Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Recycled Wool Sweater

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 49 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Recycled Wool Sweater

4.3/5
True To Size
February 19, 2022

Great classic look, very comfortable

The I own two of these styles, and they have become my go to sweater for a casual hang out as well as a trip to the office. Youll need to hand wash it, so keep that in mind. Runs a little big, Im 62 195 lbs and a medium is a relaxed fit.

February 7, 2022

Tough, warm and funky

Handwash it to preserve, its worth it. Maybe its BIFL.

February 6, 2022

Great Sweater!

Fits great, super warm, well made!

February 4, 2022

Comfy and warm

Nice medium weight sweater. I wear it over a tee shirt and its nice and warm. 175lbs and medium fits well. I like the sleeves fold back at the cuff.

January 28, 2022

Quality Made

Sweater is very well made! The wool looks great while keeping your core nice and warm. It feels substantial, not thin, and my daughter has been trying to swipe it from the moment she saw me wearing it for the first time.

January 17, 2022

Very warm

Comfy and cozy sweater

January 13, 2022

Absolutely Love It

I have a hard time buying sweaters because I find one that I like but the fit never works for me. This sweater does everything right in terms of fit, and I'm loving it so far. For some reason a lot of sweaters are super long in the sleeves, and I find myself trying to size down so that the sleeves dont bunch around my wrists and slide down my... Read More hand. On this one, Patagonia made a provision for cuffing the sleeves (it's sold with the sleeves already cuffed), so the length is more reasonable, and can be extended, if preferred. The other really nice feature is the generous waistband. I have an athletic build and sweaters will tend to ride up and sit high on my waist, and I'm constantly adjusting them back down. The waist on this sweater is relaxed and it sits just like it should around my hips. It's a pricey sweater - no doubt about it. But at the end of the day, it looks amazing, is made responsibly with quality materials, and will be guaranteed for life. I'm loving it, and would gladly buy it again.

December 31, 2021

Casual sweater

Comfortable

December 21, 2021

Bought this as a gift for my son

So I can't say for sure how amazing it is, but it sure looked terrific and felt nice in my hands. This appears to be a similar fit to other Patagonia sweaters that he has so I'm feeling pretty confident. (Do you think he'll remember to wear it when he comes over for dinner soon?)

December 11, 2021

Like Wearing A Hug!

This is a nice thick sweater that keeps you warm and comfortable but without overheating. The recycled wool blend has a soft feel and is far less itchy than 100% wool can be. I've worn it over a cotton button down as well as just a t-shirt. The medium fits my 6'1" 185lb frame perfectly for casual wear but I could see others wanting t... Read Moreo size up for a looser fit. I haven't washed it yet but appreciate that I it can be machine washed and laid out to dry vs having to be dry cleaned, ensuring it will be a wardrobe staple of mine for years to come including camping trips and day hikes. If I had one minor gripe it's that I wish the doubled over sleeve cuffs were sewn all the way down vs only tacked down in two spots but it's not enough for me to dock any stars or dissuade anyone from buying.

December 8, 2021

Comfy

I wear it over my nano for an extra layer.

December 6, 2021

Warmth and style

I live aboard a boat in the Pacific Northwest. This sweater is my new warm go-to in the winter when I am not sailing. (I have other gear for that) Love the color and the pattern, but it's winning feature is its amazing warmth.

November 12, 2021

Great fit, not too heavy.

The fit was great, just a bit of room for undershirts, not too heavy and plenty warm.

November 5, 2021

comfy

I really like this item. I thought I wouldn't be a fan of a wool sweater but it looks causal and its super comfortable. Warm enough to keep you warm outside but not too hot indoors. Havent had a problem with scratchiness but I generally wear a long sleeve under it.

November 4, 2021

Great wool sweater

As others note, the wool can feel slightly scratchy but it feels like great quality and warm. I like the color/pattern a lot ("Classic Navy" with the beige lines throughout) - I prefer it to the flat looking women's navy option. The sleeves are long for me so I roll them once, which makes the cuff pretty thick since it's already... Read More sewn back on itself once, but alas! Still a wonderful sweater.

October 30, 2021

Perfect Beyond Belief

I love this sweater. I have barely taken it off. I wear it in the house and when I am bopping around in the city. It is absolutely terrific. I only wish there were more prints so that I could own an entire closet full of them. Perfect for the PNW!

October 5, 2021

Runs big and loose fitting

Good sweater but runs big

Response from Patagonia
October 12, 2021

Hi Todd, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that you found the sweater to run on the larger side. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us to improve fit for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you;re welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 26, 2021

Solid sweater, bit itchy

Very warm, nice sweater. Looks great. Fits true to size. Is very comfortable. But it's also quite itchy if you're super sensitive to itchy fabrics go for something else. If that doesn't bother you there's not a better sweater

September 14, 2021

Perfect fit

The sweater has the perfect fit and feel at touch. I ordered small although Im an M outside USA, and the fit is precise

August 23, 2021

Long and thin

It has a very long torso, and is way too thin to be considered a "sweater". it is more like an undershirt that has a thick collar and cuffs. but it feels fine for just sitting arund

March 30, 2021

Problems with shedding and pilling

I'm really disappointed with this sweater. I'd like to say first of all that own several Patagonia fleeces and jackets and couldn't be happier overall with their fit, look, and quality. This sweater is very disappointing however. After only a handful of wears, the wool is pilling and leaves strands and little balls of fiber all over ... Read Moremy pants and anything it touches. It also itches quite a bit, but that is somewhat to be expected for wool.

March 22, 2021

Compliments abound.

The sweater can be a bit itchy at the sleeve ends and neck. I get compliments on it everytime I wear it.

February 2, 2021

Warm, well made, my "uniform" sweater.

I pretty much wear this everyday. My one main complaint is the waist, and that it is really open. While this fits my shoulders and arm length, it is very loose around the waist.

January 31, 2021

My go lounge around the house sweater but dresses up easy.

I purchased the el cap khaki and I love the color personally, basically just your standard tan. Pretty true to as shown in the pictures. I live in this or my uprisal hoody (also a large), both handle odor fantastically and can go two weeks without washing easily with average daily usage. Layer a nano puff over and youre set fore just about any wint... Read Moreer conditions. Some wool will itch me, but all wool from Patagonia so far has been great. No itch, minimal stretching or shrinking and good threading. This is probably a cheesy review but honestly for my body type it fits perfect and so do most Patagonia products. But I am a pretty skinny 511.

January 30, 2021

Almost perfect

Im very brand loyal and own a variety of Patagonia items. I expect functionality and quality construction throughout. I bought this sweater for warmth. After one use I can say that it does provide the warmth I hoped for. My only disappointment is the straight body cut. Im a slender guy with broad shoulders and longish arms. The straight cut makes t... Read Morehis sweater very baggy on me. I would prefer a gathered hem. Other than that Im happy with the sweater.

January 4, 2021

Great purchase

Great quality

December 14, 2020

Gorgeous knit and very soft!

I love this sweater - Im a woman and ordered the mens XS, and Ive had many compliments on it. I dont find it itchy at all and often wear with just a bra underneath. Will enjoy for many years to come!

December 14, 2020

Warm, oversized, and nice looking

This sweater is great, the real deal. It's large, warm, and looks great! The quality of it is top notch and It feels wonderful to wear. The only thing that might bother some is that it is a little itchy, but I always wear it over other clothes, so it's fine.

November 30, 2020

Like many Patagonia styles, seems to be getting boxier...

Nice material, just really wide. Not sure if Patagonia is making some new sizing decisions, but much of my recent order was significantly wider than previous clothing.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on the fit, design and fabric, Paul! Be sure to check each product to see if they're "slim" fit, "regular" fit, or "relaxed" fit. Your purchases are absolutely covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so please reach out if you'd like any [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return.

November 18, 2020

Not durable, though warm & breathable

I've only worn this sweater for about 20 days. Its stretched out way too much in this time as well as developing lots of little snags. I haven't found it to be on par with the quality of other Patagonia products which is a bummer. I'm familiar with how to properly care for wool sweaters as I own several others I've found at thr... Read Moreift stores. In comparison to other sweaters I own, this is the most delicate. It has lost a lot of its shape in a short time, stretching out around the shoulders, wrists and waist. I don't mind the snags so much, but they seemingly appear out of nowhere...Its a pretty loose knit compared to my other wool sweaters. This is somewhat superficial, but in my opinion the sweater has lost a lot of functionality due to its fragility and loss of shape. Wool sweaters are expected to be durable which is why they've been famously worn by fisherman, skiers, woodsman etc. over the years. Hopefully the next iteration is improved.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2020

Hi Will, we're happy to hear that your Men's Recycled Wool Sweater is keeping you toasty, but it's unfortunate about the stretching and snagging. We have a quick suggestion that could help you out with the stretch issue! Wool sweaters should be washed every 4-5 wears. Wash your wool sweater by hand in cool water with a bit of dishwashing liquid or a wool safe detergent. Let the garment soak in the basin, but don’t agitate the water, twist, rub or wring it out. Then rinse with fresh water until the water runs clear and gently squeeze out excess water. Air-dry your sweater by laying it flat on a dry towel and stretching it to the correct size and shape before it dries. If you have already tried this and feel that your sweater is not meeting your expectations, please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

November 14, 2020

Nice sweater but bulky at the waist

As a surfer....wish this sweater was much more of a slim fit....fits the shoulder buy way too bulky at the waist....

November 9, 2020

Material to thin

I bought the this sweater in tan. I felt the material was very thin for the body of the sweater. I have returned the sweater.

March 3, 2020

Great Sweater

It feels like a regular wool sweater to me. I wore it yesterday with a lightweight long sleeve t-shirt underneath and, unlike other reviewers, I didn't notice any itchiness. It is a comfortable, classic weight sweater with turned-back cuffs (the cuff is held in place by a stitch of yarn). The arms were a perfect length for me, but I tend to ge... Read Moret LT when I can (6'2" 195#). Recommended!

January 2, 2020

Well made but itchy

I purchased this sweater for my 20 year old son. It arrived on time for the holiday and the color and fit is just as described. He is tall and thin and I ordered him an xlg & he looks great in it. He did state that he will always need to wear a long sleeve shirt under the sweater because it is very itchy (which is why I have 4 stars rather than... Read More 5).

December 11, 2019

It was great until....

I have an older version of this sweater with the neck zip. Two of them actually. I love them, fit great, warm, dressy enough for work, but not too polished. I realized after owning them for some time, it was probably time to wash them. I always wore them as an outside layer for office work so they never got dirty. I followed the directions to the l... Read Moreetter per the tags. I even looked up what all the symbols mean, and both sweaters shrunk up on me a lot. They are now too small. Really bummed.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about this. Please note, we guarantee everything we make and we encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us for a warranty evaluation. As long as things are being washed properly, they shouldn't be shrinking down in sizes.

December 3, 2019

Amazing as always

I love this sweater and am always impressed with the look and quality of Patagonia products. I only have a few items (mostly due to cost) but those items have been in rotation for years. I am happy to add this sweater to the rotation.

November 5, 2019

Nice, warm, but heavy. What

Nice, warm, but heavy. What happened to your cashmere sweaters, equally warm but lighter to wear?

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Edward! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. We still offer the Men's Recycled Cashmere Crewneck Sweater, you can check it out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-recycled-cashmere-crewneck-sweater/50525.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_50525_color=WOBL).

November 5, 2019

Sleeves Too Long

I wear sweaters all the time. I purchased a medium and found that the sleeves are 2" too long on me. I a 5'9" slim guy and have never had this issue. That said I'm keeping it.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Norman! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear that the sleeves are a too long for you. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so if you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) you can!

November 3, 2019

Great sweater. Sizing is tough.

I really like this sweater, but had a tough time finding the right size. I wear some things from Patagonia that are men’s size large and some men’s size medium. I originally bought a large, and exchanged for a medium. Still, the sleeves and body are a little long. Otherwise, the sweater is of great quality and design.

October 30, 2019

Lightweight and very warm.

Lightweight and very warm.

October 21, 2019

Beautiful sweater, but was too itchy

The color looked amazing, and it was true to size. However, it was a little too itchy, so had to take it back. Giving the recycled cashmere a chance as of this writing!

October 17, 2019

Comfy, heavy, and sharp looking

The sweater is perfect for fall/winter! The wool isn't too scratchy, the fit is solid (I'm 5'10" 155 lbs and went with a small), and the pattern and colors are very sharp.

October 14, 2019

Amazing Sweater

Where it all the time, is very warm and cozy!

February 25, 2019

Warm & Soft

Sweater is warmer than expected for its weight. Also, much softer than expected. However, it seems to run a little large/long in the XL. I'm 5'11", 225lbs and it's still a little large.

December 30, 2018

Bought for my pappa!!

I bought this sweater for my pappa for Christmas (my family is fully in love with Patagonia as a company and their values). After he let me try it on I immediately wanted one for myself. It is perfectly oversized and heavy but still hugs the body! Seriously wish I would have bought one for myself.

December 12, 2018

Recycled Wool Sweater

This sweater is perfect for the Pacific NW and our three season dampness. We keep our house cool, so it is great inside and to go outside I add a rain shell and that is usually warm enough. When it does get cold, it is great as a second layer over a long sleeved base which also negates itching on bare skin. I'm thinking about getting another.

November 26, 2018

Great sweater

I live in Alaska and wear a lot of sweaters. This is a keeper. I'm 6'0 160lbs and the the medium was perfect. The sleeve length is perfect- goes just past the wrist a little and because it has a little stretch to it makes it very easy to move around in without it pulling this way and that (would make a good ski sweater I would think..). T... Read Morehe collar is well done- nice and snug without being overly so. I do not find the material itchy at all. No, it's not cashmere, but very comfortable nonetheless. Happy to have this one, I recommend it.

November 10, 2018

Love this sweater!

I was so excited to purchase a sweater using recycled materials. When I opened my package, I could see right away that the sweater was of great quality. The fit is perfect and the sweater looks high-end. It's a great piece of durable clothing that I hope will last for many years. I'm excited to buy more recycled clothing, such as this swe... Read Moreater, from Patagonia in the future.

October 25, 2018

Too itchy

I'm not sure if it's the knit, or the recycled Nylon, but it's very itchy. As soon as I tried it on I knew it wasn't going to work. I'm relatively tolerant of wool, owning Merino shirts and socks, and the recycled Cashmere sweater I received at the same time is very comfortable. This sweater fits and looks great I would kee... Read Morep it if it was softer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches