burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol? Shirt

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol? Shirt

4.2/5
True To Size
August 13, 2022

Incredible shirt

Incredible fit for 6'2" 44 waist. Button down collar, roll up sleeve options are excellent for formal/work wear. Zip chest pockets are super handy and sleek. Comfortable for wear up to like 95F degrees.

August 12, 2022

I received a lot of

I received a lot of compliments for this shirt. Love the colors and sun protection. My only concern was the shirt is narrow on the sleeves. If you work out, this shirt will be small in the arms.

August 11, 2022

The jump between xxl and 3xl is insane!

There is so much amazing gear that Patagucci makes, that being said, being a very tall and not petite person XXL is usually too short. Thinking I would get some extra length from a 3X shirt I ordered it. The difference between a XXl and a 3X shirt is like a 1-2 person tent to a 6person tent. It is ridiculously huge. Not what I would expect from Pat... Read Moreagonia. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2022

Hi Miller! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the difference in size between XXL and 3XL. We truly appreciate this feedback as it's crucial to improving things for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design team.

August 9, 2022

Well designed

Protects from sunburn, looks great, performs well in heat and humidity. I thought I'd just wear it when working in the garden, but now I wear it all the time!

July 29, 2022

Should be renamed the sauna shirt.

I tried this shirt last year on some very hot days floating the North Float of the Flathead. The material doesn't breathe at all, and the shirt was beastly hot. But the temperature was over a hundred. I returned the shirt, but I really wanted a white sun shirt for rafting in hot weather, and I was willing to give it another chance. I used in J... Read Moreackson Hole when the temperature was in the 70s and 80s: same thing. The material of this shirt simply doesn't breathe and makes your feel like you're in a sauna. A far better shirt for the sun is the Island Hopper, which I've used many times now: way cooler in hot weather.

July 18, 2022

Great warm weather fishing shirt

Great warm weather fishing shirt

July 11, 2022

Great lightweight sun shirt that actually is UPF

I've owned previous versions of this shirt and this is a vast improvement in lightness and breathability. I love the popped collar feature, but I have one suggestion for improvement. The collar doesn't stay nearly as perky as you would like it to. I've been using a paper clip to hold it up, but it would be easy to update the buttons... Read More that keep the collar folded down so that they could do the job. Right now the buttons for the left and right side are mirror images. They could be reversed (so they are male female across the midline of the body). Then they could snap together and help hold the collar up and still be used to hold the collar down!

July 11, 2022

Light & White

I wear this shirt bike riding in southwest Florida, for which it is excellent. And its a Patagonia.

July 1, 2022

Comfortable in hot weather

I think it's a good shirt for keeping the heat off. I use it hiking, camping and surf fishing in Florida, and it lets the breeze right through. It's light and keeps the sun off. It's a nice shirt. Worth the money.

June 11, 2022

Very comfortable. Great travel shirt.

I like the zipper pockets. I love the material. I have 8 of these shirts in the heavier material and they are my favorites. Now that it has warmed up, I am living in these.

May 22, 2022

We get what we pay for.

Cheap never is cheap if what you pay doesnt last. This shirt may cost more. You will have it for years. The style is classic, not faddish.

May 10, 2022

Amazing Shirt and Design

I got the oar tan one and it is the best shirt I own. Looks awesome and keeps you very cool compared to flannel shirts. The front chest pockets come in handy as they are large. Would recommend to anyone.

May 6, 2022

Had to grab the deal (sale) for a great shirt that I own in other colors

Not quite Summer where I am, but I already have the same shirt, but in a different color, and on sale made it a lock. Over some years, I find that nearly all the clothes/outerwear I have are Patagonia. That's equally due to the quality and company ethics.

May 6, 2022

Why change a good thing

I own several of these shirts from past years. My favorite travel, guiding hot weather shirt. The quality and fit has been amazing. Went to order a couple new ones for this guiding season and they changed the fit. The shoulders are way tighter/less material in the back. I even tried ordering a size up which was huge, but still tight in the should... Read Moreers/under arm when putting my arms straight out front or in a casting position. The old ones had more fabric/folds in the back that allowed more freedom of movement. Why change a good thing. The old version was perfect. I guess I have to find a product from another company:-(

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Thank you for this review, Josh; we appreciate the feedback. We're so sorry the current version of this shirt isn't working for you! Please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that isn't right for you. By the way, it looks like the one you had previously may have been Style Number 54254, from Spring 2019. You may be able to find it from time to time on our Worn Wear site. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

May 3, 2022

Very comfortable

Fits well on my 180- 512 frame. Will buy again. Stains came right out in the wash. Loved the eye glass cloth

May 3, 2022

Comfortable

Love the shirt, as soon as I got the first one I ordered a second one

April 4, 2022

Does the job

I love the collar on here, it has extra fabric you can turn up to protect your neck. The only thing I don't love is the sideways pockets. They have zippers, but if you put something in there and don't zip them up the stuff will fall out. I think I just prefer regular top open pockets. Also I'm a woman, but this shirt fits me fine, I ... Read Moreliked it better than the women's color options.

April 2, 2022

Perfect for Minimalist Fly Fishing..!

This shirt carries everything I need for a day of minimalist fly fishing and protects me from the sun. Body runs large; sleeves run narrow - but the overall fit suits me fine and allows for unrestricted casting. Tight lines..!

February 19, 2022

Too big

This is larger than other Patagonia XS shirts. They should make XXS

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

Thank you for your feedback! Our Sol Patrol Shirt is a "relaxed" fit design, so we recommend taking a look at our "slim" fit shirts when we offer our Spring and Summer 2022 products. We hope you'll find a better fitting shirt soon, but please reach out to us if you'd like any assistance with measurements.

February 8, 2022

Bullseye

This short checks all the boxes. The fit is perfect. The pockets are well shaped and places. The button down color makes it look sharp. I couldnt have designed a better shirt myself.

January 24, 2022

Comfortable

Need a good shirt to fly fish, this fits the bill.

January 13, 2022

Sol Patrol long sleeve

Very comfortable and light wearing. Awesome!

November 28, 2021

Great new design

They've remodeled this classic and it's a success. It feels great, the pockets are large and protective, and the overall material is really good in hot weather. A classic. I own many of those and literally can't live without them.

November 14, 2021

Trout fishing, great shirt!

I've worn this shirt a week now during autumn colors. Lightweight, quick dry and protects back of neck and arms from sun. Pockets were cool and easy access to gear and tackle. Later during the days, the sleeve roll-up and button strap works and looks good!

November 9, 2021

High quality wrinkle free

This shirt is great for travel since the fabric is seems to be wrinkle free and drys quickly when it gets wet.

September 20, 2021

A little too big for the size

Nice shirt but really feels a bit too big and not very well tailored

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Michael. This shirt is meant to be a bit oversized and boxy to protect from sun. You might prefer something like our [Men's Long-Sleeved Self-Guided Hike Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-self-guided-hike-shirt/41900.html) for a slimmer fit.

September 1, 2021

Very Comfortable and Practical

This is the 3rd shirt of this type I've purchased. They are very comfortable, and practical with several pockets with zippers which I especially like. It would be nice to have more color choices, such as forest green, bright turquoise, navy blue, black/gray. I would certainly buy more.

August 25, 2021

Great fishing shirt!

This shirt has been on one fishing trip so far and performed as advertised. Keeps you cool in hot weather and protected from the sun. The arms are a little snug when rolled up though.

August 9, 2021

Best shirt on the market. Period

I love those shirts. I owe a few of them. They recently changed the design a bit but it's even better than before - which was already perfect. Patagonia should come up with more colors like khaki green or navy blue or a different beige. I wear those shirts every day. They look awesome no matter where I am or what I do. I will keep buying those... Read More shirts until they are worn out or I die. It's as simple as that.

July 29, 2021

A jacket that feels like a silk shirt!

I like to wear layers of clothing and I think that this offers me the ability to wear in the evening and in the morning and make do without it during the afternoons when its too hot. However it does protect from the sun as I did wear it on the beach in Santa Cruz California! Plus its a Patagonia! I love The amount of space with extra pockets. On... Read More top of it theres a showing in tears of microfiber to clean your eyeglasses on the front corner impeccable design worth every penny!

July 28, 2021

A too-hot sun shirt

I used this shirt to run the North Fork of the Flathead in July, the temperatures in the 90s. I roasted in it, the polyester material not breathing well and sticking to my skin. I had an A/C shirt along and used that: bliss, cool and comfortable. It would be worth making a long-sleeved A/C shirt in white. It would be a winner for river running and ... Read Morefishing.

July 12, 2021

Better than Columbia's PFG

I literally bought a white PFG button down, and this one. I returned the PFG same day. Why, you ask? The Patagonia version fit better to my body, a bit slimmer in the torso and waist, but by no means tight. It also looked cleaner, less going on with flailing vents and all that madness on the PFG. PLUS I get the good feeling of supporting a B-Corp. ... Read MoreEasy.

July 10, 2021

Excellent fly fishing and hiking shirt

This is an excellent shirt! Comfortable, fast drying, great sun protection, easy to care for, good pocket storage, rugged and durable. Any shirt that can withstand the rigorous terrain found on the lower Deschutes River had got my vote.

July 9, 2021

Amazing Shirt - Except sleeve width

I wanted to love this shirt. Everything is great - EXCEPT the sleeve width at the biceps. Im in good shape - XL is my standard Patagonia top size. These sleeves were so tight at the biceps, rolling up the sleeves was impossible and sleeves down my arms became fatigued after just a few minutes of wear at home. A little more casting room in the back ... Read Morewould be nice also. I ordered this in two colors and returned them both. Would try again if there was a redesign.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hey Lee, we appreciate the feedback on the Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol Shirt and we're sorry to hear that it was too tight in the arms for you. Please note, we have access to measurements if you ever need them, simply reach out to customer service. After some research, we found a similar option with a bigger bicep measurement, our [Men's Long-Sleeved Self-Guided Hike Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-self-guided-hike-shirt/41900.html?dwvar_41900_color=PGBE&cgid=mens-shirts). The Sol Patrol Shirt in XL comes in at 8.875" at the bicep when laying flat, but the Self Guided Hike Shirt comes in at 9.75". It could work out better for you, please check it out!

June 28, 2021

Totally Cool

Great style, slightly larger than other other shirts that Ive purchased but still fit well for me. Fantastic design I was extremely happy with this purchase. Thank you.

June 27, 2021

Great Sun Shirt

Bought this for a 5-day Middle Salmon trip. Generally, I run hot, and was not really sure if I would be able to wear long sleeves in the blazing sun, but this shirt ended up being a life saver. After a day of sunburning myself, I wore this the next 4 days (all 80+ degrees and full sun), and it was quite comfortable. Fabric is lightweight and breath... Read Moreable, but the ripstop feels substantial in hand, not cheap. Venting on the back helps. Able to swim in it or douse it for extra cooling, it dried quickly and was comfy while wet. I'm 5'8" 180lbs, the shirt is just slightly longer than I'd ideally like it (to wear un-tucked), but this is usually the case for me - to fit my shoulders, it'll be a bit long for my torso. All-in-all, no complaints, would recommend, does the job its designed to do very well.

June 20, 2021

Pockets, pockets, pockets!

This new version of the 50spf sol patrol shirt is amazing! Light colorful and full of pockets under pockets! I can safely take my electronics and valuables, and no one will be the wiser! Thanks again Patagoniacs! Adam

June 17, 2021

Fast drying

Great shirt, wore this recently fly fishing in the Sierras. Front pockets generous, fit appropriate for activity and once falling on the slippery rocks in a pool the shirt dried very quickly. Definitely would buy again but my Patagonia gear never wears out.

May 9, 2021

Arms way too tight, not recommended

First the good: Love the design with the front chest pockets, breathable material, thoughtful glasses wipe inside, buttons to roll up the sleeves. Was really excited about the Upwell Blue color/pattern which is really cool. The non-so-good: The arms are WAY TOO TIGHT! I'm not a bit guy (6ft, 175lbs), I wear medium or large Patagonia and I orig... Read Moreinally ordered the medium. Immediately the arms felt tight, and if I bent the elbow the fabric just stretched tight like it was about to burst (Hint: This is NOT stretch fabric). And when I made the mistake of trying to roll up the sleeves, it cut off circulation (like a tourniquet). Ridiculous. So I exchanged for the large, which unfortunately has the same issue: The arms are cut way too small/thin (and the large is too long so it doesn't fit right anyway). I have worn many Patagonia clothes over the years and this is just disappointing. FAIL!

May 7, 2021

Very Comfortable and Practical

I like this shirt and now have 3 of them in different colors. They are very comfortable with pockets that zip which I also find very useful. I like the material from which they are made. I would like to see more colors available.

April 24, 2021

Fit is a little big.

I really like the material and the cut however it fits bigger in the chest than other, similar shirts in the same size.

Response from Patagonia
April 26, 2021

Thanks for the feedback, Adam! This shirt is designed with a "relaxed" fit to allow for better air flow in hot weather, as well as range of motion when fishing. If you find that you don't care for the extra room in the chest area, please reach out to return it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 25, 2021

Summer favorite

Love this shirt on hot summer days as I really don't like wearing sunscreen and don't want to get sunburned. Great coverage and now features a nice glasses loop on the front. Looking forward to the sunshine!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches