Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Write Your Review

4.8 /5

Filter Reviews

All 298 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

4.8
True To Size
November 7, 2020

Love it

Bought this for winter southern Utah hiking and fishing. It works great for both. Material is very wicking and as far as I can tell is about the same material as used in the capilene daily. Not going to keep you warm in cold temps but not going to burn you up in temps above 70. It basically is a capilene hoody but with thumb holes and a hood that o... Read Moreffers a bit more coverage.

November 1, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

I first saw the tropical hoody being used by the guides on Rainier Mountain during a Denali prep course. Shortly afterwards I purchased two. I loved them so much that I have purchased a total of eight, not including ones that I have purchased for family members. The hoodies are great for hikes and warm to hot weathers. I really like the variety o... Read Moref blue hoodies that have come out. Excellent product and I highly recommend buying at least one and see if you like it. I can assure you that you will buy more. Good luck and I hope you enjoy the tropical hoodie as much as I do.

September 15, 2020

Excellent sun protection even in the heat.

I burn easily, and sunscreen alone doesnt always help. This helps me double up on sun protection without overheating.

September 9, 2020

I have lived in this all summer

With COVID I been wearing this whenever I go outside. Cool and excellent sun protection. The hood is comfortable and provides excellent sun protection when worn with a cap. I now have two as does my wife.

September 9, 2020

Good

I use this for fishing.

September 7, 2020

What Sun?

I love this shirt. I always wear it while kayaking in the Summer heat. I have been on the open water, 90-95*, and have remained well protected from the light and heat. It breathes well with an airy, loose fit. The hood is perfect over a hat, and has kept the mosquitoes and mayflies from getting to me. The UPF is effective, and even when remaining i... Read Moren the direct sunlight, the fabric doesn't hold the heat. The humidity of Summer in NC is what I take on with this hoody.

September 4, 2020

Light and Flowy

This is a nice piece I picked up because I don't like putting loads of sun screen on my bod every 3 hrs. I especially don't like it when I'm climbing a big route and I have to stop to apply and get my hands all greasy. I'm 6'6" and 215 lbs (climber bod), bought the XL and it's very comfortable (loose) and flowy wi... Read Morethout being baggy and it also feels reasonably durable. Stays decent smelling for about 3 days, and the red color is really quite pink, not quite as salmon as I was hoping - I would suggest more muted, desaturated colors. Would buy again.

September 3, 2020

Perfect long sleeves for summer

I loved this as I can avoid sun exposure in the summer without overheating. I bought the men's because of the button at the neck and the looser fit. I normally wear a women's small, sometimes medium. Mens XS was perfect.

September 2, 2020

Jack of all trades

These sunshirts are my go to for essentially any outdoor activity. The combination of extremely lightweight soft fabric along with the large hood and excellent sun protection is incredible. The large hood fits loosely yet when paired with a helmet or hat stays on when using the button even in 40 mph headwinds on a bike. It is extremely comfortable ... Read Moreand lightweight, I actually prefer to wear this on a scorching day instead of a t-shirt. I also use it for work as forest surveyor in the PNW where Im constantly thrashing through thickets of salmon berry and deep brush. After a few months of abuse it has come through with only a few minor cuts and wear around the cuffs. The hood is also excellent at keeping hemlock needles and other forest debris from getting down my shirt. Plus the billowy shirt and big hood makes you look and feel like a jedi which can be a nice confidence boost while climbing.

September 2, 2020

Awesome

Really soft comfortable

September 2, 2020

Perfect!!!

Absolutely perfect fit, great weight, keeps you cool in the sun and warm if its a little Windy. Purchasing other colors because its a perfect piece of clothing.

September 1, 2020

Super lightweight summertime shirt.

I originally bought this shirt so I wouldn't fry while kayaking. I bought a men's because I have pretty broad shoulders. I fell in love with it so much that I bought another one. These are fantastic summertime shirts, they are super light and they fell like you're wearing water.

September 1, 2020

Great, super comfortable!

I wear these shirts while fishing in the mountains of North Carolina. Very comfortable, great sun protection. Even on the warmest, most humid days I stay cool and sweat free. The blue Camo looks great with my navy Patagonia baggies. Solid product.

September 1, 2020

Sunny weather necessity

I really cannot go anywhere without this sun shirt weather its fishing, hiking, or day at the lake, this shirt is the perfect lightweight sun protection. I love the new blue camo style too!

August 24, 2020

Perfect for fishing in the sun.

Very light weight material but built with quality. Highly recommend.

August 20, 2020

River Trip

I just spent 4 days on a River Trip in Utah. Relentless sun and 100+ degree temps. This shirt kept me cool (I swam in it as well) and protected from the sun! I would 1000% recommend to friends and family!

August 19, 2020

Perfect weight

I love this hoody. It is perfect for a days fishing/rafting on the Colorado, and laying around after a day at the lake. I love the thumb holes and button on the neck that gives that extra protection or secures it on a windy afternoon pushing downstream. Surprisingly warm when it needs to be but cool enough to wear over a t-shirt as sun protection.

August 11, 2020

Super-Dope!

I'm an avid outdoorsman with a rabid hatred for sunscreen. But, I understand the importance of blocking the sun. This shirt is remarkably lightweight, breathable and comfortable. The hood and thumb holes are well designed and absolutely functional! I have dozens of sun shirts, but this one beats them all in comfort and functionality. PLEASE M... Read MoreAKE SOME MUTED EARTH TONES! Dope shirt, Patagonia.

August 2, 2020

Well worth it!

These are worth every penny! Incredibly comfortable and perfect for being on the water. The neck button and thumb slits are ideal for keeping your skin protected from the sun in high winds, whether it be on a boat, kayak, beach, or kiteboarding. Make more colors!!!

July 29, 2020

Must have

I work in the Grand Canyon and recreate in Northern Arizona and these sun hoodies are the only reason I can do that. I own 5-6 of these but the most recent one I bought the sizing has changed. I used to be able to fit in a M but even when I ordered a large size of the newer design its still too small so the next one I get will have to be an XL. The... Read More older style had such a big hood that Id be able to pull it over the front bill of my baseball cap and get complete coverage. This is the only reason I dont get burned on the river. Ive put these shirts through the ringer bushwhacking to get to remote areas and I cant believe how well they hold up. Most of mine do have a few holes (really bad bush whacking) the holes dont get bigger and havent gotten burned through any of them yet! Ive tried lots of different sun hoodies and these by far are the best. I really hope that the design team will go back to the bigger hood allowing those of us with very fair skin to avoid burning. Otherwise these are a must have for any desert rat.

July 28, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Although I'm avid sunscreen user, camping in the high Sierra's this summer stressed the importance of a physical sun block. This hoody is light, flexible and minimal, just what you want went scrambling up a mountain or trail. I've always struggle with finding the right size with Patagonia clothing and often can't: I'm 5&#... Read Morex27;9", 165 pounds, fit, with a broad athletic chest: 40". Despite others' reviews I decided to take a gamble and go with the small and glad I did. The only place I could use a tiny bit more room is in the back of the armpit area while raising my arms however the fabric generously stretches when needed. Looking forward to the fabric prints that they come out with next.

July 24, 2020

Great shirt

Ive worn mine 3-4 times now and am very happy with it. Its nice on hot sunny days as well and days on the cooler side. Fits nice and the stretchy fabric is great when youre active in the shirt. Want to get more but wish they had some more colors like yellow.

July 21, 2020

Best cooling shirt ever

I have two of the first version of this shirt, and two of this second version. The second version is even better than the first, which I swear by as the best golf shirt I own. It's been in the mid 90s here lately and this shirt is the only way I can make it through a full round. It has serious cooling capacity where below 74 degrees, I need to... Read More wear a sweater vest with this shirt, or I get too much of a chill when the wind blows. The sun protection is also amazing. I haven't gotten any sort of burn while wearing it. You will never regret owning this shirt when using in the right conditions. I just wish Patagonia would make more of a golf ready version of this shirt with more of a turtle neck... or, produce a summer gaiter out of the same materials. And yes, I've used it for fishing as well, where it works great, but that's kinda beside the point behind real function of this shirt and material. Also, the second version does not fray around the edge of the sleeves like the first version has.

July 21, 2020

Most versatile and comfortable hiking top ever!

I have used this shirt to hike 1400+ miles on the Pacific Crest Trail, wearing it every single day - it is awesome - it has kept me warm in the snow, cool in the heat, kept the bugs off me and kept odours to a minimum. The hood is amazing for sun shade, warmth adder and again for keeping bugs off. The shirt is still absolutely functional after 1400... Read More miles and could no doubt finish the entire trail of 2650 miles - I am however planning to get a new one just so its a bit sharper. If Im doubt - buy it - Trail Name 007 from the PCT .

July 20, 2020

Keeps my pale ginger skin safe

These are my go-to shirts. I use them for ski touring in the late spring/summer, fishing, running, hiking, biking, and just wandering around. Can't say enough good things about these shirts. As a ginger in Co., who is less than religious with the sunscreen, these shirts are a game-changer for me. I wear these daily in the summer.

July 19, 2020

My new go to summer gear

My wife had gotten one of the crews and fell in love with it. When we ordered her a second, I decided to try one. I was skeptical of the hood, but now that I have had it for a couple of weeks I am sold! Washington DC is in the midst of a heat wave and I wear the hoody when ever I go outside, usually with a cap. The hood keeps the sun off my neck an... Read Mored seems to keep my head cooler. If there is any breeze the shirt cools me off immediately. The thumb loops keep the backs of my hands covered and are very comfortable. Comfortable loose without getting in my way. Excellent product that I recommend.

July 13, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 13, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 13, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it's worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I'd say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 13, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 13, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 13, 2020

Awesome Shirt!

Super comfortable, very similar feel to the capilene cool daily in that it feels like youre not wearing anything. Living in south Florida I really enjoy the hood and being able to get some sun protection very easily.

July 13, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 13, 2020

SPF Protection For Outdoor Work

Great for all day outdoor work. Love the hood.

July 13, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 13, 2020

A Great Go-To for Hot, Sunny Days

I bought this to protect my pale skin on hot, sunny days. I know it is a "Tropic" hoody, but I feel that it is better suited for hot, dry climates where just a little separation from the sun will make you more comfortable. The material is so light and breathable, I even enjoy wearing it when it is 95 degrees out. The thumb holes are a gre... Read Moreat feature, but be careful because the material covering your palms will get dirty pretty quick.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 13, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 13, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product, but I wish the gender price difference didn't exist.

It's so unfortunate that, as with many products, the women's version of this is more expensive. I still recommend this product, but I wish I could get a more fitted version for the same price.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2020

Hello Catherine, thanks for your review. The reason why the women's is a bit more pricey than the men's is because it has two features that the men's does not; an adjustable hood and a zippered pocket. The men's does not have these features which makes it a bit cheaper.

July 13, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 13, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 13, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I've got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 13, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 13, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 13, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 12, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I've got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2020

Hi Robbie, thanks so much for your review! We're sorry to hear that the stitching is already coming undone. If it keeps getting worse, please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

July 11, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 11, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 10, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 10, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 10, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 10, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 10, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it's worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I'd say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 10, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 10, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 9, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 9, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 9, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 9, 2020

Excellent light weight sun protection.

I really like this hoody as it is light weight and cool, while providing 50 spf sun protection. It dies run a bit on the lager size, so you may want to go a size down if you prefer a snug fit, like a rash guard.

July 9, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 9, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 9, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 9, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 6, 2020

Great shirt for fishing and being on the water

Overall I love this shirt. My only gripe is that it seems to run a bit large so had to exchange the XL for a L. In general I have found Patagonia stuff to run a bit on the larger size.

July 5, 2020

Works Well In Heat

Wore this for 2 days hiking out in Arizona in 90F+ degree weather. I found the hoodie to be extremely useful for keeping me cool while on trail, and the long sleeve makes it so you have plenty of sun protection on trails with little to no shade. Dry's quickly and doesn't stink up like other sweaters I've worn. I would say this is the... Read More perfect base layer for any hike you go on.

June 27, 2020

Perfect for in-water sun protection

I have a few of these and they are absolutely amazing for protecting you from the sun when in the water in the tropic, which is where I live. I would recommend doing away with the buttons though. On both of mine, the buttons fell off within a few washes (I never dry them). I really don't think they are necessary, but should either be fortified... Read More or removed in my opinion. that said i highly recommend these for wearing in the tropics to do just about anything.

June 26, 2020

comfortable

this is my favorite product.

June 26, 2020

Comfortable 3XL Fit

I'm so happy that Patagonia is offering its stylish clothing in my size. I love the fabric. It's light and is comfortable in all kinds of weather.

June 26, 2020

Super comfortable

I would wear this every single day of my life if I could. It's that comfortable. I ordered an XXL thinking I wanted the extra roominess. Turns out an XL Would have been just perfect. I love this top and plan to order more.

June 25, 2020

Fantastic shirt

Love this shirt, great for outdoors activities in the summer. Perfect.

June 25, 2020

Perfect sun protection!

This is the third one of these I own... the first two were used when For guiding rafts now landscaping. I own two other hooded sun shirts from two different manufacturers, these are my go to!! Light weight, room to move with great UPF protection.

June 25, 2020

Keeping cool

True fit, super soft texture. Great for keeping the upper body protected from the sun when wet wading rivers in Michigan looking for trout. Keeps me protected and cooler than if I was just wearing a t-shirt. Super breathable and the thumb holes are a major plus.

June 25, 2020

My favorite piece of clothing

I got this for mainly fishing and it has worked great so far. The fit is great and i love the thumb loops in the sleeves. All of this plus Patagonia's environmental policies makes this sun hoodie my favorite piece of clothing.

June 25, 2020

Amazing very comfortable

I bought this for my 13 year old sons birthday. He wears it all the time around the house and he says he likes the fit on the body not loose or tight. Helps a lot with heat when hes doing yard work and fishing.

June 25, 2020

Great Light weight top

I'm 5'9" 180#. Love the feel - light weight and comfortable. Easy to pack. Easy to wear.

June 24, 2020

Own five of them...

Love this shirt. Period. Got my first one for black fly and no-see um protection when fishing on the rivers in the Adirondacks. Got a 2nd shirt for trips to the salt for stripers to protect against sun and bugs. Ended up with 3 more, one is my "dress shirt" on hiking/fishing trips, one is backup in my truck if I forget to grab one when I ... Read Moreleave the house, the last one I got just because I like the blue camo. Fit is great, I'm 6'2" 215lbs, need things big in the shoulders, this meets all of those requirements. Fabric feels good against the skin no matter the weather and the thumb holes and top of hand protection is awesome. One of my favorite Patagonia products. Ever.

June 23, 2020

AWESOME!

Get this tropic hoody! I used it for a hiking, fishing, and working.. if your gonna get it do it! Got a lot of cool compliments and looks because of it. Go for it.

June 23, 2020

Nice looking and comfortable

Nice fit and light weight

June 22, 2020

Comfy Sun Hoodie

I got this hoodie for my boyfriend and he really liked it. The material is super light but not too thin and he says it keeps him warm when it's windy but doesn't make him hot in the sun. He wears to go fishing most often but has worn it casually because of its comfort. Great buy for the price and it fits really well!

June 21, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 21, 2020

Love it - already ordered another

Given the relaxed fit of the shirt I was a bit worried due to normally liking a more standard/slim fit. Ordering a Small did the trick - the hoodie is comfy and somewhat formfitting without being too short in the arms. I love to wear this when doing yard work or going on hikes, it's extremely comfortable and I love the Spiced Coral color - t... Read Morehe thumb holes are just icing on the cake.

June 21, 2020

Great on/in the water

I've been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don't feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 21, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 21, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 21, 2020

Sunscreen Protection

The sleeves at the cuff have a thumb slot that protects my hands from sun damage without the need to wear gloves. The hood is large enough to cover my cheeks and temples from sun damage and fits easily over a ball cap. Overall very comfy.

June 20, 2020

Like a Summertime Jedi

Woah! I have full sleeve tattoos and my arms usually bake in the sun, this shirt far exceeded my expectations in keeping me cool. Paired with my Baggies this thing is my summer uniform. I dont think sun protection can get any more luxurious than this!

June 19, 2020

super comfortable

This is a great shirt for everyday wear. Sun protection and comfort are outstanding. I wear this shirt for work, sleep, and play. Patagonia hooded sun shirts are the best.

June 19, 2020

Great shirt for in the sun

Definitely relaxed fit as I'm between a large and extra large and this is plenty big. Great shirt for being in the sun hiking, boating, or biking. Well worth the money.

June 18, 2020

Drapes and hugs

Almost invisible, feels like short sleeve (but long sleeve), unconventional fit that no other garment can live up to. It stands out in spring summer fall, stored in winter. Bought a second one. A bright orange. The color is growing on me.

June 17, 2020

Perfect, perfect, Perfect

I wear these everywhere, and almost everyday. The only thing I could wish for, is more colorways. I would buy 10 more and not regret it.

June 17, 2020

Cool and comfortable and good sun protection

While I am unable to use it for fly fishing currently that is why I purchased the tropic hoodie. I have found it very comfortable as a casual wear and have used it to play tennis. Very versatile and comfortable. I have 4 different colors.

June 17, 2020

New favorite shirt

Very comfy

June 17, 2020

My second skin

Over the years Ive become fanatical about Capiline t-shirts. I wear Capiline Cool Daily t-shits literally every day and have for years now. On sunny days outdoors I previously wore the long-sleeve tee treated with permethrin for protection from both sun and bugs and the fabric is so functional and comfortable it is like a second skin. Until this ne... Read Morew hoody version came along I believed it would be impossible to improve the product any further. I couldnt have been any more wrong. The Comfort Hoody II has elevated the Capiline fabric far beyond my expectation. The hood and extended sleeves with thumb holes add even more protection exactly where its needed for a long day in the sun or on the water. I like this product so much I dont know what I will do if its ever discontinued because at this point I couldnt live without it. If you hike, camp, or fish get a few of these beauties. You will never regret it.

June 17, 2020

Hot & muggy days...

In East Texas, it gets hot and humid early....I wear these hoodys in the morning for my workouts and for working around in the yard. I've never been much for wearing a hoody before this product came out, but they are great sun protection for the above mentioned plus help keep the deer flies, horse flies, etc. off of you when the little critter... Read Mores decide they want to bite!

June 17, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 17, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 17, 2020

Colors

Love it, but there should be more color combo options in camo

June 17, 2020

Lightweight & Perfect

Ordered this shirt for the UPF factor, not knowing what to expect. Needed a lightweight, long sleeved top to be able to wear in the sun and this one is the best of all the brands we tried. Extremely lightweight, silky-soft performance material, and comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Super comfortable, I use it on bike rides and simply chilling around the house. I have already poked a couple holes in it but I know better then to use it for work! Its awesome sun protection which is why I where it for work...

I use it for bike rides, work and around the house. Its awesome at work when Im out in the direct sun all day! I will definitely grab a few more of these over time and I highly recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable, extra layer over my t- shirt

I am female and usually get a womens medium. I ordered the mens small because of all the color choices ! I take it backpacking and hiking . Great protector from the sun.

June 17, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 17, 2020

soft and comfy

It weights nothing, super soft and extremely comfortable, just ordered another one.

June 17, 2020

Great on/in the water

I've been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don't feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 17, 2020

Absolutely the Best! Patagonia Man thoroughly.

Always consistent with their craftsmanship and marketing of product need and want for any occasion.

June 8, 2020

Best Summer hoodie

Honestly, the best summer hoodie of all time. Wear it in the day. Dont get sunburnt, and is breathable and keeps you cool during the day. Come night time, if it's cool, throw it back on and it helps keep you warm. Honestly cant ask for a better product. 11/10. would get it in more colors when i have the chance.

June 4, 2020

Really Comfortable and Breathable

Don't really have any negatives, the hoody is super comfortable and I think looks pretty stylish. Definitely does its job protecting me from the sun. Fits like a glove (5'6" - 135lbs - bought an XS. Didn't shrink any when I washed it. I'm not too certain about the anti-bacterial properties, I was hoping I could wear multipl... Read Moree times without washing it, but I don't think that's the case and I don't really sweat at all.

May 29, 2020

Cool and comfy

Very cool and comfy and looks great! Keeps me protected from the sun while fly fishing and paddling.

May 26, 2020

Get two!

Cool, remarkably light weight, and a perfect companion for hours in the sun. Fit feels light and loose through the torso while providing enjoyable movement for shoulders and arms. (Picked up an XL 6'4" 220lbs) Hood is a life saver and is perfectly complemented with hand cover/thumb loops. Zippered pocket along small of the back would ... Read Morebe an awesome addition. And less branding on the shoulders for future options. PLM's please keep this in the line!!

May 18, 2020

Survived a day on the stream AND my roommate's red wine spill

I rarely leave reviews, but I am honestly so impressed by this hoodie. It's super comfy. The day after I got it, I wore it fishing for a few hours on my local stream. The weather was ~78 degrees and sunny. It kept me from getting burned, and even though I sweat a bit in it, it didn't smell at all. That night, one of my roommates spilled ... Read Morea very full glass of red wine all over me. Initially, I was worried - anticipating my new favorite hoodie having a giant wine stain on it forever... Before I even washed it though, I could hardly see any wine stain (it smelled like wine, but didn't seem to soak up the color). I took it off and hand washed it in the sink with warm water and light detergent. Hung it up to dry overnight and it's good as new. In fact, I wore it all day today. I might not take it off until someone spills wine on me again...

May 16, 2020

Favorite shirt

Awesome everyday shirt -- cool enough to wear in warm weather and keeps you protected from the sun. My wife & I both own these -- wear them hiking, biking, paddle boarding, around the house & yard.

April 20, 2020

Awesome! (remove the ad)

I think I own every color of these, back to the first version. However, I've noticed on the newer ones they've put a very large Patagonia indicator on the back. The precise reason I bought the first version, on a limb, was that fish was small enough on the back I didn't feel I was wearing an advertisement. The second version (the ... Read Moreone this review is tied to) started off even better on this aspect, only having the name Patagonia on the front chest. The material is assuredly different from v1 to this one, but loved them both. I hopped on the site to see if any new offerings had come regarding this and was pumped when I saw new options. However, I was quickly disappointed when I saw the newer v2's had an enormous display on the back. I really appreciate the quality that Patagonia offers (I'm a big believer in you get what you pay for - they back that up without a doubt). The only thing: if there's a large advertisement on the clothing itself, I pass every time. If you'd like me to be a billboard, great: pay me. All in all, I love the new color tones, just not the added aesthetic.

March 2, 2020

Safe from the sun!

Great as a sunscreen and also as a comfort layer against light wind and cool temps. Also I wear in the water a lot and it dries quickly. For me as a tall female, the men's small is ideal as it has proportionally longer sleeves with a skinnier body than the women's M or L.

February 23, 2020

Love it!

Great all around long sleeve shirt, sun protection is just an added bonus. Very comfortable, thumb holes and hoodie, with button v neck are all nice details that are totally functional.

February 6, 2020

Lives up to its name

I used this shed hunting in the spring, scouting in the summer and hunting in the fall. Super breathable, dries quickly, keeps the bugs off, and is super quiet. Highly recommend for any backpack hunter.

February 5, 2020

Incredible layer for every season

I have two Patagonia Sun Hoodies and love them both. The first generation hoody fits a bit large which I like a lot, for it stays under your harness and allows air to circulate well. The newer version fits truer to size, but this is also nice as it fits well under other layers. This is my go-to layer for trail running, climbing, and touring. I neve... Read Morer took it off during the 42-mile Teton Traverse, and I lived in it during a two-week trip to the Bugaboos. I would very highly recommend this layer. If you want a slightly roomier fit, size up.

January 29, 2020

Love this hoodie!!

Perfect hoody for whatever occasion. Great to cover up from the sun or use as a baselayer. Great fabric that does get too hot. Patagonia please make this in a Black color!

January 5, 2020

Great fit, light weight

Great fit, light weight

January 4, 2020

Best shirt ever!!

Material very soft and fits great!

January 4, 2020

Bought as a gift for

Bought as a gift for my 21 year old son and he loves it! Happy mom when you can buy a gift for your adult kid and they like it. Of course anything Patagonia he loves due to their environmentally practices.

January 2, 2020

Costa Rica Ultimate Protection

Awesome Hoody for water sports. I surfed, snorkeled and swam for days in this shirt.

December 31, 2019

Size

I ordered the hoody as a size medium looking at the “size chart” and noticed when I got the hoodie that it was too small and Should of ordered a large size.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi Jaime! We're sorry to hear this ended up being to small and that the size chart wasn't helpful. We went ahead and emailed you in case you haven't exchanged this yet and need some help. Thanks for your review.

December 31, 2019

Very Nice

Super comfy and easy to wear, fit feels good.

December 30, 2019

Favorite all-purpose shirt!

This is a shirt I could basically live in 365 days a year with the right layering, perfect for all activities, breathable, lightweight, fits well - no issues whatsoever, planning to buy more! Hood is well sized, thumbholes are included (HURRAY!) and no itchy seams for when you wear it with nothing underneath. Only suggestion / request might be to a... Read Moredd a couple darker colors to the line of offerings, a darker green, blue, or a burnt orange? :)

December 30, 2019

My son wears it constantly

My son wears it constantly

December 25, 2019

came very fast!!

came very fast!!

December 21, 2019

Boys liked this one

Bought this for my son for at the Denver Patagonia because we didn't pack the right clothing for our vacation. He liked it a lot. When we got home my older adult sons liked it so much I ordered two additional ones for them. This was a big hit with all of them 16-27 years.

December 20, 2019

comfortable and cool against the skin

I've now 3 of these and 3 of the crew style. They are fantastic as a first layer or only layer for sun protection. the thumb holes at the cuff make all the difference. It's kinda large but I like that.

December 19, 2019

Great Quality

Gift for my teenage grandson! I was very pleased with the service!

December 13, 2019

I just thought the hoodie

I just thought the hoodie would have been in a thicker material

December 10, 2019

A little thinner than I

A little thinner than I thought based on the picture - could live without the thumb holes- it’s a nice layering piece.

December 5, 2019

Please add 3/4 Zip

Please, please add a three-quarter zip to this awesome fishing shirt!

November 24, 2019

Love this shirt!

It's nice to have sun protection coverage and a light weight fabric all in one. Please keep making these!

November 22, 2019

Very comfortable

Very comfortable

November 22, 2019

Perfect fishing shirt

This has replaced all my other fishing shirts. The only change I’d make is to ad a tiny tab for attaching hemostats. But it’s a tiny gripe and you can obviously just clamp them to the shirt. Guided i the shirt for over 40 days this summer.

November 22, 2019

Love is all you need

Oh and this tropic comfort hoody! So soft and comforting! I wear this thing all the time and in every condition. Great for hot days outside if you don’t like sunscreen! Great for cold days and layering up.

November 20, 2019

Super Comfy

My grand daughter loves her Ms Tropic Comfort II Hoody. She says its soft and warm and is extremely found of the color.

November 19, 2019

Tropic comfort hoody II

This is my third Patagonia hoody, and second Comfort II and they are the closest to the original Patagonia hoody, the ole grey one which I found most comfortable... the size is accurate and fit nice and loose but fitted just the same ... I have hoodies from other major manufacturers and the Patagonia are the most comfortable in heat and sun

November 19, 2019

Soft and Right

Fabric has a nice touch, not slippery but soft. Fit consistent with other Patagonia XL. Look forward to new colors to get another.

November 14, 2019

Comfort and UV protection for an active, pale dude.

Had a buddy use this on a High Sierras trip. Normally I'm having to reapply sunscreen non stop, as is my climbing partner, but he wasn't on this trip. The functionality of having this kind of sun protection became vary apparent as we moved out of tree cover into some of the high-altitude passes on the way to the minarets. So I bought one,... Read More and man is this thing great. Lightweight, breathable, incredibly comfortable, and made for activity. Bought one for a friend after they showed their admiration for it on his birthday. Highly recommend.

November 12, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Fits great, very breathable, definitely will buy another. Great Patagonia product.

November 11, 2019

New favorite shirt

Perfect weight, so soft, great fit

November 8, 2019

Great shirt but unfortunatly had some minor issues

I love the shirt. It fits true to size. Sometimes Patagonia stuff runs small on me and I have to size up. I bought both and XXL and the XL just to make sure and the XL fit perfectly. I was honestly a little surprised but it fits like the XL shirts that I am used to. Only downside was that the button came off after washing it once and the seem popp... Read Moreed on one of the sleeves. I had only worn it once or twice and wasn't doing anything too vigorous so I probably just got one that wasn't sewn great. Otherwise, love the shirt.

November 7, 2019

Perfect for any activity

Perfect for any activity

November 6, 2019

Great layer

I use these in the shoulder seasons as a nice layer. It's soft and stretchy and doesn't bunch up. The hood is light enough to feel as though it's not there and in your sight line while providing a little shelter.

November 5, 2019

Light weight and comfy

Light weight and comfy

November 5, 2019

Best fishing shirt

Great functionality, comfortable, keeps you cool in hot weather, keeps you warm in chilly weather

November 3, 2019

Perfect thin hoodie!

Perfect thin hoodie!

October 29, 2019

Great shirt for all season(not

Great shirt for all season(not just a fishing shirt). My next skin choice for spring skiing

October 29, 2019

Perfect Fishing Pullover for a Hot Day

Awesome pullover. The material and weight is perfect for a hot day out fishing.

October 28, 2019

The Patagonia site does not

The Patagonia site does not make clear that the shirt I ordered has a big Patagonia logo on the back. I already own four of these shirts so didn’t check, and it got thrown straight in the wash. It’s no longer new and returnable I assume. I do not wear anyone’s logo, even yours, so what do I do with this shirt? These are great shirts for fishing the... Read More tropics, but not for me, not with the logo..

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear your feedback. You are still more than welcome to return the shirt [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) if you'd like.

October 26, 2019

Best shirt ever! BUT, sizing keeps changing...

I've been wearing this shirt for many years. I wear them almost daily for work. It would be nice if Patagonia would keep the sizing consistent so I don't have to guess what size to order from year to year. I just received an order of shirts and they were much smaller than previous ones. I will be returning them and ordering a larger size.... Read More

October 24, 2019

Sporty and comfortable

It’s a great “athleisure” piece. Has performed and kept me cool during workouts and served as a great hoody for theme park days. Dries fast and feels great.

October 24, 2019

very comfy. Great to layer

very comfy. Great to layer under a flannel or something to block the sun on sunny fall days.

October 18, 2019

It used to be better

LOVE the original Tropic Comfort hoody. An adventure ready super versatile shirt that covers all my outdoor needs. Perhaps a bit too loose fitting. The new Tropic Comfort II fits differently, especially in having much shorter sleeves. The original version fit me much better (I am 6 ft 175 LBS). I do like the new camo color option, and I hope Patago... Read Morenia makes more stealthy clothing color options.

October 15, 2019

Good sunscreen piece

Nice piece, mainly summer use as a sunblock. Too thin to be thought of as an insulating layer. As is stated, it is loose fitting.

October 15, 2019

I’m 5’11” and 175lbs. Ordered

I’m 5’11” and 175lbs. Ordered a size M based on comments/reviews. I found the sleeves are 2 inches too short, Bunches up under the arms which is not comfortable and when wearing the hood, the back rides up exposing lower back. I have a typical thin, athletic build and I fit all off the rack clothing. The overall fit/cut of this shirt is very poor, ... Read Moremaking the shirt not wearable. I would not purchase this again and do not see myself ever being able to wear this product.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Hi Scott, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're truly sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with sizing. Your satisfaction is always guarantee so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 11, 2019

Great sun protection. Pull hood up at a game.

Design- I don't like the way the hood lays when not pulled over your head.

October 8, 2019

Great Material, Bad Fit

I am 6'2", 205 lbs, athletic. The large fits quite loosely on me in the midsection, but is cut much too short. Please make a Large Tall, or just size your capilene shirts longer, since this seems to be a common complaint asking the tall and lean. This material is the BEST I have found for being out in the sun for extended periods of time.... Read More Keeps me cool and protected from the sun. But the length is a deal breaker. I would not but again unless a longer length was available.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2019

Sorry about the disappointing fit, Patrick! We really appreciate that feedback, and it's helpful to other tall, lean customers as well as for our product designers to make improvements. Please note that your satisfaction is [guaranteed](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) an item.

October 3, 2019

Love this!

This shirt is so soft and comfortable! Love the feel and light weight of it as well as the coverage/sun protection. You're going to want more than one!

October 1, 2019

I found this product to

I found this product to be another fine example of comfort and quality indicative of Patagonia’s objective of excellence

September 27, 2019

Love this!

This shirt is great for any activity. I have two, I’d love to get a third if it came with the Fitz Roy smallmouth bass design. Bass guys need some love too. 👍🏻

September 27, 2019

Awesome product

This is my uniform for work. I guide flyfishing for Bonefish here in Hawaii over 130 days a year, so use these hoodies nonstop.. they also perform nonstop...

September 27, 2019

Sweet

Great fit and look for all day sun protection here in Florida

September 25, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody

Just used this for a September steelhead trip on the Rogue river in Oregon. Temps reached the upper 80's by late afternoon and this shirt was perfect. This is my first sun hoody and i dont know i have lived with one one for this long. I love how the hood fits over my hat bill and provides ample head sun coverage.

September 25, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort

When your in the sun and you need to escape it... this is the way to go. I have two of them.

September 21, 2019

I only regret I didn’t get the SHARK

Smooth as silk breaks breeze and sun give your red neck a break with this modified summer scarf!?

September 17, 2019

Got this for my 93 y. o. Mom

She loves it. Even sleeps in it.

September 15, 2019

This shirt is great for

This shirt is great for a day out on the water, and is still comfortable when wet. The hood has solid coverage, but is shaped to fit well with a hat to maximize sun coverage.

September 12, 2019

Good to go

Great design. Well cut. Well sized. The color was a little surprising. I expected closer to a faded red from the pics, but it leans a little pink/orange in real life. I hope it fades a little, but it is a great design. I may order another color. The pic online has a big fish image on back. I was thrilled to find out that the one I received had no s... Read Moreuch image.

September 11, 2019

Amazing

This sun hoody may have been my favorite piece of new gear in 2019. I wore this in temps up to "real feel" 110 degrees while guiding this summer and felt as though I stayed cooler due to the sun never reaching my skin. Another bonus was never needing to reapply sunscreen while on long multi-pitch routes which saved time and frustrating fu... Read Morembling at the belays. When the sun comes out, flip up the hoody and boom - done.

September 6, 2019

Keepin’ me cool

Just picked up this hoodie per a friend’s recommendation. It definitely keeps me cooler in our intense sun relative to going shirtless. I also enjoy the luxury of not living in a coat of sunscreen throughout the day. I’m 5’8”, 145lbs, and in between the S and XS... but went with the former, as the sleeves were too short for me. I’ll be buying a bac... Read Morekup soon!

September 6, 2019

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II provides great sun protection, it's lightweight and the material is super comfortable. This shirt is great for being outside doing work in the sun and it's also nice to casually wear from day to day while providing protection from the UV rays. I purchased a medium and the size was perfect. I'm 5'7&#x2... Read More7;' and I weigh 170lbs. Its not too tight and it's not baggy they fit is just right.

September 4, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Excellent product and fits perfectly. A must-have for summer floats and hikes and spring ski touring. I fell in love with mine and am already ordering another one in a different color

September 3, 2019

This is a great sun hoodie for fishing.

The comfort and fit of this sun hoodie is top-notch. I like the button at the neck and the contoured hood that isn't too loose. Its great for pulling up over a ball cap. I also love the camo pattern on this one.

September 2, 2019

Just What You'd Expect

I have a couple crewneck baselayers (think they're daily tees) in longsleeve, and this is just basically those plus a hood, monkey thumbs and a button at the collar. Which is to say all you can ask for. My go-to for summer wear as the fit is a little looser than the baselayers, but it breathes great, keeps dry and keeps me cool.

August 30, 2019

Super light

This top is super light weight and can be worn even when it hot for some sun protection or when it’s that in between weather when even a light jacket is too much but you want something on your arms.

August 29, 2019

Go-to piece for sunny bike rides, paddling etc.

I use this mostly for cycling in the sacramento sun and its great for staying cool and keeping the sun off. Fabric is so light but feels like it will last and i and breathes well. Much improved from the sun hoodie I have from 5 yrs ago, which was also great. Thumb holes keep sun off my habds and i can fit the hood over my helmet for short period wh... Read Moreen to help keep sun off mu face and neck. When I ride home from work during 100+ degree days i soak myself with a hose and its an evaporative cooler in the dry heat we have here. Im 5-11, 180 L was a good fit. Would be cool if they ever made a cycling focused one with dayglow colors,a deep zipper in the font and some jersey pockets in the back, but I love this one. It my go-to piece for summer bike rides.

August 28, 2019

Hoodie

Flimsy fabric and bad clingy fit.

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

We are so sorry to hear this hoodie did not work for you. Please know that if the item you purchased is not performing the way you'd like, you are more than welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us.

August 27, 2019

I own a few of these now but can never have enough

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II is just that, super comfortable! I love that I no longer need to worry about sunscreen when out and about in the mountains as I can be fully covered by this garment without getting overheated!

August 24, 2019

Remarkable

Have worn hoodies for years. Very partial to the old designs. This is a great addition to the line. Very light and packable.Cool in sun and with t-shirt underneath works well as it grows cool. Do not really miss the front pocket after a week or so of wear. This design in this cloth is a keeper.

August 22, 2019

Fit and fabric keeps getting better

I have an older tropic comfort and bought a couple new ones because the old one is one of my favorite pieces to climb, paddle, and fish with in the summer. The new fabric is lighter and more breathable, and the fit seems just a bit less boxy while retaining its loose and airy nature. Patagonia knocked it out of the park with this one.

August 20, 2019

Great sun protection shirt

Super lightweight fabric doesn't hold heat well yet still is nice in the evening when it starts to get cool. Does a great job at covering as much as possible to shield from sun for a day on the water or at the beach.

August 19, 2019

Great shirt. Not a fan

Great shirt. Not a fan of the bottom collar. Better if it was a higher collar like some surf rash guards.

August 18, 2019

Great Shirt

I was looking for a light-weight breathable long sleeve hoodie and this delivered! I love the fit, I love the feel, and I love the look of it. Not all shirts fit me great so I was nervous ordering it without trying on but this thing is everything I was looking for. It’s a really well made product.

August 16, 2019

Just plain good

As a fishing outfitter, I spend many days in the sun. Not only does this hoodie protect you from the sun, but it keep you cool as well. It is also nice enough to wear out to a casual dinner. I absolutely love mine!

August 16, 2019

Beat the Heat!

Love the cool feel of the material. I appreciate the thumbholes, neck gaiter, and hood for full protection from the sun.

August 16, 2019

Very comfortable, gets filthy fast

Performs quite well. Lightweight, comfortable, stretchy, hardly know it's on. However, the light colors seem to attract dirt like a 2 yr old. Cleans up OK so far, but I can't wear it without getting the stain remover out every time. Darker colors are needed if you aren't on a guided trip.

August 15, 2019

Great purchase!

This hoody is super comfortable! I love that I can add an extra layer for my run and i don't have to worry about overheating. It does a great job handling sweat and dries pretty quickly. Definitely recommend it!

August 15, 2019

new favorite shirt

I can't stop wearing this shirt, great for so many activities and in a wide range of temperatures, especially for protection from the sun. I must have!

August 15, 2019

Great warm weather shirt

Love this shirt. As light and breathable as it gets with full sun protection with the thumb loops and hood. Any breeze goes right through it to keep you cool and it dries quickly. Seems fairly durable thus far after a couple months of use, including some backpacking trips.

August 15, 2019

Great shirt!

I bought my older son 2 of the spf 50 shirts cause he is in the sun much of the day, coaching soccer and stuff. He loved them so much I bought him 3 more.

August 15, 2019

Love it!

I bought this hoody on my recent trip to Hawaii, I needed something that was easy to travel on the plane with and comfortable to sleep on a red eye flight with. I also wanted it to be wearable in heat and humidity and to give me some sun protection. This hoody tackled all of those with flying colors. I look forward to buying more!

August 15, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

I bought this mainly for UV protection during outdoor activities. I love the way it fits and the fitting charts were accurate. The hoody fits well under a hat or over baseball style hat and the sleeves are also long enough for protection on the back of my hands. I'm impressed with the quality and construction and I expect this hoody will last ... Read Morea long time.

August 15, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Great product- very good in the tropic heat. Does not stain like the other tropical shirts that Patagonia has.

August 15, 2019

Great hoody. Inconsistent sizing.

I ordered this because my old one was wearing thin. Same size and model, but it was much tighter around the shoulders. Still a great product, just wish sizing stayed consistent between different production lots.

August 15, 2019

M Tropic Comfort Hoody

Really like the wieght and cut of the hoody. only thing I would change is to make the sleeves also as roomy. I tend to roll or push my long sleeve shirts up. This shirts sleees are a little tight.

August 15, 2019

Great Sun Protection

I bought the Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II and have been loving it! It is great for sunny days to keep my from having to apply sunscreen. I like how thin the fabric is because it helps me stay cool on a hot and sunny day.

August 15, 2019

great fabric - terrible fit

I'm 6' 195lbs. Bought a large. Arms and shoulders fit great … but you could put three of me in the body. I've been wearing a Patagonia large for 20 years … but this is the 3rd Patagonia shirt in 2 years I sent back because of this problem

August 15, 2019

Excellent beach shirt

Everyone who goes to the beach regularly needs this shirt. Once you feel you've had too much sun, it's the perfect garment to throw on. It's light, comfortable, and the hood can be deployed to prevent burns on your neck and head. I don't see the need for the button on the neck, but other than that the shirt is perfect.

August 14, 2019

Great sub protection and wicking performance

I've been using this for about a month and a half over about 150 hiked miles in the White Mountains in temps ranging from 40-80 F, generally with a decently high humidity. It's really light and breathes pretty well in those conditions. The sun protection is also amazing. With a ball cap to protect my face from the summer sun, I don't... Read More even bother wearing sunscreen and never get burnt. I'm 5'7", 150 lbs, and the small fits really nicely. It doesn't feel tight anywhere and isn't ridiculously long like a lot of other similar base layer quarter zips (Smartwool) and sun hoodies (Bight Gear) I've tried on. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the button and loop around the neck to cinch the hoodie. I feel like the difference in sun protection is pretty minimal. The Bight Gear sun hoodie design doesn't have the button and instead has the hoodie sides overlap over the neck. This is probably slightly preferable, but, again, the fit of that hoodie just didn't work for me. I'll probably cut off the button and loop at some point.

August 14, 2019

UPF 50 shirt

Love the shirt. Light and comfortable on the hottest days even with long sleeves. I hate putting on sunscreen and with a UPF50 rating I don’t have to!

August 12, 2019

I love this hoody. It

I love this hoody. It is perfect for a variety of activities including fly fishing, rafting, hiking, and skiing (on warm days).

August 12, 2019

Great shirt, runs a bit small

solid shirt, very comfortable. Runs a bit small

August 12, 2019

MS sun shirt

Awesome sun shirt! Kept me protected at LOTO. Thanks Patagonia!

August 12, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II is fantastic

I bought this hoody in two colors. They have been perfect for sun protection at the beach and while kayaking and paddle boarding. Additionally, I wore the hoody on a recent mountain bike trip in Moab for sun protection. It kept me cool and kept my fair skin from burning. The odor protection also held up amazingly well despite hours of riding in the... Read More hot sun.

August 12, 2019

Works great

Very comfortable sun protection

August 12, 2019

Cool in delaware

At Rehoboth beach in Delaware this weekend. Relentless sun and mid 80’s- I’m staying cool and comfortable all day long in my Patagonia hoody. I have two colors of these tropic warm wear sun protection hoodies and feel they are well work it, comfortable and do exactly as advertised.

August 12, 2019

Perfect, do everything shirt

Sun protection is imperative, especially for a bald guy! The Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II is the most verstaile mountain companion! It layers well and provides that extra bit of warmth or can keep you cool in intense sunlight!

August 12, 2019

Awesome piece of outerwear

I wear this on all my summer back country adventures. It fits well, keeps the sun off and stays cool in the heat. I have taken it on many multi day river trips this summer and I wear it night and day. It has become the only shirt I wear on these trips.

August 11, 2019

Sizing and Considerations

This product at first glance will not grab you as a vital piece of kit, but that is far from the truth. I am currently living in the south pacific and am of Italian and Scotch decent. While I do handle the sun well, the effect of the powerful UV rays in the 10 parallel are real and my skin in less then 20 min can suffer redness and burning. I cam... Read Moree across what has become a daily go to top almost everyday. The hood with our without a hat is nothing short of vital and the long sleeves with thumb holes keep the sun off my forearms that really need protection. I combine this shirt with a ball cap or a bush hat and I am fully protected from the sun while on the water or my motor bike. The oder control is very effective and I found that hand washing it in warm water with no soap and letting it dry on a line or hanger each evening to keep it fresh and smelling normal, thus reducing the amount of formal soaped washing. It dries extremely fast and this effect helps to keep you cool and dry. I great feature when hit by a squall leaving you drenched. My only negative feedback is the arms are bit short and narrow. I find it difficult to get my arms through the sleeves and when I have the thumb holes through my thumbs its a bit restrictive.

August 11, 2019

Excellent light weight coverage.

Very pleased with this lightweight hoodie. I stay cooler than in a cotton t-shirt, and the sun protection is great. Very nice, soft fabric. The hood has a little loop/button to snug it up, but I think the button should be higher up, or add another loop/button to make the hood snug enough to hold my baseball cap in place when underway on a center co... Read Morensole, etc. Satisfied with my purchase and I would buy it again.

August 11, 2019

Perfect for beach

I just spent a week at the beach with my family and pretty much rotated between the three I own the entire time. It’s light enough that it keeps you cool in the sunlight, takes away the worry of having to reapply sunscreen to your arms and upper body, and dries super quickly if you go swimming in it. Will probably buy one more just for good measure... Read More.

August 11, 2019

long sleeve hoody.

Super comfy. wore it 5 days in a row!

August 11, 2019

Love the Shirt!

The shirt is very well made and its great for Florida summers. I wish there were more shirts with the fish design on the back.

August 11, 2019

Far from the Tropics, a perfect alpine summer shirt

This has been my go to sun shirt this summer in the Northern Rockies. Climbing, trail running, hiking, water sports, or apres all of the previous activities. Smooth hand light material. Men's medium fits trim but not tight on me (5'9" 165lbs).

August 10, 2019

Fits great, super soft and

Fits great, super soft and comfortable. I used it for mountain biking and it worked great.

August 10, 2019

happy customer

This product meets or exceeds all expectations I had prior to purchase. I will probably purchase a second one.

August 10, 2019

Awesome!

Great weight, material, and style.

August 10, 2019

Still good but less stretchy

This is my second sun hoody. It's great to have, but I preferred the original model that had a bit more elastic.

August 10, 2019

cool as a dinner mint

I used the Tropic Comfort Hoody II on a 900 mile bike trip through Idaho. I love it. The fabric is light and really does have a cooling effect. The hood is useful for keeping bugs out (at camp) and for sun protection on my neck and head. I have also used it for hiking and love the full arm coverage. The only thing that is sort of weird is that the ... Read Morethumb holes are not really aligned with a person's thumb, so when I used them it caused the sleeve to twist a bit.

August 10, 2019

Favorite summer clothing purchase in years

For work I spend a lot of time in a boat on a lake during the heat of the summer. This shirt provides protection from the sun, fits extremely well including the hoody, is light and comfortable, and most importantly, makes the 95 degree heat of the day cool and comfortable after I dip it in the lake and put it back on.

August 10, 2019

Hoody

The fit is perfect and material soft. It is a comfortable garment.

August 10, 2019

Hoody

Very pleased overall. I was worried about the fit since I dislike tight fitting clothes. The,hoody was just right. Even in this hot summer weather it has felt good after paddling and biking.

August 10, 2019

Sun proof!

Love this shirt. Light, but apparently very durable material is cool and I've yet to feel the pain of the sun on my pale vampire skin, even skiing in full sun or hiking in the Alpine.

August 10, 2019

Pool ninja

Much hoody / sun shirt. Wore it in the pool with my kids and they thought that I looked ridiculous. I can’t argue that I didn’t, but I avoided sun screen and a burn. Also not bad as a light hoody for chill afternoons (assuming it’s not soaked; btw, it dries fast).

August 10, 2019

So comfy!

Love it! I wear it on the beach when I don’t feel like putting on sunscreen or bring exposed to too much UV. It super comfy and wear it while working in coffee shops or traveling on airplanes. I thought the thumb holes would be an issue. But I never notice them Highly recommend!

August 10, 2019

More awesome than expected

I added this to an order on a whim like something I didn’t really need but thought It might might be fun to have. Turns out it’s actually amazing. I wear it frequently around the house or out when I’m riding my bike to keep the sun off; Even some light yard work. Surprisingly useful piece of clothing.

August 10, 2019

Pulls back

Material is great, and fit is great when the hood is up. Shirt has a tendency to pull back and put pressure on my neck if the hood is down.

August 10, 2019

Comfort Hoody is a travel staple

I was looking for a long sleeve light. weight hoody for being in the sun, but this is also the best thing ever for wearing on a plane.

August 10, 2019

Great Sun Shirt

I bought three of these, one for each day of the Newport Folk Festival. I was out in the sun and 80+ degree heat with these hoodies over a tank top and shorts, and could not have been more comfortable. I only wore sunblock the first day and walked away with no sunburn from the whole weekend. The sleeves covered my arms and hands perfectly, and I wo... Read Morere a hat under the hood which propped it out so it not only covered my ears, but protected my cheeks and nose from the sun as well. The ultra-thin fabric let me enjoy every cooling sea breeze that rolled through as if the shirt wasn’t even there. I have also worn these swimming, hiking, and fishing, and stayed comfortable throughout. The material dries faster than my bathing suit! There is a warning on the tag that wearing the shirt while it’s wet may impact its UPF, but I haven’t been burned yet. I would definitely recommend this shirt if you love being outdoors in the summer and hate wearing sunblock (like myself).

August 10, 2019

Perfect hoody

The fit is excellent. Size medium, 6'1", 150. The material is so light yet seems quite durable and shows no sign of abuse from a summer of climbing.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for in-between weather

Keeps the sun off you while still staying cool, and at the same time keeping the breeze at bay without being too warm. The lightness of the fabric lets it comfortably move with you, and the hood is the perfect size to stretch over your ball cap after too many hours in the sun.

August 10, 2019

Great Shirt --- but

I have been buying these shirts over the last few years and this years shirt is great BUT Patagonia changed the fit. The shirt is much tighter in the chest and in general smaller per size than the previous seasons. If the designers are going to not be consistent in sizing on an item from year to year then they need to put a warning in the descripti... Read Moreon.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback, Giff. Please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back for a refund and try on a different size if you'd like.

August 10, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

I've found this hoody to be very practical and comfortable for sun protection in moderate and extremely hot weather.

August 10, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Material is light and very comfortable. Very easy to pack and dries quickly.

August 10, 2019

Comfortable and Cool

I feel protected when I go out on the town in the heat and sun. It keeps me cool as well. Highly recommended.

August 10, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody ll

Another great piece of my outdoor equipment, guarding against sun & bugs while guiding fishing, loose comfortable

August 10, 2019

Better than advertised

I got this hoody after feeling how thin it was while a friend was wearing one at the beach. I already owned a comparable hoody from North Face, but I've found this one to be better in every way. It's way more breathable, it's thinner, it's lighter, it didn't get snags or pill up, and it offers excellent sun protection. Cann... Read Moreot recommend this enough for people who are outside in the sun and want good coverage and a piece of breathable gear -- and I'd recommend it 10/10 times over the North Face hiking hoody I have.

August 10, 2019

Hoodie

I like it but I have previously purchased 2 with spandex and I love them. Please start making these products with a polyester/spandex blend. This new one is 100% polyester. Thank you!!!

August 10, 2019

Sunshade hoodies

I’m allergic to sunscreen and these hoodies are a great alternative! I use them mostly for fishing but they are great at the beach or pool as well.

August 10, 2019

Excellent

Used on kayak fishing trip in Panama and was great on wicking, sun projection and best of all, stink control. Fabric feels great on skin.

August 10, 2019

Shady business

I’ve really enjoyed wearing the tropic hoodie 2. On a recent trip in the Sierras it was my go to shirt. Just warm enough to hike in on cool mornings but not too warm during midday. The hood is big enough to provide facial protection and is roomy so air flows around the shoulders, neck and face. If you are trying to avoid all sun a ball-cap would st... Read Moreill be helpful. If you’re not needing the hood part get a hood less version because the hood creates a bit of a hot spot when it’s not being used.

August 10, 2019

Fits and feels perfect

Sizing is perfect - light weight is super - love the hood to keep the sun out .. buying two more - thx as always for making the best products on the planet - Ryan

August 10, 2019

Comfortable in a wide range

Comfortable in a wide range of use

August 10, 2019

Wonderful sun protection

This sun hoody is really quite remarkable. Even in the blazing heat here in Florida, you're not too uncomfortable in the sun. And you don't have to slather on the sunscreen like bar-b-que sauce every time you walk out side. As someone who's had skin cancer, I 'm very aware of the sun damage caused when I go outside. This shirt i... Read Mores a no brainer for me. I'm very happy with it. Just wish I got the shirt with a pocket. Perhaps a couple of pockets like a pull over sweatshirt might have?

August 10, 2019

Great Hoody!

Very comfortable, good fit, great sun protection. Well designed and the camo pattern is excellent for stealth fishing!

August 10, 2019

My favorite summer hoody!

My favorite summer hoody!

August 10, 2019

Not great for real hot days

This is a great design with the hood being ample enough to cover entire head without pulling at the neck, and the sleeves are cozy and long enough to cover hands. BUT I was disappointed in the fabric, the ad says suited for tropics but it is still too heavy to wear over a t-shirt. I was hoping it was light weight nylon with vented underarms and wor... Read Moren like a pullover sun jacket so it doesn't need to be washed so often. Had to return -- Patagonia, PLEASE make a nylon or similar super light jacket with sleeves long enough to cover hands -- thumbholes are good.

August 2, 2019

Two and half weeks and one wash

Holy smokes - I won’t go anywhere without this now. Truly blown away. I have a sun hoody from maybe 8-10 years ago and this is SO much lighter. Very comfortable in this during hot/humid weather. I just returned from 2.5 weeks of vacation. First week at the beach, second 1.5 weeks on lake and wore as pre-post swim shirt, paddle boarding, under life... Read More jacket while kayaking, frisbee throwing, lounging, and as extra layer in cold AC restaurants. It never stunk even after light sweat in hot/humid weather and only washed it after two weeks because a load was being done. Hood was great and stayed on even at 25 mph on boat and as others mentioned scooped up breezes and allowed air to flow through shirt. Thumb holes perfect without tugging at my shoulders. I’m muscular 180, 5’8” and medium was spot on.

August 2, 2019

From Baja to the Beartooth Mountains - this is the only shirt you need

I had two of these shirts along on a trip to Baja with the family, and wore them basically anytime I was out on the beach flyfishing and needed to stay covered up due to the brutal sun. Cloudless days, temps in the 90°s and little wind made for some seriously hot and sunburn worthy outings. I would wear the hoody, sungloves, a facemask, hat, sungl... Read Moreasses and pull the hood up, and did not get burned at all. Being pretty fair skinned, I wanted to stay protected. No issue there. Allowed me to chase fish from the beach for several hours each day, with no issues or sunburn. Even though it is long sleeve/hooded, the material is so darn lightweight and comfy you don't even notice it. Fast forward a few weeks, I took the same hoody on a multi-day hike in the Beartooth Mountains of Montana. Daytime temps ranged from 70° down to 55°, and I wore it all day in sun, light rain, etc. and it worked great over the 28 miles we hiked. It kept me cool and covered up during bright days. No chafing or issues being worn under a 40 lb. backpack either. These things really have replaced any of my longsleeve, button up "technical" shirts, and are lighter too. Get a few, and you are set for the summer, regardless of the activity.

July 30, 2019

Just Wow... Amazing shirt hoodie

I'm usually not one to leave reviews... but this product is the first product where I am simply amazed. I know that it seems like an oxymoron to where a long layer when one is trying to stay cool.... but this was light and moisture wicking. I was out in an area with lots of bugs, and this thing kept them off with minimal bug spray that I didn&... Read More#x27;t have to put on my skin, and worked well enough I felt I could wear it in the heat. (I was only bitten on the hands that were not covered by this layer). I'm planning on buying another in a different color and have no problems giving this a recommendation.

July 30, 2019

I'm buying a box of these....

I really enjoyed this shirt. I bought one for myself and the finance prior to our vacation. We both stayed in these shirts for four days strait and the shirts were perfect. Fast drying (we were in and out of the water everyday); the areas not covered by the shirt (the fingers on my hands) were the only areas sun burnt; soft and comfortable; the col... Read Moreors (mako blue and rain fern wash) were eye pleasing; the hood and thumb holes worked perfectly for keeping the fabric between us and the blazing AZ sun; sizing was perfect (true to fit with being a slight tad larger). I will be buying more of these.

July 29, 2019

Too Short

This hoodie is good, and has the potential to be great. The material is very comfortable. The "Feather Grey" color has a subtle, flattering texture. I wish the torso and sleeves were longer. Hopefully they will change those things in the next version.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2019

Thanks for the feedback here on fit. This is very helpful for our designers to know what items are working for people. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that hoody, please feel free to do so. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need it.

July 20, 2019

Awesome hoodie!

As a fly-fishing guide I spend a lot of time on the water rowing a boat, this hoodie provides awesome sun coverage while not inhibiting range of motion while rowing or casting, unlike the others I sized up from typically being between Large and XL, I went with XL mostly for sleave length. For reference I'm 6'1" 190 Lbs. So happy with... Read More it I bought a second.

July 10, 2019

Super comfortable coverage

I am prone to sunburn, and I don't particularly like to slather on sunscreen. This hoody provides excellent coverage for just about everything from the waist up, except the face. The thumb loops keep the sleeves in place if you want them there, while also allowing the option to push the sleeves up, if you're so inclined. The hood covers t... Read Morehe neck, ears, and scalp. The fabric is very comfortable against the skin, and it dries very fast. It's a very different fit from a base layer, like a Capilene shirt. It's a lot looser, but I assume that's intentional and I like it that way.

July 10, 2019

New Favorite Fishing/Beach Shirt

Flat out think this shirt is the best thing that I have gotten from Patagonia in a long time. I have taken it striper fishing on Cape Cod, whale watching off Monterrey Bay, and changed a flat tire in the bug infested woods of the Adirondack Mountains of NY. Shirt provides great protection from the sun, kept the bugs from biting, and is just flat ou... Read Moret comfortable to wear. Love the fit, at 6'2" with broad shoulders, the XXL fits like a XXL should. Thumb hole coverage over the back of your hand is super and has kept the black flies from biting with minimal use of bug spray when fishing late into the evening. Highly recommend.

July 7, 2019

Great but a little different than the original

I have had what I now know is a previous version of the Tropic Comfort Hoody II (Size Large, I'm 5'11" 195lbs), which I faithfully used for many years and absolutely love. This material claims it's the same but the older feels more like breathable cotton and this one more like the under-armor spandex stuff, which is nice and str... Read Moreetchy, but seems less breathable. The cut is the same in the chest and and the length but the arms are definitely more snug and form fitting, so much so that I was considering returning it for an XL but didn't want it baggier in the other areas, so I'm trying to stretch it out. My intended use is mountaineering and general sun protection in casual and beach environments, this seems like it may be a good use for surfing or being in the water. We'll see.

June 28, 2019

Comfortable sun protection and casual shirt

I'm very happy with this shirt once I honed in on the size. This is relaxed fit and I guess they mean it. I normally wear a medium in most Patagonia shirts, but medium in this one fit me like a tent. I wear a small and now own a couple. I originally bought it for sun protection while fishing, but am finding I like to wear it for other activiti... Read Morees and casually. Very comfortable.

June 27, 2019

Perfect for a fair female hiker

I ordered both the men's and women's versions online and the men's version was so much better. And less expensive! The women's version has a weird zippered pocket that would be directly under my backpack's hip belt, and the hood wasn't as good. I highly highly recommend this. Paired with a ball cap, it's perfectio... Read Moren. For the ladies out there - I'm 5'8, 125lbs, and ordered a size XS. It's the ideal amount of roomy on me. The sleeves are a good length too - with my thumbs in the hole, they don't interfere with me anything and my hands are protected from the sun up to about 1/2 way between my main knuckles and my finger knuckles.

June 23, 2019

Good, but not great. I really want to like it, but..

I really want to like this tropical hoody. I love the weight and feel of the fabric. But I find the fit a little funky. I find the sleeves extremely long. The body of the shirt is baggy, yet tight in the arm pits. Just kind of a odd fit. The shirt is comfy and has no structure so it looks a bit sloppy. I like to wear it when fly fishing for sun pro... Read Moretection which is where it really excels. You don’t sweat wearing it in the sun and you don’t get burned.

June 18, 2019

best field shirt ever

This is my absolute favorite piece of clothing. Its is cool and light for summer sun protection, but also durable (survived barbed wire fencing) and can wear multiple days in a row sweating with out stink. Ordereing a second because the first is so great. XS fits like a women's M (a little baggy for more breeze) for those who want the less sty... Read Moreled women's version of this hoody.

June 15, 2019

Not good against mosquitos

I'm 5'11 175 lbs and I thought a medium looked too big. I bought a small and it fits well. I haven't had any complaints about it until I wore it to a friends farm without an undershirt, and the mosquitos gave me some pretty good bites through this hoodie. If I just wore it in the city, or where there aren't a lot of mosquitos, t... Read Morehen it would get 5 stars.

June 15, 2019

Best beach and pool wear but beware

Used this hoody at beach in Turks in spring. Great loose feel and protection from high sun intensity. I used it as a splash guard, actually swam with it on. I made one critical error, i used the hood to protect face which didn't happen. Hoody does not replace a wide brim hat. Material is so thin it can fit under a wide brimmed hat, which I... Read More did but only after getting face fried. But consider that my error not products. Protection on the torso was impressive. And the light weight feel makes me recommend this to friends.

June 8, 2019

Sizing different

Ive purchased multiple of these shirts over the last 2 years and these last two that I ordered I noticed it fit different and isn't as stretchy as my older ones. I thought about returning both and going a size up but then they might be too baggy. My older ones still fit great I just wish these also did.

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2019

Hi there! I'm sorry to hear the fit isn't working out for the new shirt. I will contact you directly with return help, just in case you need it.

May 28, 2019

A life Saver

I live in Texas and I work in the film industry, so that means a lot of tacos, and even more, constant, unrelenting days working outside in direct sun. The tropic hoody is extremely breathable and I'm noticeably cooler when I wear it. It blocks the sun but still allows that all important BBQ smell delivering breeze to blow through, meaning it&... Read More#x27;s not only providing shade but still allowing your body to evaporatively cool. The tropic hoody isn't all work and no play though! For exposed texas rock climbing I toss this thing on. Bonus! The hood fits over a helmet!

May 18, 2019

favorite piece of hot weather clothing

I've used this hoody a few times now in Florida and Arizona out in midday heat and strong sun. It's kept me sunburn free and amazingly cool. When the hood's up it acts like an air scoop funneling any breeze in and cooling you further. Amazing. (I don't wear a shirt under it). It doesn't need a lot a washing and seems to sta... Read Morey fresh despite hours recreating outdoors (birdwatching and fishing). I LOVE this item. It's going with me every time I go somewhere sunny and hot.

May 17, 2019

M's Tropic Comfort Hoody II -Perfect for Tropics

These are absolutely the best tropical fishing shirts I own. I have others that are good but I will wear these over all the others . The thumb holes a perfect, they are super cool and dry quick. I was taking absolute baths getting to spots and these things were dry within the hour. I spent a week in the tropical sun and I did not get sunburned once... Read More. Plus a cap fits nicely underneath. I am here buying more now and just thought I would drop this note to you folks on the fence.

May 9, 2019

Great sun shirt

I wore this sun shirt every day while in the Caribbean for a week recently. It offered great protection and was less clammy than other sun shirts I own. I am looking forward to having it this summer at home in Colorado where I am always getting scorched by the sun.

May 8, 2019

Good beach hoodie

Definitely oversized. Lightweight with kids and protection. Dries quickly. Hope it remains durable because it is such a light fabric

May 8, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

This hoody fits great and keeps the sun off my body. Looks good and washes easily, dries quickly.

May 8, 2019

Tropic hoodie II

These are my favorite shirts. Super light material, breathable, excellent warm weather long sleeves. Stylish and have gotten many compliments on all the colors.

May 8, 2019

cool and comfortable

M's Tropic Comfort Hoody II, has a great fit and feel, and it keeps the sun off while keeping you cool. It didn't make sense to me to wear a hood and long sleeves in the heat, but this really works.

May 8, 2019

Excellent shipping and customer service.

I recently purchased some baggies shorts and the tropic sun hoodie (can’t remember the name). I absolutely love the hoodie. While I wish I had gotten a size smaller in the shorts (and the 5 in. Inseam and not the 7s) I still kept them and they are very comfortable. As a military member, the pro deal is such an incredible opportunity to support a co... Read Morempany that supports me. Patagonia has my patronage, and will have it for years to come.

May 8, 2019

love these

I wear these for sun protection whether running errants, hiking, gardening and more. Even wear them with a skirt. Love the hook feature for the thumb! They are light, pleasant on the skin, breathable, so I don't miss not wearing short sleeves. Even when it gets hot and humid they are pleasant to wear, almost feel like they are cooling. Highly ... Read Morerecommend these. Hope next year there will be a solid navy blue or a warm red and they'll continue to have some without art on them. I would have bought one of the greens, but the art wasn't what I wanted.

May 8, 2019

Go to top when you need to hide from the sun

Live in Hawaii and spend a majority of the week on the water, perfect for the times when sunscreen just isn't enough.

May 8, 2019

Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

As a marine scientist, I work on boats for a living, am in the sun all day, and wear these shirts 5 days/wk. They're extremely comfortable, offer great UV protection, and dry quickly--I highly recommend them! Despite being a women, I am a much bigger fan of the men's version of this product. The looser fit really improves the shirt'... Read Mores breathability in hot weather. My only critique is that the hood cannot be tightened and does not stay on very well in windy conditions. It's minor, but I would prefer a drawstring design vs. the button.

May 8, 2019

Super soft and lightweight

I’m envisioning this hoodie being my go to for a ton of different situations, from cold to hot. It fits a little snugger than most Patagonia stuff so if you like roomy, go up a size. The drawstring hood will be great to keep bugs out and the hood on in windy conditions. Ton of room in the hood for a ponytail!

May 8, 2019

Tropical Hoody

I love my Tropical Hoody. It keeps me cool in the heat and warm in the cool weather. It is also very light in weight. Excellent shirt.

May 8, 2019

Versatile & Comfortable

Useful top that cam be worn alone or as a layer, light and yet protective.

May 8, 2019

Excellent

Love this hoodie, wear it all the time already

May 8, 2019

Impressed

My experience so far with the Tropic Comfort II Hoodie has been stellar. It’s very comfortable.

May 8, 2019

Sweet!

Feels nice, looks good, protects from the sun…What’s not to love!

May 8, 2019

Great Do Everything Hoody

I have been gardening, mountain biking, hiking and desk working in this hoody. Its also coming to Hawaii with me for more hiking and beach time. The actual hood is large enough to protect you, and looks great over at hat. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to burn up.

April 15, 2019

Great for hiking!

Recently grabbed one and wore it on a nice 30 mile hike this Spring. Feels great, lightweight, wicks sweat away nicely, and no odor after multiple days of use on the trail! Another great, functional piece (and it takes up virtually no space in my pack!)

April 11, 2019

This is an excellent shirt for any outdoor pursuits

Sun shirts are the way to go. Sunscreen sucks to put on when you are on day 2+ of anything without a shower. I feel like I'm just rubbing the dirt in to my skin. This shirt with the hoodie up over a hat and glasses is the way to go! The only sunscreen application would be on the lower face. Great for summer high elevation climbing in the Sier... Read Moreras.

April 5, 2019

Very Lightweight - Favorite

After having several pre-cancerous spot removed from me, this is a favorite while in the sun. Running errands or in Cabo.

March 24, 2019

No artwork on the back for the Feather Grey

Everything is up to par with all over Patagonia products except for the fact that the Grey hoodie does not come with any artwork on the back. The material feels amazing and sizing is spot on!

March 22, 2019

Not just for fishing

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II is the perfect sun protection garmet and you will find it essential to your summer outdoor pursuits. Since the first generation hoody came out, I now own three and today's purchase makes number four. They are light weight, provide modest wind protection, and work well on hot days over a synthetic t-shirt on backpack... Read Moreing trips and summer glacier travel on mountaineering trips in the Cascades. Sun protection runs from mid-wrist to full head coverage when coupled with a ball cap. They are designed to be loose fitting and allow a full range of motion. I am 5' 11" and 198 lbs and a large is loose but not overly baggy (for this purchase I am trying a medium for something more tailored). This hoody should be tossed into every summer gear bag where sun protection is required. Don't hesitated to add one to your kit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches