Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Western Snap Shirt

Write Your Review

4.18 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Western Snap Shirt

4.18
Kinda Large
September 7, 2020

Nice fabric

This is a nice shirt, first one I have had made with hemp. The fabric has a nice feel to it and a good texture. It wears well and is comfortable. I like the snaps, and the Western cut and detail. I have worn out a Patagonia heavy cotton shirt from the 80's which also had snaps and Western cut. hopefully this one will last as well although the ... Read Morematerial isn't as heavy. I appreciate the two pockets as I wear glasses at times and carry a phone, so it is functional. So far no complaints!

July 13, 2020

Shirt great for casual or work

Comfortable shirt durable enough for work and to top it off it's made from sustainable fabric.

July 13, 2020

Shirt great for casual or work

Comfortable shirt durable enough for work and to top it off it's made from sustainable fabric.

June 26, 2020

Softest button down I own

I own both organic cotton and blended hemp/organic cotton (such as this western shirt) the blended is by far softer before the first wash and still noticably softer after multiple launderings. The snaps have a slight pattern to them that gives a "scuffed" style look to them which adds broken in character to a brand new shirt. Seams are d... Read Moreown in such a way that they are unnoticed. This shirt would pair nicely with a bolo tie as it is extremely breathable even with the shirt closed. This was my first Patagonia purchase and was quickly followed with another purchase after the first wear.

June 20, 2020

Perfect casual shirt thats durable

Cool enough for hot summer days, strong enough for work and should last for years. Im 6 ft 1 and 200lbs. The large fit perfectly. Highly recommend this shirt.

June 20, 2020

Run a little big, but nice

The sleeves are a bit long and wide for my build, but thats alright, its a great shirt for camping, the outdoors or the summer heat. Breathes well

June 17, 2020

Disabled dad

Got this for my disabled dad. Hes 510 about 170 lbs. The snaps are easier for him and he likes the style

June 17, 2020

Comfy

Fit is loose and relaxed, light weight material makes for a comfy summer shirt.

November 6, 2019

Great Shirts

Patagonian has the best shirts. They wear forever. I have 4 other Patagonia shirts that have been around for 5 years, and not only do they still look new they feel great. I love my Patagonia shirts.

October 26, 2019

such a comfortable shirt

never have I worn a more comfortable shirt. that being said, take extra caution when washing/drying.

August 14, 2019

I wish the sleeves were

I wish the sleeves were just a little bit shorter, other than that the shirt is great.

August 14, 2019

Great fabric, but fit is a site-wide problem these days

Love this fabric. Doesn’t look as crisp in real life as it does in their photos, but it feels like a great combo of heavy-duty but also breathable and comfortable. If I could dial the fit in, I’d get a dozen and this would be my personal uniform. Just got it, washed it once and let it line dry because I was afraid it was already too short. Feels l... Read Moreike it’s the same in the shoulders but did lose a quarter inch in length. And it wasn’t tall to start with. Sleeves are cut well, lots of freedom of motion. Fit is a problem across the board these days. Patagonia has a decent return policy, but it’s still generating delivery truck exhaust into the atmosphere sending things back and forth. I used to be able to buy a Patagonia shirt w/o trying it on because they all fit the same. But I’m looking at 3 Back Steps right now, all the same size, none of which fit the same — in fact, they don’t even look like the same shirt. Same size in a High Moss, but those fit like an Army GP-Medium. Compared to the Back Step, the Western Snap is roomier in the shoulders, much bigger in the sleeves, but shorter in length. ( I went over the specs several times with customer service on the chat line, and couldn’t get the reported measurements to match what I was looking at in the mirror. Could be a matter of pre- and post- washing. ) (Tall sizing would be a huge help here.) So, if you’re ordering online or without trying it on first, be ready for some trial and error.

August 13, 2019

Western snap shirt

I love the fit and the fabric. This is another quality Patagonia product that I will wear for years. I wish more products came in 3xl, specifically the Houdini jacket and T-shirts. Thanks for being a company I can believe in and trust!

August 13, 2019

This shirt is well built,

This shirt is well built, from lovely AND burly material. Like all Patagonia, true to fit L for 6'2" 190. Great details in the choice of snaps...I reckon this will wear like iron.

August 12, 2019

heavy material, ridiculously oversized

I really wanted to love this shirt, but the material is thick (kind of "heavy") and not very breathable. It's a good looking shirt, but far from ideal for working in a hot/humid climate. Also, the sizing is ridiculous. I should have heeded the warnings of previous reviewers. I'm a slim 5'11" 165lbs. I mostly wear med... Read Moreium (occasionally a large). When the medium came, it was laughably large ... closer to XL. Not even close to medium! I exchanged for the small, which fits well, but even that feels a little billowy in the torso. I feel bad for anyone a little smaller than me who wants this shirt. In summary, I wouldn't recommend this for a work shirt. It's certainly a nice casual shirt, and definintely order a size smaller, Patagonia totally missed the mark in sizing.

August 10, 2019

Fits big

The cut is much larger than other shirts. I ordered the size I normally wear and the shirt fit like a tent. I had to return it.

August 10, 2019

Awsome

Fiits true to size. Excellent Quality.

August 10, 2019

Great shirt

Love the snap buttons and western look. Just wish the logo was on the back shoulder like it used to be.

August 10, 2019

A Little Western

Great shirt, the fabric blend keeps you cool, looks good at brewery or dancing…..

May 10, 2019

Great shirt

Love the shirt. I’m usually a Large but this large was really big on me. Got the medium and it fits great

May 9, 2019

not as high class what it used to be

not so happy with the quality lately - still will consider to buy but quality of the product is rudimentary lately

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

Hi Sanjay. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the quality. Please feel free to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you would like to return it.

May 8, 2019

quality and pattern are nice but sizing is off.

Patagonia small usually fits the bill for me but would have gone xs because this looks frumpy on me. Sleeves go all the way to the crook of my arm, baggy.

May 8, 2019

Sizing a little off for me

Great feeling shirt. Medium was too big and small was too tight for my frame. Normally wear a medium Patagonia shirt without issue. The western style seems patronizing for work wear. Make more hemp options it’s great material.

May 8, 2019

Western Snap Shirt

Bought a medium in the long sleeve and it ran too big. Bought the small and it is too small. Having a hard time with sizing with Patagonia these days. Have tried and can’t get this shirt to fit.

May 8, 2019

Love the hemp!

I would give this shirt 5 stars but the fit is a little funky. Love the material and the loose fit is comfortable for lounging around. I usually have a hard time finding Patagonia gear that fits my build. 5'9'' and 149 lbs. I wear a M in every other brand but wear a SM in Patagonia. Waiting for a more "modern" fit in all pr... Read Moreoduct. This shirts fit is loose, wide, and short in length.

April 10, 2019

Finally found a shirt

I love a lot of Patagonia's gear, jackets & base layers. The fit on all of those have always been good. The button downs........not so much. I'm a short stocky guy. 5'4" 175lbs. Broad shoulders & a genetically given torso that reminds people more of a tube sausage than elite athlete. The relaxed medium range of button do... Read Morewns from Patagonia are exactly what I've been looking for. Although length & fit around the gut area would be good, most shirts would be too snug around the chest. If it felt good around the chest, then length was wrong. This shirt found the "sweet spot" for me. Thanks Patagonia.

December 16, 2018

Manly Curves

I was fortunate enough to try this shirt on in the Patagonia Store in Pittsburgh. I agree with the earlier comments about it being larger than the typical Patagonia shirt...I'm usually L or XL, but the M fit me perfectly and I'm online to buy another. I wear this shirt for any activity.

August 21, 2018

Super baggy

Con: Apparently “relaxed” fit means baggy. This shirt is rather “relaxed”. All my shirts from Patagonia are Med, as is this one. Fits everywhere else with the exception of the torso. I imagine it’s best worn unbuttoned with a t-shirt. I'd return it for a small but I'm afraid it will be too small in all the other places. Probably will go b... Read Moreack. Or to the tailors to take out the slack. Pro: Love the feel of the fabric. Snaps are a huge plus as well.

July 7, 2018

Outstanding cloth but odd fit (made in Sri Lanka)

With a medium build,I normally wear size "medium" in shirts. But after reading Joe M's review -- thank you Joe -- I followed his recommendation and ordered size "small" on 6/25/2018. It fits my body above the belt just about right,although the shirt has zero taper and lots of excess waistline. The circumference of the waist... Read Moreline is 44 inches,which is the same circumference at underarm height. As Jimmy Mac reported in his evaluation,I too find that the length is short compared to most other shirts,which contradicts Patagonia's claim of a "slightly longer hem," but it is long enough to stay tucked as I do not have much of a gut. However,I agree with Jimmy that an extra two inches in length would be better,especially when reaching overhead or if you're taller than my 5'8". My biggest complaint is that the sleeves are narrow in diameter,so they feel restrictive when reaching overhead even though the shoulders are perfectly wide enough. Any minor stretch provided by the spandex content of 3% disappears along the non-elastic seams. Therefore,I don't recommend this shirt for rock-climbing,basketball,volleyball,etc. because of the relatively tight sleeves and the restraining underarm seam on the sleeve that continues down the side of the shirt. The chest pockets are big enough (5" wide with a depth that varies from 5" in the pointed center to 4_" on either side),but they are positioned a little lower than I prefer as only the top half of the pocket is on the pec and the lower,cargo-carrying half of each pocket rests on the rib cage below the pec,which I find irritating. The brushed fabric (a blend of 53% industrial hemp + 44% recycled polyester + 3% spandex) is soft like microfiber and comfortable. The color pattern cryptically named "Stove Leg: Dolomite" is subdued but attractive. The dull blue-gray "pearl" inlay on the front of every brass (?) snap button appears thoroughly and unattractively scratched,pitted,and worn on its raised center as if the shirt has been run through wash & dry with coarse sandpaper about 100 times. (I hope that the snaps loosen with time because they are relatively difficult to fasten and unfasten compared to my Brand X western snap shirts,especially on the pockets,which I plan to leave unsnapped permanently rather than risk ripping the pockets -- Seriously.) Test-wearing the shirt indoors without an undershirt but with air conditioning blowing full blast here in Phoenix,AZ,the shirt feels comfortably airy/breathable yet warm despite its thin weight. With regard to Patagonia's "cool-wearing ... even in frying-pan heat" claim: KEEP DREAMING. The only way to feel cool in this shirt outdoors during hot weather is if you dampen the shirt first. I soaked the shirt thoroughly in a pan of water,hung it upside-down for 20 minutes to drip out most water and move what remained to mostly the top half of the shirt,and it kept me from sweating much for most of an hour-long dawn dog walk on 7/7/2018 between 4-5 a.m. We never saw sun as sunrise wasn't until 05:25,but temperature during our outing was trending downward in the upper 80s with dew point varying within the lower 50s,so it would have been a very sweaty walk/trot/run without a wet shirt.

April 23, 2018

So comfortable!

Love this shirt! Its extremely comfortable and great for warm weather. I'm 5'11" and bought a medium. Sadly it was way too big for me so I returned it for a small. The small fits perfect! Other than the sizing mix up,the shirt is great and one of my favorites. Definitely recommend.

April 3, 2018

So close to perfect

Love the pattern of this shirt and was happily surprised at how great hemp fiber feels. Love that Patagonia is finally offering a 3XL. Hopefully they'll figure out that slim-fit really should be the domain of S,M & L sizes only. Really wish they'd build some technical outerwear in that size range as well. Only drawback to this shirt &... Read More#x27; as a true "work" shirt ' is that it could stand to be about 2 inches longer to stay tucked better.

March 22, 2018

Love it!

This shirt is great,and fits me perfectly. I've struggled with Patagonia's fit becoming slimmer and slimmer over the years,so I ordered this with a little hesitation. I have a Fjord flannel from about nine years ago that's an XL and it still fits,but nowadays Patty's XXLs in Regular Fit just barely fit me. However,this shirt in ... Read MoreXXL fits me to a T,the way the XLs of yore did. Good amount of stretch means I can move freely,and the drape allows breeze to work its way in. I'm 6'1'',with a 49 in chest,41 in waist,and the XXL fits exactly how I like my shirts to fit. I'll be ordering more from Patty's "Workwear" line so long as this fit and quality keep up.

February 23, 2018

Missed the mark on the fit.

This is one of those shirts that it is as wide as it is long. I own atleast a dozen Patagonia button down,short sleeve shirts. All of them are XLs and they fit just fine. I was really hoping that this one would have worked out. The length of the shirt is short and like I said it is super wide.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches