Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Mainstay Tee

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 75 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Mainstay Tee

4.8/5
True To Size
November 12, 2021

See-through

The t-shirt is quite nice, but is see-through and too thin for what I was looking for. I bought it especially because it has a pocket. The fit was fine.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2021

Hey Wendy, thanks for the review and for bringing this to our attention. We do have a similar style that will not be quite as sheer that you may be interested in. It's our [Women's Work Pocket Tee](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-work-pocket-tee/53415.html?dwvar_53415_color=STYM&cgid=root), check it out!

November 11, 2021

Perfect T-Shirt

I am usually a large but I don't like a fitted look. Despite the fact I ordered an XL this tee has a feminine fit. I love the charcoal color and it is super comfortable, versatile. You can use the XL to tie a knot in the back for a fun look.

November 2, 2021

Comfortable, but needs longer sleeves.

I bought it for the breathable fabric, the color, and the small pocket to hold my mask. This t-shirt has cap sleeves. If that changed to longer t-shirt sleeves, I'd own a dozen.

October 27, 2021

happy with the fabric

The fabric is comfortable; I like the cut and the shirt has a good drape; it doesn't cling. I wear it in warm weather and layer it when it's colder.

October 25, 2021

Favorite shirt!

Love how this can be so easily paired with jeans or joggers. Its my go to tshirt!

October 25, 2021

Super Comfy and Soft Basic Tee

Highly recommend. Much wow. 10/10. LOVE this tee. I own three of them now. They are super soft and comfy. Great for layering in a cute Fall/Spring outfit or for lounging. Or anything really. Throw on with shorts. Hence the name mainstay, I suppose... I wear a Patagonia size medium and it fits very true to size. It fits a little loose in a perfect &... Read Morequot;I'm really comfortable and not trying too hard, but am still really cute in my tee and jeans, casual" kinda way. Pair with gold hoops to spice up the look.

October 20, 2021

Great everyday tee!

I loved this tee so much I bought it in several colors. It's a comfortable, stylish go-to tee for around the house and around town. I'm just over 5'7", 160 lbs and an extra small fits well (I tend to prefer smaller, form fitting shirts).

October 9, 2021

Perfect T

Love the cotton, lightweight but not too thin. We need more colors. Please bring back the light blue

September 24, 2021

Favorite tee

I have 2 of these and intend to try more bc I like the weight, fabric and look of these. I am going to try an XS even tho the S is fine. I look forward to seeing these in more colors.

September 24, 2021

Great for casual every day wear.

Great fit. Washes well and is cool and comfortable.

September 23, 2021

Best Tee

These are the best tees for workouts and hiking. Love the feminine design and the fabric, always great colors to choose from, and long-lasting.

September 19, 2021

Best Tshirt ever!

My all time favorite tee! I have it in every color they make and two in some colors. Pocket sits just right, light as air, perfectly cut and quick drying. Durable so far. Might be my favorite staple.

September 6, 2021

Runs small

Ive tried both medium and large sizes. Even with size large it was too tight in the bust. Seems the shirt is designed more for men, who have less or no breast.

September 5, 2021

the plain tee of my dreams

Love the fit, love the length, love the sleeves.

August 27, 2021

My new favorite tee!

I've been on a quest for the perfect t-shirt. One that's lightweight, but not see-through with a flattering fit that's not too body-hugging and a neckline that doesn't plunge too low. This is IT! It looks and feels just as great with yoga pants or running shorts as it does with a cute skirt. It packs well. The colors are fantast... Read Moreic. I love it so much, I've ordered one in every color!

August 22, 2021

Mainstay is my mainstay

I wear at least one or two of these tees on a daily basis. They are my go to for the gym, hiking, and running. They are equally at home doing errands around town. The only downsides I have noticed are some pilling under pack straps. I also find the white one too shear. Grab them in all your favorite colors!

August 19, 2021

Perfect fit.

I love this shirt and have it in two colors. I had to restrain myself from buying more, it's the perfect weight and feel, love the pocket, love the way it fits.

July 23, 2021

Soft, simple and great fit!

I love the fabric, its soft and lightweight ( I hate heavy fabric tees). I wear it all the time!

July 22, 2021

The name says it all!

Its a mainstay for casual wear! I often struggle with t-shirts being an awkward length, too short or too long and clingy. This is just right.

July 18, 2021

Very cute

Very nice material, great fit. I haven't worn it much yet to say how it holds over time but so far I'm satisfied.

July 16, 2021

Love this tee.

Love this tee--was so happy when they were re stocked. I have four. Perfect for casual and dressing up under a jacket--jewelry optional!

July 8, 2021

This shirt is very well made!

After working out with a trainer for 5+ years, my work shirts were getting tight across the back & chest. I guess all that muscle was bulking up my upper body - which is a good thing. This year I needed to switch out my work shirts for something larger. I probably could have gone with a Patagonia Medium, but the large is VERY comfortable and is... Read More not as "clingy" as the medium would have been. They wash up beautifully and come out of the dryer looking brand new. I almost ordered used shirts to save the money, but decided to treat myself to full price/new product. I am glad I did - This is my first experience with ordering from Patagonia on line, and I am very pleased with the service.

July 5, 2021

Super soft great fit

The fabric is great! Soft and somewhat stretchy. Washes beautifully in cold water and warm dryer. No shrinkage! Love the length which comes to my hip bone. The colors are great too!

June 29, 2021

Great T-shirt

Comfy t-shirt. Will buy additional colors.

June 25, 2021

Great Fit!

I love these shirts (I own a bunch of colors). They fit just right - not too tight, not too loose. The material is super soft, and comfortable to wear, it works well for biking, hiking, and I wear them to work too!

June 17, 2021

Comfortable Lightweight T

The fit is perfect for me (5'3'). I like the light weight fabric fabric and the style, including the small pocket and the neckline, which is not too low or too high. Great summer shirt ... but I need more color choices!

June 14, 2021

Best. T-shirt. Ever.

I have seven of these now. Seriously. I'm 5'11" weigh 160 lbs and buy the XL so they are loose. I wear them to work as a river restoration non-profit professional. I wear them to ride my horses. I wear them to relax. They are light, dry quickly, fantastic details - love the pocket, the neckline is perfect, love the little tab at the ... Read Moreback to hang from. Good colors - brown...a rich brown would be nice. The lighter colors are slightly see through, so if that is not your thing, buy the dark ones. As long as you leave enough for me...I may need more.

May 20, 2021

Neat and polished

This t-shirt is a neat and polished casual-wear shirt. I bought it in three colors! It is true to size and offers good coverage. It's a step up from just an ordinary t-shirt, but it's still comfy and functional.

May 16, 2021

Amazing shirt

I love this shirt. Its comfortable and flattering. After I received this shirt I ordered it in 2 more colors! I like the cut and fit. So far it has held up to wear and is washing well.

May 14, 2021

Overall Great

Great fit and flattering for casual wear. I now have it in 4 colors.

May 12, 2021

Love this shirt

I have several color variations

May 11, 2021

Mainstay tee

Great summer tee very light and soft.

May 1, 2021

Mainstay tee

Perfect fit great style amazing material

April 30, 2021

Just Right

This tee is a great casual wardrobe staple. I wear it for daily walks, hiking, and Pilates. The fabric is so comfortable. I like the "feminine" sleeves and the colors are fantastic.

April 29, 2021

Soft and cottony

I have one black and one light/off white mainstay tee. As others have noted, the light is see through-ish, but with a light colored bra underneath it works for me. I normally wear medium but the small was perfect - not slim, but not baggy, long enough to tuck in, looks great untucked as well. The cotton blend errs on the side of cotton, is soft and... Read More feels great. All around a win!!

April 27, 2021

Great tee

I have ordered these for three years now. They are cool in hot weather, great for travel as they dry super fast, and the sleeves are not boxy looking. I love the taupe color this year. These shirts last and last and need no special care. I am between a medium and large in size. I dont like my tee shirts tight so I am happy with the large. I tried t... Read Morehe medium, but I am in my 70s and the medium, while an overall okay fit, just fit a little too tight in the wrong places.

April 26, 2021

Sof-TEE

This is a great shirt to lounge around in. Super soft and comfy feel, like you, 've had it for years and is a staple piece. The women's cut is nice, that's why I didn't go down in sizing for this - usually I'm between an XS and S but I don't like my shirts to fit too tight. This one is great with jeans and can be a nic... Read Moree layer for climbing or biking. Doesn't wick sweat, but feels great against your skin.

April 23, 2021

Basic White T

This is one of the best basic white t-shirts I've ever owned. It fits great, feels great, washes great, and looks great. Casual and 'nice', too!!

April 19, 2021

Love these t shirts

Bought 2 st first as I thought they looked lightweight for hot weather. I have broad shoulders so I get XL. When I found the fit was perfect, I ordered 4 more. They wash/dry well with no shrinking and the colors are great. Phone fits in pocket.

April 7, 2021

Soft and comfortable

This is a great shirt for layering or for wearing in warm weather. I'd like more colors!

April 6, 2021

The best tee I've ever worn

I love this tee so much that I came back and ordered one in every color! The fit is perfection. Not too snug, not too baggy. The fabric is so soft and lightweight, but not so lightweight as to be see-through (as many lightweight shirts are). The colors are pretty. These are the perfect layering piece but can also be worn as a stand-alone top. I tru... Read Morely am in love with this tee.

April 6, 2021

Perfect!

Love this top!

April 5, 2021

Perfect.

Perfect daily tee. The size is dead on, not too big or too tight, not too short or too long. I thought the cut of the sleeves would look too girly, but it's just right. This shirt + borrowed graphics & colors from the mens would be a slam dunk.

March 24, 2021

Nice fit, material, and colors

These are simple shirts, but they fit well, have nice colors, are cool, and wash well. I especially like the shape of the sleeves, and the neck is not too high or too low. The fit is neither baggy nor tight, it's just right. The Dyno White has a nice subtle leaf pattern. These are now my go-to simple short-sleeved tee.

March 1, 2021

Give Me All the Black T-Shirts

I really like this shirt. I like that it has a pocket, it is super soft, and it's a great basic everyday shirt. I wish it was longer and had slightly longer sleeves. I LOVE that it is available it black! Patagonia is lacking in women's black top options. Please make more black items: long sleeve, short sleeve, sweaters, jackets...all the ... Read Morethings.

December 31, 2020

Great Basic

This is a nice casual basic shirt that was loose fitting on me (5'7" 135). I was concerned about the white shirt being see through but it is fine if you were a neutral color bra!

December 13, 2020

Mainstay tops rock

Love the entire line. This is my go to warm weather top. Washes many times still looks great. I have almost every color and cant wait for the new season. I like it a bit loose so get the XL. Shape stays and doesnt grow. Normal nice fit.

November 18, 2020

Cool when it hot

Best summer top. Great layer. Black looks dressy. Light white very thin see through. Love the stripes. Add a nano vest as evening breeze kicks up. Love all Mainstay tops

September 29, 2020

Super comfy

This top is feels great to wear, lightweight and airy. Great for working out in the field or hiking. Looks good too.

September 17, 2020

Comfortable, great print

I really like this shirt. The peach slice print is really fun- more fun than a plain color. Out of the box, I hoped it would have a softer feel and initially thought I might return it, but when I put it on it felt great. It seems to wick moisture better than you might expect from a cotton blend. Comfort outside in mild PNW heat was my main goal fo... Read Morer the shirt as I use it mostly on hikes or in other outdoor settings. I would get another one if I needed more outdoor options but I think I am set for now.

September 15, 2020

Perfect Fit

I have older verison of this tee, and for some reason this one seems a bit smaller - which I love. It's not too tight, but def just a little more fitted than one I bought 2 or 3 years ago. I am 105 lbs and 5'4 and an XS was a perfect not too lose but not too tight fit. This blue color is super sharp looking too.

September 13, 2020

Favorite comfortable tshirt!

Majority of my wardrobe is Patagonia. Mainstay is my favorite comfortable wear. Please, please, please, could you offer MORE PRINTS, as well as MORE COLORS, available more often than the seasons!!! Weve been patiently waiting for such a long time...

September 13, 2020

Great fabric

I love this smooth material. Not cling-y, not too thick or thin. Flattering fit. Bought the medium for 5'9" and 155 lbs. Beautiful blue color. Hip length is perfect. Sleeves could be an inch longer for this 65 yr old. No shrinkage at all, but I hang to dry. Looks like it will last a good long time.

September 9, 2020

The Perfect T-shirt

Do not stop making this t-shirt! Perfect fit, length, can't get enough of them. I have every color and 3 white ones!!

September 7, 2020

Versatile T

I love this lightweight T, so great for hot weather. The fabric is great and it washes beautifully. It comes out of the dryer wrinkle free and is nice enough to wear with dressier pants or skirt.

September 7, 2020

comfy, great fit

I like the length of the sleeves--not too short and not too long and the gentle curve in at the torso fit. soft after one washing I am an XS, 100# 5'1"

September 3, 2020

Easy care, easy wear

I love Patagonia's Mainstay Tees. They are comfortable, work well with layers, and easy care.

September 3, 2020

perfect in every way

Soft and fit well.

September 3, 2020

Good shirt overall

I was looking for a lightweight shirt for summer hikes in the desert. It's a great fabric and a good fit, super comfy. My only complaint is that after I wore it three times it developed a small hole, perhaps from a snag on a tree branch? This could be due in part to my own error, but all the same, it was somewhat flimsy fabric if the hole appe... Read Moreared that quickly after contact with a branch so insignificant I don't recall it happening.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. All of our gear is backed by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're welcome to send it in for a [warranty evaluation](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 2, 2020

Comfortable and stylish

This shirt is so comfortable and sized correctly for a well-tailored relaxed fit (not overly baggy or too tight). I wear a small and am 5'6" average build, smaller chest. The shirt fits well in the shoulders and then has a looser fit around the midsection which is flattering tucked-in or worn loose.

September 2, 2020

Perfect fit, good colors, and easy care

Almost my entire line of clothing is Patagonia. I'm 77 and have a very full life with a little grandson with me and my husband every afternoon. We're really lucky to have Patagonia in our life. I did send back two shirts that didn't work for me early this summer. I never heard back about a refund for them. Otherwise I have no issues ... Read Moreat all with Patagonia. We're even starting to buy clothing for the newest generation now.

September 2, 2020

The Perfect Tee

The Mainstay is the absolute perfect tee. As a short individual (5'1") I appreciate so much that this tee is not overly long. It's slightly tapered without being fitted, and also avoids being boxy. The neckline is wide/open enough that it never bothers me or feels uncomfortable. Fabric is light but not so much that lighter colors are... Read More too transparent. Overall well-fitted, comfortable tee. I own this shirt in several colors, as well as in the 3/4 sleeve version!

September 2, 2020

Great Lightweight Shirt

I love this shirt and have it in Green and Blue. If Patagonia made more solid colors, I'd buy them. The pocket is useless so that could go but it's overall a great shirt.

August 28, 2020

perfect

This is the perfect T-shirt. It looks ordinary, but the fit is perfect and it wears like iron. No pilling, no weird wide belling at the bottom, and it's beautifully cool in the hottest weather. The fabric is paper thin, but durable. I've washed the shirt at least one hundred times, abused the poor shirt, but it keeps coming back fresh.

August 15, 2020

Great design

This shirt is very flattering-I love it for that reason. Downside is the material is very lightweight and very soon after buying it and washing it, it got little holes in the bottom of them, all of them. So I wear them with a camisole underneath cause theyre very expensive. Really saddening because the fit is so terrific. Im buying some more to kee... Read Morep for dressy /casual get togethers not for everyday use.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2020

Hey Lisa, thank you for posting this feedback on the fit and fabric. All of our gear is covered by our ironclad guarantee and you're welcome to [Return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shirts for warranty.

June 24, 2020

LOVE LOVE LOVE THESE SHIRTS!

I am not a fan of the hot summers and these shirts are the perfect solution! They are lightweight, breathable, and comfortable. I also love that you can dress them up or down, and I have worn them to work on more than one occasion. PLEASE make more colors! I wear these year-round and have a variety of colors. I tend to stay away from the light colo... Read Morered shades though because they are typically see through. Aside from that love the colors, comfort, and durability of these shirts!

June 5, 2020

Comfy Staple

I love this shirt. I bought in green and am back for more colors. It is lightweight, soft and flattering. The little pocket adds a nice touch. I like that it is not skin tight, but not boxy. I am 56 and 130, my normal size small was perfect.

May 15, 2020

Bummed

The white is completely see through and Im so sad about it. BUT it does fit nicely, and I have a darker color in this same shirt that you cant see through, so I have to give credit where its due.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the white material is see-through! If you decide you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us, please feel free to do so. We appreciate the feedback on this.

May 7, 2020

Comfy and light

I love this shirt. It feels a bit like wearing an old t-shirt but doesnt look that way. It is definitely thin and I can understand the comments that it is see-through in the lightest colors. I chose darker colors. I have a 40 chest and wider shoulders from climbing and the large fits well...theres some room around my waist and my shoulders arent co... Read Morenstrained but it also doesnt look overly baggy.

May 1, 2020

Lightweight But See-Through

The Mainstay Tee with the Ahnya Full-Zip Hoody and Pants is my go-to for lounge and sleepwear. The weight of this tee makes it the perfect choice on a hot summer day or night! The shirt fabric is so thin that it is slightly see-through, though. (I have white and Melons: Light Vela Peach, which is super cute and fun!) Because of this, I only wear th... Read Moreis tee when I'm at home.

April 30, 2020

Fabric breakdown

These Mainstay Tee shirts are perfect for hot SoCal summers. They breathe, theyre cool and super comfy. They wash and dry beautifully. I own at least a dozen in various colors and sleeve lengths. Im having a major problem with the fact that the fabric breaks down on the front at the waist. Ive exchanged at least 4 of these for that reason. I though... Read Moret perhaps it was just a fluke. Ive continued having the same problem. I finally figured out what is causing this problem. It's my jeans waistband when Im driving; the seatbelt rubs against the tee shirt which rubs against my jeans waistband. I try to remember to pull the tee shirt over the seatbelt when I drive but its difficult to remember to do this every time I buckle up. Needless to say, I wont be buying any more Mainstay Tee shirts until Patagonia improves the quality of this product. I feel like Im stuck with at least a dozen of an inferior product. This really bums me out. Ive been a dedicated Patagonia shopper since the early 1980s. I have a closet full of Patagonia outerwear. Ill still continue to promote Patagonia products to anyone who will listen. Ill continue buying Patagonia products but just no more Mainstay Tees. Thanks for 30 years of amazing outerwear!

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

Hi Cecilia, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the quality issues that you've experienced with the Mainstay material. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew. Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shirt under warranty.

April 24, 2020

PERFECT - PLEASE MAKE MORE STAPLE COLORS

Great fitting tee with a cute pocket. Very soft. My only regret is not ordering more colors. Patagonia - PLEASE make this tee in more colors like navy, cobalt, different grays, olive green, red, maybe black with a colored pocket?! It would be great to have this tee in more staple colors rather than more of the "summer" shades which can ... Read Morebe fun but a little more difficult to match/wear year around.

March 15, 2020

Perfect T-Shirt: plain white shirt warning

LOVE. Cannot stress this enough, I LOVE this t-shirt. Im 5 foot 3 inches, around 135/140lbs and the medium fits perfectly for what I want it for. I love shirts that I can just throw on and not worry its gonna be too snug on chill day, and this is that shirt! I got the plain white shirt on a sale and my only warning is that you will need to wear an ... Read Moreunder shirt/tank top/bando for the plain white shirt. Its slightly see-through but for me it isn't a problem. I will defiantly be ordering another soon!

March 9, 2020

Perfect all around shirt

I initially bought this shirt in 3 colors. I loved it so much that I bought it in 4 more. Its soft and comfy.

February 3, 2020

Best T-Shirt Ever Made

I have been wearing these T-Shirts for a while now, and they have lasted through so many washes and wears and stayed in shape. I don't know how they do it but these do not shrink. I make sure to tumble or hang dry but a few times I have forgotten and they went to though a dry cycle but were fine. They are thin and can be worn all summer withou... Read Moret getting too hot. I want to buy every single color . I am 5'9 160 I wear a M.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches