Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Short

Write Your Review

4.39 /5

Filter Reviews

All 23 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Short

4.39
True To Size
September 12, 2020

My new favorite pants

I love everything about these! Super comfy, great style, rugged, cool!

June 23, 2020

Great pants!

These are great work pants, but maybe no designed for my body type. The pants fit in every way besides the waste- it seem to be a few inches more narrow on the waist seam than the part just below, and it just felt unnatural. I tried a size up but then the rest of the pants seems to balloon out. Overall though, I like that they are think but movable... Read More, and not stiff like carhardts. Quality fabric

June 21, 2020

Beefy

These pants are beefy yet designed for easy movement. I wouldn't say that they are flattering but function only matters to me. A size 4 would probably work for me but I don't have a waist and no hips, don't like it when the waist is tight which is why I ordered the 6. The first time I didn't have to hem a pair of Patagonia pants... Read More in 30 years yea! The buckle on the back does take in the bagginess in the hips for me but isn't super easy to tighten and loosen when they're on. I'll buy another pair if these ever wear out.

June 17, 2020

Beefy

These pants are beefy yet designed for easy movement. I wouldn't say that they are flattering but function only matters to me. A size 4 would probably work for me but I don't have a waist and no hips, don't like it when the waist is tight which is why I ordered the 6. The first time I didn't have to hem a pair of Patagonia pants... Read More in 30 years yea! The buckle on the back does take in the bagginess in the hips for me but isn't super easy to tighten and loosen when they're on. I'll buy another pair if these ever wear out.

April 9, 2020

Broken-in comfort!

Love these pants! I'm a farmer and these are the first work pants I've ever had that are actually comfortable. They've felt broken-in since I first got them and I wear them several times a week. They don't show the dirt and shake out really well, so I can get away without washing them very often. I always have to hem my pants by... Read More a few inches, so I was psyched to be able to get the short option. They tuck into my muck boots well and don't drag in the mud when wearing sneakers. I even got a pair for my mom to wear on the farm and she's excited for you guys to open back up so she can get another pair to add into the rotation!

April 2, 2020

annoying rise

ive been working on organic vegetable farms for about a decade and was so excited patagonia had put out a work pant, as they can be hard to find in my size (53, 115lbs). tried to wear them for a couple months and found the fit very agitating because of where they hit at the waist - they are too low and consistently pinched and rubbed against my hip... Read More bones when i would bend or squat (if you know anything about small scale organic ag, you know that thats what youre doing 65% of the time). i loved the cinch back and the pockets and the double knee pads. color, fabric etc were all great except for the rise, just make them an inch or two higher waisted and theyll be perfect. very very disappointed. i cant remember what size i ordered because i have since given them away but they fit great in all ways except that one.

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2020

Sorry to hear the cut of these pants didn't work for you, but we really appreciate the detailed feedback, Danni! Note that our products are covered under the [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so you can [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them.

December 9, 2019

VERY HAPPY!

I love the quality and style of the pants! And despite a mix up on my part, I got way above expected customer service as well. Will keep shopping with Patagonia.

December 2, 2019

Great Work Pants

I have finally found some gardening pants that fit me right in the waist - not too high and not too low. I really like the tightening ability in the back. These pants are pretty heavy so they might be better in the cooler seasons than the summer. Double knees are a must for working in the yard and woods. Back pockets are useful for holding small to... Read Moreols. The material seems pretty tough, so hopefully I will not be getting holes in the knees anytime soon. I ordered the short length since I am only 5' 4.5". It is fine now, but I hope they don't shrink too much after washing.

November 27, 2019

Sturdy pants

But not the right fit for me. Length was good , but too snug around waist. The fabric had a great heft and was very comfortable.

November 6, 2019

Finally! A pair of work pants that fit both my waist and my legs!

It seems like it has been a tough code to crack - that which allows athletic women to have pants that don't gap at the waist while simultaneously being so tight on your legs as to be completely impractical. Patagonia nailed it with these pants - they fit perfect at the waist and they are a great fit around the legs. I can actually DO THINGS in... Read More these pants without being uncomfortable with how they fit in some capacity. And they're cute to boot! I personally think the pockets are flattering and functional. I wouldn't even really classify it as a bummer, but the back cinch strap does rub ever so slightly and I've found it most comfortable to tuck in a layer in between the pants and my skin. Overall, I am super pleased with these pants and would definitely recommend to my other hard working ladies out there. I am 5'3", 135 pounds and ordered a small.

August 11, 2019

Hemp cargo pants

The best pants for outdoor work and hike

August 10, 2019

Great work pants

Comfortable and practical. I use for gardening or any dirty, heavy work. Great pockets for misc. tools and supplies. The short is just barely short enough not to drag. I am just under 5’4”.

August 10, 2019

Great pair of pants, needs a couple tweaks

I love the material and style. The back pockets are funky, but I find them deep enough to be useful. The cinched back makes the the fabric rough across the lower back, so it's uncomfortable if there isn't a fabric layer between the skin and pants. It also runs large, even with the back cinched.

May 8, 2019

Pretty good pants

I bought these pants as a result of my perpetual frustration with Carhartts. I am a captain and do schooner yard work when not sailing. I also wear them gardening/splitting wood. I like the strange pockets on the booty because you can put your phone/other things in there, and they move to the side instead of being sat upon. Good range of motion. ... Read Morevery comfortable fabric. I was not sure about the adjustable buckle on the back, but I think it is flattering. I don’t think anyone has seen my butt crack yet, which is the plan. The knees are thick and sturdy. The cut looks good, but I have to roll them up twice to get the leg shape I want. The test will come with time… They are twice as expensive as a similar product from Carhartt, so my hope is that they will last twice as long. I am 5’0”, 115lbs and wearing a 2. Could size up for better range of motion but would lose the flattering fit.

May 8, 2019

Canvas Double Knee Pants = Double Wow!

Love how durable the pants are especially for all work outside!

December 29, 2018

Finally a woman’s workpant

My Forest kindergartners call them my “backwards” pants because of the design of the back pockets. I love these pants for that reason and every other.. I’d love to see them in the fabric weight of the overalls as well. The cut and fit are perfect, please don’t change them!

October 13, 2018

THANK YOU for offering a short!

Need strong pants for barn work. These are great. I love your pants, but they are always too long. These are perfect. Run room. I am 5'3" with log legs, and the length is great. I size down from my usual 10 to an 8.

August 31, 2018

Knee pad INSERT, and knife gussets

I love the pants – it’s made of tough fabric, made of renewable hemp, and I generally love Patagonia as a company for what it stands for. I’m 5’6 110 lbs and size 2 fits well, perhaps slightly snug around waist. I ordered short but the inseam is pretty long. It’s nice I can tuck in the end into socks or boots – I have an aversion for ticks. Last ... Read Moreyear, one tick came crawling up on my leg and bit, when I did not tuck in my socks, in November in Central NY, when I had my defense low. So this pants is good for me. I use this pants primarily for gardening. I have two comments for the future designers of this pants. One is the knee pad insert. I didn’t know what it was. I tried to find a pair of “knee pads” that fit into these pockets but I couldn’t find them at local sporting goods store. I checked Home Depot and Lowe’s but they didn’t have them either. The pads I found were too big to fit into these pockets. I had to email Patagonia and different reps sent me different answers, some pretty confused, but a couple of them had the right answers (I hope). The key is to look for “knee pad INSERT.” I just ordered on line (on ebay) Portwest S156. These inserts are apparently made for construction workers. I suggested Patagonia that this info should be listed on this page so the buyers won’t be confused. I can’t imagine I was the only one who was scratching my head. Also …. About knife gussets. I love that feature, however, it’s placed in an awkward angle. I don’t know if this is just me, but I kneel down a lot for gardening and when I do, my sod knife/pruner holder tends to be pushed UP and OUT of the gusset, off to the ground. I often have to reinsert. I didn’t have this issue when I was using my normal jean pockets. So … it’s a good idea but perhaps more thoughts need to go into the ANGLE of the gussets? Am I the only one who have this problem? Please keep making women’s work pants. I also would like one lighter pants for summer, with the same knee pockets. Also capris pants for summer housecleaning too.

March 20, 2018

good work pants except for length

I purchased these work pants a number of months ago and thus far have used them for gardening,trail maintenance,and scrubbing floors on hands and knees. The ability to insert knee pads into them is awesome,and saved my knees on multiple occasions. The fabric successfully resists thorns when I am clearing brush. They wash up nicely. The fit was pret... Read Morety good except for the length. I am not sure how the designation of "short" was applied to a 30" inseam. My husband,who is 5'10" tall,wears a 30" inseam and I am 5'3" (the tall end of "petite") with a 28" inseam. Happily I own a sewing machine and was able to trim 2" off the bottom,but why? Why not make a "short" actually SHORT? and why are men able to order the length they need yet similar needs of women not respected?

March 17, 2018

Overall really nice workpants

Pros -- great fabric,roomy pockets,knife "slot",overall design Cons -- I am 5'3" ordered the short and STILL had to have them hemmed,even to wear over boots. Fit -- I have muscular thighs and bum so often struggle with fit but these fit great in my legs/butt. They are a bit too snug in the waist,which is not uncommon for me. I ... Read Moredon't have a small waist in proportion to my hips. Still a bit frustrating. If I'd ordered up they would be way too big overall. I wear them to work on my VW Van,in the yard,etc.

March 17, 2018

Not For Me

I am not Patagoni's target market,being an older broad. I was told by a representative that this new work-wear line runs "roomy" in order to do actual physical movements in the garments. Pros: Really heavy,soft fabric. Cons: I am 5'4" tall and these are too long,even in the 30" short size. The zipper is short,not below... Read More the navel short,but short like your backside will get some air if you bend and squat a lot. I didn't find them to be oversized,more like regular fit. I would have returned them but I used an old gift card and I don't want another gift card. I think I am done with Patagonia. Styles are for younger women. Another reviewer said the back buckle broke right away and that's distressing to read.

February 24, 2018

Finally,Real Work Pants for Women!

Patagonia,thank you. I work as a ranch hand just south of Reno,and these pants have changed my life. I am 5'6" with a long torso,130#,and the size 4 fits comfortably around the waist with no gapping or sagging. There is enough room in the hips and thighs to never feel restricted while working,and on winter days I can fit my borderless tig... Read Morehts underneath these canvas pants for added warmth. I purchased the short length and the opening at the ankles is ideal for slipping over books. The durability of these pants makes them perfect for working with a chainsaw or out carrying brush. They are not going to snag or rip or tear. Likewise the double-knee feature saves my knees during long shifts in the garden: they are compatible with knee pads. When the temps get into the 90's here during the summer months I assume that these pants will be too heavy for working outside,but I plan on wearing them every day until then.

January 19, 2018

Amazing Workpants,for Women!

I finally ordered a pair,6 short,for my new career as a commercial carpenter in the Pacific Northwest. My previous work had been as a field biologist and I always struggled finding rugged work pants for women with curves. I am 5'5" with a narrow waist and substantial bottom so finding pants that fit my muscular legs but stay on have been ... Read Morea struggle. These pants have done it. The fabric is heafty,keeping me warm (it's currently in the 30's-40's here with wind and water),protected (I bought knee pads for the double walled knees and they are a game changer!),and I LOVE the giant pockets! I can carry all sorts of stuff in my pockets. I am usually anywhere from a size 8-10 but I tried on the pants in store and went with a size 6 because I didn't want the waist to sag down while wearing my tool bags. Having worn and washed them a few times,they fit great. They also past the squat test,as in no exposed backside. I love that Patagonia makes heavy duty work wear and I look forward to more!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches