Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Crew II

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Crew II

4.6/5
True To Size
January 8, 2021

Best Shirt Patagonia *Made*...

So, here I am writing a review for a discontinued shirt. The Tropic Comfort Crew shirt (both the [superior 93/7 poly/elastic is an amazing fabric blend] 1st generation and the still very good II) are my go-to shirts in the summer and on tropical adventures. For those of us with fare skin, a long sleeve, breathable shirt is a requirement especially ... Read Morein places closer to the equator (aka the tropics) or high in elevation. Throw on a pair of Baggies and this shirt and I am good to go. Therefore, it saddens me to find out Patagonia has decided it wasn't worth making any longer. And before you start, the hoddie just isnt as good and looks way too casual (wife hates the sloppy hood look). Also, the capaline products are much thinner - like 140gsm vs 210gsm - and the fit is miserable for me. There really is no good Patagonia replacement. Also, whats the deal with the women version still existing and the hoodies? You have the fabric still does this single skew discontinuation significantly streamline the product line or does it just leave a product/opportunity gap? Alas, I purchased the last remaining (as far as my local Patagonia store could tell) shirt in the US from a store on the other side of the country. Im hoping it will help stretch the use of my others before they're all too worn out. Which at that point, Ill sadly look for a different clothing co to dress me come summer/when in the sun. This here is a eulogy for my favorite shirt what a truly good shirt the Tropic Comfort Crew was. It is also maybe a plea to the corporate product control team that made this decision or mistake (we all do, its ok... ), and in the slim chance reads it, decides to revive the Tropic Comfort Crew shirt and return some clothing joy into our lives. Please? Please! Fin

June 30, 2020

Great in Sun

I used it both inside and outside; on the beach and at work. Keeps me cool in sunlight and cozy in air conditioning. Plus, stylish!

December 16, 2019

Base layer for fishing, hiking and running too

Running has been apart of my routine since I was 16 and I've only been fly fishing for the last 4 years. I've gotta say, this is a well made base layer for fishing, hiking and running too! Fit - 5'10, 165 lbs and the medium is a perfect fit. Function - This piece is light weight, breaths well, and offers excellent UV protection. This... Read More is a versatile piece that should be in everyone's line up!.

November 9, 2019

LOVE These Shirts

Got these in 2 colors. Taking them on vacation to Bali, very comfortable. easy to wash, versatile, and fit is well.

October 18, 2019

Great shirt

Sizing is a little longer in the arms than the Capilene Cool shirts which is perfect for me. Dries very quickly and runs cool despite being a little heavier material. Great for MTB, haven't tried it fishing yet but guessing it'd be perfect. 6'0" size M

September 6, 2019

Awesome top

Love UPF and the lightweight feel. On the hot summer days on the river, this is an awesome piece to keep you protected from the sun and cool at the same time!!!

August 22, 2019

Poorer Quality

These shirts were of noticeably lesser quality than the same shirt purchased 1 1/2 years ago. The material is thinner and more flimsy. The necks stretched out after several washing cycles and the piping around the bottom of the sleeves frayed on several shirts purchased. Disappointing Patagonia product. Would much prefer to pay an incremental cost ... Read Moreincrease to see them maintain quality of past products. Also disappointed to see the "half-zip-up, mock turtle neck" version discontinued. Was planning on purchasing several more of those.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment with this crew. Thanks for your feedback and we hope that we can help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on this since you are unsatisfied. Please feel free to [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) if you need anything.

August 19, 2019

Expectations Met

Good fit. True to size. Quality build. Just what I expected.

August 15, 2019

The best Jean's for summer.

Although they feel on the heavy side you can move well and they are cooler than you would expect.

August 10, 2019

Good shirt

Lightweight and comfortable shirt. Dries quickly and good for all around use.

May 8, 2019

Tropic Comfort Crew II Too Cool

I haven't had an opportunity to use the Crew II as a single layer, it is still a bit chilly in these parts. It is an excellent layering garment and if I had seven of them, I would use one every day. As it is, it is the first thing I choose after clothes have been washed and dried.

May 8, 2019

Nice weight but...

I’m 6’0” and >=175 lbs. I bought two of these shirts. I wear them over a fairly snug tee shirt as the weight is not really suitable for casual wear (but would be fine solo hiking or surf for sun protection.) The feature I would want to see before buying another shirt is to beef up the collar and… wider and better construction as it tends to stre... Read Moretch out a bit and hang loose which looks sloppy, opens my neck up to sun exposure, and eventually aggravates the skin around my neck. BTW… sent the medium back as it was crazy tight and the style of the neck and the drape is kind of girly for outdoorsmen.

May 8, 2019

Love It!

I purchased two of these for sun protection on a 3 week scuba diving trip to Bonaire. Love them....very cool in the heat, dry very quickly, and great sun protection! I purchased a 3rd one when I arrived home.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches