Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved R1® Fitz Roy Quarter-Zip

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 8 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved R1® Fitz Roy Quarter-Zip

4.5
True To Size
May 11, 2020

Ultimate Cold Weather Fishing Top

I own an R1 Pullover, R1 Hoody, and R1 Techface in addition to this piece, and I admittedly wasn't down with the two-tone look of this, but since the first time I wore this fly fishing it continues to be the only piece I grab. It's cut perfectly to wear all day under waders and has an excellent range of motion for casting and navigating w... Read Morehile wet wading. The extra face fabric on the sleeves contributes to a little longer drying period than traditional R1s, but that face fabric is fantastic for walking through brush. My go-to piece!

January 2, 2020

Field Shirt?

I believe this used to be the R1 Field Shirt. If that’s the case, I’ve chased Nevada Chukar and Sage Grouse in this versatile mid-layer for four seasons now. It has held up great, but I’m searching for another before I wear it out. If this is the same piece - and reading other reviews, it probably is - it has a quirky seam that runs awkwardly along... Read More the elbow. But, it doesn’t seem to bother if you’re not resting your arm on something; I don’t notice it after I get out of the truck. Bring it back in blaze orange over desert tan and I’ll buy a whole box at MSRP!

November 15, 2019

The seams across the point of the elbow made a full day of wear no good.

When you put this on the design in general seems like it would be great but before I could concider doing a multi day float in it the rubbing on the elbows was so bad at the house I just put it back in the back and returned it.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Tom, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future season so it's appreciated. We're really sorry to hear about how uncomfortable the seam made it to wear the fleece. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

August 15, 2019

Good to go

Love the R1 for its freedom of movement. Great for fishing and lounging.

May 8, 2019

Perfect Sweatshirt

I am a fly fishing guide in Montana and this fleece has been the best I have ever worn. Very warm, comfortable, and fits great. I plan on purchashing 1 or 2 more in other colors. I highly recommend it.

April 7, 2019

Awesome Heat retention and breathability.

This is an awesome mid layer for when your chasing those winter steelheads in the brutal cold. I was up in Pulaski NY this winter, the temps that weekend ranged between -10F to 10F. It was the coldest weekend of the year, but I couldn’t be warmer. I layered with a wool flannel, R1, synchilla, and a 2017 river salt wading jacket. The -30 wind chill ... Read Morenever penetrated.

April 7, 2019

Awesome Heat retention and breathability.

This is an awesome mid layer for when your chasing those winter steelheads in the brutal cold. I was up in Pulaski NY this winter, the temps that weekend ranged between -10F to 10F. It was the coldest weekend of the year, but I couldn’t be warmer. I layered with a wool flannel, R1, synchilla, and a 2017 river salt wading jacket. The -30 wind chill ... Read Morenever penetrated.

March 23, 2019

The Perfect Base Payer

I bought one of these when they first came out, and immediately ordered a second, and am about to use a birthday gift certificate to order a third. I wear these as my base layer over a wicking t-shirt both fly fishing and skiing. A nano puff and Torrentshell jacket over it is comfortable in sub zero temperatures, the Fitz Roy on its own fine as thi... Read Morengs warm up. I like the fabric over the shoulders, sleeves, and waste making it durable and ready for hard work around the shop, not to mention making acceptable by itself for end of the day beers.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches