including if you are in my age group, inhalers and meds, then you will attract curious and envious inquiry, if that is your cup of tea. Dig it. Go for it. ***** Five stars.

January 6, 2020

could use a longer zipper, but so good I bought a second one!

I like to wait a while to really test out my gear before giving a review. This little hip pack has now been through 2 international trips, several wilderness backpacking trips, and a full year of daily use as my phone/wallet/keys holder for commuting, climbing, biking, and running. The zipper is a tad short for a modern cell phone (screen size of 5... Read More inches or smaller will easily fit, but I'm pushing the limit with my 5.5 inch screen). The best thing about it (besides being made of recycled material) is that the strap is long enough that you can cinch it to one side and use it as a kangaroo-style front pouch for easy access while backpacking. If anything, I wish the zipper were just a bit longer so it wasn't such a struggle to get phone in and out. After a year of daily use it only has one small hole, which is pretty good for the light fabric, but I bought a second one in case it ever blows out. Definitely the most convenient fanny pack I have ever used.

December 31, 2019

Good size, fits phone and

Good size, fits phone and necessities, nice looking, good quality.

December 31, 2019

The Best Ducking Hip Pack

-Perfect size and form function. -Can sit comfortably on right hip for easy, gun-slinger access - or, wear front and center for that classic fanny access. - can carry candy, sunglasses, pens, notepad, glasses cleaner, eyedrops, comb, beard oil, extra cash, library and grocery cards - without stuffing pants pocket, and I STILL have room for things.... Read More - I understand why purses are so popular -everyone thinks I'm cooler now

December 27, 2019

Great gift

Our son love the sustainability that is a motto for Patagonia! He loved the gift and used it the next day.! Great quality!

December 27, 2019

Perfect size for travel

I love my little fanny pack, I use it as a purse everywhere I go! It is a little smaller than regular fanny packs but I like it because its not as bulky

December 24, 2019

Great Fanny

Wanted a few small bumbags / waist bags for hiking and the beach. These fit iPhones, wallet, keys, a snack bar, and a few other tiny essentials. Great choice if you’re sick of all these huge fanny packs flooding the market. Highly recommend if you’re looking for something that holds essentials and essentials only close to your body!

December 13, 2019

Hip Pack

I love my hip pack to carry my keys and phone when I commute to work and when I go out for a short hike.

December 13, 2019

Love this Mini Hip Pack

It is the perfect size and sturdiness for me to use as my tools bag for training our puppy. Holds treats, clicker, potty bags, keys and id. Love it

December 13, 2019

Must Have Basic

Light, functional, comfortable. It’s perfect for hiking, traveling, having your hands free during a day of errands. It’s one of those basics you gotta have..

December 12, 2019

Black Hole Hip Pack 1L

These mini hip packs are perfect to carry small items on runs, biking, skiing and wallets on trips to town. I have two other hip packs, both under the brand name Chouinard. One is a mini pack, the other is about 12X8 inches, that I’ve used to carry a fly reel, flys and other necessary items for fishing in the Trinity Alps. This upgraded mini pack f... Read Moreits between the two that I’ve used for 30 years.

December 11, 2019

perfect for what I need.

Simple, basic. Does the job.

December 7, 2019

Too small

This mini fanny pack is too small to hold an iPhone—one of the main things you would use it for.

Response from Patagonia
December 28, 2019

Hi Janet, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hip pack. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 24, 2019

Improved

New longer zipper greatly improves access to large pocket. Key clip is in small pocket, not large and there is no security pocket in the large pocket like in the previous model. Good bag.

November 22, 2019

Great hip (fanny) pack

perfect for the small stuff and to stow in a larger pack for travel. Only reason not 5 stars the belt loosens a bit and I tug on the strap. Colors great.

November 18, 2019

Great Product!

I love nearly everything about it. Great product! Small, portable, but can carry a decent amount. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 is because of the belt. It leaves a little more to be desired. Some added padding where the belt connects to the pack, or extra cushion, would make this product 5 stars.

November 5, 2019

Pack is light, sturdy and

Pack is light, sturdy and seems well made. Wish it were a tad bigger.

November 4, 2019

Belt slips

The ultralight mini hip is small enough to hide under a shirt but is still big enough to fill it with your essentials. I can fit my iPhone 7 with a huge waterproof case, wallet, extra gym ID’s, etc in the main compartment, and my car and house keys in the outside smaller compartment with a little room to spare. My only complaint is that the belt sl... Read Moreips, which requires me to frequently tighten the belt while on the go. An extra knot helps, but it’s not ideal.

November 4, 2019

This bag is cute, but

This bag is cute, but a little small. It fits a phone, small wallet and keys. Great for walks and hiking.

October 29, 2019

Love it!

Compact yet roomy, love the color, very lightweight. I would definitely recommend and would buy another for sure. I’m hooked!

October 27, 2019

I love

I love

October 26, 2019

Love

When it first arrived I though it was a bit small but then I opened it and saw how much storage it really has and love it !

October 23, 2019

Great

This mini hip pack it’s just the right size it’s very practical it’s fits a lot, I really recommend it, i where it all the time.

October 23, 2019

fanny pack

It was great and came very fast, I loved the material of the fanny pack!

October 23, 2019

Black Hole

Wanted small but useful. This is great. Holds iPhone ,sm wallet, headphones, bandaids and lip balm . Ilightweight and does the job.

October 15, 2019

It's a great small fanny pack!

It serves it's purpose well. I use it when walking my dog to carry a few items. I know I will also use it on short hikes. My only small critique is the straps seem to loosen up slightly while walking. I like that it's made from recycled material and generally like Patagonia s values as a company.

October 15, 2019

Perfect Mini Hip Pack 1L

I love the color! It goes with everything. I bought it to wear at a show where I might need to make change for customers and I wear it when I want a few items very accessible and out of the way.

October 15, 2019

Love love love!

I used this pack on my entire hiking trip! Perfect size and love the colors! Feels like a 90’s throwback. I love it so much I wish it were socially acceptable to wear to work! Fanny packs > purses

October 14, 2019

Perfect size

Lightweight. Perfect.

October 12, 2019

Perfect lil pouch

Perfect little pouch. Not too bulky.

October 8, 2019

Useful and Fun

This is a fairly small fanny pack, which is what I was hoping for. Fit's my i-Phone Plus. Very cool how it can fold into itself. A simple fun bag to add to your collection. Would be great for walks, light hikes, or going to festivals. My only complaint is that adjustability on the straps seems to move to easily sometimes, and can loosen withou... Read Moret you wanting it to when you're wearing it. Which isn't ideal if you plan on being very active while wearing this.

October 6, 2019

Small fanny pack

LOVE this!! My old one was too big and this one is perfect! My wallet and my Apple plus phone fit, along with car key, chap stick; the small zipper pocket on the outside is great for coins or notes! Very well made and very adjustable!!

October 3, 2019

Perfect little pack

Super happy with my little mini hip pack. Very cool looking, stoked it is made of recycled materials, and perfect size to carry phone, wallet, passport, money, and other standard travel items. Served me well on my recent trip to Mexico! Thank you Patagonia!

October 3, 2019

Nice bag

This is a very nice little hip pack, but unfortunately the webbing on the waist belt is too thin for the buckle and it loosens up way too easily. After one day of use we cut off the webbing, and had it replaced by a seamstress with more conventional one inch webbing and buckle. Now it works great!

October 2, 2019

Ultralight & UltraAwesome!

It's perfect for holding my cell phone, wallet, and a bar or two, all I need. Nice color options and great quality.

October 2, 2019

Classic Style with Patagonia Function

Patagonia is bringing sexy back with this fanny pack. I use it for traveling, as it's more convenient to keep my wallet, passport, boarding passes, phones, etc. right in front of me. Keep everything secure and well at hand. Be bold, be brave, be unashamed....

October 2, 2019

Fanny Pack

This thing is amazing. I purchased it to keep my phone and keys in and wear it all day at school. So far I have tried it on one hike with my daypack on my back and it was nice to have easy access to my phone. So happy I bought the one with the funky colors!

October 1, 2019

W's Hip Pack

Love the colors and the fit around my waist. I was under the impression it would be larger but that was not due to Patagonia. Very pleased with the pack thus far.

September 24, 2019

Hip Hip Hooray..!

Very small and lightweight pack to carry a little extra stuff with you.

September 23, 2019

I wasn’t expecting it to

I wasn’t expecting it to be that small. But a great product. Had to change what I wanted to put in the hip pack.

September 23, 2019

Perfect for Puppy Training + Minimal Carry-On

Got this specifically for dog training and it's been an excellent treat bag! I'm also an avid biker and this pack is perfect for carrying the essentials: a granola bar, phone, and ID. The item is very sturdy and well constructed - a tried and true Patagonia product.

September 22, 2019

Perfet pouch

This pouch is the perfect size for wallet + mobile phone (in sturdy case no less) + keys + lip balm and then some. Love the feel of the easy/fast/accessible zippers on the two sections. Never feel blocked getting things in and out of it when I'm out and about on my bike or in and out of the subway. The material slides nicely against close so I... Read More can wear it in the back or over the hip but quickly whip it around to the front to see what's in there.

September 21, 2019

Too small

I like minimal carrying cases, but this is so small it almost seems made for a child. I could just squeeze my iPhone X and thin wallet in it, but the strap barely fit around my waist.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 18, 2019

Great mini fanny pack

Comfy, I like the fabric on the back of the pack which keeps me from sweating as much. Nice colors. I like the 2 separate areas one for wallet and the other for phone.

September 18, 2019

Perfect little size for your

Perfect little size for your wallet, keys and phone

September 16, 2019

Great and light

It’s is light weight and very functional

September 13, 2019

Flimsy and small

The material is flimsy and the size is alittle too small. The adjustable strap doesn’t stay, it would slip after you adjusted so not sure how to carry the bag without the strap slipping.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this isn't working out for you and we appreciate your feedback. We'd recommend that you send this back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We are happy to offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this that you may need.

September 12, 2019

Great Item

I ordered this hip back for when I'm outside working and volunteering when I often need my hands to be free but still want my small, essential items to be on me. I can easily fit my phone, keys, and chapstick (very important) in this pack. It's functional, stylish, and keeps me organized. Definitely recommend!

September 12, 2019

Second run of these and even better

love a fanny pack and patagonia does it right. Just enough space to hold your essentials, while remaining ergonomically fit for high energy out door activity, or everyday casual wear. Likely will be buying a third in a few months. These make stellar gifts. Who doesn't love a good fanny pack!

September 10, 2019

Both big enough and small enough

This never seems to be in my way, yet it holds everything I need. Cell phone, wallet, keys, two USB chargers, two charging cables, two pair of sunglasses, with a little room to spare. Fantastic. My iPhone 8 fits in the exterior pocket, but larger phones would probably have to go in the main body.

September 9, 2019

Just the right size, and

Just the right size, and the colors are outsdtanding

September 8, 2019

Have No Pockets

I have to say I really like the way it is made. It is just the right size for my iPhone Xs Plus and my wallet. I like to wear running shorts and most of them do not have pockets .

September 4, 2019

Perfect little bag

Just what I needed for easy access to items phone or sunscreen during a long hike. I had a heavier pack which was for water and extra layers.

September 2, 2019

Awesome pack

This fanny pick fits my phone, keys, sunscreen and a few other things things when I am wearing gear that doesn’t have pockets. Great for athletes who don’t have pockets in their shorts/pants, hikers that want their small stuff easily accessible, and so much more. Very happy!

September 2, 2019

Great bag - perfect size for me

My only negative observation is that the tapes forming the belt are a bit flimsy

September 1, 2019

Smooth Cruiser

I use this bad larry to carry just about everything I need: phone, sunglasses, wallet, keys, etc. It keeps my pockets empty which is nice when its hot or if I'm wearing shorts without pockets. Fabric and zippers are pretty water resistant, which is a plus. It has long enough straps to be worn bandolier style, but not an excess when cinched dow... Read Moren to be worn on the hips. I'm stoked these utilitarian fanny packs are back in style, they make a lot of sense.

August 31, 2019

Not Great for Curves

Love Patagonia and that most of its items run large and are friendly to plus size woman. Sadly this is not, only fits below my chest above my waist which thankfully will still work for what I need it too but would be nice if I could wear it at my hips.

August 29, 2019

Small but mighty!

This pack is smaller than my last fanny pack but holds just as much and it is so much more comfortable around the waist :)

August 29, 2019

Funny pack

Excellent product, light, zippers work well, perfect size

August 27, 2019

love it!

amazing lil' pack! Holds all I need, packs down well, and super cute!

August 26, 2019

Fannypack love

I was so excited to see fannypacks come back into use! I’m loving mine. I’m both the coolest mom ever while also being dorky. It’s a good look. This pack feels great and I love the adjustable straps with bands so the extra doesn’t dangle.

August 25, 2019

Cute but flawed

This mini hip pack is attractive to look at. However, the belt is flimsy. The ends of the belt straps do not stay put, the loops that hold them slide and do not stay put. You have to constantly pull the straps flat through the (useless) loops.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about the performance of this hip pack. Feel free to send it in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) if you are not completely satisfied with it.

August 22, 2019

I love me a good fanny pack

This is a great fanny pack (hip pack for our British friends); it holds my phone, wallet, and keys when I'm at the gym (because people who make running shorts don't believe in pockets apparently),

August 21, 2019

Lightweight and versatile

Love this little bag. I bought it for my partner but "borrow" it all of the time. It fits a surprising amount of stuff (phone, keys, cards, hand sanitizer) despite it's almost weightless feel. It's easy to wear around the waist during a walk or hike or diagonally across the chest or back during a bike ride.

August 20, 2019

Great little fanny pack

Perfect to hold your wallet, phone and keys when anything else would get in the way. Love it!

August 20, 2019

Best Gift Idea Ever

These are amazing. They make the best, and most functional gifts ever! Definitely a daily driver, that will stand the test of time in both durability and style!

August 19, 2019

Pocket Substitute

Perfect pocket substitue for key, wallet, a snack, etc.

August 19, 2019

It is what it is...

Okay, first of all, I’m super happy with all of my Patagonia gear. I love the quality. Keep that in mind. Y’all went a bit cheap on this one. Does not feel premium at all, which is something I appreciate about all my other Patagonia gear. The buckles are super cheap, and I’m afraid that it’s going to break. So, I use it as a bag inside of a bag. So... Read Morert of a waste. Get something different if you want something that’s going to last. I will continue to be a faithful Patagonia follower and supporter, just never buying a “hip sack” from them ever again. I’m currently looking for other options to replace this one. You guys rushed this out of production. You need to improve this. The good: the size, colors and classic Patagonia styling. The bad: cheap, buckles are cheap, and the straps slip and don’t stay tight. Super disappointed, Patagonia. If it wasn’t a gift, I’d return it.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We're really sorry to hear this! Please note that even if it was a gift, you can still [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it for store credit and use that to purchase something else.

August 18, 2019

Perfect for walks and runs

This little pouch is small and subtle, yet holds a lot! Perfect for a hands free walk or run.

August 15, 2019

Perfect Size- Ideal Pockets

As a 10+ year phanny pack/hip pack user, I can say that i LOVE this hip pack and it is true to its definition. The hidden zipper inside is a plus for storing cash and my wallet and phone fit perfectly. I use it everywhere and bought a couple different colors. Get comments on it all the time. A surprising amount of space inside for how light and sma... Read Morell. The padding on the outside is great as well.

August 15, 2019

Perfect.

I get compliments every time I wear this. Love getting junk out of my pockets. It’s a comfortable wear, even in hot weather. If your looking for a fun small fanny pack, this is your bag.

August 10, 2019

I like it

Good quality, cute bag

August 10, 2019

Practical but bit small

This is great little bag with fun colours but it needs sibling which is at least half a liter bigger with perhaps dedicated phone sleeve. Because of it size it is always bit of struggle to get your wallet in and out. Also webbing is slightly too short for bandolier style unless you are small guy or girl.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches