Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

Write Your Review

4.74 /5

Filter Reviews

All 95 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.74
Kinda Large
July 27, 2020

Recommend Sizing Down

I'm 5'11" and 170lbs. Consistently a medium in Patagonia gear, but the small fits me well. Recommend the same advice others have shared, size down if you're looking for a more tailored fit. Great piece, comfortable and warm, and chest pockets have ample space. Can easily fit a large mobile phone (Galaxy S10) with room to spare.

July 22, 2020

DO NOT SIZE UP

I should not listen to most of the reviews here about go down a size or two. WRONG. If you are a decent size person not having chopstick arms and flat chest, stick with your true size. I wear large and go down to Medium because of most reviews whining about how this shirt so big. I cannot even button my chest and sleeve has zero room to move.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hi Minseok. We're really sorry that this actually ended up being too tight. Please feel free to return it for a refund and purchase a size up if you'd like. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

July 13, 2020

Durable

Super robust and durable shirt. Fit a bit large, but solid construction for sure.

July 13, 2020

Great build quality

The fabric feels really solid, and I feel confident doing some labor work wearing it. I think this shirt will last me a while.

July 10, 2020

Durable

Super robust and durable shirt. Fit a bit large, but solid construction for sure.

July 9, 2020

Great build quality

The fabric feels really solid, and I feel confident doing some labor work wearing it. I think this shirt will last me a while.

June 21, 2020

Takes the chill off

Perfect hard wearing shirt. Ideal for spring and fall as an outer layer to take the chill off. Also good as a layer through the winter. Love it

June 19, 2020

My new favorite shirt

I bought this shirt several months ago and immediately realized it was one of the best shirts I have ever owned. It is well-made, sturdy, fits well, and looks great. After wearing the first one for several months I bought a second in a different color. These will last for years and hold up to rough use.

June 17, 2020

Takes the chill off

Perfect hard wearing shirt. Ideal for spring and fall as an outer layer to take the chill off. Also good as a layer through the winter. Love it

June 17, 2020

Perfect

This shirt is perfect - I wanted a comfortable shirt that I could wear every day sometimes alone - sometimes layered - I am in all different types of weather - inside - outside -all day long

April 26, 2020

My go-to shirt for work

Working in a ski and bike shop, our clothes tend to take a beating. For years I worked in the Fjord flannels, but they were sometimes too warm. The Farrier doesn't run as hot, looks good and has become my favorite shirt Patagonia makes. Own 3 and will absolutely buy a few more.

January 21, 2020

Cool beans

Most pleased with this purchase. Long been a fan of hemp back to the very first clothing items Patagonia offered using it. ’96 or so? Always preferred natural fabrics: 100% hemp, org cotton, linen, wool and or blends of these. Stopped by the Portland store more expressly to try this. Felt the notably substantial yet still surprisingly soft material... Read More and found myself directly rethinking things. Actual garments measurements of the size M purchased ~~> 23” pit to pit, 19” shoulder seam to shoulder seam and 25” from the shoulder seam to the end of cuff. As I happen to have longer arms the fit’s correct and satisfying for this frame. Full latitude to layer underneath or not depending on the temp and how hard I happen to expect to be working. Showing the greatest of care I was able to remove the more prominent branding and not damage the shirt in the least. The ‘ink black’ I find more of a dark grey or charcoal. Now I’m seeing the dark ash or alder green, one of these coming toward me.

January 13, 2020

Great Work Shirt

I leave this shirt hanging in my shop and put it on for jobs from waxing to outdoor work. It takes it all in stride with a nice but tough exterior texture that handles and mitigates abrasion well. The two pencil slots seem to help me from misplacing my marking instruments.

January 6, 2020

Comfortable, heavy, strong, but large

I'm 5'10", 155lbs. I usually pivot between size S and M in shirts of this nature, but usually size S in Patagonia. They are just within the limits of not being too small. But this shirt ran very large. It's easily a Medium+ in size compared to any other button down shirt in my closet, be they Patagonia or not. I love the fabric... Read More. The weave is attractive, the blue color very sharp, and the stitching and buttons feel top notch. I'd probably wear it everyday if it didn't swallow me. Unfortunately, it's usually worn under a jacket or in an informal outdoor environment when not in public.

January 4, 2020

Good stuff.

I purchased the shirt as a gift, and it was a hit. Fit, heft of cloth, and looks are superb.

January 1, 2020

Farriers shirt

Like they say, fits large--as in the men's medium fits me fine and I usually wear a large or large tall. One more thing, the shoulder/upper-chest panels are cut on the bias, which is great for ease and looks good in the dark ash and alder. However I returned one in hickory stripe--in real life the shoulder stripes at a diagonal look much like ... Read Morea "western" shirt. Okay if that's what you like. Great shirts.

December 30, 2019

Good fit and feel

5’ 9” 145lbs size Small fit perfect. Exactly what I was looking for in a flannel type shirt. Surprisingly soft feel. Can be tucked in when needed but probably not the right cut for all day wear tucked in. Quality of material and craftsmanship is worth the money- very nice! You wont be disappointed.

December 30, 2019

great shirts

I bought one to check out and my husband loved it so I bought more. wash nicely. good quality.

December 29, 2019

Farrier Shirt

Great item.

December 29, 2019

Ms farrier shirt

awesome shirt! I purchased the black and green in a medium and love them! Just purchased the brown This is my new favorites I usually purchase large in other clothing lines but Patagonia jackets and shirts seem to run big mediums fit perfect

December 28, 2019

Excellent shirt. Sleeves a bit long for me

This shirt rates up there with my best/favorite shirts ive collected over the years, a plurality of which are Patagonia which never seem to wear out. This shirt will outlast me, only nit is sleeve length about 2" too long. I can fold up the cuff & its right, but it _almost_ bugged me enough to exchange. Thought M would be too confining so ... Read Morei kept the L. Otherwise perfect

December 18, 2019

Amazing quality. Sturdy shirt

It’s a great piece. Sturdy, well made, and understatedly good looking

December 14, 2019

Excellent build, looks, roomy

I haven’t fully broken in the shirt yet, but it feels like it’s made to take abuse. I’m very happy with the construction quality, and especially the fit. The XXL runs true to size, and is made to give you room to workin. Ultraslim/Petite fans need not apply.

December 11, 2019

Excellent shirt. Rugged. Breathable.

I appreciate the extended sizes. Shirts are built to last. Comfortable and looks great.

December 8, 2019

Spot On Quality

Great shirt. Very tough/durable and not too stiff. Handles outdoor climbing well and still nice enough to wear into the office. 10/10 would buy again

December 4, 2019

Great work shirt

Pros: This is a great work shirt. Very robust and ready for a honest days work. Cons: It is a touch short for my body type but that is a me problem not a shirt problem. If you have a long trunk then maybe buy the next size up. My wish: They made this shirt in Blaze Orange so I could wear it at safety sites or while out in the woods during huntin... Read Moreg season.

December 4, 2019

Farriers Shirt

Great new overshirt. Slightly warmer than my old light flannel. Tough material.

November 26, 2019

Great stuff!

Great stuff!

November 21, 2019

High quality shirt

The shirt fits well (5'11 male) and I was surprised with the build quality of the shirt. Consequently, the shirt feels a little heavy, which could be good or bad depending on what you're doing.

November 16, 2019

Farriers Shirt and Iron Forge Cargo Pant

Fits great, true to size,ample room for range of motion, soft and extremely comfortable..... to nice for working in this shirt and the Iron forge cargo pants are my " Go To Town " get up :) can't wait until they are out of the wash to wear again :)

November 14, 2019

Best shirt I own

Soft and mid weight - bought another

November 13, 2019

Great shirt - maybe size down?

Bought for my husband. He loves it! He’s usually a medium but because this had a relaxed fit, I got him the small and it fits perfectly while still allowing lots of movement. The fabric has a nice texture.

November 12, 2019

Great shirt

Great shirt

November 9, 2019

Shirt

All my shirts are large. This one is like an xxxxlarge. Looks like I’m wearing a tent. I won’t wear this.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this ran too big on you. Since you don't see yourself wearing this, we highly encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us. Thanks for providing some feedback on this.

November 9, 2019

Well made

Well made

November 9, 2019

More of these

I bought the denim version of this shirt a few months ago and loved it so much that I went looking for another color - green this time. I wear the farrier as both a shirt and as a jacket. According to my wife, if I got a few more colors I wouldn't need anything else for daily wear. Feels good. Looks great. No need to tuck it in. Very versatile... Read More. Love it. I usually wear medium/large, and the medium farrier shirt fits me perfectly at 6'1", 165lbs.

November 5, 2019

Solid design, looks great

Great shirt, true to size expectation. As with most Patagonia gear, solid construction. I like that this is a heavier shirt...it seems to help it keep its shape after washing’s. I never bust out an iron, so to be able to hang this up after the drier and have it look good and in wrinkled is a big deal. It looks great and deeps on looking great. I li... Read Moreked the first one so much I bought another.

November 5, 2019

Farrier shirt

Awesome shirt. Great material and cut. Looks classy for any occasion

November 4, 2019

Will probably last forever

Heavy duty construction without feeling like canvas. Has a soft touch but still seems like it will be indestructible. Folks, they are not kidding when they say it is a roomy fit. I'm a very large mammal and I can wear a flannel underneath this shirt while maintaining a loose fit. My new favorite cool weather shirt.

November 4, 2019

Great shirt!

Got this for my husband as a gift and he loves it - wore it right away. It seems to run a bit larger than the Fjord Flannel as the M was a perfect fit for him in this one but a little tight in the Fjord (5'11", 190ish). Looks great on, nice heavy fabric, seems like it'll last a long time!!

November 3, 2019

Farrier Shirt

High quality and better made from hemp. Soft, durable, and a perfect fit.

October 28, 2019

Favorite all-purpose shirt!

This is a great shirt for both around the house on the weekends and still looks sharp enough for wearing to a normal office-type job if your office is always on the cooler side much like mine is. Only detractors are the buttons are coated and will wear a different color underneath than the coating, which can look a bit odd, and the stitching on my ... Read Morefirst one had a lot of stray threads leftover from production, nothing that detracted from the look, feel or function whatsoever.

October 23, 2019

Button Hole Stitching Pulling Out

I love this shirt! I wear it like a light jacket sometimes layered over a hoodie. For the most a part very well built and durable shirt. However, the stitching around several button holes has partially pulled out, allowing the fabric to fray and leaving a loop of threads inside the hole. This makes unbuttoning the shirt quite difficult because the ... Read Morebutton gets caught on the loop of thread and you have to untangle it. I think the holes are too small or the edges of the metal buttons are too sharp... or a combination of the two causing this to happen. I am sending it in for repairs.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Joe! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the way the stitching is unraveling around the button holes. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you ever need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) you definitely can!

October 12, 2019

Casual, but all business. Soft

Casual, but all business. Soft and comfortable materials, but well built and durable. Like your favorite hoodie but better looking.

October 4, 2019

Great Fall/Winter Shirt

Fantastic shirt! Heavy duty and comfortable. However as many of the reviewers have stated, the shirt does run large so I would recommend to buy one size down.

September 13, 2019

He will love it. Super and well made.

Also a thank you to Josh who helped in exchanging the large that I ordered and replacing it with a medium. Much better. I goofed on the size

September 12, 2019

Awesome isn’t a strong enough word

This shirt is great! I was expecting it to be way heavier than it is. It fits to size with enough room to layer underneath.

September 10, 2019

hard-wearing, great construction, but polyester fabric content causes pilling

I love the shirt, but after a few months of relatively hard wear, the fabric is pilling noticeably. It doesn't affect the usefulness of the shirt, but I wouldn't recommend this shirt for casual wear. It does make me wonder why, after all the years of experience we have with polyester, why put it in the fabric? Hemp wears like iron on its ... Read Moreown (I use hemp twine for lots of different things). Maybe it makes the fabric handle a little better, but I'd love to see this shirt in 100% hemp.

September 9, 2019

Excellent

This is my second farrier shirt, great for work, play, and everything in between. Durable, but soft to the skin. The Farrier shirt is perfect for year round wear. A+

September 2, 2019

Farriers Shirt

I returned the shirt. I was too large for my husband and also to heavy and stiff. He was looking for a shirt to go rafting down the Grand Canyon and the fabric was just to heavy for that type of trip.

August 29, 2019

A comfortable quick drying non synthetic shirt.

I am size L usually. This shirt has quite a baggy fit. It’s kind of like putting on a light jacket. It dries fairly quick for a natural fiber shirt and seems a bit bullet proof. I could see using it as outerwear in cooler conditions though it’s not very “athletic” looking. It will match well with your beard and man-bun, pipe in your mouth, hatchet ... Read Moreon your hip and a can of PBR in your hand.

August 15, 2019

Love the shirt!

Well made and nice styling. I recently emailed Patagonia about their sizing inconsistencies. These shirts run big. I typically wear a large, but with this shirt I needed a medium

August 10, 2019

Solid and sweet shirt.

Made well and from good materials. Hopefully one day it'll be made in the USA like the many boutique brands out there. If anyone at Patagonia's size could do it, it would be Patagonia.

July 10, 2019

Great material- Way off sizing

So i love the style, colors, and the material of this shirt but the sizing leaves a lot to be desired. I'm a pretty standard medium- almost everything medium fits me, including Patagonia shirts but on this shirt....the arms are way way too long. They hang down all the way to my knuckles. I understand the relaxed fit but you can have a shirt wi... Read Moreth a relaxed fit that doesn't have ape arms...

June 9, 2019

I had to return -

I had to return - too large - ordered a small. I wear a medium in everything. Runs large.

May 8, 2019

Another stellar product

I have owned Patagonia items since the 70's, and they have never let me down. Craftsmanship, comfort, and style. Epic.

May 8, 2019

Nothings gonna stop me now!

This shirt is practically indestructible! I feel comfortable getting into tough spots wearing it because I know the fabric will hold up. The material feels good on skin and is a breeze to wash. The cut and design is tailored for the working class, with a double breasted pocket setup that can withstand any kind of need for safekeeping. I get more co... Read Morempliments wearing my Ms Farriers Patagonia shirt than anything else in my wardrobe. Five stars all the way. Get one and try for yourself; I insist!

May 8, 2019

Fine Work

My shirt was beautifully built, sized right. and I can tellIt is going to last years.

May 8, 2019

Warm, durable shirt

I bought this shirt for casual use because it's nice looking, but it's sturdy enough for outdoor work. It's soft and comfortable, unlike some hemp shirts I've had. It's one of my favorites now. It's worth the price, considering its fine, multi-purpose qualities.

May 8, 2019

Great shirt, solid quality. Looks

Great shirt, solid quality. Looks nice and fits well.

April 16, 2019

I'm buying another one

This is one of those rare things in life that remind a person of what real quality looks like. Heavy, yet soft, well stitched, every detail considered. It reminds of garments from the old Banana Republic catalog, back before they were Gap business wear and instead dealt in surplus and hand crafted garments from around the world. If I had to complai... Read Moren about anything I would say 1) I dislike the logo on the chest. I don't need a Patagonia name tag on my $100 shirt. I'm not some kid trying to show the world my brand name swag. Any shirt with a collar and buttons shouldn't have a logo on the left chest unless you work at the Verizon phone store. 2) I wear an XL for the shoulder width and arm length, which is perfect, but the shirt from the chest down is a little more than ample. I have a 36" waist and my guess is this shirt could accommodate a 46" waist. this roominess makes the shirt extremely comfortable, but a little on the baggy side.

April 3, 2019

Wish it was Fire Resistant

This looked like a great option for me to wear at work until I saw it had polyester in it. It would be great if Patagonia made at least a shirt and pants that meet the requirements for Fire Resistant clothing (they are in 29 CFR1910.269 - basically no synthetic fiber can be used, has to be 100% cotton, wool or hemp.) The name of the shirt is mislea... Read Moreding - I would not want to wear this if I was working with hot metal.

April 2, 2019

Ferrier shirt

This item has quickly become one of my favorite garments. The fit and functionality are exemplary. True to Patagonias’ form; the Ferrier's shirt is very well constructed, as well as versatile., and great looking.

March 18, 2019

Perfect Shirt

This is the best work shirt I've ever owned--by far. It's just a perfect shirt. Warm, comfortable, tough, and extremely well made. The stitching/fabric is just fantastic. They hit this one out of the park. I have three colors. I wanted to make sure I got all three before someone gets the bad idea of discontinuing the shirt.

March 11, 2019

Love this shirt

Love the fabric, love the "hang" of the shirt and I can tell it is only going to get better the more I wear it. I consider it a mountain dress shirt. I can wear it chopping wood and doing work around my cabin and then out to eat in the valley. Further, I feel like this shirt is sized the way Patagonia shirts used to be sized. I want to bu... Read Morey Patagonia gear for their political and environmental standards but have more and more of a problem with Patagonia shirts fitting anymore. I'm an ex-football player but have been an avid hiker and fisherman all my life. I've got broad thick shoulders but not a muscle head. The problem I have with most Patagonia stuff is when I try an XL on it feels the the shoulders and arms and upper back is gonna blow out if I cross my arms too far. When I try an XXL the upper body is ok but it is way too big in my lower body. This shirt might be a touch long in the body but otherwise it fits perfect. So much so I am gonna order another one. I understand there are tons of different body types out there but I hope Patagonia starts to offer more shirts cut like this one. Bravo!

February 20, 2019

Amazing shirt

Simply stated, this shirt is amazing. I have two colors. One thing I’ll mention because I haven’t seen it mentioned in other reviews is that as the shirt wears, the black finish will wear off the buttons, revealing the copper beneath. The result looks AWESOME. Anyway keep it up, Patagonia, I love this shirt.

February 16, 2019

Farrier shirt

The right bulk, weight, fit, hand & durability. Excellent choice for cool/cold weather.

February 16, 2019

High Quality Worth Every Penny

I am a California orange grower. My work demands a thick long sleeve shirt that can handle all the elements, the Farrier shirt is the golden ticket. It is well stitched, durable, and as comfortable as it gets. The pocket of a shirt can be a real deal killer for me as i like to load them up. This is the only work shirt i own that i can comfortably f... Read Moreit my iPhone x with an otterbbox in the front pocket and button it up no problem. The two pen slits are great too, I can keep my pen in one and my pen light in the other. I ordered the shirt true to size and it fit absolutely excellent if you are looking for a true work shirt feel. I know ill be able to get 10 years plus out of these shirts. I am a happy customer, do yourself a favor and pick one of these up. WARNING: Buying one will result in buying four

January 11, 2019

Order a size down... at least

Let me preface this by saying I LOVE this shirt. LOVE. Genuine love. Like marriage love. It is so well made and comfortable. I have no doubt this will be my grandpa shirt when I get old. I have been living in it. I am 5'10" 220lbs with broad shoulders and a bit of a belly. I'm around a 46-48 in suit jacket depending on manufacturer. ... Read MoreI usually wear XL everything, but this thing is HUGE. I originally got an XL, but gave it to my dad because I was swimming in it. I guess I could have returned it for a smaller size, but I wanted to share the love. Did I mention I love this shirt? I ended up buying a large and it is still huge. It probably overlaps 6" at the waist and I have a bit of a belly. I could probably fit a puffy jacket UNDER it and still button it. It is perfect around the shoulders though. I could probably fit a medium, but am worried about the shoulders being tight around the back. I can live with a nice relaxed fit. I wanted to give it a 4 star because the sizing is so crazy, but I just couldn't NOT give it 5 stars. I love this shirt.

December 29, 2018

Do it

Great price great of clothing. Fit is slightly big but fairly typical for a relaxed fit. 5’7”, 150 lb, and the small is perfect. Great material, slightly heavy weight, going to break in real nice and be a go to for years to come.

December 14, 2018

Great work shirt - would love to see different fits

I am a 5'10" tall lady with a slender build. I ordered a women's medium and it was too short (story of my life!) so I exchanged it for a men's XS. The length was much improved but it was still too wide. I ended up taking this in the tailor because I loved the shirt and really wanted to make it work. So far, it has been a great s... Read Morehirt. I would love to see Patagonia carry more tall sizes in things =).

December 11, 2018

Great Shirt Runs Huge!

The quality of this shirt is good. It’s a stiff shirt and seems well made. I am 5’10”/165 and typically wear medium or sometimes large. I ordered a medium and am returning it for a small. I’ll be interested to see how that fits. Stay tuned.

November 30, 2018

Quality for sure

This shirt is definitely made to with stand a demanding work environment. The only thing I wish I would have done when purchasing this shirt is by it a size smaller. I’ve owned it for a couple months now and at the time I didnt know it ran big in size. Still love wearing it non the less

November 26, 2018

Hemp, my new favorite work wear material

The first time I saw this shirt, I was mostly just curious how hemp would feel on my skin, worried that it would be too itchy or scratchy. Turns out, when I got it and wore it, hemp is very similar to feel to denim. So if you like your jeans, you'll probably like these shirts. I own two of these shirts, I use them for work. I work as a Chef ... Read Morefull time, working up to 60 hours a week on some weeks. I only own two of these, and I interchange them about everyday. They do very well in the wash after about two months of usage, I see no shrinkage yet. The shirts also don't smell bad and they have no visible stains. Overall, these shirts do better in a kitchen than any chef coat Ive used. Plus. they feel really nice too. Overall, I would say if you want to try out hemp as a material, or if you work in a hard environment, Id recommend these. They also are not a bad winter/autumn shirt either. ONE thing to note though. I bought the striped shirt and it seems like it was built differently than my plain black shirt. The striped shirt feels thicker than my black one, I believe they had to make it thicker because the design of the stripes themselves make the shirt thicker. I prefer my black one which is thinner, because it provides more mobility. The thicker stripped one does provide more protection and warmth though. Just something to keep in mind if you want the STRIPED one.

November 16, 2018

Has become my favorite

Keeps getting softer and softer with wear and washing. Has quickly become my go to wether jumping on a flight, shooting clays on a chilly morning, splitting wood or hitting the pub for a Fresca. Will be nice in chilly summer evenings too.

November 2, 2018

Perfect if only a little loose

I ordered the Medium and it arrived a bit looser fitting than I expected but I can work with it and it'll be super perfect with a base-layer below (likely R2) once the weather calls for that; this said the construction is just what I was looking for in a work-shirt. I'm a carpenter and this shirt moved quickly to the front of my daily-wea... Read Morer pack. I'm watching those copper buttons, they probably should have had one or two more thread loops (picky-picky) and I'm really not, in general, hot on the prominent logo patch placement (pick-picky). A needle and thread and a seam ripper will take care of all of that, so...

October 23, 2018

Love

I wasn't looking for a girlfriend when I met Gabbie, but when I met her it felt as though I'd been searching for her my whole life. This shirt feels the same, I didn't know I wanted it until I found it, then I realized it was the shirt I had needed. Obviously I love Gabbie more, because she is a human. But I love this shirt. Go into... Read More the store, try on the shirt, and you will walk out buying it. Probably get a size smaller than you normally do.

October 6, 2018

Great fit / Super strong --> Hemp is cool

I love this shirt. I find myself wearing it all the time. I have the western snap shirt in hemp too, and love that one as well. Patagonia hit it out of the park with this hemp fabric. Soft, super strong, wears well, has a great drape in the way it hangs. Can't recommend it enough. This shirt runs a tad large, but I wear mine as an over shirt a... Read Morend its great. Perfect for fall. I bought the blue. Will be interesting to see next year which colors they do. I hope they do the Pelican color like they did the hemp shorts.

August 25, 2018

Perfection !

This is the best shirt I have ever owned hands down! The shirt is Perfect in every way from the fit and the feel to the drape too the way it moves. It’s a smart very well-made tough shirt that will quickly become a classic ! I purchased one several weeks ago shortly after receiving the first one purchased another one and haven’t taken the two of... Read Moref. Whether wearing it at the office,fishing for Brook trout in the mountains in Vermont to doing yard work. The shirt is heavy providing protection without being bulky. I’ve worn it in 49° weather in the mountains fishing too 85°weather going back-and-forth to work. In all situations I was completely comfortable. If I could knock the shirt in anyway it would be that it doesn’t have a second button on the cuff to cinch it tighter to the wrist..... but with one email I was sent six extra buttons so I can make the modification myself so I really have nothing to complain about. The whole workwear where line in general is just fantastic ! it’s the perfect Alternative to the slim fit skinny jeans phase we seem to be in now. Keep on making workwear that’s works !

June 25, 2018

More Than A Work Shirt

I ordered the Men's Farrier's Shirt in my normal size large when it first came out with the intention of using it in my woodworking shop and for outdoor chores. It was huge so I returned it for a size medium,which fit loose but just right. I was surprised at its heft without being heavy,soft but sturdy fabric,fashionable straight cut hem,... Read Moreease of movement and metal buttons that are easy to grasp. While there is no doubt it is built to be rugged,it immediately became my favorite non-work shirt. I just returned from a month long tour of coastal Ireland and Scotland which I packed for the recommended "four seasons in a day". While it never rained,I experienced the other three seasons and the Farrier's Shirt handled them all brilliantly. So much so that I never unpacked any of my coats,sweaters or foul weather gear. Buttoned up it kept off the damp morning chill and unbuttoned I wore it as a casual jacket over a t-shirt. It was just at home hiking the Isle of Arran as it was in the Scotch bar of the Balmoral Hotel. Thank you Patagonia for a versatile and pleasurable piece of gear.

June 8, 2018

A great REAL work shirt

This is one of my favorite work shirts. Soft and comfortable from the start. It is cut well and fits great. The cuffs are big enough to wear a watch and pockets I can actually use. Please Patagonia keep making work clothes! I support your environmental stance and will keep buying your work wear.

June 3, 2018

Durable,Well made shirt

I love the feel of this shirt,its a heavier weight and is still flexible and not restrictive. Very durable and well made definitely recommended.

April 6, 2018

Sturdy and high quality shirt

First of all..thank you *very* much for the 3XL sizing. Shirt fits perfectly on my 6'9' big frame leaving plenty of room to bend,move,reach etc. Long length in body and long sleeve length was as expected per sizing chart. Excellent! The fabric is very soft out of the package but seems that it will last forever. Fabric has a heavy feel to ... Read Moreit,but wears comfortably. Probably a three season shirt here in NC - likely too warm for summer. Overall,this shirt seems to be destined as one of those life-long lasting 'desert island list' Patagonia products

April 4, 2018

Solid work shirt

I work as a carpenter in Vermont. Needless to say,I can ruin clothes pretty quickly - so wanted to really test drive this shirt before I left a review. After wearing this shirt to work literally every day for the past 5 weeks (for testing purposes,of course),I'm happy to say that it really does live up to the claims. Fit: The fabric is soft ... Read Moreto the touch,and the shirt is cut comfortably. As winter is winding down and we're entering shoulder season in VT right now (March - April),I have been using the shirt primarily as an outer layer - throwing a jacket on when temps dip below freezing. The weight of the fabric has served me well working in temps from the low 30's to the mid 50's. (bearing in mind that we go sunbathing in VT when the thermometer hits 60.) I'm 5'10 and 185 lbs - I'd give myself an average to moderately fit build. I ordered a medium,and it fits very well. Plenty of room to layer underneath if needed,but works great over a t-shirt,too. There are times that the back of the shirt doesn't have quite enough room across the shoulders (reaching across my body with one hand on a ladder,or when reaching both arms up at about 30 degrees),but this happens infrequently enough that I wouldn't say it impacts moving or working significantly. (after all,it's entirely possible it's just me,as nobody else has mentioned this yet...) I would also join the lobby for a second cuff button - while the shirt fits very well,I found that the cuffs fell a bit lower on my hand than I was comfortable with - especially while using the table saw and some other power tools. Patagonia customer service was kind enough to send me some more buttons upon request,so again - far from a deal breaker. Durability: This shirt really wins here. Since I've had the shirt,I've been framing a garage in the snow,crawling into basement corners,on the ground under my car,hanging and taping sheetrock,carrying lumber,running various saws and large machinery - and the Farrier shirt looks just as good (after a wash,of course) as it did the day I got it. I gotta say - I am impressed by how well this shirt wears. One of the reasons I wanted to wait to write a review is that I have often had the experience of a garment that looks great out of the box,but falls apart quickly in the field. That is definitely not the case here. I feel confident that this shirt will hold up well for a long time to come. Details: -The pencil pocket seemed a bit gimmicky at first,but I have grown to love it. Way more useful than I expected. -The pleated chest pockets are never quite as useful (on any shirt) as I want them to be. Patagonia has done a good job with these. Generously sized,and easy to throw a handful of fasteners into - but the pleats actually make it a bit harder to get the last few screws or nails out of the bottom of the pocket. (again,could just be me - I'm sure this depends on the size of your hands and the size of whatever you're putting in your pocket...) -Everything about the construction of this shirt says quality and durability. In attempting to create a shirt that holds up to the demands of physical labor while still looking and feeling great,the Farrier shirt is a solid winner. Overall: The farrier shirt was my first foray into the workwear line,and I gotta say,Patagonia really nailed it here. This shirt is worth every penny. I liked it enough to order a second one,and am continually getting both compliments on the shirt,and questions about where I got it. If you want a solid,durable,but comfortable shirt - this is it. While I was initially tempted to dock one star for the few minor details I mentioned above,after putting this shirt through it's paces,I have changed my mind. It's earned the 5 stars.

April 3, 2018

Excellent shirt

Kudos to Patagonia on building a shirt that magically combines a soft feel with a tough as nails disposition. And major added points for finally bringing a 3XL size into the family. After years of shrinking technical and slimmer fits,it's nice to again find a great fitting shirt sized like my older XXL pieces.

March 26, 2018

One of my favorite all time Patigonia garments.

I had read the good reviews online about the Farrier shirt before I strolled into the Patagonia store in Santa Monica and saw it myself. This shirt has a weight that is heavier than your average Fjord flannel for example. I'm 5-8 and about 195 pounds with an athletic build and a medium fit me perfectly. The shoulders- arm length and overall co... Read Moremfort. After my purchase- I didn't take this shirt off almost my entire vacation. The shirt is heavy enough (almost denim heavy) that it can be used as a light jacket. The shirt is bulky- so be warned. If I was forced to nitpick anything I had issues with it would be that the sleeve doesn't have a second button to adjust at the wrist. I have bought countless Patagonia items over the past 20+ years. Shirts- jeans- socks- jackets- capilene - fleece- down and luggage. The Farrier shirt is in my top 3 Patagonia items of all time. Just bought a second as a matter of fact. Buy this shirt.

March 12, 2018

Perfect Shirt jacket for work!

I purchased this shirt last season,when it first came out. At 6'1' 172 lbs athletic build,I went with the medium. Product is roomy enough for layers,but fits well. The hemp/polyester blend material is amazing especially with broken in suede-like material. At first,I was concerned that maybe the material was a bit too soft,to my surprise i... Read Moret has held up well from construction work to climbing. With the weight of the shirt,I prefer to use this as a shirt jacket in milder temps 45-65 degrees Fahrenheit. Because of this,my one gripe would be no hand or front lower pockets. I hope Patagonia would incorporate these at some point,so one could throw some nails and screws in their shirt pocket. I will settle for the work apron for now. Another great product from the best in the business!

February 25, 2018

New favorite shirt

Great weight,great cut,and super comfortable. I am going to buy the other color as well. I did have to order a size smaller than I normally do.

January 31, 2018

Excellent shirt

I like this shirt so much I may buy it in the other color. It's incredibly comfortable and durable,and it looks great too,especially tucked in. I'm 5'11" and I bought a Medium. It fits great all around. Sleeve length is perfect and I have no trouble moving around in it. I'm docking one star for the cuffs. There is not a s... Read Moreecond level of adjustment to make the cuff tighter. Sometimes it's nice to tighten up to keep dirt,dust,sawdust,etc from falling down the sleeves. I'm considering adding a second button.

January 8, 2018

My favorite shirt

I've owned every major brand of work and outdoor shirt. This is by far the best,most comfortable,and most durable work shirt that I've owned. The fit is perfect. I'm 6' 4" 250 lbs. The XXL fits like it was custom tailored for me. It's amazingly soft. The fabric feels great..... no undergarments required. It seems to be... Read More tougher then the other brands including the one that starts with the letter C. The only thing I would change would be 2 buttons on the cuff instead of 1. I'll definitely be buying more when they're back in stock. Some lighter colors in muted earth tones would be nice too! Please don't change the way this fits or the weight and quality of the fabric. You guys got it right with this shirt!

December 19, 2017

Farrier Shirt is a home-run

I work outside all year around the world as an environmental restoration tech and typically carry what I can fit my life into a vehicle or luggage. That means that I am pretty stoked when I find some work gear that is as versatile and durable as the Farrier shirt seems to be. Fabric is super comfortable while also being able to handle being worn wh... Read Moreile out chainsawing and running heavy machinery in the rain/snow all while not looking totally wrecked at the end of the day..... which is a nice convenience when you rarely get to leave the woods to do laundry. Sizing is fairly large. I am 6' 3" and 195 lbs and even the medium in this shirt fits well. Sleeve length is perfect. Worth every penny to me and I hope to grab some more once the shirt is back in stock.

September 28, 2017

This is a great shirt..

Perfect fit,great material,comfortable all day.. you got this one right.

September 22, 2017

Great but Big

Surprised by the claims of true fit. I'm usually a medium but had to return this shirt for a small. It's really an excellent,well-made shirt,but the sizing is very generous.

August 17, 2017

Another home run

So I haven't worn these for work yet. That's the ultimate plan,but a weekend in northern New Brunswick to do some paddling called and I threw this thing into my bag in case the nights got chilly. I am not disappointed. The fit is completely true and it wears fantastically. I "worked" enough setting up and breaking our camp to ... Read Moretest the build and was not disappointed. It's heavy-ish,but not a burden and wears well right out of the package. The nights did prove cold,even around the fire,and this thing became a warm companion as I sipped my Kitchen Party Pale Ale from Big Spruce Organic brewery. Shameless plug for a buddy of mine,but the pair match so well,considering.

August 15, 2017

Perfect Fit

When a garment fits so well it is a joy to wear things in the universe have aligned!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches