Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody

Write Your Review

4.58 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 65 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody

4.58
True To Size
May 22, 2020

Great sun coverage!

This comfort hoodie is awesome. It protects you from the sun and does not make you overheat; even when working out! However, when it's a little chilly in the morning or late evening, this is perfect to throw over a tight fitting tank top. I'm not crazy about the pull string to tighten the hood, but really no complaints on this piece! Ho... Read Morenestly worth the money!

May 1, 2020

Smooth and cool on hot days

All the bases are covered in this awesome design. A cinch hood to keep you covered on blustery work days and sailing upwind, zippered stash pocket thats easy to access when wearing a PFD (which is surprisingly hard to find!), and enough length in the right places that you can reach up high to cast a net or grab a wayward halyard without having to r... Read Moreeadjust or expose a ton of skin. Wears perfectly for long, hot days on the water and doesnt lose its shape or charm after youve sweat buckets. The gypsum green is just as pictured-delightful and fun!

April 16, 2020

Amazing lightweight sun protection

This is an awesome hoodie! I spend a lot of time outdoors but am sensitive to the the sun, this will be my new go to for rafting and backcountry ski trips! Fits great, the hood has a lot of room to fit over other hats, very comfortable.

March 7, 2020

Great water shirt

I love wearing this hoody out boating. It keeps you cool and protected in bright sun, and it takes some of the bite out of the wind on blustery days. It's easy to wear a ballcap under the hood and cinch the ties around your face. Comfortable fabric and flattering shape. I wear this thing all the time. I am 5'5 and 135lb, the medium was ... Read Moreperfect.

February 27, 2020

Sunscreen Saver!

I wore this almost daily on a thirty day sailing trip and it held up so well. The back pocket was perfect for my phone and I think I saved a gallon of sunscreen. So pleased!

January 2, 2020

Costa Rica Ultimate Protection

Great possibilities for a shirt like this. The womens design was too long and quite big. Im tall and would have liked the mens cut better. I liked the cinch hood that the mens does not have. It did provide great sun protection.

December 18, 2019

Sun hoody

I love the Patagonia sun shirts. The material is very soft and light. I love the green color. The black drawstring is a little big/odd. I wish the sleeves were a little longer to cover my hands while running. The thumb holes feel a little tight. For reference, I'm 5'5", 115 lbs, 32A.

December 3, 2019

Great Service

very comfortable shirt and very functional for many activities.

November 23, 2019

Ok shirt but fit not right

Overall ok but sleeves short for size resulting in pulling at the thumb hole. 5’7” 140 lb purchased size M

November 18, 2019

perfect fit, light material

I'm excited to wear this hoodie in the grand canyon for sun protection while rafting, it feels like silk but cool to the touch and is quick dry.

November 5, 2019

wearing this for all my

wearing this for all my sports and loving it :)

October 30, 2019

Great sun shirt

Comfortable and light. True to size. Love it.

October 26, 2019

Clingy bottom

I'm 5'.05" and 115 lbs. I usually wear a size Medium in most brands...except when it comes to Patagonia, sizes may be S or M if the shirt is "regular," which this style is. However, it seems a bit more fitted than regular. Thus, I had to return it to my local Patagonia shop. Note that the Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie which is... Read More a regular fit, is truly a regular and it is a perfect fit for me. So, for those who prefer a fitted fit, go with the Tropic Comfort Hoodie, and for those who prefer a regular fit, I suggest the Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie.

October 7, 2019

Hands down...

...Best moisture wicking fly fishing shirt in the industry. I’ve tried Orvis dry release and Free Fly and go back to the tropic comfort hoody every time. Thanks for making an AMAZING product!

September 24, 2019

Love the look

This top is supper cute, I love the color and the fit. The reason I only gave it 4 stars is because the sleeves are not long enough for me to use the thumb holes. I usually have an issue with this, so I ordered a larger size, they still don't fit. Other then that, I love it! I have taken it out fishing a few times, the hood was great protectio... Read Moren from the sun. I look forward to taking it hiking to see how well it breaths while protecting me.

September 21, 2019

Nice and lite

Runs a bit slender but a good piece for traveling

September 14, 2019

Comfy top

Fits true to size, not too tight which is nice. Seems breathable and lightweight, have not tested it for sun protection yet but so far it’s a great piece.

September 13, 2019

Comfortable, but interesting hood string

I bought this for a recent hike up Mt. Saint Helens. I initally bought this as a sun shirt but ended up using it as a base layer because of adverse conditions on summit day. The hoody fits well and is pretty true to size. Going off of previous Patagonia purchases I decided to downsize and am happy with my decision. I think i could have stayed with ... Read Moreeither the Medium or a Large and been happy either way. Love the back pocket; it fits my iphone 8 which rarely ever happens. My only curiosity about it is the hood string. When you cinch the hood tight you now have this long and rather obtrusive string dangling and tucking it in doesn't help or look any better.

September 11, 2019

Good fit

I have a slim torso, broad shoulders and long arms. The medium fits me well - hangs well and is not too tight or too baggy. Lightweight material is very comfortable.

September 9, 2019

Perfect for Rim2Rim

Used this the other day for a Rim2Rim run on the Grand Canyon, where it was 111 degrees at the bottom. It literally saved me. Perfect for heat and felt so good when I soaked it with water to keep me cool.

September 9, 2019

Great shirt

I bought this for sailing. I wore it all day without a sunburn or stinky pits. I like the look and color. The hood is kind of funny, but I can see how it would be really useful for additional sun coverage. Very nicely made.

September 2, 2019

The fabric is exactly what

The fabric is exactly what I am looking for but the arms were way too short.

August 28, 2019

Tropic Hoody

This hoody is incredible. I just spent two weeks in the Alps and wore this shirt as much as possible. It was cooler then having bare skin exposed on the hot sunny days and I didn’t need to wear nearly as much sunscreen. The large hood is my favorite part as it sets other sun shirts apart. It is easily pulled over a hat (and stays put) and spacious ... Read Moreenough for comfort while breathing heavy from strenuous exercise. I would recommend this shirt to anyone looking for sun protection on the trail.

August 23, 2019

Boom

I’m 5’10 around 155lbs. This fits like a glove. Sleeves when using thumbholes are a little short for me but I am super long. Got the medium like I always do in Patagonia. Going to order in another color. Very pleased!

August 21, 2019

so much potential but had to return

I wanted to love this but the cut is off, especially for Patagonia. I usually wear a small, or size 6, and most of the time Patagonia gets it just right, even for my long arms. This little gem runs very small in my shoulders and especially small for my arms. I'm doubtful I could use the thumb holes even if I had a large because the hem of the ... Read Moresmall only lands on my wrist. I bought the crew neck T-shirt in small as well and had the same issue with sizing. I am tempted to size up to a medium but given how small the overall cut is I would have to go up to a large and then it would be too wide for my torso. Hoping the cut improves next year as I would get a ton of use out of this otherwise, especially would use the hoody comfort shirt all 4 seasons by layering under things. Love the SPF factor, love the fabric thus the four stars. Knocked one star off for being cut so oddly.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

Sorry to hear that the hoody has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 19, 2019

Lightweight and UPF 50. Great

Lightweight and UPF 50. Great shirts!

August 18, 2019

It's like Mithril

I LOVE this top. It is the perfect layer for hiking, biking, climbing, or skiing in the intense sun. The fabric is stunning- it's so lightweight and breathable that I didn't even notice I was wearing it! While biking it even had a cooling effect on my skin! The hood is big and nice, and while the cinch took a little getting used to, it of... Read Morefers great protection. It's definitely more on the slim fit side, which works well for my build.

August 17, 2019

Great sun protection

Both are great! The women’s long sleeve I ordered fits me a bit short in the arms so the stitching around the thumb hole cuts into my hands. The men’s long sleeve is great. I’m planning on ordering both again!

August 16, 2019

WS Tropic Comfort Hoody

Very comfortable lightweight fabric, cute style; 4 stars as it is about 2” too long for me; also the neckline cinch keeps loosening.

August 15, 2019

I don't know why I waited so long to replace my old sun shirt.

I love nature, and am a skilled shade seeker. I finally replaced my 15 year-old button down that was 2" short in the arms (add 2 more inches lost when I roll the sleeves). This shirt is the perfect personal shade provider! I strut through the Colorado mountains with little stress about whether or not I need to apply more sunscreen - which is a... Read More huge win for me and my fellow adventurers. After I bought one, I got a second so I can never have to worry about one being in the wash. I am 5’4”, 120lbs. The XS fit great, but I wanted one of them to be a little looser so also got a S. The S is also great for my longer arms -- I get full coverage for my arms in the XS, but the thumb holes feel a little snug when I bend my arms in the smaller size. For me, the tighter fit seems better for the rigorous/running activity, whereas the larger size seems like a great option for when I am “hiking” with my 2 and 4 year old. I love the weight of the fabric and the functionality of the hood as well! My only complaint on this product is that it doesn't come in a full body suit...your move Patagonia.

August 15, 2019

Love it!

Lightweight and feels good next too skin. Perfect layer when you don't want more sun. Fits a bit small.

August 14, 2019

Great lightweight sun protection!

Love this shirt! I wear L in Patagonia Torrentshell jacket, but sized up to XL for the Tropic Comfort hoodie. L was skin tight, XL was more flattering and more breathable. Sitting in the sun, I did not feel any hotter in long sleeves than I would have bare-skinned, which is nice, and when we were boating around the lake, the breeze came through whi... Read Morech was even better. I had sunblock on and this light blue hoodie did not discolor at all, unlike a competitor's product which turned brown where sunblock touched it. Very pleased with this purchase and look forward to more boating and also trying it for hiking and music festivals.

August 13, 2019

Love this sun shirt.

Very lightweight. Feels cool on a very hot day. I love that I don't need to worry about applying sunscreen to my upper body when I am wearing this.

August 13, 2019

The only shirt I'll ever wear in the sun again!

I live in this shirt while on our multi-day river trips. No matter if I am wading in the water to rig a boat, or passing back beers while lounging on the bow, this shirt has been a life saver on the river. At the end of the day my skin is not burned from the sun, and not sticky from sunscreen. That goes a long way when you are also camping for mult... Read Moreiple days in the wilderness. I am usually able to wear the shirt for 2-3 days in a row, before pulling out a fresh Tropic Comfort Hoody. Yes, I have multiples of this same shirt because its that awesome! In different colors of course!

August 12, 2019

Montana Puppyraiser

We've had a hot summer here in Montana, and this hoody was perfect for long days on the water fishing. The hood does a great job keeping the sun off my face and neck, and the fit is perfect, you forget that you have the hood up. When I got really hot, I dunked the hoody in the water and put it back on, that kept me cool as the hoody dried. I t... Read Morehink I need to buy another one!

August 12, 2019

Perfect Weight

Used it on the Amazon River in July and it was the perfect weight to wear at night on the open air boats.

August 11, 2019

I work on the water,

I work on the water, love this hoody. The big hood covers, yet if it’s windy I can cinch it down and it never falls down. It’s always windy, I would love a couple more colors. I have 3 of each color right now. I wear them every day!!

August 11, 2019

tropic hoody

I bought one of these, wore it once and bought two more. These are now the only shirts I have any interest in wearing. The only time I wear anything else is when these are dirty and the washer is still on spin cycle. Fortunately for me, they dry fast, and yes, I have worn them right out of the washer. They are perfect on the hottest summer day and ... Read Morehave greatly reduced the amount of sunblock I use. When the sun goes down, they are the perfect weight to keep the chill (and most of the mosquitoes) off on a high mountain evening. They resist dirt, don't stink even after a long run, pack down to the size of a par of socks, come through the wash looking new, and are soo comfortable. More colours would be cool.

August 11, 2019

Caribbean

I bought two of these tropic hoodies because I didn’t know what to expect weather wise in the Caribbean. They were perfect for days out on the boat, keeping me cool and protected from the sun in 90+ temperatures. And they look really cute!

August 10, 2019

Not great for active sun exposure

Albeit great for protecting your skin from the sun, this material is much too thick and hot for exercising outdoors. The thumb holes are too short. I was unable to comfortably use my arms when using the added protection of the thumholes. Vents would make this shirt more user friendly.

August 10, 2019

Excellent

I keep the hoody in my car for whenever I might need it. It is excellent for lightweight but efficient sun protection, especially while on the water. It looks good over clothes or a swimsuit, the hood is good alone or over a hat, and the rear zippered pocket is quite useful. I have been thinking about getting a second one for myself.

August 10, 2019

Perfect Addition

I've really gotten to the point I hate sunscreen and have opted to use clothing to cover my fair skin. This hoody is the perfect addition! Cool, comfortable, large hood to go over my visor or ball cap. I love it!

August 10, 2019

Best river top

This top fits perfectly. It shades the sides of my face and my chin on the river. Used it on the Grand Canyon and only the tips of my fingers got a tan.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for the beach

Just returned from San Francisco, the hooded sun shirt was perfect for sun protection and comfort. It slipped easily in my bag to take anywhere, from the beach to the city!

August 10, 2019

Sun protection

Excellent sun protection for hot Hawaiian days! Washes well and does not stink

August 10, 2019

Love this top!

East to carry with me and put on quickly to keep sun damage away. Fits nicely and is pretty cool even on hot days. Certainly cooler that sunburn.

August 10, 2019

Not for me

I sent this back without a second thought. The hood was way too much, the two fabrics felt mismatched...just not for me. I ended up with a simple man's shirt- straight cut, one fabric, soft and lovely.

August 10, 2019

Perfect river shirt

Kept me comfortable in the blazing sun on a week-long river trip. Absolutely love it.

August 10, 2019

Runs really small

Loved the idea of this, great fabric, but it runs very small. I had to return it.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We're sorry you ended up returning it! Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding your refund.

August 10, 2019

Breathes well, protects against sun,

Breathes well, protects against sun, the relax fit is nice in the hear

August 10, 2019

Perfect for Being in the Sun All day!

I wear this top sailing (in Texas and Louisiana summers) . It’s perfect for keeping the sun off my neck and arms while keeping me cool. Love it! Although I do wish the length of the sleeves were a tad longer or at least a little more stretchy.

August 4, 2019

Almost Perfect

Great sun protection for your neck and sides of face. I like the long curved hem, so that your lower back doesn't show or get burnt. I love the thumb holes and long arms so that the tops of your hands don't burn either. It would be a great backpacking shirt, except that the zippered packet is a bother against the hip belt. I would love if... Read More it as a little more simple and had no pocket. (The daily capilene hooded version would almost be perfect match but that one doesn't have thumb holes.) The weave is tight enough and the fit loose enough that is does a good job of deterring mosquitoes as well!

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2019

So glad to hear that this shirt has been working well for you but are sorry for the discomfort the zipper has caused. We recommend taking a look at our [W's Capilene Cool Daily Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-hoody/45315.html?dwvar_45315_color=BYBX&cgid=womens-shirts#start=1). This will perform very similarly but does not have that zipper.

July 26, 2019

Awesome for the Grand Canyon

This shirt was my go to shirt for a HOT Grand Canyon River trip. I also purchased the W's Sunshade Hoody but it didn't dry out as quickly.

June 28, 2019

Awesome fishing shirt!

I love the Tropic Comfort series, particularly the hoody. This is the most breathable fabric of any sun protection shirt I've worn and offers great protection. I put it to use during multiple days of fishing in the Mexico sun and it kept me protected and felt super lightweight. The drawstring on the hood is great for covering your face and kee... Read Moreping your hat on when running the boat. Fits true to size and the little pocket on the side is helpful for stashing a sun glass shamy or flies.

June 21, 2019

Amazing Summer Shirt!

The fabric is perfect for warm/hot days in the sun. The sleeves are a perfect length for me. The length of the shirt is nice with a harness as well, does not come un-tucked. It is a great weight fabric! The hood fits nicely over a helmet, but also without one. I am 5'4" and 118lbs, athletic build and the XS fit perfect! Not too tight, not... Read More too loose.

May 28, 2019

So comfortable and flattering

Bought for a trip to Asia in the summer, where it will be hot, humid, and rainy. It is SO soft and comfortable!! It's also flattering, which is great. Love the UPF coverage.

May 26, 2019

True to it's name

So comfortable, airy and light. Feels like a durable fabric, and the cut is lovely. I like the hood idea, it serves as both a hood and a buff if you cinch it up all the way. Would love to see this in more solid colors!

May 9, 2019

Cute and comfortable

Loving the hoodie. Fits perfectly and keeps me pretty cool. Excited to test it more in the tropics of Hawaii!!

May 8, 2019

Lightweight shirt for summer

Very lightweight and good for summer wear.

May 8, 2019

Exceeded my expectations

I purchase this for the UV protection before a visit to the Grand Canyon .80 degree temperatures and it was perfect. Very comfortable and I never felt sweaty. I plan on buying one for my husband. Also, the price is decent!

April 7, 2019

Best sun hoody yet!

Style is updated and covers the neck better. Material is more breathable and lighter than the past. Colors are all awesome. Fit is looser than last years which is a bonus--the arms last year were too tight for me and the fit was narrow. These run true to size in most Patagonia stuff.

April 2, 2019

Best Sun Hoody EVER

I own a multitude of sun shirts from a variety of brands, including other Patagonia styles. This is 100% the best one. Just spent 30 days fishing in Mexico and wore this one almost every day even though I had other options along. It went to the laundry once a week; didn't ever smell even after wearing it multiple full days in a row. The hood f... Read Moreits under your hat and buff and stays on. The length is perfect. I'd make the sleeves a little longer to prevent the wrist sunshine when you're being active.

April 1, 2019

Amazing

This might be the comfiest thing I’ve ever put on. Extremely lightweight and soft. The hood is perfect. Reminiscent of my Melanzana I’ve had for 5 years. The hood has a nice clasp that keeps the hood up when it gets windy which is helpful. I usually go for medium’s, but ended up getting a large in this one just out of personal preference. Liked the... Read More loose fitting boyfriend shirt look for this hoody. (I’m 5”5” and 138 lbs, 6/8) I’m stoked to wear this in the desert next week. I’m nervous about the color because it’s so light and I’m going backpacking and will inevitably get this thing dirty af. A dark desert brown would have perfect. But I am truly obsessed with this! Recommended for sure. Would buy another in a darker color if they ever make one.

April 1, 2019

Amazing

This might be the comfiest thing I’ve ever put on. Extremely lightweight and soft. The hood is perfect. Reminiscent of my Melanzana I’ve had for 5 years. The hood has a nice clasp that keeps the hood up when it gets windy which is helpful. I usually go for medium’s, but ended up getting a large in this one just out of personal preference. Liked the... Read More loose fitting boyfriend shirt look for this hoody. (I’m 5”5” and 138 lbs, 6/8) I’m stoked to wear this in the desert next week. I’m nervous about the color because it’s so light and I’m going backpacking and will inevitably get this thing dirty af. A dark desert brown would have perfect. But I am truly obsessed with this! Recommended for sure. Would buy another in a darker color if they ever make one.

March 9, 2019

I LOVE this sun hoody

I own hooded sun shirts from just about every brand you can imagine and I LOVE this one. I wear them all year long, whenever I'm outside. The length is great and comes down on my hips nicely. it is lightweight, soft, and cool. Most importantly, the hood doesn't blow off! Thank you so much for putting the draw cord; I love how protected th... Read Moree face feels. I have terrible problems with other sun shirts because there is never a mechanism for keeping it on. There aren't great color choices, but the white and gray works fine. Hopefully that will be improved in the future. Great job!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches