Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Early Rise Snap Fishing Shirt

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Early Rise Snap Fishing Shirt

4.5/5
Kinda Large
September 12, 2021

Comfortable fleece flannel

Second one I have owned. Appreciate the warmth of the fleece used. Works well as a layer under my rain jacket, or as a light outer garment on cool mornings, or days. I like the nylon layer on the high wear spots and on the pocket flaps. Really like the zipper stash pocket to keep my phone or small camera securely store until needed. I expect this s... Read Morehirt to last me many years which I have come to expect from the clothing, and gear purchased from Patagonia.

September 10, 2021

So comfortable and utilitarian, but runs large

This is such a cozy and comfortable shirt. I wear it all the time since I got it. Does run large so I ended up with a medium.

September 6, 2021

Go-to Anything Shirt

After one wash, this shirt is ready to go. I have always enjoyed Patagonia clothing primarily due to its durability despite wind, rain, and rock. This shirt will by no means be any different. It is so comfortable that you nearly forget that you're even wearing a fleece shirt. It seems to breathe well as I haven't gotten too warm indoors w... Read Morehile wearing it. The zippered pocket is really nice to stow away a passport or airline ticket without having to mess with a backpack strap and the button flap. Great idea there. The plastic snap closures for the front and pockets are just as bomber as stuff that I have purchased 20 years ago. Another great product from a great company. I am about 5'9" & 210lbs and a medium fits me with a t-shirt underneath, but anything heavier would require a large. Fits a bit bigger for a Patagonia.

September 4, 2021

Great Comfort

I love the fit and comfort of these shirts! I just wish for a few more color choices.

September 3, 2021

warm and comfortable

I live on the coast where it is cool and windy. This shirt is warm and looks good.

September 2, 2021

Pockets

I bought this shirt for the chest POCKETS. I wish Patagonia would make bigger chest pockets on all their mens shirts pullovers, jackets you name it. the chest pockets need to be at least 7 inches deep to hold smart phones and other gear. just look at military shirts from militarys all over the world. they have big chest pockets to make them more fu... Read Morenctional. Small lipstick pockets only work on womens clothing. mens clothing need to have bigger pockets please.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pocket sizing Joe. We'll pass it along to our design team. You'll be pleased to see the pocket size on our Work Wear shirts is larger.

August 23, 2021

Lightweight warmth with button down style

My wife bought me this shirt because I forgot to pack my El Cap fleece quarter zip, while on a bicycle tour on the central California Coast. So glad she did! It kept me warm in the foggy evenings, with enough room underneath for a long sleeved sun-stretch shirt (XS), and a nano-puff vest (S). I wore it for a week, every evening and through the nigh... Read Moret. The material kept shedding for a few days and then it stopped. One more quality Patagonia product!

July 17, 2021

Super warm

I went with a large instead of my usual XL & Im glad I did. The large fits perfectly. The buttons feel a little bit iffy, hopefully they hold up without any problems. I would definitely buy this again.

July 7, 2021

Best Layer Ever!

Absolutely my favorite layer for cool weather. Fits great, looks great and is super comfortable. This is simply a must have and is great for many activities. Only feedback is I wish the elbows were double-layered. Other than that, this is an amazing, durable and comfortable shirt!

June 25, 2021

Soft and the right light layer

I bought one of these at a small retail shop and loved the fit, snap buttons and other features of this shirt that made me seek out another color of this versatile light layer.

May 19, 2021

Almost the best a fleece shirt can get

This snap fleece shirt is nearly perfect. It dresses any post-surf session up, keeps you warm after a day on the river, and has enough room to layer underneath. The only drawback is the nylon cuffs which rub and arent as soft as the fleece.

May 1, 2021

Fleece snap up nice for layering

30April2021: My other Patagonia fleece button ups were purchased in 2011 and had been thread bare for years. So happy Patagonia finally saw fit to make something comparable. Im a field biologist and use this shirt for running around the mtns. Need something quick drying and something to keep me warm when the clothing is soaked through but not too h... Read Moreeavy for periodic heavy exertion. If its not too windy, I can use this garment in the 30-60° F range.

April 17, 2021

Very nice shirt.

Love the shirt. The first one I got the snaps fell out. Returned it no problems. Great customer service. I think the should make the snap backings a little bigger to avoid this issue.

March 27, 2021

Baggy for a medium

I own several Patagonia shackets, jackets, and fleeces of various flavors - all are size Mediums and fit great - except this one. This shirt is noticeably bigger. Sleeve lengths are the same, but I measured and the girth is 4" wider than all the other Patagonia medium products I own. I love the shirt but had to return it for fit. Needs to be s... Read Morelimmed down for consistency with other Patagonia products.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review on our Long-Sleeved Early Rise Snap Fishing Shirt! This shirt has a relaxed fit, it could be the shirts and jackets you're comparing it to have a slim or regular fit which is why you're seeing that difference in width. If you'd prefer a slim or regular fit, check out these [shirt options](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shirts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim%7Cregular).

December 29, 2020

Perfect shirt ruined by faulty snaps

Had the last two versions of the snap shirts. The old synchilla snap shirt with metal snaps is still going strong ( best Patagonia product ever). I loved everything about this one but I should have heeded the warnings about the snaps. Only had it three months and wore it maybe 6 times. Tried to baby the snaps since I heard they could pull out but i... Read Moret didnt matter. They are one by one just pulling out if their holes. I dont even think they are sewn in to start with. Terrible design that ruins an otherwise perfect shirt! Back to the old snap shirt I guess. Why can they just remake the old version from 15 years ago? It was way superior to the last two fleece shirts they came out with. I bought them all.

December 24, 2020

would be perfect but.....don't bother

I was excited see to Patagonia bring back what I thought was a remake of my very favorite Patagonia product of all time. The synchilla micro fleece snap shirt. I still have the forest green one I purchased almost 17 years ago and it's an all time favorite. (BRING IT BACK PLEASE) I tried the last version they came out with several years ago and... Read More it just wasn't the same quality of fleece nor did it fit right (very boxy and had buttons not snaps). Still have it but it stays in the closet and I wear the vintage one. I'm an avid fly fisherman and when I saw this shirt I jumped on it. I love everything about the shirt, the fit is spot on, the fleece is similar to the old synchilla (maybe identical) and the reinforced collar, pocket flaps and cuffs are awesome. I actually liked this better than my old one however there is one major flaw which ruins this shirt. The snaps are terrible and they pull right out of the holes in the fleece. I read this on other reviews but decided to take a chance and sadly its true. Since I had read this I was extra careful to never pull the shirt open by the material but by carefully grabbing the snaps with two hands. No dice. One by one they are still pulling out. You can pop them in again but they will pull out every time after that. If they would only just USE METAL SNAPS it would have been a perfect shirt. I don't even think the snaps are sewn in but they just seem to pop in when you stretch the hole a bit. Poor design. I have had the shirt probably three months and worn it a half dozen times and it has not been abused. I can't understand why Patagonia ruined a perfectly good product.

November 30, 2020

Great Over Shirt. Wear it for Anything.

Had my eye on this shirt for a while. It has a great look that works for both casual and semi-dressed up settings. I am fairly thin (5' 11", 140lb) so I purchased both a S and XS. The XS fit almost perfect, while the S was a bit too baggy for me. There's likely enough room to wear a light long sleeve layer in the XS for me. It'... Read Mores amazing how warm the shirt is for how light it wears. It regulates temperature very well. I can wear it indoors and not feel overly hot, and step outside into 50ish degree weather and still feel comfortable. I love it so much I'll likely get a second one in another color. Can't go wrong!

November 16, 2020

Very comfortable and functional

The fit is great and its a great to be used under shell or for hanging around house. Kind of wish it had hand pockets on the sides.

November 7, 2020

Runs big but is comfortable

I wish I had sized down but I really like this shirt jacket. Its perfect for cooler temps.

September 14, 2020

Like the nylon reinforced cuffs

I bought this piece for fly fishing. Nice pocket size and just the right weight worn over a T shirt for a cool evening on the river in late May or June. It also works well as a light mid layer under a rain jacket. My only complaint; I would prefer the shirt be a bit longer in the torso area. Not a deal breaker though. Good quality Patagonia product... Read More.

August 7, 2020

Best Shirt Ever

This might be one of my favorite pieces of clothing I have ever owned! This shirt is super warm and comfortable. It is great for a cold morning on the river or running errands around town during the winter. I need to order one in each color!

July 15, 2020

Perfect!

Finally a light fleece with roomy chest pockets without hip pockets, used for a year when hiking, look is stylish, performance is perfect!

June 19, 2020

Greatness ~

Really Happy with this shirt. I am physically active and for the most part wear my clothing snug. This shirt is (for me) just a bit loose in the mid/side. I am 510 155lbs. It did not stop me from purchasing all three colors. I am able to wear these shirts 8 months out of the year comfortably. Very soft and very quick to dry. Solid quality ~

May 2, 2020

Oh snap, the snaps suck!

Been wearing the brand 20-25 years, love the stuff because the quality and construction is usually bar none; I usually get 15-20 years out of a synthetic based garment, with severe duty... But these snaps suck, some of which are are not backed in the soft stretchy fleece and pull through the fleece, and others simply break because they are plastic.... Read More Maybe this garment is an out-liar in my brand experience, I hope so. I lost my first snap this past week, then another a few days later, and now I am writing this....I still love the shirt but the snaps suck and buttons arent the solve either. Back the new style snaps (maybe metal?) like the lapping front is done, that would be a good solve. I had visions of portaging in the opening? BWCAW with it but the black fly would carry me off through the growing gaps. Oh, snap!...its not even a year old... M from MN

Response from Patagonia
May 6, 2020

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the quality issue that you've experienced with the snaps. We assure you that this isn't our typical quality so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us under warranty. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share this with us and we've passed your experience along to our design crew!

April 15, 2020

awesome shirt but go easy on the buttons

If you take off your shirts like a reasonable person, this piece is awesome. I'm 5'11 160lbs and usually fall between medium and large in PTG shirts and jackets. As far as PTG shirts go, this one has the length of a long, but the sleeve length and girth of medium. Room for a light layer underneath, but still easy to put a shell or another... Read More layer of insulation over it. I've worn it with just a t-shirt underneath, but it'll get clammy if the weather is warm enough to justify that combo. The orientation of the zip pocket is perfect for a phone, but depending on what size boxes you're using in the vertical pockets, they may interfere with wader straps. By no means a deal breaker for me. It's a little bit bulky in a pack or suitcase, but only because so many other kinds of insulation pack up so small these days. Onto the other thing.... If you enjoy snap shirts because you can pull them off quickly with one hand a la Frank Drebin in Naked Gun, go easy of them. The stitching that holds the snaps into the fleece itself lends itself to pulling out easily. At first, you can kind of wedge it back in, but it'll fall out in the wash and eventually you'll have to make do without full buttoning capabilities. If anybody from Patagonia sees this, is there an easy repair option? I couldn't find one on the wornwear page that addresses this type to plastic snap button. Awesome shirt, and due to quarantine, it's seeing a lot of time around the firepit and the busted buttons aren't detracting from my enjoyment!

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2020

Hi Dan! We're sorry to hear the snaps have fallen off. At this time our retail stores and repairs centers are closed as a precautionary measure for COVID-19. However, feel free to send your shirt in to us for a repair when we reopen! You can check our website for updates on our closures.

February 6, 2020

Favorite Patagonia Item

This shirt is a re-boot of my favorite Patagonia item of all time, the Micro D Snap Shirt. The one I purchased in 2006 is still going strong, but bought this as a backup and I now wear them both with high frequency. Love it! (FWIW, for my height/weight the sizing widget recommended an XL, but the L is perfect for me)

January 24, 2020

Dave H.

Shirt is extremely warm and comfortable. Fit is a bit large, but it's great for layering. Plenty of pockets for fly boxes, glasses, etc. Will be buying one in another color.

December 29, 2019

I like it

Keeps me toasty

December 27, 2019

Chest pockets are out of control

The chest pockets do not lay flat. They kind of flay out and make this look pretty odd or like a military uniform from a developing country.

December 20, 2019

Great overshirt to a base

Great overshirt to a base layer. Or over a shirt or sweater. Size was right as it is just a bit over sized. And great that the shirt has its snaps

December 16, 2019

Love it! Have two of

Love it! Have two of them and wear one everyday. Great layer piece or worn over a light shirt on mild days. My core piece when on the water.

December 3, 2019

Love it!

At this point I haven't fished in the shirt but from wearing it casually it's obvious that it will be great for cool weather fishing. Very pleased with the weight of the fleece and the pockets are plenty adequate for fly boxes. The zip pocket is perfect for glasses.

November 22, 2019

One of the best shirts I own

The fit is perfect, super comfortable, great pockets. Durable as well.

November 15, 2019

Ultimate Comfort

I've worn this shirt on the water fishing in 30 degree weather and was still comfortable. As the day warmed up to around 65 degrees it wasn't too warm to continue wearing it.

November 9, 2019

Thin and light to wear

Thin and light to wear but surprisingly warm for early am chilly weather; an excellent layer

November 7, 2019

Perfect second layer for fly

Perfect second layer for fly fishing our fall salmon/steelhead runs here in Wisconsin. Relaxed fit for easy casting and WARM!!

November 5, 2019

Fall fishing in New Hampshire

The Early Rise Snap Shirt was a great layer for a crisp November Morning fishing for trout. The nylon at end of sleeves is a great feature. Kept sleeve from getting wet when netting and releasing fish

November 3, 2019

A+

Perfect length and profile on this shirt. Ideal for wearing a light layer underneath or for wearing under another insulation piece and a shell

October 21, 2019

Great Shirt

Awesome shirt super comfortable and stylish!

September 30, 2019

Comfy everyday shirt to wear

Comfy everyday shirt to wear over tee shirt in fall or spring.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches