burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt

4.8/5
True To Size
December 10, 2022

Odd fit

I love the design, and have 5 versions since it was first made, but they all fit oddly in that they narrow down at the hips and then flare out. Ive bought Patagonia since they started and they seem to have moved away from the cool colors/patterns they were known for and have gotten kinda boring and conservative, come on, gray, black, tan? What ha... Read Moreppened to Cobalt, Plum, Mango and even French Red? But they rock as an ethical and environmental company. Dont forget Yvone Chouinard started the concept of an environmental tithe, and when switching to organic cotton, was willing to go out of business trying

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2022

Hey David, thank you for the review and for supporting the brand for so many years. We will share your feedback on available colors and fit with our product team. If you'd like to give a different shirt with similar functions a try, we recommend checking out the [Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-sol-patrol-shirt/54253.html?dwvar_54253_color=PLGY&cgid=mens-shirts).

October 14, 2022

I could wear it the next morning without the funk

I just returned from 2 weeks in Kenya & Uganda and so glad I brought my Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt. It weighs next to nothing, takes up almost no room in your bag and looks great. I sunburn easily and this shirt really does an excellent job protecting from the sun. It got quite hot and I saturated it with sweat but at the end of each day I&... Read More#x27;d just wear it into the shower and clean it there and then hang it to dry, which only took a couple of hours so I could wear it again the next morning without the funk. The big test came while trekking in Uganda's Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - Super steep, dense jungle, hot, buggy & humid. It came back filthy and soaked in sweat but cleaned easily and dried fast so I could wear it the next morning on the long trip back home. The big, zippered chest pockets are excellent for travel - allows quick access to passports, boarding passes, etc. Sizing runs a bit big - I usually wear an XL in Patagonia shirts, but for this shirt the XL was just too big and the Large was perfect. My only suggestion is to have snaps instead of buttons, but that's just a personal preference. Can't wait to use it for what it was actually built for (fly fishing). Really an outstanding garment that I absolutely recommend.

September 8, 2022

Great Fit

Bigger guy (5' 11", 240lb) so originally ordered an XXL, but ended up with being way too oversized. The XL ended up fitting perfect, loose enough were there's enough freedom of motion to do my job, but not too loose to look like a tent.

August 28, 2022

My favorite

The Sun Stretch shirt is my favorite. I wear these on the water every day. The material dries quickly and the for allows for plenty of movement.

August 22, 2022

The Perfect Fishing Shirt Does Exist

This shirt basically has it all. Lightweight? Check. SPF? Check. Zippered chest pockets? Check. Hidden collar snaps? Check. Hidden microfiber patch? Check. Looks great on and off the water? Check and Check.

August 13, 2022

Light & Easy

Nice loose fit makes easy on & off. Great accessible pockets with easy zip closures. 30spf sun protection should be adequate. Not too hot on hot sunny days.

July 20, 2022

Perfect Product

Excellent fabric, excellent fit, completely satisfied.

July 18, 2022

Great shirt for town, stream, and mountain

Shirt that looks like a button down but is functional for fishing and great for sun protection in the mountains. There is only one thing I would change: reverse the m/f side of the buttons on one side of the collar. Then you can flip the collar up for extra sun protection on the nape, and clip the buttons together. Other than that, the perfect shir... Read Moret.

July 6, 2022

A great fly fishing shirt

We are always looking for the perfect fly and the perfect cast to get to the perfect fish. Why not start your journey to that place in your mind early by wearing the perfect shirt! Have a great day fly fishing you will love it in this shirt!

July 4, 2022

Title is fine

I love these shirts. I mainly use these for fly fishing. Just one issue that I have found and it's a common issue with all brands. Need more 3xl shirts especially fly fishing shirts. When I can find 3xl fly fishing shirts, they are usually limited to one style. Need more styles in 3xl shirts. Other than that, these are some of my favorite shir... Read Morets.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, John! Each season we continue to add more size range to numerous styles so please do check back with us later this year when we've released our Fall 2022 products. Thanks for the review!

July 2, 2022

Super cool during those hot

Super cool during those hot summer days. Other synthetic shirts are not very breathable but not this one.

June 21, 2022

The Perfect Warm Weather Fishing Shirt

The Long Sleeve Sun Stretch Shirt not only looks great it also has everything I want in a warm weather fishing shirt. The fabric is light and extremely quick drying but yet somehow extremely durable. Im hard on my equipment and clothes and although I think I have every color of this shirt ever offered, not one has failed. Not even lost a button. I ... Read Moream in my second decade of guiding and hands down this is my favorite shirt to wear during warm weather. The pocket placement, size and zippers are completely functional. The pulls on the zippers make getting into the pockets easy, even in waders. Sizing of the pockets is generous and one pocket can easily handle a cell phone and a medium size fly box like a C&F box that is 6.2 x 4.2 x 1.6 without feeling uncomfortable, in fact they are barely noticeable. Along with sun protection, the colors offered are well suited to blending in with the sky or vegetation without having to wear camo. This is a feature I really like. The amount of stretch in the shirt and the sizing allow for complete freedom of movement wether I am rowing or climbing over logs and through brush on a wade trip. I certainly hope this shirt never goes away!

June 16, 2022

Most comfortable and functional shirt I own.

Hands down the most comfortable and functional fishing shirt I own. I am fairly certain I have purchased every color this shirt has been offered in by Patagonia. I am hard on my clothes and have never had any one of my sun stretch shirts tear, zipper break or button come off. The shirt dries quickly and is comfortable in on even the hottest days. R... Read Moreoomy pockets can hold a fly box or phone and you barely notice that they are there. Zipper pulls, size and positioning of the pockets make them very accessible even when wearing waders. I am in my 23rd season of guiding and I wear this shirt 99% of the time during warm weather (over 60°). I have not found a more comfortable, functional and good looking shirt anywhere else. I hope they never go away!

May 27, 2022

Perfect for traveling

I love this Button up shirt, Perfect for traveling by airplane with quick access to my phones and plane tickets. I loved it so much, I picked up another 3 of them. Also perfect for this weather here in PHX, AZ with the temp reaching 109*.

April 25, 2022

Go to shirt for being outdoors

This is a well made comfortable fitting fast drying outdoor shirt. The two pockets with a zipper are perfect for stashing your cell phone, and other Buick grab items. When ever I travel I wear one of these shirts because they are nice looking and practical

April 24, 2022

Favorite Shirt

I own 19 of these. That should speak volumes. My wife thinks Im crazy (perhaps true) cuz I have so many and I wear them almost every day. They are lightweight, cool, practical, come in great colors and patterns. The chest pockets are great when I fish. They are my all out favorite shirt to wear. As new colors arrive I will be buying more.

March 29, 2022

great protection

I'm not a big fan of sunscreen, having a shirt that does the job without giving up comfort is fantastic. Like the pockets and being able to flip up the collar

March 1, 2022

Extremely Versatile and Comfortable

I have a love/hate relationship with Patagonia. Amazing mission, quality and products, however finding the perfect fit can be tough. I'm ~5-10 and weigh ~200. Stocky build without a large mid-section. A medium in this shirt is perfect for me. I mainly use this for cycling and casual wear. Would love to see more colors.

February 26, 2022

Your New Favorite Fishing Shirt

As a Florida full-time fly-fishing guide, comfort and protection are critical. I bought my first Sun Stretch Shirt a few years ago, and as advertised it quickly became my favorite. Best feature is the large zipper pockets. Once you go to zipper pockets you'll never go back. Nothing falls out. The pockets are large enough to handle a phone, 4x6... Read More inch fly box, tippet material, even a pint-sized water bottle. Perfect for a couple hours of flats wading. Stretchy fabric is super-light and comfortable. Fit is accurate. I'm 6'2" 170lb and wear a L. Nice variety of soft colors for camouflage on the flats. Easy conversion to short-sleeve with tabs for buttoning. Loop above the inside label for hang-drying on a peg. The new version even has both snap-down collar tabs to prevent high-speed flapping and a sunglass-cleaning microfiber patch on the inside shirt tail. Fabulous shirt. Big-time kudos to the development team!

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review! And we are definitely sharing your compliments with our development team!

February 16, 2022

Your new favorite fishing shirt

As a Florida full-time fly-fishing guide, comfort and protection are critical. I bought my first Sun Stretch Shirt a few years ago and as advertised it quickly became my favorite. Best feature is the large zipper pockets. Once you go to zipper pockets you'll never go back. Nothing falls out. The pockets are large enough to handle a phone, 4x6&... Read Morequot; fly box, tippet material, even a pint-sized water bottle. Perfect for an hour of flats wading. Stretchy fabric is super-light and comfortable. Fit is accurate. I'm 6'2" 170lb and wear a L. Nice variety of soft colors for camouflage on the flats. Easy conversion to short-sleeve with tabs for buttoning. Loop above the inside label for hang-drying on a peg. The new version even has snap-down collar tabs to prevent high-speed flapping and a sunglass-cleaning microfiber patch on the inside shirt tail. Fabulous shirt. Big-time kudos to the development team!

February 2, 2022

good

Need more colors in other shirts. Thanks

January 9, 2022

great shirt

Comfortable, easy to wear, room in the shoulders, 2 convenient pockets. special cloth to clean glasses. well made - love the shirt.

December 19, 2021

Brilliant Shirt

This shirt works in Dallas TX at a computer monitor half of the year for its city job. Great there. Respectable on video calls. It travels to the Okavango Delta in Botswana 5-6 times a year where it works through the rainy season and the dry season. And it bears the logo of the organization where it works with young rescued elephant orphans. Perfec... Read Moret travel shirt. No wrinkle, 2 zipper pockets for passport, travel documents. Once in the bush where we only air dry, the shirt is perfect. Quick dry. Easy wash. It is cool in the heat of the Okavango Delta. It comes in perfect bush colors. It stands up to Acacia thorns. The elephants seem to think it makes for a great uniform shirt. So I have four of them. Shirts that is. There are more elephants than that. And the elephant handlers love the shirts. Wish we could cover the entire staff. But there are 18 ele handlers and Patagonia, while well worth it, and great value for the money, is expensive for an NGO. And we truly love the activism of Patagonia. Thanks.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2021

Hey John, thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We're happy to hear you and the elephants are both so happy with the Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt!

December 18, 2021

Lightweight

Fit perfect, lightweight and comfortable.

September 27, 2021

Love this shirt!

So I was looking for an addition to my hiking kit for our summer in the North Cascades Complex this year...have to say it was the perfect shirt...used as sun protection during hikes, while fishing...and lounging around keeping bugs at bay.

August 17, 2021

Perfect layering shirt

L/S Sun Stretch shirt perfect for days on the water when layering is desired. Shirt fit upper body, had sleeves and tail tailored to fit my 5'8" height.

August 17, 2021

Great shirt

I have a had a couple of these shirts for a few years and wanted another so I always have a clean one handy. I mostly put them on for a hike, where I never seem to have enough pockets. The two oversized breast pockets are perfect as is the protection from insects and sun. it's cut a little large, but that's what I want for hiking. The one... Read Mores I've bought in the past had really stood the test of time in rather a rather abusive relationship - they're a very good quality product.

July 31, 2021

The perfect shirt!

This is the most perfect shirt I have ever worn. Great for any outdoor activity. I love to wear mine while river running, fishing.whatever. I cant say enough about this article of clothing. Please dont ever discontinue it! For me it is as essential as Stand- ups, Capilene or or Synchilla pull-overs.

July 27, 2021

Stays cool

I love my shirt! I'm curious to know what the UV Protection Factor is on the material?

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

Hey Daniel! We're so stoked to hear you love your shirt. The Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch shirt is rater at UPF 30. Feel free to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us with any additional questions.

July 23, 2021

Lightweight, breathable, and protective

This shirt fits perfectly! Maybe a tad on the "long" side for a typical Medium, but that's what I prefer as I am 6'2" and 170lbs. It's lightweight, breathable and offers great sun protection. I live in the Southeastern US where it gets really hot and muggy in the summertime. This shirt was a great sun protection layer ... Read Moreout on the boat even in the middle of summer.

June 30, 2021

Great hot sunny weather shirt.

Wondering shirt for hot sunny days whether hiking, working, or hanging out. Professional landscaper and this shirt is perfect for hot Ojai summer. weather

June 29, 2021

Outstanding sun shirt.

This is the best sun shirt that I have ever had. I now own 5 of them. They are light, airy, quick to dry, and very comfortable. Relatively good re stink factor. I use them for hiking and walking and gardening. Occasionally mountain biking.

June 29, 2021

Best Fishing Shirt

This is an awesome fishing/casual shirt. Lightweight, really for the summer months. Simple design and durable construction. They hold up well.

May 20, 2021

New favorite shirt

This is my new favorite shirt! I'll wear it on Friday with a pair of jeans for casual dress code...and then leave it on the rest of the weekend for going to the beach, out on the boat, or even dinner with the wife. Very light, stretchy, and breathable fabric. Once I got my first one, I immediately ordered a second in another pattern.

May 20, 2021

Great shirt

This shirt is great. Thin, strong, and great for sun protection. This is my go to shirt for everyday use!

May 11, 2021

A shirt that you must own

This is just an all-around amazing shirt. I use it in many different environments and activities. Everything from in-river activities to search and rescue. It does run slightly large in comparison to other styles from Patagonia. However, this is a feature that can be an added bonus. I normally wear a size XL in most other Patagonia shirts, but I di... Read Mored size down to a L. I sized down so that there is less material when wet. Keep up the the great work Patagonia!

May 6, 2021

Multi purpose defined...

Wear this comfortable, good looking and quick drying shirt anywhere. Great for travel. Fits like it should.

April 25, 2021

Great for air travel

XL fits me fine: 46L, 17 neck, 36 sleeve, 34 waist. Havent had out on the stream to really assess the active fit or stink factor of my sweat reacting with the nylon/polyester. The mesh on the inner chest would have been nice on the upper inner back.

April 12, 2021

Wonderful

Very comfortable and stylish. Dries very quickly. Excellent quality

March 31, 2021

First time Ive purchased

Fits well , well see what its like this summer. Freedom of movement and can wear long underwear top underneath!

March 28, 2021

From skiff to the restaurant

This is a great shirt. It very roomy. At 6 and 200lbs. Size large is perfect. . As a fly fishing guide on a skiff, I personally buy a shirt one size bigger / oversized. Does a great job keeping the sun off you while chasing bonefish , permit and tarpon. Certainly stylish enough for a night out.

March 22, 2021

Super Lightweight and Comfortable

I bought the shirt for protection from the sun while hiking in southwest Texas. I like it so much that I wear it as an ultra light jacket on days where its just cool enough to want something light on your arms.

March 17, 2021

Favorite work and travel shirt

Love this shirt for three things: 1. GreT deep P.O. Keay perfect for cell phone wallet etc. 2. Quick dry and dont need to press it for it to look good. 3 stretchy material that protects from the sun

March 10, 2021

Great shirt for the sun

Got one as a gift last summer and liked it so much I bought another. I use them primarily for fishing but wear them for town trips and hiking days too. Love the pockets, they really seal the deal. I'd rather have a collar that comes up higher to keep the sun off my neck but I get the snap down one for riding in fast boats.

March 3, 2021

Super Light Weight

Normally a large, ended up going with a medium this year. Material and comfort is outstanding. Range of motion is not restrictive at all and works great in hot an humid environments without feeling hot.

February 26, 2021

arms are too short

arms are too short. had to return it

February 25, 2021

Super comfortable, cool, dry

Cool, dry, comfortable

February 24, 2021

Sun Protection

I've been purchasing these shirts over the years to wear hiking and mountain biking. The long sleeves, collar, and fabric help with sun protection. This year's design added buttons on the collar flaps which I don't think are useful.

February 17, 2021

Good windshirt

Good fit for 165# weight, normal build. Other brands are huge in a "medium", but this shirt fits well, worn untucked over an undershirt. Fabric has a bit of stretch, nice and light, but works well if it's a bit windy. I like the dual chest zip pockets, with my phone slipped into one.

February 12, 2021

Very usable

I love the vertical pockets and that the shirt is made from recycled material

January 20, 2021

Excellent Shirt

I really like the way the shirt feel when worn with its quick dry material and secure pockets. It's a great travel shirt.

January 3, 2021

Great fit and comfortable. Dries fast!

Great fit, comfortable, and dries fast!

December 4, 2020

Great Shirt but the updates werent needed

These shirts have been my absolute go-to shirts for many years now. I preferred these because they dont have floppy vents and I can stand the collar up for better sun protection. The vertical pockets work well for me. However, I dont know that I will purchase this newer style due to the button down collars...the best part of these shirts was the la... Read Moreck of that style which every other shirt seems to have. Ill look for some older stock locally and buy all I can I suppose.

September 7, 2020

Simply put: Perfect

I bought an earlier version of this shirt for my husband and ended up buying a second one in the same color because when going to the closet he always reached for it and was disappointed when it was in the laundry. The new version has the same clean lines and details and has added a touch of stretch. I bought two colors and THESE are now his new fa... Read Morevorites. They wash up really well, even with heavy use. Simply put: Perfect

September 4, 2020

DJ

Just as advertised - a great product for hot & humid days. Relaxed fit - I'm 6'2 & 210 pounds and should have ordered a large. The only recommendation I have is to list the "UV" protection. Very satisfied.

September 4, 2020

Fishing togs

I love these shirts for fishing, and they are actually quite stylishI preferred them without the plastic button down snaps on the collar.

September 2, 2020

Travel Companion

I am slightly embarrassed to say that I know own 7 of these shirts, one for each day of the week. All summer long I wear these and in the winter I add a long sleeve base layer. light comfortable and perfect combination of tech and style. Not sure if they will ever "wear out," the only damage they ever sustain is the occasional fly hook re... Read Moremoval. Advance warning - One will re-produce into several in your closet.

August 15, 2020

Long Sleeve Sun Stretch Shirt

This shirt is fantastic! It fits true to size and the material flexes when needed. It offers UV protection, breathes well, includes a tag for your forceps and the zipper pockets have plenty of storage room for your fly boxes. I find myself reaching for this shirt whenever I'm on the boat, the stream, hiking with the family or everyday wear. I ... Read Moreown two of these and several short sleeve models too. Well done, Patagonia!

July 23, 2020

I can live in this shirt.

I can live in this shirt 24 hours a day. I kills heat, sun and stays fresh all day. Now Patagonia added micro-fiber to the front shirt tail to clean my glasses! Nice.

May 29, 2020

Fabric snags

I have purchased 4 of these shirts and I am sending 3 back do to the elastic in the fabric snaging and puckering the fabric on the frist wash. Disapointing as the style and fit are great.

March 7, 2020

Superior shirt, well done Patagonia!

This shirt feels right, ready and durable for an outdoor adventure, however, it is also aptly suited for any casual or business casual function. As expected, the fit is slightly generous for a hot weather shirt and just enough stretch. Although I haven't gotten it soaked yet, but, I expect it to perform perfectly.

March 3, 2020

Fabric is perfect. Design not so much.

This shirt did not need the addition of collar snaps. What it does need are loops or tabs to hang sunglasses, hemostats, or hold a rod. Also, if you leave the chest zippers open for venting, the pockets become useless. Actually I find horizontal pockets pretty useless to begin with. The fabric is spot on light, soft and comfortable but needs a desi... Read Moregn worthy of it.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review of the Sun Stretch Shirt! Your comments are very helpful to our designers and other customers.

March 2, 2020

My favorite shirt

These shirts fit perfect with a trim profile and feel excellent no matter the temperature. Please offer some gray plaid patterns. There arent many options to wear with gray pants.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches