Back to Product

Iron Forge Field Journal

Write Your Review

3.79 /5

Filter Reviews

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Iron Forge Field Journal

3.79
Kinda Small
November 21, 2019

Compact, durable efficiency Perfect size

Compact, durable efficiency Perfect size

November 9, 2019

Iron Forge Field Journal - Review

This lightweight and stylish field journal "cover" is excellent. It provides protection for my field journal, pencils and pens while remaining compact. I typically carry a composition book as my field journal and had to downsize to a true field journal. I do wish it was big enough to fit a standard composition booklet but am very happy wi... Read Moreth my purchase.

October 19, 2019

Perfect

Great travel/field journal. Looks sharp, solid construction, and thoughtfully designed.

October 5, 2019

Weird size

All of the dimensions of the journal seem like an afterthought. The small inner pockets don’t fit business cards, and I’m not sure what else you would fit in such a small pocket. This doesn’t fit any standard size notebook so it seems specifically designed for the Patagonia notepad which is pretty lackluster. This seems like a product that was des... Read Moreigned and then the use case was considered. Patagonia needs to go back and understand the use case for this journal and then redesign to fit those needs.

Response from Patagonia
October 15, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 22, 2019

Bulky

Everything but the size is good. I can store the 2 rite in the rain journal, a small tape measure, small ruler, pencil and pen, eraser and a small field guide handbook. But I can't store it in my pocket. It's too bulky all around even without the contents. Other than that I can use it for recording data, drawings and logs.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the size wasn't quite right. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 13, 2019

Exactly Average

The style, make, and idea of the journal is great. The Rite in the Rain notebook sold me on it, awesome touch. Though I love having smaller folders, the size of the portfolio is just in between sizes to be perfectly practical. I can't fit normal business cards in the business card slots. I can't fit a folded piece of letter paper for taki... Read Moreng to meetings and such because the folder is barely too small. I like it, I just haven't quite found a way to fit it into my day-to-day like I was hoping.

August 29, 2019

Field Organizer

Great organizer to hold travel documents, lists, etc

August 12, 2019

The Write Stuff

I love my Iron Forge Field Journal. I record my Adventures in this. Plus I use one in the garage for keeping my ideas organized.

February 12, 2019

Minimalist sketch/journal organizer

Fits: 1 moleskin hard cover (4.5”x7”) notebook 4 water color pencils 1 water color brush 1 sketching pencil 1 pen 1 fine point sharpie 1 click eraser Flat Pocket knife Unknown amount of poetry

December 27, 2018

Just a bit too small for anything

Of course the quantity is great, as is to be expected. And in the interest of full disclosure, I bought this to keep with me at work, not to record snow data. Having said that, the dimensions on the website are misleading. They are the dimensions when fully open. The closed size is about 8 ½”x6”. The problem is that it’s just a little too small to ... Read Morefit many common items that you may want to carry in such a case. • This only fits the 5x7 Patagonia journal. If you want to replace it with a half size legal pad, its just about a half inch to small in both directions. • A half size legal pad would slide in from the top, while the Patagonia journal slide in from the side. It would have been relatively easy to accommodate both. • There are tags on the interior (which are not shown in the photos). They are clearly meant to be removed, but they are not of the material that easily rips out. I guess I will have to cut them out, but I’ll probably be left with some ugly white threads that can’t be removed without damaging the stitching. • The slots on the left look like they are business card size, but they are about a half inch too small to hold a business card lengthwise. I’m not really sure what the slots are intended or. • Stowing letter size paper folded in half or letters would be very useful since the full zipper would keep everything secure. Unfortunately, the case in about three quarters of an inch too small to hold a no. 10 envelope. If this had been made three quarters of an inch bigger in each direction it would have been highly versatile and useful for several purposes. As it is there isn’t any flexibility built in. I am giving it a below average rating because I feel that these should have been obvious design decisions and they were missed.

October 20, 2018

Perfect Organizer

This is a perfect sized organizer for work and home. Keeps everything I want to have with me in a very simple way. Very rugged construction and will last a long time.

March 21, 2018

Useful but I made it useful

I bought this but it was really small to get any real functionality in an office environment,which I know it neccessarily wasn't made for. I did actually convert it to a small bible cover and it works amazing! It is what you make it.

November 16, 2017

Great size,well built,but...

I am impressed with this as a Workwear companion piece that I can use literally every day. It offers great organization,a nice compact form factor,and can easily hold both notebook,phone,large pen,and other small items. The internal zip pocket is a real bonus. However,I am disappointed that the internal card slots do not accommodate a standard busi... Read Moreness card.

October 18, 2017

TOO SMALL

For the first time,I am disappointed in my Patagonia order. This thing is small and the dimensions are misleading. I needed something that I can use for work,but would need it to be about double in size. Quality is great,just not thrilled with having to return due to misleading size listing.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches