Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 128 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Pants - Regular

4.5/5
True To Size
June 11, 2021

Versatile, great pockets, nice material

I'm unfortunately a 29" waist. The 28" feels sprayed-on tight, the 30" is slightly too loose, so I went with a 30, and I deal with it. I hate wearing belts, so I use the little elastic bits inside the waistband to tighten these up a fair bit. I may break down at some point and take them to a tailoring shop and get them to take i... Read Moren the waistband by an inch. Other than me being too skinny the pants are fantastic. Pockets are large enough and land in the right places to be useful. Zip cargo pocket is perfect for my phone, and doesn't leave it behind on the chair even when I don't zip it. Mobility is fantastic, they feel great on the trail, and they look good enough I can put on a nice shirt and go out to dinner. After a week, they're already my go-to pants for nearly everything.

June 3, 2021

Durable and comfortable

I've worn Quandry ants for years. They last forever and are very comfortable. A great treat when hiking.

May 18, 2021

Durable and smart

I am a woman and I love this style of hiking pant because it has smooth tailored lines for work in a a rehabilitation center, but are flexible & roomy for outdoor activities in the wilderness. Pockets are deep without looking sloppy, unlike many women's tailored pants. I can minimize my wardrobe by buying all multi purpose garments.

May 17, 2021

Super comfortable

These are super comfortable hiking pants. They fit true to size. They are perfect for casual wear and for hiking. Great pants.

May 16, 2021

Year round every day comfort.

I have two pairs of these pants and always reach for them rather than jeans or sweats. They fit and feel solid, stretchy and comfortable. Pockets serve my purposes well and I can wear a sport jacket, sweat shirt or fleece vest and they work with everything. I would buy more colors if they were available.

May 16, 2021

Confortable

High quality ..easy to wear with everything...Good fit

May 12, 2021

Great pants

These pants are just right. I really like their slim fitting legs, and they are comfortable in warm weather.

May 11, 2021

The best travel pant that you can wear every day.

While great for hiking and climbing, these have become my daily work pant, casual pant, and the only pant I bring when I travel. I bought a 30 waist and 32 length. The waist is perfect and do not need a belt...one less thing to carry. As for length I had to alter them a few inches. My preference would be if they tapered more toward the ankle so I d... Read Moreid that alteration too. So I can honestly state they are customizable too. I think this model is discontinued but I am sure Patagonia will have a good replacement made out of a this similar fabric that has a slight stretch to them.

May 11, 2021

Good fit without constraint

My big thighs demand a particular fit. I wear a size 34 waist for most pants but I needed to size up to 36 to get the fit and look I want. That accomplished, the Quandary pants offer me a sharp look but with free flow and stretch. Love these pants.

May 6, 2021

Great pants

These pants are super comfortable, the material is very soft, water proof and looks very good. I really like the left rear pocket zipper, great addition.

May 4, 2021

nice cut and fit.

just great.....

May 3, 2021

Comfortable and Super Effective

Just finished my first trip with these pants (Zion, Valley of Fire and Death Valley). Put them through the wringer out of the gate and they are already living up to the hype. Exceptional pants. Very pleased with this purchase and eager for the next outing.

April 29, 2021

Super comfy

Great pants very comfy.

April 29, 2021

Great hike pant

6'1", 175, 32/33 waist. Bought in 33 waist. I can never really guess what waist size I will be in between the 32s and 33s. Sizing can be all over the place with pants/shorts from Patagonia regardless of "fit". The pants are great for hiking. The stretchy, lightweight material is great. The clean up pretty decent too regardless o... Read Moref how hard you play in them. 4 stars because they started pilling after a couple washes but it hasn't gotten much worse in the year since it started. Have the shorts to which are killer.

April 26, 2021

Comfortable and Light Weight

Since I got these pants I've worn them on 2 or 3 mid-weather hikes (around 40-60 degrees). Very happy with them in these temperatures so far, which is exactly what I bought them for. Below 35, I'd probably pair these with some long underwear. Fits well, comfortable, good range of movement for steeper/more technical climbs as well.

April 16, 2021

Perfect hiking pant after years of searching

I have found this to be exactly what I have been looking for in a summer hiking pant. Light weight, durable, with a zipper pocket for securing the car fob.

April 7, 2021

Best ever

Great product, I have 4 pairs, various colors. Great fit, many complements. Can wear these anytime day or evening. Best pants that I have purchased in years.

April 7, 2021

Light weight

Perfect for the Nevada summers. Light weight, true to size and seems to be stain resistant. Own two of each color. Highly recommended.

April 6, 2021

Great

Light, comfy, would like back zipper pocket on right hand side. I may be the minority on wallet location though. Just personal preference there.

April 1, 2021

a great pair of pants

I use these for work because they look like regular khakis but they're perfect for hiking or light outdoor activities. Size fits good and they're also lightweight so they're comfortable to have on for along time.

March 29, 2021

Great Pants really comfy

I got these as a second pair of pants, great for walking in the street or in the mountain.

March 22, 2021

Climbing/travel/church

Picked them up at an REI on my way to a big multi pitch. Best thing I ever did. I use them for traveling(very wrinkle free). Climbing. And going to church when not wearing a suit.

March 17, 2021

Perfect pair of light pants

I have several other brands of pants sitting in my drawer after I found these pants. They are a perfect true fit, durable, lightweight but not too thin, its all I wear unless I am flyfishing.

March 12, 2021

Great Gift

I got this as a gift and it is exactly what my husband was looking for. Nice and light weight, comfortable. Great for Southern California adventures.

March 9, 2021

Light, Stretchy

These are comfortable, lightweight pants that fit me well. I'm excited to hike in them spring through autumn. They are not suitable to very cold weather, even with a base layer. The hand pockets are too small; I have a smaller phone and it barely fits. Pros: lightweight, stretchy, look good, one zippered back pocket. Cons: hand pockets too s... Read Moremall, fabric feels like it could tear easily, may be tight around your thighs.

February 16, 2021

Very skinny

I really wanted to wear these but like another reviewer said. These are very skinny. So I decided to return. Im 5 ten 175 and these were painted on. They were stretchy so I could have used em but Im not into that look. If I weighed about 145 I would recommend.

February 15, 2021

Great everyday pants

Love these pants! I normally wear a 34 in the waist but with this slim fit they were too tight in the thighs. The 36 fits great, comfortable, mostly static free when the air is dry, I wear them around the house and for everyday use.

January 30, 2021

They work!

I needed a pair of pants that could double for walking/hiking as well as casual wear. The material is great and the fit is perfect. Also, I had great help from customer service when placing the order.

January 28, 2021

They Run Small these days

I have been wearing these pants for years and currently have 6 pairs. I ordered 3 new pairs to replace my old worn out ones. Unfortunately they did not fit. They are tight in the crotch and waist. I am the same size and weight over the years and the new ones run SMALL to me. Returning all 3 pairs and may try the next size up????

January 19, 2021

The Perfect Wedgie

So far these are the best tech pants I've found that fit me. I wear a 29x30 (bought the 28 short) and have had trouble finding the right waist size and length. While these fit well in those regards, I've yet to encounter a pant that gives me such a consistent wedgie. It doesn't matter what I'm doing in them, a wedgie forms. I&#x... Read More27;ve tried all different sorts of underwear to counter act this and the best solution I've found is to only wear them when its well below freezing out with compression leggings underneath. The problem is most noticeable when hiking uphill. Other than that, these pants seem fine. They look good, the dimensions are right, and the fabric has held up all right to everything except a few accidental kicks with the crampons. I would recommend them to anyone outdoorsy who likes having their crotch flossed.

January 15, 2021

Comfortable

Patagonia products work great. Wish I could repeat some of the old product thats discontinued.

January 1, 2021

Great!

I got these in forge grey and they are a very versatile pant. The perfect pair of hiking and climbing pants, especially with the zipper pocket on the leg for my phone. The look of the zipper head and cord can make the pants look a little too technical so when not in use I just stuff the zipper into the pocket and it's perfect.

December 31, 2020

Run a little tight. Any other suggestions?

Love these pants, but definitely run tight in the thigh and trunk compared to other Patagonia pants of same size 32" Have 2 pairs of runners, and 2 pair of others which are fine.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Alan! We'll have some new products in the Spring 2021 line, but in the meantime, take a look at our Hampi Rock Pant, Gritstone Rock Pant, RPS Rock Pant and Venga Rock Pant. Those vary in fabric content, but they all have a bit more room in the thigh. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for some [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 19, 2020

Love these pants

This is the third pair (diff colors) Ive bought of these pants. Love them. They are comfortable and lightweight so great for everyday and year long wear. Highly recommend.

December 17, 2020

Very comfortable

The material has a little stretch to it which makes it more comfortable when squatting, kneeling or just on the move. Its also water resistant.

December 1, 2020

Absolute favorite pants

Simply the best, and my absolute favorite pants.

November 26, 2020

Versatile style- From hiking to beach wedding

Social- distanced beach wedding near Golden Gate in November...what to wear? Quandary hiking pants to the rescue. These pants are rugged but tidy looking with great pockets for keys and the rings! They photographed well, too. Best part: not a single use garment. Slim cut, so needed to size up from usual waist 31. Patagonia customer service saved th... Read Moree day by rushing the replacement size order. Eternal thanks. Highly recommended. 511, 160 lbs.

November 25, 2020

Very comfortable pants

Bought these for casual wear and for travel. They fit well and don't wrinkle easily. I'll be looking for another pair.

November 24, 2020

Does what is says on the tin

I purchased these for hiking and limited trail running in chilly weather. They fit fine and kept my comfortable. I particularly like the stretch of the fabric which breathes well. They look good too.

November 21, 2020

Great fit.

The fit is excellent in a medium. I have an ectomorph shape. The length is just a little too much for Reefs but with a belt works with everything else. (I should have purchased two pair...)

November 8, 2020

Bottoms are sized better than tops for me

Patagonia tops are a struggle to get a good fit, but I like these pants. I think they're sized for guys who don't have a lot in the quads. That's fair for Patagonia's market, so I can't complain. I like them anyways.

September 24, 2020

Big quads? Steer clear.

Seems like a solid overall design, but they're so tight in the seat and thighs they might as well be leggings. I'm 5'10" and 160lbs so by no means a behemoth. If you squat, it would probably be best to shop for other pants.

September 12, 2020

Awesome Pants

These are simply the perfect pants. The fit is perfect and every feature on the pants serves a purpose and does it well. Love the built in drawstring belt. Will be back for more.

September 12, 2020

My Everyday Pants

These have become my everyday go to pants. Super comfortable and can easily transition from working on projects around the house, to grocery shopping, to hiking in the hills. I love these pants.

September 7, 2020

Light weight - fast drying

These pants exceeded my expectations. As a hiking pant they performed as my only pair of pants on a 5 day trek to Titcomb Basin. They were grubby as you'd expect after a trip like that but they washed clean. They fished in the Clark Fork and Soda Butte and were dry before we arrived at our truck. Love the stretch and the fabric kept Blackflies... Read More at bay. Id highly recommend these for hiking and fishing. Peace

September 2, 2020

Perfect Jeans Alternative

Jeans don't pack well, these do. You can wear them to the boardroom and the river and never look out of place. quick wash in the sink and dry overnight. Must have for traveling in my opinion. Side leg pocket solves the where to is my phone issue.

September 2, 2020

Great work/casual pants!

I bought these for work, and they look great! I love the fact that they dry so fast in the dryer, and their stain resistance.

September 2, 2020

Great pants!

Wear them to work or play. Quality pant worth the money.

July 23, 2020

Great versatile pants, snug fit

Love these pants, they are light and breathe very well. Patagonia seems to have snugged up the fit as my new pair 2020 feels slimmer than a 2017 cut. Mostly around upper legs and butt. I liked the old cut better as they were more relaxed.

July 22, 2020

Great pants

I got a pair of these 5 years ago and they are still going strong! Surprisingly and wonderfully durable. I work outside and have to wear khaki so I grabbed a new pair. The newer model does seem to fit a bit baggier. I liked the slimmer fit of my old pair, however I still like these and will probably get another pair.

July 13, 2020

Like 'em, but elastic in waist would improve 'em

I like these pants, and use them for fishing and river running, but the waist has a drawstring vs elastic in the back. It is difficult to get the drawstring to fit right and then when they are wet and heavier they slip down below my waist. I think elastic strip/accordions in the back would perhaps be better. Otherwise they are perfect for what I us... Read Moree them for.

July 12, 2020

Like 'em, but elastic in waist would improve 'em

I like these pants, and use them for fishing and river running, but the waist has a drawstring vs elastic in the back. It is difficult to get the drawstring to fit right and then when they are wet and heavier they slip down below my waist. I think elastic strip/accordions in the back would perhaps be better. Otherwise they are perfect for what I us... Read Moree them for.

June 27, 2020

Best pants ever

Fits me perfectly. I have repurposed all my other pants and replaced them with quandary pants.

June 26, 2020

Light, cool, comfortable

These pants are all of the above. Cool for summer, stretchable and very lightweight for hiking. Very comfortable. Great clothing. My favorite company.

June 25, 2020

Nice Pants

Easy to wear and care for...my go to, run around town pants.

June 22, 2020

a new favorite

I got these for hiking. I have already put in several hiking miles and a couple multi-night trips (wearing these every day). I did a 10 mile off trail hike that went through way too much Devil's Club. Yes, I may have taken a wrong turn. Regardless, the pants held up incredibly! I am so impressed. Besides the durability, what I really like is t... Read Morehe stretch in the material. The pants have a great fit/silhouette - they are not baggy and yet not super skinny. The stretch allows for great mobility. I also wore these on a fishing trip, wet wading. They dried incredibly fast and are now my go to wet wading pant. The waist does seem to stretch a bit, so the pants have become a little loose in the waist for me. I might try sizing down in the waist but not sure. Overall, I am extremely happy with these pants and would highly recommend them.

June 17, 2020

Light weight

Im 510 around 140-145. Originally ordered a 28 that was just a tad tight in the waist. The 30 is a tad loose but the random draw strings inside and a belt make it work. A 29 would be perfect. Overall the pants are perfect for hiking. Light weight and repell water well. Definitely recommend.

June 17, 2020

3rd Pair

This version of the Quandary pants (Spring/Summer 2020) seemed to have removed all the material for dudes with butts. I have a 30/31 waist but I had to exchange for a 32 just to comfortably fit my butt into the pants. The material does stretch over time, which can dramatically alter their appearance and fit, but these are still the best lightweight... Read More casual pants Ive been able to find for the price.

June 17, 2020

I own all 3 colors

I own all colors in both shorts and pants form. In Covid life, this is all I will wear.

June 17, 2020

A simple guide alternative

I was looking to replace my simple guide pants which are discontinued and got these. They are a little thinner which might actually be cooler but I still miss the simple guide pants. These are keepers as well, though.

June 17, 2020

Great purchase

Practical for days on the lake and river, stylish, and super comfy. Everything I was hoping for. Will probably purchase another color.

May 13, 2020

when they say "slim fit" they mean it.

I'v had a pair of these pants for a couple years now and loved them for hiking and rock climbing. I just purchased a new pair in the same size as my old trusty ones and was disappointed. The new cut is very tight around the thighs. I am a full time guide / climber and anyone with medium to large build legs will probably find these uncomfortabl... Read Morey tight. They are build for skinny legged hipsters.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with the fit on these pants and we appreciate that feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us if you're finding they aren't working well for you.

May 4, 2020

Holy Grail of Pants

They are simply perfect. Many pants, especially pants meant for trekking, are over engineered and as a result they work great, for one environment and climate. But these, along with a pair of wool long underwear, work essentially anywhere. Mid summer hot day hike: check. Normal week day at the office: check. Snowy hike up the nearest peak: check. W... Read Moreinter assent of 14000': check. Hut backpacking in the constant rain of norther Norway: check. Backpacking in the Grand Canyon: check. First day at a new crag: check. Lounging around watching TV: check. I can not overstate how incredible these pants are. Add them to your wardrobe, and you will quickly learn that they are the only pants you really need.

April 15, 2020

A Utility Tool of a Pant

I purchased what I believe was the last generation of this pant. They had elastic draw strings at the ankles which were really nice and made the pant extremely versatile as weather and brush conditions changed along a trip. I had these pants for 4 hard-worn years on backpacking, fishing, and hunting trips in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and C... Read Morealifornia. Lots of off-trail miles going through rough brush and rubbing up against jagged granite. Never a snag. Always dried quickly. Always my go-to pant during any outdoor adventure. All things must come to an end. They finally started pulling apart in different places this month, but I am thoroughly impressed at how long they survived, given what I've put them through. I do suggest Patagonia bring back the ankle drawstrings for the next generation.

April 14, 2020

The Best Hiking Pants Ever

Amazing hiking pants. The perfect fit - nice and slim, but not too tight. They fit like a dream. Just finished a 30-mile hike in them - no weird rubs or tears, ever after multiple water crossings and mountain summits. They dry super fast, have just the right number of pockets, and are altogether excellent. Worth every penny.

December 9, 2019

Men's Quandry Pants

Quandry pants are not as good as the Rock Guide pants, but way better than the RPS pants for rock climbing and hiking. RPS pants are very disappointing due to the seems that catch on knees when high stepping and the terrible sliding waist button that loosens on its own, and the way too small thigh pocket that is at a weird angle. So, in all of thes... Read Moree aspects the Quandrys are much better than the RPS. The Quandrys are not as good as the Rock Guide pants in that the fit is not as good. Rock Guides fit just right at the waist, and have adequate room through hip and thigh for an athletic build and movement. The Quandrys fit a little too loose in the waist and a little too tight through the hip and thighs for someone who hikes and climbs. The waist isn't bad, and a belt will solve that problem; but being too tight from hips through the knees is not good for hiking or climbing. Please bring back the Rock Guide pants, they were pretty close to perfect. Thanks!

December 8, 2019

Phenomenal pants

I love these pants, I've been hiking in them for about a year now, 1-2 times a month and they're holding up great. They're very lightweight and cover just enough skin to keep you comfortable on a brisk central Texas winter morning (50-60 F) but light enough to wear out on a trail in 80 degree weather in Hawai'i. They have a comf... Read Moreortable amount of stretch to them which helps for people with thicker legs, even when climbing over felled trees and more technical terrain. I will buy a second pair later next year just to change up the color scheme. The only negative thing I can think of with these so far is that the lighter colors will stain easily, happened to my Quandry Shorts. Well done Patagonia!

November 25, 2019

An ideal travel pant

I have two of these pairs of pants which are ridiculously comfortable. I use them for long flights as they look good enough to meet someone after the flight, but they're comfortable enough to wear in a seat for 6 - 17 hours. I just wore them on a flight from JFK to Manila... perfect. Of course, they're great for more than travel, and I of... Read Moreten wear them to the office when I'm traveling -- not to formal meetings, but anything shy of that. I also wear them in a wide range of climates.

November 22, 2019

Great product

Great product

November 12, 2019

So happy

I am amazed, but no so impressed because Patagonia makes things to last for ever ! Super happy, the only thing that I would improve is make something to the pockets because things fall out when you sit down Beside that I love it maybe make another zipped pocket on the other leg Thanks Patagonia I am happy to now that at least one corporation can ... Read Moreput people over money! And make products that last for ever !

November 9, 2019

Pant size

I bought the pants khaki and army green. Size 34. The green fit perfectly but khaki although they say size 34 wear like a 35

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Thomas, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the sizing discrepancy you've experienced. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 8, 2019

Great pant

Nice fit. Great stretch that gives a form fitting look. Snug around upper leg if you bike a lot like I do, but the trim cut makes your butt look great (so says my wife). Looking forward to trying to climb in them- the trim cuffs will be great for being able to see my footwork. I commute by bike in these and enjoy being able to bike & work in th... Read Moree same handsome pant. A note about fit: these fit true to size. I am 6’ and weigh 180 lbs. my waist is 32” but in the past with other manufacturers I’ve enjoyed using a size 33 waist when I can find it. Not so with these pants - I first purchased a 33” waist and they were too baggy (cinching then tight with a belt made them look pleated), so I exchanged them for the 32” (easy exchange and very friendly and helpful customer service!). The 32”x 32” look great. Very happy with these pants. Thanks Patagonia!

November 4, 2019

no butt room

These pants fit great if you have less developed glut muscles. A bit tight in the seat.

November 1, 2019

I really love the fit

I really love the fit of these pants. They are cut for a slender to regular build. All of the pockets are of a proper depth and placement. These replace an Outdoor Research pant that was poorly redesigned.

October 28, 2019

Pants are a nice cut

Pants are a nice cut and very comfortable. Especially appreciate the added zippered pocket on the right leg.

October 1, 2019

Love these pants

I love these pants. I have 3 pairs, one pair that's 5+ years old and still look great! I've worn them to the office, and think they pass fine in that setting. Where I love them most is out in the field, great fit, flexible, quick drying, repels water, plenty of storage. I have used these pants on 10 day backpacking hunting trips, fishing,... Read More climbing up and down trees to hang stands, and generally abused these pants and they have held up to everything. I would highly recommend them! So far I have only had one small tear after falling, but it was easily repairable. Great pant!

September 30, 2019

Great Pants

Really happy with these pants I like the way they look and feel also water resistant. Liked them so much bought a second pair in another color.

September 15, 2019

Love the styling, love the colors, but the pants bag out too much

The pants are great and comfortable when you first put them on, but after few hours of wearing they bag out too much . If you put anything in the pockets they just droop.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these start to stretch out when you wear them. If you decide that you aren't completely satisfied and want to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), please feel free to do so. If we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact), let us know!

September 10, 2019

Nearly Perfect Trial to Town Pants!

I really didn't see a place for Quandary pants in my quiver until I tried them on. Now I practically live in them. Nearly perfect pants for hiking, travel, around town. So comfortable, lightweight and quick drying. I generally shy away from anything slim fitting (can't wait for the tight/skinny fashion to pass) but these are well tailored... Read More and move so nicely I hardly notice them on. Slim fit usually means uncomfortable and restrictive but not these. I offer two minor suggestions: The 32" inseam length is more like 31" and I'm gapping more than I'd like, especially on the trail where full coverage is necessary to keep pebbles, burrs and dirt out of your shoes. The internal drawcord is practically worthless - it's unwieldy and impossible to dial-in. You have to unbotton and partially unzip the pants to tie it and you can't tell how tight it is until you get back into the pants - may as well just use a belt. An OppoSet adjustable waist would offer much greater versatility, convenience and function.

September 1, 2019

Quandry pants

I followed other reviewers advice and ordered a size up and got a perfect fit. The pant works well with my job as a teacher requiring lots of movement, physical and weather abuse, in and outside of class. Very satisfied.

August 31, 2019

Quandary Pants - my 3rd pair

Love these pants only wish was the front pockets were a little deeper. Outside of that they are perfect.

August 30, 2019

Great Travel and Climbing Pants

I have worn these pants on two safaris, over 14 days worth, and numerous travel days. They are very comfortable, durable during days boulder climbing, and feel great on warm days and in the sun.

August 27, 2019

Best Patagonia buy ever

I own all manner of Patagonia shirts, fleeces, bags but this was my first pair of pants. Bought for hiking in Acadia National Park I can't speak more highly of this product. As well as the almost (more on that in a moment) perfect fit (I'm 5'7", 30 waist, and bought the 30 short) the best compliment I could give these pants is t... Read Morehat despite it being a hot week, and the top half of me sweated like crazy, at no point did I wish I had shorts on. The breath-ability was superb and they didn't end up stinking at the end of the day. I'll almost certainly buy a second pair. The reason I rate the fit as "almost' perfect is that they could be a fraction slimmer. Then again they may not breath so well so maybe they go this right after all.

August 24, 2019

Pretty darn ok

I ordered the long 34 inseam and it is just right for me at 6'/190# as was the rest of the fit. Have to agree with some of the other reviews that the drawstring waist seems out of place with the belt loops - I would rarely wear pants with belt loops and no belt so the drawstring is just unnecessary and in the way. I had the earlier version of ... Read Morethese and I do like the zipper on the left rear pocket on the newer style. Comfortable fabric and they fold up pretty small for travel.

August 24, 2019

Pants n’ Pockets

I own three pairs of these and find them very versatile. That said, i don’t like the design of the front pockets. Unlike many other Patagonia pants, the front pockets do not descend from top to bottom at a sharp angle which helps keep the pockets tight against the pants. These pockets are more rounded, and the poke out a good half inch from the pan... Read Morets. You can even see this gap on the Khaki pants on the website picture. Everything else about the pants is superb.

August 20, 2019

Withstanding the Alaskan alpine

These pants are awesome. 10/10 will buy again, why? I own two pairs now. The first I repaired in the crotch seam. What caused the crotch to break? Well...I've had the pants for three years now and I went on a hunt deep on an Alaskan island and carried two deer out where I had to stop and crouch many times to rest. That's after I went thro... Read Moreugh bush wack up to my eyeballs. Pants are incredible and so much better than cotton.

August 16, 2019

Poor Sizing

I'm 6'3", 175lbs and have always worn size large. The large in these pants is way too big and the medium is way too small. The fit seems to be for shorter legs and larger waists which is unfortunate because Patagonia used to fit a more athletic body shape.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are so sorry to hear the sizing didn't work out for you on these pants. We will make sure to pass this along to our Product Developers.

August 10, 2019

Awesome New Ms Quandary Pants

Fit is perfect. Especially for us slim guys !! So...So comfortable !

August 10, 2019

Quandary Pants

Comfortable, light weight and well made. Have a pair in each color. Live in the desert and wear them during the summer months. Great company.

August 10, 2019

Great pants

Very great light weight pants that are durable for hiking and more comfortable than other hiking pants I’ve tried.

August 10, 2019

No Quandary here

Quandarys are simply the greatest pants. Why they are called quandary is beyond me since there is very little doubt about their versatility. They are good for travel, hiking, every day. Hardly wrinkle, easily washed. Wore them in a driving rainstorm with quick dry briefs and couldn’t change right away, but they obligingly dried out very fast. Four ... Read Moreway stretch is a great invention. Good fit. Good zip pockets. Thigh pocket good for passport; never have to worry. Key pocket carries ear pods. I notice Patagonia has revised fabric; older version stained easily.i am 6 ft 210 pounds. I like 38.

July 21, 2019

Versatile Pants

These pants are great for all sorts of settings. I've worn them for everything from hiking to business casual with a button down (they are a bit more casual than khakis but not much). I've had them for 10 months and they are holding up well.

July 5, 2019

Great Pants !

Excellent pants, super comfortable with just the right amount of stretch. I would give them 5 Stars except, they only come in a slim version. I would love these in a regular fit as well. Having said that I'm 5'll and 175 lbs. and they do fit well. I went with the 36 Regular (32" inseam) and they are the perfect length. Very lightweig... Read Moreht, cold water wash and hang to dry. Just the right amount of pockets and zippers. I ended up getting four pairs to travel with.

July 3, 2019

My favorite pants!

These pants are my favorite pants hands down. I wear them for work, play, hiking, fishing. They are cool on a hot day and protect you from the sun. They dry amazingly fast when wet and are tough as nails. Seriously the only pants you need.

June 9, 2019

Excellent multi-use pants

Purchased these pants mainly as a hot weather light hiking pant but have come to love them for almost any activity. They fit great, just slim enough to look good but not skinny or tight. Cool in hot weather and quick to dry. I recently wore these for moderately warm approach and then as a base layer under a mountaineering pant in snow and was suppe... Read Morer happy from bivy to summit. The stretchy material is very comfortable and enabled a great fit over mountaineering boots. They also work great as a semi-casual pant as well. Great pants!

May 20, 2019

Awesome comfort

Love this pants for their lightweight, light DWR and styling. Being lightweight, I probably won't use them in cooler weather. They seems to wick sweat well. Even though they're a 'slim' fit, there's plenty of room to move around in for comfort w/o clinging to your legs. I like the styling as well. Definitely a warmer weathe... Read Morer pant. I've tried on the Quandary shorts and they pretty much fit the same (just w/o the legs).

May 9, 2019

Ms Quandary Pants

Awesome pants! very comfortable, durable and great for hiking

May 8, 2019

M’s Quandary Pants

Let’s just say “ willl be buying a second pair for back up “ as I really like the first pair a lot .

May 8, 2019

Finally

Best pair of pants I have ever owned. Very comfortable. I have two pairs now and will make it two more. I have loved everything about Patagonia since I first heard about the company in the mid 80’s. So glad I can finally afford their gear.

April 19, 2019

Great fit!

Love these pants. They’re definitely more fitted but my movement isn’t restricted at all. Went climbing in them yesterday and had zero complaints. I also really like the zipper thigh pocket. I highly recommend these to anyone that is looking for a light weight/fitted/stretchy pants. I’ll be grabbing another pair or two

January 2, 2019

Previous design was much better.

These pants are fine. I also have the previous design from ~3 years ago and they are much much better than the current iteration. Things I don't like about the current iteration: - thigh pocket overlaps side pocket. this is visible and can be felt when hand is inside pocket. - outseam stitching looks and feels cheap. - zippers on pockets look... Read More and feel cheap. - inner drawstring just gets in the way. it is too stretchy and thin to be useful. - knee articulations and overall cut of pants not as comfortable. With all of that said, these pants are still great for pretty much any activity. They will have to do, as I haven't found a worthy replacement.

December 26, 2018

Perfect active pants

I wear these to mountain bike, hike, run, casual wear, they are perfect for it all. Fit good, like the stretch, will be buying a few more colors

December 13, 2018

Weird Fit

Got these in size 34 regular from Moosejaw. The waist and length were fine, but there was no room in the butt. Maybe these work for someone without any rear end, but not for me. Returned and looking for something else.

December 9, 2018

Perfect travel companion

I wouldn't typically spend my free time writing a review about pants, but … these deserve the accolades! I bought a pair for a two week trip across Thailand with the expectation that they'd be light, versatile, sturdy and continually look good. Bottom-line, they excelled on all fronts; whether I was wearing them to tour through a Wat on a... Read More 90+ degree day in Bangkok, bicycle through Chiang Mai, or enjoy a nice meal in Ko Samui. Highly recommend!

October 10, 2018

Solid Hiking/Travel Pant

I purchased these because of good experience with a very similar pant (Rock Guide I think). Those hiked, backpacked, and traveled all over on me, and have performed very well. The Quandary is a very similar pant - light and stretchy fabric, wind-blunting while staying breathable, quick drying, lots of pockets. I'm 6'1" and 200 lb. I ... Read Moreordered 36" waist and standard length, and the fit is dead on. Likes. The fabric, which performs well and keeps its shape when washed in a sink and line dried. The cut, which has let me move while remaining close enough that the lower legs don't catch on stuff. The numerous pockets, especially the thigh pocket that becomes parking for reading glasses, phone, Clif Bar, map, etc. Dislikes. The drawcord, which in my opinion has no reason to exist. The zipper on the thigh pocket, which requires 2 hands to close. Overall, a good hiking/backpacking/adventure travel pant. I like 'em.

September 20, 2018

What an Amazing Company. Totally IMPRESSED by their customer service response

UN-Solicited response shows up on my email from customer service thanking me for my patronage and offering me a full refund on the quandry pants that I have reviewed few days back. Not only that they also send in same email a postage voucher to pay for shipping. Incredible and Amazingly Brilliant on their part. I was blown away. It shows the depth ... Read Moreof caring and the exceptional regards to the brand value. WOW!!! LOVE THAT COMPANY

September 14, 2018

GO BACK TO THE OLD QUANDRY PANTS - It is not a positive change

I have owned these pants for few years and buy a new color almost yearly. However, the Quandry I bought recently though it seems the same but it is no different than any regular pants with the "cut corners" approach Patagonia is embarking on. A small example is the knee stitching, before 2018 models had intricate stitching around the knee... Read Mores such as darts, back piece stitching,,,etc that the pants contoured around the knee. Now it is just a plain regular pants and I am not impressed. GO BACK TO THE OLD STYLE even though you will charge more.

September 9, 2018

Amazingly Comfortable

Perhaps the most comfortable pants I own. The material is stretchy, breathable, dries in a flash, and holds its shape well. I have a few minor quibbles. The side pocket zipper is a bit overly 'visible', the metallic zipper pulls tend to jingle a bit when you walk, and the drawstring is of questionable usefulness (though it is thin enough ... Read Moreto not be a bother when not in use). I really like the fit. They're a bit on the slim side (as advertised) but still look at home at work or in the woods. Great travel pants. If I'm on the road, you'll find a pair of these on me or in my luggage (sometimes both). Another reviewer suggested a more 'business friendly' version, and I agree...would be a nice add to the catalogue. Again, I cannot stress enough just how comfortable these things are...I have pajama pants that are no more pleasant to wear. Buy a pair.

September 2, 2018

stretch in the wrong direction creating sags

great fit and pockets except the 2 way stretch goes north and south rether than east west, which allows major unsighly saggin when you have a wallet or cell phone in the thigh or back pocket. Bummer. Pardon the typos.

August 12, 2018

Great Outdoor Pants

I've used these pants on a number of hikes. Also recently did a few days of canoeing in the Boundary Waters with these as my primary pants. Worked absolutely perfectly. In the BWCA, you are constantly getting your feet/legs wet on portages. These pants dried VERY quickly. Kept the sun and bugs at bay. Pockets in all the right places for gear a... Read Morend very comfortable/cool in the August sun. Would buy without hesitation. I'm admittedly tall/skinny, so had no trouble with the fit of these pants - which are noted as a Slim Fit.

June 23, 2018

Lusty!

These pants are one bad mothas. I love these pants so much. They are the best pants I believe I have worn in my entire life. Don't sleep on these.

May 6, 2018

Excellent...with exception

Hello. I am a long time Patagonia customer and I own several pairs of your Quandary Pants,from various years. For me,the pants have many terrific purposes but best of all,I wear them I am traveling on business,in lieu of my suit pants,as the pant travels extremely well. That said,I am disappointed that this year's version has altered the back ... Read Morepockets and accentuated the left back pocket zipper. Patagonia also changed the zipper placket on the side leg so that the zipper is even more pronounced than previously. I suggest that Patagonia offer a business like model of this pant,in the same material,as many of my friends,work colleagues and clients compliment me on the Quandary pants when I wear them and ask where they can buy them. Again,I wear models from previous years,not this years model.

April 2, 2018

Love these pants

Super comfortable and lightweight. I have a few pair of these and they are great for traveling and hot environments. They dry quickly and are pretty wrinkle resistant. They are slim fitting which i like and come in short length which is a must for me.

February 8, 2018

Great all around pant

I own 4 pairs of the previous version of these pants and wear them to work on a heavy duty construction site everyday. With that said on the weekends i throw thermals under them cross country ski and snowboard in -20 Vermont. Also during the summer they are my go to mountain biking pant. Finally when going out at night i dry them by the fire and pu... Read Moret them back on! I don't usually write reviews but i saw some negative ones about this pant and wanted to give my honest opinion. The new pants i recieved a couple of days ago are a happy addition to my quiver. 1. I like the redesign of the waist the belt area is more hardy and there is a mesh on the inside thats awesome and prevents chaffing + over time because i use the heck out of these pants the waist gets a little looser so the added drawstring is a great addition! 2.The added zipped back pocked and the right thigh pocket are great and i am happy they added a bit to the amount in the thigh pocket. I will say its a little hard to get my hand into the back zip pocket. 3. I love the new lining in the pockets when working in winter especially my hands are very dry and the fabric feels great. 4. The fabric of the pants is my primary reason for buying these pants while other guys around me where jeans, and heavy carhartt pants i wear these in freezing temperatures with some Patagonia thermals and i am all good. 5. My previous pairs in the crotch area i did have to repair the new version stitch seems more hardy. Patagonia please never stop making this pant and thank you for green its my favorite color forest green next maybe??

January 11, 2018

A Giant Leap Backward

I just got the new Quandary pant in the mail. I have owned 2 pairs of the previous version of the Quandary and the new version is a GIANT leap in the wrong direction. Upon trying them on,the fit is completely different. It felt very tight in the thighs which made the fit very tight across of the front of the pants. Also,as others have mentioned,... Read Morethe drawstring is not at all needed for these pants. It is a very cheap fully elastic band that does nothing for the functionality of the pants. Not only that but when I tightened the drawstring,it ripped out of the back of the pants as it is supposed to be sewn into the back of the waistband. I haven't worn them other than trying them on,so I'm not sure how the functionality of the pant will be,but they will never get the chance to be worn in the field because they are getting returned immediately. Bring back the old Quandary!!!

December 2, 2017

Great pants made better

I own two pair of the previous iteration and two of these 2017 versions. I loved the older Quandary pants with the visible cargo pocket on the right leg but I must say the new pants are even better. The new pants mainatain the cargo pocket but its larger and less visible. The cut of the pants appears to have changed a little as well. Seems to have ... Read Moreless of a boot cut and more of a straight fit. The back left zipper pocket is a good add on and I like the drawstring. Overall they made a great pair of pants even better.

November 26, 2017

Wear and tear

Pants are extremely comfortable. I have had 2 pairs of these for about a year now. However,after about 4 months the fabric start ripping in different places. Crotch area in particular. Needless to say,I still have my 2 pair in my closet I just had to resow them. Wish this wasn't the case but it happens I guess. Enjoy the pants,still wear to th... Read Moreis day,just wouldn't order anymore of this particular kind due to the thin fabric not lasting very long.

August 29, 2017

Loved the pants,but didn't look good on my frame

Loved the material and fit (mostly),but they did not fit my frame. Pants with these materials are best for outdoor activities. I tend to use them for wok and can appear a little too "showy" in the crotch after a while.

August 10, 2017

Good,but previous version was excellent

I have the previous version of the Quandary and they are near excellent,but I returned the new version that I'd recently ordered. The drawcord waistband is a solution to a problem that did not exist and the pulls on the zippers are superfluous. KISS - keep it simple,silly!

July 16, 2017

Almost There

First the negatives: As other reviewers have noted the new cargo pocket is step backwards. It's larger size and lower placement ensure that anything of substantial weight (from a large Swiss army knife on up) sort of swings around a bit as you move. The older smaller design was less obvious and more stable. The biggest disappointment is the ... Read Moredraw string. It's a thin elastic job that requires significant cinching to to secure the pants and keep them that way. These pants are a candidate for a future thru hike of the JMT. What I hoped for was essentially a long pants version of Patagonia's wavefarer board shorts with a similar drawstring closer that is quite secure sans belt and comfortable under a pack's hip belt. As it is,the draw string just does not feel secure enough for that application. For the positives: Great stretchy light-weight super comfortable fabric. Have not put it through the ringer as others have but I'm confident it's quite durable. Length is great for me,keeping good ankle coverage even when sitting (a little bunchy when standing but that's ok). Zippered back pocket is great - I'll just start carrying my money on the left cheek vice the right. Great pants Patagonia. Let's adopt the board shorts drawstring set up and we're there!

July 14, 2017

My everyday wear

These pants have a very understated style,and they still well. In the photo i find they look a little droopy,but they have good structure,and are stylish enough for me to wear everyday. I work outdoors,and have found these to be durable,yet light enough for warm summer days. I also wear the Field Pants by Patagonia but I find myself wearing these m... Read Moreore often especially in the summer. These are surprisingly durable pants that I feel I have gotten great value for! Worn over 300 days,and still going strong! Thanks Patagonia! Also: I am 6 foot,180 pounds,I'm bigger in the thigh and am wearing the size 33. Pretty typical for me.

July 7, 2017

Great all around!

I've had them for a couple years and beat them up on a 6-week Asia trip with no issues. My go to travel pants for planes. Today they got soaked through on a ferry and were totally dry by the end of a 2-hour bus ride. One request - the zippered pocket doesn't add much given that items put in there just slap against your thigh. Get rid of t... Read Morehat pocket and they can be worn in almost any situation as dress pants - super versatile.

June 24, 2017

Perfect Fit,Perfect Performance

Been using this for several months in a variety of activities,although mainly rock climbing and hiking. Pants are lightweight,comfortable,durable,and (most appreciated) stretch with major movement. It's great to be able to have one pair of pants that work for something athletic as rock climbing,along with something as mellow as hiking. I&#x27... Read More;m very skinny for my height--about 140 lbs at 6'0"--and always struggle to find pants that fit me as trim as I'd like. The slim fit version of these pants fit me better than comparable pants from a variety of other manufacturers,which is another excellent feature,and a place where Patagonia always wins over competitors. Highly recommended for athletically thin people looking for a close fit.

May 22, 2017

Comfortable,look great,and easy care

Bought these for Jack who has decided Patagonia's Quandary pants are the best hiking and travel pants he's ever had (and he's had a bunch). Just used them for a week in Italy - hiking 6-9 miles per day,wash out in a sink and dry by the next morning,wear for dinners out,on the plane - perfect all around. Jack now has 3 pairs of these ... Read Moreand loves them all.

May 22, 2017

Morongo Basin Land Trust

. I needed a pair of sturdy outdoor pants for MBLT monitoring and my own hiking. Patagonia had donated a variety of clothes to volunteers. I took home a pair of Quandry Pants. The desert is hard on pants. I've gotten them caught many times in the local common nemesis for hikers,a bush we call Cats Claw. Never harmed them at all. Tough pants ye... Read Moret lightweight. That's why I bought a second pair and even wore them at my daughters backyard wedding two weeks ago.

April 17, 2017

Well Fitting,Good for Backpacking

During my first long distance backpacking trip,I could never quite reconcile the waste strap of my hiking backpack with the belt that I needed to wear to hold my pants up. I was thrilled to see that these pants have a thin,built in draw-string making them very comfortable to wear backpacking. They also fit as expected,which is always great for an o... Read Morenline order.

April 15, 2017

Not thrilled with the new design

Just a comment on the new Quandary pant style. The new slanted front zipper pocket is a negative when it comes to wearing the pants as a workday casual pant because the more obvious zipper pocket location (along with the very visible cord on the pull) make the pants look a bit too casual. Using a smaller pull (like the former pant did; i.e.,no cord... Read More and a more discreet location) and/or having the zipper pull in the opposite direction (so the pull is down instead of up) would solve the issue. Otherwise,a great product. Loved the old model. Val at Patagonia found the last pair of 33/32 hanging around and got them for me! Great service.

April 8, 2017

My Daily Attire

I've been wearing these for a month or so. Comfortable as sweatpants (just a little stretch). Light. A zipper pocket for my phone and one for my wallet. Good looking enough for a restaurant,but casual enough for daily wear.

March 23, 2017

Tailored fit,go-to 3 season pant

Worn it on the trail,traveled to Cambodia,and around town. I'm 6'2" 185lb,33" sized in Patagonia board shorts. 33x34 is perfect. 1 pant for travel? These are my go-to option. Internal tie saves the need for a belt (wearing backpack) but loops are there in case I want to dress it up and tuck in a shirt. dries quick and cleans ea... Read Moresily. The stretch is great. Would buy again.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches