Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.18 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 88 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Double Knee Pants - Regular

4.18
True To Size
June 26, 2020

Durable and Comfortable

I have used some version of these pants for 40 years, starting when I worked as a Dall sheep field biologist in the Alaska Range. Though I'm now retired, these still are my favorites for rugged work. This recent model fits better than the ones I bought in about 1981 which incidentally I still use though they are patched (trapping and marking w... Read Moreild animals took its toll); I can't bear to toss them as they have meant so much. Thanks Patagonia for continuing to make functional and comfortable clothing in my size!

June 25, 2020

Durable and comfortable

These pants are super comfy. I'm an electrician in TX so I was a little afraid these would be too thick for the heat but they aren't. They are definitely thick but they breathe really well so I don't get overheated. The 2 extra things I would like from them is a little stretch since I do so much squatting and a few side pockets down ... Read Morethe side of the leg to hold tools and what not. They were a little big around the waist so I had to get them tailored. This is how all pants fit me though since I have bigger than average thighs and a smaller than average waist. They fit great now I LOVE them!

June 21, 2020

Odd fit - small in waist

I usually wear a size 12 in Patagonia pants. These pants fit fine through the thighs, hips, and seat but were too small in the waist. Typically I have the reverse problem with pants. They seem like they'd be great sturdy pants, but just didn't fit right.

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2020

Hi Kristen. We're really sorry these were too small in the waist. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Please feel free to return them if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

June 19, 2020

Double knees...YES!

Since I work a lot in the yard on my knees, I am known to go through the knees of my pants quite regularly. The Iron Forge Hemp have double knees and are so comfortable to wear. I couldnt be happier and recommend them for everyone.

June 17, 2020

Sturdy

Great work pants for farming! Double knees are great. Comfortable fit too.

May 22, 2020

Pants for farm work

I use these pants for rough work on our property: gardening; tending horses, goats and alpacas; mucking our stalls; farm chores. The fabric is thick and tough and stands up well to rough treatment. The fit is loose (straight leg), which allows for movement. If you like a snug fit, definitely size down or look for a different style. The adjustment s... Read Moretrap in the back is nice for tightening up the waist. The design of the rear pockets is great for carrying items. I think these are great pants to wear while doing dirty jobs. Love them!

March 30, 2020

Please bring back the old style (pre-Workwear Line) that I think these are based on.

I was so excited when I saw this line was bringing back the double-knee work pants for women. I have tried them on a few times but I am so disappointed in the fit and cant bring myself to buy them. I have a pair of heavy weight hemp, double knee pants that is probably almost ten years old that I love. The biggest difference in the fit is that there... Read More is no extra fabric in the seat and adjustable buckle in the back. I completely agree with another reviewer who says this makes the pants look and feel like a potato sack! I have worn my old pants into our local Patagonia store and have gotten complements on how great my old pants fit. They have just gotten better with time too. I generally use them for yard work and hiking. I am including the Cut and Style numbers in case Patagonia may want to include them as a throw back item to be resurrected! RN: 51884, Cut: 3136, Style: 21640F8 888052719541 Not sure what all that means but I think that info should help the folks at Patagonia figure out which pants I am talking about!

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi SuAnne! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to pass all this great information along to our Product Design Team! Thanks again!

March 18, 2020

Great for sheep shearing

I shear sheep in these pants, and find that they do the job nicely. Not fully double-fronted as you'd want for shearing, but comfortable (for such thick pants), durable, and definitely fit for work. I also wear the lighter bibbed version, but prefer these for shearing. I prefer the size 2 as it gives my thighs more room for squatting (for refe... Read Morerence, I wear a 0 in prana and an Xsmall in the bibbed version, and weigh 115), and I like the waist cinch at the back which I do have to use. I like that these are minimal (they do have 4 very deep pockets), and love that they come in a "short" inseam which works well for me at 5'4". The only thing I would change is the width of the bottom of the legs--they're pretty wide and it would be nice if they weren't so wide, or if they had a snap option to make them narrower.

March 11, 2020

Finally a women's work pant that wont quit!

Sick of needing to replace my work pants 3x as frequently as my male coworkers, I ordered these work pants as soon as Patagonia released them three or so years ago. These pants have served alongside many pairs of my "other" work pants- that have come and gone from my life beyond repairs*. Still, as a trusty steed, with knees patched, sap ... Read Morestains all over the thighs, and sewn up barbed wire rips- Viva la hemp work pants! These have worked with me in the bottom of the Grand Canyon, on top of 14ers in Colorado, and in the high alpine of Washington state. As a tall lady I wish the double front extended lower, once worn through I patched the knee to a lower point and kept using them happily. Perhaps this is a proportions issue fixed in "Long" sizes, which were not available at the time I purchased my pair. The cinch-style on the back of the pants is an awesome system, but if you hike a couple miles with a pack for work, it can be uncomfortable. The hemp material is strong and durable and has proven to stand the wear of time much longer than any cotton workwear I own. I can not recommend the Patagonia Hemp workwear line enough, especially to ladies tired of replacing our work pants a stupid amount compared to our male co-workers. *These have had a long life without a doubt due to the solid assembly and materials used, but additionally as they rotate through my work wear- I build hiking trails and as my work weeks vary, I bring different work pants.

January 3, 2020

Women's Work Pants - Hemp/cotton

These pants seem perfect for the next garden season: look good, comfortable, wash well, and include the cinch-buckle to pull in extra looseness in the waist. I would get a pair in a summer weight, if available.

January 3, 2020

THEY COME IN LONG!!!

THANK YOU, PATAGONIA, for finally making a women's work pant in long!! I have been on the eternal search for a comfortable women's work pant for years now and it has finally arrived. First, the material is super durable but also very workable. They don't feel like cardboard when wearing them, nor do they shrink in the washer/dryer. S... Read Moreecond, the fit around the hips is perfect for someone who has hips. Plenty of room to comfortably bend over without feeling like you're going to bust out of the side seams. Last, and best of all, they're LONG! I'm 5'8" and tired of settling for highwaters. So so so happy with my purchase of these!

January 1, 2020

Very heavy

A bit clunky but I have hopes that as they break in, they will become more comfy

December 30, 2019

A potato sack

Come on Patagonia, how many options do you have in the men's workwear line??? And this is the ONLY option you thought worthy to sell to your female customers who work just as hard as your male customers??? These fit like a potato sack. They're huge. Like—two-sizes-too-big huge. And that adjustability strap you threw in the back? All that ... Read Moredoes is create a gap so the dudes at our worksite get a view of our cracks. NOT cool. What you got right here is the pockets that can actually handle a smartphone. The knife pocket could be improved (it's too thick to be an improvement over your basic pants pocket). And maybe think about throwing a tool loop somewhere in there. But you really need to work on the fit. I would never recommend these to a hardworking woman.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi Laralyn. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit and overall design of these pants. We see you were able to reach out to our Customer Service team and you were helped with a return. We'll be updating you on your refund in the next few days. Thanks for your review!

December 29, 2019

Women's Hemp Work Pants

I LOVE these pants! The fabric is very comfortable and durable. We burn wood in the winter and the time on my knees loading up the woodstove doesn't touch the weave one little bit. I am a native plant grower and land restorer and my time outdoors amidst brush is the norm and these pants protect me well from blackberry thorns. I am still gettin... Read Moreg used to the size buckle on the backside of the pants. I have so much fabric gathered there, it is a bit bothersome, but this might be due to the fact that I probably need a smaller size in the future and I will buy more in the future once these are worn out. Thank you for working on sustainable fabrics and creating pants for people working on the land.

December 20, 2019

Absolutely.

Sturdy, thick, big pockets for tools- so they don't jab you in the back, adjustability (somewhat). Not great for lying on your back due to that adjustment buckle... but otherwise, these are stellar.

December 9, 2019

Love, Love, Love!

I adore my new Iron Forge Hemp pants! They fit beautifully, and the fabric is terrifically tough! Thank you, Patagonia for making these pants that look GREAT and feel GREAT!

December 2, 2019

So far so good!

I’ve had these pants for a couple of weeks now, I order them in the darker color, and being in Utah Fall/Winter weather is here and just barely snowed over the previous weekend! They’re warm, though you could put a base layer underneath them if wanted! I am 115lbs and 5’7 and my hips are 36.5! Big hips, but slender or average size, I work in/with p... Read Moreower and am outside all the time! Definitely worth the buy! I got a size 4, and took them in to make them a bit for fitted to me on the leg, so I would keep that in mind too! Overall I love them so far, going to get the tan pair next! )

November 19, 2019

Sturdy pants

These look and feel very sturdy and fit perfectly. Won't start wearing them until spring, so am anxious to see how they fit after their first wash. Will be wearing for landscape work. They would be too heavy for hiking.

November 19, 2019

Pant is very nice but

Pant is very nice but I have one issue. The seam in n buck (between buttocks) is too tight, feels like a thong. Rest of pant fits great, just very uncomfortable in that area.

November 16, 2019

These pants fit true to

These pants fit true to size and seem quite durable. Could be improved with the addition of side pocket (s), maybe hammer loop and more secure back pockets, maybe a button, zip or snap to secure contents. Very sturdy and dirt & debris just seem to fall off these pants!

November 16, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp Pants

Love my hemp canvas pants! The pant is a straight cut that is roomy enough for hard outdoor work yet, the waist & ability to cinch the top portion of the pant give it a nice slightly form fit. I went down from my usual 8 to a 6. They are durable and comfortable. I look forward in wearing them for awhile. Thank you Patagonia for your design sens... Read Moree, stewardship to the environment and educating us reduce, reuse & recycle.

November 11, 2019

Thank god for these Pants!

I have been looking for a pair of women's work pants and have had the worst luck! I definitely have a woman's body with curves (I am 5"4 and 140) and I was having a terrible time with pants fitting/not fitting in all the wrong places. These are cut so well and they somehow look so flattering (not the purpose, i know, but its a bonus)... Read More . They are comfortable and Im so glad I took a chance on these online!

November 9, 2019

Love the material

The sturdiness is great. I had a tough time deciding what size to order but I went with the 0. I am 5'6 and have narrow hips. They fit perfectly but I just wish it was a more modern waist. Maybe an inch or below the natural waist. The waist band itself is very think and heavy. Maybe a size 2 would sit lower for me. The rear seems to get saggy... Read More if I wear them a couple times in a row. I would love to see some little side leg tool pockets as I work on a farm.

November 8, 2019

Function and Form

Wear these with confidence in the "field"! These pants are heavy and tough. They work easily through rough underbrush and brambles. And are surprisingly cute and shapely with adjustable back buckle.

November 7, 2019

Awesome Sturdy (and good looking) work pants

I put these pants through the ringer doing field work; everything from crawling through caves and hiking through head high thorn brush, to surveying in streams and over sharp volcanic fields, and these pants rock through it all! The double knees are a lifesaver, and personally I find the pockets to look quite good in the behind too. I look forward ... Read Moreto using these pants for many more field seasons to come.

November 6, 2019

Women's Forge Hemp double knee canvas work pants

These are the best work pants I have found. They are warm and comfortable, great pockets, very durable. The best feature is they fit and the waste and don't fall down. So many women's pants are cut so low that even a belt doesn't keep them up. It is hard to carry heavy loads or push a wheel barrow when your pants are falling down! Th... Read Moreank you so much for offering these pants to women.

November 6, 2019

Fit great

These pants are amazing. The unique buckle at the back make sure my pants never slip down when I am twisting, turning and bending at work

November 3, 2019

Excellent pants

This is what I've been looking for in pants. Extra heavy cloth, double knees and comfortable. Two things to know - 1) waist is Very high and very narrow. if you want hiphuggers, don't get these pants. size is "true" to fit. No relaxed features. 2) this fabric is not soft, even after washing. Maybe with more use, wear and washin... Read Moreg the waist band may soften. Just plan on wearing your shirt tucked in. Right out if the bag, you know this is a quality garment. The weight is amazing. This the heavy weight canvas style pant I have longed to find. I purchased the coriander color for my test run. I'm getting the black next. Recommended them to a friend, he bought a pair last night.

November 3, 2019

Pants that fit!

These are quickly becoming one of my favorite pairs of pants. They feel soft to the skin, yet are tough and sturdy for yard work. I wore them on a fall hike yesterday, and they breathed yet kept me warm at the same time. I have a feeling these will work for a wide-range of temperatures year-round here in eastern WA. I have a very hard time finding ... Read Morepants that actually fit me -- I am thin and lacking curves, with no belly fat. Usually if I get pants that fit my legs and butt, they are too loose and gape around my waist. These don't do that at all. In fact, I don't even have to wear a belt with these babies! I love the cinch on the back because it not only adds a bit of style, but I can tighten the waist without a belt if I need. My only complaint is that when I tried wearing my favorite leather belt with these pants, it caused the seams around the waistline to dig into/rub my waist. Ultimately, since I don't need to wear a belt with them, it's a very minor issue. One last note: I did size down. I am 5'6" and 120, and usually wear an xs/26/size 2 in pants (including Patagonia), but I had to go with a 0 in these. Thanks for a well-made, well-fitting pant, Patagonia!

October 30, 2019

Hemp work pants

love them

October 29, 2019

Great for trail work

I worked on a backcountry trail crew in Colorado for four months, and I wore these pants almost every day. They're extremely comfortable! Also appreciated the cinch on the lower back (way easier than a belt or suspenders), the big pockets, and the durability of the material. I'm pretty sure me and the other Patagonia crew member were the ... Read Moreonly ones who didn't have to replace our pants. I really want to give these five stars, but the knee patches were too high up - every time I knelt on the rocks, the seam would press right below my kneecaps. Otherwise, fantastic purchase. Would definitely recommend for outdoor work.

October 22, 2019

Thank You Patagonia!

Thanks for making a workpant with a small waist! It has been so hard to find a quality work pant that has a small enough waist for my frame. I am 5'4'' and 120lbs. Wear a size 0 and 25 in most Patagonia pants and these fit true to size. I was worried about ordering the Regular length, but they are a perfect length with a pair of work... Read More boots! Not only do these fit amazing, they are comfortable out of the box! The only thing that could make them better is some pockets on the side of the leg! When are you going to make some flannel lined versions for the winter!?

October 21, 2019

I really want to like them more

I was so excited when I saw these pants. I'm a field biologist and always shop in the men's department to for field pants and so I was hopeful I had finally found a pair of women's pants that would work. For positives, they are definitely sturdy, They are comfortable. I do like the back straps for tightening. However, there's st... Read Moreill a lot of room for improvement. The pockets, although deep in the front (so nice!) are limited in their usefulness. You can't put much in the back pockets. I really want to see the next version have some side/utility pockets. Next, the double sided knees would be great except that when I kneel down the steam is right on my knee (next gen needs to be longer or shifted lower). Lastly, I bought the black ones to mix it up and they feel weirdly like bulky dress pants instead of cargo pants--not sure what to do about that. Overall, I do want to like these pants but I find I hardly ever wear them because they aren't quite right for working and they aren't quite right for going out. I am stoked to see Patagonia trying to make quality work pants for women though, please keep it up!

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this thoughtful review. We are always honing our designs and comments like these will allow us to perfect things. We encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us since you mentioned you hardly wear them—we want you to be entirely satisfied with your purchase.

October 20, 2019

Checks all the boxes

Bought these after working in the overalls for a while (which I also love). They are extremely durable, while still allowing for movement and comfort. The "butt belt" is pretty cool and makes it easy to wear layers tucked in, or over top of the waist without a belt. The fabric is pliable enough to strap bulky knee pads on without discomfo... Read Morert. They do run on the large end, but the fit is perfect for working (carpentry, dirt work, roofing, manual labor, dog walking, cleaning the kitchen, napping...you get it.). I am 5'5 and 115 lbs. wearing a size 0. Congrats, Patagonia, for making workwear that women actually want to wear!

October 15, 2019

Great work pants w/ good size pockets

I am loving these work pants. I have frequently bought carhartts but I am a fan of these pants. The pockets are a great size. I do hope for Patagonia’s future that they incorporate some shape to their women’s workwear. Just because I am a working woman does not mean I only wear straight cut, non-curve hugging clothes!

October 14, 2019

Canvas; runs large

The pants are very heavy and of good quality. Customers should pay attention to the weight before buying. They are made for very heavy duty work. The size 12 runs large, but I kept them as I might gain weight.

August 31, 2019

hard core yet so comfortable

These pants are the bomb. I build trails for a living and not many pants can stand up to the wear and tear of hauling rocks and smashing aggregate. Perfect amount of room for the thighs and butt area and the draw strap in the back is a great design to optimize both these areas. Super excited I finally own a pair and they even come in a Long size wh... Read Moreich is perfect for my long legs!

August 16, 2019

Barely There sports bra a winner

I love my new barely there active bra. Quality design, never needs washing, no back pain, total support. Thank you Patagonia. I'm a 36c and very picky about my bras. Finaly I can work all day and not even think about my boobs.

August 15, 2019

Sturdy work pants

I ordered a pair of these (in brown) to whack Chinese privet in amongst Smilax and Rubus thorns and while crawling around in the leaf litter. They're a tad unforgiving for those of us with full seats and deep arches, but they otherwise fit well in the legs (mine are muscular) and the back pockets are easy to stash my phone in. They also stand ... Read Moreup to the rough use and hold up well between washings so that I'm often able to lay them aside for multiple wearings before laundering. My husband commented that they look thick and sturdy, so I won't be surprised if he asks me to order a men's pair for him as he also does a lot of yard work.

August 12, 2019

love my work pants

I am very satisfied with my work pants. The sizing chart gave me the right fit. I don't like to wear a belt with work pants, so the adjusting cinch on the back appealed to me; it gives me a very comfortable fit. I was concerned that they might be too hot, but the seem to breath so i do not get overheated. At the same time, I am currently clear... Read Moreing brambles and blackberries with lots of savage thorns, and I have not been spiked. They wear well and wash suprisingly well. I am very satisfied.

July 3, 2019

Please bring back the old version of these pants

I have a pair of help double knee work pants that are probably almost ten years old. I cannot remember the name of them but I love them. I was so excited you were bringing them back in the “work wear” line until I saw the buckle in the back. This seems like an awkward attempt to make these pans a one size/cut fits all, but it seems to have rendered... Read More them one size fits/flatters no one. I love the hemp fabrics but just can’t bring myself to buy these pants because of the awkward fit. On a side note I had my old pants on when I came in to try this new version m on in our local Patagonia and was complemented my the staff on my old pants...and then we all agreed that if it ain’t broke don’t fix it!

Response from Patagonia
July 5, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback!

June 6, 2019

Stellar work pants

Pretty nice britches. I always blow out Carhartt pants once a season (6 months) as a trail worker. Double front knees are crucial for rock work and these have held up pretty well so far. The pockets are kind of awkward- my crew tells me my pants look like they’re on backwards-but I like them as they’re big, functional, and somewhat flatttering. I w... Read Moreould be more stoked if they had a hammer loop or side pockets for a knife or multi tool. Headsup, the waist runs kind of small.

May 23, 2019

Awkward sizing for pear shaped bodies

For a "pear shaped" body, this is a tough cut! I was excited to get these in the mail but now I'm not sure if I should keep them. I ordered a 10, which is generally my size. They fit my hips, butt, and thighs, but the waist is way too large, even cinching in the back as tight as the strap can go. I'm not sure if it's worth ... Read Morekeeping them. I know a size smaller will fit my waist but not my booty. I'm 5'4" and ordered the short length; still a little long as I had to fold up the cuffs but they didn't drag on the ground. I love the fabric and the roomy inseam. I'm not sure if this is the fit for me, though. I work on a veggie farm and I think these will hold up well.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

Taylar, we're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right! Per our Ironclad Guarantee, if you are not satisfied with one of our products at the time you receive it, you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Great Workwear!

I’m 5’ 6 1/2”and am around 145lbs. I ordered the regular length workwear and they’re a bit longer than I’d like, but I worried that the ‘short’ option would be a bit too short. Fit is great; adjustable buckle in back pulls them in nicely. They’re super durable and exceptionally comfortable. Durable also means that they’re pretty heavy, but that’s t... Read Moreo be expected. I intend to get another pair in the slate color. Great pants!

April 6, 2019

Great pants but "missing" pocket details

I routinely wear through Carhartt work pants so I invested in a couple pairs of these pants. Love the material and fit but have one complaint. Pockets are awkward for carrying a cell phone or knife (I am a farmer). Would love a small pocket on the side, similar to Carharttt, so that I can carry my phone on me - I need to answer work calls while on ... Read Morethe farm and also have it to take pictures. Otherwise they are great!

February 1, 2019

Not for working

The material may be nice, but these pants are not for a person who actually works with tools. The placement of the seam for the extra layer at the knees drives into the lower knee cap and patella tendon. There are no extra side pockets for stuff like a pencil/utility knife. Its as if they are simply comfortable pants. They were a special gift from ... Read Moremy husband, and that is the only reason I love them. They should NOT be classified as work pants. I will continue to rely on my carhartts for real work (and I was so excited to try these pants from Patagonia!). Super bummed.

December 18, 2018

Great for hunting

I recently wore these on a pheasant hunt and was impressed. They resisted puncture by moderate thorns and briars. Comfortable out in the field walking long distances on chilly days. Waist band becomes uncomfortable if sitting/bending down. But, for workwear or hunting pants, I am impressed. Not sure how they will hold up to thorns that can reach ov... Read Moreer 1 1/2" in woodcock habitat, but they may surprise me - will have to wait for next season.

December 14, 2018

Finally a women's work pant that is as serious as working women!

Love these pants! I work outside a lot and these are great. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE that they carry them in tall sizes! I am 5'10" and a slender build so finding pants that fit is tricky. They nailed these. Also, the fabric is pretty fantastic. I would highly recommend these. Would give them 6 stars if I could =).

November 28, 2018

Amazing pants

I never review I am 62 and short wasted with long legs. I love these pants. Long enough. Not tight in the waist. Plenty of room when squatting. I am 5’4” and #135. Crossfitter with big thighs. I got a size 6

November 26, 2018

Concrete Construction

I started working in construction less than a year ago. I work in the office and on-site, so my pants are not worn daily. With that, I find they are very stiff which makes it difficult to bend down and get around lower to the ground. There is extra space at my inseam where I feel like I need to "be a dude" and hike up my pants to get the ... Read Moreextra clearance to make those bends and crouches. I am typically a size 8 -- however I'm wearing a 10 for the size in the thigh and waist. I love everything else about these! Maybe they take a little longer to break in -- and I'm willing to try that!

November 18, 2018

PERFECT

As an electrician doing industrial and commercial work in NYC am writing this because I never want to see these pants disappear from the market or be reshaped. To all the ladies complaining about the fit and size please stop. THESE ARE WORK PANTS I've been a 12s all my life and I purchased a 12s which fits perfectly. In the age of skinny slim ... Read Morejeans, I upsize a lot of pants because they fit everywhere except my hips, if you're more flat it makes sense that you would have to downsize two sizes on a relaxed fitting pant. So If you had to buy smaller sizes but they still FIT you, as in your butt fits in the pants and there are no gaps, it's NOT a problem, it is the result of company actually measuring women and not mannequins for their fit test (seriously that's how most company shape clothes). I don't want patagonia to downsize these pants because that means I can still buy size 14 for winter if I need to layer them up, like anyone that actually uses them for work will come winter time, cause we work outside. And again THESE ARE WORK PANTS they should be catering to women doing hauling and heavy lifting not sitting in an office, 90% of women's clothes do that already. Women in my line of work are underserved, and they develop quads, calves and glutes because it's physically impossible to do the job being a yogi size 2. I am so happy to have these pants after years of being a Patagonia jacket and bag consumer. I've historically settled for oversized cheap men's pants for work, the practical and necessary pockets are a must, but it feels soooo nice to not look like a sack of potatoes anymore (for the record if you are flat, the women's Carharts will work great for you). The gap control in the back is great, also the waist sits in a comfortable position (not so high it digs into you when you bend). The material is amazing, super durable, breathable, yet they feel lighter than plain canvas. If you're old enough to remember that satisfaction of breaking in new jeans (back when denim was thick enough it lasted you a few years) you're gonna love these. You'll get that best friend feel after a week or two, they move really well too. One of the reasons the material and fit are so important to me and in work is cause loose cloth are a hazard around power tools but stretch material will ignite into flames in a heartbeat, so I'm ecstatic to have these, will probably take them hiking and climbing too, they might be heavier but can take the beating (how about some hemp trail pants eh?) I do wish the pockets were a tiny bit bigger and a side mid knee sleeve for pencil or cell phones would be nice (they put in the men's jeans version, would so love that for woman please, the jeans too). I'm 5'5" 30" inseam 42" hip 32" waist sidebar: I only wish the work tops had taken in account the hips they obviously figured out we have. The shirts are long (as they should be for work) but too narrow for the hip and too wide for the waist

November 5, 2018

Love These Pants!

I work in a natural pet food store and pet wash where I'm on my knees cleaning a lot, stocking food, etc. These pants are all I wear to work anymore! I need to get another pair in another color so people don't get tired of seeing me in the same pants all the time--ha ha. I can also wear them when I work with my horse at the barn, and even... Read More light hiking in backcountry of Montana. Great product!!!!

October 27, 2018

Close but looking forward to next version

I don't have these, only tried them on. They run 1-2 sizes large. They seem durable and well-made. I work in forest restoration and carry a heavy backpack, so the waist cinch strap and buckle would be uncomfortable and were a deal-breaker (I could cut it off, but it seems integral to the design). Sturdy women's work pants at this price fr... Read Moreom a great company would be a game-changer for many of my colleagues in restoration - I look forward to the next version! Please also add side tool pockets!

October 19, 2018

Excellent Work Pants

I purchased these pants to wear while working on my tree farm and for when I fire wood kilns. They are very comfortable to work in regardless of what I am doing. I love the double knees and the openings at the bottom make it very easy to slip in knee pads while kneeling down loading kilns. The tab at the waist is a nice feature letting me cinch the... Read More back in a bit and the wide legs let me wear a base layer for colder weather without any tugging or binding. I am 5'8" 120 lbs. and ordered a size 4. It fits perfectly!

October 12, 2018

Great pair of pants

I absolutely love the ability to adjust the waist in the back! This is a great solution to the waist gap I’ve had with brands like carhartt, which I’ve found too ill fitting to even be able to fix comfortably with a belt. That being said, these do tend to run a little big in general. I’m usually a pretty solid size 8, and have large hips and a smal... Read Morel waist. These fit perfectly in the waist, but strangely are a bit large in the hips. I’m 5’9” and the length is perfect. My only complaint is that I wish the double knee extended further down the pant leg. When I kneel the double knee barely actually covern my knee!

August 23, 2018

Awesome!

It is quite rare that I leave reviews, but after wearing these pants nearly every day since February for various activities, I feel like I have a pretty good idea about how they work. I'll start with, I do not work with farming or heavy equipment or tools, I needed these pants for hiking. I work daily in a mountain desert environment, we will ... Read Moreregularly hike up and down steep canyons 3,000 feet deep off trail, complete with sharp rocks, sharp cacti, sharp vegetation, and any other terrible thing to throw at clothing and gear. There is even stuff called catclaw with a curved grabby point. I additionally, go climbing and caving in these environments too, just another thing lots of clothes cannot handle. Hiking in this environment regularly rips jeans and ripstop to shreds. Regular carhartts are the norm, but are quite heavy and have an awkward fit in my opinion. In 6 months of wearing these workpants, I haven't had one rip or tear. There is definitely some wear where those sharp plants have ripped a single thread in the weaving, but nothing more major than that. I have fallen on sharp limestone and these pants are like armor, no scrapes on me and no holes in my pants. Sharp needle like points like prickly pear spines will still go through the fabric, but does not seem to damage it. Caving requires lots of crawling on your knees and the double knee adds a nice but of extra protection even without kneepads. The amount of grip on rock using my knees or butt for caving or other awkward movements is slightly better than jeans. In the winter they were warm enough to not worry about long underwear above about 25 F (for me!), and here in summer it regularly gets up to 100 F. 100 is hot for any pair of pants, but these definitely breathe better than jeans or carhartts. They dry as fast as cotton dries, so when they get wet from that unexpected monsoonl thunderstorm, they are heavy and relatively slow to dry...but that is to be expected. The style is nice, I dress fairly androgynous, so I like the more baggy, square style. The pockets are excellent. The back pockets are a great shape and provide decent extra protection. I do wish the front pockets were larger...I know they are better than most women's clothing, but I have small hands and my hands still don't fully fit in them. Compared to men's clothing these pockets are still too small. I also like the cinch strap in the back. I almost always have a backpack on, whether it's a day pack or much more, and haven't noticed any discomfort. I have noticed that after wearing the pants a few days between washes they do stretch out a bit, and become loose, so it's nice to be able to easily tighten them. The buckle has ripped some upholstery though when I've sat down...not sure what to suggest about that. My only gripe with these is they run very large! I am 5'4, and 140. In men's pants I regularly wear a 30x30 in most brands. Using the fit calculator here, it said I should get about a size 8. I tried that and it was so big I sent it back. I now have a size 6, BUT would purchase a 4 in the future. Maybe I'm just used to buying men's sizes for work pants but needing to size down by two sizes seems a bit excessive. Overall, I would definitely reccomend these pants for any kind of work that puts wear and tear on your regular clothes. Definitely size down! I've been debating buying another pair for a while, and it's only a debate because these have held up so well, I'm not sure when I will NEED another pair.

July 29, 2018

Good work pants

I work as a landscaper and used to use cargo pants till I got these. They are extremely light and don't cause me to overheat. For the eight weeks I've had them they've held up extremely well. The only issue I had was that they run a little long.

July 2, 2018

Just missing a side pocket

I wear these for volunteer (MTB) trail work in Oregon. Love their ruggedness and reinforced knees when crawling around in the dirt and rocks. I'm 5'8" and 130 lbs. with longish legs. I bought a size 2 Long which are perfect with low heeled work boots. They do tend to stretch throughout a work day so I always wear a belt (which I don&... Read More#x27;t prefer) or I'll end up with plumber butt. The buckle doesn't bother me stylistically but it's highly uncomfortable when sitting in a hard-backed chair or car seat. The big miss is a side pocket for your phone. Great pants otherwise.

July 2, 2018

Just missing a side pocket

I wear these for volunteer (MTB) trail work in Oregon. Love their ruggedness and reinforced knees when crawling around in the dirt and rocks. I'm 5'8" and 130 lbs. with longish legs. I bought a size 2 Long which are perfect with low heeled work boots. They do tend to stretch throughout a work day so I always wear a belt (which I don&... Read More#x27;t prefer) or I'll end up with plumber butt. The buckle doesn't bother me stylistically but it's highly uncomfortable when sitting in a hard-backed chair or car seat. The big miss is a side pocket for your phone. Great pants otherwise.

June 25, 2018

Nice pants but snug in the waist

I've had these a few months now. Overall I like them. I haven't done major all day work in them so I can't comment on some of the other issues like the crotch,but for chores around the house they're great. But a gusseted crotch is ALWAYS a good thing. Like most Patagonia pants I find them too snug in the waist if they fit me in ... Read Morethe thighs and bum. I'm not curvy,more straight,but I have muscular thighs and glutes. I have to unbutton them under my belt. If I sized up they'd be way too big everywhere else. I ordered the short and STILL had to have them hemmed. That's a pain. I'm 5'3" and normally a "short" works for me.

June 22, 2018

great performance,with two requests

This is the best pair of women's work pants i've ever owned. They are the real deal! I have been working construction/landscaping in these pants for two months now. Even on days when it's 85 deg.,they breathe well. I love the style and can move well in them,without needing a belt to hold up the pants. The lightweight durability of th... Read Moree fabric is excellent. Two requests -- please consider adding a tool loop to the side and please redesign the back buckle. I like the feature and have used it on long days,but the buckle digs in to my back when seated and operating equipment. At 5,5",125 lbs. the size 4 in regular length fits me perfect.

May 27, 2018

Lots of great features,a couple of deal breakers

OK. Great fabric and concept,pockets are lovely,like the back buckle personally. But... these are a wierd fit on me. Pull them up to a comfortable point on my waist and that bulky crotch seam becomes seriously painful. Why not have a gusset like the men's pant does? Drop them down a tad to avoid serious injury and they bag out around the front... Read More something awful. As far as colors go-- why have black,that means you can only wear on cool or cold days,a mid-grey would be a lot more useful.

May 26, 2018

Awesome fabric,but not as functional as I'd hoped

I am a forester and put these pants through the wringer in forested environments. Things I love about them: the hemp fabric is very breathable and comfortable. Even though they are double-knee,it feels like you're wearing a light-weight pant (but surprise! They appear to be pretty dang durable). Hemp also dries faster than cotton,a definite pl... Read Moreus. The front pockets are deep,a rarity on women's pants. I am 5'8",140 pounds,and a size 4 Long fits perfectly. Things I'm not super into: The back pockets. Honestly,the scooped styling makes it look like a giant diaper. The integrated rear belt/cinch thing is cute,but backpacks don't sit evenly on it. Also,these pants could really benefit from a tool loop and side-leg cell phone pocket,like every other pair of work pants out there. I am excited about the potential of these pants,but I will wait on buying a second pair until some key changes are made.

May 19, 2018

Great Pants but I wish you'd lose the back buckle

First of all,i love these pants and have them in both colors,but i do have one observation and one complaint. Observation - the first pair i bought is much roomier and an inch longer than the second pair even though they are the exact same size. Patagonia may have responded to the reviews that the pants were running large and made some adjustments ... Read Morebut be advised when reading through some of the earlier reviews. Complaint - the back buckle is awkward when seated and broke after about a month on my first pair. I finally just cut the flaps off and will probably go ahead and cut the strap of my second pair too. Its a shame to have to alter such a quality pair of pants otherwise.

April 11, 2018

Sturdy,but uncomfortable.

Sadly,these pants are missing some of the features that the men's version has. First,there is NO crotch gusset! I wore these for a long day of trail work + farm work,and wound up having my inner thighs rubbed raw by the thick bulky crotch seam. The buckle on the back is cute,but doesn't do much for function. And the double knees,though a ... Read Moregreat idea in practice,wind up above my knee when I'm kneeling (otherwise the length is fine),so you might want to go with the longer length if you have a long upper thigh. Anyhow,these are fine,but seem like yet another example of a product that is missing some of the best features of the men's version. I applaud patagonia for making women's work wear,but really wish that it worked for me!

April 11, 2018

I wear these every day!

These pants are super comfortable,practical,and durable. I love the way they fit,and they are way more flexible and breathable than other work pants. The pockets are amazing. They may seem like just a gimmick,but they are actually incredibly useful. I find the extra adjustment I can get with the back buckle useful as well. The only thing I wish was... Read More different about these pants is that I would love to have them in an all natural material. I work with metal as a blacksmith and welder,so non flammability is key. These pants are just way too comfortable and better functioning to go back to carhartts though,so I'm just conscious of where I throw sparks and wear my apron when I need it. If Patagonia makes an all natural version I'll be the first to buy them!!!

March 11, 2018

Ups and downs

Wonderful fabric, very comfortable and durable . Size fits a little big. And after three months of wearing, the buckle in the back has broken

February 28, 2018

Extremely comfortable

They ran very large,I had to size down. I cycle in them everyday as they are just so comfortable to wear and with my baselayer it is also very comfy. Feels like excellent quality too.

February 26, 2018

Nice work pant

I was so hopeful. I sized down after reading the reviews,but found that even though I am a size 2 in most pants,I'm too curvy in the backside and through the thighs for a size 2 in these pants. These fit great in the lower leg and in the waist,once I got them past the butt and thighs,but I am returning them because they are too tight in the up... Read Moreper leg to comfortably work in. I'm 5'2" and around 116lbs and curvy. I'm reordering in a size 4 and hoping they will fit. These are the best fitting work pants I've found so far,almost but not quite. I usually end up using nice pants that I have stained as my work pants and I go through a lot of work pants in a year farming.

February 3, 2018

Not small enough

The pants seem great,I like the material (obviously tough,thick-ish,and comfortable) the pockets,the cinch at the back to make it more versatile for body proportions,the double knee... all seemed like exactly what I was looking for. But I am 5'0" and 100-110 pounds and the size 2,short inseam,was incredibly big on me (like,I could have pu... Read Morelled them up to my ribs and stuck both my arms down one pant leg). Some of the other reviews say to size down,but this is really unfortunate. Since patagonia pants size 2 and 0 tend to fit me quite well,I thought I had finally found something. You have a wide range of clothes for small people,you've got an audience,but not only was this size 2 a little baggy,it was huge. And I'm a working farmer desperate to find quality sturdy work pants in particular,so while I have plenty of other gear that I use day-to-day,I felt really disappointed that your work wear ignores the people like me who already turn to you.

February 1, 2018

My Favourite Pants of All Time

I am absolutely enthralled with these. I purchased them awhile back and had to grab another pair in the other colour. Quality is spectacular,fit is flattering,and the colour is just right as well. Only thing for me is that I would have liked either side pockets or a hammerloop. I work with a hand drill often and these pants would be perfect if I co... Read Moreuld keep it at my side while routesetting.

November 18, 2017

super durable,comfy,practical,SIZE DOWN

I love these pants and would highly recommend them for three season (fall,winter,spring) work outdoors. They are super durable,comfy,practical and all-around well designed. Much better than carhartt; I can tell they will last a long time. I am 5'8" and 135lbs,and I normally wear a 4 in Patagonia. These run HUGE. If you don't want sup... Read Moreer-baggy,size down. I'm wearing a size 2 and it's perfect,even with long underwear.

November 13, 2017

For Ladies!!!!

Finally!! High waisted and durable. I am 5"9 140 bought a size 8. They are a little loose but I have plenty of room to move in them. I will purchase the grey color next month. So long Carhartt!!!

November 12, 2017

I love these!

I'm kind of a work wear geek so was thrilled to see these offered. They are super comfortable,I like the belt in back to help with the inevitable gap in back. They do run large,my first pair I wear to work (construction) and I bought a second pair,for everyday wear,a size smaller. I don't know if they are flattering,you don't need fl... Read Moreattering in construction,but they feel flattering. I still like my Carhartts but I love these. Yay,work wear for women! They've already gone up in price,I see,but you get Patagonia quality.

November 3, 2017

bad design for a good idea

my boyfriend and I purchased a pair of those pants after choosing size 2 for me and 31 for him. He usually wears 31 and the pants ran a bit large,needed a belt. I personally purchased a size down after talking to the customer service. size was good,as I normally wear 27''. We both chose the short version even if we're considered medi... Read Moreum and it was a luck we did. we were surprised the ''jet black'' color looked more like a dark blue. pockets have a good depth and nice design but the zipper is too short,and buttonhole is small. we both didn't feel confortable to bend down or sit since the pants are too low resulting in uncovering too much skin in the back. belt in the back of the women pants is really uncomfortable,and even hurting when having a backpack. I really felt there wasn't enough fabric in the back,and I don't have particularly big buttocks. when trying it we were tending to put the pants higher on the hips but when doing so we had it uncomfortably coming into the crotch and butt crack. large space for thighs though; proportionally too much space. good idea but bad design

October 15, 2017

Durable and comfortable

I'll attempt to stay off my soapbox here,but the clothing industry doesn't think women need durable,practical and affordable work wear. These fit my curves perfect,sits right on top of my hip bones and have plenty of room in the behind,I love the buckle to pull em in tighter. Soft for being so thick and heavy. The bottoms hug my work boot... Read Mores just right. I bought a size larger because as it gets cold I can put extra layers underneath. I've been through a lot of rips in my pants to finally make it here. Thank You Patagonia,you make my work day more confident and comfortable.

October 8, 2017

Not worth it

I was very excited about these pants because I love my old stand up pants that fit like a glove and are fraying. I read the reviews and ordered different sizes and lengths to see what would fit. I would agree that most folks will probably need to order a size smaller. But when I finally got the right size and length,after multiple orders and return... Read Mores,they weren't anything special. When I compared them to a pair of carharts I recently purchased for half the price,I decided that the carharts were more comfortable,especially because they don't have the funky strap in the back which would be very uncomfortable with a backpack. Please consider bringing back the women's standup pants,they were amazing.

October 3, 2017

Good quality but not for curves

I can tell these pants are high quality and I love the details but they are definitely not for full hipped women. I wear a 12/14 and hoped that since these are fuller cut they would work but unfortunately they did not :(

September 23, 2017

Love the back pockets & appreciate the high waist!

Super durable (so far) and fairly comfy work pants! I'm usually a size 8,but sized down to a 6 after trying on in store because they fit my waist better and still felt roomy in the butt and thighs (a rare find for me). I kind of wish I stuck with the 8 because I'm constantly shoving tools in my pockets and could use a bit more room for th... Read Moreat. If that's not a concern for you,I'd recommend sizing down (depending on your proportions of course). I'm in love with the design of the back pockets. The high waist isn't super flattering,but absolutely necessary and appreciated when I'm kneeling or bending over in the field. A superior alternative to other ladies work pants!

September 21, 2017

breaking the cycle

These pants have ended my years-long dysfunctional relationship with Carharts. Their men's fit was just weird on my 5'10" 145 lb frame,but their women's line was insultingly flimsy. Gotta add the tall girl's refrain of thank god (or whoever) for the long option! Size 8 worked for me,though the waist could be more roomy (tha... Read Moret may be more my problem than the makers,though). Pockets are well thought out,back ones can hold a bigger iPhone. Please keep making women's clothing that is as tough and functional as your men's line--not many makers concede that we want more than coffee-shop clothing.

September 15, 2017

Exactly what working women need

My best friend bought me these pants for my birthday,and I am totally in love. The only competition is Carhatt,but these pants need no breaking in and have seemingly a more durable affect. They are soft,extremely comfortable,are roomy enough to wear a baselayer underneath for the chiller days,and are adjustable. I am BEYOND happy to own these. For ... Read Moreall of you curvy ladies out there,these are perfect!! Size wise,I am 5'6",weigh about 165-170 lbs,wear a 30 in the Patagonia cords,own a 10 Regular in these bad mama-jamas. They ARE LOOSE BUT ARE MADE TO FOR MOVEMENT,so if you want a tighter fit I'd look at a size down.

September 14, 2017

Excellent

I just ordered these pants and Patagonia did not disappoint! As most,my biggest question was on sizing,so here are my stats to give you an idea of sizing. I'm 5' 7" 175 pounds(3 pregnancies have changed my body more than I'd like to admit) and I ordered a size 12. They fit at my natural waist and have plenty of room in the thigh... Read More. The details are feminine and the quality is superb.

September 6, 2017

SO AMAZING.

These pants are AMAZING. I suggest going in the store to try them on because I am usually an 8 but in these I am a 6. Super soft and flattering! Will be wearing these every day.

August 24, 2017

A substantial,nice pair of pants

I was amazed at how low of a price these pants are,and they still look cool and as though they are made with high quality material. They look better in person than on the website. Rugged,but feminine. Heavy-weight,but not stiff (broken-in feeling). I usually wear a size 0 or a 25/26,and there is a good amount of room for me in the seat,thigh,and gr... Read Moreoin areas which is definitely what I was looking for. A similar comment was made about those areas. One person commented about the rise being too high. These are a mid-rise pants,not high-rise,and these pants should not be a low-rise,or they would defeat the purpose. Patagonia should make these pants in a Dark Ash,and add some more pants in the Workwear line for women because there are 2 different pants available for men. I can tell that Patagonia is still going to stay in a niche,but move towards making outdoor clothing and gear that are more stylish and not drab. Patagonia should stay in a niche,and not be ubiquitous; therefore becoming stale like their competitor,whose name that I cannot mention. I purchased the 'Ink Black' pants,Farrier shirts,and the Tin Shed Jacket. I hope that the Barn Coat looks as great as these pants.

August 20, 2017

Fantastic pants!

I really love everything about these pants,cannot recommend them high enough. The price was surprisingly reasonable too! I am a blacksmith/welder,so I am working with hot metal and sparks and doing a lot of sweating and working on my knees and in odd places. These pants are MUCH more breathable than my Carhartts and far softer and more flexible as ... Read Morewell. Also,the design is quite well thought out. The waist is the perfect height on me,very comfortable,and prevents the ol' plumbers' crack quite nicely. The pockets may be my favorite though. I've never worn any other pants with this back pocket design and I am just amazed at how much more practical and ergonomic they are. For some reason the swooshy cut makes it so much easier to get things in and out of my pockets,which is an action I am doing a lot. I throw pens in there,gloves,chisels,wrenches,any other tool you can think of,and its just faster and easier than normal pants. Its a very simple thing,but over time it makes a lot of difference and saves a lot of frustrating moments. There is plenty of room in them too! I love the pair that I have,but the next pair I'll probably get a size smaller and would go short instead of regular.

August 13, 2017

Amazing Pants,Amazing Value

This is the best pair of heavy duty work pants I've purchased in years. Fabric is substantial,construction is solid and they are buttery soft. The only thing lacking is a few more pockets. They are a little generous in sizing and I'll buy the next pair a size down. I bought these in my normal pant size and will use for cold weather with l... Read Moreayers. I like the higher rise,I am bending and squatting a lot while dog training and appreciate not having a cool breeze blow across my back.

August 11, 2017

I had waited so long for these.

I bought these with such high hopes. I wanted to use them for trail building this summer and was excited for a work wear pant for women. Unfortunately the fit is really bad. I'm 5'10'' with an athletic fit and wear a size 10 across the board with Patagonia pants. Ordered a size 10 and was able to put them on,but the rise was ext... Read Moreremely high to the point that it would have been suffocatingly hot to work in them. The hips and thighs had ample room,to the point of bagginess,which I didn't mind and was actually thankful for some room for some thighs. But that high rise was a deal breaker on the fit. It's unfortunately because the material was really great and felt like it was already broken in.

August 9, 2017

Thumbs up!

I picked up a pair of these pants to use as work pants around my farm and brush pants when I am out bird hunting. I usually wear a size 0 or 24-25 in pants and the size 2 in these pants is too big everywhere but I like them that way,I'll be able to layer long johns under them when the weather turns cold. I sure like the swoopy back pockets and... Read More the rear cinch on these pants. There's something kinda feminine about those details. Lastly,I love that these are a hemp/organic cotton blend. Grab a pitchfork,darlings,it's time to get to work!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches