Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 377 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

4.8/5
True To Size
May 13, 2021

The perfect discription

Great top for many activities: hiking in a variety of weather (alone, t-shirt, long sleeve shirt, jacket,rain gear, ) indoors, sun ( protection) . This shirt is perfect!

May 13, 2021

Great value

I normally buy cheaper clothes but decided to spring for this item and I'm happy I did. It's not expensive or over priced for how nice it is, but I'm just a scrappy thrift shop scavenger. It's super comfortable, very well constructed and designed and it's perfect for living on the coast and being at the beach almost daily. ... Read MoreThe UPF keeps my cursed ginger complexion safe and I look and feel badass wearing and get told that often while wearing it. I wear it so much that I just hope I don't wear it out anytime soon.

May 12, 2021

Awesome

Nice piece of gear. Ive got a couple Patagonia r/o sun shirts, but this is my new favorite. Its the same light weight fabric of the Capilene cool shirts so its soft, comfortable, and quick drying. I teach sailing so Im out in the sun a lot. This is a great way keep cool and stay protected.

May 12, 2021

Sun Protection!

Been loving this thing on the trails, when I need some UV protection on belay, and in the backyard doing yard work. Don't get burnt, keeps mosquitoes away and the moisture wicking helps a ton. I think an improvement would be that it is a tad bit more breathable?

May 12, 2021

Perfect beachwear

The perfect sun protection for the beach. Comfortable and great fit. Highly recommend

May 11, 2021

Nice sun protection

I live in the Santa Monica Mountains and the sun can really get your skin if you aren't careful. When I'm running sunblock tends to get in my eyes and isn't very useful. I sweat a lot. The hood helps with protecting my neck and the thumb holes really give it a great mall ninja feel.

May 11, 2021

Fit has changed

I have several of the older versions of these shirts. I ordered 2 new ones as my old ones are getting gnarly. In the older version I was a large. The new version is cut much more true to size. I had to return the large for an extra large. Love the new material. These are my favorite fishing shirts. Just know if youve ordered them in the past that y... Read Moreou may need to go up a size.

May 11, 2021

Great for the beach!

Great sun protection, very lightweight, great fit but I am slender. Super comfortable in and out of the water.

May 10, 2021

Precisely what I was looking for!

This is precisely what I was looking for. Great cover from the sun and feels weightless while wearing. I even feel a little cooler in direct sun when there is a little breeze than when Im not wearing it. Thanks again for delivering Patagonia.

May 10, 2021

Just what I was looking for

Nice fabric not sweaty or stinky

May 9, 2021

Light, good fit

Very light and comfortable. Should be good for hiking in the warmer months.

May 9, 2021

Sun protector and light weight.

I bought this for myself when they first came out and it has helped protect my arms from the sun while at beach after surfing, playing golf or walking. I liked that it was light weight, cool and the thumb hole to cover my hands. When visiting a friend in Cal. I bought him and a crew for his wife as house guest gifts. They both were very impressed. ... Read MoreI have a few crews from a few years ago, wish you still made the crews with the thumb hole. Great idea making this with and without the hoody. Cheers.

May 8, 2021

Functional & Comfy

Great protection against the sun. Super light & comfortable. Perfect casual top for the summer (and most of the year).

May 8, 2021

Comfortable and fits well

Overall very comfortable. Good fit

May 6, 2021

Nice material

Breathable nice material that provides sun protection. I own more than one.

May 5, 2021

Very Comfortable

Hands down Patagonia is my Favorite! Superb Quality... This Hoodie is Amazing. It exactly does what it says. I would definitely buy more of these if Patagonia make slight design changes. 1. I am using Patagonias Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie and i feel it is slightly more softer inside. (Maybe i am wrong) 2. I dont like to use button near my neck.... Read More It is little uncomfortable and awkward for me. (This is purely personal preference though) 3. Is it possible to use Capilene material for thumb holes.? (I like the soft material of the liner inside Nine Trails Shorts). Also, Maybe foldable pullover/sleeve for the rest of the palm. (This can give complete sun protection as well as warmth when needed) 4. It will be fantastic to have Darker Grey Color hoodie.

May 5, 2021

My Favorite Shirt

These are my favorite shirts on the planet, if I could wear them exclusively, I would! Lightweight and breathable, I cant wear them on hot days or cold, on the River or hanging around the house.

May 5, 2021

Super comfortable

I really love this sun hoody, I think it's my favorite of the three different types that patagonia offers. The thumb holes are great for keeping the sun off your wrists, and the hoody works well keeping the sun off your face. My only two very slight comments would be the sleeves when rolled up do pinch my elbow joints slightly, and the hood bu... Read Moretton is difficult to do with one hand. Otherwise super comfortable capilene fabric, great fabric weight; I've worn this in 80F sunny hike and felt relatively cool, and really enjoyed the sun off my neck.

May 4, 2021

Great sun protection.

I recently moved to a new house that is on the water in the Northern Neck of Virginia and I knew I was going to be spending a lot of time outside in the sun and heat. I have fair skin and wear sunscreen but I was looking for the next level of protection. This definitely fits the bill. I went with the medium and it fits very nicely. Not too loose an... Read Mored not too tight. I am 6 and 185 pounds and I usually order a large but sometimes I find the large size in Patagonia is a bit too large. This shirt has great stretch as well. I usually wear it with the hood up over a Patagonia trucker hat and the sun protection is great. I now have 3 of these and plan to wear them pretty much every day outside. I have worn them for hikes, walks, working around the property, in my boat and on my paddle board. Love this shirt and highly recommend it.

May 4, 2021

Perfect shirt for water and sun

This shirt is absolutely perfect for wearing to the beach, surfing, on the boat. Dries quick. Super comfortable. I'm 6'2" and 180 LBs and M fits really well, not too baggy.

May 4, 2021

Comfortable sun protection

This is a great fitting, super comfortable sun shirt. Great piece for bright summer days beaching, fishing or whatever.

May 2, 2021

A perfect hoodie

This hoodie is perfect for the Spring weather. I bought this hoodie in order to stay protected from the sun. It isn't too warm to wear, even if it is 80 degrees and sunny. The fit is perfect, and I've already ordered another one. Highly recommended for those looking to keep the rays off while staying cool.

May 1, 2021

Perfect

Amazing. Perfect for Florida summer. Handles heat well.

April 30, 2021

Good for Sun

I bought this for added sun protection. It does an excellent job and remains cool through out the day. The hood works well to protect my neck and it doesn't get in the way or pull when not in use. I ended up buying another. Good for long casual bike rides, runs, hikes, or kayak trips.

April 30, 2021

Great for chilly or hot days

This hoody is great because it provides full sleeve, hooded warmth, and wind protection on chilly mornings on the river and then seamlessly transitions to sun protection and cooling by the afternoon. Also, I am 6'1" and glad I went with the Medium as it fits true to size.

April 30, 2021

Go To Fishing Shirt

Great fit and lightweight. Holds up great through weeks of tough hiking and fishing. Easy to wash up too!

April 29, 2021

Dealing with Florida Heat

Im from Northen Michigan and this is my go to Tarpon shirt to deal with what I call Africa Hot weather- anything over 85 degrees!

April 29, 2021

Cut the sun without melting.

This cuts the sun brilliantly and, since it packs to near nothing, has become a staple in my fly fishing kit.

April 28, 2021

one of my favorites

Super comfortable, lightweight, sun protection. I appreciate using this as sun protection instead of chemicals. Stays cool in the heat and hood fits over a ball cap. Great for casual wear as well as when working out/ mountain biking/ hiking. One of my favorite articles of clothing!

April 26, 2021

No sunburn!

I have had at least one of these shirts for the past 6 years. They are excellent. Sizing is pretty true when the garment is dry, but some may think it runs a little big. After 6 years, my first shirt started to show wear around sewing finish on the hood. EZ fix with home repair. The fabric feels great on the skin wet/dry during the hottest of days.... Read More I like them so much I've purchased 2 more over the past few years.

April 26, 2021

Perfect for hot weather hikes

Very comfortable and feels cooling when sweating in hot weather. Great color and fits just right. I am 6, 178 lbs. large sizes in this were too loose fitting.

April 25, 2021

Keeps the sun off

This is my daily wear for work in the High Utah Desert. Cant have enough of these in the wardrobe

April 24, 2021

Great for sun

Nice and light and great for sun protection.

April 24, 2021

Perfect

Absolutely dig these shirts. The fit exactly as described, theyre comfy, and stylish. Wouldnt change a thing.

April 24, 2021

Smaller than older version

I purchased 4 of the older versions of this shirt a few years ago and bought 2 more for the upcoming fishing season. The new version is cut quite a bit smaller. I had to return them for the next size up. The new material is a bit thinner too. Not sure why they changed a shirt that was killer to start with. The new material does feel nice on the ski... Read Moren. Just know if youve bought these in the past that theyre not the same.

April 23, 2021

If it aint broke....

Dont fix it. The first iteration of the tropic comfort was better, in my humble opinion. I love mine. I live in it. Do everything in it. Hiking, fishing, climbing, lounging, whatever. The new one... meh. I actually retuned it. (Though I might buy a bigger size) Changes include: Less comfy (completely subjective) Less roomy Thinner Shorter The... Read More sunshade is closer to the older tropic comfort so that works I guess.

April 23, 2021

Excellent sun shirt

Well made, breathable, super light weight and stylish. Great product. Will purchase again.

April 22, 2021

Super comfortable!

Great for a day on the lake or the beach without burning up. Very comfortable and great fit!

April 20, 2021

Better than expected

Overall solid shirt. I wore this for 4 days of intense/sweaty activity and I felt dry by the end of each day. Thumb loops fit under my gloves which is a bonus. The hood is huge, fits over a climbing helmet if needed. The button is nice for preventing neckburn from reflected sun off snow/water.

April 19, 2021

Comfy and blocks the sun.

So far so good! Fits well and is really soft and comfortable. Haven't had it very long. But a full day of work on a sunny day and a few hours in the kayak on the lake and haven't got any sort of sun burn so it seems to be working well.

April 17, 2021

Very comfy

This product is new to me in 2021. Purchased for upcoming warm weather for hiking/photographing/beach walking in warm buggy weather so not yet tried in those conditions. Like the feel/monkey paws/hood.

April 16, 2021

Awesome

This is an awesome shirt its only miss is that it needs the large front pocket.

April 16, 2021

Perfect sun sport shirt

Keeps me warm during the slight ocean / beach breeze run. Thumb holes and neck/hood button are nice bonus options. If you spend a lot of time in the sun several shirts like this are important to own.

April 15, 2021

Great shirt

I think all fishermen should have this shirt in their closet, just a great all around shirt for any weather condition.

April 14, 2021

Runs a little large.

Wonderful quality as expected by Patagonia. Soft and breathable. My only issue is that it runs a bit large. Im 5 11 225 ordered a LX, as I do with all my shirts from Patagonia. But this one fit a bit different.

April 14, 2021

The color fades in the sun

I'm a long-time Patagonia customer. I buy these products for the quality. Lately I am seeing that colors of some products are fading in the sun. This hoody is the second of this color, third overall, that I have purchased. When I placed the new one next to the old one I noticed the old one has faded quite a bit.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

Hi Gordon, thank you for reaching out and we are sorry to hear that the color faded in the sun. We understand that can be a bummer, especially when you're loving the vibrancy of a color. If you decide you'd like to send any of those items back under our [warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), we welcome you to do so.

April 13, 2021

Fit as expected

6'2" 165 lbs. broad chested. Fits as expected. Slightly loose for comfort. I wear the same size in the Tee shirt version. And I like the color and how airy it feels.

April 13, 2021

Great For Days In The Sun

Super soft and comfortable hoodie. I use it while fishing to minimize sun exposure. I went a size up in the event I wanted to layer it over a tshirt. Im 511 and 200lbs. The large for ok in the body, but was right in the arms so I exchanged it for a XL. Unless you like skinny jeans I suggest going a size up. Love it, and will be adding more to my wa... Read Morerdrobe for future fishing and beach ventures.

April 13, 2021

Works for a land surveyor

Works. Keeps my ears out of the sun. Lining around the thumb holes is less durable than my ideal but its working

April 13, 2021

Great down in Xcalax, Mexico

Awesome product I used while down in Mexico on a fly fishing trip. It was exactly what I was looking for in terms of providing protection from the sun and staying breathable in a tropical climate.

April 12, 2021

this shirt is ill

i picked up this shirt because i was needing something with long sleeves and some uv protection while i fly fish. even the hood is a nice touch. put over my trucker hat so my bald head doesn't get burned as well. i had no clue i was going to fall in love this shirt. i know own 4. they are amazing. i live in mine. they are soft and light. even ... Read Moreon hot days you really can't tell its a long sleeve. seriously every one should own a shirt like this.

April 12, 2021

Super comfy sun protection

The sun hoodies are great for protection from UV but also make a great super light base layer. Im pretty particular about the texture of fabric against my skin and I am very happy w the feel of these.

April 10, 2021

Perfect for the Sun!!

I am snowboard instructor and on these warm Spring days there is nothing better to work in. I can wear the shirt down to mid 20s and feel still comfortable when Im 70s in sun. I cant wait to flyfish this summer wearing this layer!

April 9, 2021

Best shirt I have ever worn

This is hands down the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned. I own 4 of them in various colors. Super soft and cooling on the skin. The thumbholes are perfect. The hood fits great. I wear this running, hiking, around town, mountain biking, everything. Please Patagonia Fam, please make a short sleeve version of this with this same exact fabric. ... Read MoreI would buy a ton of them! <3

April 9, 2021

New Material is Great

I bought this to replace an old Tropic Comfort Hoody thats ragged and stained. The new material is much thinner with a better skin feel. The fit is slimmer than my old one too... maybe could have gone with a large. 4 stars because the sleeves are too short for me to use the thumb loops. 6ft 3inch 170lb

April 8, 2021

Travel Shirt

Runs a tad small but is great. Use it to hike and travel.

April 8, 2021

Perfect sun protection

Incredibly lightweight, fast drying, super comfortable.

April 8, 2021

Ideal!

I had this last summer and wore it almost all the time that is until I left it at a hostile. I use it and now the Sunshade Technical Hoody near daily, alternating the two for walks, jogs and the occasional yoga session. The last one I had was just about my favorite item to grab daily and new I had to replace it when I screwed up and misplaced it ... Read Morewhile away.

April 7, 2021

Perfect for the beach

Great for keeping the sun off at the beach. Im tall and thin and the M is perfect - sleeves are long enough and the fit is relaxed.

April 7, 2021

Best sun shirt out there!

I have 4 of these now in various colors. After getting yelled at by my dermatologist, I live in these in the summer time. I usually get them in men&#x27;s because I am broader in the shoulders then most women. I wear them everywhere, kayaking, hiking, just in general. They are the lightest weight sun shirt I&#x27;ve found so far. They feel like you... Read Morer wearing water.

April 3, 2021

Great Outdoor Shirt

I did not try this shirt on prior to purchasing this shirt online. When it arrived I was extremely pleased with the quality, feel and look. This is an amazing shirt for summer fly fishing, hiking and for simple casual wear. I highly recommend this shirt for outdoor wear.

April 2, 2021

Light, comfortable and skin-friendly.

It's a very comfortable hoodie. It costs $10 less than the other one. The main difference is that it has a button to keep the hat from blowing off in windy weather! This dress is light, comfortable and great!

April 2, 2021

Perfect for outdoor UV protection

Light weight, protects neck, ears, & arms from sunburn. Performs great in summer heat

March 31, 2021

Super Comfortable

I have worn this for about fifty miles of hiking and trail running and it always keeps me nice and cool. The relaxed fit makes it feel very comfortable, even when there is a heavy pack on your shoulders. Highly recommend for anyone who is backpacking in a hot or sunny climate; the relaxed fit combined with the sun protection of the button up hood a... Read Morend hand coverage make for an ultra-comfortable and dependable layer to keep the sun at bay.

March 30, 2021

Little snug

Great fishing shirt- runs a touch on smaller size

March 29, 2021

Nice and light

Very light and cool. I cant wait to get this this out in a the sun on a wall.

March 28, 2021

A Do-All Favorite

I have four Tropic Comfort hoodies which I wear for everyday casual, hiking, backpacking, dirtbagging, etc. Thus far they have been very durable, they are cool in the heat (SPF), breathe very well even in the Arizona sun, dry quickly, and dont stink with repeated use. I use the thumb holes quite often and the hood is generous enough to wear over a ... Read Moreball cap or under a large brimmed sun hat. Very comfortable to wear. Love these shirts.

March 27, 2021

Bigger than expected

6'0" 188lbs guy. medium still a bit large even with hiking gear on. color is lighter than picture shows.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Hey Andrew! So sorry the color wasn't what you expected and it was to big for you. We're more than happy to help you with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We're also always happy to offer garment measurements before you purchase, just give us a call at 800-638-6464 or chat in so we can offer you more assistance.

March 26, 2021

Love

So comfortable. I look forward to getting to wear it! I need another one!

March 25, 2021

Lightweight

Fits great. Lightweight, breathable. Perfect for fishing or sitting on the beach. Love it!

March 23, 2021

Comfort Hoodie

This is a fantastic piece to add to an outdoor wardrobe. Great for on the river fly fishing or just lounging at the beach. Super comfortable and actually feels like a second skin. Highly recommend.

March 21, 2021

Incredible multifunctional piece

I specifically bought this piece as a base layer for downhill skiing this spring. Incredible piece. Crazy Comfortable. Moisture wicking. Perfect base layer and will be incredible on the river this summer.

March 4, 2021

A literal lifesaver

Surgery removed my melanoma, but not my love of the outdoors, and this shirt has allowed me to live the life I want while taking prudent precautions to avoid too much UV exposure. Looks great with a good cut, smooth and airy fabric. I&#x27;ve worn it running a marathon in the summer, hiking, climbing, as a baselayer in the winter, and in causal and... Read More professional settings. Durability is surprisingly good for the thinness of the material. Wish it came in more color options (without fish decals). Highly recommend to anyone.

February 27, 2021

Relaxed in sun

Very relaxed and comfortable fit. Perfect for that sun all day wuth high heat.

December 14, 2020

A great layer -- I just bought a second color

We moved from the desert of Arizona up into its high desert and cooler temps. This is a perfect layer, over a T-shirt and under a vest or jacket, as it can be downright cold (for this desert rat) in the mornings and T-shirt weather by 2p. It is simple and quick to pull on and off, and on again, and coming indoors from the chill it hasn&#x27;t felt ... Read Moreso warm I want to take it off. Ball it up, no wrinkles. Doesn't shrink. It lives up to what we have come to expect from Patagonia -- a superior piece of gear in every way. It's become one of my favorite shirts, and I'm giving myself a second for Christmas, a different color, as my buddies remind me this one looks pink (I prefer Man-fuchsia or salmon).

December 7, 2020

Quick drying!

I saw a couple of people on the Colorado Trail wearing these so I decided to see if they&#x27;re worth it. Here are a couple of reasons why I love it so much! First, the material used is I believe the same as the Capilene daily shirts so it&#x27;s light and quick drying while still having UV protection. Second, the hood does a great job of staying ... Read Moreon my head and there's a toggle on the bottom of the hood to provide even more sun protection on your neck. Finally, the thumb loops are a game changer because the cuff of the sleeve comes to my knuckles which means I don't have to put on sunscreen throughout the day. Overall, another fantastic product from Patagonia and it is now my go to hiking shirt.

November 7, 2020

Perfect hoody for running or relaxing

Super comfortable. Maybe a little long but definitely something Im using a lot.

November 7, 2020

Love it

Bought this for winter southern Utah hiking and fishing. It works great for both. Material is very wicking and as far as I can tell is about the same material as used in the capilene daily. Not going to keep you warm in cold temps but not going to burn you up in temps above 70. It basically is a capilene hoody but with thumb holes and a hood that o... Read Moreffers a bit more coverage.

November 1, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

I first saw the tropical hoody being used by the guides on Rainier Mountain during a Denali prep course. Shortly afterwards I purchased two. I loved them so much that I have purchased a total of eight, not including ones that I have purchased for family members. The hoodies are great for hikes and warm to hot weathers. I really like the variety o... Read Moref blue hoodies that have come out. Excellent product and I highly recommend buying at least one and see if you like it. I can assure you that you will buy more. Good luck and I hope you enjoy the tropical hoodie as much as I do.

October 28, 2020

Excellent hoody but want pockets!

Love this garment for its lightweight and sun protection. Every time I where it though, I wish I had some hand pockets!

October 21, 2020

Favorite Patagonia Product

If I had to pick only one thing from Patagonias product line, there would be no hesitation. I use these hoodies for everything. Worn alone in summer, layered over in winter. Worn inside for soft loungewear, worn outside as activewear. This is hands down the most versatile piece of clothing I own, and I hope they never go away. I am already a bit no... Read Morestalgic, because these have recently been redesigned, and I miss the old ones a bit. They were thicker and more luxurious, though I understand that isnt the point of their design; for the function of ultra thin sun protection, the new design is an improvement. Still, Im sad the old solid silver-colored ones can no longer be purchased, and when mine dies, it will be a very sad day. So aside from resurrecting the dead, the one thing I would improve is more (non-graphic) color options. Bring the silver color back! Anyways, I cannot recommend this hoodie enough. You will fall in love with it.

September 15, 2020

Excellent sun protection even in the heat.

I burn easily, and sunscreen alone doesnt always help. This helps me double up on sun protection without overheating.

September 9, 2020

Good

I use this for fishing.

September 9, 2020

I have lived in this all summer

With COVID I been wearing this whenever I go outside. Cool and excellent sun protection. The hood is comfortable and provides excellent sun protection when worn with a cap. I now have two as does my wife.

September 7, 2020

What Sun?

I love this shirt. I always wear it while kayaking in the Summer heat. I have been on the open water, 90-95*, and have remained well protected from the light and heat. It breathes well with an airy, loose fit. The hood is perfect over a hat, and has kept the mosquitoes and mayflies from getting to me. The UPF is effective, and even when remaining i... Read Moren the direct sunlight, the fabric doesn't hold the heat. The humidity of Summer in NC is what I take on with this hoody.

September 4, 2020

Light and Flowy

This is a nice piece I picked up because I don&#x27;t like putting loads of sun screen on my bod every 3 hrs. I especially don&#x27;t like it when I&#x27;m climbing a big route and I have to stop to apply and get my hands all greasy. I&#x27;m 6&#x27;6&quot; and 215 lbs (climber bod), bought the XL and it&#x27;s very comfortable (loose) and flowy wi... Read Morethout being baggy and it also feels reasonably durable. Stays decent smelling for about 3 days, and the red color is really quite pink, not quite as salmon as I was hoping - I would suggest more muted, desaturated colors. Would buy again.

September 3, 2020

Perfect long sleeves for summer

I loved this as I can avoid sun exposure in the summer without overheating. I bought the men's because of the button at the neck and the looser fit. I normally wear a women's small, sometimes medium. Mens XS was perfect.

September 2, 2020

Jack of all trades

These sunshirts are my go to for essentially any outdoor activity. The combination of extremely lightweight soft fabric along with the large hood and excellent sun protection is incredible. The large hood fits loosely yet when paired with a helmet or hat stays on when using the button even in 40 mph headwinds on a bike. It is extremely comfortable ... Read Moreand lightweight, I actually prefer to wear this on a scorching day instead of a t-shirt. I also use it for work as forest surveyor in the PNW where Im constantly thrashing through thickets of salmon berry and deep brush. After a few months of abuse it has come through with only a few minor cuts and wear around the cuffs. The hood is also excellent at keeping hemlock needles and other forest debris from getting down my shirt. Plus the billowy shirt and big hood makes you look and feel like a jedi which can be a nice confidence boost while climbing.

September 2, 2020

Perfect!!!

Absolutely perfect fit, great weight, keeps you cool in the sun and warm if its a little Windy. Purchasing other colors because its a perfect piece of clothing.

September 2, 2020

Awesome

Really soft comfortable

September 1, 2020

Great, super comfortable!

I wear these shirts while fishing in the mountains of North Carolina. Very comfortable, great sun protection. Even on the warmest, most humid days I stay cool and sweat free. The blue Camo looks great with my navy Patagonia baggies. Solid product.

September 1, 2020

Super lightweight summertime shirt.

I originally bought this shirt so I wouldn't fry while kayaking. I bought a men's because I have pretty broad shoulders. I fell in love with it so much that I bought another one. These are fantastic summertime shirts, they are super light and they fell like you're wearing water.

September 1, 2020

Sunny weather necessity

I really cannot go anywhere without this sun shirt weather its fishing, hiking, or day at the lake, this shirt is the perfect lightweight sun protection. I love the new blue camo style too!

August 24, 2020

Perfect for fishing in the sun.

Very light weight material but built with quality. Highly recommend.

August 20, 2020

River Trip

I just spent 4 days on a River Trip in Utah. Relentless sun and 100+ degree temps. This shirt kept me cool (I swam in it as well) and protected from the sun! I would 1000% recommend to friends and family!

August 19, 2020

Perfect weight

I love this hoody. It is perfect for a days fishing/rafting on the Colorado, and laying around after a day at the lake. I love the thumb holes and button on the neck that gives that extra protection or secures it on a windy afternoon pushing downstream. Surprisingly warm when it needs to be but cool enough to wear over a t-shirt as sun protection.

August 11, 2020

Super-Dope!

I&#x27;m an avid outdoorsman with a rabid hatred for sunscreen. But, I understand the importance of blocking the sun. This shirt is remarkably lightweight, breathable and comfortable. The hood and thumb holes are well designed and absolutely functional! I have dozens of sun shirts, but this one beats them all in comfort and functionality. PLEASE M... Read MoreAKE SOME MUTED EARTH TONES! Dope shirt, Patagonia.

August 2, 2020

Well worth it!

These are worth every penny! Incredibly comfortable and perfect for being on the water. The neck button and thumb slits are ideal for keeping your skin protected from the sun in high winds, whether it be on a boat, kayak, beach, or kiteboarding. Make more colors!!!

July 29, 2020

Must have

I work in the Grand Canyon and recreate in Northern Arizona and these sun hoodies are the only reason I can do that. I own 5-6 of these but the most recent one I bought the sizing has changed. I used to be able to fit in a M but even when I ordered a large size of the newer design its still too small so the next one I get will have to be an XL. The... Read More older style had such a big hood that Id be able to pull it over the front bill of my baseball cap and get complete coverage. This is the only reason I dont get burned on the river. Ive put these shirts through the ringer bushwhacking to get to remote areas and I cant believe how well they hold up. Most of mine do have a few holes (really bad bush whacking) the holes dont get bigger and havent gotten burned through any of them yet! Ive tried lots of different sun hoodies and these by far are the best. I really hope that the design team will go back to the bigger hood allowing those of us with very fair skin to avoid burning. Otherwise these are a must have for any desert rat.

July 28, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Although I&#x27;m avid sunscreen user, camping in the high Sierra&#x27;s this summer stressed the importance of a physical sun block. This hoody is light, flexible and minimal, just what you want went scrambling up a mountain or trail. I&#x27;ve always struggle with finding the right size with Patagonia clothing and often can&#x27;t: I&#x27;m 5&#... Read Morex27;9", 165 pounds, fit, with a broad athletic chest: 40". Despite others' reviews I decided to take a gamble and go with the small and glad I did. The only place I could use a tiny bit more room is in the back of the armpit area while raising my arms however the fabric generously stretches when needed. Looking forward to the fabric prints that they come out with next.

July 24, 2020

Great shirt

Ive worn mine 3-4 times now and am very happy with it. Its nice on hot sunny days as well and days on the cooler side. Fits nice and the stretchy fabric is great when youre active in the shirt. Want to get more but wish they had some more colors like yellow.

July 21, 2020

Most versatile and comfortable hiking top ever!

I have used this shirt to hike 1400+ miles on the Pacific Crest Trail, wearing it every single day - it is awesome - it has kept me warm in the snow, cool in the heat, kept the bugs off me and kept odours to a minimum. The hood is amazing for sun shade, warmth adder and again for keeping bugs off. The shirt is still absolutely functional after 1400... Read More miles and could no doubt finish the entire trail of 2650 miles - I am however planning to get a new one just so its a bit sharper. If Im doubt - buy it - Trail Name 007 from the PCT .

July 21, 2020

Best cooling shirt ever

I have two of the first version of this shirt, and two of this second version. The second version is even better than the first, which I swear by as the best golf shirt I own. It&#x27;s been in the mid 90s here lately and this shirt is the only way I can make it through a full round. It has serious cooling capacity where below 74 degrees, I need to... Read More wear a sweater vest with this shirt, or I get too much of a chill when the wind blows. The sun protection is also amazing. I haven't gotten any sort of burn while wearing it. You will never regret owning this shirt when using in the right conditions. I just wish Patagonia would make more of a golf ready version of this shirt with more of a turtle neck... or, produce a summer gaiter out of the same materials. And yes, I've used it for fishing as well, where it works great, but that's kinda beside the point behind real function of this shirt and material. Also, the second version does not fray around the edge of the sleeves like the first version has.

July 20, 2020

Keeps my pale ginger skin safe

These are my go-to shirts. I use them for ski touring in the late spring/summer, fishing, running, hiking, biking, and just wandering around. Can't say enough good things about these shirts. As a ginger in Co., who is less than religious with the sunscreen, these shirts are a game-changer for me. I wear these daily in the summer.

July 19, 2020

My new go to summer gear

My wife had gotten one of the crews and fell in love with it. When we ordered her a second, I decided to try one. I was skeptical of the hood, but now that I have had it for a couple of weeks I am sold! Washington DC is in the midst of a heat wave and I wear the hoody when ever I go outside, usually with a cap. The hood keeps the sun off my neck an... Read Mored seems to keep my head cooler. If there is any breeze the shirt cools me off immediately. The thumb loops keep the backs of my hands covered and are very comfortable. Comfortable loose without getting in my way. Excellent product that I recommend.

July 13, 2020

Awesome Shirt!

Super comfortable, very similar feel to the capilene cool daily in that it feels like youre not wearing anything. Living in south Florida I really enjoy the hood and being able to get some sun protection very easily.

July 13, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I&#x27;ve got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

July 13, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 13, 2020

SPF Protection For Outdoor Work

Great for all day outdoor work. Love the hood.

July 13, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it&#x27;s worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I&#x27;d say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 13, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 13, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 13, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 13, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 13, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 13, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 13, 2020

A Great Go-To for Hot, Sunny Days

I bought this to protect my pale skin on hot, sunny days. I know it is a &quot;Tropic&quot; hoody, but I feel that it is better suited for hot, dry climates where just a little separation from the sun will make you more comfortable. The material is so light and breathable, I even enjoy wearing it when it is 95 degrees out. The thumb holes are a gre... Read Moreat feature, but be careful because the material covering your palms will get dirty pretty quick.

July 13, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product, but I wish the gender price difference didn't exist.

It's so unfortunate that, as with many products, the women's version of this is more expensive. I still recommend this product, but I wish I could get a more fitted version for the same price.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2020

Hello Catherine, thanks for your review. The reason why the women's is a bit more pricey than the men's is because it has two features that the men's does not; an adjustable hood and a zippered pocket. The men's does not have these features which makes it a bit cheaper.

July 13, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 13, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 13, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 13, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 13, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 12, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I&#x27;ve got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2020

Hi Robbie, thanks so much for your review! We're sorry to hear that the stitching is already coming undone. If it keeps getting worse, please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

July 11, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 11, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 10, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it&#x27;s worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I&#x27;d say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 10, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 10, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 10, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 10, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 10, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 10, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 9, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 9, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 9, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 9, 2020

Excellent light weight sun protection.

I really like this hoody as it is light weight and cool, while providing 50 spf sun protection. It dies run a bit on the lager size, so you may want to go a size down if you prefer a snug fit, like a rash guard.

July 9, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 9, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 9, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 9, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 6, 2020

Great shirt for fishing and being on the water

Overall I love this shirt. My only gripe is that it seems to run a bit large so had to exchange the XL for a L. In general I have found Patagonia stuff to run a bit on the larger size.

July 5, 2020

Works Well In Heat

Wore this for 2 days hiking out in Arizona in 90F+ degree weather. I found the hoodie to be extremely useful for keeping me cool while on trail, and the long sleeve makes it so you have plenty of sun protection on trails with little to no shade. Dry&#x27;s quickly and doesn&#x27;t stink up like other sweaters I&#x27;ve worn. I would say this is the... Read More perfect base layer for any hike you go on.

June 27, 2020

Perfect for in-water sun protection

I have a few of these and they are absolutely amazing for protecting you from the sun when in the water in the tropic, which is where I live. I would recommend doing away with the buttons though. On both of mine, the buttons fell off within a few washes (I never dry them). I really don&#x27;t think they are necessary, but should either be fortified... Read More or removed in my opinion. that said i highly recommend these for wearing in the tropics to do just about anything.

June 26, 2020

Comfortable 3XL Fit

I'm so happy that Patagonia is offering its stylish clothing in my size. I love the fabric. It's light and is comfortable in all kinds of weather.

June 26, 2020

Super comfortable

I would wear this every single day of my life if I could. It's that comfortable. I ordered an XXL thinking I wanted the extra roominess. Turns out an XL Would have been just perfect. I love this top and plan to order more.

June 26, 2020

comfortable

this is my favorite product.

June 25, 2020

Great Light weight top

I'm 5'9" 180#. Love the feel - light weight and comfortable. Easy to pack. Easy to wear.

June 25, 2020

Amazing very comfortable

I bought this for my 13 year old sons birthday. He wears it all the time around the house and he says he likes the fit on the body not loose or tight. Helps a lot with heat when hes doing yard work and fishing.

June 25, 2020

Fantastic shirt

Love this shirt, great for outdoors activities in the summer. Perfect.

June 25, 2020

My favorite piece of clothing

I got this for mainly fishing and it has worked great so far. The fit is great and i love the thumb loops in the sleeves. All of this plus Patagonia's environmental policies makes this sun hoodie my favorite piece of clothing.

June 25, 2020

Keeping cool

True fit, super soft texture. Great for keeping the upper body protected from the sun when wet wading rivers in Michigan looking for trout. Keeps me protected and cooler than if I was just wearing a t-shirt. Super breathable and the thumb holes are a major plus.

June 25, 2020

Perfect sun protection!

This is the third one of these I own... the first two were used when For guiding rafts now landscaping. I own two other hooded sun shirts from two different manufacturers, these are my go to!! Light weight, room to move with great UPF protection.

June 24, 2020

Own five of them...

Love this shirt. Period. Got my first one for black fly and no-see um protection when fishing on the rivers in the Adirondacks. Got a 2nd shirt for trips to the salt for stripers to protect against sun and bugs. Ended up with 3 more, one is my &quot;dress shirt&quot; on hiking/fishing trips, one is backup in my truck if I forget to grab one when I ... Read Moreleave the house, the last one I got just because I like the blue camo. Fit is great, I'm 6'2" 215lbs, need things big in the shoulders, this meets all of those requirements. Fabric feels good against the skin no matter the weather and the thumb holes and top of hand protection is awesome. One of my favorite Patagonia products. Ever.

June 23, 2020

Nice looking and comfortable

Nice fit and light weight

June 23, 2020

AWESOME!

Get this tropic hoody! I used it for a hiking, fishing, and working.. if your gonna get it do it! Got a lot of cool compliments and looks because of it. Go for it.

June 22, 2020

Comfy Sun Hoodie

I got this hoodie for my boyfriend and he really liked it. The material is super light but not too thin and he says it keeps him warm when it's windy but doesn't make him hot in the sun. He wears to go fishing most often but has worn it casually because of its comfort. Great buy for the price and it fits really well!

June 21, 2020

Love it - already ordered another

Given the relaxed fit of the shirt I was a bit worried due to normally liking a more standard/slim fit. Ordering a Small did the trick - the hoodie is comfy and somewhat formfitting without being too short in the arms. I love to wear this when doing yard work or going on hikes, it&#x27;s extremely comfortable and I love the Spiced Coral color - t... Read Morehe thumb holes are just icing on the cake.

June 21, 2020

Great on/in the water

I&#x27;ve been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don&#x27;t feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 21, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 21, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 21, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 21, 2020

Sunscreen Protection

The sleeves at the cuff have a thumb slot that protects my hands from sun damage without the need to wear gloves. The hood is large enough to cover my cheeks and temples from sun damage and fits easily over a ball cap. Overall very comfy.

June 20, 2020

Like a Summertime Jedi

Woah! I have full sleeve tattoos and my arms usually bake in the sun, this shirt far exceeded my expectations in keeping me cool. Paired with my Baggies this thing is my summer uniform. I dont think sun protection can get any more luxurious than this!

June 19, 2020

Great shirt for in the sun

Definitely relaxed fit as I'm between a large and extra large and this is plenty big. Great shirt for being in the sun hiking, boating, or biking. Well worth the money.

June 19, 2020

super comfortable

This is a great shirt for everyday wear. Sun protection and comfort are outstanding. I wear this shirt for work, sleep, and play. Patagonia hooded sun shirts are the best.

June 18, 2020

Drapes and hugs

Almost invisible, feels like short sleeve (but long sleeve), unconventional fit that no other garment can live up to. It stands out in spring summer fall, stored in winter. Bought a second one. A bright orange. The color is growing on me.

June 17, 2020

My second skin

Over the years Ive become fanatical about Capiline t-shirts. I wear Capiline Cool Daily t-shits literally every day and have for years now. On sunny days outdoors I previously wore the long-sleeve tee treated with permethrin for protection from both sun and bugs and the fabric is so functional and comfortable it is like a second skin. Until this ne... Read Morew hoody version came along I believed it would be impossible to improve the product any further. I couldnt have been any more wrong. The Comfort Hoody II has elevated the Capiline fabric far beyond my expectation. The hood and extended sleeves with thumb holes add even more protection exactly where its needed for a long day in the sun or on the water. I like this product so much I dont know what I will do if its ever discontinued because at this point I couldnt live without it. If you hike, camp, or fish get a few of these beauties. You will never regret it.

June 17, 2020

Hot & muggy days...

In East Texas, it gets hot and humid early....I wear these hoodys in the morning for my workouts and for working around in the yard. I&#x27;ve never been much for wearing a hoody before this product came out, but they are great sun protection for the above mentioned plus help keep the deer flies, horse flies, etc. off of you when the little critter... Read Mores decide they want to bite!

June 17, 2020

Lightweight & Perfect

Ordered this shirt for the UPF factor, not knowing what to expect. Needed a lightweight, long sleeved top to be able to wear in the sun and this one is the best of all the brands we tried. Extremely lightweight, silky-soft performance material, and comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Cool and comfortable and good sun protection

While I am unable to use it for fly fishing currently that is why I purchased the tropic hoodie. I have found it very comfortable as a casual wear and have used it to play tennis. Very versatile and comfortable. I have 4 different colors.

June 17, 2020

soft and comfy

It weights nothing, super soft and extremely comfortable, just ordered another one.

June 17, 2020

Great on/in the water

I&#x27;ve been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don&#x27;t feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 17, 2020

Colors

Love it, but there should be more color combo options in camo

June 17, 2020

Perfect, perfect, Perfect

I wear these everywhere, and almost everyday. The only thing I could wish for, is more colorways. I would buy 10 more and not regret it.

June 17, 2020

Super comfortable, I use it on bike rides and simply chilling around the house. I have already poked a couple holes in it but I know better then to use it for work! Its awesome sun protection which is why I where it for work...

I use it for bike rides, work and around the house. Its awesome at work when Im out in the direct sun all day! I will definitely grab a few more of these over time and I highly recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable, extra layer over my t- shirt

I am female and usually get a womens medium. I ordered the mens small because of all the color choices ! I take it backpacking and hiking . Great protector from the sun.

June 17, 2020

Absolutely the Best! Patagonia Man thoroughly.

Always consistent with their craftsmanship and marketing of product need and want for any occasion.

June 17, 2020

New favorite shirt

Very comfy

June 17, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 17, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 8, 2020

Best Summer hoodie

Honestly, the best summer hoodie of all time. Wear it in the day. Dont get sunburnt, and is breathable and keeps you cool during the day. Come night time, if it's cool, throw it back on and it helps keep you warm. Honestly cant ask for a better product. 11/10. would get it in more colors when i have the chance.

June 4, 2020

Really Comfortable and Breathable

Don&#x27;t really have any negatives, the hoody is super comfortable and I think looks pretty stylish. Definitely does its job protecting me from the sun. Fits like a glove (5&#x27;6&quot; - 135lbs - bought an XS. Didn&#x27;t shrink any when I washed it. I&#x27;m not too certain about the anti-bacterial properties, I was hoping I could wear multipl... Read Moree times without washing it, but I don't think that's the case and I don't really sweat at all.

May 29, 2020

Cool and comfy

Very cool and comfy and looks great! Keeps me protected from the sun while fly fishing and paddling.

May 26, 2020

Get two!

Cool, remarkably light weight, and a perfect companion for hours in the sun. Fit feels light and loose through the torso while providing enjoyable movement for shoulders and arms. (Picked up an XL 6&#x27;4&quot; 220lbs) Hood is a life saver and is perfectly complemented with hand cover/thumb loops. Zippered pocket along small of the back would ... Read Morebe an awesome addition. And less branding on the shoulders for future options. PLM's please keep this in the line!!

May 18, 2020

Survived a day on the stream AND my roommate's red wine spill

I rarely leave reviews, but I am honestly so impressed by this hoodie. It&#x27;s super comfy. The day after I got it, I wore it fishing for a few hours on my local stream. The weather was ~78 degrees and sunny. It kept me from getting burned, and even though I sweat a bit in it, it didn&#x27;t smell at all. That night, one of my roommates spilled ... Read Morea very full glass of red wine all over me. Initially, I was worried - anticipating my new favorite hoodie having a giant wine stain on it forever... Before I even washed it though, I could hardly see any wine stain (it smelled like wine, but didn't seem to soak up the color). I took it off and hand washed it in the sink with warm water and light detergent. Hung it up to dry overnight and it's good as new. In fact, I wore it all day today. I might not take it off until someone spills wine on me again...

May 16, 2020

Favorite shirt

Awesome everyday shirt -- cool enough to wear in warm weather and keeps you protected from the sun. My wife & I both own these -- wear them hiking, biking, paddle boarding, around the house & yard.

April 20, 2020

Awesome! (remove the ad)

I think I own every color of these, back to the first version. However, I&#x27;ve noticed on the newer ones they&#x27;ve put a very large Patagonia indicator on the back. The precise reason I bought the first version, on a limb, was that fish was small enough on the back I didn&#x27;t feel I was wearing an advertisement. The second version (the ... Read Moreone this review is tied to) started off even better on this aspect, only having the name Patagonia on the front chest. The material is assuredly different from v1 to this one, but loved them both. I hopped on the site to see if any new offerings had come regarding this and was pumped when I saw new options. However, I was quickly disappointed when I saw the newer v2's had an enormous display on the back. I really appreciate the quality that Patagonia offers (I'm a big believer in you get what you pay for - they back that up without a doubt). The only thing: if there's a large advertisement on the clothing itself, I pass every time. If you'd like me to be a billboard, great: pay me. All in all, I love the new color tones, just not the added aesthetic.

March 2, 2020

Safe from the sun!

Great as a sunscreen and also as a comfort layer against light wind and cool temps. Also I wear in the water a lot and it dries quickly. For me as a tall female, the men's small is ideal as it has proportionally longer sleeves with a skinnier body than the women's M or L.

February 23, 2020

Love it!

Great all around long sleeve shirt, sun protection is just an added bonus. Very comfortable, thumb holes and hoodie, with button v neck are all nice details that are totally functional.

February 6, 2020

Lives up to its name

I used this shed hunting in the spring, scouting in the summer and hunting in the fall. Super breathable, dries quickly, keeps the bugs off, and is super quiet. Highly recommend for any backpack hunter.

February 5, 2020

Incredible layer for every season

I have two Patagonia Sun Hoodies and love them both. The first generation hoody fits a bit large which I like a lot, for it stays under your harness and allows air to circulate well. The newer version fits truer to size, but this is also nice as it fits well under other layers. This is my go-to layer for trail running, climbing, and touring. I neve... Read Morer took it off during the 42-mile Teton Traverse, and I lived in it during a two-week trip to the Bugaboos. I would very highly recommend this layer. If you want a slightly roomier fit, size up.

January 29, 2020

Love this hoodie!!

Perfect hoody for whatever occasion. Great to cover up from the sun or use as a baselayer. Great fabric that does get too hot. Patagonia please make this in a Black color!

January 5, 2020

Great fit, light weight

Great fit, light weight

January 4, 2020

Bought as a gift for

Bought as a gift for my 21 year old son and he loves it! Happy mom when you can buy a gift for your adult kid and they like it. Of course anything Patagonia he loves due to their environmentally practices.

January 4, 2020

Best shirt ever!!

Material very soft and fits great!

January 2, 2020

Costa Rica Ultimate Protection

Awesome Hoody for water sports. I surfed, snorkeled and swam for days in this shirt.

December 31, 2019

Size

I ordered the hoody as a size medium looking at the “size chart” and noticed when I got the hoodie that it was too small and Should of ordered a large size.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi Jaime! We're sorry to hear this ended up being to small and that the size chart wasn't helpful. We went ahead and emailed you in case you haven't exchanged this yet and need some help. Thanks for your review.

December 31, 2019

Very Nice

Super comfy and easy to wear, fit feels good.

December 30, 2019

Favorite all-purpose shirt!

This is a shirt I could basically live in 365 days a year with the right layering, perfect for all activities, breathable, lightweight, fits well - no issues whatsoever, planning to buy more! Hood is well sized, thumbholes are included (HURRAY!) and no itchy seams for when you wear it with nothing underneath. Only suggestion / request might be to a... Read Moredd a couple darker colors to the line of offerings, a darker green, blue, or a burnt orange? :)

December 30, 2019

My son wears it constantly

My son wears it constantly

December 25, 2019

came very fast!!

came very fast!!

December 21, 2019

Boys liked this one

Bought this for my son for at the Denver Patagonia because we didn't pack the right clothing for our vacation. He liked it a lot. When we got home my older adult sons liked it so much I ordered two additional ones for them. This was a big hit with all of them 16-27 years.

December 20, 2019

comfortable and cool against the skin

I've now 3 of these and 3 of the crew style. They are fantastic as a first layer or only layer for sun protection. the thumb holes at the cuff make all the difference. It's kinda large but I like that.

December 19, 2019

Great Quality

Gift for my teenage grandson! I was very pleased with the service!

December 13, 2019

I just thought the hoodie

I just thought the hoodie would have been in a thicker material

December 10, 2019

A little thinner than I

A little thinner than I thought based on the picture - could live without the thumb holes- it’s a nice layering piece.

December 5, 2019

Please add 3/4 Zip

Please, please add a three-quarter zip to this awesome fishing shirt!

November 24, 2019

Love this shirt!

It's nice to have sun protection coverage and a light weight fabric all in one. Please keep making these!

November 22, 2019

Perfect fishing shirt

This has replaced all my other fishing shirts. The only change I’d make is to ad a tiny tab for attaching hemostats. But it’s a tiny gripe and you can obviously just clamp them to the shirt. Guided i the shirt for over 40 days this summer.

November 22, 2019

Love is all you need

Oh and this tropic comfort hoody! So soft and comforting! I wear this thing all the time and in every condition. Great for hot days outside if you don’t like sunscreen! Great for cold days and layering up.

November 22, 2019

Very comfortable

Very comfortable

November 20, 2019

Super Comfy

My grand daughter loves her Ms Tropic Comfort II Hoody. She says its soft and warm and is extremely found of the color.

November 19, 2019

Tropic comfort hoody II

This is my third Patagonia hoody, and second Comfort II and they are the closest to the original Patagonia hoody, the ole grey one which I found most comfortable... the size is accurate and fit nice and loose but fitted just the same ... I have hoodies from other major manufacturers and the Patagonia are the most comfortable in heat and sun

November 19, 2019

Soft and Right

Fabric has a nice touch, not slippery but soft. Fit consistent with other Patagonia XL. Look forward to new colors to get another.

November 14, 2019

Comfort and UV protection for an active, pale dude.

Had a buddy use this on a High Sierras trip. Normally I&#x27;m having to reapply sunscreen non stop, as is my climbing partner, but he wasn&#x27;t on this trip. The functionality of having this kind of sun protection became vary apparent as we moved out of tree cover into some of the high-altitude passes on the way to the minarets. So I bought one,... Read More and man is this thing great. Lightweight, breathable, incredibly comfortable, and made for activity. Bought one for a friend after they showed their admiration for it on his birthday. Highly recommend.

November 12, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Fits great, very breathable, definitely will buy another. Great Patagonia product.

November 11, 2019

New favorite shirt

Perfect weight, so soft, great fit

November 8, 2019

Great shirt but unfortunatly had some minor issues

I love the shirt. It fits true to size. Sometimes Patagonia stuff runs small on me and I have to size up. I bought both and XXL and the XL just to make sure and the XL fit perfectly. I was honestly a little surprised but it fits like the XL shirts that I am used to. Only downside was that the button came off after washing it once and the seem popp... Read Moreed on one of the sleeves. I had only worn it once or twice and wasn't doing anything too vigorous so I probably just got one that wasn't sewn great. Otherwise, love the shirt.

November 7, 2019

Perfect for any activity

Perfect for any activity

November 6, 2019

Great layer

I use these in the shoulder seasons as a nice layer. It's soft and stretchy and doesn't bunch up. The hood is light enough to feel as though it's not there and in your sight line while providing a little shelter.

November 5, 2019

Best fishing shirt

Great functionality, comfortable, keeps you cool in hot weather, keeps you warm in chilly weather

November 5, 2019

Light weight and comfy

Light weight and comfy

November 3, 2019

Perfect thin hoodie!

Perfect thin hoodie!

October 29, 2019

Great shirt for all season(not

Great shirt for all season(not just a fishing shirt). My next skin choice for spring skiing

October 29, 2019

Perfect Fishing Pullover for a Hot Day

Awesome pullover. The material and weight is perfect for a hot day out fishing.

October 28, 2019

The Patagonia site does not

The Patagonia site does not make clear that the shirt I ordered has a big Patagonia logo on the back. I already own four of these shirts so didn’t check, and it got thrown straight in the wash. It’s no longer new and returnable I assume. I do not wear anyone’s logo, even yours, so what do I do with this shirt? These are great shirts for fishing the... Read More tropics, but not for me, not with the logo..

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear your feedback. You are still more than welcome to return the shirt [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) if you'd like.

October 26, 2019

Best shirt ever! BUT, sizing keeps changing...

I&#x27;ve been wearing this shirt for many years. I wear them almost daily for work. It would be nice if Patagonia would keep the sizing consistent so I don&#x27;t have to guess what size to order from year to year. I just received an order of shirts and they were much smaller than previous ones. I will be returning them and ordering a larger size.... Read More

October 24, 2019

very comfy. Great to layer

very comfy. Great to layer under a flannel or something to block the sun on sunny fall days.

October 24, 2019

Sporty and comfortable

It’s a great “athleisure” piece. Has performed and kept me cool during workouts and served as a great hoody for theme park days. Dries fast and feels great.

October 18, 2019

It used to be better

LOVE the original Tropic Comfort hoody. An adventure ready super versatile shirt that covers all my outdoor needs. Perhaps a bit too loose fitting. The new Tropic Comfort II fits differently, especially in having much shorter sleeves. The original version fit me much better (I am 6 ft 175 LBS). I do like the new camo color option, and I hope Patago... Read Morenia makes more stealthy clothing color options.

October 15, 2019

Good sunscreen piece

Nice piece, mainly summer use as a sunblock. Too thin to be thought of as an insulating layer. As is stated, it is loose fitting.

October 15, 2019

I’m 5’11” and 175lbs. Ordered

I’m 5’11” and 175lbs. Ordered a size M based on comments/reviews. I found the sleeves are 2 inches too short, Bunches up under the arms which is not comfortable and when wearing the hood, the back rides up exposing lower back. I have a typical thin, athletic build and I fit all off the rack clothing. The overall fit/cut of this shirt is very poor, ... Read Moremaking the shirt not wearable. I would not purchase this again and do not see myself ever being able to wear this product.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Hi Scott, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're truly sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with sizing. Your satisfaction is always guarantee so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 11, 2019

Great sun protection. Pull hood up at a game.

Design- I don't like the way the hood lays when not pulled over your head.

October 8, 2019

Great Material, Bad Fit

I am 6&#x27;2&quot;, 205 lbs, athletic. The large fits quite loosely on me in the midsection, but is cut much too short. Please make a Large Tall, or just size your capilene shirts longer, since this seems to be a common complaint asking the tall and lean. This material is the BEST I have found for being out in the sun for extended periods of time.... Read More Keeps me cool and protected from the sun. But the length is a deal breaker. I would not but again unless a longer length was available.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2019

Sorry about the disappointing fit, Patrick! We really appreciate that feedback, and it's helpful to other tall, lean customers as well as for our product designers to make improvements. Please note that your satisfaction is [guaranteed](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) an item.

October 3, 2019

Love this!

This shirt is so soft and comfortable! Love the feel and light weight of it as well as the coverage/sun protection. You're going to want more than one!

October 1, 2019

I found this product to

I found this product to be another fine example of comfort and quality indicative of Patagonia’s objective of excellence

September 27, 2019

Love this!

This shirt is great for any activity. I have two, I’d love to get a third if it came with the Fitz Roy smallmouth bass design. Bass guys need some love too. 👍🏻

September 27, 2019

Sweet

Great fit and look for all day sun protection here in Florida

September 27, 2019

Awesome product

This is my uniform for work. I guide flyfishing for Bonefish here in Hawaii over 130 days a year, so use these hoodies nonstop.. they also perform nonstop...

September 25, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody

Just used this for a September steelhead trip on the Rogue river in Oregon. Temps reached the upper 80's by late afternoon and this shirt was perfect. This is my first sun hoody and i dont know i have lived with one one for this long. I love how the hood fits over my hat bill and provides ample head sun coverage.

September 25, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort

When your in the sun and you need to escape it... this is the way to go. I have two of them.

September 21, 2019

I only regret I didn’t get the SHARK

Smooth as silk breaks breeze and sun give your red neck a break with this modified summer scarf!?

September 17, 2019

Got this for my 93 y. o. Mom

She loves it. Even sleeps in it.

September 15, 2019

This shirt is great for

This shirt is great for a day out on the water, and is still comfortable when wet. The hood has solid coverage, but is shaped to fit well with a hat to maximize sun coverage.

September 12, 2019

Good to go

Great design. Well cut. Well sized. The color was a little surprising. I expected closer to a faded red from the pics, but it leans a little pink/orange in real life. I hope it fades a little, but it is a great design. I may order another color. The pic online has a big fish image on back. I was thrilled to find out that the one I received had no s... Read Moreuch image.

September 11, 2019

Amazing

This sun hoody may have been my favorite piece of new gear in 2019. I wore this in temps up to &quot;real feel&quot; 110 degrees while guiding this summer and felt as though I stayed cooler due to the sun never reaching my skin. Another bonus was never needing to reapply sunscreen while on long multi-pitch routes which saved time and frustrating fu... Read Morembling at the belays. When the sun comes out, flip up the hoody and boom - done.

September 6, 2019

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II provides great sun protection, it&#x27;s lightweight and the material is super comfortable. This shirt is great for being outside doing work in the sun and it&#x27;s also nice to casually wear from day to day while providing protection from the UV rays. I purchased a medium and the size was perfect. I&#x27;m 5&#x27;7&#x2... Read More7;' and I weigh 170lbs. Its not too tight and it's not baggy they fit is just right.

September 6, 2019

Keepin’ me cool

Just picked up this hoodie per a friend’s recommendation. It definitely keeps me cooler in our intense sun relative to going shirtless. I also enjoy the luxury of not living in a coat of sunscreen throughout the day. I’m 5’8”, 145lbs, and in between the S and XS... but went with the former, as the sleeves were too short for me. I’ll be buying a bac... Read Morekup soon!

September 4, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Excellent product and fits perfectly. A must-have for summer floats and hikes and spring ski touring. I fell in love with mine and am already ordering another one in a different color

September 3, 2019

This is a great sun hoodie for fishing.

The comfort and fit of this sun hoodie is top-notch. I like the button at the neck and the contoured hood that isn't too loose. Its great for pulling up over a ball cap. I also love the camo pattern on this one.

September 2, 2019

Just What You'd Expect

I have a couple crewneck baselayers (think they're daily tees) in longsleeve, and this is just basically those plus a hood, monkey thumbs and a button at the collar. Which is to say all you can ask for. My go-to for summer wear as the fit is a little looser than the baselayers, but it breathes great, keeps dry and keeps me cool.

August 30, 2019

Super light

This top is super light weight and can be worn even when it hot for some sun protection or when it’s that in between weather when even a light jacket is too much but you want something on your arms.

August 29, 2019

Go-to piece for sunny bike rides, paddling etc.

I use this mostly for cycling in the sacramento sun and its great for staying cool and keeping the sun off. Fabric is so light but feels like it will last and i and breathes well. Much improved from the sun hoodie I have from 5 yrs ago, which was also great. Thumb holes keep sun off my habds and i can fit the hood over my helmet for short period wh... Read Moreen to help keep sun off mu face and neck. When I ride home from work during 100+ degree days i soak myself with a hose and its an evaporative cooler in the dry heat we have here. Im 5-11, 180 L was a good fit. Would be cool if they ever made a cycling focused one with dayglow colors,a deep zipper in the font and some jersey pockets in the back, but I love this one. It my go-to piece for summer bike rides.

August 28, 2019

Hoodie

Flimsy fabric and bad clingy fit.

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

We are so sorry to hear this hoodie did not work for you. Please know that if the item you purchased is not performing the way you'd like, you are more than welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us.

August 27, 2019

I own a few of these now but can never have enough

The Tropic Comfort Hoody II is just that, super comfortable! I love that I no longer need to worry about sunscreen when out and about in the mountains as I can be fully covered by this garment without getting overheated!

August 24, 2019

Remarkable

Have worn hoodies for years. Very partial to the old designs. This is a great addition to the line. Very light and packable.Cool in sun and with t-shirt underneath works well as it grows cool. Do not really miss the front pocket after a week or so of wear. This design in this cloth is a keeper.

August 22, 2019

Fit and fabric keeps getting better

I have an older tropic comfort and bought a couple new ones because the old one is one of my favorite pieces to climb, paddle, and fish with in the summer. The new fabric is lighter and more breathable, and the fit seems just a bit less boxy while retaining its loose and airy nature. Patagonia knocked it out of the park with this one.

August 20, 2019

Great sun protection shirt

Super lightweight fabric doesn't hold heat well yet still is nice in the evening when it starts to get cool. Does a great job at covering as much as possible to shield from sun for a day on the water or at the beach.

August 19, 2019

Great shirt. Not a fan

Great shirt. Not a fan of the bottom collar. Better if it was a higher collar like some surf rash guards.

August 18, 2019

Great Shirt

I was looking for a light-weight breathable long sleeve hoodie and this delivered! I love the fit, I love the feel, and I love the look of it. Not all shirts fit me great so I was nervous ordering it without trying on but this thing is everything I was looking for. It’s a really well made product.

August 16, 2019

Beat the Heat!

Love the cool feel of the material. I appreciate the thumbholes, neck gaiter, and hood for full protection from the sun.

August 16, 2019

Very comfortable, gets filthy fast

Performs quite well. Lightweight, comfortable, stretchy, hardly know it's on. However, the light colors seem to attract dirt like a 2 yr old. Cleans up OK so far, but I can't wear it without getting the stain remover out every time. Darker colors are needed if you aren't on a guided trip.

August 16, 2019

Just plain good

As a fishing outfitter, I spend many days in the sun. Not only does this hoodie protect you from the sun, but it keep you cool as well. It is also nice enough to wear out to a casual dinner. I absolutely love mine!

August 15, 2019

Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Great product- very good in the tropic heat. Does not stain like the other tropical shirts that Patagonia has.

August 15, 2019

Great Sun Protection

I bought the Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II and have been loving it! It is great for sunny days to keep my from having to apply sunscreen. I like how thin the fabric is because it helps me stay cool on a hot and sunny day.