burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Iron Forge Hemp® 5-Pocket Pants - Short Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® 5-Pocket Pants - Short

4.5/5
Kinda Large
January 20, 2023

Tough and comfortable

These things are uber comfortable, fabric is a little boardy right out of the box but has softened considerably after a few washings. I really appreciate the small pocket on the right thigh--easy access to a phone even in a waterproof case while sitting and rowing in the boat. I expect many years of hard use on these.

January 11, 2023

The material is awesome

However they run large both ways. I wear 32-30 and they were more like a 34-32.

January 4, 2023

Soft and substantial

Fabric is soft and hefty without being bulky. Blocks wind, shrugs off wrinkles, and feels comfortable biking to work or sitting at a desk. Like the extra-deep front and back pockets and the conveniently placed phone pocket. Should last and look good for quite some time. Only negative was having to get them hemmed. I miss the old 30-inch inseam.

January 2, 2023

Way too big

I wear 35 in all of your pants. I thought after washing they would shrink to size. These seem more like 37 or 38s to me. And they are way longer than 30s too.

December 14, 2022

Nice but the size is off

The pants are constructed for robust use. The quality of the material and construction are solid. My only complaint is that I ordered a pair with a short inseam and it was quite long so I had to hem them as well.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2022

We're glad our relaxed fit workwear pants are working well for you and we're sorry that the actual inseam proved to be longer in reality compared to the 30.5" we designed. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 6, 2022

comfy pants

Time ago, I got some pants to work elsewhere. when I saw Patagonia makes this kind of pants too, I bought one to try. It never fails. It is so comfy and durable. I will work at my workshop at Bolivia wearing them daily.

December 3, 2022

Amazing quality and design

These have an amazing look and with a quality that actually has proven to last. I honestly use these five pocket pants as much as I can. As an alternative to sitting on my phone from putting it in my back pocket and or having difficulty accessing my phone from the front pocket, the fifth additional pocket on the lower right hand side has been an am... Read Moreazing way to access my phone.

November 26, 2022

Tough, well-made, smart-looking pants

I ordered these pants primarily for my volunteer work in a busy food pantry, two mornings a week. The work calls for durable clothing which can stand up to much reaching, bending and stretching as well as frequent brushes against wood warehouse-style pallets. In addition, volunteers need clothing that makes a good appearance since we interact with ... Read Morehundreds of food pantry clients and others who visit our facility. These 5-pocket pants fill the bill in every respect. In addition, they are a great alternate to jeans for casual wear. Highly recommended.

November 15, 2022

Not good for my body type

I ended up returning these pants as they did not work for my more husky build. These pants are designed to sit much higher on the waist then how I would like to ware them. For reference the back pockets are at my thigh level, not on my butt. I really believe in Patagonia's mission and want to spend my money with them, but unfortunately they ju... Read Morest don't make pants for my body shape.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2022

Hello Thor, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we're sorry to hear that these pants didn't work out for you. We'll make sure to pass along your feedback to our product team. You're welcome to send these back, and if you'd like measurements on another pair of pants, we'd be happy to provide those to you so you can check to see if they'd work. For garment measurements, connect with our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

November 12, 2022

Excellent for moving about the woods

Some observations 1. As advertised, the hemp fabric has very good moisture wicking properties and I was comfortable moving about the woods all day in 75F weather. They also dry quickly. 2. Unlike denim, they are amazingly quiet and works well for hunting. 3. They are not brush pants. You will get some small snags here and there. 4. The 35 waist si... Read Moreze was perfect but trousers legs long. Spend the money and get them hemmed. This also helps with air circulation.

October 31, 2022

There comfortable and warm for

There comfortable and warm for cooler temps

October 30, 2022

So comfortable

One of the most comfortable pair of pants I've worn. My ONLY criticism are the back pockets, they come to a point, which I can feel as I walk.

October 30, 2022

Comically Large from Knee Down

Pants came very quickly, and feel very sturdy. They are HUGE from the knee down. Im 67 inches tall and have an exactly 35 inch waist and they are cut more like a 36. The room in the thigh is great because I have some tree trunks, but they honestly just look stupid due to how big/baggy they are from the knee down even with work boots on. Guess I wil... Read Morel try to have them tailored, but unless you want to look like a carpenter from the 1920s I cant recommend these.

Response from Patagonia
November 3, 2022

Hi Christopher! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. The pants feature a relaxed fit so they do fit on the roomy side. That said, we'll share this feedback with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 30, 2022

Comfortable

These jeans fit well, wear well, and are comfortable. I would buy them again, but with hemp durability, I may not need to.

October 25, 2022

Super comfy, functional, and good lookn' pants

Iron Forge Hemp pants have a loose, roomy, unrestrictive fit that is extremely comfortable. They are durable, functional, and they look good. I'm a fan of the deep pockets. I went with the 'short' length version and am not disappointed - I was trodding on the cuffs of the standard length.

October 16, 2022

Wear em out or doing work

These work at the local pub or in the garden. They take all the dirt and slip and clean up ready for date night

October 9, 2022

Soft yet tough

I like how the pants feel thicker because that makes them feel durable. The pockets are also deep which is useful while working. The pants are comfortable and the stretch is awesome and they look nice.

September 27, 2022

The fit is almost perfect

I really love these pants the only thing I would like to see is a bit more tapering from knee to ankle,but other than that I would still be buying more. They feel like sweatpants and just don't wear out.

August 30, 2022

Nice pants, could be tweaked

These pants are roomy, but not overly baggy. I'm switching to these from Duluth pants because they are now making their pants super baggy - I could fit two of my legs into one of their pant legs. I'm hoping these Patagonia pants have the same wind breaking function at the firehouse fabric. If not, that would be a request I would make. I... Read More like that the front pockets are nice and deep so things will not fall out. I also appreciate the size of the rear pockets - very convenient when I need a third hand to hold an object temporarily. The fifth pocket is not deep enough. When you sit down, things fall out making it much less useful, which is a shame because that is a handy place for a pocket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches