Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Western Snap Shirt

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 67 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Western Snap Shirt

4.3/5
Kinda Large
October 10, 2021

Great western detail.

Love the western details of this shirt. Very comfortable. Runs slightly big.

September 25, 2021

awesome!

It runs a tad large but its super comfortable. Love it!

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2021

We're glad to hear you're loving this "relaxed" fit design. Thanks for your review, David!

September 13, 2021

My bf looks hot in this shirt...

It was a gift...a very well received gift that looks and feels terrific.

September 12, 2021

Superior company

Your casual wear is just that casual and comfortable and it makes me look good. Couldnt ask for a nicer shirt. Business is tough enough the last two year, and to find a company with so much integrity is special. Looking forward to shopping with you for all my outdoor gear. Thanks

September 12, 2021

Runs large

Usually a medium from Patagonia fits perfectly. The body of the shirt fits like a L, the neck opening is like an XL.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Western Snap Shirt. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

September 11, 2021

Like the snap buttons

Good color, fabric, although the collar is kind of limp

September 7, 2021

runs large

bought this shirt and it was a tent. the fit is off, but the quality of the product is on par with everything patagonia makes, very nice. i ended up keeping the shirt and had it tailored

September 6, 2021

Itchy and scratchy

I dunno why they would make a short sleeve shirt out of this stuff. Its itchy, its scratchy and its not meant to be next to your skin. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you found the shirt to be itchy and uncomfortable. With that said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 3, 2021

Would be perfect if it was Regular Fit

I love the style and quality but Relaxed Fit is too baggy. Im 510, 180 lbs and the large is very loose fitting. The medium is too short in the length and sleeves for my liking. Please keep making this shirt in Regular Fit and you will have a Patagonia classic!

September 2, 2021

New Favorite Shirt

I love these shirts from Patagonia. The fit is long (I'm tall with a long torso) and relaxed, perfect for work, the local watering hole, or nice walk around. It washes up softer and softer each time, and should last a very long time.

September 2, 2021

Comfortable and Love the fabric

Another super fitting well made Patagonia shirt in my closet. Love the feel of this fabric and built like I've come to expect from Patagonia.

September 1, 2021

Love this Shirt!!

Fits great, and the quality is Patagonia perfect. I have two of these shirts and will probably by more.

September 1, 2021

Great shirt

I absolutely love this shirt. It can be used for a night out with friends or it even looks great for work. Very light and runs true to size. My favorite Patagonia so far.

August 17, 2021

Awesome Style and Comfort

I am going to need to order a few more of these in different colors. My favorite shirt by far and most of my button ups for work are all Patagonia. Super comfortable and looks good too. Not always an easy combination but this shirt does it!

August 4, 2021

Soft and comfortable

Fabric is awesome, soft after a few washes and medium weight but breathable. I m 6.2 and 245 lbs and the 2XL is almost too big. Its great for camping with a t shirt underneath but warm weather Id want an XL with no undershirt. I really like the feel of the fabric. I would definitely recommend this shirt.

July 8, 2021

In between sizes?

Initially bought a medium that looked too big so I also ordered a small to compare. The small was too small on the sleeves so I returned the small and kept the medium. Medium looks bigger if worm untucked. Looks better tucked into jeans

July 1, 2021

Cowboy Up (or Not)

M's Western Snap Shirt fits well and is well made. Works for working, tossing a frisbee, or having a beer

June 21, 2021

Classic look - just feels solid

At 5'10" and 205 lbs, I often find myself straddling the fence of L vs. XL. The L is excellent and allows me to have a classic tee underneath and feel comfortable. I alternate between purchasing trail running clothing and work clothing. My favorite patagonia clothing piece is my work vest, XL and my synchilla snap-T pullover.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Thank you for this detailed and thoughtful feedback! We're glad to hear you're liking the Western Snap Shirt, which was designed with our most generous "relaxed" fit, as is the classic Synchilla Snap-T and almost everything in our Workwear collection. When looking at our "slim" or "regular" fit items, you may find the larger size works best for you. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. We're always happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 17, 2021

Nice shirt

Comfy shirt. Looks nice at office our out for drinks. Runs slightly large. Seems to be experiencing a pilling look after one wash. I will need to see how the shirt holds up after further use.

June 13, 2021

Item didn't match photo

On the web site, the tan plaid version of shirt has the pattern matched across the pockets. The shirt had the pattern rotated 45 degrees. It's a small detail for some, but I think it looks a little better in the picture.

Response from Patagonia
June 16, 2021

Hi Samuel, we apologize for the discrepancy in the photo online. We appreciate you pointing this out and welcome you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this if you'd like.

June 12, 2021

Snap

Love this shirt. Complete transparency; I love snap "buttons." Convenient and cool. The blue shirt itself is a medium-weight fabric, so, tough enough for physical work. I use it for office work and it looks awesome when professionally laundered. Buying another color soon.

June 3, 2021

Great Work Shirt

I am tall and skinny and generally would order a Large and prefer slim fitting shirts. Based on the reviews, I went with M and it fits great. Not a smooth textured fabric, but I like it. Feels broken in after first wash. Look forward to wearing it for years to come.

May 27, 2021

Runs Large is an understatement

Shirts just alright build-wise. Fabric is not on par with most shirts in this price category. Feels like itll wear quickly. Whoever labeled the templates for these shirts got something mixed up. The XL that shipped to me would easily fit someone used to wearing XXL and possibly XXXL. I like the style a lot, but Ill probably be returning this one ra... Read Morether than swapping for a Large. Id wager the circumference would likely fit better but the length would not.

April 9, 2021

New Favorite Material

I really dig these shirts. So far, theyre great for chilly weather warm weather - well see about hot weather in the coming weeks (Texas). The fit is roomy for sure. I wear a Medium or Large in Patagonia - definitely a Medium in the Work-Wear lineup. The only thing Id change is have some more color options. A super lightweight version would be kille... Read Morer!

April 8, 2021

Second one

I had no intention of getting a second one as I have been quite satisfied with my first, but because I wear that one so often others felt I needed a second color. It is very comfortable. Breaths well, all though is a bit heavy so not a tropic wear fabric, which I dont think it is meant to be. The fabric though is ideal as a chore shirt yet stylish ... Read Moreto wear out.

April 7, 2021

Great casual shirt that doubles as river-wear

I'm 6'2" and 225 lbs, with wide shoulders and chest. The shirt fits well, though just a touch snug through the shoulder when I am doing something active like spey-casting fly line. But for general casual wear, the fit is dialed in, and the style of clean and looks good for trips to the local restaurants and pubs.

April 7, 2021

snap shirt for all occasions

Great shirt with snap buttons. Durable, breathable, and sharp looking.

March 19, 2021

The Perfect Western Snap Shirt!

Primarily wear size Medium in shirts but ordered size Small because of the 'Relaxed Fit' and it was perfect.

March 4, 2021

Sharp looking and durable

These shirts look great! The snaps are very high quality and the patterns look fantastic- the pics on the site don't do justice to how sharp these look. Everything about this shirt feels EXTREMELY durable as well. Things to watch out for- It runs larger than any other small shirt I've purchased from Patagonia. I bought two and this was th... Read Moree case with both. Personally, I found them VERY itchy at first, especially when I sweat, which is alot. Luckily, after a few washes this problem mellowed out and they became much more comfortable. Overall I'm extremely happy with this shirt. I have to say again- the material is extremely beefy for how comfy it is

February 14, 2021

pearl snaps

First I ordered a medium but that was too big. I said the small is just kind of too big in this particular style. The other small shirts I bought fit fine or even better than this particular one. I will keep this shirt though because I can manage. I would also like to note that I wear a medium in one of your zip up hoodies.

February 10, 2021

Awesome Shirt!

The fabric and fit of this shirt make it awesome for warm weather activities. It has a cool, casual look and a true feeling of durability. Definitely a relaxed fit. Pairs nicely with jeans or shorts. I'd love to see more color options!

December 7, 2020

Classic by Sheer

This is a nice version of the western shirt. I had an older version call the Wisco that was made of smoother material. This one is more of a rough cotton feel, which is cool in its own right. I got the white stripes and it is kid of sheer, which isn't ideal. Overall good shirt though.

November 14, 2020

Sizing seems totally normal to me

I read a ton of reviews for this item saying it was ridiculously oversized. I dont find that to be the case at all. It is a full cut, more roomy workwear style shirt but I wear a medium in everything Patagonia and I wear a medium in this style too. I would say buy true to size unless you are very thin or like an extra snug fit, then order one size ... Read Moredown. But if you like a snug fit buying workwear doesnt really make sense as it is meant to fit with a little extra room. But hey, you do you.

November 2, 2020

Great work shirt

Nice shirt, great fabric. Im usually a large for most of my Patagonia shirts , for this one the medium fit perfectly. The western styling is perfect. My second one in a new color.

September 7, 2020

Nice fabric

This is a nice shirt, first one I have had made with hemp. The fabric has a nice feel to it and a good texture. It wears well and is comfortable. I like the snaps, and the Western cut and detail. I have worn out a Patagonia heavy cotton shirt from the 80's which also had snaps and Western cut. hopefully this one will last as well although the ... Read Morematerial isn't as heavy. I appreciate the two pockets as I wear glasses at times and carry a phone, so it is functional. So far no complaints!

July 13, 2020

Shirt great for casual or work

Comfortable shirt durable enough for work and to top it off it's made from sustainable fabric.

July 13, 2020

Shirt great for casual or work

Comfortable shirt durable enough for work and to top it off it's made from sustainable fabric.

June 26, 2020

Softest button down I own

I own both organic cotton and blended hemp/organic cotton (such as this western shirt) the blended is by far softer before the first wash and still noticably softer after multiple launderings. The snaps have a slight pattern to them that gives a "scuffed" style look to them which adds broken in character to a brand new shirt. Seams are d... Read Moreown in such a way that they are unnoticed. This shirt would pair nicely with a bolo tie as it is extremely breathable even with the shirt closed. This was my first Patagonia purchase and was quickly followed with another purchase after the first wear.

June 20, 2020

Run a little big, but nice

The sleeves are a bit long and wide for my build, but thats alright, its a great shirt for camping, the outdoors or the summer heat. Breathes well

June 20, 2020

Perfect casual shirt thats durable

Cool enough for hot summer days, strong enough for work and should last for years. Im 6 ft 1 and 200lbs. The large fit perfectly. Highly recommend this shirt.

June 17, 2020

Comfy

Fit is loose and relaxed, light weight material makes for a comfy summer shirt.

June 17, 2020

Disabled dad

Got this for my disabled dad. Hes 510 about 170 lbs. The snaps are easier for him and he likes the style

November 6, 2019

Great Shirts

Patagonian has the best shirts. They wear forever. I have 4 other Patagonia shirts that have been around for 5 years, and not only do they still look new they feel great. I love my Patagonia shirts.

October 26, 2019

such a comfortable shirt

never have I worn a more comfortable shirt. that being said, take extra caution when washing/drying.

August 14, 2019

Great fabric, but fit is a site-wide problem these days

Love this fabric. Doesn’t look as crisp in real life as it does in their photos, but it feels like a great combo of heavy-duty but also breathable and comfortable. If I could dial the fit in, I’d get a dozen and this would be my personal uniform. Just got it, washed it once and let it line dry because I was afraid it was already too short. Feels l... Read Moreike it’s the same in the shoulders but did lose a quarter inch in length. And it wasn’t tall to start with. Sleeves are cut well, lots of freedom of motion. Fit is a problem across the board these days. Patagonia has a decent return policy, but it’s still generating delivery truck exhaust into the atmosphere sending things back and forth. I used to be able to buy a Patagonia shirt w/o trying it on because they all fit the same. But I’m looking at 3 Back Steps right now, all the same size, none of which fit the same — in fact, they don’t even look like the same shirt. Same size in a High Moss, but those fit like an Army GP-Medium. Compared to the Back Step, the Western Snap is roomier in the shoulders, much bigger in the sleeves, but shorter in length. ( I went over the specs several times with customer service on the chat line, and couldn’t get the reported measurements to match what I was looking at in the mirror. Could be a matter of pre- and post- washing. ) (Tall sizing would be a huge help here.) So, if you’re ordering online or without trying it on first, be ready for some trial and error.

August 14, 2019

I wish the sleeves were

I wish the sleeves were just a little bit shorter, other than that the shirt is great.

August 13, 2019

This shirt is well built,

This shirt is well built, from lovely AND burly material. Like all Patagonia, true to fit L for 6'2" 190. Great details in the choice of snaps...I reckon this will wear like iron.

August 13, 2019

Western snap shirt

I love the fit and the fabric. This is another quality Patagonia product that I will wear for years. I wish more products came in 3xl, specifically the Houdini jacket and T-shirts. Thanks for being a company I can believe in and trust!

August 12, 2019

heavy material, ridiculously oversized

I really wanted to love this shirt, but the material is thick (kind of "heavy") and not very breathable. It's a good looking shirt, but far from ideal for working in a hot/humid climate. Also, the sizing is ridiculous. I should have heeded the warnings of previous reviewers. I'm a slim 5'11" 165lbs. I mostly wear med... Read Moreium (occasionally a large). When the medium came, it was laughably large ... closer to XL. Not even close to medium! I exchanged for the small, which fits well, but even that feels a little billowy in the torso. I feel bad for anyone a little smaller than me who wants this shirt. In summary, I wouldn't recommend this for a work shirt. It's certainly a nice casual shirt, and definintely order a size smaller, Patagonia totally missed the mark in sizing.

August 10, 2019

A Little Western

Great shirt, the fabric blend keeps you cool, looks good at brewery or dancing…..

August 10, 2019

Awsome

Fiits true to size. Excellent Quality.

August 10, 2019

Great shirt

Love the snap buttons and western look. Just wish the logo was on the back shoulder like it used to be.

August 10, 2019

Fits big

The cut is much larger than other shirts. I ordered the size I normally wear and the shirt fit like a tent. I had to return it.

May 10, 2019

Great shirt

Love the shirt. I’m usually a Large but this large was really big on me. Got the medium and it fits great

May 9, 2019

not as high class what it used to be

not so happy with the quality lately - still will consider to buy but quality of the product is rudimentary lately

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

Hi Sanjay. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the quality. Please feel free to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you would like to return it.

May 8, 2019

Love the hemp!

I would give this shirt 5 stars but the fit is a little funky. Love the material and the loose fit is comfortable for lounging around. I usually have a hard time finding Patagonia gear that fits my build. 5'9'' and 149 lbs. I wear a M in every other brand but wear a SM in Patagonia. Waiting for a more "modern" fit in all pr... Read Moreoduct. This shirts fit is loose, wide, and short in length.

May 8, 2019

Western Snap Shirt

Bought a medium in the long sleeve and it ran too big. Bought the small and it is too small. Having a hard time with sizing with Patagonia these days. Have tried and can’t get this shirt to fit.

May 8, 2019

Sizing a little off for me

Great feeling shirt. Medium was too big and small was too tight for my frame. Normally wear a medium Patagonia shirt without issue. The western style seems patronizing for work wear. Make more hemp options it’s great material.

May 8, 2019

quality and pattern are nice but sizing is off.

Patagonia small usually fits the bill for me but would have gone xs because this looks frumpy on me. Sleeves go all the way to the crook of my arm, baggy.

April 10, 2019

Finally found a shirt

I love a lot of Patagonia's gear, jackets & base layers. The fit on all of those have always been good. The button downs........not so much. I'm a short stocky guy. 5'4" 175lbs. Broad shoulders & a genetically given torso that reminds people more of a tube sausage than elite athlete. The relaxed medium range of button do... Read Morewns from Patagonia are exactly what I've been looking for. Although length & fit around the gut area would be good, most shirts would be too snug around the chest. If it felt good around the chest, then length was wrong. This shirt found the "sweet spot" for me. Thanks Patagonia.

December 16, 2018

Manly Curves

I was fortunate enough to try this shirt on in the Patagonia Store in Pittsburgh. I agree with the earlier comments about it being larger than the typical Patagonia shirt...I'm usually L or XL, but the M fit me perfectly and I'm online to buy another. I wear this shirt for any activity.

August 21, 2018

Super baggy

Con: Apparently “relaxed” fit means baggy. This shirt is rather “relaxed”. All my shirts from Patagonia are Med, as is this one. Fits everywhere else with the exception of the torso. I imagine it’s best worn unbuttoned with a t-shirt. I'd return it for a small but I'm afraid it will be too small in all the other places. Probably will go b... Read Moreack. Or to the tailors to take out the slack. Pro: Love the feel of the fabric. Snaps are a huge plus as well.

July 7, 2018

Outstanding cloth but odd fit (made in Sri Lanka)

With a medium build,I normally wear size "medium" in shirts. But after reading Joe M's review -- thank you Joe -- I followed his recommendation and ordered size "small" on 6/25/2018. It fits my body above the belt just about right,although the shirt has zero taper and lots of excess waistline. The circumference of the waist... Read Moreline is 44 inches,which is the same circumference at underarm height. As Jimmy Mac reported in his evaluation,I too find that the length is short compared to most other shirts,which contradicts Patagonia's claim of a "slightly longer hem," but it is long enough to stay tucked as I do not have much of a gut. However,I agree with Jimmy that an extra two inches in length would be better,especially when reaching overhead or if you're taller than my 5'8". My biggest complaint is that the sleeves are narrow in diameter,so they feel restrictive when reaching overhead even though the shoulders are perfectly wide enough. Any minor stretch provided by the spandex content of 3% disappears along the non-elastic seams. Therefore,I don't recommend this shirt for rock-climbing,basketball,volleyball,etc. because of the relatively tight sleeves and the restraining underarm seam on the sleeve that continues down the side of the shirt. The chest pockets are big enough (5" wide with a depth that varies from 5" in the pointed center to 4_" on either side),but they are positioned a little lower than I prefer as only the top half of the pocket is on the pec and the lower,cargo-carrying half of each pocket rests on the rib cage below the pec,which I find irritating. The brushed fabric (a blend of 53% industrial hemp + 44% recycled polyester + 3% spandex) is soft like microfiber and comfortable. The color pattern cryptically named "Stove Leg: Dolomite" is subdued but attractive. The dull blue-gray "pearl" inlay on the front of every brass (?) snap button appears thoroughly and unattractively scratched,pitted,and worn on its raised center as if the shirt has been run through wash & dry with coarse sandpaper about 100 times. (I hope that the snaps loosen with time because they are relatively difficult to fasten and unfasten compared to my Brand X western snap shirts,especially on the pockets,which I plan to leave unsnapped permanently rather than risk ripping the pockets -- Seriously.) Test-wearing the shirt indoors without an undershirt but with air conditioning blowing full blast here in Phoenix,AZ,the shirt feels comfortably airy/breathable yet warm despite its thin weight. With regard to Patagonia's "cool-wearing ... even in frying-pan heat" claim: KEEP DREAMING. The only way to feel cool in this shirt outdoors during hot weather is if you dampen the shirt first. I soaked the shirt thoroughly in a pan of water,hung it upside-down for 20 minutes to drip out most water and move what remained to mostly the top half of the shirt,and it kept me from sweating much for most of an hour-long dawn dog walk on 7/7/2018 between 4-5 a.m. We never saw sun as sunrise wasn't until 05:25,but temperature during our outing was trending downward in the upper 80s with dew point varying within the lower 50s,so it would have been a very sweaty walk/trot/run without a wet shirt.

April 23, 2018

So comfortable!

Love this shirt! Its extremely comfortable and great for warm weather. I'm 5'11" and bought a medium. Sadly it was way too big for me so I returned it for a small. The small fits perfect! Other than the sizing mix up,the shirt is great and one of my favorites. Definitely recommend.

April 3, 2018

So close to perfect

Love the pattern of this shirt and was happily surprised at how great hemp fiber feels. Love that Patagonia is finally offering a 3XL. Hopefully they'll figure out that slim-fit really should be the domain of S,M & L sizes only. Really wish they'd build some technical outerwear in that size range as well. Only drawback to this shirt &... Read More#x27; as a true "work" shirt ' is that it could stand to be about 2 inches longer to stay tucked better.

March 22, 2018

Love it!

This shirt is great,and fits me perfectly. I've struggled with Patagonia's fit becoming slimmer and slimmer over the years,so I ordered this with a little hesitation. I have a Fjord flannel from about nine years ago that's an XL and it still fits,but nowadays Patty's XXLs in Regular Fit just barely fit me. However,this shirt in ... Read MoreXXL fits me to a T,the way the XLs of yore did. Good amount of stretch means I can move freely,and the drape allows breeze to work its way in. I'm 6'1'',with a 49 in chest,41 in waist,and the XXL fits exactly how I like my shirts to fit. I'll be ordering more from Patty's "Workwear" line so long as this fit and quality keep up.

February 23, 2018

Missed the mark on the fit.

This is one of those shirts that it is as wide as it is long. I own atleast a dozen Patagonia button down,short sleeve shirts. All of them are XLs and they fit just fine. I was really hoping that this one would have worked out. The length of the shirt is short and like I said it is super wide.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches