burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Long-Sleeved R1 Fitz Roy 1/4-zip Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved R1® Fitz Roy 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.4/5
True To Size
January 9, 2023

Versatile

All around item

November 1, 2022

Super warm, light weight

Very stylish, goes over or under other layers when needed. Warm, lots of great usable pockets,not to heavy. Not going to use it for fishing, but I'm sure it will be great for that as well.

October 14, 2022

not using for fishing

i dont fish but i wanted a more looser fitting r1 because the rest of my r1s are slim fit. i prefer slim fit because Patagonia's regular fit is for people shaped like a soup can. this regular fit for this r1 isnt that bad actually, i wanted something with a bit more room for layering. but the selling point for me was the added abrasion points ... Read Moreon shoulders and sleeves. i hike and bike, so its nice have some added protection on a quality but pricey piece.

July 25, 2022

Mostly nailed it.

I spend a lot of time outdoors, and I own a lot base layers and fleeces to adapt to a wide variety of activities and conditions. The one complaint I have about the traditional R1 mid-layers is they always integrate well with other fleeces - they tend to drag against one another and mess up your range of motion. Enter the Fitz Roy R1 fleece - I thou... Read Moreght they panels were meant to add water repellency (warning: they don't - there is no water repellency in them) but that isn't where they shine. They shine because the panels allow me to slip around inside of another fleece; my range of motion inside isn't hindered. This is a highly breathable fleece, and will serve as my new base layer this winter. I like it a lot. Just don't expect it to shed any water when you're fishing.

June 2, 2022

Perfect spring/fall pullover.

Keeps me warm in the 50's

March 9, 2022

Awesome piece.

Im 62 and weigh 185 and the medium is perfect for me. Love this piece.

March 1, 2022

May be the perfect outdoor garment

I bought this as a base layer for fly fishing and camping. Lightweight yet substantial, warm but the deep 1/4 zip helps you regulate heat. Had to go up to an xxl to accommodate a 50 chest . Fits snug because of the athletic cut. First Patagonia garmet that required hanging outside to off gass, May have to do with the Oder control feature, A bit iro... Read Morenic. The smell has since dissipated. I am pleased with my purchase.

February 14, 2022

Roomier Fit, But Good

This is a nice mod to the R1. Yes, the sleeves run a little long to help cover your hands in cooler days but are not so long as to cause issues or be as preposterous as some people reference in the other reviews. I am 59 (165-170 lbs), and the pullover fits just fine.

January 9, 2022

Incredible quality and comfort, sleeves are way too long for me but the rest fits perfectly

I just received my R1 Fitz Roy pullover and I think the build quality and comfort are top notch. The only problem I have with this product are the sleeves. I have an athletic, fit build and the pullover fits very well on me except for the sleeves which are way too long for me. For reference, I am 5 8 and purchased a small. I have to roll up the sle... Read Moreeves about 4 for them to fit my arm length more comfortably. Way too long, I could live with like 2 too long in the sleeves but with how long they are I plan to take it to an alterations place. To reiterate, love the garment and the sizing is pretty good but the sleeves are cartoonishly large on my build. If you find that most clothes you wear dont have long enough sleeves but otherwise fit you, definitely grab this.

October 23, 2021

My fly fishing uniform

I use these for cold weather guiding fly fishing. Warm, comfy, presentable. Perfectly suits my needs

September 20, 2021

Men's Long-Sleeved R1® Fitz Roy 1/4-Zip Fleece

I purchased this fleece to wear on cooler mornings on the lake and the golf course. It fits that bill perfectly. Sleeves were a little long first time I wore but after washing just right.

September 10, 2021

Mid Weight Layer.

I like a mid layer that isn't tight so that a base or light weight shirt can be worn underneath. The fleece feels good and looks good as well. Not crazy about the waffle design.

August 23, 2021

Fantastic fit

Warm, great layer. Stylish, I have it in multiple colors.

January 28, 2021

close

Its comfortable and its warm and great for fishing, but the seam of the colorblock runs right under the elbow and is uncomfortable. A little long in the arms for a medium.

January 9, 2021

Ridiculously long sleeves

I've purchased Patagonia goods for more than 40 years, including several R1 products (all regular fit, size L). The sleeves on this shirt are 3-4" longer than any other R1 product I've owned. Come on Patagonia-I appreciate your efforts at conservation and justice issues but how about getting the design and fit of your goods consisten... Read Moret first. Your customers expect better from you.

Response from Patagonia
February 12, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this feedback. This specific R1 1/4 zip is part of our Fishing line, which features a more relaxed fit and is generally over-sized compared to our classic R1 Pullover. Because of this, it is about 1.5" extra length on each sleeve. Additionally, a lot of folks wear gloves when they are engaged in a sport that the R1 Pullover is made for - skiing, snowboarding, etc. - so shorter sleeves work better with insulation layers and gloves. Since it's rare for anglers to wear gloves (because it inhibits rod feel and can lead to missed strikes), the extra fabric over the veins on the wrist and on the back of the hands can really help amplify warmth. We hope this helps clarify these issues!

December 24, 2020

Sizing is all over the road on this fleece...

First, I LOVE the style, colors, material and look of this fleece, so it killed me to return it. I'm normally a solid medium. This product is a medium in the body, small in the chest and large in the sleeves. Unfortunately, I'm finding a lack of size consistency across the Patagonia line. That being said, I will keep trying. It's a g... Read Morereat company to do business with!

December 23, 2020

Great warmth to weight ratio!

Warm, highly breathable and great range of motion for fly fishing. Will also use for base layer when snowboarding.

November 21, 2020

Great midlayer for the outdoors

I love that they updated the pocket to be vertical. The fit is great and it is a product midlayer for any outdoor activity.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches