burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipses50th logo50th logo50th logo50th logopro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary profilenavigation primary profilenavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

Women's Mainstay Tee Reviews

Write Your Review

3.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 50 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Mainstay Pocket Tee

3.4/5
True To Size
March 24, 2023

Tee is a staple

These are staples in my closet and I own 3. I have a medium from a few years ago and 2 smalls. They are not fitted and I that is fine by me. The smalls fit me better and 80% of the time I wear a medium in Patagonia tops. I will repurchase if I need another but they hold up well to washing/drying and dry pretty quickly if hand washing when camping... Read More.

March 17, 2023

Comfy and soft

I like a loose fit that's not baggy and this t is perfect. Comfortable neckline too.

March 15, 2023

Silky soft

The name of thr product says it all. It is my summer mainstay shirt. This silhouette drapes so nicely and fits beautifully.

March 14, 2023

Bigger than Before

I like this T because it is cotton. I have many owned in previous years, and of course still have them. They wash up well. I like it shorter because I wear tights and it isn't bunched up because there is a lot to tuck in. I would prefer the previous neckline. I agree with some that it should be more fitted and hope there is a redesign for that... Read More.

February 11, 2023

Bring back the mainstay

Please bring back the old mainstay tee. It was my go to t-shirt. I own several and I am due for a refresh. This new one is too short, boxy, wide neck, and basically a totally different shirt. How about making it new sku and bringing back the classic mainstay? Thanks

January 30, 2023

The Perfect T-Shirt

Feels soft and looks good. What else would you wish for!

January 29, 2023

Loved this shirt so much

Loved this shirt so much that I bought a second one. I know a lot of people don't like this new cut as much as the older version but I don't have that to compare it too and really love how this one fits. I am 5-3/120lbs and bought the medium because I wanted a looser fit and its perfect.

November 6, 2022

Perfect Tee

I love this tee shirt! It fits perfectly and it's soft. I bought almost every color. Hoping for more color options so I can get more. It's durable and goes well with shorts and pants.

October 29, 2022

Cute

Well fitting casual tee. I am tall with a long torso and find the length is good for me. No too short.

October 4, 2022

Please bring back previous version of this tee

The 2022 tee is approximately 2-3" wider in the trunk area, and approximately 2" shorter than the 2021 off-white tee. This makes for a boxier shirt that is just simply not flattering. Also the crew neckline is larger than before. I prefer the smaller crew neckline. The 2021 tees fit like a glove-- I seriously wear these everywhere, for ... Read Moreall of my workouts, under all my flannels and jackets. The fabric is unmatched. I just simply LOVED how you used to make these.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hello Sasha! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit changes. We did redesign this shirt for Spring 22'. That said, we'll share your feedback regarding the changes with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 2, 2022

Simple but stylish

This piece looks so simple but its beautifully constructed and drapes so well. It can be dressed up or down. I have this piece in 3 colors and its my go to.

September 20, 2022

Need one in every color!

This is by far the BEST t-shirt out there. The fit is right on, the sleeves are cut beautifully to accentuate the upper arm above the biggest part of the biceps (think Michelle Obama), neckline is perfect, and the weight is fantastic for hot weather. Colors are colorfast. I have 5 of these shirts! LOVE THEM.

September 20, 2022

Two versions of Mainstay

I have worn the Mainstay tee for several years and always loved it. I own 8 of these tees! However, there appears to be a new version that has a very different fit. For starters the neckline has gone from more of a crew neck to a scoop neck. The newer fit is an inch or two shorter, has a larger pocket, and now includes side slits. Overall, just fee... Read Morels smaller for the same shirt, in the same size. Will be returning the 2 new versions I just purchased. Why change a good thing? Please bring back the previous fit! FYI, the model is wearing the newer fit. Several of the shirts in the color option photos appear to be the previous fit. I rated this 1 star because it is deceptive to sell 2 different products under the same name. They are not the same!!!

September 18, 2022

Please bring back older version!

Joining others here to express my disappointment with the redesign, which is too short, has overly large pocket, and needless side vents. Old shirt was the perfect Mainstay for my wardrobe. Now it has gone back, sadly, as a return.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Karen. We will pass it along to our product designers. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative you'll be happier with!

September 13, 2022

Flattering and comfortable

It's a really nice fit, nice enough to wear to work, and the color looks great with many shorts/pants

September 8, 2022

My favorite shirt!

These are a summer staple for me that I wear daily. I have been buying these for years and have them in many colors. Just as a small complaint with the new design...I actually prefer the collar on the older version as it lays flat a little better. Love the new colors with the new design!

September 6, 2022

Very satisfied

Its light, cool and comfortable to wear, I have several, I use it every day. They wash well, I dont put it in the dryer, I hang dry them, and it never lose it shape. Very well made.

September 4, 2022

Awful redesign

Along with all the others the redesign last year was TERRIBLE. Its obvious from the photos that there has been another redesign but it isnt obvious what has been changed. Before we waste time and money on ordering and returning, Patagonia please tell us what has been updated. Without that being clear my review is based on last years version. Its bo... Read Morexy and unflattering with a great fabric.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Hey Alex, thank you for the review. We're sorry for the frustrating shopping experience, and have passed your suggestions along to our web team for further consideration. In the meantime, please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you suspect there has been a redesign and we'd be happy to give you all the details. It looks like the last redesign for this tee was in Spring '22. We removed external branding, shortened the length and gave it an overall shorter fit than previous versions.

September 3, 2022

Redesign fail

Mainstays *were* my holy grail. I literally got compliments on a white tee shirt, multiple times! I have probably six that are still standing after years of wear, but I always want more. Unfortunately, this redesign is the nightmare I've been anticipating in this frustrating Age of Cropping. This new cut is unflattering for a start *and* impra... Read Morectical in that I would have to be fussing with it and thinking about it whether it's riding up while doing things like setting up camp, portaging, etc. Exactly the antithesis of what I expect from Patagonia gear. PLEASE just bring back the old fit. Have a "Classic Mainstay" version and have "Crop Mainstay" version if you must, but please, pretty please, give us back the best tee that ever was.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

We're very sorry that the new design is disappointing and we appreciate your feedback. Your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we welcome you to return it to our [Patagonia-owned store in your area](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/). You might prefer the length and design of our Women's Side Current Tee or Work Pocket Tee. Thank you for your review, Gina!

September 2, 2022

Mainstay tee

I bought 3 colors in the original style shirt and I was overjoyed that a t shirt could fit as well and also maintain its shape after multiple washings. Please bring back the original shirt and I will purchase every color. I wear it casually as well as under a jacket for work.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Hi Laura! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes made. That said, we appreciate the request to bring back the original style and we'll share this with our design team.

August 21, 2022

Good Shirt

I have bought this t shirt from the very beginning. I have noticed some of the reviews and yes this design is different. It takes getting used to. What people are complaining about regards to length, I disagree. I wear shorts from Lulu-lemon in the summer and tights in the winter. (California) The tight fit of the bottoms causes me to have to tuck... Read More the shirt in and it bunches up with a longer shirts that the original shirts are. I like the shorter style and even would like it a little shorter. The size xs I do is bigger and would like to see that sized down more like the original. The larger pocket you can actually put things in and it covers my breast in a good way. Overall it is good. A little smaller cut when making the next batch is what I would like though. I cannot size down on a xs. I love you Patagonia. <3

August 19, 2022

Great style

This is the first Mainstay t-shirt I&#x27;ve purchased and I love it. I read many of the previous reviews and it seems people are not happy with whatever changes were made. I love the neckline (not so typical high t-shirt crew neck) and side slits. I haven&#x27;t washed it yet- if it shrinks, I will be unhappy, as it will be too short. I usually do... Read Moren't put t-shirts in the dryer so we'll see. This has some polyester in it so that make minimize any shrinkage.

July 31, 2022

Great go to t-shirt

I have several of these shirts because they are so versatile!

July 18, 2022

New Design Is a No Go

This has been my favorite t-shirt for years and I have several in different colors. The new design has a larger neck opening, slits on the side, shorter sleeves, wider chest width, and a shorter length. Not flattering and I hope you return to the old design, which, when combined with the colors and fabric, was nearly perfect for a daily t-shirt.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear that we missed the mark with this redesign. We always hope we are taking a step forward when we redesign a product but do apologize for the disappointment this change may have brought you. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

July 16, 2022

The Perfect Tee

Got a whole bunch of them this late spring and they fit so well that I have not wore any other t-shits. Soft and quality cotton.

July 15, 2022

Hate the update

I have a few of these tees and they've been my go to favorite shirt. I ordered one with the recent update, hated it & returned it. The neck line is weird, not the class crew I loved; also the pocket is huge! The new style isnt flattering at all! Just looks sloppy.

June 30, 2022

Love the new style

I perefer the new style over last years its a good fit on my petite body. Great color and fabric as always from Patagonia.

June 22, 2022

Great length!

This length is just perfect! Not to short, not too long.. just right! Love it so much own internet 3 other colors and tried the tank!

June 13, 2022

Mainstay is my mainstay

I have been building my collection of these tees for sometime now. No joke, there were nine of them in my laundry last week. I wear them to do errands, yard work, go to the gym, hiking, running and lounging. The fabric is lightweight, but I have only found the white to be too sheer for my liking. That said if the fabric was any lighter it would not... Read More be a good thing in my opinion. The are great in warm weather, high output activities, indoors or layered. Please bring back the three quarter sleeve version - I love that it feels slightly dressier and works well with vests.

June 10, 2022

cute top

I bought this style because I wanted something simple with no logo. I prefer 100% cotton but was willing to try this. Overall it&#x27;s a nice enough fit, but the body is a bit wider than I&#x27;d like. The shoulders are fitted which is okay. Going up a size is too baggy in the body and sloppy looking. The length of this top is good. Would love to ... Read Moresee other colors.

June 3, 2022

Fit and style have changed

l loved the older version of this tee. Please bring it back. While the fabric feels the same , the fit is not flattering. It is boxy and I do not like side slits. Seems I am not alone. Hopefully my favorite pocket tee will return soon!

June 2, 2022

Re-designed Mainstay Pocket Tee

I read the reviews prior to ordering these ( I have 3 from last year and love them) and was worried I wouldn't like them. I just got them and love the redesign! The relaxed neckline is great and the shortened length is perfect for me, as I am short waisted, so, I actually like this fit better than the old version!

June 2, 2022

Agree with others on boxy fit & desire to bring back old style

I love the quality &amp; color choices but HATE the redesign. Like others have said, it&#x27;s just boxy, a bit shorter in length and also shorter in sleeves. Also I found the tag on the inside of the shirt to be extremely scratchy against my waist. I had to carefully tear it out because any remnants of the tag was scratching my skin. I absolutely... Read More love Patagonia and I'll certainly keep wearing the Mainstay shirts I purchased that are the new version, but I really hope they can bring back the much loved classic style/fit.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2022

Hi Sarah, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the revised Women's Mainstay Pocket Tee. If you find the fit too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

May 29, 2022

Not a fan of the 2022 redesign.

I have six of these tshirts from 2021 that are perfect. Not at all a fan of the shorter length and added side slits in the 2022 redesign. Took a perfect, comfortable basic tee (which is so hard to find) and totally ruined it. Hope to see a change back to the old design in the future.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about your experience with our redesigned Women's Mainstay Pocket Tee. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 28, 2022

Not what it used to be

I used to love this shirt. It was my go to for travel and just something casual to wear. I am disappointed my the new upgrade. The shirt is boxy now. The pocket is larger, the sleeves and length are shorter, and now there are side slits. Please, please, please bring back the old design. It was extremely flattering and comfy to wear. I was looking f... Read Moreorward to adding new colors to my collection, but sadly I will be returning these.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2022

Hi Lindsay! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes. We truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design crew.

May 25, 2022

beautiful material and color and fit

Beautiful material (soft) and color and fit. Exactly what I need for the summer months. Will buy some more in different colors

May 18, 2022

Changed the design

I bought 2 of these shirts for the summer. I didnt realize the design changed. The fit is now boxy and shorter. The fabric is great and the colors beautiful. I preferred the old style which was my go to summer shirt. If I buy more I will go down to size medium because of the fit.

May 14, 2022

Disappointed

Have numerous of these T-shirts that I love. Do not like the new ones at all, please bring back the old style. Hate the shorter sleeves and the boxy shape.

May 8, 2022

Bring back old style

This new design is a poor fit on me. Too short and boxy. Was hoping for new colors in the old version of the shirt which was perfect. Please consider bringing that back with these color options. Thank you

Response from Patagonia
May 11, 2022

Hello, thank you for providing us with this feedback on our Mainstay Pocket Tee. The main difference that has been noted on the newest version of this shirt is shorter length and a slimmer fit. The style is currently measuring smaller than intended but it is slated to have that issue corrected for Fall '22. It sounds like the length was the main issue for you. You might be interested in checking out our [Women's Side Current Tee](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-side-current-tee/52425.html?dwvar_52425_color=SGRY&cgid=root) which is a similar style but a bit longer.

May 5, 2022

see description below

I agree with many of the reviewers regarding last year&#x27;s design of this tee shirt. I have 6 or 7 of these in size small from last year. They are my absolute favorite tee shirts....the light feel of the fabric, the design and fit are perfect for me. Saw a difference in the new design and read the reviews before I purchased the blue color which ... Read MoreI love. Will not purchase it now. Don't want shorter sleeves, larger neck, shorter length and slits on the bottom. Please go back to old design!

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback. Although we wish to make every revision a step forward, sometimes we can miss the mark. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about these new revisions. We have passed this information along to our Design Team.

April 25, 2022

Just Okay

I own several older mainstay tees. I returned 2 of these new tees and exchanged a third for a smaller size because I like the medium blue color. The XS fits well enough to keep, but I agree with several of the other reviews about the changes, so for me this shirt is just okay. I hope you will go back to the old design of this tee!

April 22, 2022

Flexible as a layering piece!

I live in my Mainstay T-shirts. They are well designed, well proportioned, comfortable, washable, and I like the colors.

April 21, 2022

Love

thankful someone finally removed that label at the side that stuck out , I always cut it off of this basic T and now its gone! yay!! the large fits perfect , I can wear a medium also but prefer the looser fit on the large, the side vents don&#x27;t seem to fit the vibe of this T but they are a nice detail, I&#x27;ll be purchasing more of this basic... Read More great fitting T more colors please and thank you

April 6, 2022

Fit has changed in 2022 version

I have 8 different colors of the previous version. I wear them almost every day and they are the best fitting, most comfortable shirts I have found. This new version is wider, shorter, and has slits on the sides. They are not flattering and will be going back. Im sad my favorite shirts are gone!

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2022

Hey there Leah! Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our Patagonia Women's Mainstay Pocket Tee. We're sorry to hear that we dropped the ball on this revision. We are noticing that this item is running a bit smaller than intended and we will be correcting this issue for the Fall 2022 season release. Please feel free to go [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to set up a return if needed. And please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions regarding items sizing, and we will be happy to help!

April 4, 2022

Bring Back the Original

I have 7 Mainstay T-shirts. I live in this shirt and was excited to buy some new colors. I had no idea that the whole shirt has been remade. The sleeves are shorter, the length is shorter, and the pocket is way bigger!! Who needs a larger pocket on their chest?! At least the fabric is the same and I love the fabric, so I gave it 3-stars. Sadly, I r... Read Moreeturned all of the new ones I purchased. Hopefully, next season you will return to the great basic tee you already made.

April 3, 2022

Redesign :(

I have 5 of these tees purchased last year. I ordered 3 more this year not knowing the design was different. The new ones have slits at the bottom of the side seams, the seam does not lay flat right above the slits. The neckline is a little lower, the sleeves are a little more flared. The overall fit is loose. The older ones are great for memy favo... Read Morerite tees. The new ones might be good for some, tho. I am returning these and hoping I can find the older style from other retailers.

Response from Patagonia
April 4, 2022

We're sorry this redesign is a miss for you, Clare! We will share this with our product design team. Please let us know if we can be of any help with that return, and thank you for this feedback!

April 1, 2022

Love it!

This shirt fits me incredibly well. I&#x27;m a 38DDD and finding something that doesn&#x27;t pull across the chest without hanging to my knees is difficult. Most shirts that actually fit across the chest are huge in the shoulders and really long. I have found nirvana with this shirt. Comfy fabric, looks super cute and flattering. Fantastic length i... Read Mores just right as it nicely hides my bit of extra junk in the trunk. I have 5 of the colors and will purchase more. Great job, Patagonia! Thanks for not making every piece of clothing for extremely thin people. Us buxom gals are athletic, too!

April 1, 2022

Pocket is bigger

I love my half dozen Mainstays, but this update's inch-plus wider pocket is not flattering on me.

March 29, 2022

love these shirts but

the fit is great, feel is great, nice lightweight. I have many and wear them all the time. But, why does the fabric pill? i hate that.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hey Jane, thank you for the review. Unfortunately, pilling can be hard to avoid since friction is typically responsible, but luckily it's a pretty easy fix. Check out this [tutorial](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o) to remove the pilling.

March 27, 2022

Boxy unflattering new cut

I have 2-3 of the mainstay tees from the previous generation. Ordered these not knowing they had completely changed the cut. What was once my favorite go to t shirt is now at least two inches shorter and boxy. Going back.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Hi Evelyn, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit didn't appeal to you! We appreciate this feedback, as it’s crucial for improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear this Tee was a disappointment once it arrived. If you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches