Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Causey Pike Hiking Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Causey Pike Hiking Pants - Regular

4.0/5
Kinda Small
September 16, 2021

Good for for Hiking

Very comfortable cool weather hiking pant. 35 regular seems to be a 32in length, not sure what length the short would be

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2021

Glad the pants are working out great for you! Inseam will vary depending on style but when lengths are offered, "short" is 30, "regular" is 32 and "long" is 34, unless otherwise noted.

September 8, 2021

Super comfortable and nice looking

Love these pants. Working in Utah you need something nice and light for the job site. And the ruggedness of these helps out as well. My only problem is a could have gone with a 32; thats my fault though - I guess I just lost weight. By these. Or else be uncomfortable.

September 4, 2021

Not true to size

I bought the Causey Pike Pants because they were on sale and were black. I order the same size 34 reg. as the Quandary pants I also ordered but the Causey pants were much tighter in the waist. I returned the Causey's and bought another pair of Quandary.

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Hello Marvin, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn the Causey Pike are tighter in the waist than the Quandary. If you have any questions regarding the [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process, please let us know.

September 3, 2021

Comfortable for daily wear

These pants are comfortable for daily wear and hiking. They are accompanied by a dedicated web belt and plastic buckle. The belt is sheathed by fabric for much of the length which precludes hanging cell phone cases from it. So I place my cell phone in the thigh pocket. I envision wearing it for air travel because of all the plastic zippered pockets... Read More and plastic buckle would avoid problems with metal detectors. Not sure how warm they will be less than +40F. I'll learn that during the winter.

August 30, 2021

Great Pants, But Size Up.

Pants are well made and have a great feel, fit great once you get the right size. I'm an athletic 6'2" and 205-210#. Normally I wear a 33/34. I had to buy a 35 waist to make this fit, so size up more than normal!

August 29, 2021

Sharp and tough

Nice enough to hike around the city and go to dinner, tough enough to summit.

August 26, 2021

Splendid

Size up and youre good! Breathable and great wTer repelling. Very comfortable

August 19, 2021

good during warm weather hiking

comfortable and breathable. never was warm hiking in 80-90degree weather. water resistant too. seems to be made well and durable.

August 16, 2021

Where do I hang my keys?

I have been on an adventure trying to acquire these pants. I choose these to replace some Eddie Bauer pants that had a broken zipper. I was upset because EB refused to repair these nearly perfect pants. I was willing to pay for the repair. Apparently that is not a core value they believe in. Well you know who cares deeply about sustainability and t... Read Morehe planet we all love and share? Patagonia does. I was sure to let EB know about my decision to purchase a new pair from Patagonia. Ok. So at first I ordered the regular pair in size 34. Too long. I returned them and attempted an exchange for a shorter size. I ended up with the same pair of pants. I returned them again and this time got a refund and then purchased the size 34 short. I'm a little frustrated at all the back and forth with trying to receive the correct size. Patagonia can definitely do better there. The new pants I received fit wonderfully. I especially love the included belt. The only issues I have are the back pocket on the left side only (I keep my wallet on right side for years) and nothing to clip my keys to for convenience since standard belt loops are missing. Other than that, great job. I will definitely purchase another pair of pants. Just a different pair. Maybe I will keep these strictly for hiking and not for work.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2021

Hi Steven, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the initial trouble with sizing, and the disappointment with the lack of a belt loops. We really appreciate this feedback as its how we improve products for future seasons. We've passed these comments along to our design crew!

August 13, 2021

My Favorite pants!

My favorite pants. Not great for glissading and not as breathable as the new version but very comfortable. High quality construction and i feel comfortable wearing these out to a brewery or possibly a nicer place

August 9, 2021

Nice but sizing issues

Waist was spot on for me but regular length was too short and long was too long. The description says for slim to medium bodies, but they were definitely not slim enough for me. Some great features but I returned them both.

August 6, 2021

Wonderful, but size up

Great and comfortable pants. Looking at reviews, I decided to size up. In jeans and pants I usually wear 32, and I placed An order for 34. First good and comfortable on the waste. Im sure 33 would work too, but wanted enough room on thr legs. Overall, great pants for any activity

August 5, 2021

Solid pants

As mentioned in other reviews, they run a touch small in the waist. I normally wear 34, but upped to a 35 and they fit great. Love the feel, wife likes the color contrast with the zippers. They arent super summer light, but I live on the N. Cali coast, so they are perfect for our climate

August 5, 2021

Very Solid Pants

I bought these for my boyfriend who is 6'3" 180-185lbs. He's normally a 32, but those were really really snug. We exchanged for a 34 and those seem to fit perfectly. Definitely definitely size up, but Patagonia does let you do free returns. The length is perfect, so if you're under 6'0", I'd check the inseam and b... Read Moree sure to measure!

July 25, 2021

Attracts dog hair and lint

Similar to what others have said, these pants have a slender fit which I absolutely love. For reference Im 62 & 195 lbs and wear a 34x34 jean and ordered the 34 regular. The video doesnt seem to capture it but the leg pocket bellows towards the rear which I think is a nice detail. The zippers are substantial making it easier to use. The materia... Read Morel is the sticking point for me. Youll find thats its a magnet for dog hair and lint, not to mention the fabric is not the most comfortable against the skin, not unbearable but noticeable. If I paid full price I probably would have returned.

July 24, 2021

Functional and Strong Pants

I am a backpacking and rock climbing guide and I have worn these pants all summer for work in the Sierra Nevada mountains. These pants are great, they fit well, though a bit snug, and through wearing them for 60 days, they have loosened up a bit to be very comfortable. I really like how durable they are and I love the built-in belt.

July 22, 2021

Too tight

Normally I wear a 32 waist in nylon hiking pants, 33 waist in Levi jeans, but this 34 waist was tight. The zippered front pockets seem ridiculous. Fabric was light and nice. Belt seems like it can be replaced with a real belt, not some nylon web, plastic buckle thing. Returning.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2021

Hello Bob, thank you for the review on the Causey Pike Hiking Pants. We're sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with fit. Sometimes, the rise on pants can affect the size that should be purchased. The front rise on these come in at 10.75" for the size 34, with a waist measurement of 35.5". We have access to measurements for all sizes on all gear, so feel free to ask if you ever have any questions. While this particular pair didn't work out, you might be interested in checking out our [Men's Altvia Trail Pants - Regular](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-altvia-trail-pants-regular/21170.html?dwvar_21170_color=NENA) as an alternative.

July 12, 2021

Small, but great. On the skimmer side.

I am smaller and find most Patagonia gear is way too large. These pants fit me. If I could have gotten them in a shorter length they would have been perfect. Pockets are solid. Great for hiking. Sadly they will probably never make pants this size ever again.

July 1, 2021

Favorite Hiking Pants

These are great pants for fall - spring. They're durable, have great pockets, move well, and take a beating on the trails. Best of all, they're cut well for a slim person so you don't feel like a slouch when you're hanging out before or after at a bar or somewhere else. So many hiking pants are loose and unflattering, this one i... Read Mores the opposite. So if that matters to you, give these a try. I will say, my normal pant size is a 31x32 and i went with a 32 regular here. it gives me a little breathing room on the waist without it being too loose feeling.

May 21, 2021

Best Outdoor Pants Ever!!!

I've worked in the outdoor industry for two decades, and these are the best pants I've worn to date. The tailored fit feels like the designer really cares how this piece feels and moves. The pants fit closely, but not too closely. The bit of stretch is right on. The integrated belt is hugely helpful when wearing a harness (where a separat... Read Moree belt always feels clunky). The side pocket fits my phone, but doesn't let it move around. I bought two extra pairs in case Patagonia stops making them!

March 20, 2021

Too wonderful.

Dress em up or down. Work em or relax. They are perfect for all my warm to cool activities. I use them in place of scrubs to see patients and for cool to warm weather hiking. The stretch fabric and pocket placement is super comfy and they wear like iron. They do run slim and I usually wear 29-30 waist at my 148 lbs but exchanged my most recent re-o... Read Morerder for 31s.

March 11, 2021

Fit's just right

I think the cut and the fit is perfect is solid - I especially appreciate the ankle zippers for ascending boots.

February 26, 2021

Great

Sturdy. Great for hiking and taking a beating around the campsite, will last for many years by my estimation

February 25, 2021

Super versatile

I bought these to wear for hiking in the fall and spring when its too cool for shorts. Ive since found myself wearing them when taking the dog for a walk or running to the store. Its a thin material but much warmer than jeans as they do a great job of keeping the wind and chill out. I found that they run about and inch or inch and half small in the... Read More waist. Definitely recommend.

February 25, 2021

Unusual pants

The nylon fabric has an unusual feel, but not unpleasant. It's comfortable for hiking in cold weather down to ca. 25 F. Haven't wore it in the summer so don't know how it will feel in hot weather. The narrow belt that is sheathed precludes attaching my cell phone holster. So I carry the cell phone in the right thigh pocket.

February 24, 2021

Good Fit - Great zipped pockets

The zipped pockets work well and valuable. Solid design, fit and quality fabric. Strong. Secure. Style.

February 17, 2021

Returned them

I did not like the zipper front pockets. Theyre uncomfortable to access and not large enough. Not sure what a guy would keep in them

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hello Charles, thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear these weren't what you expected. Please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you would like any suggestions or if you have any questions regarding your return.

January 20, 2021

Not bad, but very specific

I received these as a gift. They fit a bit tight through the calf and thigh. Im a fairly athletic build. Just to the point where they restrict motion a bit more than I like. The slash zipper pockets seem a bit unnecessary and fiddly, but the mid-leg pocket is surprisingly roomy and lined with soft fabric. I wouldnt say dont buy them, but make sur... Read Moree theyre the right pant before you invest.

December 27, 2020

A++

A++ quality and fair price

December 26, 2020

Best slim-fitting, durable, light-stretch hiking pants I've found.

I like Patagonia and tend to prefer their products but found they were missing a solid slim-fitting nylon blend pant with stretch. That is, until I found the Causey Pike pants. Super happy with them. Bought a pair for my brother. Pros - Dialed in slim fit: narrow leg taper and leg opening means there's not extra fabric flying around. This m... Read Moreeans the pants look smart both on and off the trail. - Zippered pockets offer confidence while adding minimal bulk. - 5% is perfect stretch. Other brands go crazy trying to sell how stretchy their hiking pants are. It's a gimmick. Too much, and the pants will get stretched-out and drapey over time as well as be less durable given my impression is nylon is stronger than spandex. Too little stretch, of course, and the pant is too resistive of motion. 5% is right in the sweet spot. I'd say 3-8% is acceptable. Cons - I'd like to see a 29 waist offered -- why does the product jump fro 28 to 30? :( - I'd like to see a few additional colorways. Can we get a grayish sage green?

December 24, 2020

Weird fit

I ordered the 31 first because that is my size. Fit awesome everywhere except the waist, which was crazy tight. I've been looking for slim fit hiking pants for ever and thought I finally found them! So returned them for 32 waist. The waist now fits perfect, but the rest of the pant is now saggy and baggy like all other so-called slim fit hikin... Read Moreg pants. Darn it.

December 11, 2020

Runs small around waist

I bought for my 35years old husband . His start gain weight 135 lb 62 now . Comfortable to wear breathable wear to retail work .

December 8, 2020

Beyond slim

I bought these to use as urban commuter pants: to the gym, to yoga, etc. They are slim! My disappointment comes because of that. Even though there is a zippered hem with a gusset they are too slim to pull on over sneakers let alone hiking boots. I mean whats the point? I had to take my shoes off, put the pants on, and repeat the process when I got ... Read Moreto the gym. The zippered hems are kind of superfluous unless you want to leave them open and flare out over your shoes. Otherwise they dont really make sense because they dont open up enough. A fuller leg and more gusset would have helped.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

Thanks for the review! The leg opening does get a bit bigger with each size you go up, if you're interested in exchanging the pair you have, feel free to start that [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 30, 2020

Love the zippers!

Love the cuff zippers so important for biking and climbing. Make all zipper pockets, so important when moving, crashing, falling. Move the zip pocket in the back to the Right side.

September 30, 2020

Odd Fit

Im 6' and 150lbs- a slim guy with skinny legs. I usually prefer slim fit clothes so I was excited about these as the other reviews said they are slim. Well, they are slim in the waist (almost too tight at a 32, for a guy who usually wears 31), but as another review said, they get oddly baggy under the pelvis, above the knee. I think it's ... Read Morethe side zipper that pushes out the fabric? I guess I could recommend them to someone who has a really slim waist, but thick legs. I returned them.

June 21, 2020

Versatile

Ive worn these stretchy, lightweight pants on numerous day hikes and multi-day hikes. They are very versatile, in terms of the temperature range that they cover: they are good up to 60 degrees alone and can go well below freezing with lightweight long underwear. They fit a niche above soft shell pants but below shorts weather. The fit is excellent,... Read More albeit a bit slim, although no problems with binding or pinching on athletic moves on the trail. Build quality appears to be very good, although I havent used them Long enough to judge overall durability. I liked them so much that I bought several pair.

February 20, 2020

Junkless Trunk Required

I think the _upper part_ of your Men's pants (both the Causey Pike and the Quandary (both converting and non) should be cut a little more generously. As your customers likely trend a little more active, I'd wager to say that they might either be a bit slimmer than average and at least not suffer from Flatass Syndrome. The room in the legs... Read More _below the whole pelvis_ was good on pants with a 32 waist, but above that was way too tight. The 32s were a bit, um, "SHOWY around the bathing suit area," yet 33s were baggy overall to a degree that wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped. I think your patterns/sizing should be a half-size larger pelvis volume for a given leg volume would have been optimal. I'm interpreting a few of the other reviews as saying the same thing. I really wished these fit as they look like the jam! HMU if you redesign them to fit better.

November 21, 2019

Stretch Won't Overcome Tight

I bought a 34 waist as I always do for shorts and pants. I am 6'2" 182 lbs and a 34 waist forever (or at 60 years old it just seems like forever). These trousers were the perfect length but tight in the waist, seat, thighs, calves and all intermediary spaces. By comparison I have to wear a belt to hold up the last cargo shorts that I boug... Read Moreht from Patagonia. Maybe the trousers suit a more youthful structure, but they would have to have a lot more stretch to be comfortable scrambling over any terrain. I am down the $5 to return them.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you and appreciate your feedback. Since you were not satisfied with the fit, we are glad to hear these on on their way back to us. As far as the $5 label, we've sent you an email about this and are happy to waive that charge.

November 15, 2019

Check sizes

Great pants, but waist size is a little n the small side for a 36" waist.

September 13, 2019

Great pants but fits very small

Pants are great, slimmer tapered modern fit. Think something like Nike Tech Fleece. Materials are great, and love the pocket positioning. That being said, the waist is WAAAAY small. For reference I wear a size 34 or 35 waist depending on brand. I got a size 36 with these to be on the safe size and I can barely button them. I sized up but it wasn&#x... Read More27;t enough.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with sizing on these and appreciate you taking the time express your feedback. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or try a size 38, please [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) and let us know.

September 2, 2019

Exactly what I thought

Breathable light weight and stretchy. Great for those staircases in the northeast

June 15, 2019

No Substitute for Discontinued GI-II or GI-III

Found these too slim and tight, crotch too short, not a comfortable fit. Bring back the classic GI-II or GI-III, designs that stood the test of time.

May 8, 2019

Great pants!

Terrific product, high quality, great fit.

May 21, 2018

Good looking pants

+ elastic fabric for hiking (but not enough for climbing),big side pocket - black fabric accumulate dust very fast,belt loose quick (plastic detail not hold sling well)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches