Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Causey Pike Hiking Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

3.9 /5

Filter Reviews

All 20 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Causey Pike Hiking Pants - Regular

3.9
Kinda Small
February 26, 2021

Great

Sturdy. Great for hiking and taking a beating around the campsite, will last for many years by my estimation

February 25, 2021

Super versatile

I bought these to wear for hiking in the fall and spring when its too cool for shorts. Ive since found myself wearing them when taking the dog for a walk or running to the store. Its a thin material but much warmer than jeans as they do a great job of keeping the wind and chill out. I found that they run about and inch or inch and half small in the... Read More waist. Definitely recommend.

February 24, 2021

Good Fit - Great zipped pockets

The zipped pockets work well and valuable. Solid design, fit and quality fabric. Strong. Secure. Style.

January 20, 2021

Not bad, but very specific

I received these as a gift. They fit a bit tight through the calf and thigh. Im a fairly athletic build. Just to the point where they restrict motion a bit more than I like. The slash zipper pockets seem a bit unnecessary and fiddly, but the mid-leg pocket is surprisingly roomy and lined with soft fabric. I wouldnt say dont buy them, but make sur... Read Moree theyre the right pant before you invest.

December 27, 2020

A++

A++ quality and fair price

December 26, 2020

Best slim-fitting, durable, light-stretch hiking pants I've found.

I like Patagonia and tend to prefer their products but found they were missing a solid slim-fitting nylon blend pant with stretch. That is, until I found the Causey Pike pants. Super happy with them. Bought a pair for my brother. Pros - Dialed in slim fit: narrow leg taper and leg opening means there's not extra fabric flying around. This m... Read Moreeans the pants look smart both on and off the trail. - Zippered pockets offer confidence while adding minimal bulk. - 5% is perfect stretch. Other brands go crazy trying to sell how stretchy their hiking pants are. It's a gimmick. Too much, and the pants will get stretched-out and drapey over time as well as be less durable given my impression is nylon is stronger than spandex. Too little stretch, of course, and the pant is too resistive of motion. 5% is right in the sweet spot. I'd say 3-8% is acceptable. Cons - I'd like to see a 29 waist offered -- why does the product jump fro 28 to 30? :( - I'd like to see a few additional colorways. Can we get a grayish sage green?

December 24, 2020

Weird fit

I ordered the 31 first because that is my size. Fit awesome everywhere except the waist, which was crazy tight. I've been looking for slim fit hiking pants for ever and thought I finally found them! So returned them for 32 waist. The waist now fits perfect, but the rest of the pant is now saggy and baggy like all other so-called slim fit hikin... Read Moreg pants. Darn it.

December 11, 2020

Runs small around waist

I bought for my 35years old husband . His start gain weight 135 lb 62 now . Comfortable to wear breathable wear to retail work .

December 8, 2020

Beyond slim

I bought these to use as urban commuter pants: to the gym, to yoga, etc. They are slim! My disappointment comes because of that. Even though there is a zippered hem with a gusset they are too slim to pull on over sneakers let alone hiking boots. I mean whats the point? I had to take my shoes off, put the pants on, and repeat the process when I got ... Read Moreto the gym. The zippered hems are kind of superfluous unless you want to leave them open and flare out over your shoes. Otherwise they dont really make sense because they dont open up enough. A fuller leg and more gusset would have helped.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

Thanks for the review! The leg opening does get a bit bigger with each size you go up, if you're interested in exchanging the pair you have, feel free to start that [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 30, 2020

Love the zippers!

Love the cuff zippers so important for biking and climbing. Make all zipper pockets, so important when moving, crashing, falling. Move the zip pocket in the back to the Right side.

September 30, 2020

Odd Fit

Im 6' and 150lbs- a slim guy with skinny legs. I usually prefer slim fit clothes so I was excited about these as the other reviews said they are slim. Well, they are slim in the waist (almost too tight at a 32, for a guy who usually wears 31), but as another review said, they get oddly baggy under the pelvis, above the knee. I think it's ... Read Morethe side zipper that pushes out the fabric? I guess I could recommend them to someone who has a really slim waist, but thick legs. I returned them.

June 21, 2020

Versatile

Ive worn these stretchy, lightweight pants on numerous day hikes and multi-day hikes. They are very versatile, in terms of the temperature range that they cover: they are good up to 60 degrees alone and can go well below freezing with lightweight long underwear. They fit a niche above soft shell pants but below shorts weather. The fit is excellent,... Read More albeit a bit slim, although no problems with binding or pinching on athletic moves on the trail. Build quality appears to be very good, although I havent used them Long enough to judge overall durability. I liked them so much that I bought several pair.

February 20, 2020

Junkless Trunk Required

I think the _upper part_ of your Men's pants (both the Causey Pike and the Quandary (both converting and non) should be cut a little more generously. As your customers likely trend a little more active, I'd wager to say that they might either be a bit slimmer than average and at least not suffer from Flatass Syndrome. The room in the legs... Read More _below the whole pelvis_ was good on pants with a 32 waist, but above that was way too tight. The 32s were a bit, um, "SHOWY around the bathing suit area," yet 33s were baggy overall to a degree that wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped. I think your patterns/sizing should be a half-size larger pelvis volume for a given leg volume would have been optimal. I'm interpreting a few of the other reviews as saying the same thing. I really wished these fit as they look like the jam! HMU if you redesign them to fit better.

November 21, 2019

Stretch Won't Overcome Tight

I bought a 34 waist as I always do for shorts and pants. I am 6'2" 182 lbs and a 34 waist forever (or at 60 years old it just seems like forever). These trousers were the perfect length but tight in the waist, seat, thighs, calves and all intermediary spaces. By comparison I have to wear a belt to hold up the last cargo shorts that I boug... Read Moreht from Patagonia. Maybe the trousers suit a more youthful structure, but they would have to have a lot more stretch to be comfortable scrambling over any terrain. I am down the $5 to return them.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you and appreciate your feedback. Since you were not satisfied with the fit, we are glad to hear these on on their way back to us. As far as the $5 label, we've sent you an email about this and are happy to waive that charge.

November 15, 2019

Check sizes

Great pants, but waist size is a little n the small side for a 36" waist.

September 13, 2019

Great pants but fits very small

Pants are great, slimmer tapered modern fit. Think something like Nike Tech Fleece. Materials are great, and love the pocket positioning. That being said, the waist is WAAAAY small. For reference I wear a size 34 or 35 waist depending on brand. I got a size 36 with these to be on the safe size and I can barely button them. I sized up but it wasn&#x... Read More27;t enough.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with sizing on these and appreciate you taking the time express your feedback. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or try a size 38, please [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) and let us know.

September 2, 2019

Exactly what I thought

Breathable light weight and stretchy. Great for those staircases in the northeast

June 15, 2019

No Substitute for Discontinued GI-II or GI-III

Found these too slim and tight, crotch too short, not a comfortable fit. Bring back the classic GI-II or GI-III, designs that stood the test of time.

May 8, 2019

Great pants!

Terrific product, high quality, great fit.

May 21, 2018

Good looking pants

+ elastic fabric for hiking (but not enough for climbing),big side pocket - black fabric accumulate dust very fast,belt loose quick (plastic detail not hold sling well)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches