Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.43 /5

Filter Reviews

All 95 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Regular

4.43
True To Size
July 18, 2020

Super heavy duty

These are some nice thick pants that can take some abuse. I would not wear these casually and they were a bit pricy so I cringe at using them to put in some real work! No issue wearing boots under them.

July 13, 2020

Husbands new favorite work pants

Been tired of listening to my hard working husband complain about almost every pair of work jeans I have brought through the door. We were looking for roomy, and durable. The hemp and color factor here are just perks, as far as he is concerned. I think he looks fantastic in them, and he is happy and proud in his stylish new dud's that he didn&... Read More#x27;t have to try on in a dressing room with me nagging him the whole time! WINNER!

July 9, 2020

Husbands new favorite work pants

Been tired of listening to my hard working husband complain about almost every pair of work jeans I have brought through the door. We were looking for roomy, and durable. The hemp and color factor here are just perks, as far as he is concerned. I think he looks fantastic in them, and he is happy and proud in his stylish new dud's that he didn&... Read More#x27;t have to try on in a dressing room with me nagging him the whole time! WINNER!

June 26, 2020

Best Pants EVER!

These are the best pants EVER! Super comfortable, no break in required. The all season weight is great for warmer temps and the regular weight takes care of the early Spring, Fall and Winter temps of the Midwest. I wear these pants every day for work and try to hold a couple back to keep clean for "date night." These are without a doubt t... Read Morehe most comfortable and durable pants I have ever owned. And in 25 years of construction I have tried a lot of different pants. These even out shined my old Stand-Up-Pants so you know they must be good!

June 21, 2020

Extremely durable in all conditions

I have used the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas double knee pants from Sea Level to 11,000ft . The double knees and heavy duty fabric and button make this an essential item (actually wearing them now !) . Make sure you pick the right length (short, regular, long) to allow plenty of room in the groin area especially when bending over on a regular basis or do... Read Moreing work related chores . The first thing you notice is that the fabric is heavy duty and resists to wear for a long time. The double knees give extra protection where needed the most . Must have !

June 17, 2020

Heavy

The fabric is surprisingly heavy, which makes them a little hard to wear in the Texas summer heat. There's also an unusual seam between the legs which rubs the inner thigh if you do much walking. Not the apex in comfort from that perspective, but the fabric is also surprisingly soft for its weight. Seems pretty heavy duty, but I haven't h... Read Moread them for long, so time will tell...

June 17, 2020

Nice comfortable fabric

This pant fits my slim body (148) perfectly and is comfortable even in warm weather. I would have given it a perfect score, but the pants need a side pocket for a phone. It's uncomfortable to kneel with a phone in the front or back pocket. (I don't keep a phone in the tool belt cause it'll get knocked around too much). My older pair ... Read Moreof your hemp work pants had two side pockets. Just add one back!

June 17, 2020

Backwards

The common comment about the pants is that they look I am wearing them backwards. I like the rear pockets where they are currently located . Good spot for tool access

June 17, 2020

Extremely durable in all conditions

I have used the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas double knee pants from Sea Level to 11,000ft . The double knees and heavy duty fabric and button make this an essential item (actually wearing them now !) . Make sure you pick the right length (short, regular, long) to allow plenty of room in the groin area especially when bending over on a regular basis or do... Read Moreing work related chores . The first thing you notice is that the fabric is heavy duty and resists to wear for a long time. The double knees give extra protection where needed the most . Must have !

May 19, 2020

Tenacious

I've never worn a better pair of pants. Climbing ladders. handling material, shoveling dirt, getting on and off of ATVs, and on and on. Mobility is a huge part of why I love these pants, as is the durability. 10/10

February 13, 2020

Double knee hemp; double tough

Great pants to wear and abuse. They are very well made and wash, dry easily but I prefer hanging outside to dry. I own three pairs and they rock.

January 28, 2020

Could be so good.

Was stoked for these to come out, unfortunately they fall short in my opinion. Cut is too relaxed for the way the fabric hangs, these are not starchy canvas like carhartt double fronts, they drape down more like thin khakis, could use a slimming even for a relaxed pant. Also wish the knee double section was all the way up like chaps( like double fr... Read Moreonts) nice to have that section when your resting a log or rock to lift it higher and just for comfort in general. lastly in my opinion, the back/seat of these pants in literally the worst looking thing in a men’s pant I’ve ever seen. They look like you have you pants on backwards, yeah I get it you can reach in the back pocket easy for screws and such, nice idea but unneeded. Any job big enough for that many nails, throw on your pouch, also your wallets going to occupy that pocket more times then nails/screws, and it wants to fall out any chance it gets. Love Patagonia and the idea and a tough hemp work wear pant. These just didn’t hit the mark for me. In my mind, copy carhartt b01’s as close as you can without getting sued with this awesome eco material and you will have a winning pant. Just my 4 cents.

January 12, 2020

pants

Any plans for a 5 pocket with double knee? Also a hammer loop would be awesome

January 5, 2020

Love this pants they are

Love this pants they are perfect .yes they do shrink

January 1, 2020

Iron Forge Hemp pants

Proof will be in the wear, but I like the pants, design quirks and all. However, they say they fit true to size in waist--not my experience. 32"s more like 33+. I had to downsize to 31", which are a true, slightly generous, 32".

January 1, 2020

My “go-to” pants!

My “go-to” pants!

January 1, 2020

Great fit! Love the pants!

Great fit! Love the pants!

December 27, 2019

He likes them !

I bought these as a gift for my husband, and he likes them ! I love the care and eco-friendliness that’s built in. The sole complaint that I have heard from him is that, since the fabric is somewhat stiff, the waistband is a little irritating. Definitely not a deal-breaker, though !

December 21, 2019

Solid work pant

Solid work pant the “brown” got stained easily from a bit of bike grease almost immediately but they’re work pants so call it character. Super comfy straight from the bag. Does Patagonia sell knee pad inserts or should I go to the competition?

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hey there Ethan! Unfortunately, we do not sell knee pad inserts for the Canvas Double Knee Pants.

December 18, 2019

Iron Forge pants

Seem very rugged and I like the rather loose fit through the legs.

December 10, 2019

Gusset seam very uncomfortable

These pants are amazing on all accounts except for one huge flaw. Where several seams meet in the gusset there is a very bulky seam that chafes the inner thighs with every step. You can feel it as soon as you put them on. I tried wearing them one time to break them in and after 10 minutes I had to take them off because they were rubbing me raw. It ... Read Moreis bearable in the all season pants that have lighter material but in these heavy canvas pants it is a deal breaker. I don’t know how they got released like this when it is immediately uncomfortable when you put them on. Would be great if this issue was fixed because otherwise they are great pants.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with these pants and we greatly appreciate the feedback. If you haven't already, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us. We are happy to offer any help if you need it.

December 7, 2019

These are SOLID!

I’m in love thanks for making quality pants that are rad enough to cut firewood, wood work, forage, or go out to dinner. Cheers!

December 5, 2019

Great!

Great!

December 3, 2019

Great pants

Bought these for my son. He loves them. Says they are comfortable, heavier than he expected and warm. Thinks he will be living in these new pants.

December 1, 2019

Comfortable and easy moving, belies

Comfortable and easy moving, belies the weight of the pants when no wearing. Only issue I have is a side pocket for a phone. Otherwise, great pockets, not to large where things can get lost.

November 30, 2019

Customer Service A+

First time Patagonia customer here. The exchange process was simple and I got the right sized garment in a timely manor. These Forge Hemp pants are so dang comfortable and the rear pockets feel just right. Hemp is here and we ought to grow it responsibly and with utmost care and respect - no gmo's, organic, natural. Beautiful piece of clothing... Read More. Thank you all who made this a reality.

November 22, 2019

After having worn these pants,

After having worn these pants, I quickly ordered another one! They feel heavy when holding them up, but feel not heavy at all when wearing them. High quality material and production. The double knee is a great plus when kneeling down. I have worn them in some adverse wet conditions, and would not want to wear any other work pants. The regular size ... Read Moreworked for my 30" waist. Just a tat too long, but that is personal preference. They do not hinder movement.

November 21, 2019

Couldn’t be happier

My only regret is not buying several pairs. They’re perfect for me and I get complements all the time. The first day I wore them, I walked into a clients business and they said, “What are you all dressed up for?” Hahaha. “Work!” I said.

November 20, 2019

Nice

I feel that the pant is slightly baggy in the thigh and butt. Pockets are nice and deep. A cargo pocket addition would great to carry phone pens and markers.

November 17, 2019

A bit odd fitting the

A bit odd fitting the way they are cut at the rear- the pockets, something to get use to. However they are killer practical and I love the material’s feel and movement with my work ( construction, carpentry). I already want another pair. Good cold weather gear too .

November 15, 2019

Best pants I own, although

Best pants I own, although the legs are a bit long. Wish there was a hammer loop too.

November 14, 2019

Great pants for my purposes

Great from the box. I'm a wood worker and live in North Dakota where weather can be a challenge. Pants fit large but easily allow layering. No restrictions on movement and pockets are great for holding small tools, phone etc. Like the double knee. We are starting to grow hemp in North Dakota. Keep up the good work. Farmers here need a bigger m... Read Morearket for their crops.

November 13, 2019

Excellent

These pants are excellent. My first test of them was a week of work in the Great Basin planting native plants for sage grouse habitat restoration. With long days on my knees, I knew I would need a durable, comfortable pair of pants for the job. These held up very well. Also, working in temps ranging from 30-60deg, the weight of the fabric offered b... Read Moreeneficial warmth, allowing for a light baselayer underneath on colder days. The hemp makes them so much more comfortable than competing brands that make work pants.

November 10, 2019

Durable + Everyday Wearable

A little wise in the leg, but these pants are great for working outside and wearing to work.

November 7, 2019

amazing pants

These pants are the universal remote for pants.

November 6, 2019

These are the pants I've been looking for

VERY comfortable. Heavyweight canvas strength without the stiffness.

November 5, 2019

Love the material of the

Love the material of the iron forge hemp pants. Seem really sturdy and durable for trail work. Which is what I’ll mainly use them for but they are a bit bigger then I thought. So they do look a little ridiculous on me. Thinking about sending them back and get a smaller size. The issue is the waist is a near perfect fit. It’s just the length and ins... Read Moreeam that’s more of an issue

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Sorry to hear the fit isn't quite right on these pants. We recommend you reach out to the Patagonia-owned store in Ventura for any recommendations on local alterations and repairs to remedy that inseam length for you! Otherwise, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them for a refund or credit.

November 5, 2019

Great pants

Soft but tough. Very relaxed fit. I may have been able to size down.

November 4, 2019

Great pair of pants

They’re far more comfortable than A cotton canvas. More durable than a cotton canvas. They’ve passed the ranch test. Wish they weren’t so baggy.. wish they offered a better fit in this line of work pants.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Zachery, thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're sorry to hear that the fit is too baggy for your liking. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons, so we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if ever in the future you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) you can!

November 4, 2019

Super comfortable

The fabric is very comfortable and not what I expected. I REALLY like the rear pockets. They are very deep and more on the side so you don't sit on your wallet. The only suggestion is that they list the actual length on the order form rather than short-med-tall. I am a 30 length and guessed the medium length would work. When they arrived, the ... Read Moretag said 32 length and were 2" too long as would be expected. Luckily my wife was happy to shorten them for me.

October 21, 2019

Durable Quality

I use these for outdoor projects around the house. I don't have any fears of rips when cutting wood anymore and the material is flexible enough so that I don't feel like I'm wearing plate armor!

October 20, 2019

bullet proof!!!! couldn't be happier

bullet proof!!!! couldn't be happier

October 17, 2019

Great pants

I love these work pants for the most part! Was out on the knees planting garlic and noticed that the pant leg cuffs would ride up the leg a little over the top of my boots. Not that big of a deal just hadn't had that happen with some other pants I use for planting. Great quality (as usual) that I look forward to years of on farm abuse!

October 15, 2019

Great work pants

Well constructed and fit me well

October 3, 2019

Go to Pants

I have loved these pants since i first put them on. They are soft, feeling like I've owned them for months immediately. They are also durable, holding up to long bushwhacks through mud, brush, and forests. The back pockets are odd looking at first but I find them easy to access and like how my wallet sits lower so I am not taking it out every ... Read Moretime I sit down. Go ahead, give 'em a try-you wont be disappointed.

September 29, 2019

Comfy and durable, also I

Comfy and durable, also I love the pocket style, overall a great product.

September 29, 2019

Don’t buy any other work wear

Don’t buy any other brands work wear. I promise you there isn’t a tougher more comfortable pair of work pants out there. Grinding wheels, sand blasting, chainsaw blades, welding, concrete work, the list can go on. Took me a bit to get used to the deep pockets and now I love them. Very well thought out, wash like a dream and have I said it enough bu... Read Moret if not here you go. Tougher and more comfortable than any other pants I’ve worn.

September 18, 2019

Awesome pants

I love the feel of the fabric against the skin. Something about the hemp feels very comfortable. Good cool/sold season pant. Flexible enought to do yoga in, but tough enought for work. A refined look I would be happy to wear out to dinner as well. Versatile pant....I want more!

September 7, 2019

They weight 2 pounds

The toughest pair of pants I've ever owned.

August 20, 2019

Best pants!

These pants went to a boat builder,fly fisher,horseman,and all around vigorous liver of life. Clearly designed with him in mind!

August 10, 2019

Work Pants

Best pair of work pants I’ve ever bought

May 8, 2019

Good Work Pants!

I wear these pants daily for my job as a restoration technician and they’ve held up great so far. They’re heavy, but comfortable and bend well while protecting a bit from sticks and thorns/prickles in woodlands. They clean up nicely too. After about a month and a half of use, I recommend these pants.

May 8, 2019

Pleased, but have a suggestion

I’m giving these a 5 star because ultimately, I am happy with them. I’ve worn them exclusively for 3 weeks now, washing after about 4 days. That being said, I’m a woodworker in Florida. Not quite as cool as I was hoping for, but I live in a hot/humid area and it’s to be expected. They are clearly breathable, as they don’t stink after 4 days in a ho... Read Moret shop, they did not shrink after washing, durable, comfortable. My suggestions don’t take away from the stars because they are personal. Love that you didn’t ad a useless hammer loop, but you may consider a double small pocket for pencil and 6” rule. As well, I can see it may be an issue down the road on my tape measure on the pocket. May want to add a leather strip to the cuff (or corner) of the front pockets. I bought them mainly because they were hemp at a reasonable price. Glad I did and look forward to getting another few pairs when funds come available. Peace! Jody

April 10, 2019

Great for manufacturing job

The pants have held up very well in a tough manufacturing environment. Although the double knee helps with the durability and longevity of the pants, I would like to see a version without the double knee so I can go from the manufacturing floor to office meetings and not have the pants stand out as much as work wear. (An all season version without ... Read Morethe double knee would also be something I would want to buy)

March 17, 2019

Great pants but....

They really are great pants right out of the box so to speak. Very comfortable and durable but. I wish they had a hammer loop and another smaller pocket option.

March 9, 2019

Not for some who works off the floor or an installer... not being dramatic with 1 star

I really liked the fit with the room in the crotch. The large rear pockets were nice for tools and cell phones, tho the feeling like your wearing a diaper is certainly there. You will get comments like you put them on backward with the odd pockets. I like them, however, they wore out faster then my C-harts no question, the knees wore through the fi... Read Morerst layer in 1 month and ive been walking around with holes in my pants since then. I wanted them to last but not up to snuff. 2/5 stars is fair for my enjoyment of the fit considering durability.

March 6, 2019

most comfortable pants ever

These are heavy-duty pants that feel comfortable right out of the bag. They fit exceptionally well and have sent my other work pants into retirement. Initially the deep (think stand-up shorts) back pockets took some getting used to, but after a week they felt perfectly fine after that "gee I lost my wallet" feeling subsided (it say way de... Read Moreeper). The lack of a cell phone pocket cost them the fifth star.

March 5, 2019

Relaxed, Comfortable and Tough

These are some really great pants. I have never had Hemp clothing before, I have bought other brands of canvas style clothing. These pants feel great from the first time you wear them and have a nice relaxed broke in feeling. The pants feel tough like they are ready to be worn for some great long days of working, they feel very durable like they sh... Read Moreould hold up for a very long time.

February 23, 2019

Durable Comfortable Gusseted Work Pants

Durable work pants with a season and a half on them so far. I end up hiking up to 15 miles a day and usually blow out the ankles first from boot eyelets rubbing on the inside of my legs or outside catching on rocks but so far these have lasted longer than numerous competitors. Pockets are brilliant, and if they had a little stretch they could be us... Read Moreed for more intense active pursuits but they excel at what they're made for - work

January 17, 2019

Best work pants, but run short...

Durability...amazing. Comfort...amazing. Style and pockets...also amazing. Waist... perfect. Length...too short. I'm 5'10" and usually get regular (32") inseams; they fit and look like short (30") inseams. Please fix this Patagonia

January 2, 2019

Homerun!

I don't write reviews... that is how happy I am with the Hemp Canvas fabric. As a mountain trail runner I have been training in Patagonia for years, and its unbeatable for performance and longevity. As a Plumber and horseman I am forced to wear pants on occasion. I purchased these recently in Boston as it was #&^%& cold, and they are a... Read Morewesome. Think Charhartt duck canvas tough but without any stiffness, it's like they are a decade old, broken in, right off the rack. The price point is reasonable (and Patagonia is always worth the extra $ even when it's not) the fit is loose and long (which is great for me as my legs are huge and long) and the comfort and strength are just great. I give you 6 stars but that isn't an option.

December 31, 2018

Great product, but fit isn’t great

When I first saw these advertised, I was really excited, and asked my wife to get me a pair of the light, and heavy duty for Christmas. Right out of the box, I knew they were quality. The fabric is super comfortable. The problem is the sizing. I’m 6’1” and 165, and these pants looked silly on me. The legs are just too wide, the seat sagged. I had n... Read Moreo choice, but to return them. Hopefully, as the line expands, they’ll introduce a regular fit version. Once that happens, I’ll own several pair.

November 8, 2018

i like them

great pants , but would rather have regular fit - relaxed fit is too big and looks baggy.

October 23, 2018

Great...but wish they came unfinished

They are well thought out and functional...my only complaint is they are on the short side for us tall folks. I wish they came unfinished and could be hemmed or cane in a 36 inseam. Lastly I wish the shorts were not cargo...just a cutoff version of the pants like the women’s version.

October 13, 2018

Pretty much a good substitute for Stand Up Pants

When I saw these in the catalog, I was hoping they would be a lot like the old Stand Up pants that I used to live in. Mostly, it appears that they are. The back pockets don't have the added pocket for my wallet, but otherwise, they fit and feel great. We'll see how well they wear. I would prefer to have these in a 35 inch waist -- or so I... Read More thought, but the 36 inches lets me tuck in a couple flannel shirts.

October 10, 2018

Greatest Pants Ever

I took these pants out of the package and was just like wow, those are going to be great pants. After feeling the awesomeness of the material, I proceeded to try them on. Yep. Great pants, just like I thought. I would recommend this product to my friends and even their friends and possibly family. For the rest of my life, I will only buy these pant... Read Mores. I have yet to try the lighter version of these pants on but can't wait for summer to roll back around. These pants are so great I might even sleep in them. Cheers everyone to a great pant.

October 2, 2018

Bad to the Bone

I've worn Carharts for years, and imo they are hard to beat. I also wore Patagonia's duck pants everyday in the 90's. They were far more comfortable but not as durable so I always go w/ durability/longevity. I have big dogs and work outside in Oregon so the double knee was always crucial for my lifestyle. SO I decided to give these n... Read Moreew pants a-go w/ severe apprehension- even being a die hard Patagonia fan. To make a long story short, I still love my decision. No more pulling up my pant legs when I need to squat down, and the space to move around in them is unbeatable/comfortable. The beauty of the design is truly in the crotch(plus it's cooler :)). Pockets are easy to get into and not too big. I'm on my 3rd pair now and will happily buy more. Same size I wear in Carhart too. *I work in construction and never use my hammer loop on my pants.

September 13, 2018

Weird sizing

I wear a 36” waist in the performance jeans. These feel like they are at least an inch smaller in the waist.

July 31, 2018

hemp great, pockets horrible

I'm a weekend warrior homesteader. I prune, weed, run wires, frame, drill, hammer, till and just about everything in between. If you are accustomed to dropping the essentials in your pocket - pencil, tape measure, utility knife, and maybe a few job specific things like hanging your impact driver off your back pocket, speed square, hammer, etc.... Read More you will be very disappointed in these pants. You'll need to throw your bags on for **everything**. Even a pencil gets lost in these cavernous pockets. And, your pruners will slide so low down you're practically up to your elbows to retrieve. Fit is great and the fabric can't be beat, but no way would I buy these again until the pockets are more functional and designed to hold actual tools.

June 22, 2018

love but no hammer loop :(

My husband LOVES these pants but unfortunately he won't be making them his go-to pants because none of the hemp workwear pants come with a hammer loop. Really hoping Patagonia revamps with a loop soon!

May 16, 2018

Not sure about these pants

I got these to compare to a cotton duck competitor that I've been wearing for years. I usually wear a 31x30,so I ordered the 31 short. Fit seems good,but if they shrink at all the waist might be tight. The fabric is soft compared to the competition,but the gusset in the crotch feels "bunchy" during first impression. The seam down the... Read More side of the leg feels "twisted" which might go away once washed - they don't appear to be defects when inspecting so I'll assume it's a non issue. I'll start by saying that these will not be "work" pants until they've been used around town and trails and begin to show wear. The hemp material looks frayed / pilled right out of the package,so not sure if the softer feel and worn / pilled appearance will lead to premature wear. At this price I would hope not. These will become work pants after general use. Once they are too "rough" for work than they'll be used for hunting and wood cutting. If they can break in and perform a bit better than the competition I'll be impressed. Patagonia usually does it right,so I decided to give em' a try.

May 14, 2018

Good all around work pants

Pleased with the feel of the pants - out of the bag/box they are comfortable to work in - without any break in period. They have washed well,cleaning up dirt and minor stains with ease. Rear pockets are very deep allowing for large objects to be held. Front pockets are reasonably sized,but not large enough to fit your hands in with work gloves on. ... Read MoreBelt loops are sizeable - able to fit a decent width belt for support. My one concern/improvement suggestion would be to incorporate side pockets on the pant legs - not cargo pockets,but areas where you could hold a carpenters pencil,scissors,a flash light (mag light) and even a hammer loop. Perhaps a "carpenters" edition in the future? If so - 5 stars with ease.

April 23, 2018

Dickies/Carhartt beaters!

Worn daily while remediating petroleum releases. Pockets take up knee pads to ensure a full day with no knee issues.

April 9, 2018

Super comfy work pants

These are great pants. The "pre-broken in" feel is superb. The material weight is heavy so they feel like they are going to last but also are going to be hot once summer gets here. I do miss the "drop" pocket on just above the knee found on many other work pants,while I never use this for my phone i do use it for a utility knife... Read More or that other one tool you are working with and miss it on these pants. I should qualify that the work I'm doing in these is office work,they are that comfortable. Right now they are too nice to use for weekend construction work,i'll save my other cheap uncomfortable "work" pants for that role.

March 19, 2018

Great for People in the Trades

I got these after tearing through the knees on a pair of Lee Jeans I was wearing to work. The pockets are extra big in the back which is great for holding a long screw driver or channel locks and keeping them in (my jeans always had stuff falling out). Long story short,if you work a job that's not in the office,get these pants.

March 2, 2018

Uncomfortable in the crotch area

Recently purchased a pair. Really like how the feel already broken in compared to Carhart's. Biggest complaint is the amount of fabric in the crotch area,feels as though I am wearing a diaper. Hopefully that will go away if I break them in...

February 20, 2018

Best fit ever

So hard to find a looser fitting pant,great for movement when working. Literally have worn these everyday to work since my wife got them for me. I'll be getting another pair. I'm an artist and sculptor and really love the deep back pockets.

February 15, 2018

Almost perfect

I've had these pants for a little over a month and worn them to work as a builder almost every day since they came in. The fit for me is perfect at 30' waist and medium length,which I think is 32'. These pants move with me incredibly well in tight and awkward spaces. So far they seem quite durable. I love the back pocket design'... Read Moresuper easy to comfortably hold and access things in the pockets. I echo a previous review in hoping that the next edition includes a hammer loop. Everything else is perfect.

February 11, 2018

A quality introduction into the workwear market

I think these pants are a strong intro for Patagonia into the workwear scene. Material is soft,appears durable so far,handles stains well (gas,bar oil,engine oil,wood pulp etc.) and they have the right cut for movement. The rear pockets may look a bit goofy but are capable for real world and real work applications. I see a future for these pants ... Read Morebut they need a few modifications/options: 1. Cell Pocket: Patagonia has to add The side tool and/or cell phone pockets to these. That side pocket is a staple of work gear and as our cell phone usage has become vital on and off the worksite it is nice to not destroy your phone while it hangs out in a rear pocket. 2. The Hammer Loop: These pants need one. Not every job requires a tool belt or a climbing harness. 3. Forest green color so I can wear them in uniform :) All in all these are great pants and the 34 x Long fits me great at 6'4 210 lbs.

February 1, 2018

very durable

Have had these for about 6 months now. The other brand I'm used to wearing,that starts with a vehicle and ends with a heart,would have already been showing signs of wear and abrasion by now,especially on the upper thigh where the double knee meets the single ply as well as from my ever present folding knife I carry. These aren't having th... Read Moreat issue there or anywhere else. The fabric combo is bomber. And they're also much more comfortable,both in their fit and their feel than the other brands. Yes it's a lot of money for work pants,but not if they outlast the others. My only gripe is the gusset and rivet on the front pockets--there's too much fabric there for the clip of any of my three folding knives not to be sprung out. Overall,very nicely done Patagonia!

January 2, 2018

Great Pants,Need One More Pocket

I've had these pants for a little over two months and really like them. They're comfortable,look good,and the material seems set to last a long time. I would love two tweaks,though. First,I miss the mid-thigh cell phone pocket that most of my other pants have when I wear these. My phone ends up in the back pocket which is okay,but I'... Read Morem always aware of it there unlike when it's in a 'typical' cell phone pocket. Second,I'd love a version in a heavy denim material.

January 1, 2018

Great pants!

Picked up a pair in each color and love them,seem to be bomber without that stand-up on their own feel,great pockets,I live in Mammoth and they take a beating doing yard work,hiking,crawling under vehicles etc. Great quality,as usual they will last a long time. I'm 6'3 200# and the 36's fit good.

December 24, 2017

Nicely Made with Limitations

These fit well,are very comfortable for all day use. The double-knee is nice and the deep pockets are awesome and comfortable even when full. The main limitations are the protection other than the double knee area-pretty disapointing. I use these to work on an old farm property,and at the end of a week had deep scratches on my thighs and calves fro... Read Morem briars and other sharp bushes. My overalls from "another brand" didn't allow this to happen. Would I buy again,yes,but it would be awesome if they came out with a thicker,more penetration-proof version.

December 19, 2017

Excellent fit

Just got these in 31/Regular. Fit is excellent. I am just under 5'11" and,depending on the season,155/160 lbs. I wear my pants mid-hip. Fabric feels MUCH more durable than the Patagonia Duck pants. I am looking forward to seeing how these stand up to yardwork/woodworking/etc.

November 29, 2017

Weird fit

I'm 5'4",140 lbs.,and have been wearing the same size pants for 25 years. I've even got some Patagonia fleece pants I still pull out at times that I got in 1990. For context,I've been wearing Levi's 30-30s forever,and they run just slightly long on me. Over the years Patagonia (and other high end outdoors companies) ha... Read Moreve been moving toward taller,thinner base models. So I was very pleased that these pants came in "short." That said,I'm really disappointed with the fit of my 30 short sized pants that received. They are still very long,and go several inches past my heel. The doubled knee also sits low because of this,with the top seam just barely above my knee and the bottom seam only a few inches above my ankles. As for the rest of the fit,I'd hoped for a more narrow cut,but these are cut more like a typical pair of Carhartt's,which are baggy for more room for squatting. That's okay for work wear,though I'd hoped they'd be a little narrower. These pants won't be very good for getting around in the woods. But the peculiar (and hopefully not problematic over the long run) thing is that while the pants are generally baggy,the seams in the crotch/inner thing area are really tight and narrow. I'm skinny,and it's tight and rubs between my upper thighs. Bottom line is I'll wear them,but will still have to get them hemmed and hope that the inner thigh seams break in because they're quite abrasive. If you're interested in these pants,make sure that you can try them on first.

October 11, 2017

Hardcore pants,but can't quite get the right fit

Ordered my regular size in these (32 regular) and the fit was great,except for the waist,which was just a bit snug. Figured that might get worse after a few washes,so I returned them and bumped up to the 33s. Unfortunately,those seem hilariously baggy - like I could fit myself and my 5 year old in there at the same time,with no problem. But,these ... Read Morewill be kept and worn for years. Overall,the Iron Forge Hemp pants are comfy,extremely heavy duty work trousers and I would recommend them,if you can get the right fit.

September 30, 2017

Look Good and should Last

Not flash but solid and feel good. Everything has enough room except the waist which is a close tolerance,a little tighter then my Levis 505 of the same size. Maybe should have gone up a size but working in nicely. Bought them to outlast my cotton jeans and therefore should be less costly and I think they will do that. Brand new they are stiffer th... Read Moreen I am use to. Have to repost in a year.

September 28, 2017

Hard Core

If you wear pants to do real work - carpentry,landscraping,ranch handing,etc -these were made for us. They will run laps around Carhartts,and make a mockery out of most other ranch supply store brands. Thank you Patagonia,I am so stoked.

September 17, 2017

Knee seam discomfort

Love the style and the weight but after a day of work,the seam on top of the double knee chafes quite a bit.

September 15, 2017

Awesome!

I'm always searching for great workwear. As a landscaper I can destroy clothes quickly carrying blocks,brush work,etc. I've been wearing these once a week. They fit awesome,super comfortable right off the bat! Seem really durable,but only have three weeks on them,which honestly with me will usually show wear already and these don't! ... Read MoreLove 'em. Buying more pairs and just making these my new uniform! The sizing seemed perfect to me. Usually wear 34x36 and got the 34 L.

September 14, 2017

Build them for the wet PNW

I'm a wetland scientist and do a lot of fieldwork that involves cutting through brush,digging holes and kneeling on the ground. The double knees are great,especially because you can fit foam pads inside. I like how abrasion resistant the fabric is. What would bring these pants up a grade would be to fabricate them out of soft shell material. T... Read Morehe existing material is little too heavy,and stays wet too long.

August 18, 2017

Beautiful pant but the crotch point

Everything about this work pant is far superior compared to the obvious competitor. However the crotch point provides some noticeable discomfort. It feels like your carrying a bit of a load between your legs.

August 14, 2017

In all respects worthy ~ wiener

Hemp's 'the way.' It has myriad qualities I've entirely appreciated and valued... beyond being about as green an option as exists. I jumped on these directly knowing full well that they'd vanish in 33" regular. On this frame these are a great,highly comfortable cut. All the right design decisions were made: doubled kne... Read Morees and seat fabric,two belt loops in back plus the relatively deeper front and rear pockets. But yes,it would've been appreciated if the designers saw fit to double up the cuff material as well. Love the warm brown 'coriander' color. As long as you get the fit right I couldn't feature anyone not agreeing that these are far superior to most any other workwear oriented pant out there. This early on how they'll hold up remains an open question. But hemp's really proven to be a dream fabric for me over the decades. One that lasts VERY well and consistently pleases. Please Patagonia... keep this one in the lineup for a while.

August 14, 2017

Solid Pants

These have been great pants. As with all products from Patagonia,they're made VERY well,and I can tell will stand up to tons of wear. My only comment would be the sizes run big (pants are pretty baggy) and are heavy,even for a pair of workpants. Other than that,very happy!

August 10, 2017

The pants you have been looking for!

I have been looking for a quality work pant to last,and this is it. The quality from the stitching to the inside finishing is top notch. A way better feel than carharts,these pants rock. Being a big supporter of hemp,it is great to support a work pant that utilizes hemps unsurpassed durability. Way to go Patagonia for making a pant that will last f... Read Moreor years and not break the bank.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches