burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Farrier's Shirt Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 310 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.6/5
Kinda Large
January 28, 2023

Comfortable, classic look

The quality is evident in the styling, cut and in the weight of the fabric. After getting my first one, I realized that it made my other non-Patagonia flannels feel cheap and I ended up buying the same shirt in a different color. Because of their classic look, these will be in style for years, which is good because they'll last many years from... Read More my estimation.

January 21, 2023

tough

If all of your clothes are built this well you really are true to quality craftsmanship. Heavy, rugged, great buttons. This is the shirt that makes you want to chop wood or work on a car. Love it.

January 19, 2023

Excellent Work Shirt

This shirt is amazing, well built, comfortable and soft on touch, but at the same time very durable. I get many complements at work. I ended up buying two shirts of different colors. Highly recommend this great product!

January 10, 2023

Best work shirt Ive ever purchased.

The best quality work shirt for the money. Runs a little large, I sized down and couldnt be happier with the fit. I will continue to order more has the new colors and patterns come available.

January 6, 2023

Never disappointed!

Awesome shirt! I have one in blue also. I am 6-4, the shirt has plenty of room to move. In addition, the sleeve is perfect for my 38 inch arm length. Hemp is the way to go!!! Super comfortable! Thanks! Joe.

December 30, 2022

Great Shirt!! Don't get it near bleach tho!

Well I will not get into the details that others have other than to say for a 6'6 guy this shirt finally has the sleeve length that I need without going specifically for a tall size, as I have a 90" wingspan and this shirt just fits. Warm, Comfy, resists the wild, there is really not much else to say other than do NOT get this anywhere n... Read Moreear bleach, even household cleaners.

December 30, 2022

Comfy, hard-wearing, very well-made

The fabric in these shirts is absolutely phenomenal. It's not the warmest flannel, but it's very soft with a nice hand to it and breathes very well. Great construction on the seams, solid and appropriately sized metal buttons, very sturdy. Perfect for physical work, the outdoors, and look nice enough to wear when you need to look slightly... Read More less of a slob than normal. They do run very large. I normally buy a large for a snug fit, and a large in this shirt has a definitely "oversized" sort of baggy fit that's nice for work or layering, but if you're wearing this shirt strictly casually, you'll want to size down.

December 25, 2022

Strong and Soft

Excellent Quality Super Soft and Strong at the same time

December 25, 2022

Heavy Duty Comfort

Heavy duty comfort! The shirt is probably 2lbs! Thick. Durable. Although comfortable, needs breaking in and the fit is a size large, maybe 1.5x large. I bought the red, white and desert

December 23, 2022

Very nice shirt

I really like this shirt. The material is soft and warm, but it has structure and strength. I usually wear a size large, but I got a size medium for this shirt and it fits very well. I've only washed it once, so I don't know yet if the material will pill. I hope not, because I really like it. I may get another color in this shirt, like th... Read Moree black.

December 20, 2022

Sizing is not normal.

I have over 25 Patagonia shirts and jackets in size large. I ordered a large and it was way to big, I sent it back and got a medium which fits like every other large that I own.

December 18, 2022

High quality hemp

This shirt is super high quality and comfortable, definitely fits a little large, I'd recommend sizing down especially if you're between sizes. Love the look and feel.

December 14, 2022

New go to shirt

Love the shirt and bought two more. Use it for work as an arborist and casual situations.

November 29, 2022

Nice shirt

Fits well. Warm without being heavy. Looks good. But that can be a problem because I avoid staining or damaging it while working.

November 28, 2022

Great Fit

I've found the "Relaxed Fit" line that Patagonia offers, and it fits this 62 year old man just great !!

November 28, 2022

Great fit quality materials solid

Great fit quality materials solid build! Looks great

November 26, 2022

Thick and I love it!

I love the weight of this. It's heavy and warm. The overall feel is just durable. I love it!

November 24, 2022

Supremely comfortable

Fits perfectly with a touch of extra space, which is welcome. The fabric blend chosen is very soft. My only disappointment is that it is not 100% hemp. I had two Patagonia hemp shirts from back in the late 90s that seemed to have been made from 100% hemp and would like these to be produced again. But, this newer shirt has no flaws at all and is wel... Read Morel-worth the price.

November 16, 2022

Arms too large

I get that this shirt is designed to be loose-fitting, however, the arms are waaay too large to the point of being sloppy, and even with a long-sleeve t shirt underneath. I am 6 foot 2 inches tall, 42 inch chest, 34 inch waist. The shirt I tried on is large size. Rest of shirt fits OK.

November 13, 2022

Best Shop Shirt Ever

This is the best shop shirt ever, hands down. I have the off white with brown pinstripes that is'nt available anymore. This shirt fits so well and functions too, its like an extension of me, I absolutley love it. The metal buttons are great, as well as the expandable pockets. Highly recommend this for the hard working classy man.

November 7, 2022

Great shirt but...

I've bought a couple of these shirts over the years in both Medium and Large. The medium is too small and the large feels like I could jump out of a plane and use it as a parachute. I've bought numerous products before and their fit has been on point but this shirt has been a huge miss from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2022

We're sorry to hear the sizing has been disappointing for this shirt. Our Farrier Shirt is part of our [Workwear line](https://www.patagonia.com/workwear/) and most designs have a more generous "relaxed" fit, so you may wish to choose a different size compared to our "regular" or "slim" fit styles. Thanks for your review and don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions about product or returns or exchanges. We're happy to help!

November 5, 2022

Great shirt, not a great fit

The fabric and model is great, Fit on the other hand not so great. I consider my self a classic men's medium, 151/2" neck, 33" sleeve length. Fit was very generous. Sorry I had to return.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2022

Hey Mike, thank you for providing us with this feedback. If you find the size you purchased to be off in the future, you're welcome to exchange rather than return if that is something of interest. The process is easy, and free of charge. To begin an exchange click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 3, 2022

Tough and Functional

Patagonia is really on to something with this rugged shirt. Well-suited to a larger body, the XL is perfect on my 6'3" frame. Sleeve length is perfect. A great work shirt.

November 3, 2022

Little wonder

Few shirts come up to this level managing to be this satisfying in fit, comfort and durability over time. I've a collection of five at this point. Great material. By design a looser fit all over assuring full freedom of movement. If you manage to get one that fits the way that you want (everyone being on their own here) you can't go wrong... Read More with these. Little (more like NO) wonder that they've been a strong seller and more of a staple for the company since they first appeared.

November 2, 2022

Outstanding shirts. I've Used the

Outstanding shirts. I've Used the same shirt in my wood shop and for yard work for over four years. Wears like iron but very comfortable. I now own four or five of these. Work great as a casual shirt as well.

October 28, 2022

Fantastic Work shirt!

This is quite simply one of the best work shirts I have ever owned. Period. Patagonia does hemp like no one else. That said, this shirt does run slightly large, so a small is more a smedium and medium a melarge, etc. I am a medium and I bought a medium. This is still not a boxy fit overall, the armpit area will feel right, but there is just a littl... Read Moree more length everywhere. This allows for another garment underneath and throwing this on over it to work on horses, build a fire or open a beer. The material is just so cool and the color is totally unique. This became an instant favorite for me.

October 25, 2022

My favorite flannel

This hemp blend shirt is my new favorite shirt for anything short of hot weather. It's warm, durable, soft, and looks great. I love the accented shoulder pattern that turns the plaid 90 degrees. The buttons are metal, which adds to its polish as a workwear staple.

October 18, 2022

Just a perfect shirt for

Just a perfect shirt for my husband. Warm,2 flapped pockets,well styled.

October 15, 2022

Solid well fitting shirt

Quality shirt. Ill be buying more.

October 13, 2022

Heavy duty shirt

I love supporting the hemp industry by purchasing quality products like this shirt. Its heavy duty but also soft and comfy.

October 10, 2022

Great add to the lineup

In true Patagonia tradition they make clothing that is extremely versatile. Wore it as a layer during 3 days fishing in cold and rain then after a quick wash it worked amazing for my business trip. Its build well and expect to hold up well for years!

October 9, 2022

Super solid

Great shirt, feels incredibly solid and durable. Comfortable and warm.

October 7, 2022

Great quality, great customer service, Fit/cut needs updating

BUY TRUE TO SIZE IF YOU ARE AN AVERAGE BUILD. I ordered a pair of these shirts a size down from my normal size (S) per some reviews saying the shirt runs big. It kind of fit but was uncomfortably tight and I couldn't move much. I returned the original size smalls for mediums and they fit great! The exchange came CRAZY FAST within a few days of... Read More sending the old shirts back in. As for the new size: Definitely a relaxed fit with room to move, though the arm holes at the shoulder do feel a bit tight compared to the looser fit of the body of the shirt. This may make it uncomfortable to layer a hoodie under the shirt compared to a loose fit carhartt flannel. Also the collar is a bit small compared to other medium shirts I own, its difficult for me to button the top button. My only other complaint is the straight fit cut on the bottom hem, as it makes it difficult to get into your pants pockets compared to a traditional cut shirt. I don't know why the women's version of the shirt has the regular shirt cut but the men's is straight cut. The pen hole next to the chest pocket is super useful, I tend to put my lab goggles in that hole when I'm not wearing them. The quality is great, the fabric feels halfway between a canvas work shirt and a cotton flannel. Im exited to see how the hemp/poly material ages compared to cotton, hopefully it doesn't shrink quite as much. Not the warmest for its weight but definitely a solid over-shirt for cooler mornings or days working out in the garage in the winter.

September 20, 2022

Very perfect for fishing and

Very perfect for fishing and crabbing in northwest.

September 15, 2022

Work = Effort

This shirt is designed for those of us who take pride in work. The material will withstand any industrial environment. The stichting will withstand repeated abuse. The weight of the shirt will withstand the sharp bite of the early morning frost. Worn over an undershirt for those of us who are comfortable with perspiration, it's a tad large whi... Read Morech I prefer.

September 15, 2022

Sizing is WAY off.

Im 6 foot 4 and 200 lbs. I ordered a size Large and you could almost fit two of me in this shirt, especially the stomach and arms. I have no idea who they are sizing this for.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hi Daniel, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear the relaxed fit of this shirt was too relaxed for you. This shirt does run larger than most of our other shirts. If you ever want to check specific measurements on a garment, like sleeve length, our Customer Service Team will be happy to help. In the meantime, we're happy to see you've returned the shirts that weren't going to work for you. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

September 12, 2022

Great quality, sizing is a bit strange

Ordered two of these shirts a size down from my normal size after reading several reviews saying to do so due to the true to size shirt being too big. I don't know if that works for other people but it did not quite work for me. I usually wear a M but I ordered a S. the shirts fit decent in the body and shoulders, and the sleeves are a good le... Read Morength, but the arm holes are really small for a "work shirt" fit and are uncomfortably tight on my armpits and do not feel like they are proportional to the rest of the shirt, like the rest of the shirt is "relaxed" fit but the arm holes are "skinny" fit. The chest is somewhat tight as well but that is probably more of a function sizing down and of my body than anything else. I will probably try to return one or both shirts and re order a bigger size. So in summary, if you want this to fit true to size, buy a size down, but be ready for small arm holes/ not being able to button the collar. Other than sizing and fit, the materials are great. This feels halfway between a work shirt and a flannel. Thick and tough like a work shirt but somewhat soft like a flannel. It does have a bit of that hemp "itchyness" but I'm sure that will diminish over time. The metal buttons are a great touch and give the shirt a super high quality feel, however I would try to round off the edges of the buttons a bit, as it hurts to push them through the button holes, as the holes are a bit small and the thin edge of the metal button pushes into your finger. The last thing is I'm not a fan of the straight cut hem at the bottom of the shirt. I just prefer a regular hem, as it's easier to get into my side pockets without having to move the shirt out of the way first.

September 7, 2022

Love this shirt. A solid

Love this shirt. A solid product made with thick material. Great room for movement with out extra fabric. Feels like it will last forever .

September 7, 2022

Perfect for logging

I love this shirt in every way but the collar, the collar needs a bit of rigidity. Size is roomy but perfect. Fabric is soft, thick, and breathable.

September 3, 2022

Just the right amount of toughness

The weight of this shirt is such that its tough enough to bear up to the attic/basement crawls that are occasionally required of an electrician, without being too hot & without restricting movement. I also appreciate the flaps on the the chest pockets (which, in my humble opinion should be a feature on any button-up shirt in the work category) ... Read Moreas they keep wire nuts, screws, et cetera from spilling out during a task that requires me to lean over.

August 28, 2022

Beautiful shirt. A size or two bigger than what I am

Beautiful shirt. A size or two bigger than what I am. Also expensive considering it wont fit right so I may need to return. I'm undecided because I like it so much.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2022

Hi John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. That said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 27, 2022

Good fit

The shirt fit well. Soft and thick material. Much softer than a normal work shirt. Will do well in winter months.

August 18, 2022

Comfy and good looking ^^

Its really nice. The construction is really good

August 7, 2022

Very good layering over tshirt

Very good layering over tshirt or hoody, excellent cut and feel, material is durable and nice looking

June 22, 2022

Boxy, comfy, tough

Very nice heavyweight fabric, almost twice as thick as other hickory stripe type workshirts. Could easily be worn as a light jacket, prob not ideal for hot temps. Fit is classic workwear, big and boxy, def size down if you want it more fitted. Great details, metal buttons, pleated chest pockets with pen/gauge holder on each side. Very nice work shi... Read Morert

May 27, 2022

mid weight fabric

nice alternative to a jacket between seasons

May 27, 2022

great fit

generous length in sleeve, great fabric

May 22, 2022

Great Shirt! Runs Big!!

Well constructed, comfortable but runs bigger than other shirts. I normally am a Large and got the Medium. Other than the sizing, love the shirt!

May 12, 2022

Size Down = Perfect Shirt

Be sure to size down, as the fit is a bit wide, and long! I am 6 200lbs and originally got a L, but that turned out to be an *L* as well (old folks: this means a loss, or a bad decision). I swapped it out for a M and the fit is perfect! Is it 55-60* out? Throw on a T-shirt and this long sleeve button down, and it is a perfect outfit with some Ter... Read Morerebonne joggers and crocs. 60-75* out? Rock it without an undershirt and some crocs, and it feels great. 75*+? Cut the sleeves off and pair it with some crocs maybe, then you are in for a good time! All jokes aside, I love this shirt. It is very soft, very sturdy, extremely well-made, and still very comfortable. It is also very versatile: wear it to dinner, wear it while hiking on a cool day, wear while mtn biking, while on a Zoom call with your boss as they are telling you to pick up your performance, etc. It is an awesome shirt! Buy two and give me one!

May 11, 2022

Going to outlive me

Picked this shirt up used from Patagonias Worn Wear, looks perfect. The material is soft but strong, heavy fabric and metal buttons. I got this shirt as a top layer for around the campfire. Looking forward to putting it to hard use for years to come

April 25, 2022

Tough shirt for hard work

Bought the shirt for upcoming Spring chores revolving around cutting timber and stacking wood. Fabric is tough and robust - which I look to Patagonia for - and the shirt kept me warm in early Spring cool mornings. The fabric did not abrade while carrying pine tree limbs, or tossing cinder blocks. Took the shirt for a weekend on the Appalachian Trai... Read Morel, and it was great in the woods. Like it so much, I bought one for my son for his birthday.

April 25, 2022

Perfect work shirt

I am a residential electrician that specializes in making practically condemnable homes pass code and be worthy for sale. That job requires me to work long hours in unpleasant spaces. Quite a bit of crawlspace and attic work. This shirt is amazing in all ways. It's very durable, comfortable, versatile and (Icing on the cake) dust really doesn&... Read More#x27;t stick to it. I come crawling out of a insulation full attic and all I need to do is shake it off and it's clear of all the spicy little glass hairs. I highly recommend this shirt. Also, I felt like before this shirt I went though a contactors pack of pencils and markers a week (I carry one of each at all times). The little pencil pockets really come in clutch, haven't misplaced a pencil since and I'm a pocket tee guy already. Thanks Patagonia, you're Hemp wear is the bee's knees

April 19, 2022

Thick but breathable

Great quality

April 18, 2022

Warm

This is warm & very comfortable. A large fits perfect.

April 18, 2022

Belly snug

Great product just a little snug in the belly of a 77 year old..

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2022

Hey William, we appreciate the feedback. If you'd like to size up the exchange process is very easy and could be started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 18, 2022

Great shirt!

This was a gift and its perfect!

April 18, 2022

heavy duty

i got the red lumberjack. i originally bought the medium, im 510 170lbs and it felt really long in length. so i returned it and got the small and it fits perfect. its got reinforced stitching and is made to last. ill probably have this 20+ years.

April 16, 2022

Functional, comfortable, could be better

This is the first Patagonia workwear Ive purchased. Ive been a carpenter for a long time and own a lot of C brand workwear. Sizing was good, a little larger than normal Patagonia sizes. Fabric is comfortable and feels like a cross between cotton flannel and denim. It stains easily and gets a little fuzzy with wear. Quality of sewing is good mostly ... Read Moreexcept the buttons. They seemed loosely attached and I expect to be sewing them back on in the future. Also the thread is lighter than expected for workwear and I dont know how it will hold up in the long run. The pencil pocket is a nice touch. Overall, I like this shirt as an over shirt on cool mornings and I wear it for light carpentry work and client meetings. Dont think I would wear it for heavy use, like framing or concrete work. Its nice for what it is and it looks good. Id like to see Patagonia improve on it. Would also like to see Patagonia offer a workwear version of the R hoodies.

March 29, 2022

Excellent quality!

Excellent quality work shirt! Sturdy metal buttons, comfortable warm weight. Nice pockets & pen/pencil/eyeglass arm pocket. I would also love same style & quality in a lighter weight shirt as well.

March 29, 2022

BIG too BIG

This shirt hangs like a three person tent on me. I love Patagonia clothing but the sizing is making it very difficult to buy.

March 24, 2022

Great quality, run extremely large

This is a great looking shirt and washes easily without showing wear. The only downside is that these run extremely large. Like one or two sizes large.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Hi Joe! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the look of the shirt. That said, the feedback regarding the fit is a great call out. Our Farrier's Work Shirt features a relaxed fit, so some customers may find they'd like to size down. We're always happy to process a quick [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to get our customers the best size. Also, we've shared these comments with our design crew!

March 23, 2022

Wrinkly but nice material

The material has a good feel. Heavy but compliant. The fit is good for me. I would buy this shirt again. My only issue is it comes out of the dryer as a wrinkled mess. I was able to smooth it by using a steam dryer. I will not iron my hiking shirt. Overall I like it a lot.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear about the wrinkles. For this fabric blend, we recommend machine wash warm with mild detergent and no fabric softener. Then hang to air dry for best results, or tumble dry on low heat, again with no fabric softening dryer sheet. You can see more [Product Care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) tips and reach out to our Customer Service team if you have further questions. Thanks for the review, Michael!

March 22, 2022

Work Wear thats Casual; Casual Wear that Works

Work Wear thats Casual; Casual Wear that Works.

March 21, 2022

Solid work shirt

Great material, hemp fabric is comfortable and super durable. Im 64 and weigh around 220. I washed the shirt once in hot because it was a little too big, but now it is perfect. I have longer arms and nothing is worse than not having the sleeves long enough. Im pretty sure Ill have this shirt for a very long time due to the material and craftsmanshi... Read Morep.

March 20, 2022

Great piece for casual that can be dressed up

Normally Im xl even xxl, but couldve went with a L.

March 20, 2022

I wear it for ?????

I wear to camp and let it get beat up and then wear out for casual dress shirt. Love this shirt perfect fit

March 20, 2022

Interesting fabric

Very Very comfortable for mild weather

March 19, 2022

Just right

Needed a replacement for a much loved Patagonia shirt that finally wore out after many years. This has the heavyweight fabric and fit I wanted, and it is just right.

March 19, 2022

New favorite

My new favorite shirt, I want to wear it every day. Feels handmade, fits like a dream. I run somewhere between a large and a medium. The medium is plenty big. Love this shirt

March 16, 2022

Warm, comfortable and easy to move in

Another great product from Patagonia. The shirt is warm and comfortable. It also seems very durable as well as having plenty of space to move around in.

March 16, 2022

Pretty close to perfection

This was my favorite Patagoina shirt from afar, and I finally decided to get one (the railroad stripe version). This material (kinda structured) inspires confidence that it'll last for a very, very long time. I also like the larger collar to block out sun and wind. It's a sharp looking shirt! Not an errant or loose stitch on the whole thi... Read Moreng! Sizing is a definite quirk, as this shirt both doesn't fit like other Pata shirts, nor like other brands' work shirts. It runs big in some places and normal in others. I decided to keep my (big) medium and try to shrink it into a more normal medium size. That has worked so far, due to the high cotton content of the striped version! I think the Farrier shirt is a great idea in general: to have an all-organic, slightly oversized work shirt, that doesn't need elastane to function. Super! Just a wee bit overdone, in practice. I love the slim metal buttons on other Patagonia shirts, especially ones using lighter material. The buttons are a bit hard to push through this tough fabric. Plan to layer underneath? You'll be very happy with the fit! Thanks again for a solid product.

March 15, 2022

Very comfortable and warm.

I where this mainly for bike commuting with layers in milder Winter days. Ive also worn it for hiking and I throw it on after bouldering at the local climbing gym.

March 15, 2022

If ONLY Patagonia Would Listen To Customers

These Patagonia Farrier shirts are outstanding. Why? The shirt material is a heavy duty. The shirt has a pocket for a streamlight and a pocket for a pen. The main pockets are deep enough to hold an iPhone Pro Max. Listen Patagonia: these shirts need to be made as short sleeve shirts too.

March 15, 2022

The New Standard

I have many flannel shirts from Orvis, but this hemp blend is in a different category. These shirts are extraordinarily comfortable, soft and warm. Hemp is much more durable than cotton, and expect to get years of wear out of my first two. I have the Stone Blue and Great Plains Fire, my newest. I will be ordering another one soon. And the customer ... Read Moreservice people, by the way, are as good as this product.

March 15, 2022

Hemp work shirt

Heavy duty, Im a mechanic Bikes and motorcycles, It is bulletproof and looks good.

March 11, 2022

Tough as an anvil

Farrier shirt: rugged, tough material; plenty of room to move (I shoe horses); buttons are strong; very comfortable to wear. I own two!

March 9, 2022

Check the fit

Great work shirt. Very stylish, comfortable and durable. My only complaint is that while the shirt fits great in the shoulders, it might be a bit short in the sleeves. Patagonia size traditionally ran large. IMO this is no longer the case. I'm 6'1" 215 lbs and the large fits but I would prefer an XL if I were going to wear it as an o... Read Morevershirt.

March 4, 2022

Great shirt!

Love this shirt ! It fits great and is very comfortable . Ill wear it until it falls apart !

March 1, 2022

winter grade

It is for colder weather and fits well

February 25, 2022

Work shirt

Ive worked in this short several times already and its phenomenal!!! Better than any carhartt or anything else that Ive worn before!

February 25, 2022

Best Shirt Ever

Hands down the best shirt Ive ever purchased. I was skeptical because of the price point; nonetheless, I took the chance and bought one I now own at least one in every color. I dont wear any shirt except the Farriers shirt and Ill continue to buy more when they wear out eventually.

February 24, 2022

Good shirt, bad fit.

(The shirt is obviously of excellent quality and is very comfortable. However the sizing is all wrong. I'm. A pretty big guy at 6'5" so I'm used to having issues with sizing but this one was a bit different. My chest is somewhere about 46", following the sizing and measuring instructions I decided to get an xxl which should... Read More be a size up at 50" chest. However when I tried it on it was too tight across the chest, causing the buttons to stretch and pull when I moved. So I tried sizing up again to a 3xl, which fixed the issue of the chest by making the whole shirt extremely baggy, and the sleeves to be so long as to come down to my fingers. Not ideal for working construction. I really was excited to try this offering as a patagonia fan, but unfortunately the cut of the shirt just doesn't seem right for larger men. If you're a smaller framed man these shirts seem to be the real deal, but for us bigger guys it seems we're stuck with our old [Redacted workwear brand] for now

February 21, 2022

Hemp Hemp Hooray!

One of the best shirts on planet Earth! Super comfortable and breathable! I did not mark it as a little to big. It is roomy without being baggy! So I did mark it as true to size. I am very pleased with this purchase and will be ordering another! Great product!!! Joe.

February 20, 2022

Tough yet soft

This shirt feels amazingly soft. Extremely comfortable and well made. The only thing I can complain about is not getting one sooner. It runs large and is more on the tall side as well. Very well made and the quality of the stitching and little details is incredible.

February 12, 2022

Nice flannel shirt

Pro's material, construction, design and options of color and plaid. Con's not much, price maybe...

February 10, 2022

Best Shirt For Work

Awesome shirts, built tough, pockets are big and pleated. Bottom is cut flat so you can wear it untucked, long enough to tuck it in and keep it there. Best button up shirt Ive ever owned, worth the price.

February 8, 2022

Still early days

I'm impressed with this shirt but I have only just washed it for the first time and I'll know more when I've worn it more.

February 4, 2022

Best Mens Shirt

Ive got shirts from other premium brands and this one is heads and tales above those. Most other brands are charging you for the name without much benefit. With these shirts they are well cut, well stitched, and most importantly for me, well laid out. The pen pockets are the real detail that shows me the designers knew what they were doing. Buttons... Read More are also large and metal, so easy to handle. Nothing better out there that Ive seen.

February 4, 2022

Best Mens Work Shirt.

These shirts are comfortable while being tough. The pockets are perfect, as well as having built in pen pockets. Plenty long for tucking in, but cut flat if you want it un-tucked. Ive never seen or worn a more well thought out shirt.

February 2, 2022

Nice thick material

Looks like a great work shirt, nice thick material. Can't wait to see how it holds up and washes. Fits me perfectly at 5'11" 180 lbs. Solid buy imo.

January 31, 2022

Tough material

I ordered a large because I wear a large in all my shirts. I had to exchange for a medium because the large was too large. So Id say things are sized bigger then normal.

January 30, 2022

Comfortable Fabric

I really like this shirt. The fabric is soft and sturdy, yet not too stiff or rigid. It runs a bit large but still looks put together for an indoor work setting. Outdoors it's warm and comfortable - perfect for hikes on colder days.

January 30, 2022

farrier work shirt

fit is good but sleeves a bit too long, chest good, I'm 165lbs with 38 chest,

January 28, 2022

Great fabric

Warm, soft, thick fabric. Purchased the charcoal blackish/grey shirt. Great color! My husband is sometimes between sizes L/M. Originally ordered large because I was thinking that he would layer this shirt and wanted it slightly oversized. This shirt was already designed to accommodate that so we ended up exchanging for a medium.

January 16, 2022

Great shirt.

I've gotten many compliments.

January 10, 2022

tough enough

super solid flannel, great for brisk fall days when you don't quite need a jacket but that deck isn't going to build itself

January 5, 2022

Runs Large

Ordered my usual medium. Felt that the proportions of this shirt are a little off; it feels wide and awkward. I'd suggest you size down. Also, IRL the stone blue also looks a bit more 'denim-y' than I wanted. Will return.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2022

Hey Elizabeth, thanks for the review. The Men's Farrier Work Shirt will have a boxier fit because it was designed for a masculine physique. It also has a relaxed fit, which could be what was contributing to the fit issues you mentioned. To check on the fit of any item, go to the product page and look underneath the size run options. You might find that the women's version works better for you, check it out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-farriers-work-shirt/53325.html?dwvar_53325_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-shirts-button-down).

January 4, 2022

Good shirt

It seems like it runs a bit big

January 3, 2022

Overshirt

Everything OK, the other color I like out of stock.

January 3, 2022

Fits so weird

The make is so good that hurt not to keep it. I'm 6'3 178lb usualy size L, I read to get a size smaller, it was width perfect but it was too short so I know it wasn't gonna fit after the first wash. Size large would have fit huge for me. Weird sizing.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2022

Hi Victor, thank you for sharing your review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit wasn't good for you. This kind of feedback is so valuable for improving products for future seasons. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 2, 2022

New favorite

Love this shirt. Looks great, feels great - on and off the site. I have a feeling it's going to be a mainstay for quite some time, especially in the colder months.

December 22, 2021

Farrier Shirt Size

About a year ago I purchased a size M Farrier shirt. I liked the color and quality but the sleeves were too long and it fit loosely through the chest. I kept it and wear it as an over shirt. I ordered two more Farrier shirts size S recently but these were too tight under the arms a through the chest and the sleeves were still to long. I returned bo... Read Moreth shirts for a refund. I love the shirt but the sizing does not fit me in either the size S or size M.

December 20, 2021

Amazing!

Love the cut! Love the shirt! Gonna buy more in another color. Dont change a thing. Excellent quality.

December 19, 2021

An actual XXL!

Sleeves and body both quite long, hard to find these days! Almost a throwback to when Patagonia used to offer x-longs in some items! Super happy with overall quality and fit. (I'm 225lbs) Just a great feel and look all around. Bravo.

December 18, 2021

Very durable and strong

This jacket is great for my construction job because it is a thick material that protects from dangerous materials and is insulating enough to keep me warm in freezing conditions. I appreciate how there is enough room in the shoulders for a full range of motion

December 18, 2021

Best button down shirt ever

Bought this shirt because of the description and the great reputation behind Patagonia clothing. Love wearing untucked and plenty of room for a wide array of movements. Im get many compliments on the shirt and since have purchased two more. Rugged yet classy enough to wear out to dinner. I have a long torso and arms and the XL fits me perfectly. I ... Read Morestand 6 foot, 205lbs. Highly recommend.

December 17, 2021

Too Big

I am swimming in this Large. With most brands a Large is perfect for me but not this particular shirt. Other than that the shirt is perfect.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

December 17, 2021

Farrier Shirt-Cool, But Runs Large

Maybe it is supposed to run large. Farriers put shoes on horses, so its understandable they need a large shirt. I am 60 175 lbs and I got a medium. It is just pretty big and if I were going to do it over again I would have gotten a small. Other than that, its a great, durable, thick fabric shirt.

December 12, 2021

Men's Farrier shirt

I generally wear a medium. I had to order a small in this shirt and the Shop Shirt because they are running large (lesson learned on prior purchase). I wear a medium in the fjord shirts and all other shirts like Island Hopper etc. Wrist and necks seem large.

December 10, 2021

Buttons difficult to fasten

Hello, Since this is being marketed as a work shirt, maybe research the market a bit. "Workers" use their hands for a living and as we get older, we develop arthritis in our hands and finger joints. This shirt has the most difficult buttons to work because the holes are so tight and the buttons so small, it's a real struggle to fast... Read Moreen them. You don't have to change the button diameter but please elongate the hole/slot!

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hi Erik, thank you so much for taking the time to write a product review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing while trying to button this shirt. We have passed along this feedback to our Design Team who are constantly improving and revising our styles. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

December 9, 2021

Warm and cozy

Very warm and well made . Ordered rwo more.

December 9, 2021

A great cotton work shirt/shell absent precipitation.

A durable and tough work shirt that I wear cutting with a chainsaw. I bought it slightly larger for moving room and had a tailor taper the sides. I'd love a blue color instead of brown.

December 6, 2021

Not for short weightlifters

So the short version is Im a little built in my chest, to the point where I ordered the medium of this. It was too long, and had a bunch of room around the waist where it looked frumpy to tuck in. The small fits my build great in the mid section, but the chest is a bit tight. Like if I went for an exaggerated Hulk Hogan stretch Id pop the top butto... Read Moren. So I go two buttons loose, and it looks great. Live the shirt, holds up well for my construction work. Will be buying the other colors

November 23, 2021

Most comfortable & rugged shirt Ive ever owned

I have purchased 5 of these shirts over the years. They are the perfect combination of comfortable & rugged. I can go to the office & look nice or chop wood or do demo & the shirt stays looking good & holds up to any extreme wear situation. Right me very large, order 1-2 sizes smaller than your normal shirt size.

November 22, 2021

Ferrier

i use them in my work as a landscaper. theyre durable and professional. i wear them frequently.

November 20, 2021

Built tough

This is an excellent work shirt. The fit is roomy with out being baggy. It stands up well to wandering around in the woods as well as banging around in the shop and barn. Quickly becoming my favorite shirt.

November 19, 2021

bulky fit but nice material

I liked the shirt. The colors could be more classic flannel. I ordered a Large. I'm 6' 210. It was pretty bulky. It fit weird too, like boxy. I returned it just due to the size issue but I liked the shirt.

November 18, 2021

Exactly what I wanted

I'm very impressed with this shirt. Soft, durable, well-constructed. The fit is boxy, but I tend to wear it untucked and unbuttoned, like a jacket. Does a great job of concealing things worn around your belt that you prefer strangers not know about.

November 18, 2021

Bulky

I think it was a personal preference; the shirt seemed to have a large collar and seemed bulky on me. Patagonia fleeces in M fit me perfectly as do other shirts. Anyway, really liked the piece just not the fit. Also I kind of like having the Patagonia label not so in front of the face which I overlooked when I purchased. Love your gear, clothes and... Read More products. Love your mission. Keep it up.

November 14, 2021

Size is a bit generous for my build

Somewhat athletic guy here with broader chest. Shirt fits great up top but I feel like a large around my waist (30). Cant wear this as casually as I want. Might have to order a size smaller.

November 13, 2021

wears great, but odd differences between colors

i have an older brownish shirt, and bought a second one in blue. the only misfire on the new one is that it only has one set of buttons on the cuff, rather than two on the older shirt. the cuff is so large that without the second set of buttons that its too loose and gets in the way. the fit

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2021

Hi Kurt, we recently had to remove some of the Men's Farrier's Work Shirts from our inventory due to the issue with the second set of buttons that were missing on the sleeve. We'll reach out to you directly to help you get a free replacement.

November 12, 2021

Good fit

I'm usually a medium but I'm a 6' slim guy so medium was to baggy for my preferred slimmer fit. Small fit me like a fitted medium but doesn't look small.

November 10, 2021

Best shirt Ive ever worn

While trying to update my daily fall/winter long sleeve shirts I came across the Farrier Shirt. It is hands down the most comfortable and functional shirt I now own. Regardless if I am in the office, on the shop floor or in the forrest this will be my new go to. Excellent job.

November 9, 2021

Great Shirt

Just the right weight, not too heavy. Run slightly large through the chest. It is meant to be worn over layers. I need one in every color!

November 3, 2021

Total comfort

Most comfortable and reassuring flannel shirt I have. I have a lot of them! This is the shirt you will have in your closet that you keep picking to wear over all the rest.

November 1, 2021

Best quality shirts I've ever owned.

Just bought 3 more. Heavyweight and rugged BUT remarkably comfortable and I don't overheat indoors! They didn't cut corners. The shirt buttons don't stretch apart at the chest, the sleeves are long enough to reach my wrist in any position, unrestricted range of motion, and when I lift my hands over my head my midsection doesn't ... Read Moreshow! Metal buttons, double stitched seams, and hemp fabric are good signs that this shirt will last for years. Noticeably better quality than my NorthFace or Columbia button ups and I could immediately see and feel the difference. Worth the extra money. Perfect for fall yard-work, fishing, working in the garage, hiking, or even wearing to my casual office job. I have no doubt these shirts will last for years. Makes me dislike every other button up shirt I own. Hemp may be my new favorite fabric. The XL size runs a bit larger than my TNF & Columbia brands which is great because it means it will still fit comfortably after I wash it. I love these shirts.

October 27, 2021

high quality

great quality in regard to feel of the shirt, texture and colors. Also very durable. I also like knowing my purchase helps support the environment through Patagonias efforts to heal the world.

October 26, 2021

The best

I love the quality of the wear this is by far one of the best outdoor activity casualwear companies there is

October 25, 2021

The only flannel shirt I'll ever need

All flannel shirts or anything close to it are getting donated. I'll only need this red / black plaid version and maybe one more. I'm done with everything else. Patagonia will have lost their minds if they stop making this shirt. Note: I am a True Large and the large fit me like a circus tent. Medium was perfect

October 24, 2021

Rugged and Unique

This shirt separates itself from the pack, its unique and rugged. You can wear it to work or out on the town. I normally wear an XL, but from the reviews went with the large and its perfect.

October 22, 2021

Farrier Work Shirt Reconsideration

Well, Patagonia has been taken over by a new product guru. The shirt is okay, the buttons are small and made for a Russian ballerina, the material is weird; soft but somewhat confusingly inept about keeping you warm or cold (okay cool). I can remember back when Patagonia offered Fall Catalog of shirts that were just right in every way.

October 19, 2021

Good work shirt

The shirt feels nice and wears well. Only time will tell whether it lasts, but I have a feeling it will. Based on other reviews I ordered one size smaller but had to return it because I found the arms and chest to be small.

October 15, 2021

Beautiful

Just received and I'm already in love. The fabric is much softer than I would expect for a work shirt, and the sewing is superb. I like the metal buttons since I find snaps are usually too small and hard to close. Again, perfectly tailored and my compliments to the sewer -- the seams are perfect and sturdy. I got the blue and the color is gorg... Read Moreeous -- I'll have to force myself to wait before ordering the red/fire.

October 15, 2021

Very comfortable but hate the buttons!

Really like this shirt! It did take me 3 tries to get it right. I initially ordered the Stone Blue in large (Im 5 10, 210lbs). It was HUGE! So I exchanged it and changed my mind on the color; got the Dark Ash in medium. Lovely looking shirt, but the medium was very snug, so back to the large I guess. Uggh!!! Patagonia only exchanges 1x, so had to r... Read Moreeturn the shirt for a refund then re-order in large again. For whatever reason the Dark Ash in large wasnt as huge as the Stone Blue one?!?! Weird. At any rate, its very comfortable & of course well made (love Patagonias build-quality). The reason for the 4 stars are the buttons. OMG!!! The buttons are much too small (unless your a hobbit I guess???). Then the button-holes are too small for the already too small buttons. You almost need pliers to get the tiny little buttons into the undersized button-holes! I mean I guess a larger button would impact the look a little bit, but man! At least make the buttons a little thicker so there is something to grip. I felt like I was going to have bloody fingers by the time I got it buttoned up. Maybe the button holes will stretch a bit with time, but maybe fine-tune that detail designers!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Hi Todd! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on the buttons, we'll pass it along to the design team.

October 14, 2021

Burly and Weird

This shirt is a half-step below a denim jacket. Its thicc, stout, grumpy-get-off-my-lawn, thinks youre a baby, tough. I love it. What I dont love is the strange tailoring that has seemed to plague Patagonia for as long as I can remember. Tailoring that doesnt work with movement. Its getting weird at this point that it hasnt been remedied. Raise... Read More your hands above your head and the hem seems to somehow multiply that movement by some demonic factor to leave your plumbers crack waving to the world. Reach down in front of you and the seams seem to be stretching to their limit across anything resembling broad shoulders. The fit is not meant for me, and Patagonia clothing just doesnt seem to work the way I would hope for me, but it is a dope jacket/shirt that appears to be ready for abuse and use.

October 14, 2021

This is a large

Im a classic medium. But I look like a child in this medium. Planning on returning it, just havent had time. I love Patagonia more than any other brand, but your designs and fit are mostly terrible these days, which makes me sad. If it was 50% better it would be all I wear. The wool shirt I have from you is a medium also, and fits well. WTF?

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

Hey Nick, thanks for the review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We're really sorry to hear that you've experienced some trouble with size consistency, and we've shared your feedback with the rest of the team. One thing to note is we do offer regular, slim and relaxed fits. This particular shirt is relaxed which could be why it felt extra large on you. If you haven't already, you're welcome to begin a return or exchange for a smaller size [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 13, 2021

Fall is Farrier shirt weather

The only size small shirt I own, so guidance was accurate. Hemp fabric is stiffer than any flannel, but its a nice weight and feel. Second year Ive worn this, feel qualified to review. Good layer over t-shirt or light technical shirt. Pocket buttons over phone-nice! Retired, so no one cares if I wear this every day. I suspect Ill be wearing this fo... Read Morer many seasons.

October 12, 2021

Collar Roll/Buttons

Overall great shirt. Very comfortable, and fit is good. My only feedback/comment would be that the shirt needs to have a collar roll/buttons. Collar buttons are a very common feature on work-type shirts (Carhartt, LL Bean, etc.) as it allows you to move around and be active will maintaining a professional collar, especially if you are not ironing t... Read Morehe shirt before every use. This is the one feature I think this shirt needs to be perfect.

October 11, 2021

Not sure what you want here

Good design revisited. New version of traditional shirt. Great color. Please be more courageous with color for men. Youve got great taste!

October 10, 2021

Super High Quality and A Medium thats TRULY Medium

I cant say enough good about this shirt. I have bought 2 other colors of it since. The design and overall construction is unmatched, in my personal experience. This was my first dive into Patagonia and I am sold. I have since went on to purchase sweatshirts, fjord flannels, pants and even some shorts. I appreciate much about Patagonia, specifically... Read More to me the sizing and quality. I am 39 and about 5ft 9in and 195lb. To have a Mens Medium fit me as good as Patagonia does it, means everything to me. For me Large is always hair to big and Small is way too small (in any brand) so to have a Medium be more of a Larger Medium is exceptional. I highly recommend this shirt. Love the quick shipping too. Thank you

October 9, 2021

Great Yard Work Shirt

The material feels durable yet soft to the skin. It will wear well over time and it's not a shirt you don't mind getting dirty. It is part of a Patagonia trend to widen out the middle on it's "work" apparel. I wish they wouldn't make these and their other workwear so barrel chested. The traditional Patagonia fit is fo... Read Morer the mountain athlete and this fits more like a Sunday Beer League shirt.

October 5, 2021

Very structured and comfortable

Great shirt, soft out of the box and only wear in more soft. The hemp fabric Patagonia uses is amazing.

September 28, 2021

Durable

Pretty solid shirt. Feels heavy duty and looks good. Perfect length for me but arms are a little too baggy. Overall, I love it!

September 20, 2021

Super Awesome!

I can't wait for fall to wear this everyday. I immediately order one in another color. Super soft but seems like it will be durable. Fits a little big which is nice for us larger types. Anything slim fit for on the border I need to go up to XXL, this is great at XL.

September 13, 2021

The perfect rugged shirt

Absolutely love this shirt. It runs a little large so I sized down to a Medium as I typically wear a Large. The fit is perfect. I love how durable, soft, and high quality the material is. It looks great worn casually or while working. Cant wait to buy more

September 8, 2021

Solid shirt

Comfy shirt, fits without being too loose. Built solid like it will last. I'll be living in this all fall and winter. I ordered a small and x-small based on the reviews saying it ran large. I didn't even need to try on the small. I'm 5'6" 140lbs, trim w/ bumpy muscles

August 31, 2021

Outstanding Work Shirt

Forget the price. These Farrier work shirts are wonderful. In the left pocket I carry a mask. In the left tool pocket I carry a Streamlight. In the right tool pocket I carry a pen. In the right pocket I carry a iPhone plus. These shirts are warm in the winter and wearable most days in the summer. They have stood up very well to heavy use. I have re... Read Morequested Patagonia to make a short sleeve Farrier version as well with no response from Patagonia.

August 31, 2021

Awesome Denim-esque jacket

As with most Patagonia gear, I move down in my normal size. I am usually a Large in every other brand. The Medium fits how I like it - closer to the body, more of slim fit. Not big enough for a jacket underneath, only enough for a thermal or a t-shirt. Great though, more grey/black than black. Seems well-built and made to last.

August 24, 2021

Patagonina's big/small dilemma

As with other Relaxed fit shirts from Patagonia, there is too much room in the body, but not enough room in the shoulders and sleeves. Small through the top and big through the bottom seems to be the way they are cutting shirts the last couple of years. I had to return two of them. Other than the way they are cut, they were fine enough shirts.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2021

Hey Jon, thank you so much for leaving us a review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We've taken your feedback and have passed it along to the appropriate team members for further review. In the meantime, if you'd like measurements to get a preview of how something would fit, feel free to reach out to customer service [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

August 4, 2021

Great shirt! Sleeve width made for Thor

This a great shirt. The fabric is amazing and the design is perfect. I love the double pockets with Pen holders. I love the buttons. However, I would love to see this same shirt in a slimmer fit though as some of us don't have arms like Thor

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches