Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Mainstay Tank Top

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Mainstay Tank Top

4.5/5
July 20, 2021

Runs big

Soft and comfy, but runs large. Im a solid M, but had to exchange for a small.

July 15, 2021

New Fav

I love this top. I do not consider myself xs, but I tried it on and it fits great. It is comfortable and goes with everything.

July 7, 2021

Comfortable, easy wear top

I love the Pantagonia Mainstay Tank Top. They are comfortable and stretchy. Easy to launder and look good out of dryer. Good quality fabric. I have 4 shirts. Two are small and two are extra small. I wasnt sure what would fit. I am 52, 116lbs and wear a size 32DD. Extra small fits best.

June 26, 2021

Perfect Tank

This is the perfect tank if you are looking for casual that can be worn out on the trail and then out to dinner. Typically wear a small and this fits perfect -armholes aren't big and the length sits right on top of the hips. Colors are just what is shown on line and the material is super soft. A perfect tank.

June 26, 2021

Love it!

I love this tank top. It is the second one of this style that I've bought! It is comfortable and flattering.

June 15, 2021

Cute, large armholes, and very lightweight (e.g, see through)

This is a super lightweight top, I like that it covers the bra straps despite larger armholes (perhaps if you have a bigger chest they wouldn't gap?). Ordered a couple to try and kept the darker blue as it seemed less transparent. Even though I liked the stripes color best, it went back because the cream part was completely see-through.

May 3, 2021

Colorful, comfortable shirt that fit true to size!

I love these shirts. Order a couple for my vacation down south an so far they are working out great! Love the colors and the light feel of the shirt. Very nice shirt.

May 2, 2021

An essential for spring

Love the color wish it didnt have a pocket

April 13, 2021

Great Fit

I love the fit of this tank; not form fitting, but not boxy. I appreciate the light weight fabric for hot weather or working out, however it is see through in the lighter colors which I always have an issue with. Can anyone make a white tank that is not see through????? love the navy though!

April 6, 2021

Nice Layering Tank

Perfect for under overalls or with a fun skirt.

March 16, 2021

Comfy

Fit is just right, comfy, great fabric feel, good layer that goes with everything.

February 24, 2021

Great tank top

Bought this top for every day wear in the summer. I wear a xs or s in most Patagonia tops. I bought the small and it fits well. Love the cotton feel. Excited for warmer weather to get some use out it.

December 9, 2020

Very comfortable.

This tank top is very comfortable, the fabric is soft and lightweight. It washes very nicely.

September 14, 2020

Comfortable and Simple Tank Top

Sometimes you just need a no-frills, everyday tank top and this one fits the bill. Fits well. The fabric is soft. The color pops. I have worn it hiking, during yoga, and around the house on a warmer day. Happy to have a versatile piece that is fine for both lounging and outside pursuits.

September 13, 2020

Funny armholes

This is very pleasing fabric, but the armholes are odd. The issue is from front and back, not the length of them. So, it's a little dumpy, and a tad short for 5'9", 155 lbs. But love the feel, and color. Nice and cool. Good neckline. No shrinkage when hung to dry.

September 12, 2020

Weird extra material in armpits

This shirt is very soft but incredibly sheer. I am 5'6"/115/XS and it runs larger than the XS I bought in another tank. There is a lot of extra material in the armpits. Also, why is everything wrapped in plastic when it is shipped? It's great that everything is sourced responsibly but seems counterproductive to ship everything in p... Read Morelastic. I won't be ordering from Patagonia again until they stop shipping their products in plastic.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hi Aly, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear about the disappointment with the tank top itself along with the plastic packaging. We do use recyclable cardboard and our polypropylene shipping materials are reusable (and recyclable where facilities exist). We definitely are open to critique and feedback on these issues and we are always working to become a more responsible company as per our mission statement. In Spring 2019, we also opened up a competition at the Berkeley Haas School of Business for plastic packaging alternatives, so our use of plastic is always being evaluated and innovated. Nevertheless, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us.

September 11, 2020

Good quality and comfty

Im 53, 125-130 lbs, 34B with kind of broader shoulders, and this tank in a size S fits nicely. Not too loose, not too tight. The material is sturdy and soft. I feel like its gonna last, which is awesome.

September 9, 2020

Perfect tank!

I love this tank. It is cut perfectly for a bra!!! The neck and armholes are cut just low enough so the bra doesn't show, but you are cool and comfy. The length is great too, wearable tucked in or out!

September 8, 2020

Feel and looks great!

Lovely fabric and colors - I have 3 of these! Lightweight and feminine cut that gives you a waistline. Too often similar shirts are 'boxy' with big arm pits, thankful this is NOT that shirt! Could have gotten away with a Small, but bc I am tall, kept the Medium. It is slightly longer and expect it to shrink a tad. Terrific shirts for trav... Read Moreel, summer, hikes or out to lunch!

September 8, 2020

Super comfy tank.

It's airy without being too baggy or boxy. The cut of the arm holes and neckline are great, too. I've already gotten compliments on it.

September 8, 2020

Just the right length

I love these tops especially when I want a bit looser look than my more athletic tanks (which I also love). These tops wash And dry beautifully and you can wear a regular bra with them. They are shorter too-just to hip so look nice with anything. Sometimes I even use the pocket!

September 7, 2020

strange cut

The size and fit of the tank top was great EXCEPT the seams under the armholes flared out. In length and hips the fit was perfect. The finishing details are nice. Lovely soft blue with stripes...but every time I raised my arms it looked like I had on a size or two too large. I gave it to my daughter bur haven't heard if it fits her or not.

September 4, 2020

Want another one

This is a nice, light-weight tank. Very breathable The striped blue is very cute. The arm holes are a little big but still doesn't show my bra. I find myself reaching for this shirt several times a week.

September 3, 2020

perfect in every way

This was a gift for my wife. She loves it. Soft and fits very well

September 3, 2020

See through

I love the color and the fit was great; but you can see through the shirt. In this Texas summer heat, wearing a camisole under my shirt is not something I want to do. Wouldnt recommend if you mind wearing more than one layer of clothing

September 1, 2020

Light weight tank

Great light weight tank in pretty colors. Well made and my go to tank right now.

September 1, 2020

The material is soft and made extremely well.

The material is super soft. The fit is extremely comfortable. Great quality!

September 1, 2020

Looks retro with a modern fit

Love the Berlin blue stripe because it feels a little retro. Comfortable, easily hides bra straps and it's the perfect mix of not clingy and not baggy. For some reason that's a combo that's difficult to find and at 5'2" it's not too long!

July 23, 2020

Comfy summer tank

I like this tank for doing work around the house, walking, anything that will warm me up. It is pretty lightweight great for summer. When it arrived the arm holes seemed huge and stuck out awkwardly but after a wash seems to fit more normal. I wear with a sports bra underneath.

July 12, 2020

The Perfect Tank Top!

In my humble opinion this is the perfect tank top! Perfect weight fabric, perfect length (which I have difficulty finding), the pocket adds a cute touch, perfect neckline (not too low or too high), flattering fit, layers easily - under a casual jacket, cardigan sweater, or even a blazer for business Zooms! I have all the colors and will buy more wh... Read Moreen made. For size reference, I'm 5'10", 145 lbs, 36-28-38, and bought a Small. Patagonia clothes often run short on me as they seem made for shorter people but this top is great! I always buy a Medium in Pat Slim Fit, and Small in Pat Reg Fit. This tank washes well but I always air dry because I don't want it to shrink in length. Great job, and more colors please!

June 24, 2020

Love these tank tops!!

I am already a huge fan of the Mainstay Tee and when I saw that they used the same material to make a tank top I was SO EXCITED! I love how breathable and comfortable these tank tops are and they are great for workouts!

May 27, 2020

Disappointed

I ordered three of these tops and tried them on quickly and threw them in the wash before I wore them. I am sorry to say this top did not live up to my Patagonia expectations. My biggest complaint is the seam around the arm opening. Instead of being flat felted like the neck is, it is raised and the stitching irritated my armpit when I wore it out ... Read Moregardening. It also does not lie flat after being washed. I would return them all, but as I said I washed them right away in my excitement of wearing my new garments. I feel I could have gotten this quality for far less money at a discount store.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2020

Hi Susan, we're really sorry that the seam around the arm opening is causing you discomfort. Please note that you are still welcome to return them even if you have already washed them. We went ahead and emailed you with the instructions. Thanks for your review!

May 8, 2020

Cute Tank Top

I like this tank top. It's cute, thin and light weight. It fits really nice too. Just a good staple for summer or spring with a fleece.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches