Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Short

Write Your Review

4.73 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Short

4.73
True To Size
September 11, 2020

So comfortable and cool

I bought these for my husband. He has a small frame and is lean. Its hard to find any clothes that fit him well. These pants look amazing and fit perfectly. Definitely not for people who prefer a roomy fit. He rides his bike in them and loves how stretchy they are and how the fabric keeps him covered and cool in the hot Utah sun. His only complaint... Read More is the bulkiness of the zipper on the thigh. It tends to rub because of the leaner fit. This is his second pair, he liked them so much.

September 4, 2020

From work to play

I love these pants! You can wear them to work as they have a great appearance then go directly into playing (hiking) as they are super comfortable and durable. Just wish they offered more colors as I would own them all!

September 2, 2020

General everyday use

Perfect, dont change a thing, just add more colors in the short version.

August 15, 2020

A Must Have Pant!

This is a "must have" pant for any outdoor activity! The fit is true to size and the "short" length is exactly where it should be. This pant is light weight and stretches in all the right places. This pant offers great UV protection while on the water and is quick drying too! The pocket sizes and placement were designed well and... Read More hold plenty of gear. This product is ideal for hiking, fishing or any outdoor activity. I have two pair and they are always in my bag when packing for a trip.

June 30, 2020

Great all purpose pants

Great pants for light duty work. Breathes well, stretchy material, gussetted crotch, material is sturdy yet super flexible.I usually wear a 31 waist by 30 inseam with pants sitting on hips. Ordered the 31 short and pants were still about 2 inches long. Patagonia needs shorter lengths from factory.Other than that pants rock.

June 19, 2020

Perfect for backpacking

First trip backpacking for four days in the Sierras. These were perfect. I cannot say enough good things about the quality and functionality of this product. Durability and most importantly sun protection.

June 17, 2020

Very satisfied.

Fits well, light weight, breathable, comfortable, sheds light rain.

June 13, 2020

Light but tough

The first pair I ordered were 34 short, my usual size. They are fine pants but a little loose in the waist. I ordered a second pair 33 short and they were a better fit. I will keep both pairs for different seasons. The usual quality in Patagonia products.

April 28, 2020

Great every day pants

I loved the Quandary Hiking Shorts and wanted to try out the pants. These are just as amazing as the shorts. I am a little short even for the "Short" length, with my inseam usually being 28" but the hem is very easy to tailor and shorten by 2" I highly recommend these pants for every day use, hiking, climbing, etc. Rain beads u... Read Morep very nicely so you stay dry when outdoors!

December 30, 2019

Patagonia delivers yet again

These pants were so good I had to get a second pair. The fit is perfect for me being 5’10 and 175 lbs. I’m usually in the middle between a 30 and a 32 inch length but these 30 inch length pants fit great. Also wanted to mention the great customer support at Patagonia. Ciara has been particularly awesome helping us with another purchase.

December 29, 2019

Great lightweight travel

These are really great lightweight travel pants. They look pretty sharp too for wearing to work. They almost feel like the stretch wavefarer material which is what I was hoping for. They also shed light moisture.

December 18, 2019

Tight crotch

Material is comfy. I really like these pants they fit great around the hips and legs but they are too tight on the crotch. So much so that its inappropriate. I cant wear these at work. I think I'll have to return them.

November 25, 2019

Good pants but slim fit

Great pants, the short length is great and I like the style. However, they are tight through the thigh region.

November 16, 2019

Great all around pants

Perfect pant for every day wearing, hiking and travel! This was my second pair and will buy more!

October 29, 2019

Fit and function

Great fit, great fabric

October 26, 2019

Perfect fit.

I like the style and the slim fit. 5’10” and 145 lbs, size 30x30 fits perfectly.

October 8, 2019

Great fit

Really love these pants. Very comfortable fit and very functional. I bought the first pair at REI and ordered a second for color selection. These are also great travel pants. Super all the way around!

September 30, 2019

Great pants. Great for traveling

Great pants. Great for traveling as they take up little space.

September 27, 2019

Good looking pant

Nice looking pant and can be worn in a lot of settings. However, not as "active" wear as I had anticipated. I intended to use it for golf, fishing, and hiking. The material was a little heavier and the fit a bit more tailored then I had envisioned.

September 21, 2019

Really nice

As soon as I got them in my mail I fit them and everithing was right. I took tags off from them and wash them and they jut shrink. Those are really nice pants. I love them. But I ordered 35 waist and 30 length which is too short for me (190 Pounds and 6 ft) I’m sad that I can’t return them and change for a 32 lenght because I took tags off before.... Read More Good pants that I will not wear unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2019

Hi Frank! We're sorry the hear the pants shrunk on you. You're still more than welcome to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) if you'd like.

September 1, 2019

Quandry pants

Good fit, comfortable and durable. Water resistant

August 15, 2019

Fantastic Pants

I'm not one to spend much on clothes, but as of now these are the most expensive pants I own. So far it's absolutely been worth it, and they are comfortable enough that I'm considering a second pair.

August 10, 2019

Quandary Pants

Wonderful fit, great hiking and travel pants. Light weight fabric with some stretch makes the trousers exceptionally comfortable and versatile. Best hiking pants I have ever had.

August 10, 2019

Great Pants

Wore the quandary pants on the quandary peak trail this summer. The pants have great stretch for those steep rock stairs. After finishing up the 14er I went straight to empire burger in Breckenridge. They didn't look out of place off trail either. Perfect pants. Bought the 'short' pant length. A little longer than I expected but not ... Read Moretoo long.

August 10, 2019

Smart Move

Very comfortable, somewhat closer fitting than the typical pants. Light, not bulky. Great for travel.

July 23, 2019

Best in class lightweight stretchable pant!!

Excellent light weight pant for fishing, hiking, travel and work, too! If you are looking for a lightweight, stretchable pant the Quandary Pant is for you. I purchased these last month and this pant has quickly become my "go-to" lightweight pant for all outdoor activities, leisure, travel and, work, too! Fit - I'm 5/10, 165 lbs with... Read More a 32 waist and the (32 short was perfect). The fit is dialed in, coupled with a slimmer cut and stretch fabric make this a versatile pant. Pockets - these are deep and well placed throughout the pant. I'm very happy with this purchase and will be ordering a second color this week!

May 8, 2019

Great Recommendation!

I was looking for new summer pants and Patagonia has such a wide selection that I called and asked Customer Service for a recommendation...the representative said he had these pants and they sounded perfect with what I wanted....They are great....soft , light weight and form fitting but not to tight....felt broken in when they arrived....Great reco... Read Moremmendation...it’s nice to talk to someone who own the article..

October 21, 2018

Do it!

I'm 5'8" and a slender build - size 28 short fit very well. it's always difficult finding pants that fit me with my small waist but these do the job. I honestly can't think of anything negative about these pants. Comfortable: I can and do wear these all the time. They are lightweight. cool enough in the summer and warm en... Read Moreough in light winter conditions. The fabric doesn't irritate. They have a little bit of stretch to them which lends to the comfortability. Fashion/Function: I wear these regularly to work in an office setting where I need a certain amount of mobility - The stretchiness is great for allowing me to move without much restriction. They look great as well and haven't faded much in the 1.5 years I've worn these. I also wear these for hiking, casual/every day wear, yard work, climbing, traveling, etc. The nylon material isn't annoying, it does make a very subtle swishing sound which I only notice when I really pay attention. Durable: I wear these 1-5 days a week. Normally at work which doesn't put a lot of stress on them but thats a fair amount of wear and washing. As stated I use them for a lot of other activities as well and they haven't torn or worn away in any areas yet; I actually drag the bottom hem on the ground in the back more than i'd like since i'm barefoot often and it hasn't ruined the fabric at all yet. These are my favorite pants i've ever owned and use them as a standard for all other pants of this style. I am normally not a person to spend such money on clothes but the quality,durability, and functionality of these pants makes them well worth it. I highly recommend them!

September 28, 2018

Hiking 101

Was looking for a Patagonia hiking pant that I could just throw on and not have to worry about– this is that pant. I see a few other reviews commenting about the inseam length. I usually wear a 30" inseam and the short worked well for me. If you are wearing these pants with hiking boots, the length shouldn't have too much of an impact as ... Read Morelong as you get it close to what you wear. Overall– this fit is pretty nice for "average" sized people, I have "thicc" thighs and calves and these pants still wear well. The held up on some pretty rocky terrain in the PA backcountry.

September 26, 2018

For a thru-hiker who swears by pants, these are my go-to

Some hikers wouldn't touch pants if the mother of all mosquito hatches occurred during the willow bush bloom while post holing through knee deep spring snow. For everyone else, there's the Patagonia Quandry pant. So lightweight, yet so tough. I found these a few years ago and when it comes to any outdoor activity I haven't touched an... Read Morey other pair of pants since. A soft hand, gusseted crotch, and mechanical stretch makes them feel like your not even wearing them. I wore the same pair every day for 800 miles on the AZT, then turned around and wore the same pair for three straight months on the CDT! They roll right through cactus and every type of thorn you can think of. I roll up the legs when it gets super toasty and sunny, but they remain remarkably cool even when down all day. A handy hip pocket is great for the stake bag and wallet. The only achelies heal with these is the stitching, which will likely blow out way, way, way before the fabric does. Being a short-legged guy, I get mine hemmed to length and get the stitching on the back pockets doubled up on the inner pocket seams while I'm at it. This tends to hold off the return trip to the sewing machine for a few extra months. Additionally, seeing these as great summer climbing pants, I would recommend to Patagonia to use a thread with much higher abrasion resistance than they currently spec on the Quandry. While I can always maintain this myself, and it may seem a bit nitpicky (it is), this incremental improvement could result in longer durability. For someone not quite so hard on gear, these will last a long, long time. I recommended these to three folks on the CDT who bought them and reported loving them, including one MTB'er!

April 4, 2018

Message for clothing designers: too long!!!

Guys,let me first off start by saying I love Patagonia and I love these pants. However,they are too long. I ordered a short and the shorts are multiple inches too long. i am 5'7 and I've had other agree with me that are close to my height. Supposedly a few seasons back the length was perfect but Idk why you guys decided to switch things u... Read Morep and make your pants so long. Please short means short! Please give a short option!

March 13, 2018

Very comfortable,and quieter than anticipated

I've worn these pants just a couple of times so far. They were quite comfortable,even in warm weather. I was a bit concerned that they would make rubbing / crinkling noises but am happy to find that that was not the case.

September 16, 2017

Great pants

I already had 5 pair of the older style quandary pants and I like these even more.

September 2, 2017

Even better than my first pair

This is my second pair of Quandary pants and I love them,This one has some improvements over my first pair including a draw string and a zippered back picket. The thigh pocket is a little larger as well. These pants are thin,light,move with you,and are all around my favorite pants by a long shot. Well worth the price.

May 27, 2017

Very comfortable

Bought these for my husband that gets hot easily and these stay very cool

April 15, 2017

Tough and comfortable

I bought these a couple of months ago and find them to be very comfortable and they appear to be very durable. They were well on hot days and don't show a lot of wrinkles. They seem to dry fairly quickly and are a great fishing pant. Good pocket layouts. I think you have a winner.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches