Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight Synchilla® Snap-T™ Fleece Pants

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 51 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight Synchilla® Snap-T™ Fleece Pants

4.1/5
Kinda Large
April 13, 2021

Home Office

I have a home office on the lower level of our house. It is chilly here in the winter and these Synchilla pants are just the thing for sitting for extended periods of time and keeping warm. The extra leg length is great and does not allow cold to infiltrate into the feet and lower legs. I disagree with many of the reviews on these pants and would r... Read Moreecommend them after-ski relaxing or after any cold weather sport or hunting. I plan on buying other pairs in the future! Thank you Patagonia for Synchilla!

March 25, 2021

Drawstrings are better than a belt

The older version of these pants did not have a belt "buckle" on them, just simple drawstrings. They worked better and you could hardly tell it was present. The buckle, today, flaps noisily in the laundry and it's more difficult to use the pants as a soft pillow.

March 6, 2021

Super comfortable, warm and safe

I wear these pants a lot at home, the main reason I bought more pairs is for work on a commercial fishing trawler in AK. These pants are comfortable but more importantly they are safe to wear under emergency situations where survival suits and life rafts might become necessary. I have 4-5 pairs and will be replacing them eventually. Not sure how du... Read Morerable they are but expect similar wear and tear to polar tech products. On a 1-10 I say 10!

February 23, 2021

These are best remote work bottoms.

These fleece pants are super cozy and warm when I work on the lower level of our home. Love the firm's efforts for protecting large landscapes.

February 8, 2021

Decorative Belt

Very disappointed that the belt does not go all the way around. Whoever signed off on that decision should go back to designing clothes for toddlers. Sorry. My old pair of Patagonia fleece pants were amazing and lasted forever. Had high hopes for these, alas.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry the belt didn't work for you. You're always welcome to return them.

January 1, 2021

Yes, Can The Belt

Excellent material and fit...love 'em, except for the little belt and buckle on the front: safety hazard, nuisance, just unnecessary. Thanks.

December 29, 2020

Best lounge pants ever!

Id live in them if I could!

December 22, 2020

warm and comfortable

Very comfortable, excellent fit and stylish. Another great product of Patagonia!

December 15, 2020

Good for unheated house in Rockies

Improved over previous version with deeper front pockets. Good to lose the drawstring, but belt is purely decorative. I would prefer a shallower hip pocket for driving comfort.

December 12, 2020

Long, but super warm

I bought these because any company that offers an XXS must provide slim sizing. And I was right. They are obviously too long, but easy enough to cuff them. Super warm too. Exactly what I was looking for.

December 8, 2020

Functional, warm, and defective fleece material

With the reality of COVID and work from home, plus cooler fall weather, I bailed out of my cheap cotton warm-up pants and bought a pair of these fleece pants at my local Patagonia store. They served me so well that I soon bought a second pair so I could rotate back and forth. On the upside, the design works great for me: length in the legs easily ... Read Morecovers my ankles (I have shorter legs), covering my slippers/shoes with length to spare; relaxed but not baggy; strong elastic at the waist, making the belt rather unnecessary; and pockets when I run outside. On the down side, the fleece fabric on the black color started to pill and shed after a couple months of wear around the house and washing every couple weeks. This pilling/shedding was most pronounced at the top of the pants, around the hem and pockets. I started to find little pieces of black fleece laying on the floor all around my home. I thought a couple runs through the washer and dryer might solve this pilling problem, but things actually got worse the last few weeks. Fortunately, Patagonia's warranty is second to none: I took the pants back to my local store, showed staff the fabric issue, and they offered me a replacement pair or refund on the spot. They also encouraged me to write this review so the designers could keep an eye on this fabric issue, and you would know what you might experience. I went with a replacement - going with another color - rolling the dice in the hopes that this defective pair is just an outlier, especially since my second pair of the fleece pants does not exhibit this pilling/shedding problem. These fleece pants are worth a try; the design met all my criteria, except for the weird fabric pilling. Worse case, they shed and you have to return them. If this fabric issue is widespread, Patagonia can fix things down the road.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

We appreciated the heads up on the pilling with these pants. We'll be sure to keep an eye on it and if in the future the second pair you replaced the original ones with end up doing the same thing, please do let us know as that would be a quality control issue. If you're looking for some more cozy pants to add to your repertoire, check out [these](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-mahnya-fleece-pants/56666.html?dwvar_56666_color=FGE&cgid=root).

December 5, 2020

Way better then the womens synchilla sweat pants

First off, I bought the men's sweat pants because they're way thicker and of better quality than the women's synchilla sweatpants. The women's ones are AWFUL and do not keep me warm, but the mens are AMAZING. The fabric on these is thick and sooooo warm. I've worn them as a layer while I was fishing and snowshoe hiking last... Read More weekend, and they kept me so warm. I recommend buying the mens over the womens - I'm 56 and usually wear a size six jeans, the men's xs fits amazing! I do have really long legs so the extra length is nice!

November 23, 2020

Comfort and Warmth

Like an athletic pajama that warm for cool/cold outdoor activities. I use them when I play Platform Tennis and hiking/walking. A little long for my height. Wiuld be great if a shorter length was available

November 22, 2020

Poor Design; Too Large

I've been a "medium" in all of my pants from Patagonia for over 20 years. The medium was far too large; both in the waist and length. The waist belt adjustment is not functional as other reviewers have mentioned. These pants would be awesome, but I would tell my friends to pass for now.

November 13, 2020

Cozy

The front and back pockets are excellent. The pants did run a little long in the leg.

November 12, 2020

Super warm

Wore it on a cold days and was so warm and comfortable.

November 10, 2020

Super soft !!

I usually wear a medium but they were a little big and long The small is perfect LOVE them!!

November 6, 2020

Toasty warm, made from recycled polyester

Not many good options for nice fleece pants for women, so I bought these made for men. Ordered a S and XS and the XS fit great. I am 5'6" and 130 lbs, 56 years old. I like that they aren't very baggy, but still super comfortable with much give. Warmth is the best part. I have bought plenty of Patagonia for outdoor pursuits, but I con... Read Morefess that these are to wear indoors, while largely inactive in a cold house. I like the side pockets. The small 'belt' seems unnecessary, but not a big deal. And hooray for recycled polyester!

October 30, 2020

Not what I expected

I am 6'2 and around 150 lbs. I originally ordered a size large. They were so big on me that they were falling off my waist. I ordered a size down and still felt like they were big on me they were so long that I was stepping on them with my heel. Eventually, I ordered a small and they fit like I expected they were snug and didn't look bagg... Read Morey and the length is perfect for me. Besides the sizing difficulties, these pants are extremely warm and comfortable.

October 30, 2020

Downgrade

I have purchased the earlier version of this product and there is a significant difference in quality. The fabric is thinner and feels less durable. However, the biggest difference is the lack of a drawstring. It feels like Patagonia over-engineered the pants, the pants don't fit as well and the buckle system and lack of elastic cuffs make the... Read More pantsless adjustable to different sizes. The earlier version had the thicker fabric, better fit, and were all around perfect. These pants just feel like a poor attempt at redesigning something that was already well designed. All in all, I was disappointed in these pants design and construction, I expected better from Patagonia.

October 21, 2020

Love these pants, but want them offered in 100% polyester

I've been a loyal customer of the Synchilla pant since 2014. I love these pants for their excellent comfy fit and warmth. I honestly live in these pants on a daily basis since I'm working from home now. I'm ready to buy a new pair and notice the material is made out of 100% recycled polyester fleece. Although I firmly agree with the ... Read Moremoral and ethical reasons behind offering customers a 100% recycled option based on environmental concerns, I would love if Patagonia offered these pants in 100% polyester, as well for customers who prefer not to wear clothing from recycled plastic. I do not feel comfortable wearing recycled plastic from unknown origins and treatment processes around my private area on a daily basis. Origins of recycled plastic is often questionable and undergoes significant synthetic chemical treatments to be used in clothing. For these reasons, I do not want them against my body. Thanks Patagonia for considering my feedback.

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Synchilla Snap-T pants. We're happy to hear that they're comfy and warm for you. While we appreciate the suggestion, you won't find any extra additives or chemicals in recycled polyester than you would new polyester. In the process of repolymerization, everything is washed before it is turned back into yarn. We hope this helps! If you have any other questions about this, feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

October 2, 2020

Nice, but not your usual high standards

I have been rocking Patagonia gear for about 4 decades nows. Because I love the company values and ethic, for sure, but also because its just the best all around gear. With this purchase, however, for the first time, I'm disappointed. Sure, the pants are as warm and cozy as I would expect and they appear to be well constructed. But the fit is ... Read Moreoff. I have always worn an XL size in all Patagonia products and that's what I ordered. They were huge. Way too long and way too large in the waist. So I returned them and got the L. They are the right length, but still too loose in the waist. Which would be ok of they still had the old drawstring design and could be cinched up. But the belt design only goes so tight. This seems to be a case where the designers, in an attempt to improve on something that was working well, actually made it worse. Conclusion: While still a good products, order small and lower your expectations.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on the sizing and the construction of the waist. We are sorry to hear that these still aren't a great fit. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, please feel free to and we can help with a refund or exchange.

September 23, 2020

Poor fit

The new synching system with the belt is poorly designed. I bought similar pants years ago when they had a drawstring and now I own the new design as well. In comparison, the pants feel less durable and are harder to fit. Unless the pants are too small on you they won't fit well, meaning in order for the pants to be secure around your waist th... Read Moree pants will be tight around your legs and too short. The belt needs to be longer and more effective or they need to put a drawstring back on their product. The durability also seems less than previous iterations, the fabric is comfortable and not too heavy, yet seems fragile. I buy from Patagonia regularly and trust their products, however, these pants came as a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

We're sorry to hear these pants have been a disappointment, but we appreciate your detailed feedback Blake! Note that your purchase is absolutely covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, and we're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with a return.

August 18, 2020

Oven Pants

Calling these "sweatpants" do not do them justice, they are way warmer, and extremely soft. The belt is a nice touch, and the pockets are a good size for carrying everyday items when running errands. A word of caution: consider ordering a size smaller than usual. I wear a medium for nearly everything (6ft, 160lb) and I returned a medium p... Read Moreair for a small. Glad I did, they fit perfect, and keep me super warm on cold nights or just lounging around the house. If you're thinking about getting a pair, just do it!

August 17, 2020

Oven Pants

Calling these "sweatpants" do not do them justice, they are way warmer, and extremely soft. The belt is a nice touch, and the pockets are a good size for carrying everyday items when running errands. A word of caution: consider ordering a size smaller than usual. I wear a medium for nearly everything (6ft, 160lb) and I returned a medium p... Read Moreair for a small. Glad I did, they fit perfect, and keep me super warm on cold nights or just lounging around the house. If you're thinking about getting a pair, just do it!

August 13, 2020

Amazing... with one major flaw

These are ALMOST the greatest fleece pants ever. I love them so much. BUT, the built in 'belt' is stitched into place on both sides of the clasp. So you maybe 1 inch of adjustment room, which is virtually worthless. Other Patagonia pants I have are far more adjustable. Sometimes I like them super snug, other I want them loose. Sometimes I... Read More need to tuck in my shirt or jacket or whatever. PLEASE change this and I will buy these forever. I think I have seen other comments to this effect. Fingers crossed that it gets through.

July 29, 2020

BRING OLD STYLE/CUT BACK

These just aren't the same. Drawstring, tapered cut, synched at the ankle ones you guys used to carry were MUCH better. More comfy and looked better on.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

We appreciate this feedback and are sorry to hear that the newer design isn't working as well for you. This is very helpful for us and our designers and please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) yours back if you decide you're not satisfied.

June 18, 2020

Not for me

They just were not what I was looking for. They felt clumsy I sent them back

April 21, 2020

Super Comfy, but miss the drawstring

Great fleece pants, perfect for those times when you really need to dedicate yourself to staying indoors. So comfy & lazy, a dream for the tush & thighs. Love the new open ankle cuff design, too, as it simply permeates the aesthetic of, "Hey, why try so hard? Just chill out, bro. Take a load off." I swear, I put these on and all d... Read Moreesire to be productive just gently wafts away. But, what happened to the drawstring waist, man? This new buckle clasp is godawful. Seriously. I love these pants but there's something just extra lazy and comfy cozy about the drawstring versus a buckle snap. The buckle also comes undone if you keep the "pants" loose at the waist, as they are supposed to be. Argh. Plus, when you throw them in the washer/dryer after wearing them unwashed for about 6 weeks [because you (a) can and (b) are truly dedicated to the lazy man's lifestyle], the god-awful racket that buckle makes just harshes any mellow you may have achieved. Bring back the drawstring. And while you're at it Patagonia: Make a shorts version with an 11" inseam to truly bring the art of the chill home! (and not skinny jeans still PLEASE!) Can you dig it?

Response from Patagonia
April 24, 2020

Hi Steve, thanks for taking the time to write us a such a detailed review! We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll go ahead and pass this along to our design crew.

April 7, 2020

THE quarantine pants

I purchased these in early March, before the quarantine. I am so glad I did as I have worn them every single day of the quarantine, they are just that comfortable. Overall true to size for me, I'm 6'0" 185lb and got the mediums. They are longer than other Patagonia medium pants I have but I prefer that. Waist is maybe a little big bu... Read Moret again it is fine for me. Definitely the most comfortable pants I've ever worn.

March 26, 2020

So so very very long (unless its mislabeled???)

Bought a pair of large. Inseam is 34. Ok fine I have pretty long legs no problem. The outseam is OVER FORTY FIVE INCHES. 45.25. Just shy of 4 feet. the width of a sheet of drywall. Maybe this was a defective item that fell through the cracks??

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Sorry to hear the sizing was so far off, Colin! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the pants, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

January 17, 2020

Some improvements over previous designs & some fails

Love these pants for lounging, and the pocket depths are much deeper than previous versions. Still way too long for me, and they run big in the waist. I wear a 31” in Patagonia and have to return these Mediums for a Small to stay up since the belt offers no cinching capability. I highly recommend these pants, but would size down one size for a prop... Read Moreer fit in the waist. Almost there!

January 13, 2020

Need more!

Found these @. Fly fishing store after being disappointed with new R1 pants compared to old ones without pockets or zipper I’m 6’4”, 32 inseam pant and the medium fits great, could be cut slimmer in the legs. I do wish they were a bit More shiny cut in the pegs, but they are a regular. legged like the old tight style R1 with only a single back zip... Read Moreper in black.

January 10, 2020

Comfortable, but...

First off, if you’re around dogs, then this becomes a magnet for their hair. Thankfully, it comes off easily. The chief complaint that I have with these pants is that the back pocket does not easily snap with a fat wallet. I usually have to turn around and visually inspect myself doing this tactic in order to secure my portable payload. The pants h... Read Moreave gotten hot and sweaty, on occasion, but I don’t remember when or where. Generally, not a summertime wear in this temperate climate. Works great for winter wear though. Lastly, I enjoy that it is of recycled material.

January 2, 2020

awesome lounge pants

Our son wears these all the time. Will have to consider buying another color.

December 29, 2019

Warm Sweatpants, but not what I expected

Bought these for my husband for Christmas and we both thought they would be a soft material rather than fleece. They are warm, but wish they were made of a different material. Hopefully that option will be available in the future.

December 29, 2019

Comfy and warm

The most comfortable pants I've ever worn! They're my morning coffee drinking pants, but I'll also wear them under waders while fishing in colder weather.

December 27, 2019

Like staying in bed all day.

I have the advantage of working from home, and on cold New England winter days I’ve been wearing this all day. It’s like maintaining that ‘just woke up under a pile of blankets’ warm and fuzzy feeling all day long.

December 23, 2019

Not sure the changes this year are an improvement

The belt system only goes a few inches each direction then relies on elastic waist to perform. I suspect this system will fail. I have the prior generation pant with the traditional draw string and other pants with a similar belt system that goes completely around the waist. Think the designer tried to be too cute.

December 18, 2019

Tapping into the Sweats Chakra

My life changed last week. I had been eagerly awaiting the arrival of my new Synchilla Snap T pants for several days at this point : manically refreshing the UPS tracking page, hoping the shipping giant could reveal another detail regarding the status of my shipment. As anyone who has used UPS knows, this process can be one filled with doubt, resen... Read Moretment, heartbreak and hopefully, elation. Back to the sweats. Upon receiving the package, I ripped it open like a wild, starved animal after successfully stalking its prey for days. As soon as I felt the Synchilla fabric, I knew they were the ones. I slipped on the sweats and refused to take them off for the next week. I wore them to the Nuggets / Trailblazers game, to 2 separate concerts, before and after skiing where I met Shia Lebouf who complimented my sweats and said they were the best damn sweats he’d ever seen. My humble life has changed for the better because of these sweats.

December 3, 2019

Love

So comfy! I'm a 5'6" woman buying men's pants so they're a little long but I am so cozy in them. I love fleece pants and Patagonia so what could be better?

December 2, 2019

So comfortable! They’re great for

So comfortable! They’re great for running in the cold New England fall days and even better for lounging around the house.

November 23, 2019

Nice

Comfortable and warm, look great. 29 or 30 inch inseam would be nice

November 18, 2019

Great fleece material. Fits loose

Great fleece material. Fits loose but comfortable. Had to go a size smaller than I normally go. 5'8 170 lbs and the medium was 3" too long in the legs so I went with a small. Not a big fan of the mesh lined pockets.

November 9, 2019

Not as great as old style

I bought these for my husband. His old pair had a zipper fly and button closure. These are wonderf but no fly and a difficult to close ribbon closure. I was going to buy a small for me but now not so sure. These really would be great for women because of the elastic waist and wider legs but with a different closure. Patagonia only has legging style... Read Mores for women and I have limited mobility so can’t use the leggings style. He will keep them because he likes the warmth and pockets. They are really long for him.

November 5, 2019

Super Comfy!

These pants are super comfy and just what I expected. The snap closure is nice, and the length is great.

November 4, 2019

Great pants

Really truly exceptional pants. I expected them to be more like a sweat pant than a fleece but they’re wonderful and super duper warm

November 1, 2019

Fleece pants are warm

Fleece pants are warm

October 23, 2019

Tried and True

These pants are great. They're warm and have a very relaxed fit to lounge around in making them extremely comfortable. They are exceptionally good for cold weather. When I was in Breckenridge in January these pants kept me warm after snowboarding while I was walking around town.

October 16, 2019

Cozy and warm

These pants are the so comfy and warm to wear around the house or out for quick errands. Definitely recommend them

September 10, 2019

Synchilla Snap-T

Nice weight for casual wear in coll fall weather

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches