Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Farrier's Work Shirt

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 50 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.6/5
True To Size
April 16, 2021

great land work shirt!

This shirt fits so nicely and looks quite attractive even though my use for it is while I'm digging dirt, cutting bramble, pruning, controlled burning etc. It's such a tough shirt but still soft on the skin. Love it!

March 10, 2021

Best Kept Secret

This shirt has to be the most underrated and best-kept-secret of Patagonia's product line. It's warm, stylish and incredibly durable; the kind of shirt that only gets better with time. It also somehow pulls off being rugged, sporty, or chic depending on what you pair it with. I've worn one of mine during both camping trips and busine... Read Moress meetings. However, for some reason it seems to be way less popular and well known than Patagonia's other shirts that make the best sellers list. I own three of them and almost whenever I wear one someone compliments me and asks about it. I used to be a die-hard Fjord Flannel fan, but now I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that Patagonia doesn't discontinue this product line for lack of popularity since its gotta be one of the best shirts ever made.

March 3, 2021

Amazing

5'5" 140lbs 36" bust 30" waist bought medium - there is plenty of room and the sleeves get rolled up for hand washing. What a beautiful shirt. The material is soft and strong with a flattering drape. At 490 grams it is a bit heavier (compared to the Haywood Flannel at 244 grams which is more of a standard shirt weight). It is no... Read Moret made for tucking in. Love the metal buttons, quality construction. Holds its shape after washing. Bought both the green and the orange. Each with deep pigment saturation and a slight sheen almost linen quality. Don't let that scare you away. It isn't shiny but more polished or hand rubbed like a cherished wooden table that has held generations of family dinners. I will cherish this for years. Buy it, just buy it. I promise you won't regret it.

March 1, 2021

One of my favorite shirts

Very flattering fit! I wear it mostly as a light jacket over my t-shirt. The fabric is durable and thick but not rough on the skin. Very good quality shirt!

February 28, 2021

Perfect weight

I bought this for working in the yard but so far have used it for layering indoors during these chilly winter days. Sooo glad I got this.

February 25, 2021

Nice but small

I usually wear a M but I got a L. Still a little small. Wish I wouldve gotten a XL

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

We apologize for the troubles with fit on this shirt. Please feel free to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this out for an XL if you'd like to give the size up a try. We appreciate you taking the time to give this feedback.

February 11, 2021

Perfect cut and toughness

Im a medium athletic build, 34DDD and no fat or extra fluff and this fit perfect. I wear a medium in most button ups and jackets. A small in athletic t-shirts. This shirt is perfect and has give in all the right places, like my shoulders and chest. Its long enough to tuck in and I absolutely love it.

February 5, 2021

Work Shirt

This is a sturdy, nice-looking work shirt. Its fitted with room for a capilene t-shirt underneath.

January 12, 2021

Runs very small

I typically wear a size xs/s and I had to return both sizes for a medium. The fit through the shoulders was the issue.

January 6, 2021

As pictured and described

I purchased the Ferrier's shirt based on the Fjord flannels that I have. The fit is similar, comfortable and functional with nice detail. One difference is that the sleeves are a bit stiffer due to the weight and type of fabric used for the shirt. It seems to be quite durable. I hope to receive years of wear from it.

January 4, 2021

Well Made

This is a thick, well made shirt.The sleeves are a little wide in the forearm but other than that, fit is the same as other button down styles I have ordered. I'm 5'4 and an athletic 130 and the xsmall is perfect.

January 1, 2021

Cheery and Comfortable

Perfect for horse owners. This shirt breathes but is still warm and the brick color is great. A nice match with the hemp overalls.

January 1, 2021

New favorite!!

I purchased this shirt in my usual size, (XS) and the fit was spot on. The fabric is of very good quality, so it is durable and very comfortable. Proving to keep me super warm in the MN weather!

December 28, 2020

Great fit and style

I love this shirt. It fits perfectly and is the right blend of fashion and function.

December 16, 2020

Warm, stylish somewhat

A half jacket half shirt. Very warm worn over a sweater. I wanted it roomy so I ordered a large; but it fits nicely, doesn't look like an ill fitting men's large shirt. Patagonia quality, I can tell it will last a long time and look the same. Good for wearing hiking or in studio on cold day

December 13, 2020

Love it!

Im 59 and lean so the medium was a bit large/roomy, but I love it. I wasnt looking for a fitted piece. Ive worn it hiking in the snow, and on cold days with kids. Its perfect thick for cold/working days!

November 30, 2020

Sturdy and warm.

This shirt is sturdy and warm. It feels like wearing a light jacket, but you aren't hot when indoors and it's comfortable. I walk to work and it's cold. This shirt is perfect to stay warm and with a cute necklace, looks perfect for the office. My only complaint is that it flairs out a bit more than I would like at the bottom. I prefe... Read Morer a straighter shirt. The flair is only slight though.

November 24, 2020

Quality shirt

This shirt is amazing, thick cotton, relaxed fit, quality! I bought two and they should last a very long time. Ill wear them for work or play and everyday.

November 17, 2020

A Real Shirt

A true everyday shirt - it's very well-made and the fabric has heft, durable yet soft. Easy to roll up the sleeves for working outside, hiking etc. but give it a press and it's polished enough for desk time too. Women's shirts are often flimsy compared to those for men. Thank you Patagonia for making a simple, beautifully crafted shi... Read Morert for women.

September 27, 2020

Excellent field shirt for work

As an environmental scientist, I needed something I can get dirty and will protect my arms. This shirt is the perfect addition to my work wear. Flattering, nice color, protects me from the scraps and mud.

September 22, 2020

Love it - will buy another!

This is a great short. Heavy, soft, well made. I know it will last a long time.

September 18, 2020

attractive style

this looks so good it's not just for beating around the house, or hiking. It's got style.

September 18, 2020

Perfect for fall/winter

Because I live in Tucson, AZ, this is a perfect winter jacket for me. Well made and a great shade of blue

September 17, 2020

Great look

I love this shirt but wish it was a little less stiff.

September 16, 2020

Well made

I was impressed with the overall quality, it really is well made. The material is denser than expected, its soft but still has that Im gonna be with you forever kind of feel. Its made to last. 4 stars is a high rating in my book, 5 it would have to give me a shoulder rub lol.

September 13, 2020

Classic,old school patagonia

I love this shirt. It is functional, tough, comfortable. It is what Patagonia made in the 80s..just great clothes that did their job , and lasted for years. Love this shirt.

September 9, 2020

Great Classic

This shirt is a great classic that will probably last a lifetime. The fabric is incredibly thick and capable of taking a beating and withstanding the elements, yet the shirt looks polished enough to wear to work or out around town. The fabric is not as soft as the Fjord Flannels, but I've noticed mine has gradually grown softer with repeated w... Read Moreear and washing. I've already ordered a second and I'll probably do so again, especially when they're on sale.

September 3, 2020

Sturdy Button-up

Heavy duty button up will be perfect for the Construction Site and Casual wear. Very sturdy fabric, slightly stiff, but a very good addition to my wardrobe. Medium size gives me plenty of room to layer when the weather turns cooler. 5'8" / 130lbs / Medium

September 3, 2020

Strong, yet relatively soft and very comfortable work attire!

This shirt fits well and is comfortable to wear. The cut allows for excellent mobility in the arms. I haven't used it for work yet, but have put it on to play badminton in our backyard b/c I wanted to test out the shirt- mobility was great! Will use it for work starting this weekend, building a paver patio and hauling rock, etc... for substrat... Read Moree. We're also having to take out a mature tree (sadly, due to the runners- which will ruin the new patio) and I will be chopping wood for our outdoor fire pit! This shirt will absolutely fit the bill for these jobs and hopefully last many years. These things said, I'm an Active Girly Girl- and I wish the logo on the female version was the beautiful normal Patagonia logo. The Workwear logo isn't as visually appealing, but that's just my opinion. I won't be looking at it while I work, so it's not a big deal. I purchased the black/dark grey color and really like it.

September 2, 2020

High quality

Great shirt. XS was a better fit for shoulders, bust, waist, and length, but too tight in the arms. Went with S so could work and move arms more comfortably. If had added stretch would have gone with XS for slimmer fit.

August 15, 2020

Soft, thick and seemingly strong fabric!

The Farrier shirt is a "Regular Fit" item, so I purchased my regular size in this fit (XS, I'm 5'4.5" and 125#, 32 B)- it was smaller than expected, but still fits well. The item is made out of amazingly soft fabric! After reading rave reviews about the quality of Patagonia Workwear on horse websites, I purchased this for w... Read Moreorking outside. Whether cutting back blackberry vines, gardening, weeding, chopping fire wood for outdoor cooking or helping build a paver patio- this will hopefully be my 'go-to' shirt for any type of manual labor outside. (Even though I no longer live and work on a horse & cattle ranch).

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

Thanks for submitting such a thoughtful and detailed review. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns about your Farrier Shirt, Victoria!

January 24, 2020

Great

Love it.

November 26, 2019

Workday and Weekends

This is my favorite shirt. Fits perfectly. Looks sharp enough to wear to my casual workplace and durable enough to work around the yard on the weekend. I told my partner to expect to see me in this shirt for many years to come.

November 24, 2019

Great work shirt, fit is a little awkward

I love this shirt. It has a great feel to it and is perfect for field work. The only is issue is the fit in the sleeves. They are rather over long, but also narrow. Extra material bunches near my wrists, but they’re right near my shoulders. It’s not a deal breaker, but it could definitively use a tweak.

September 25, 2019

Love but could use some tweaks

I bought this in a size small (I am 5'10 and 135) I usually wear a small in everything Patagonia except for the Fjord flannel- I wear a medium in that. This shirt is so thick and soft, I never want to take it off! However, it is much too small in the shoulders to be a real "small" and the sleeves are wayyy too short. Little disappoin... Read Moreted that the sizing is so off compared to other Patagonia items, but I still love it and will buy it in other colors!

September 22, 2019

5 star quality

Great fit and top notch craftsmanship!

September 12, 2019

Quality

I work and play outside. I love the thickness and quality of this shirt. I am 5'11" and 145#. I got a large so I can wear shirts underneath. There is still room. I would say if there was a size between medium and large it would be perfect! For tall ladies with a long wingspan this shirt wont disappoint.

September 8, 2019

Comfy & warm

Great shirt for working in the garden or going out, super warm.

August 26, 2019

One shirt to rule them all

If I'm leaving the house, the Farrier is coming with me. It's thick enough to hold up in a light rain, or be thrown on over a swimsuit and not make me instantly cold. It's a must for around the campfire, minimizing mosquito bites and easily wrapped into a pillow at the end of the night. I get compliments on this every time I wear it.... Read More I'm 5'7" and typically a Med top, but I went for the small. Sleeves are perfect, it's a little tight across the shoulders, so if I were working in this daily I'd opt for a Med.

August 20, 2019

Great feels!

This shirt is pretty great. It’s all it is described to be - a soft, but tough layer. I wish it were just a little fuller cut, but wearing it anyway since I plan to wear open over a T-shirt.

August 10, 2019

Great Materials, good fit

Great materials, feels like a shirt that will be wearable for years and keep getting better with time. My only qualm is about the fit. Generally, the shirt fit's well. However, I'm 5'11" with a fairly athletic build and the shoulders are a bit snug.

August 5, 2019

Tough and Cute

I originally go this shirt to cut wood. But now that I have it, it's too cute to use for working ;). I have used it the past 7 months though, and is still cute, and looks just as good as day 1.

April 18, 2019

Fabric is great, sizing a little strange

I bought this shirt on sale because I love the Western Snap shirt and thought I would try this one. Gambled and went with the S (since that's what was left on sale), since the S fit well in the Western Snap. The fabric and drape of the shirt are amazing, but I found that the Small was very restrictive through the shoulders for me. Could be I j... Read Moreust needed a size bigger, but I thought it was odd that the fit was so different from the Western Snap, especially on a "work shirt" that should leave ample room through the shoulders for active things. The fit everywhere else was roomy.

February 24, 2019

sturdy shirts, fits great

This shirt is practical and stylish. I like its two pockets and cut longer so can be tucked in or out. I am 5'4" 110lb, got an XS. Great shirt!

April 11, 2018

Not intended for mobility

This shirt is sturdy and the fabric is soft. A couple of problems: I wish patagonia would add a pleat in the back beneath the yoke. I find that my movement (particularly when chopping wood and motions like that) is restricted in this shirt. The seams on the arms are ridiculously thick and fall right on my elbow bone. This means if I lean on my elbo... Read Morews,well...it hurts! The men's shirt has the back pleat and a single piece sleeve-I wish they did the same with the women's fit! So,this will be used as a casual shirt,and I'll keep searching for the perfect work shirt!

March 11, 2018

The perfect shirt

Patagonia please make this in more colors! I have several of the women's fjord flannels and this fits and looks even better than the fjord. It feels incredibly sturdy and fits perfect. The sleeve are a tad short but I always roll my sleeves up so that doesn't really bother me. If only there were more colors like the men's!

October 5, 2017

Really nice

This is a nice,durable-seeming and really nice looking shirt. I saw it and instantly coveted and am glad I bought it. It is pretty roomy--I bought a small and was glad I did (I'm usually between a small and a medium in Patagonia tops). I also agree with the other reviews that said the sleeves are a bit short,but I would probably roll them up a... Read Morenyway,and I honestly didn't notice this issue at all after wearing it for 30 minutes. It is a really well-made,really nice shirt and worth investing in.

October 1, 2017

Casual work shirt,doubles as a light jacket

Have had this for a couple of days,used it while renovating a room and carrying furniture pieces around,plus for general casual wear,cycling around etc. It feels a bit heavy,keeps the wind out pretty well,the pockets are large enough to fit stuff in,and the sleeves are long enough (I'm a bit of an ape,me). I've wondered if the sleeves are... Read More a bit to loose to my taste,but on the other hand they do give good mobility and I could assemble a couple of beds with ease,nothing constricted me in any way. The hanging loop is a nice addition. Doesn't look half bad as a jacket,either (I've the khaki version)! Sleeve tabs could be nice for hot weather use,as most lighter shirts (say,Sol Patrol) don't really hold up for much wear and tear. Won't find out before next summer,it might be the sleeves roll up and stay rolled up without any tabs at all.

September 28, 2017

Soft yet durable!

I bought this shirt because I do alot of woodworking and wanted a work shirt that would 1. fit a small woman 2. hold up to working conditions for years 3. be easy to move in,and 4. shed wood chips and shavings fairly well. I got to first test it out the other day while building trail for the Tahoe Rim Trail Association. It has great freedom of move... Read Morement (see video),and I never got too hot in it. This shirt gets softer with each wash but seems super tough! Worth every penny. Thanks guys. Love it.

August 29, 2017

Seemingly durable,but the sleeves are too short

Nice,seemingly durable shirt. Heavy-weight,flannel-like material. I purchased this in both colors,the W's Forge Hemp pants in both colors,and the Tin Shed Jacket in the "Ink Black". After purchasing all of these items,I would only keep the Coriander Brown Forge Hemp pants because everything else looked drab,or they just did not have ... Read Morean "awesome" factor about them. The "Ink Black" Iron Forge Hemp pants look like a pair of urban denim pants. They were a huge disappointment,and not as awesome as the Coriander Brown color. Even though the Farrier's Shirt look as though it was made with a good quality material,Patagonia did not get the length of the sleeves right,but the body of the shirt had a good length and width. I also find that I have the same sleeve issues with Patagonia's women's "updated" or more recent hoodies. When my arms are at my side,and I am stationary,the sleeves are seemingly a good length,but upon moving my arms,the sleeves ride up. I purchased an extra-small in both colors,and both Farrier's shirt have a sleeve length issue. Even though Patagonia has a good niche going for itself,it seems to not have many clothing that have an awesome factor,but instead,in my opinion clothing that are a disappointment.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches