Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Bib Overalls - Short

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Bib Overalls - Short

4.5/5
September 30, 2021

Very comfortable

This product fits very nice! I roll them up twice to give it the fit I like best.

September 9, 2021

Good Product

The fabric, the finishing, and the look it is great. I only wish you had the blue denim color.

September 3, 2021

Canvas bib overalls

They fit very well and were a bit long as described. Very well made and I expect they will last a long while.

August 30, 2021

Great construction but constricted in the middle.

I love these overalls except for the waistband in the middle. It is unforgiving. Elastic would have been a much better choice vs the buttons the designers chose. Especially since undoing the buttons for some relief in the middle makes the overalls look very sloppy. If you are considering a pair of these go one or two sizes up. You wont regret the e... Read Morextra room when you go to bend over or, god forbid, sit down.

August 25, 2021

Workwear is more than a narrative

I have been purchasing Patagonia clothing for 40 years. It was exceptional clothing for people who did things. It was well designed, tough, and wouldn't wear out. For the past five or so years I have had to return items, for the first time ever, because they were poorly designed and manufactured. I was beginning to think that Patagonia was los... Read Moreing it and that folks only cared about marketing stories and sales. BUT, I am wrong. This workwear is a great product and well designed and fabricated - like things used to be - and I am pleased to see this level of caring about the product, not just the narrative.

July 13, 2021

Quality Workwear

Fabric feels durable but soft. Quality construction and details like zipper chest pocket and fly.

July 6, 2021

Incredibly soft and durable.

Incredibly soft and durable. These overalls have done well while working out in the field, especially in the hot heat. The "short" length was the right choice for my 5' 11" height. The only part I wish was different is the amount of room in the legs. I am sure they were made for layering, but even then, they could be a little bi... Read Moret more slim. Overall I am very happy with the purchase.

June 20, 2021

Long inseam

I havent had time to have them shortened yet. I ordered a 30 inseam, but the way Patagonia measures them is not typical. Id say the inseam is actually 32. Im 5-7.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2021

Hi Steven! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. The inseam on these should be 30.25 inches, it sounds like you may have received a defective pair. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to get set up with a replacement.

May 10, 2021

Awesome overalls!

Haven't had a pair of overalls since college which was a few decades ago and these are awesome. Super heavy duty material but soft and supple at the same time. Definitely roomy as I normally wear a 33" waist and the 32" fits perfectly. Thumbs up from the wife on these fellas. Cheers

May 8, 2021

Great product, runs long and wide

I love these overalls. The knee pads are perfect for kneeling in weeds or dirt in the garden. The dirt brushes right off. I look like a sexy farmer in them.

March 30, 2021

comfortable work bibs to wear on the farm

While I wear 32x32 jeans the 34 waist in short length fits the way a pair of bibs should fit. (I returned the 32 waist in short as the bibs were too tight.) As we reside on a PA Century Farm I expect to wear them hard. I anticipate the bibs will be up to that task.

March 25, 2021

Very well designed and made

While the size I ordered was a little snug (mostly due to my weight gain during the current pandemic) these overalls are very comfortable and well constructed for the working purpose. I highly recommend them and Patagonias products, in general.

March 20, 2021

Canvas Bib Overalls

The main problem with these overalls are the suspenders. Why are they made from elastic? In order for me to wear my pair I have had to jury rig an arrangement of the suspenders to take up all the slack to bring them off the floor. All the overalls I have worn in the past had suspenders made from the same cloth as the rest of the garment. You could... Read More adjust them and the adjustment would stay in place unlike these Patagonia overalls. For me to wear these permanently I need to replace the elastic suspenders. Why should I have to do that for the price I paid? I might add that I also have a pair of your workpants made with hemp and I am satisfied with them.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

We really value this feedback Edwin. If they aren't working for you, please feel free to return them. We'll pass your feedback along to our design team.

March 19, 2021

Dad couldn't be happier!

My dad lives in farmland, where the "C" brand of work clothes rules. I bought him these overalls for his outdoor work, and he tried them on--and they didn't come off. He was amazed at how comfortable, breathable, and well-equipped they were. The straps are wide and stretchy; he liked that a lot. He wears them often without pants unde... Read Morerneath, and it doesn't feel scratchy to him. His new favorite clothing item for working outside.

March 16, 2021

pajama overalls?

oh these things are comfortable. It just feels unfair how soft these things are, and yet hold up to abuse as a typical duck cloth would.

March 3, 2021

A year in, 1 repair & still in love

Grabbed these as soon as they were in stock and just about lived in them for a year until the buckle on the strap got caught in the w/d and broke. There was also a small spot on the crotch where the material wore thin. Dropped them off for repair & just got them back today. They replaced the buckle and the straps, which were frayed a bit but I ... Read MoreDidnt think theyd replace them entirely. It was a nice touch and Now theyre completely custom because Im pretty sure the straps are a different color :-) As always, the patch job for the hole in the crotch looks professional. Maybe Im the only one, but I love having clothing that you can tell hes been around a minute, well-made& fixed a bunch of times.. personality These things have taken a beating, they were super comfortable from day one and no other work wire company will repair your clothing for free :-)

February 28, 2021

Great & Durable

I bought these for my husband to wear for work. He is extremely satisfied with them and their durability.

February 24, 2021

Great material

Amazing fabric but waaayyyyy too big for small build people. Even for work they kinda get in way sometimes. Still a superb fabric but faults in the design.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

We're sorry that the sizing is running big for you. Please feel free to start an exchange for a size down [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 3, 2021

Double Shin

As several others have already mentioned, the double knee panel location is way too low! I'm also concerned about how well the elastic straps are going to maintain their tension after many washings. High quality materials but the design is rather lacking.

February 2, 2021

Need a shorter hem for short people

I love Patagonia products. My biggest issue is that no one makes a 28 length for short people. We are out there, we would buy that length all day long. 34 waist runs a little small. Kind of tight for someone that typically wears a 32. Otherwise, it is the same great Patagonia quality! Still love the pant!

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thanks for this great feedback, Grant!

February 2, 2021

Extra long overalls

Really good product but I ordered a short length but still had to pay to shorten them 5. I am average height of 59.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

We're always happy to provide inseam measurements if you ever need them! The shorts have an inseam measurement of 30.25". You can find more info on any item by reaching out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team.

January 30, 2021

Rugged and comfortable

I use it while woodworking. It keeps my pants up and I don't need an apron to keep the sawdust out of my pants and off my shirt. It also holds small tools, measuring devices and marking tools.

January 23, 2021

Comfortable and durable

These are great overalls with solid construction and a comfortable fit. Would highly recommend!

January 3, 2021

Hemp coveralls...

Great product, it fits really well and the elastic straps work like they should... thanks! They are a bit heavy and the weight doesnt bother me. I received several compliments about color and quality.

December 22, 2020

Awesome but tall

I love these coveralls; I'd love them more if I were six inches taller. I was excited to see they had a Short option, though the website doesn't specify, the tag on the garment said it was a 30" inseam. I typically wear a 29", so it shoudl have been fine, but I have to roll them up about 3 inches. Turns out that although they m... Read Moreade the inseam shorter, the torso is still pretty large, so I've got about 3-4 inches between my crotch and the garment's crotch. Yes, you can adjust the suspender straps, but as other reviewers have noted, they tend to slip. Besides, who wants a hard metal buckle resting on your collarbone? But the fabric is nicely soft and feels really tough. The pockets are exactly what I need and where I need them. I love 'em, I'll just have to find a tailor to shorten them.

November 25, 2020

Solid

Bought these for work ( carpenter) and chores around the homestead. Im 510 230# built like a barrel. Got them big enough to wear a hoody under. Maybe a little too big but thats my fault. Very happy with the fit and quality. Wish they had the Stand-up style back pockets... love those kind of pockets.

November 9, 2020

Love these.

I got these as a gift from my wife as I began working on a boat restoration. They have been fantastic as I've used them for multiple applications. Stood up to multiple tasks with no issues in a vast temperature range from 40-70. The only recommendation I would suggest would to do some more R&D into the metal suspender straps as throughout ... Read Morethe day I notice they typically slide from where I originally placed them. That can be due to the constant bending and moving around I've been doing working on the keel etc. Overall great purchase and would 100% recommend to anyone who wants a long lasting and extremely comfortable pair of overalls.

September 18, 2020

Exceptional Quality

I was looking for a new bib for work and knowing the Patagonia Iron Clad Guarantee I figured I had nothing to lose. I made a few incorrect sizing assumptions but as always Patagonia was quick to help me sort it out. The product far exceeds my expectations. I am purchasing a second pair. Wish there were other color options!

September 10, 2020

Work Wear.

What works: The fabric felt soft and comfy. The straps were also easy to manage. Overall, the comfort is excellent. What didnt work: The length, 30 was not 30, more like 34. Waist a bit snagged. May have to go 38. Will be returning it for w 38 l 30. Been very happy with your products that I have purchased so far. And applaud your company for your c... Read Moreontinued efforts in sustainability and environmentally friendly products. Thank you.

August 19, 2020

Farm Chores

I got these for doing farm chores. Generally a good fit, but the bib is bit floppy on the sides. The legs aren't as loose as Carhartt overalls, which is good. Biggest drawback is that they need a utility pocket on both legs - one for my phone and one for my clippers.

April 23, 2020

Never stop making this!

Ever since the Work Wear line came out, I have been hoping for these overalls. I am not built like a rock climber, not anymore, anyways, so being able to customize with size and length is important to me. These are so perfect for the hard labor that goes into maintaining a forested yard in the Southeast- light and breathable enough for humid days, ... Read Morebut heavy enough to protect against thorns and chainsaw debris. I took a risk ordering the size I guessed might fit my non male model frame, and these fit true to size. Order a waist size that will give you room in the widest part of your abdomen, not where you might wear a belt. I am 5 9, 240 lbs of stocky frame (mostly) muscle, the real-world type, not the gym vanity type, so the short version works well for me. I have been wearing Patagonia for 37 years now, and I expect these to last for another decade, at least. I will be ordering a couple more pair soon, to rotate out as they get sweaty as only the south can make you. Thanks, Yvon & Co., Mark W. from Georgia.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches