burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Heavyweight Merino Performance Knee-Length Socks Reviews

Write Your Review

4.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 65 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Heavyweight Merino Performance Knee Length Socks

4.9/5
True To Size
January 25, 2023

Warm and soft

I have a condition where cool and cold temps cause pain in my toes and extremities and I live in Upstate New York. These socks are perfect! I need Knee socks, (which are hard to find) and these are not too tight and they are soft and not scratchy even though they contain wool. They are a nice weight too. I LOVE them!

January 23, 2023

Wool knee socks

Love these socks for x-country skiing. They go over my rather large calf and they stay up - both a requirement for this purpose!

January 23, 2023

Wonderfully Soft and Warm

I didn't realize I was going to get mostly black sox. I thought they would be blue so I sent them back. I still have another pair of a different color which I love. Thank you Patagonia for another high quality item to wear.

January 3, 2023

Awesome Socks!

This is my 6th pair of theses socks I have bought. Incredibly warm, comfortable and last a long time. Two thumbs up!

December 28, 2022

Excellent warm socks

Great stretch and warmth.

December 24, 2022

Comfortable without getting too hot

Great pair of socks for the colder months. Breaths well without any clammy feeling, and can be worn multiple days straight without odor. On sale they are a very good value.

December 23, 2022

Perfect socks

What can I say? Heavy, wool, comfortable, feel like high quality. Love these socks, very comfortable and cozy.

December 4, 2022

Great Mid Weight Socks

Although these are billed as "heavyweight" socks, I would describe them as midweight socks. Years ago, Patagonia sold a truly excellent expedition sock that was a true heavyweight. These are more of a midweight. That said, they are terrific midweight socks, and I use them for cold weather hiking, ice climbing and mountaineering, and back... Read Morecountry skiing. They have a good fit, especially for climbing boots and ski boots, where you want the boots to be close fitting, without too much slop and wiggle. I particularly appreciate the change in weave over the instep, which maintains comfort without the thick cushion of the footbed of the sock. My only complaint is that the new colors are ugly. The original design, with the beautiful Patagonia skyline woven into the sock was awesome. The new color/pattern is not great.

December 1, 2022

Great Ski Sock

Super warm and no seams to cause issues in the ski boot. Only used them 5-6 times so far, but I like them

November 13, 2022

Not quite snug enough

I have small feet and kinda thin calves, but not stickly. yet these felt big, and like they were sliding down to my ankles. Would hesitate to wear skiing or hiking because i'd contantly have to stop to pull them up over my calves again. wouldn't recommend if knee length socks needed to remain at knee height. But they are warm - just need ... Read Moresome elastic or tighter constriction around the calf area.

May 6, 2022

Perfect amount of cushion!

I actually use these socks to go running in, but more importantly they are terrific at protecting my shins (front part of lower leg :), while I'm weightlifting heavier weights at the 'home gym'. I've had a tough time before these socks to find a pair that stayed pulled up, and also weren't so bulky that they are functional ... Read Moresocks and not padding. I love them!

March 6, 2022

Best socks available

Durable, comfortable and warm.

February 19, 2022

Patagonia Merino Wool Socks are comfy

I picked these socks for the color/Patagonia mountain scape design. Classic! They are warm and comfortable for a mid-calf wood sock. I like them!

February 14, 2022

Outstanding Socks!

I bought these socks for a snow vacation for hiking and these socks are a perfect fit. They come up to your knee and dont slip down. They keep you warm and are perfect for hiking in.

February 3, 2022

Up to my knees in wool

These socks are the best. Ill probably be living in them until winter breaks its grip. I have two pair, one from last year and one from this year. They are seriously warm and they stay in place without squeezing the life out of my calves. This years model is about an inch longer than last years. This is fine, but if they get any longer they will of... Read Moreficially be too long for the lower half of my 30 inch inseamed legs.

February 3, 2022

Super Warm!

I bought these socks for extended outdoor adventures in the New England cold. I've used them multiple times already and they are great. They keep my feet so much warmer than the REI wool socks I was using. They fit more like compression socks so they stay up high, almost to my knees. My first day using it was a nor'easter where the wind c... Read Morehill was way below zero and I played in the snow for hours with my kid. My feet never got cold! I should have bought these a long time ago.

February 2, 2022

Very comfortable and warm. Easy to put on and take off even though they are knee length.

See above

February 1, 2022

Feet stayed dry

My feet sweat consistently when I am active and the temps are below freezing. I wore these all day. My feet stayed warm and never sweated. No itching either, very soft. I have purchased many other brand wool socks in the past, and my feet sweat. These are comfortable, warm and seem to hold up well concerning wear.

February 1, 2022

Warm and snug under a snowboarding boot. Not too hot though. No sock knots and snug.

These socks have the perfect stretch and warmth for a snowboarding boot. Not too thick (ie hot ) not too thin (no sock knots)

January 31, 2022

Merino Socks

They fit great. Nice thickness. Great quality.

January 25, 2022

Super Cozy

Love the feel and height of these socks. They make my legs feel warm and cozy. The fabric is very soft.

January 12, 2022

Excellent ski socks

I am very happy with these socks. They are warm and comfortable. My feet stay warm, even on very cold ski days.

January 8, 2022

Nice sox

Cool

January 6, 2022

Hunting over socks

Bought these to go over my Kuiu fitted merinos for when its real cold and Im still hunting. Tried them on and seem like a quality product at a decent price.

December 24, 2021

Nice

As described. Warm and comfortable.

December 18, 2021

Expensive goodness

But a larger size. Soft and warm its expensive but I enjoy them

December 13, 2021

Snuggly Socks

I can always use snuggly socks and these fit perfectly. I ordered a medium even though I could have ordered a small. I'm a women's U.S. 7.5 shoe size. My calves are a little big and also I just love big cozy socks. The medium fits perfectly! I wear these around the house or out and about. The purple stripes are fun!

December 13, 2021

Warm and comfortable!

I use these socks to ski, both at the resort and touring. Overall really positive experience with them! They fit great and have just enough compression to stay in place and not slop around, but also good circulation. The wool blend is super nice for moisture management when touring and working up a sweat, which is key to keeping the feet warm. Well... Read More made socks that get the job done!

December 11, 2021

Super warm

Finally, socks that keep my feet and legs warm!

December 8, 2021

Perfect sock for long, cold days

Second here in a row that Ive ordered the same sock. Perfect product, perfect fit, excellent price! Recommend to the world.

November 15, 2021

So warm!

So glad I purchased these socks. Stoked to wear them during ski season.

November 11, 2021

Super warm and soft

I love these socks. Very well ventilated to dry your feet without getting clammy.

April 29, 2021

hit or miss with holes

Boot Size: 11. These socks are great. Warm, wick sweat and don't hold the stank. Have used them mostly during the winter at work, hiking and snowboarding. I have two pairs and warn them both equally but for whatever reason one pair developed a sizeable hole where my shin meets my ankle. Hasn't really compromised the product so I am happy ... Read Moreto still wear them but would be nice if the durability was a bit better.

March 10, 2021

adequate warmth

Fit was great. They stayed up on my knee the whole day. Ddin't slip down at all.

March 8, 2021

Really warm but tight

These are very warm socks and great for keeping my feet warm while not requiring me to squeeze a lot of bulk into my shoes. They are, however quite right. They fit almost like compression tights.

March 2, 2021

Warmest socks ever

Extremely warm socks that keep my feet nice & toasty.

February 28, 2021

Super cozy

Wear woman's size 5-6, small fits and feels exactly how it should. Sooo warm!!!

February 26, 2021

Best socks

Best pair of socks I've ever owned. I wear them will all kinds of shoes in the winter.

February 25, 2021

Awesome

Patagonia is the best!

February 25, 2021

Great wool socks.

Amazing socks. Recommended.

February 24, 2021

Warm and Wearable

As an avid optoutsider, I'm always looking for socks that meet my needs. Merino Knee length socks are excellent for winter! I love wearing them while xc skiing, running, or hiking in cold, snowy climates. Warm socks that are very breathable. I also find myself wearing them around the house casually just do to their comfort.

February 24, 2021

warm legs

They provide all of the warmth I am looking for.

February 24, 2021

super warn wool socks

These wonderful sock do not slip down.

February 23, 2021

Very comfortable

So far, so good. Ive used these on one, two day ski trip and an overnight backpacking trip. These are great both on the slopes/trail and for lounging at the end of the day. One thing Ive noticed that I really like is these are snug enough they actually stay up without feeling like Im wearing compression socks.

February 22, 2021

Excellent quality

They fit well and keep my feet warm in my ski boots.

January 27, 2021

Super warm

Beautifully made. Soft and warm. No itching, feels so good on my legs. Perfect fit. Good looking. Just what I was looking for.

January 23, 2021

Great product

Great fit for me. I purchased a couple of pairs last year, and this years offering is thicker, which was exactly what I wished for. Thank you for a great product.

January 21, 2021

Appropriate height!

As a 6 ft tall women it is rare that I find a pair of socks that fit appropriately and are the height I want them to be! Theses socks fit great and are so warm, plus they have badgers on them!

January 21, 2021

Nice warm socks

Got these to hike with in the winter and theyve been great. Warm, they stay up, and not itchy.

January 18, 2021

#1 winter accessory

Typical woman here. Cold feet even when hiking strenuous trails. There are super warm and stay in place. I wear them with liners or on there own, both works very well.

January 15, 2021

Great socks!

I love these bad boys. Have had them a week now and I think I have worn them everyday. Question to Patagonia, I forgot to read the tag for washing instructions, is there anything I should know on how to go about washing these?

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

We are so glad to hear you've been loving these. We recommend a machine wash on warm, and tumble dry on low.

January 1, 2021

Nice and Thick!

The perfect Alaska ski sock is difficult to find- but look no further. This seems to have the right balance of thickness and breathability for the cold dark fresh pow days. Keep up the great work!

January 1, 2021

Warmer than expected

Due to the loft, these socks kept my icy feet warm even in rubber boots for about an hour on the farm. So far the warmest wool socks I own. Very impressed.

December 23, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Overall a great sock. Adds just enough extra insulation for cold weather. I've purchased all four color patterns made this year.

November 29, 2020

Great socks

The socks look great and best of all they are comfortable. Theyll be packed for the next ski trip.

November 21, 2020

Durable well made

I had one pair that was given as a gift 5 years ago. They have lasted & worn so well that I purchased another pair. These are high quality socks worth the $

May 11, 2020

These are the best socks!

Kept my feet warm in Antarctica! I brought a variety of wool socks along with me, and these were the ones I wanted to wear over and over. They are so soft and comfortable, and have plenty of cushion without restricting movement. I wear a women's U.S. size 7 shoe, and found the M fit well and worked with or without a thin sock liner.

January 21, 2020

Perfect knee high

Im size 10.5 shoe bought the large fits perfectly. Great for cold and mild days, absorbs the sweat keep my feet dry for the cold season, washing has been great so far, I use the light weight socks for the warmer days, best socks I've owned I wear them for everything.

December 30, 2019

Great and Warm

These socks are not only warm, they have nice cushion. thanks for making a reliable sock for winter outings.

December 23, 2019

Old-Fashioned Comfort

Knee socks like these make you wonder why anyone ever invented ankle socks. These are warm, soft and comfortable under everything from slippers to ski boots. They also stay up well, and washing doesn't seem to faze them one bit.

November 23, 2019

Wonderful socks

Just the right thickness and warmth. I wear these in my casual shoes and even in my waders (fly fishing) Fun colors, too.

November 8, 2019

Pretty dope

So freakin comfy. Haven’t tried ‘em skiing yet, but I don’t think they’ll be warm enough by themselves. Still gonna get another pair tho, real nice.

November 7, 2019

a great ski sock

Warm, comfortable, and stays up. What more could you look for in a ski sock.

October 30, 2019

They performed exactly as described.

They performed exactly as described. Wore these over a sock liner while wading for trout. They kept my feet warm and dry while staying in place up to my knee - no stretching out of shape. Great pair of wool socks

October 19, 2019

Warm

Warm but nothing special, good for a fall day... Thought they'd be thicker :(

Response from Patagonia
October 31, 2019

We're sorry to hear these weren't what you expected in terms of thickness. We'd like to suggest the [Heavyweight Merino Daily Crew Socks](https://www.patagonia.com/product/heavyweight-merino-daily-crew-socks/50105.html) - they are thicker but we do not have them in knee length.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches