Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Write Your Review

4.8 /5

Filter Reviews

All 296 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

4.8
True To Size
September 15, 2020

Excellent sun protection even in the heat.

I burn easily, and sunscreen alone doesnt always help. This helps me double up on sun protection without overheating.

September 9, 2020

I have lived in this all summer

With COVID I been wearing this whenever I go outside. Cool and excellent sun protection. The hood is comfortable and provides excellent sun protection when worn with a cap. I now have two as does my wife.

September 9, 2020

Good

I use this for fishing.

September 7, 2020

What Sun?

I love this shirt. I always wear it while kayaking in the Summer heat. I have been on the open water, 90-95*, and have remained well protected from the light and heat. It breathes well with an airy, loose fit. The hood is perfect over a hat, and has kept the mosquitoes and mayflies from getting to me. The UPF is effective, and even when remaining i... Read Moren the direct sunlight, the fabric doesn't hold the heat. The humidity of Summer in NC is what I take on with this hoody.

September 4, 2020

Light and Flowy

This is a nice piece I picked up because I don't like putting loads of sun screen on my bod every 3 hrs. I especially don't like it when I'm climbing a big route and I have to stop to apply and get my hands all greasy. I'm 6'6" and 215 lbs (climber bod), bought the XL and it's very comfortable (loose) and flowy wi... Read Morethout being baggy and it also feels reasonably durable. Stays decent smelling for about 3 days, and the red color is really quite pink, not quite as salmon as I was hoping - I would suggest more muted, desaturated colors. Would buy again.

September 3, 2020

Perfect long sleeves for summer

I loved this as I can avoid sun exposure in the summer without overheating. I bought the men's because of the button at the neck and the looser fit. I normally wear a women's small, sometimes medium. Mens XS was perfect.

September 2, 2020

Jack of all trades

These sunshirts are my go to for essentially any outdoor activity. The combination of extremely lightweight soft fabric along with the large hood and excellent sun protection is incredible. The large hood fits loosely yet when paired with a helmet or hat stays on when using the button even in 40 mph headwinds on a bike. It is extremely comfortable ... Read Moreand lightweight, I actually prefer to wear this on a scorching day instead of a t-shirt. I also use it for work as forest surveyor in the PNW where Im constantly thrashing through thickets of salmon berry and deep brush. After a few months of abuse it has come through with only a few minor cuts and wear around the cuffs. The hood is also excellent at keeping hemlock needles and other forest debris from getting down my shirt. Plus the billowy shirt and big hood makes you look and feel like a jedi which can be a nice confidence boost while climbing.

September 2, 2020

Awesome

Really soft comfortable

September 2, 2020

Perfect!!!

Absolutely perfect fit, great weight, keeps you cool in the sun and warm if its a little Windy. Purchasing other colors because its a perfect piece of clothing.

September 1, 2020

Super lightweight summertime shirt.

I originally bought this shirt so I wouldn't fry while kayaking. I bought a men's because I have pretty broad shoulders. I fell in love with it so much that I bought another one. These are fantastic summertime shirts, they are super light and they fell like you're wearing water.

September 1, 2020

Great, super comfortable!

I wear these shirts while fishing in the mountains of North Carolina. Very comfortable, great sun protection. Even on the warmest, most humid days I stay cool and sweat free. The blue Camo looks great with my navy Patagonia baggies. Solid product.

September 1, 2020

Sunny weather necessity

I really cannot go anywhere without this sun shirt weather its fishing, hiking, or day at the lake, this shirt is the perfect lightweight sun protection. I love the new blue camo style too!

August 24, 2020

Perfect for fishing in the sun.

Very light weight material but built with quality. Highly recommend.

August 20, 2020

River Trip

I just spent 4 days on a River Trip in Utah. Relentless sun and 100+ degree temps. This shirt kept me cool (I swam in it as well) and protected from the sun! I would 1000% recommend to friends and family!

August 19, 2020

Perfect weight

I love this hoody. It is perfect for a days fishing/rafting on the Colorado, and laying around after a day at the lake. I love the thumb holes and button on the neck that gives that extra protection or secures it on a windy afternoon pushing downstream. Surprisingly warm when it needs to be but cool enough to wear over a t-shirt as sun protection.

August 11, 2020

Super-Dope!

I'm an avid outdoorsman with a rabid hatred for sunscreen. But, I understand the importance of blocking the sun. This shirt is remarkably lightweight, breathable and comfortable. The hood and thumb holes are well designed and absolutely functional! I have dozens of sun shirts, but this one beats them all in comfort and functionality. PLEASE M... Read MoreAKE SOME MUTED EARTH TONES! Dope shirt, Patagonia.

August 2, 2020

Well worth it!

These are worth every penny! Incredibly comfortable and perfect for being on the water. The neck button and thumb slits are ideal for keeping your skin protected from the sun in high winds, whether it be on a boat, kayak, beach, or kiteboarding. Make more colors!!!

July 29, 2020

Must have

I work in the Grand Canyon and recreate in Northern Arizona and these sun hoodies are the only reason I can do that. I own 5-6 of these but the most recent one I bought the sizing has changed. I used to be able to fit in a M but even when I ordered a large size of the newer design its still too small so the next one I get will have to be an XL. The... Read More older style had such a big hood that Id be able to pull it over the front bill of my baseball cap and get complete coverage. This is the only reason I dont get burned on the river. Ive put these shirts through the ringer bushwhacking to get to remote areas and I cant believe how well they hold up. Most of mine do have a few holes (really bad bush whacking) the holes dont get bigger and havent gotten burned through any of them yet! Ive tried lots of different sun hoodies and these by far are the best. I really hope that the design team will go back to the bigger hood allowing those of us with very fair skin to avoid burning. Otherwise these are a must have for any desert rat.

July 28, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Although I'm avid sunscreen user, camping in the high Sierra's this summer stressed the importance of a physical sun block. This hoody is light, flexible and minimal, just what you want went scrambling up a mountain or trail. I've always struggle with finding the right size with Patagonia clothing and often can't: I'm 5&#... Read Morex27;9", 165 pounds, fit, with a broad athletic chest: 40". Despite others' reviews I decided to take a gamble and go with the small and glad I did. The only place I could use a tiny bit more room is in the back of the armpit area while raising my arms however the fabric generously stretches when needed. Looking forward to the fabric prints that they come out with next.

July 24, 2020

Great shirt

Ive worn mine 3-4 times now and am very happy with it. Its nice on hot sunny days as well and days on the cooler side. Fits nice and the stretchy fabric is great when youre active in the shirt. Want to get more but wish they had some more colors like yellow.

July 21, 2020

Best cooling shirt ever

I have two of the first version of this shirt, and two of this second version. The second version is even better than the first, which I swear by as the best golf shirt I own. It's been in the mid 90s here lately and this shirt is the only way I can make it through a full round. It has serious cooling capacity where below 74 degrees, I need to... Read More wear a sweater vest with this shirt, or I get too much of a chill when the wind blows. The sun protection is also amazing. I haven't gotten any sort of burn while wearing it. You will never regret owning this shirt when using in the right conditions. I just wish Patagonia would make more of a golf ready version of this shirt with more of a turtle neck... or, produce a summer gaiter out of the same materials. And yes, I've used it for fishing as well, where it works great, but that's kinda beside the point behind real function of this shirt and material. Also, the second version does not fray around the edge of the sleeves like the first version has.

July 21, 2020

Most versatile and comfortable hiking top ever!

I have used this shirt to hike 1400+ miles on the Pacific Crest Trail, wearing it every single day - it is awesome - it has kept me warm in the snow, cool in the heat, kept the bugs off me and kept odours to a minimum. The hood is amazing for sun shade, warmth adder and again for keeping bugs off. The shirt is still absolutely functional after 1400... Read More miles and could no doubt finish the entire trail of 2650 miles - I am however planning to get a new one just so its a bit sharper. If Im doubt - buy it - Trail Name 007 from the PCT .

July 20, 2020

Keeps my pale ginger skin safe

These are my go-to shirts. I use them for ski touring in the late spring/summer, fishing, running, hiking, biking, and just wandering around. Can't say enough good things about these shirts. As a ginger in Co., who is less than religious with the sunscreen, these shirts are a game-changer for me. I wear these daily in the summer.

July 19, 2020

My new go to summer gear

My wife had gotten one of the crews and fell in love with it. When we ordered her a second, I decided to try one. I was skeptical of the hood, but now that I have had it for a couple of weeks I am sold! Washington DC is in the midst of a heat wave and I wear the hoody when ever I go outside, usually with a cap. The hood keeps the sun off my neck an... Read Mored seems to keep my head cooler. If there is any breeze the shirt cools me off immediately. The thumb loops keep the backs of my hands covered and are very comfortable. Comfortable loose without getting in my way. Excellent product that I recommend.

July 13, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 13, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 13, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it's worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I'd say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 13, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 13, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 13, 2020

Awesome Shirt!

Super comfortable, very similar feel to the capilene cool daily in that it feels like youre not wearing anything. Living in south Florida I really enjoy the hood and being able to get some sun protection very easily.

July 13, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 13, 2020

SPF Protection For Outdoor Work

Great for all day outdoor work. Love the hood.

July 13, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 13, 2020

A Great Go-To for Hot, Sunny Days

I bought this to protect my pale skin on hot, sunny days. I know it is a "Tropic" hoody, but I feel that it is better suited for hot, dry climates where just a little separation from the sun will make you more comfortable. The material is so light and breathable, I even enjoy wearing it when it is 95 degrees out. The thumb holes are a gre... Read Moreat feature, but be careful because the material covering your palms will get dirty pretty quick.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 13, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 13, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product, but I wish the gender price difference didn't exist.

It's so unfortunate that, as with many products, the women's version of this is more expensive. I still recommend this product, but I wish I could get a more fitted version for the same price.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2020

Hello Catherine, thanks for your review. The reason why the women's is a bit more pricey than the men's is because it has two features that the men's does not; an adjustable hood and a zippered pocket. The men's does not have these features which makes it a bit cheaper.

July 13, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 13, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 13, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 13, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I've got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 13, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 13, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 13, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 12, 2020

Works Well With One Design Flaw

I have used this almost every day since I've got it and it works great for keeping you cool while out in the sun. The fabric is perfect for wicking sweat away and keeping the sun off your skin. There is one design flaw though: where the stitching in the arm meets the end of the sleeve at the palm, the stitching is already coming out. Because I... Read More hike with poles, this area sees a lot of friction but if this seem was put on the side or back of the sleeve it would avoid this problem. This has started to happen after only a month of use.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2020

Hi Robbie, thanks so much for your review! We're sorry to hear that the stitching is already coming undone. If it keeps getting worse, please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

July 11, 2020

Super comfortable

Its a very comfortable garment, fits just as I like. Patagonia has become my favorite brand name!

July 11, 2020

lightweight, roomy

I bought this for sun protection while fishing and hiking and am very pleased with this shirt. It is very lightweight and comfortable. Roomy enough to wear as an outer layer on cool evenings. It might be nice to have a single front pocket large enough for a small fly box and tippet for wading the flats.

July 10, 2020

Feels like Buttah

Absolutely loved this hoodie from the first moment I put it on! This is a must have for those afternoons when Im done with the sun. It feels cool to the skin during the day and perfect for balmy evenings when its still humid. It also wicks away sweat on those long rides on the beach cruiser. It is well made as usual and the logo is discreet.

July 10, 2020

Awesome product

Honestly the best hot weather shirt I have ever used. Great sim protection and the good stays on even in big wind! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

July 10, 2020

Excellent sun protection

I love these summer weight hoodies, light enough to let the breezes flow through but also great sun protection. With the hood and a ball cap you have a great shade system.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Super lightweight to keep cool in the sun. Fits well and the hood works great.

July 10, 2020

Great Hoody

Use this whenever I am hiking or walking daily to shield from the sun. Light weight, comfy and wicks moisture effectively.

July 10, 2020

Great Paddling Piece

Bought the hoody to use this summer on the water out here in the PNW and it's worked perfectly so far! The sun protection is great to have, it is incredibly quick drying, and the thumb holes are an added bonus when out on the water. If anything, I'd say the fit is just a tiny bit slimmer than other relaxed fit items I own but not enough t... Read Moreo really make a difference.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

Liked it so much I bought both my kids one for the morning beach walks

July 10, 2020

Great sun shirt

Super comfy and cool even when in the sun! As I get a little older keeping the sun off my skin has become increasingly important! Thanks for a great shirt.

July 10, 2020

Beautiful sun protection hoody

The Tropic Comfort and very similar Cool Daily hoodies are 2 of the best garments I have for hiking/walking in the sun. Fits great, looks great and very cool and comfortable. The hood could be a little deeper as it doesnt quite entirely cover the sides of your face. I like these so much I have about 10 of them. Smolder blue is the color that will m... Read Moreatch easiest with a light weight hiking jacket.

July 9, 2020

Protects in the heat!

I wear this surf casting and just wore this everyday at a lake for fishing and just playing in the water. Keeps you cool in the heat, protects you from the sun, and is super light and comfortable.

July 9, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

First observed the Mt. Rainer guides using this hoodie during a full week of training and summit day. I decided to try it out and it is my favorite go to hoodie. I have worn it on Mt Diablo in extreme cold weather by itself, while others were wearing down coats or several layers. In the heat it has kept my body reasonably cool. Allows for quick e... Read Morevaporation and drying. I have bought the tropical hoodie for many friends and currently have 7 hanging on my closet rack. Highly recommend this product, but remember what works for me, might not work for you. Thank you Patagonia. Ed

July 9, 2020

Et Voila!

This is my new hot weather all-arounder! Great fit and very comfortable, excellent sun coverage and the button detail on the neck is perfectly placed. As someone who stays out of the sun when I can, this is excellent for runs, days fishing or on the water, and around the house or in the garden. I will absolutely purchase more colors of this garmen... Read Moret.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

This sweater/shirt is super cool. Very comfortable to wear around the house, hiking, work, etc.

July 9, 2020

Excellent light weight sun protection.

I really like this hoody as it is light weight and cool, while providing 50 spf sun protection. It dies run a bit on the lager size, so you may want to go a size down if you prefer a snug fit, like a rash guard.

July 9, 2020

Impressed

I really was impressed by the performance of this shirt. Its very cool and light but yet seems durable. Love the hood and thumb holes. Great shirt for long days in the sun. Patagonia please add more light colors.

July 9, 2020

Super Product!

I purchased 3 of these shirts in different colors for my son last summer. I don't think he ever took them off. So this summer I purchased 2 for each of my grandsons. They love them for hot and cold weather. My daughter in-law actually wears my grandson's shirt when she is out in the sun. They are a great fit, light, and nice colors.

July 9, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this shirt. Very light weight, soft and comfortable to wear even when it's warm outside. I'm going to pick up another for when this one is in the wash.

July 9, 2020

Comfy

Exactly what I wanted. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

July 9, 2020

Great sun protection

My son loves his, great around the pool or out on the water Especially likes the hood

July 6, 2020

Great shirt for fishing and being on the water

Overall I love this shirt. My only gripe is that it seems to run a bit large so had to exchange the XL for a L. In general I have found Patagonia stuff to run a bit on the larger size.

July 5, 2020

Works Well In Heat

Wore this for 2 days hiking out in Arizona in 90F+ degree weather. I found the hoodie to be extremely useful for keeping me cool while on trail, and the long sleeve makes it so you have plenty of sun protection on trails with little to no shade. Dry's quickly and doesn't stink up like other sweaters I've worn. I would say this is the... Read More perfect base layer for any hike you go on.

June 27, 2020

Perfect for in-water sun protection

I have a few of these and they are absolutely amazing for protecting you from the sun when in the water in the tropic, which is where I live. I would recommend doing away with the buttons though. On both of mine, the buttons fell off within a few washes (I never dry them). I really don't think they are necessary, but should either be fortified... Read More or removed in my opinion. that said i highly recommend these for wearing in the tropics to do just about anything.

June 26, 2020

comfortable

this is my favorite product.

June 26, 2020

Comfortable 3XL Fit

I'm so happy that Patagonia is offering its stylish clothing in my size. I love the fabric. It's light and is comfortable in all kinds of weather.

June 26, 2020

Super comfortable

I would wear this every single day of my life if I could. It's that comfortable. I ordered an XXL thinking I wanted the extra roominess. Turns out an XL Would have been just perfect. I love this top and plan to order more.

June 25, 2020

Perfect sun protection!

This is the third one of these I own... the first two were used when For guiding rafts now landscaping. I own two other hooded sun shirts from two different manufacturers, these are my go to!! Light weight, room to move with great UPF protection.

June 25, 2020

Fantastic shirt

Love this shirt, great for outdoors activities in the summer. Perfect.

June 25, 2020

Keeping cool

True fit, super soft texture. Great for keeping the upper body protected from the sun when wet wading rivers in Michigan looking for trout. Keeps me protected and cooler than if I was just wearing a t-shirt. Super breathable and the thumb holes are a major plus.

June 25, 2020

My favorite piece of clothing

I got this for mainly fishing and it has worked great so far. The fit is great and i love the thumb loops in the sleeves. All of this plus Patagonia's environmental policies makes this sun hoodie my favorite piece of clothing.

June 25, 2020

Amazing very comfortable

I bought this for my 13 year old sons birthday. He wears it all the time around the house and he says he likes the fit on the body not loose or tight. Helps a lot with heat when hes doing yard work and fishing.

June 25, 2020

Great Light weight top

I'm 5'9" 180#. Love the feel - light weight and comfortable. Easy to pack. Easy to wear.

June 24, 2020

Own five of them...

Love this shirt. Period. Got my first one for black fly and no-see um protection when fishing on the rivers in the Adirondacks. Got a 2nd shirt for trips to the salt for stripers to protect against sun and bugs. Ended up with 3 more, one is my "dress shirt" on hiking/fishing trips, one is backup in my truck if I forget to grab one when I ... Read Moreleave the house, the last one I got just because I like the blue camo. Fit is great, I'm 6'2" 215lbs, need things big in the shoulders, this meets all of those requirements. Fabric feels good against the skin no matter the weather and the thumb holes and top of hand protection is awesome. One of my favorite Patagonia products. Ever.

June 23, 2020

AWESOME!

Get this tropic hoody! I used it for a hiking, fishing, and working.. if your gonna get it do it! Got a lot of cool compliments and looks because of it. Go for it.

June 23, 2020

Nice looking and comfortable

Nice fit and light weight

June 22, 2020

Comfy Sun Hoodie

I got this hoodie for my boyfriend and he really liked it. The material is super light but not too thin and he says it keeps him warm when it's windy but doesn't make him hot in the sun. He wears to go fishing most often but has worn it casually because of its comfort. Great buy for the price and it fits really well!

June 21, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 21, 2020

Love it - already ordered another

Given the relaxed fit of the shirt I was a bit worried due to normally liking a more standard/slim fit. Ordering a Small did the trick - the hoodie is comfy and somewhat formfitting without being too short in the arms. I love to wear this when doing yard work or going on hikes, it's extremely comfortable and I love the Spiced Coral color - t... Read Morehe thumb holes are just icing on the cake.

June 21, 2020

Great on/in the water

I've been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don't feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 21, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 21, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 21, 2020

Sunscreen Protection

The sleeves at the cuff have a thumb slot that protects my hands from sun damage without the need to wear gloves. The hood is large enough to cover my cheeks and temples from sun damage and fits easily over a ball cap. Overall very comfy.

June 20, 2020

Like a Summertime Jedi

Woah! I have full sleeve tattoos and my arms usually bake in the sun, this shirt far exceeded my expectations in keeping me cool. Paired with my Baggies this thing is my summer uniform. I dont think sun protection can get any more luxurious than this!

June 19, 2020

super comfortable

This is a great shirt for everyday wear. Sun protection and comfort are outstanding. I wear this shirt for work, sleep, and play. Patagonia hooded sun shirts are the best.

June 19, 2020

Great shirt for in the sun

Definitely relaxed fit as I'm between a large and extra large and this is plenty big. Great shirt for being in the sun hiking, boating, or biking. Well worth the money.

June 18, 2020

Drapes and hugs

Almost invisible, feels like short sleeve (but long sleeve), unconventional fit that no other garment can live up to. It stands out in spring summer fall, stored in winter. Bought a second one. A bright orange. The color is growing on me.

June 17, 2020

Perfect, perfect, Perfect

I wear these everywhere, and almost everyday. The only thing I could wish for, is more colorways. I would buy 10 more and not regret it.

June 17, 2020

Cool and comfortable and good sun protection

While I am unable to use it for fly fishing currently that is why I purchased the tropic hoodie. I have found it very comfortable as a casual wear and have used it to play tennis. Very versatile and comfortable. I have 4 different colors.

June 17, 2020

New favorite shirt

Very comfy

June 17, 2020

Hot & muggy days...

In East Texas, it gets hot and humid early....I wear these hoodys in the morning for my workouts and for working around in the yard. I've never been much for wearing a hoody before this product came out, but they are great sun protection for the above mentioned plus help keep the deer flies, horse flies, etc. off of you when the little critter... Read Mores decide they want to bite!

June 17, 2020

My second skin

Over the years Ive become fanatical about Capiline t-shirts. I wear Capiline Cool Daily t-shits literally every day and have for years now. On sunny days outdoors I previously wore the long-sleeve tee treated with permethrin for protection from both sun and bugs and the fabric is so functional and comfortable it is like a second skin. Until this ne... Read Morew hoody version came along I believed it would be impossible to improve the product any further. I couldnt have been any more wrong. The Comfort Hoody II has elevated the Capiline fabric far beyond my expectation. The hood and extended sleeves with thumb holes add even more protection exactly where its needed for a long day in the sun or on the water. I like this product so much I dont know what I will do if its ever discontinued because at this point I couldnt live without it. If you hike, camp, or fish get a few of these beauties. You will never regret it.

June 17, 2020

Keeps you cool

I like that this doesn't fit tight, it's light, airy and keeps you cool and dry. And of course, if you're a Scot like myself, keeps you from getting fried!

June 17, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

I love the Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II. It's very light so it works well even in warmer temperatures as protection from the sun, but I love it most as a layer for Alpine hiking, or for when the when the night starts to get a little chilly. It's extremely versatile - love it!

June 17, 2020

Colors

Love it, but there should be more color combo options in camo

June 17, 2020

Lightweight & Perfect

Ordered this shirt for the UPF factor, not knowing what to expect. Needed a lightweight, long sleeved top to be able to wear in the sun and this one is the best of all the brands we tried. Extremely lightweight, silky-soft performance material, and comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Super comfortable, I use it on bike rides and simply chilling around the house. I have already poked a couple holes in it but I know better then to use it for work! Its awesome sun protection which is why I where it for work...

I use it for bike rides, work and around the house. Its awesome at work when Im out in the direct sun all day! I will definitely grab a few more of these over time and I highly recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Love to be outside hate the sunscreen

Never been a fan of all the chemicals in sunscreen and always wound up burning my neck anyways. This shirt changed all that I now own 3.

June 17, 2020

soft and comfy

It weights nothing, super soft and extremely comfortable, just ordered another one.

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable, extra layer over my t- shirt

I am female and usually get a womens medium. I ordered the mens small because of all the color choices ! I take it backpacking and hiking . Great protector from the sun.

June 17, 2020

Great on/in the water

I've been wearing this for SUPing and I love it. I put the hood up and wear my floppy hat on top of that. It protects my arms, neck and torso really well. The weight is perfect. Nice and light so I don't feel too hot. It also dries pretty quickly when I get sweaty, so I can wear it to town after a session. I like that its not too tight, s... Read Moreo it feels good and I don't look like a sausage. I'm 5'10" and 200lbs.

June 17, 2020

Absolutely the Best! Patagonia Man thoroughly.

Always consistent with their craftsmanship and marketing of product need and want for any occasion.

June 8, 2020

Best Summer hoodie

Honestly, the best summer hoodie of all time. Wear it in the day. Dont get sunburnt, and is breathable and keeps you cool during the day. Come night time, if it's cool, throw it back on and it helps keep you warm. Honestly cant ask for a better product. 11/10. would get it in more colors when i have the chance.

June 4, 2020

Really Comfortable and Breathable

Don't really have any negatives, the hoody is super comfortable and I think looks pretty stylish. Definitely does its job protecting me from the sun. Fits like a glove (5'6" - 135lbs - bought an XS. Didn't shrink any when I washed it. I'm not too certain about the anti-bacterial properties, I was hoping I could wear multipl... Read Moree times without washing it, but I don't think that's the case and I don't really sweat at all.

May 29, 2020

Cool and comfy

Very cool and comfy and looks great! Keeps me protected from the sun while fly fishing and paddling.

May 26, 2020

Get two!

Cool, remarkably light weight, and a perfect companion for hours in the sun. Fit feels light and loose through the torso while providing enjoyable movement for shoulders and arms. (Picked up an XL 6'4" 220lbs) Hood is a life saver and is perfectly complemented with hand cover/thumb loops. Zippered pocket along small of the back would ... Read Morebe an awesome addition. And less branding on the shoulders for future options. PLM's please keep this in the line!!

May 18, 2020

Survived a day on the stream AND my roommate's red wine spill

I rarely leave reviews, but I am honestly so impressed by this hoodie. It's super comfy. The day after I got it, I wore it fishing for a few hours on my local stream. The weather was ~78 degrees and sunny. It kept me from getting burned, and even though I sweat a bit in it, it didn't smell at all. That night, one of my roommates spilled ... Read Morea very full glass of red wine all over me. Initially, I was worried - anticipating my new favorite hoodie having a giant wine stain on it forever... Before I even washed it though, I could hardly see any wine stain (it smelled like wine, but didn't seem to soak up the color). I took it off and hand washed it in the sink with warm water and light detergent. Hung it up to dry overnight and it's good as new. In fact, I wore it all day today. I might not take it off until someone spills wine on me again...

May 16, 2020

Favorite shirt

Awesome everyday shirt -- cool enough to wear in warm weather and keeps you protected from the sun. My wife & I both own these -- wear them hiking, biking, paddle boarding, around the house & yard.

April 20, 2020

Awesome! (remove the ad)

I think I own every color of these, back to the first version. However, I've noticed on the newer ones they've put a very large Patagonia indicator on the back. The precise reason I bought the first version, on a limb, was that fish was small enough on the back I didn't feel I was wearing an advertisement. The second version (the ... Read Moreone this review is tied to) started off even better on this aspect, only having the name Patagonia on the front chest. The material is assuredly different from v1 to this one, but loved them both. I hopped on the site to see if any new offerings had come regarding this and was pumped when I saw new options. However, I was quickly disappointed when I saw the newer v2's had an enormous display on the back. I really appreciate the quality that Patagonia offers (I'm a big believer in you get what you pay for - they back that up without a doubt). The only thing: if there's a large advertisement on the clothing itself, I pass every time. If you'd like me to be a billboard, great: pay me. All in all, I love the new color tones, just not the added aesthetic.

March 2, 2020

Safe from the sun!

Great as a sunscreen and also as a comfort layer against light wind and cool temps. Also I wear in the water a lot and it dries quickly. For me as a tall female, the men's small is ideal as it has proportionally longer sleeves with a skinnier body than the women's M or L.

February 23, 2020

Love it!

Great all around long sleeve shirt, sun protection is just an added bonus. Very comfortable, thumb holes and hoodie, with button v neck are all nice details that are totally functional.

February 6, 2020

Lives up to its name

I used this shed hunting in the spring, scouting in the summer and hunting in the fall. Super breathable, dries quickly, keeps the bugs off, and is super quiet. Highly recommend for any backpack hunter.

February 5, 2020

Incredible layer for every season

I have two Patagonia Sun Hoodies and love them both. The first generation hoody fits a bit large which I like a lot, for it stays under your harness and allows air to circulate well. The newer version fits truer to size, but this is also nice as it fits well under other layers. This is my go-to layer for trail running, climbing, and touring. I neve... Read Morer took it off during the 42-mile Teton Traverse, and I lived in it during a two-week trip to the Bugaboos. I would very highly recommend this layer. If you want a slightly roomier fit, size up.

January 29, 2020

Love this hoodie!!

Perfect hoody for whatever occasion. Great to cover up from the sun or use as a baselayer. Great fabric that does get too hot. Patagonia please make this in a Black color!

January 5, 2020

Great fit, light weight

Great fit, light weight

January 4, 2020

Best shirt ever!!

Material very soft and fits great!

January 4, 2020

Bought as a gift for

Bought as a gift for my 21 year old son and he loves it! Happy mom when you can buy a gift for your adult kid and they like it. Of course anything Patagonia he loves due to their environmentally practices.

January 2, 2020

Costa Rica Ultimate Protection

Awesome Hoody for water sports. I surfed, snorkeled and swam for days in this shirt.

December 31, 2019

Size

I ordered the hoody as a size medium looking at the “size chart” and noticed when I got the hoodie that it was too small and Should of ordered a large size.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi Jaime! We're sorry to hear this ended up being to small and that the size chart wasn't helpful. We went ahead and emailed you in case you haven't exchanged this yet and need some help. Thanks for your review.

December 31, 2019

Very Nice

Super comfy and easy to wear, fit feels good.

December 30, 2019

Favorite all-purpose shirt!

This is a shirt I could basically live in 365 days a year with the right layering, perfect for all activities, breathable, lightweight, fits well - no issues whatsoever, planning to buy more! Hood is well sized, thumbholes are included (HURRAY!) and no itchy seams for when you wear it with nothing underneath. Only suggestion / request might be to a... Read Moredd a couple darker colors to the line of offerings, a darker green, blue, or a burnt orange? :)

December 30, 2019

My son wears it constantly

My son wears it constantly

December 25, 2019

came very fast!!

came very fast!!

December 21, 2019

Boys liked this one

Bought this for my son for at the Denver Patagonia because we didn't pack the right clothing for our vacation. He liked it a lot. When we got home my older adult sons liked it so much I ordered two additional ones for them. This was a big hit with all of them 16-27 years.

December 20, 2019

comfortable and cool against the skin

I've now 3 of these and 3 of the crew style. They are fantastic as a first layer or only layer for sun protection. the thumb holes at the cuff make all the difference. It's kinda large but I like that.

December 19, 2019

Great Quality

Gift for my teenage grandson! I was very pleased with the service!

December 13, 2019

I just thought the hoodie

I just thought the hoodie would have been in a thicker material

December 10, 2019

A little thinner than I

A little thinner than I thought based on the picture - could live without the thumb holes- it’s a nice layering piece.

December 5, 2019

Please add 3/4 Zip

Please, please add a three-quarter zip to this awesome fishing shirt!

November 24, 2019

Love this shirt!

It's nice to have sun protection coverage and a light weight fabric all in one. Please keep making these!

November 22, 2019

Very comfortable

Very comfortable

November 22, 2019

Perfect fishing shirt

This has replaced all my other fishing shirts. The only change I’d make is to ad a tiny tab for attaching hemostats. But it’s a tiny gripe and you can obviously just clamp them to the shirt. Guided i the shirt for over 40 days this summer.

November 22, 2019

Love is all you need

Oh and this tropic comfort hoody! So soft and comforting! I wear this thing all the time and in every condition. Great for hot days outside if you don’t like sunscreen! Great for cold days and layering up.

November 20, 2019

Super Comfy

My grand daughter loves her Ms Tropic Comfort II Hoody. She says its soft and warm and is extremely found of the color.

November 19, 2019

Tropic comfort hoody II

This is my third Patagonia hoody, and second Comfort II and they are the closest to the original Patagonia hoody, the ole grey one which I found most comfortable... the size is accurate and fit nice and loose but fitted just the same ... I have hoodies from other major manufacturers and the Patagonia are the most comfortable in heat and sun

November 19, 2019

Soft and Right

Fabric has a nice touch, not slippery but soft. Fit consistent with other Patagonia XL. Look forward to new colors to get another.

November 14, 2019

Comfort and UV protection for an active, pale dude.

Had a buddy use this on a High Sierras trip. Normally I'm having to reapply sunscreen non stop, as is my climbing partner, but he wasn't on this trip. The functionality of having this kind of sun protection became vary apparent as we moved out of tree cover into some of the high-altitude passes on the way to the minarets. So I bought one,... Read More and man is this thing great. Lightweight, breathable, incredibly comfortable, and made for activity. Bought one for a friend after they showed their admiration for it on his birthday. Highly recommend.

November 12, 2019

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Fits great, very breathable, definitely will buy another. Great Patagonia product.

November 11, 2019

New favorite shirt

Perfect weight, so soft, great fit

November 8, 2019

Great shirt but unfortunatly had some minor issues

I love the shirt. It fits true to size. Sometimes Patagonia stuff runs small on me and I have to size up. I bought both and XXL and the XL just to make sure and the XL fit perfectly. I was honestly a little surprised but it fits like the XL shirts that I am used to. Only downside was that the button came off after washing it once and the seem popp... Read Moreed on one of the sleeves. I had only worn it once or twice and wasn't doing anything too vigorous so I probably just got one that wasn't sewn great. Otherwise, love the shirt.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches