burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp? Canvas 5-Pocket Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 112 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp? Canvas 5-Pocket Pants - Regular

4.3/5
True To Size
August 24, 2022

TOO HEAVY

Nice pockets in men's pants...deep and abundant! I added suspenders to make them almost an overall. HOWEVER, THEY WERE JUST WAY TOO HEAVY.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2022

Hi Ann! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the weight of the pants. We appreciate the feedback and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 21, 2022

Broken in on the First day of wear

These are very comfortable as far as material goes. Not too hot for summer wear and warm enough for winter wear. The waist are small. I normally wear 36 waist and this fits like a 34.5. The length is ok but man there is A LOT of room in the legs (very baggy). Not sure who would wear this big through the legs.

May 13, 2022

great hemp!

I love them, wear every day so comfortable! I ajusted the waist an there perfect!

May 7, 2022

Great durable comfortable pants

I build recreational trails and love these pants as they are sturdy, comfortable and provide great personal protection in bush and last a long time. On another note, please bring back the the baggy tights they were super and really miss them.

March 31, 2022

Gets the job done

I really enjoy the material used in this garment. Pockets are deep, waist is comfortable, only gripe is there a tad long when it comes to the length but overall, these pants are legit.

March 30, 2022

Exactly what I wanted

I have the double knee pants but wanted something that I could wear indoors when playing with my kids and to the playground etc. These are great and exactly what I needed them to be. Two small kids means I spend a lot of time on the floor both inside and out and my pants take a beating. After a month they still Look new.

March 28, 2022

Built for work

Bought these pants last January for my job as a Stone Mason. I only bought one pair and I can honestly say Ive worn this one pair of pants everyday for over a year of work. Usually I wear them 5 days straight sometimes 6 days without a wash. Only got one tear in it from a saw ( close one ). However, they made it 13 month until I developed a tear in... Read More the knee. Granted these arent double walled knee pants. They dont really hold ball sweat smells or 2 stroke gas smells, stains usually come out. Great pants.

March 23, 2022

Tough yet soft work pants

Hemp is such a great material for clothing worn by folks who do physical work. These pants are strong and the cut is a little loose to allow ease of movements. I expect to wear them for years.

March 21, 2022

Need catagory called: working

Loose fit, bought blue and wear well. Snagged different color, way looser, non binding for folks that work. Maybe not good for vlogging, hipsterring or basement lounging. Nice when jeans too restrictive.

March 19, 2022

Really weird sizing

These pants look awesome and feel even better, my only problem is that the sizing is so weird. Normally work wear runs large but these run large in the legs but not the waist. So the whole bottom half is super baggy yet the waist runs a whole size smaller? I would imagine being a true to size waist length wouldn't be hard to accomplish. Sucks ... Read Morebecause other than that these pants are great, hopefully they get the sizing issue figured out.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas 5-Pocket Pants - Regular. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

March 17, 2022

Great Pants

Very well made and super comfortable

March 16, 2022

soft and flexible

I was excepting them to be stiff and rough until they were washed a few times.

March 16, 2022

Wider legs

Great material and the waist is true to size, similar to other Patagonia pants. The legs are a bit wider than a tailored or slim fit pant. More of a regular or straight cut.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Trey! Like most of our Workwear line, these pants are a "relaxed" fit to allow for great range of motion.

March 15, 2022

Love the fabric

I bought this pair after wearing a blue pair for a few months. I love the super substantial fabric. It feels a little stiff in a good way, but very comfortable. They feel like they will last a very long time. If, or when they wear out, I will order another pair.

March 14, 2022

Workwear Fan

The workwear line is a beast!! The pants are beefy but in a comfortable way If you hit the gym a lot these pants are full cut and allow your lower body to breathe

March 11, 2022

Yep

Nice hemp pants, tough and we'll made.

February 27, 2022

Breathes nice in the south

The hemp stretches out a lot and then the fit it too loose.

February 22, 2022

Solid Pants

Love these for my everyday grab pants, active lifestyle and love to get my hands dirty make these pants a good fit for my level of wear-on gear.

February 13, 2022

Really nice fabric - generous cut in seat

I like these pants. The fabric is great. The cut is very generous in the seat and thighs - a bit too generous for my body. Bruce Springsteen said his father had the legs and butt of a rhinoceros. These pants are cut for a guy like him. The pockets are really deep. My rating is 5 for fabric and 3 for cut/fit. Overall 4.

February 3, 2022

Great work and casual pants

Robust, fits well on my hips. Generous around my thighs but not overly so. My gal likes them!

January 15, 2022

32 waist is more like a 26/28 waist

Bought my first two pairs of these pants last year. Initially thought they were way too baggy, but learned to live with and love them. They are quite baggy -Iike 90s Carhartt carpenter pants baggy - but conversely theyre durable AF, that is for sure! First two pairs from last year are 32x30 and fit fantastically. So I bought three more of the same... Read More pantsbut now the waist is so tiny they barely fit over my cheeks. The button is a good 6 from being able to fasten! Family got a good chuckle at that. Im 61, 170 lbs, work in construction just so folks have an idea of sizing. Looks like a 32 waist would need to order a 36 waist, but this might be like clown-pants baggy. Freaking comfortable and durable work pants though when the size is close. They blow Kuhls out of the water for durability and comfort.

January 14, 2022

Pilled pretty badly after one wash

I washed it on cold for the first time and it pilled really badly. Like, REALLY badly. They went from looking brand new to pants that look like I found em at a thrift store. This is kinda sad, because they felt really high quality. They fit amazing and I love the color, but it's kind of disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hello Cole! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the way the pants pilled after the first wash. Pilling can occur after extended use and time and we typically encourage our customers to use a sweater stone to remove it. That said, the pants shouldn't pill up so badly after one wash following our care instructions So, we'd consider this a warranty issue, and we'd be happy to offer some assistance. We've reached out to you directly with further guidance!

January 1, 2022

Thick amazing work hemp pants

These pants are heavy duty well made and perfect for a hard days work. They run long and the sit high on the waist almost touching my belly button. They are baggie in the legs . I normally wear slim fit polyester trail/adventure for work. So its probably just me getting use to a larger size in the legs. But besides these minor personal adjustments ... Read More:) I love these pants. I was working in the high desert through the night doing Electrical work. Temps dropped too 15 degrees 15 miles winds. These pants save my butt!!!

December 29, 2021

Great fit and comfort

Great fit and comfort

December 29, 2021

Larger than I expected

The quality of the pants is excellent. I expect these trousers to last many years. My only complaint that they run much larger in size than I expected. That combined with the heavy fabric make it difficult to keep them up on my slim waist. I'm actually considering using suspenders with these pants.

December 27, 2021

Tough and Comfortable

These pants hold up to a good deal of abuse. They are also more comfortable than my favorite pair of jeans.

December 20, 2021

No 35's

As with all of the Work Wear line, it runs a bit large (by design) and a bit heavy compared to other brands of the same style. I do not fit a 34 or 36 so I will unfortunately not be able to own a pair. If you normally wear a 35, you're SOL.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

We're sorry that the size you need is not available. This feedback helps as we grow the Workwear line, so thank you for your review!

December 7, 2021

The Best

This is my first pair and the best work pants I've ever bought.

November 16, 2021

Love these pants

I am a farmer who works hard and my pants need to work hard as well. Have worn carhartts for the last 30 years. LOVE the way these Patagonia pants feel. Love the fabric. Want to wear them every day. Wish they had a pocket on the side for a cell phone. Can't drive tractor with a phone in a back pocket.

November 13, 2021

Super comfortable

These pants are super soft and very comfortable. I wear them all the time. I ordered a 34 which were too tight but the 36 is very roomy.

November 4, 2021

Comfortable

Looks and feels great to me

October 11, 2021

Good pants

Very nice material and fit. Only complaint I have is the leg openings are very loose. I can almost get both legs into one pant leg. I still like them though.

October 6, 2021

Could be the best

What works for me is the comfort when it isnt hot out. What doesnt work is the way the front of pants drag your legs as you move which makes them not so nice when weather is hot and your legs are sticky, the pants grab the thighs and knee areas. If the front of pants could be leveraged away from legs or decrease the attachment, the pants would be m... Read Morey hands down favorites.

Response from Patagonia
October 12, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Eric. We'll pass it along to the design team.

September 30, 2021

Super Comfy

I love Patagonia hemp. Very soft, tough as nails, looks good, feels good.

September 25, 2021

Strange fit, way different than described

The fit is described as roomy above the knee and tapered leg. I had exactly the opposite experience. I ordered down a size from 34 to 33 because reviews said they run big. I usually fit into a 33 or 34. I couldnt button the 33 and could barely pull them on over my hips. The legs, on the other hand, were cut huge below the knee, and billowed like a ... Read Morepair of too-big boot-cut jeans. Very strange and confusing. The fabric and construction are superb and I really wish they were a comfortable and attractive cut. The search for some functional, stylish pants that dont wear out too quickly continues.

September 25, 2021

Great pants!

The attention to detail and comfort in a pair of pants is a exactly what I was looking for. Additionally they are not skinny jeans!!!

September 22, 2021

No joke work pants

These are the real deal, very durable but still comfortable work pant. Run a little big on size, and need a belt because they hang a little heavy, but worth it for the protection they provide.

September 17, 2021

Heavy duty

I purchased these to begin moving away from carhartt pants in search of something more durable and long lasting. The one thing I do not like about these iron forge pants is they are baggy. I am just old enough to remember by older brother having a pair of JNCO jeans but not old enough that I had a pair. These pants make me think Im wearing those JN... Read MoreCO jeans. I would have bought several more pairs of the iron forge had they not been so baggy. I am currently waiting on cooler weather to really try them out, however I have worn them in the cool mornings and I do like them.

September 12, 2021

Amazing Alternative To Jeans!

This pair of pants feels thick, but amazingly soft and still cool. They feel like wearing your favorite pair of well worn jeans that are still brand new! Extremely durable and slick look. They have a slick look that makes them have a professional look with extreme durability. I would highly recommend and in fact will be purchasing a second pair

September 4, 2021

Very Big

Had to return due to the size being much larger. Especially in the waist.

September 3, 2021

Heavy duty

Bought some 38 and now 36, great for choring around yard, hiking. Loose and non binding fit, super relaxed. So far taking a beating, real comfortable till end of day. Going to last a long time, love them

September 3, 2021

Relaxed fit was available on sale

The waist was 38, I measured. The length was way past 32. They were dragging on the floor. These pants were never going to fit me unless I gained 40 pounds and cut 3 or 4 inches from the pant legs. Nicely made and would have been used for 5 years or more.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hi Robert, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the pants weren't the right fit. We appreciate the feedback as its how we improve products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 6, 2021

Tough and comfortable

Very durable, stands up to the rigors of hours in my woodshop. On top of that they are comfortable for all day wear in the Arizona summer!

August 2, 2021

weird fit

pockets flared out, odd cut around hips and crotch.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

We're so sorry that these pants didn't work for you William. They are gusseted in the crotch to allow for more movement when working. Please feel free to return them for something more suitable.

July 17, 2021

Hemp work pants

Much better quality than thought. Amazing price for these pants, even the Worn are in great shape.

July 1, 2021

These Are The Pants!

It's hard to convey how much I love these pants. The pockets are the perfect pockets that you didn't even know you wanted, which will hold anything from a cellphone to a medium channel lock pliers and four wrenches. They are both seemingly impervious to outside insults and incredibly comfortable from the get-go. They also last and last.

June 29, 2021

They don't run large, they run HUGE - like clown huge.

Fabric is awesome, crazy comfy, could wear forever if they cam even close to fitting. The fit is like the early-2000's Carhartts that we wore in construction. Clown pants big and baggy. I wear a 32"/33" waist and a 32" inseam at 6'1, 170 lbs. I ordered the 33" waist with 30" inseam. The waist is, honestly, a 36&qu... Read Moreot; at least. They are massive. The inseam, even at the 30" "short" inseam, will have to have a at least a few inches hemmed off to not step on them. Boot cut, super wide at ankle. Not giving up because the fabric feels great, just have to find right sizing. Hopefully they shrink a TON in the dryer.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Hi Michael, we apologize for the odd sizing. If ever you feel that the fit just won’t work for you, please do not hesitate to make a return or exchange, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 16, 2021

Hemp fabric feels good

After a year of working from home I was ready for some new trousers. I wanted something I could wear at work or at play, and fit well. I especially like the rugged yet soft nature of the fabric. I got a pair of 32s but might even try a 31 because of the relaxed fit.

June 15, 2021

Great comfortable pair of jeans, got them for work to replace carpenter style jeans.

20 years or so of wearing carpenter style jeans for plumbing, most all brands will fit a 9" torpedo level. These will not, side thigh pocket has too small of an opening for items with a profile wider than an inch. Fits pencils and markers!

June 14, 2021

Nice but strange butt

Nice material, doesnt need to be washed a dozen times like Carhartt to become comfortable. Only strange thing is the cut is apparently for a much larger than average rear considering the waist size and thighs. Very deep pockets are much appreciated. Almost forgot that feature.

June 13, 2021

Durable and flexible

I like the pants. They are comfortable, durable, and made from hemp. The pants prove that hemp is a quality material for clothing.

May 20, 2021

iron forge hemp 5 pocket

These pants run very large. I wear 34 waist and 32 inseam normally. Returned 34's for 33 waist. Helped some but still larger than I would like. The legs are way too long. I like the pants so my sweetie is going to hem them up.

May 15, 2021

My favorite pants

I loved these pants so much I bought several more pairs of them in different colors. Only wished they offered the dark black denim color without the double knees. If they offered those, I'd buy them also. Simply LOVE these pants. I'm sold on industrial hemp for clothing.

May 14, 2021

Alternative to Jeans

Great fit and feel to these pants. Roomy pockets. Fifth pocket holds phone securely. Heavy weight - good work pants or cold weather hiking.

May 12, 2021

Very well made pants. Excellent quality overall

These pants are soft and comfortable. The feel on my skin is smooth and flexible. The fabric is an excellent weight. Very breathable and well sewn. The overall pattern and fit is loose fitting and very well designed. Color dyes are great. The pockets are all well made with heavy liner material to wear long , stay together.

May 6, 2021

Roomy... Too roomy?

Had to return them. I've had a lot of success with the 36 from Patagonia, but I was swimming in these. Got the 34, which fit great in the seat, but were super tight on the waist. If you had a 35, I'd be in heaven! Love the material!

April 30, 2021

N/A

So far so good, comfortable fit. Definitely recommended!!@

April 30, 2021

Loose, comfy, durable seeming pants

I'm 6' even and around170, kind of a thin build, they fit well for knocking around. The fit is pretty much like 32x32 Carhartts (identical in the waist, a touch shorter in the leg), the pockets are nice, the fabric is comfy, and I've worn them every day I could since I got them. Awesome pants. Only one annoyance and that was when ord... Read Moreering - the sizing system is asinine. After wasting time looking around the website for fit info and agonizing about what size to get the "32 medium" pants came with a tag that said "32x32" nice and big and plain. That would have sure been convenient to know up front. How about not being so coy and just say the size?

Response from Patagonia
April 30, 2021

We appreciate your feedback on our sizing system, we'll pass the word along to our Web Team. In the meantime, feel free to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/), we're able to provide measurements on all gear in all sizes.

April 29, 2021

More I wear them, the more I like them

Only fault I've found in these pants is the opening on the lower right side pocket is a half inch too narrow, limiting what you can put in and making difficult to dig anything out. Each wear they seem to get softer, and I love that. Re-reading the description, I encourage you to disregard any mention of "tapered leg"; these are as st... Read Moreraight as you see them in the photos.

April 26, 2021

Nothing fancy

Just an easy going, causal everyday pant. Clean lines but mostly chore pants, loose fit is excellent for chores. Exactly what i wanted, what i wanted them for. Class over flash

April 25, 2021

Super comfortable

Great fit, not binding anywhere. Soft hand and extra belt loops a welcome add.

April 14, 2021

My favorite pants

These pants are amazing. Tough as nails, far better for the environment than cotton, and they look good to boot. The waist does seem to run a little small. I am usually a 34, and while these pants fit in a 34, its just barely there. Its probably a good idea to go up one size. The waist stretches a little, but not as much as jeans do. Some people ... Read Morehave said these are too baggy, but I disagree. I usually wear slim pants, but with the weight and weave of the pants, I think they look great with the cut they have. My wife agrees, and she far prefers slimmer pants on most occasions. Please dont ever change a thing about these or discontinue them. Im in love. I just need to order a few more pairs and theyll be the only pants I wear. I never knew I could love a pair of pants this much. Sustainable materials, fair trade sewn, indestructible, and backed by Patagonias guarantee - I couldnt ask for more.

April 4, 2021

Comfortable

I like the feel and drape of the fabric. The pants are easy to move in. The front pockets are a little to deep for me. I would like a cell phone pocket on the upper side of the leg.

April 2, 2021

Design - nearly every perfect

This is my second pair of these excellent work pants. Super durable, very comfortable and move well when contorting while working. I use these while doing metal sculpture- a side benefit is they shed sparks and slag really well without burning or singeing. Only critique would be the back pockets. Making them a touch smaller and not having them sit... Read More so low would be better for both moving/squatting and sitting when they have stuff in them.

March 30, 2021

Normally wear 32; I like the durability

Bought both colors but had to send the blue one back for repair after less than 6 months wear/ pocket liner self destructed. Notice that blue is no longer being offered .

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2021

Hey Darryl, we're sorry you had to send these in for repair so soon after purchasing them. In the future, you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) items under our warranty if you purchased them within a year.

March 23, 2021

super dork

While I love the idea of hemp clothing, this particular product was a "must return" item as soon as I put it on. It ran large and due to the cut and dimensions of the pants looked even larger. They remind me of the pants that stilt walkers wear at a circus. The fabric was interesting: tough yet flexible. But the look of the pants was less... Read More than desirable. I understand the need for work pants to be roomy. These pants went overboard with that concept. Compliments to the Patagonia staff who was very helpful in finding a suitable replacement in another style which I like alot.

March 22, 2021

Heavy Duty!

The pants are very comfortable and will be long wearing. They are certainly well made of heavy duty material. They would get a perfect 10 from me if the zipper were only an inch longer and perhaps a bit heavier duty to match the rest of the garment!

March 22, 2021

Very strong and durable

These pants are soft and comfortable yet very strong and durable. They are much thicker than standard pants but I knew that when I purchased them. These are great for standing up to heavy work especially outdoors.

March 21, 2021

Cozy shop pants

Generous size but hangs on my body well. Definitely heavy duty for hard use. Hemp fabric is softening up nicely. I love them, went back a bought a second pair.

March 21, 2021

heavy duty

The pants are well made and the waist size is true. The relaxed fit is somewhat overly relaxed and seems to have more extra fabric than is needed to be "relaxed". The only real complaint I have is that the small utility pocket on the right hip has such a small opening that it makes it hard to actually use it. I can just barely push my iPh... Read Moreone 8 through the opening.

March 20, 2021

Good pants

Good pants

March 20, 2021

Kind of heavy

I had to return these pants because they were so heavy. I wanted to use them for outdoor use but they are better suited for construction. I need durability and protection from heavy vegetation. I know that hemp is very durable and I previously had another different model hemp pant that I enjoyed. I exchanged for a climbing pant.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Iron Forge Pants. You're correct, these pants were built to be tough and durable, which could be why they felt like they were on the heavier side. Our Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Bib Overalls could be a better option, since the weight is distributed by the shoulder straps, [check them out](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-bib-overalls-regular/55050.html?dwvar_55050_color=COI&cgid=root).

March 20, 2021

Hard wearing

Am 6'3, 230. pants are 36* 32. They fit well dont run thou

March 20, 2021

runs more than small

I bought a 34 waist, but the pants were really about a 29 or 30. Nothing else mattered. Wasted my time and return postage for nothing. I could understand if they were like a 33 or a 35, but these were ridiculous.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Robert. We're so sorry to hear you had this experience with sizing. We've passed along your feedback to the Design Team who constantly work to improve our gear's fit, performance, quality, and durability. In the future, we're always happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with returns or exchanges. Feel free to reach out next time so we can better assist you!

March 10, 2021

Way too big in the legs

These pants were way too big in the thighs and legs.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Pants, they are a relaxed fit so they can be tricky to size into. We can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for specific sizing information. We are certainly sorry to hear they did not meet your expectations, as always you are welcome to return any item that does not work out for you.

March 8, 2021

Still on the fence

The quality of these is the usual great stuff you'd expect from Patagonia, but I'm still a little on the fence regarding the fit. They fit true to size at the waist, but are a little long and baggy through the legs and crotch. I'm assuming that's intentional, but this all feels baggier than the other Patagonia hemp canvas pants ... Read Morethat I have (the ones with the reinforced knees. So I'm still on the fence. I want to love them like I do my other Workwear gear, but time will tell . . .

March 2, 2021

Best pair of work pants

Fit well. Favorite pants. Enjoy this style more than the double knee. Enjoy this pocket style more as well. All around great-from fabric weight to color. I wear them around town, and working too.

February 28, 2021

Great Work Pants

Pants fit a little tight for the size indicated (compared to competitors). However, they are plenty comfortable and roomy in the legs. They wear like iron, much better than jeans. I will be replacing my Levi's with these pants. They remind me of the old Patagonia Ironworker Pants from the 1980's (I am dating myself now!). Highly reccomend... Read Moreed!

February 26, 2021

Very Comfortable

Very comfortable. I expect these to be plenty durable. Added to my closet full of Patagonia clothing!

February 2, 2021

For Everyday

Bought these as a gift for my son in college. He really likes the style, color and comfort of the pants. He usually wears and I bought a size 31/32 but ended up returning for a 30/32.

February 1, 2021

Better Than Blue Jeans

I'm a desk jockey and a jeans wearer and I love these pants. Really nice deep pockets plus bonus fifth pocket. Good weight to the fabric itself, and eco friendly hemp instead of cotton. Comfortable relaxed fit. Patagonia quality. I hope they keep this style around, I'll definitely own more!

January 26, 2021

Rugged with great pockets

Fabric is rugged, the fit is comfortable, legs are loose. Pockets are ample. The fifth pocket, on the right thigh, comfortably fits a pair of sunglasses in their case plus more. My iPhone 11 easily fits in the thigh pocket, but I prefer the left rear pocket; its easier to get to it there.

January 25, 2021

Great work pant!

The pants are well constructed and durable. They fit well and allow for freedom of movement when working. My one suggestion for "improvement" would be to make the side pocket about 1/4-1/2 inch wider. I like to put my phone in the side pocket and tools in the back pocket rather than the way they should go. The side pocket is just a bit to... Read Moreo narrow to accommodate my phone (and I don't have a bigger phone). I still love the pants!

January 8, 2021

Comfort and style

I originally ordered 31x32 but returned for the 30x32 as they seemed just a little too big/baggy. I received the smaller size yesterday and I am already wearing them all of the time. Soft, comfortable, and wearable right out of the package. Love the fit, color, and feel.

January 2, 2021

Very rugged great looking pant.

A great, comfortable pant for working - especially out of doors. For me the pant partnered with a Patagonia t-shirt, communicates that I love the out of doors and the rugged clothing required.

December 19, 2020

Blue runs smaller than the brown color.

Hubs has the brown, ordered another pair in the same size in the blue. Way too small. Ugh. Great pants, sizing, not so much.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Hi there! Thanks for your feedback. Sizing should be the same for an item across all colorways, so it's possible you received a defect. We just emailed you to further assist with this issue.

December 7, 2020

Love these pants

I love these pants. They were tight at first but you just have to break them in for a day then they are perfect after that all the time. Even after washing a bunch. It's nice there is actually room in the legs, its impossible to find pants that arent skinny pants these days. I love these, they look like classic work pants from the 50s.

November 17, 2020

Great pants

Comfortable, not slim fit, deep pockets, well made!

November 17, 2020

accurate waist and hip fit, lots of leg room

I've wanted to try these for a long time - I'll wear them for working on a boat project, mainly. The waist size was accurate for me - the pants fit well in the waist and hip. I usually buy a 32 length and shrink to fit, but I don't think these will shrink much, so I should have bought a 30 length. I like a lot of legroom, but these a... Read Morere on the baggy side. I'll have them shortened so I don't feel like one of the seven dwarfs. The fabric is flexible and requires no break-in. The fabric surface is a bit coarse and feels a little abrasive.

November 10, 2020

Rugged but comfy

These pants feel like they can take a beating and won't tear or puncture when bushwhacking yet they are not too stiff and are very comfortable in all positions. There is a little stretch in the fabric. Pockets are good-sized although I can't fit my phone (with case) in the side pocket.

October 2, 2020

Comfy fabric yet confusing 5th pocket

Great fabric but runs pretty large. I had to exchange pants and go smaller in the waist and inseam. Seems baggier than necessary for work. The real bummer is the 5th pocket is very small and doesnt fit my iPhone 11. Its even small for accessing pliers, etc. I read reviews prior to purchase that said the 5th pocket did fit iPhones and thus am disapp... Read Moreointed it doesnt. Hopefully I didnt get a mis-stitched pair. I chose Patagonia because of the hemp fabric but my Carharts are more functional and a better fit. Ill stick to buying Patagonia in person as I find I am returning or exchanges for new sizes / styles.

September 20, 2020

comfy and robust

these 5 pocket jeans are comfy an robust! Patagonia products always seem to be sized appropriately. I really enjoy wearing them. 2 comments. It will be interesting to see how these jeans react to rain! It seems like they might get heavy and dry slow. I give them 5 stars for obvious quality and fit for sure!

September 7, 2020

Good pants

Very comfortable, good fit, nice large pockets.

July 13, 2020

Great

Pants fit and feel great ! On and off different golf course equipment all day - plenty of room to move in comfort !

July 12, 2020

Great

Pants fit and feel great ! On and off different golf course equipment all day - plenty of room to move in comfort !

July 9, 2020

Sweet fabric, runs big

Fabric on these pants is awesome. I basically want to live in them when it's anything other than super hot. However, the sizing is huge/generous. I'm 6'2, 32" waist and exchanged a 32" long for the 30" long. They're still a little big on the waist. I could probably wear a 28/29" for a more modern fit.

June 29, 2020

Super Comfortable

I'm a huge fan of the ironforge fabric; I have two pair of the double-knee work pants and just love them. These are a great complement to those - the side seam pocket is perfect for my iPhone, and they are very very comfortable right out of the package. Mine didn't shrink even a little. Please Please Please Patagonia make a slim fit versi... Read Moreon of these; my wife won't let me replace the rest of my jeans with these because she wants the slimmer profile.

June 24, 2020

zipper

Zipper is way to "wimpy" light gauge for workwear. I expect it to fail much sooner than a heavier zipper.

May 4, 2020

Tough and soft

I'm 5'11", 165 pounds. I bought a 34" waist with a regular length. I do use a belt. The length is a tad bit too long for me, but it's find with shoes on. The fabric is tough, yet soft. I wash them on warm and dry on medium and they haven't shrunk in the waist, or length. They definitely have a work pants look, but le... Read Moress so than the design with the funny back pockets and double-layer knee/shin area. I like the look of these a lot. I wish they were made in the Dark Ash color. I would definitely recommend them.

April 7, 2020

Wear them all the time

Great pants. I use them for woodworking, and basically everything. Forced myself to put them in the wash today. The 5th pocket fits my iPhone XS perfectly.

March 27, 2020

Nice jeans off fit

Love these jeans had a slight issue with the wear as they measured out to be bigger than a 32 I bought. Compared to another pair of Patagonia pants also in 32 they were off by about 11/2 -2 overall great quality just be careful when buying.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Andrew! Thank you so much for your feedback on the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas 5 pocket pants. We very much value your input. These pants are from our Work Wear line which has a relaxed fit in order to accomodate room tools, knee pads, etc while on the job. Feel free to reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to discuss measurements and fit options. You are welcome to [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a better fit!

March 6, 2020

Amazing Material, So-So Fit

The material is amazing, extremely comfortable right away, and after owning these for six months I can say more durable than the cotton equivalent. I am 6' tall and 175 lbs, all of my best fitting pants are 32 x 32, I purchased these in a size 32 and find the waste to be about 1" too small.

December 18, 2019

No better pants for physical work

Just like the title says.

November 23, 2019

Like the design but the sizing is off

I like the design and the pockets, but the sizing was off, the 34" waist I ordered measured 36.5". I compared them to two other pairs of 34 Patagonia work pants (iron forge double knee and steel forge) that I own, those are both labeled 34" and measure 34.5".

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

Hi Philip, we're sorry to hear that the sizing on the Iron Forge Hemp Pants was off. We think this may be a defect and would like to get a new pair out to you. We'll contact you privately to begin that process.

November 14, 2019

Have not received - have to wait until January to order.

I did order but there are no pants to send me so I cannot review then yet.

November 13, 2019

Winter wear supreme

This is the type of pants that I can wear 3 times and wash once. They are sturdy and warm, perfect for the first blast of winter weather.

November 7, 2019

Bobs pants

I like the fabric I think they are well made They are too baggy Especially in the butt

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the pants. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 29, 2019

Great everyday pants

The fit of these pants is what I appreciate the most. They have a bit more room in the hips and thighs then a pretty straight leg from the knee down. These and the Courdaroys are the only pants I can wear from Patagonia. They are a heavier weight fabric but they look very casual to wear out and about.

October 15, 2019

Good quality and fit, but baggy

Waist and inseam are a great fit and they feel good, but when I look in the mirror it looks like I'm wearing clown pants. I don't mind a little relaxed fit, but it was too much of a street bum look for a 61 yr. old man. Overall quality top notch.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Thanks for the design feedback, Tim! If you decide to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) them, don't hesitate to reach out to us for assistance, as we're happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html).

September 27, 2019

Marvelous high quality drawers

Long time hemp fan and proponen going back more than two decades. I really appreciate the hand, overall performance, longevity and enhanced/ expanded temp comfort when wearing different hemp fabrics. I already own two pair of the double knee version of these. This particular pair of 5 pockets lands a tad more trim in a good way (little wonder, like... Read More a pair of jeans.) I’m a fan of the more spare design. And I definitely value and appreciate that they happen to offer deeper front and rear pockets than other Patagonia options have had the last few years. Relatively speaking, quite the square deal for what you get in today's market. Based on what I've experienced with the double knees... I’m fully confident that I'll see years of wear from these... and be fully pleased right the way through.

September 1, 2019

Great pants

Great pants! I have the lightweight double knee pants and love them. These are great also , they do wear a little bit bigger than the double knees though, but it’s perfect for a layer.

August 28, 2019

One pant to rule them all

The product manager for these pants deserves a big hug. I’ve been wearing the double knee hemp pants since they were introduced and have at least 300 days of hard use on them. I use them for work (farming and ranching), rock climbing and hunting. They really don’t need to be double reinforced because the hemp seems tough enough for any type of a... Read Morebuse yet is incredibly soft and flexible. The hemp performs better than canvas in blistering heat and cuts the wind better in the bitter cold winters. That’s why I’m so excited about these 5 pocket pants. They have all the benefits of the hemp while also looking like normal slacks. My wife thinks they are much more flattering than the double knees. The side pocket is large enough for my encased cell phone and is sewn in a way that keeps my phone secure even while doing handstands! As far as sizing goes, the waist is accurate but the length is a little long. I appreciate the length because I’m usually between sizes and these are as close to perfect that I’ve found. The 32 length seems closer to 33. To summarize: These are good looking, good fitting, well designed pants made from materials that together are strong as steel and as soft as kittens. The one pant to rule them all.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches