Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Lightweight A/C? Buttondown Shirt

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Lightweight A/C? Buttondown Shirt

4.5/5
True To Size
May 29, 2022

Classy and functional

Great cover up after a day in the sun or perfect for working in the sun.

May 18, 2022

more buttons please

I work outside and wear long sleeve cotton shirts all summer. The fabric is lovely soft and whisper light. But it needs three more buttons. Patagonia doesn't seem the place for fashion over function.

May 11, 2022

Light like a breath

This is my new favorite shirt. I put it on and I don't notice it at all. It's so light and breathy and keeps me cool in the hot California sun. I'm going to buy it in another color so I don't have to wait for it to come out of the wash.

May 3, 2022

The perfect shirt for working outdoors

I work in Southern California on a farm and this shirt is my new favorite. Its thin, but well made and keeps me cool. The fit is perfect I just wish they made them in a ton of colors. I am 56 140 pounds, athletic build.

April 20, 2022

Perfect summer long sleeve

I have a short sleeve version of this shirt and wear it when temps really heat up. The long sleeve will keep me covered but cooler than most other long sleeved shirts. I bought it big to have that over shirt look and be extra breezy. I love the dusty pink color.

October 16, 2021

My favorite day shirt!

A perfect nearly-year-round shirt for Florida, it's cool and protects my skin from the sun and loose so body heat evaporates. It also looks sharp and washes and dries easily. I have four of these shirts now.

October 16, 2021

Light and loose

Very light weight, loose and great for the tropics. I normally take a medium but small was the right size for me. Love it and will get another.

October 9, 2021

There is no top button!

How totally ridiculously cheap. This is a summer shirt which needs to button up to keep the sun off! I cannot believe Patagonia would do something so thoughtless on an otherwise nice shirt.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2021

Hello Julia, we appreciate your feedback on the lack of a top button on the shirt. We are very sorry that the garment design did not meet your expectations. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

September 1, 2021

Wanted to love it!

I am typically a size 6 and the shirt ran large and long in the small. The fabric was very light, a bit sheer. I was concerned the care would be high maintenance.

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2021

Hey Susan, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us on the Lightweight A/C Buttondown Shirt. We're sorry to hear that it ultimately did not end up working out. If you think a size down could work, we've included care instructions below for you too reference. In the future, should you need care instructions, feel free to [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Machine Wash Cold Gentle Cycle, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Do Not Iron.

August 28, 2021

Cool and Comfortable

I've been looking at this shirt for some time, but was hesitant since it was not a synthetic. I thought it may be uncomfortable in hot and humid weather. However, I finally bought it and tried it. Wow! It is wonderful! The fabric is so soft and silky and it is very airy. It hardly feels as though you are wearing anything! I love it. I bought t... Read Morehe blue shirt and I now wanted to buy the white one, but alas, Patagonia is not selling the A/C shirt any longer! Patagonia, why have you discontinued to sell such a great feeling and great looking shirt? Please, please bring it back!!!!

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Hey Donna! We're so stoked you love this style. We're bringing back more in Spring 2022.

July 6, 2021

Perfectly cool shirt for sun and mosquito protection.

This shirt is perfect in everyway. Wear it alone or over a tank on a hot day to keep sun and mosquitos off. Perfect for hiking - let's air flow through, but not bugs. PLEASE MAKE A LONG SLEEVE VERSION FOR MEN! My spouse would love one because I keep going on and on about how perfect it is.

Response from Patagonia
July 13, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! Your spouse may like our [Men's Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-sun-stretch-shirt/52198.html).

July 5, 2021

Nice lightweight shirt

Good to keep off some of the sun. Oversized

July 2, 2021

Lightweight sun protection!

Great, extremely lightweight shirt for sun protection. Roomy fit. Keeps me cool and covered, and professional-looking for work as an Adaptive Sports Instructor. Recommend!

June 14, 2021

Breezy cool and bug-proof.

Absolute perfection. Wore this on a warm, humid day while hiking in the woods. Stayed cool (great air flow), and kept the mosquitos and horseflies off. Buying another one!

June 5, 2021

Great for broad shoulders

It is so hard to find button downs that fit my broad shoulders and long arms and dont look like a balloon elsewhere. This one is a perfect fit, the fabric is great for an already hot CA summer, and I will probably buy another.

May 23, 2021

Loved the fabric, hit a little big

In some Patagonia shirts, Im a true medium, but with looser styles like this, I must be a small. I loved the fabric, but the medium was too big, so Im returning it/exchanging it for a smaller size.

Response from Patagonia
May 26, 2021

Thank you for the feedback, Sally! This style is a "relaxed" fit which may prompt you to size down. Please reach out if haven't already returned or exchanged it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

May 11, 2021

Great Shirts

These shirts do run a bit large - I usually wear a large and sized down to a medium which fit perfectly. I don't find the lack of a top button to cause a problem but understand how others could. Love the fabric and the cut - can wear for casual or to the office but would also wear hiking. The coral color is beautiful. Very Happy.

April 19, 2021

Love it!

This shirt is breezy, breathable. It is not super stretchy, but works well for the purpose I bought it for: a casual sun shirt for more professional outings.

April 7, 2021

I wear it for sun protection.

I have 5 of these tops. I originally purchased them for a trip to Egypt. I use them to stay cool and for sun protection. They are super light weight and very comfy. The newer shirts don't have top buttons which is a pity but still wearable. They run very large so I put all of mine in the dryer. They shrunk quite a bit so they fit perfectly.

April 4, 2021

Attractive light weight shirt

Bought two as they are my go-to shirt for hikes, gardening, and outdoor activities. Attractive, good for hot weather, natural fibers, comfortable, easy to wash.

March 30, 2021

Great summer shirt

This is the third one I have bought. Great as a shirt over tank top or swim tops or short sleeve dresses.....to dress up. Great to slip on to go to the store or as it cools down in the evening. Works great as a cover-up as it's a bit big on me 5' 108#. They are a little long, but that's always my issue with Patagonia lately.

March 22, 2021

No top buttons

It's well made but this is a shirt I want for really hot days and I don't want that sun on my chest. It's a lesser shirt in my book, and I won't be buying another.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Susan, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear that this missed the mark for you. We passed along your feedback to our Design Team and hope to not disappoint you in the future.

February 28, 2021

Light weight

The shirt is extremely well-made and has a long enough tail to wear with leggings. It is quite lightweight but can be layered.

February 2, 2021

Runs huge!

This shirt does what its advertised to do; keep you cool. I bought a close-out color on REIs sale page so the price was right. I miss the top buttons as others have mentioned, requiring me to gob on the sunblock cream which I like to avoid when heading out to town or lunch. Im 54, 118 lbs, and ordered a SM. This shirt is beyond huge on me. Its more... Read More like a beach cover-up in fit. Im not sorry I got it because it does keep me cooler on hot days protecting my arms from the sun. The air flows through it as intended, and although its very lightweight its only slightly see through which does not bother me. Overall a good purchase, however at full price I probably would not buy another one due to lack of top buttons. And also, I recommend sizing down if you are between sizes!

November 18, 2020

Well made, but see through

Like everything Patagonia makes, the craftsmanship is exceptional. The fabric is see- though , so underwear shows through- but would be perfect over a bathing suit or cami. One thing I wish designers would not do is to leave off the top 2 buttons and buttonholes. I use the top button when hanging shirts on hangars. And not all of us want to show ou... Read Morer chest. Patagonia, please put all the buttons on all the shirts, and let folks decide how many they want unbuttoned. I am returning it.

September 20, 2020

Very Durable and Soft

I ordered this shirt as a sun shirt for work. I do events so am outside in the sun all day sometimes. I love the soft, breathable fabric of the shirt but what I love most is how durable it is. I've gotten it dirty so many times, washed it about a hundred times, and it still looks white and new. Highly recommend.

September 12, 2020

Light and comfy for summer

This is a beautiful color. It fits well, not tight, for summer wear. The fabric is very comfortable and I am sensitive to scratchy fabrics. I would definitely recommend it. One of my favorite purchases from Patagonia.

September 8, 2020

Just Right

I really like this shirt. Very light and breathable, so great for summer wear and as a coverup for the beach. I enjoy wearing it long or folded and tied at waist. Would like to see the shirt in additional solid colors for next year. Thanks Patagonia!

September 1, 2020

I love this shirt!

Mine is the hazy purplish color and I want to wear it everyday. Walk for a while, shop and. On my way! Home for the evening still comfortable. Pockets, airflow... I need to buy another color.

June 16, 2020

Best fabric for hot hikes

Im an avid hiker and have tried all types of fabrics for backpacking several days. And this is shirt is the only one I will wear. Love the yellow.

June 14, 2020

So Comfortable

I have worn this shirt for 3 years. I wear it around the world, every trip. That it doesn't have a button at the top is a godsend in hot weather. It rolls up, over tanks, bathing suits, with skirts and tied at the waist. It is so cool, comfortable and light weight. I have fellow travels ask who makes it and where can they get it.

June 11, 2020

No top buttons

You can't se the collar well in the picture. I bought this shirt to protect my skin while outdoors in summer the collar is quite useless (and I think is a cheap cop out). However, like a tool I kept it because these lightweight long sleeve shirts are hard to find, but rarely use it. Won't be buying in another color.

May 30, 2020

Button disappointment

I walk in the sun for work, and ordered this shirt for breezy sun protection. I failed to notice that the shirt lacks the top 2 buttons--the area I most want to protect from the sun and the whole reason I wear button-downs to work. The buttons it does have are small, fat, and difficult to get through the hole. I'm debating keeping the shirt to... Read More add the top 2 buttons and replace the rest, but that is my idea of a bad time. The fit is exactly as roomy and boxy as advertised, and I'd irrationally hoped it'd be a little more feminine. Since the fit is masculine, I considered returning the shirt for a men's, but the men's shirts have no back yoke, and one has polyester in it. If I wasn't struggling to spend store credit on something, I wouldn't consider keeping it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches