Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 180 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Regular

4.6/5
True To Size
May 10, 2022

My favorite pants

As a gear nerd, I like trying to products but these pants are so good that I keep coming back to them. While great for all outdoor activities because they are light, durable, and dry super quick, they are also my favorite pants to travel in. The side leg pocket is discrete and perfect for holding a wallet so you don't sit on it all day. After ... Read Morefive years of abuse, my prior quandary pants are still going strong but these have an even better and sleeker fit the more taper in the legs. My only recommendation is to make at least one in a non-neutral colorway

May 10, 2022

Comfy and versatile

The material on these pants is great, it is just stretchy enough, cool, and robust. I just wish they came in a black and a blue color, like the Ink Black/New Navy of the Skyline pants.

May 10, 2022

Durable yet breathable, plus a great fit

I got these pants to go hiking and climbing. They fit great. They're durable but still breathable and flexible.

May 10, 2022

Incredibly Comfortable. Super lightweight.

I'm 5'9"; 170lbs. I purchased a size 34. Fit is perfect. Workmanship is stellar. It's Patagonia... I'd expect nothing less. Extremely comfortable. A welcome change to bluejeans. My one complaint... they don't come in more colors.

April 18, 2022

Great all around pants

Love these pants, very versatile. I use them to instruct outdoor classes with a polo shirt to look 'business casual' but they're also great for getting out into the field when I need to. Highly recommend!

April 18, 2022

So lightweight and stretchy

Im am 6 2 tall and normally wear a 32/36 in Jeans. I was able to find a great fit in the 33 regular size of these pants. It translated to 33/32 on the size chart but is long enough to not look like Im avoiding a flood. The stay at the top of my boots even when doing a captain Morgan pose because they are so stretchy. These things are great, give em... Read More a shot. Worth the money.

April 16, 2022

Quandary pants and shorts

Long distance thru hiker, never going with-out my Patagonia Quandary pants and shorts. Light weight, durable, quick dry. I really like the waist tie, no belt getting in the way of my packs waist belt on those long days. Keep Trekking. Trail name ; Crazy Eyes, because I don't blink when my picture is taken.

April 9, 2022

Comfortable and Wind Resistent

These pants are comfortable (two-way stretch), well constructed, and lightweight. I like that the front waist button is low profiled, so not a problem under a hip belt. For rear pockets; one zippered, one open is nice.

April 5, 2022

Top-notch garment

These quandary pants are one of the best menswear garments to have. Thoughtful design details around the pockets, well-proportioned fit, somehow perfectly adventurous and yet minimalist at the same time. And theyre so light and versatile. If I had to live on one pair of pants it would probably be these.

March 29, 2022

Comfortable great pockets

Great pockets comfortable highly recommended

March 26, 2022

Awesome pants

Just returned from putting these pants through the ringer at the Grand Canyon. A week of running, hiking, cycling and mule riding pushed these to the test and they delivered every time! Pockets are perfect, and pants move with me offering comfort and breathability regardless of activity. Despite a couple tumbles, no tears or rips; sting and super c... Read Moreomfortable.

March 17, 2022

Very comfy

Extremely comfortable, used for travel - perfect. You feel like wearing nothing on the plane. Keep you warm when it's windy and fresh, keep you cool when it's warm, keep you dry when it's drizzle. Look dressy enough for most of the occasions and comfortable enough for any activity. Have plenty of pockets properly placed.

March 9, 2022

Nice lightweight pant

I typically wear a 34 waist but as we know, manufacturers dont want us American Fatties to feel too big! A 35 fit better as Patagonia seems to have a true to fit size. Im glad I tried several sizes in the store first. After washing I did not notice any shrinkage whatsoever. I will wear these for years to come until they completely come undonethey a... Read Morere that comfortable. Remember, for quality one pays a bit more. Can you really put a price on satisfaction?

March 8, 2022

Hiking pants

I ordered a 35 waist and when I received it, it was too tight. Your return was super easy and I got a 36 which was just right. Quality was great as always

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

We are sorry to hear the first order was not successful but happy to hear your exchange process went smoothly. Thanks for your review, Rodney!

March 2, 2022

Comfortable

Wear them mostly every day to work where I move a lot. Great for hiking and traveling.

February 25, 2022

Size up

I usually size 32, but ordered 34, in case it shrinks. I was right! Out of the package it was very big, but after washing it shrank down to 32(1/2). So go up one side. Fpr some reason, Patagonia sizing (pants, shirts,jacket) are a gamble these days

February 23, 2022

Go to pants when jeans are not

I have been wearing Quandary pants for years, and the ability to choose discrete sizes helps a lot! My only complaint is that I"ve never seen any other colors than the three. What about a nice deep blue or a light grey?

January 30, 2022

good.

i use them as a hunting pant and they work well.

January 27, 2022

Your new favorite pants

Its all I want to wear. Now I have four pairs in different colors. I guess the strongest feature is they are non binding, allowing full range of motion when active. The fabric is too light for winter so I wear a base layer to make it work. Great looking too.

January 11, 2022

perfect cut

I used it for working in the office and going just about anywhere. I love its two large zippered pockets, one on the leg one on the back. They're both large enough to accommodate a new iPhone 13 Pro Max without feeling bulky. This pant's stretch material and tight cut make it comfortable and good-looking. I only wish Patagonia could exten... Read Mored its "short" length to all its available colors.

January 8, 2022

Comfortable, durable, and look good

I have been wearing Quandaries for years. I'm 5'6" and 150# and the 32 W w/"short" inseam fits well. They are neither too tight nor too loose and the cloth has the right amount of stretch while still being durable. Their look (including the color choices) and features make them ideal for both work and casual wear and they a... Read Morere more comfortable than a pair of jeans. They have been easy to wash and dry when traveling. I wear them daily and use the zippered pocket on the right front leg for my cell phone. Similar items are offered by other companies but lack Quandary's features and good fit.

January 7, 2022

Perfect!!

They are lightweight and fit perfectly! Love them

January 5, 2022

awesome pants

love these pants. just the right amount of stretch. comfortable to wear and great for hiking and adventures or just going out and about in town.

January 2, 2022

Love everything but the elastic waistband.

Love the quality, and durability of these pants. Although the elastic waistband has given me a hard time. After the first wash, it got twisted up and almost ripped out of the pants. Ive had no problem with the one in my strider pro shorts though. All in all great quality as always Patagonia!

December 28, 2021

Great Pants

Comfortable and lightweight hiking pants that look good enough to wear casually around town. The only thing I dont like is the built in belt. I like the idea but the belt is just a 1/4 inch piece of elastic that doesnt actually do anything to keep your pants up. I cut it out because it just gets in my way when I zip the fly or fasten the button. Ot... Read Moreherwise the quality is excellent just like I would expect from Patagonia. I do like the little bit of stretch in these pants. I have even done yoga in these pants so they do allow for full range of motion. Already bought a second pair.

December 21, 2021

Great

Comfortable, breathable, dries quickly.

December 20, 2021

No options for taller, athletic builds? Come on Patagonia, you can do better.

These are a decent pant but are let down by Patagonia not offering sizes for tall, athletic builds. I am 6'2" tall and weight 168 pounds. The 32" waist fit just fine but the regular length are high water pants on me. For a company that makes gear for active people you would think they would offer sizes for tall, athletic builds.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

Hi Mark, thank you for sharing your feedback, and your request for a longer length. No doubt other customers will benefit from your experience. We have offered a long length in the Men's Quandary Hiking Pants in the past, and perhaps we can do so again in the future. We're sharing your thoughts with our team.

November 30, 2021

Good fit

Fit and style as advertised. Durable material.

November 25, 2021

Comfort for all occasions

Ive tried several different pants looking for one that is comfortable to wear on a long airplane trip, hike 10 miles, and be nice enough to wear on a casual day at work. Quandry fits this better than any other Ive found. Fabric isnt too thick or restrictive, very versatile. After wearing a pair for a year or so I bought another pair in a different ... Read Morecolor. Highly recommend you add this to your wardrobe!

November 25, 2021

Nice close replica of a Patagonia standard I've worn and relief upon for years

Nice close replica of a Patagonia standard I've worn and relief upon for years. Unfortunately this one ran long in the legs. Waist is fine. Needs to be hemmed.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2021

Hello Jan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you prefer a shorter inseam, we also make the a [Short (30" inseam)](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-quandary-hiking-pants-short/55176.html) version in the same style pants.

November 19, 2021

Work or play

After having read reviews, I feared a fight fit. NO. These pants fit me perfectly. Besides looking great, they are cool, lightweight and very non-restricting, stretching where they need to allowing a comfortable, full range of motion. Great pant to be worn in warm, high humidity environments. These pants are very water repellent, splashes go unnoti... Read Moreced. I have three pair now and they are all I want to wear - seriously!

November 5, 2021

My go to pants/ they do run large through the legs

Love these pants. I have them in grey. They look good enough to go to work but really shine on the trails. Stretch well to accommodate tough terrain. Really comfortable and the fabric feels good against the skin. Like I said before they do run a bit big through the legs. They stretched a bit when I got them in size 36. They became too baggy. When I... Read More got them them in 34 they waist was still good I didnt have to adjust them so much with the drawstring and the legs stretched a bit to feel relaxed through the leg. They are not tapered but rather relaxed. Which is good for the trail. But they do look great for work. I used them all the time. You cant go wrong with these pants.

November 2, 2021

Grand Canyon Rim to Rim to Rim

I wore these during my recent R2R2R hike. Very light weight and dried quickly. The built in draw string was crucial as the day went on and the fabric started to stretch and sag with 46+ miles of movement. Would have loved a 33L but finding the longer version was like finding a unicorn. Overall, great pant for short or longer hikes.

October 31, 2021

Everyday wear

Warm weather wear for the hike, the bike, or the classroom.

October 28, 2021

Great all round pants

Love these! I am a 32 waist, but with my ostomy, and that Pat generally runs small, a 34 is perfect, especially with the adjustable elastic waist lines. Went on a day long hike and loved the way the pants adjusted and moved with my legs regardless of terrain. Wx was windy, but didnt feel the chill at all. Definitely recommend.

October 27, 2021

Great hikers

Only wish they were a bit longer but they are so good I ordered a second pair in a size bigger to go over layers for Alaska trip next year.

Response from Patagonia
November 4, 2021

Hopefully we can offer a longer length in the future. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team if you ever want product recommendations, specific measurements, or [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return or exchange. Thanks for your review, Henry!

October 20, 2021

Bring back the long!

I love these pants. I wear them everywhere from hiking to work. Just need them offered in long again. Please, please please!

October 16, 2021

Consistent Quality

Have owned a few pairs of quandary pants for years. Patagonia provides great quality at a fair price, backed by an ethically minded company. I will continue to come back to these.

September 30, 2021

Superb Design and exceptionally comfortable

I like designs that are simple yet functional and find the small zippered pocket on the right upper thigh to be extraneous and of no use; the other pockets work just fine. The fit is perfect and the material is quite light and perfect for warm weather. Thanks

September 14, 2021

Great purchase

I have been wearing Patagonia for over 25 years, and some of those items I have had that long! I generally struggle to find pants that are snug enough in the waist while leaving enough room through the thighs (I am 5'8" and a little over 150 lbs.) I often have to go with a 32" dress pant, but I found the 30" waist was perfect. M... Read Morey only issue is that I didn't realize that the standard 30" waist is a 32" inseam so these are a little long. If 30x30 had been an easy option to select, that is what I would have done.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Jeff, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback, and we're stoked to hear that you've been enjoying them so far. With that said, we do have the same pants in a 30'' inseam if you're interested in exchanging them. You can check those out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-quandary-hiking-pants-short/55176.html?dwvar_55176_color=FGE&cgid=root)

August 21, 2021

Light and Breathable

I can't say enough good things about the quandary line of pants, i have them in 3 colors and wear them the majority of the week. They are light and breathable but still comfortable down to 40 degrees.

August 8, 2021

Very happy with these pants

This was my second pair and I'm buying another. I wear them as my daily casual pants as well for any outdoor activity. They're very comfortable and look really presentable too. I don't know what the material is but it definitely doesn't wrinkle easily so the pants look good even after some activity. Definitely recommend these pa... Read Morents to anyone.

July 28, 2021

Awesome look - great fit

Fits so well I own 3 pairs to keep from one wearing out from constant use and wear.

July 16, 2021

Perfect pant

Hands down one my my favorite pants in the closet. Comfortable and versatile. Ive worn these to work and have slept in them outside while camping. Perfect for all 4 seasons. Highly recommended.

July 11, 2021

awesome pants

great fit and breathable material - good technical hiking/fishing wear (dries quickly) but cut is good enough that you can wear these around town and look good. also patagonia nailed a bunch of the little stuff like the drawstring waist (no belt needed) and pockets.

July 7, 2021

Love these Pants!

I don't usually get excited about clothes, but these pants are great. I've got larger quads than most and pants just normally don't fit, move or stretch right on me. I'm used to it. But these, Wow! Patagonia nailed it. I find myslef wearing them alot. Hiking - yes, around the house - yes, working in the yard - yes. Out for a ca... Read Moresual meeting - yes. I like them so much I've already bought a second pair, and one more for my son. On the trail they are light, functional, and dry very quickly, I've worn them bushwacking, trail hiking, scrambling in Adirondack High Peaks, multi day hikes... Awesome pant and I highly recommend them.

July 2, 2021

Just About Perfect

I like the look, the wearability, the stretchiness, the fit, the crotch room, the way the seams are put together, the side zipper pocket, and the durability. I like that they roll up tight in my bag. I don't like the elastic band sewn into the belt. It gets in the way of zipping up. I asked why it is used and was told it prevents poofiness as... Read More the stretch apparently sags the pants. A guy NEEDS poofiness, so I cut the cords out. POOF!

July 1, 2021

Chris

Really, the pants were as-advertised and of good quality. However, what is not possible to know with an internet order is what the fabric feels like. Fabric names are worse than useless, they are designed to be misleading ad copy. You know that, we all know that. Verbal descriptions are next to impossible because we have no common agreed upon descr... Read Moreiptors for fabric. So I hated the fabric. I had loved the fit and fabric of a previous pant I had owned, but that pant you discontinued and this one was just the closest equivalent style. Now, post-pandemic I will walk into a store.

Response from Patagonia
July 8, 2021

Thanks for your feedback Chris! We hope you find something you like better in person.

June 25, 2021

Great.

Breathable, lightweight, versatile for hot or breezy days.

June 24, 2021

Happy Find

I got my first pair of Quandry pants in 2018 when I was looking at a week of rain in Wyoming without rain gear, having driven from home in California. I bought them and a Patagonia rain jacket at a sporting goods store on the clerk's recommendation. They got a full workout in following days. Yes, the Quandry pants dry off very quickly. The fab... Read Moreric is tough, compressible and very comfortable. I got an ash on the left thigh, burning a small hole. But, the hole self-sealed, the nylon melting to keep it from getting larger. Three years of regular wear later, the hole is unchanged. Otherwise, the pants look much the same as the day I bought them. In fact, I'm so pleased with them that I just bought a second pair. I was glad to see the addition of a left-hip pocket. Making the thigh pocket more shallow led to my cell slipping out when I sat down, sometime that hardly happened with the 2018 model. The nylon pulls on the pocket zippers eliminate the fumbling I sometimes had to do. I'm 71. These should be all the pants I need for the rest of my life.

June 14, 2021

Great

Great fit and extremely comfortable

June 11, 2021

Versatile, great pockets, nice material

I'm unfortunately a 29" waist. The 28" feels sprayed-on tight, the 30" is slightly too loose, so I went with a 30, and I deal with it. I hate wearing belts, so I use the little elastic bits inside the waistband to tighten these up a fair bit. I may break down at some point and take them to a tailoring shop and get them to take i... Read Moren the waistband by an inch. Other than me being too skinny the pants are fantastic. Pockets are large enough and land in the right places to be useful. Zip cargo pocket is perfect for my phone, and doesn't leave it behind on the chair even when I don't zip it. Mobility is fantastic, they feel great on the trail, and they look good enough I can put on a nice shirt and go out to dinner. After a week, they're already my go-to pants for nearly everything.

June 3, 2021

Durable and comfortable

I've worn Quandry ants for years. They last forever and are very comfortable. A great treat when hiking.

May 18, 2021

Durable and smart

I am a woman and I love this style of hiking pant because it has smooth tailored lines for work in a a rehabilitation center, but are flexible & roomy for outdoor activities in the wilderness. Pockets are deep without looking sloppy, unlike many women's tailored pants. I can minimize my wardrobe by buying all multi purpose garments.

May 17, 2021

Super comfortable

These are super comfortable hiking pants. They fit true to size. They are perfect for casual wear and for hiking. Great pants.

May 16, 2021

Year round every day comfort.

I have two pairs of these pants and always reach for them rather than jeans or sweats. They fit and feel solid, stretchy and comfortable. Pockets serve my purposes well and I can wear a sport jacket, sweat shirt or fleece vest and they work with everything. I would buy more colors if they were available.

May 16, 2021

Confortable

High quality ..easy to wear with everything...Good fit

May 12, 2021

Great pants

These pants are just right. I really like their slim fitting legs, and they are comfortable in warm weather.

May 11, 2021

The best travel pant that you can wear every day.

While great for hiking and climbing, these have become my daily work pant, casual pant, and the only pant I bring when I travel. I bought a 30 waist and 32 length. The waist is perfect and do not need a belt...one less thing to carry. As for length I had to alter them a few inches. My preference would be if they tapered more toward the ankle so I d... Read Moreid that alteration too. So I can honestly state they are customizable too. I think this model is discontinued but I am sure Patagonia will have a good replacement made out of a this similar fabric that has a slight stretch to them.

May 11, 2021

Good fit without constraint

My big thighs demand a particular fit. I wear a size 34 waist for most pants but I needed to size up to 36 to get the fit and look I want. That accomplished, the Quandary pants offer me a sharp look but with free flow and stretch. Love these pants.

May 6, 2021

Great pants

These pants are super comfortable, the material is very soft, water proof and looks very good. I really like the left rear pocket zipper, great addition.

May 4, 2021

nice cut and fit.

just great.....

May 3, 2021

Comfortable and Super Effective

Just finished my first trip with these pants (Zion, Valley of Fire and Death Valley). Put them through the wringer out of the gate and they are already living up to the hype. Exceptional pants. Very pleased with this purchase and eager for the next outing.

April 29, 2021

Super comfy

Great pants very comfy.

April 29, 2021

Great hike pant

6'1", 175, 32/33 waist. Bought in 33 waist. I can never really guess what waist size I will be in between the 32s and 33s. Sizing can be all over the place with pants/shorts from Patagonia regardless of "fit". The pants are great for hiking. The stretchy, lightweight material is great. The clean up pretty decent too regardless o... Read Moref how hard you play in them. 4 stars because they started pilling after a couple washes but it hasn't gotten much worse in the year since it started. Have the shorts to which are killer.

April 26, 2021

Comfortable and Light Weight

Since I got these pants I've worn them on 2 or 3 mid-weather hikes (around 40-60 degrees). Very happy with them in these temperatures so far, which is exactly what I bought them for. Below 35, I'd probably pair these with some long underwear. Fits well, comfortable, good range of movement for steeper/more technical climbs as well.

April 16, 2021

Perfect hiking pant after years of searching

I have found this to be exactly what I have been looking for in a summer hiking pant. Light weight, durable, with a zipper pocket for securing the car fob.

April 7, 2021

Best ever

Great product, I have 4 pairs, various colors. Great fit, many complements. Can wear these anytime day or evening. Best pants that I have purchased in years.

April 7, 2021

Light weight

Perfect for the Nevada summers. Light weight, true to size and seems to be stain resistant. Own two of each color. Highly recommended.

April 6, 2021

Great

Light, comfy, would like back zipper pocket on right hand side. I may be the minority on wallet location though. Just personal preference there.

April 1, 2021

a great pair of pants

I use these for work because they look like regular khakis but they're perfect for hiking or light outdoor activities. Size fits good and they're also lightweight so they're comfortable to have on for along time.

March 29, 2021

Great Pants really comfy

I got these as a second pair of pants, great for walking in the street or in the mountain.

March 22, 2021

Climbing/travel/church

Picked them up at an REI on my way to a big multi pitch. Best thing I ever did. I use them for traveling(very wrinkle free). Climbing. And going to church when not wearing a suit.

March 17, 2021

Perfect pair of light pants

I have several other brands of pants sitting in my drawer after I found these pants. They are a perfect true fit, durable, lightweight but not too thin, its all I wear unless I am flyfishing.

March 12, 2021

Great Gift

I got this as a gift and it is exactly what my husband was looking for. Nice and light weight, comfortable. Great for Southern California adventures.

March 9, 2021

Light, Stretchy

These are comfortable, lightweight pants that fit me well. I'm excited to hike in them spring through autumn. They are not suitable to very cold weather, even with a base layer. The hand pockets are too small; I have a smaller phone and it barely fits. Pros: lightweight, stretchy, look good, one zippered back pocket. Cons: hand pockets too s... Read Moremall, fabric feels like it could tear easily, may be tight around your thighs.

February 16, 2021

Very skinny

I really wanted to wear these but like another reviewer said. These are very skinny. So I decided to return. Im 5 ten 175 and these were painted on. They were stretchy so I could have used em but Im not into that look. If I weighed about 145 I would recommend.

February 15, 2021

Great everyday pants

Love these pants! I normally wear a 34 in the waist but with this slim fit they were too tight in the thighs. The 36 fits great, comfortable, mostly static free when the air is dry, I wear them around the house and for everyday use.

January 30, 2021

They work!

I needed a pair of pants that could double for walking/hiking as well as casual wear. The material is great and the fit is perfect. Also, I had great help from customer service when placing the order.

January 28, 2021

They Run Small these days

I have been wearing these pants for years and currently have 6 pairs. I ordered 3 new pairs to replace my old worn out ones. Unfortunately they did not fit. They are tight in the crotch and waist. I am the same size and weight over the years and the new ones run SMALL to me. Returning all 3 pairs and may try the next size up????

January 19, 2021

The Perfect Wedgie

So far these are the best tech pants I've found that fit me. I wear a 29x30 (bought the 28 short) and have had trouble finding the right waist size and length. While these fit well in those regards, I've yet to encounter a pant that gives me such a consistent wedgie. It doesn't matter what I'm doing in them, a wedgie forms. I&#x... Read More27;ve tried all different sorts of underwear to counter act this and the best solution I've found is to only wear them when its well below freezing out with compression leggings underneath. The problem is most noticeable when hiking uphill. Other than that, these pants seem fine. They look good, the dimensions are right, and the fabric has held up all right to everything except a few accidental kicks with the crampons. I would recommend them to anyone outdoorsy who likes having their crotch flossed.

January 15, 2021

Comfortable

Patagonia products work great. Wish I could repeat some of the old product thats discontinued.

January 1, 2021

Great!

I got these in forge grey and they are a very versatile pant. The perfect pair of hiking and climbing pants, especially with the zipper pocket on the leg for my phone. The look of the zipper head and cord can make the pants look a little too technical so when not in use I just stuff the zipper into the pocket and it's perfect.

December 31, 2020

Run a little tight. Any other suggestions?

Love these pants, but definitely run tight in the thigh and trunk compared to other Patagonia pants of same size 32" Have 2 pairs of runners, and 2 pair of others which are fine.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Alan! We'll have some new products in the Spring 2021 line, but in the meantime, take a look at our Hampi Rock Pant, Gritstone Rock Pant, RPS Rock Pant and Venga Rock Pant. Those vary in fabric content, but they all have a bit more room in the thigh. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for some [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 19, 2020

Love these pants

This is the third pair (diff colors) Ive bought of these pants. Love them. They are comfortable and lightweight so great for everyday and year long wear. Highly recommend.

December 17, 2020

Very comfortable

The material has a little stretch to it which makes it more comfortable when squatting, kneeling or just on the move. Its also water resistant.

December 1, 2020

Absolute favorite pants

Simply the best, and my absolute favorite pants.

November 26, 2020

Versatile style- From hiking to beach wedding

Social- distanced beach wedding near Golden Gate in November...what to wear? Quandary hiking pants to the rescue. These pants are rugged but tidy looking with great pockets for keys and the rings! They photographed well, too. Best part: not a single use garment. Slim cut, so needed to size up from usual waist 31. Patagonia customer service saved th... Read Moree day by rushing the replacement size order. Eternal thanks. Highly recommended. 511, 160 lbs.

November 25, 2020

Very comfortable pants

Bought these for casual wear and for travel. They fit well and don't wrinkle easily. I'll be looking for another pair.

November 24, 2020

Does what is says on the tin

I purchased these for hiking and limited trail running in chilly weather. They fit fine and kept my comfortable. I particularly like the stretch of the fabric which breathes well. They look good too.

November 21, 2020

Great fit.

The fit is excellent in a medium. I have an ectomorph shape. The length is just a little too much for Reefs but with a belt works with everything else. (I should have purchased two pair...)

November 8, 2020

Bottoms are sized better than tops for me

Patagonia tops are a struggle to get a good fit, but I like these pants. I think they're sized for guys who don't have a lot in the quads. That's fair for Patagonia's market, so I can't complain. I like them anyways.

September 24, 2020

Big quads? Steer clear.

Seems like a solid overall design, but they're so tight in the seat and thighs they might as well be leggings. I'm 5'10" and 160lbs so by no means a behemoth. If you squat, it would probably be best to shop for other pants.

September 12, 2020

Awesome Pants

These are simply the perfect pants. The fit is perfect and every feature on the pants serves a purpose and does it well. Love the built in drawstring belt. Will be back for more.

September 12, 2020

My Everyday Pants

These have become my everyday go to pants. Super comfortable and can easily transition from working on projects around the house, to grocery shopping, to hiking in the hills. I love these pants.

September 7, 2020

Light weight - fast drying

These pants exceeded my expectations. As a hiking pant they performed as my only pair of pants on a 5 day trek to Titcomb Basin. They were grubby as you'd expect after a trip like that but they washed clean. They fished in the Clark Fork and Soda Butte and were dry before we arrived at our truck. Love the stretch and the fabric kept Blackflies... Read More at bay. Id highly recommend these for hiking and fishing. Peace

September 2, 2020

Perfect Jeans Alternative

Jeans don't pack well, these do. You can wear them to the boardroom and the river and never look out of place. quick wash in the sink and dry overnight. Must have for traveling in my opinion. Side leg pocket solves the where to is my phone issue.

September 2, 2020

Great work/casual pants!

I bought these for work, and they look great! I love the fact that they dry so fast in the dryer, and their stain resistance.

September 2, 2020

Great pants!

Wear them to work or play. Quality pant worth the money.

July 23, 2020

Great versatile pants, snug fit

Love these pants, they are light and breathe very well. Patagonia seems to have snugged up the fit as my new pair 2020 feels slimmer than a 2017 cut. Mostly around upper legs and butt. I liked the old cut better as they were more relaxed.

July 22, 2020

Great pants

I got a pair of these 5 years ago and they are still going strong! Surprisingly and wonderfully durable. I work outside and have to wear khaki so I grabbed a new pair. The newer model does seem to fit a bit baggier. I liked the slimmer fit of my old pair, however I still like these and will probably get another pair.

July 13, 2020

Like 'em, but elastic in waist would improve 'em

I like these pants, and use them for fishing and river running, but the waist has a drawstring vs elastic in the back. It is difficult to get the drawstring to fit right and then when they are wet and heavier they slip down below my waist. I think elastic strip/accordions in the back would perhaps be better. Otherwise they are perfect for what I us... Read Moree them for.

July 12, 2020

Like 'em, but elastic in waist would improve 'em

I like these pants, and use them for fishing and river running, but the waist has a drawstring vs elastic in the back. It is difficult to get the drawstring to fit right and then when they are wet and heavier they slip down below my waist. I think elastic strip/accordions in the back would perhaps be better. Otherwise they are perfect for what I us... Read Moree them for.

June 27, 2020

Best pants ever

Fits me perfectly. I have repurposed all my other pants and replaced them with quandary pants.

June 26, 2020

Light, cool, comfortable

These pants are all of the above. Cool for summer, stretchable and very lightweight for hiking. Very comfortable. Great clothing. My favorite company.

June 25, 2020

Nice Pants

Easy to wear and care for...my go to, run around town pants.

June 22, 2020

a new favorite

I got these for hiking. I have already put in several hiking miles and a couple multi-night trips (wearing these every day). I did a 10 mile off trail hike that went through way too much Devil's Club. Yes, I may have taken a wrong turn. Regardless, the pants held up incredibly! I am so impressed. Besides the durability, what I really like is t... Read Morehe stretch in the material. The pants have a great fit/silhouette - they are not baggy and yet not super skinny. The stretch allows for great mobility. I also wore these on a fishing trip, wet wading. They dried incredibly fast and are now my go to wet wading pant. The waist does seem to stretch a bit, so the pants have become a little loose in the waist for me. I might try sizing down in the waist but not sure. Overall, I am extremely happy with these pants and would highly recommend them.

June 17, 2020

Light weight

Im 510 around 140-145. Originally ordered a 28 that was just a tad tight in the waist. The 30 is a tad loose but the random draw strings inside and a belt make it work. A 29 would be perfect. Overall the pants are perfect for hiking. Light weight and repell water well. Definitely recommend.

June 17, 2020

3rd Pair

This version of the Quandary pants (Spring/Summer 2020) seemed to have removed all the material for dudes with butts. I have a 30/31 waist but I had to exchange for a 32 just to comfortably fit my butt into the pants. The material does stretch over time, which can dramatically alter their appearance and fit, but these are still the best lightweight... Read More casual pants Ive been able to find for the price.

June 17, 2020

I own all 3 colors

I own all colors in both shorts and pants form. In Covid life, this is all I will wear.

June 17, 2020

A simple guide alternative

I was looking to replace my simple guide pants which are discontinued and got these. They are a little thinner which might actually be cooler but I still miss the simple guide pants. These are keepers as well, though.

June 17, 2020

Great purchase

Practical for days on the lake and river, stylish, and super comfy. Everything I was hoping for. Will probably purchase another color.

May 13, 2020

when they say "slim fit" they mean it.

I'v had a pair of these pants for a couple years now and loved them for hiking and rock climbing. I just purchased a new pair in the same size as my old trusty ones and was disappointed. The new cut is very tight around the thighs. I am a full time guide / climber and anyone with medium to large build legs will probably find these uncomfortabl... Read Morey tight. They are build for skinny legged hipsters.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with the fit on these pants and we appreciate that feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us if you're finding they aren't working well for you.

May 4, 2020

Holy Grail of Pants

They are simply perfect. Many pants, especially pants meant for trekking, are over engineered and as a result they work great, for one environment and climate. But these, along with a pair of wool long underwear, work essentially anywhere. Mid summer hot day hike: check. Normal week day at the office: check. Snowy hike up the nearest peak: check. W... Read Moreinter assent of 14000': check. Hut backpacking in the constant rain of norther Norway: check. Backpacking in the Grand Canyon: check. First day at a new crag: check. Lounging around watching TV: check. I can not overstate how incredible these pants are. Add them to your wardrobe, and you will quickly learn that they are the only pants you really need.

April 15, 2020

A Utility Tool of a Pant

I purchased what I believe was the last generation of this pant. They had elastic draw strings at the ankles which were really nice and made the pant extremely versatile as weather and brush conditions changed along a trip. I had these pants for 4 hard-worn years on backpacking, fishing, and hunting trips in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and C... Read Morealifornia. Lots of off-trail miles going through rough brush and rubbing up against jagged granite. Never a snag. Always dried quickly. Always my go-to pant during any outdoor adventure. All things must come to an end. They finally started pulling apart in different places this month, but I am thoroughly impressed at how long they survived, given what I've put them through. I do suggest Patagonia bring back the ankle drawstrings for the next generation.

April 14, 2020

The Best Hiking Pants Ever

Amazing hiking pants. The perfect fit - nice and slim, but not too tight. They fit like a dream. Just finished a 30-mile hike in them - no weird rubs or tears, ever after multiple water crossings and mountain summits. They dry super fast, have just the right number of pockets, and are altogether excellent. Worth every penny.

December 9, 2019

Men's Quandry Pants

Quandry pants are not as good as the Rock Guide pants, but way better than the RPS pants for rock climbing and hiking. RPS pants are very disappointing due to the seems that catch on knees when high stepping and the terrible sliding waist button that loosens on its own, and the way too small thigh pocket that is at a weird angle. So, in all of thes... Read Moree aspects the Quandrys are much better than the RPS. The Quandrys are not as good as the Rock Guide pants in that the fit is not as good. Rock Guides fit just right at the waist, and have adequate room through hip and thigh for an athletic build and movement. The Quandrys fit a little too loose in the waist and a little too tight through the hip and thighs for someone who hikes and climbs. The waist isn't bad, and a belt will solve that problem; but being too tight from hips through the knees is not good for hiking or climbing. Please bring back the Rock Guide pants, they were pretty close to perfect. Thanks!

December 8, 2019

Phenomenal pants

I love these pants, I've been hiking in them for about a year now, 1-2 times a month and they're holding up great. They're very lightweight and cover just enough skin to keep you comfortable on a brisk central Texas winter morning (50-60 F) but light enough to wear out on a trail in 80 degree weather in Hawai'i. They have a comf... Read Moreortable amount of stretch to them which helps for people with thicker legs, even when climbing over felled trees and more technical terrain. I will buy a second pair later next year just to change up the color scheme. The only negative thing I can think of with these so far is that the lighter colors will stain easily, happened to my Quandry Shorts. Well done Patagonia!

November 25, 2019

An ideal travel pant

I have two of these pairs of pants which are ridiculously comfortable. I use them for long flights as they look good enough to meet someone after the flight, but they're comfortable enough to wear in a seat for 6 - 17 hours. I just wore them on a flight from JFK to Manila... perfect. Of course, they're great for more than travel, and I of... Read Moreten wear them to the office when I'm traveling -- not to formal meetings, but anything shy of that. I also wear them in a wide range of climates.

November 22, 2019

Great product

Great product

November 12, 2019

So happy

I am amazed, but no so impressed because Patagonia makes things to last for ever ! Super happy, the only thing that I would improve is make something to the pockets because things fall out when you sit down Beside that I love it maybe make another zipped pocket on the other leg Thanks Patagonia I am happy to now that at least one corporation can ... Read Moreput people over money! And make products that last for ever !

November 9, 2019

Pant size

I bought the pants khaki and army green. Size 34. The green fit perfectly but khaki although they say size 34 wear like a 35

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Thomas, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the sizing discrepancy you've experienced. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 8, 2019

Great pant

Nice fit. Great stretch that gives a form fitting look. Snug around upper leg if you bike a lot like I do, but the trim cut makes your butt look great (so says my wife). Looking forward to trying to climb in them- the trim cuffs will be great for being able to see my footwork. I commute by bike in these and enjoy being able to bike & work in th... Read Moree same handsome pant. A note about fit: these fit true to size. I am 6’ and weigh 180 lbs. my waist is 32” but in the past with other manufacturers I’ve enjoyed using a size 33 waist when I can find it. Not so with these pants - I first purchased a 33” waist and they were too baggy (cinching then tight with a belt made them look pleated), so I exchanged them for the 32” (easy exchange and very friendly and helpful customer service!). The 32”x 32” look great. Very happy with these pants. Thanks Patagonia!

November 4, 2019

no butt room

These pants fit great if you have less developed glut muscles. A bit tight in the seat.

November 1, 2019

I really love the fit

I really love the fit of these pants. They are cut for a slender to regular build. All of the pockets are of a proper depth and placement. These replace an Outdoor Research pant that was poorly redesigned.

October 28, 2019

Pants are a nice cut

Pants are a nice cut and very comfortable. Especially appreciate the added zippered pocket on the right leg.

October 1, 2019

Love these pants

I love these pants. I have 3 pairs, one pair that's 5+ years old and still look great! I've worn them to the office, and think they pass fine in that setting. Where I love them most is out in the field, great fit, flexible, quick drying, repels water, plenty of storage. I have used these pants on 10 day backpacking hunting trips, fishing,... Read More climbing up and down trees to hang stands, and generally abused these pants and they have held up to everything. I would highly recommend them! So far I have only had one small tear after falling, but it was easily repairable. Great pant!

September 30, 2019

Great Pants

Really happy with these pants I like the way they look and feel also water resistant. Liked them so much bought a second pair in another color.

September 15, 2019

Love the styling, love the colors, but the pants bag out too much

The pants are great and comfortable when you first put them on, but after few hours of wearing they bag out too much . If you put anything in the pockets they just droop.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these start to stretch out when you wear them. If you decide that you aren't completely satisfied and want to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), please feel free to do so. If we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact), let us know!

September 10, 2019

Nearly Perfect Trial to Town Pants!

I really didn't see a place for Quandary pants in my quiver until I tried them on. Now I practically live in them. Nearly perfect pants for hiking, travel, around town. So comfortable, lightweight and quick drying. I generally shy away from anything slim fitting (can't wait for the tight/skinny fashion to pass) but these are well tailored... Read More and move so nicely I hardly notice them on. Slim fit usually means uncomfortable and restrictive but not these. I offer two minor suggestions: The 32" inseam length is more like 31" and I'm gapping more than I'd like, especially on the trail where full coverage is necessary to keep pebbles, burrs and dirt out of your shoes. The internal drawcord is practically worthless - it's unwieldy and impossible to dial-in. You have to unbotton and partially unzip the pants to tie it and you can't tell how tight it is until you get back into the pants - may as well just use a belt. An OppoSet adjustable waist would offer much greater versatility, convenience and function.

September 1, 2019

Quandry pants

I followed other reviewers advice and ordered a size up and got a perfect fit. The pant works well with my job as a teacher requiring lots of movement, physical and weather abuse, in and outside of class. Very satisfied.

August 31, 2019

Quandary Pants - my 3rd pair

Love these pants only wish was the front pockets were a little deeper. Outside of that they are perfect.

August 30, 2019

Great Travel and Climbing Pants

I have worn these pants on two safaris, over 14 days worth, and numerous travel days. They are very comfortable, durable during days boulder climbing, and feel great on warm days and in the sun.

August 27, 2019

Best Patagonia buy ever

I own all manner of Patagonia shirts, fleeces, bags but this was my first pair of pants. Bought for hiking in Acadia National Park I can't speak more highly of this product. As well as the almost (more on that in a moment) perfect fit (I'm 5'7", 30 waist, and bought the 30 short) the best compliment I could give these pants is t... Read Morehat despite it being a hot week, and the top half of me sweated like crazy, at no point did I wish I had shorts on. The breath-ability was superb and they didn't end up stinking at the end of the day. I'll almost certainly buy a second pair. The reason I rate the fit as "almost' perfect is that they could be a fraction slimmer. Then again they may not breath so well so maybe they go this right after all.

August 24, 2019

Pretty darn ok

I ordered the long 34 inseam and it is just right for me at 6'/190# as was the rest of the fit. Have to agree with some of the other reviews that the drawstring waist seems out of place with the belt loops - I would rarely wear pants with belt loops and no belt so the drawstring is just unnecessary and in the way. I had the earlier version of ... Read Morethese and I do like the zipper on the left rear pocket on the newer style. Comfortable fabric and they fold up pretty small for travel.

August 24, 2019

Pants n’ Pockets

I own three pairs of these and find them very versatile. That said, i don’t like the design of the front pockets. Unlike many other Patagonia pants, the front pockets do not descend from top to bottom at a sharp angle which helps keep the pockets tight against the pants. These pockets are more rounded, and the poke out a good half inch from the pan... Read Morets. You can even see this gap on the Khaki pants on the website picture. Everything else about the pants is superb.

August 20, 2019

Withstanding the Alaskan alpine

These pants are awesome. 10/10 will buy again, why? I own two pairs now. The first I repaired in the crotch seam. What caused the crotch to break? Well...I've had the pants for three years now and I went on a hunt deep on an Alaskan island and carried two deer out where I had to stop and crouch many times to rest. That's after I went thro... Read Moreugh bush wack up to my eyeballs. Pants are incredible and so much better than cotton.

August 16, 2019

Poor Sizing

I'm 6'3", 175lbs and have always worn size large. The large in these pants is way too big and the medium is way too small. The fit seems to be for shorter legs and larger waists which is unfortunate because Patagonia used to fit a more athletic body shape.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are so sorry to hear the sizing didn't work out for you on these pants. We will make sure to pass this along to our Product Developers.

August 10, 2019

Awesome New Ms Quandary Pants

Fit is perfect. Especially for us slim guys !! So...So comfortable !

August 10, 2019

Quandary Pants

Comfortable, light weight and well made. Have a pair in each color. Live in the desert and wear them during the summer months. Great company.

August 10, 2019

Great pants

Very great light weight pants that are durable for hiking and more comfortable than other hiking pants I’ve tried.

August 10, 2019

No Quandary here

Quandarys are simply the greatest pants. Why they are called quandary is beyond me since there is very little doubt about their versatility. They are good for travel, hiking, every day. Hardly wrinkle, easily washed. Wore them in a driving rainstorm with quick dry briefs and couldn’t change right away, but they obligingly dried out very fast. Four ... Read Moreway stretch is a great invention. Good fit. Good zip pockets. Thigh pocket good for passport; never have to worry. Key pocket carries ear pods. I notice Patagonia has revised fabric; older version stained easily.i am 6 ft 210 pounds. I like 38.

July 21, 2019

Versatile Pants

These pants are great for all sorts of settings. I've worn them for everything from hiking to business casual with a button down (they are a bit more casual than khakis but not much). I've had them for 10 months and they are holding up well.

July 5, 2019

Great Pants !

Excellent pants, super comfortable with just the right amount of stretch. I would give them 5 Stars except, they only come in a slim version. I would love these in a regular fit as well. Having said that I'm 5'll and 175 lbs. and they do fit well. I went with the 36 Regular (32" inseam) and they are the perfect length. Very lightweig... Read Moreht, cold water wash and hang to dry. Just the right amount of pockets and zippers. I ended up getting four pairs to travel with.

July 3, 2019

My favorite pants!

These pants are my favorite pants hands down. I wear them for work, play, hiking, fishing. They are cool on a hot day and protect you from the sun. They dry amazingly fast when wet and are tough as nails. Seriously the only pants you need.

June 9, 2019

Excellent multi-use pants

Purchased these pants mainly as a hot weather light hiking pant but have come to love them for almost any activity. They fit great, just slim enough to look good but not skinny or tight. Cool in hot weather and quick to dry. I recently wore these for moderately warm approach and then as a base layer under a mountaineering pant in snow and was suppe... Read Morer happy from bivy to summit. The stretchy material is very comfortable and enabled a great fit over mountaineering boots. They also work great as a semi-casual pant as well. Great pants!

May 20, 2019

Awesome comfort

Love this pants for their lightweight, light DWR and styling. Being lightweight, I probably won't use them in cooler weather. They seems to wick sweat well. Even though they're a 'slim' fit, there's plenty of room to move around in for comfort w/o clinging to your legs. I like the styling as well. Definitely a warmer weathe... Read Morer pant. I've tried on the Quandary shorts and they pretty much fit the same (just w/o the legs).

May 9, 2019

Ms Quandary Pants

Awesome pants! very comfortable, durable and great for hiking

May 8, 2019

M’s Quandary Pants

Let’s just say “ willl be buying a second pair for back up “ as I really like the first pair a lot .

May 8, 2019

Finally

Best pair of pants I have ever owned. Very comfortable. I have two pairs now and will make it two more. I have loved everything about Patagonia since I first heard about the company in the mid 80’s. So glad I can finally afford their gear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches