burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Transit Traveler Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Transit Traveler Pants

4.1/5
Kinda Large
October 4, 2022

Medium too big/Small to small

This is an updated review...I bought the medium based on my multiple purchases of Patagonia everything over the years. They were anything but slim fit, in fact baggy, an hard to keep up on my 33 inch waist. The seat is very generously sized as well and the rise is very high, almost higher than my navel. I ordered the small, could not even get them ... Read Moreon. I find I am in-between sizes on many products, but thankfully there are enough of them where this is not the case. I wish they had uniform fits/sizings across their product lines - especially for something labeled slim fit like these otherwise wonderful pants. I'll keep the mediums for after big meals!

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the disappointing sizing and fit with these pants, and we really appreciate your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Scott. If you'd like to return them, please visit the [Patagonia-owned store nearby](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/), or reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help!

October 2, 2022

Great pants but fit is strange

I wear almost exclusively Patagonia products. I find their pants sizing hit and miss. These are are described as thin fit, but they are much larger and baggier than the indicated sizing with a much too high rise. Otherwise the fabric and the design are great except for the too small a sized side/leg product which should be made large or eliminated.... Read More I am going to exchange them for a small and hope that works ( I am often in between sizes on their tops with medium too big and small too tight) - need to eliminate the bagginess and belt loops would be helpful to better secure them and keep them up.

September 25, 2022

Pretty Good Pant for Traveling

I was surprised when I noticed no belt loops, but an inside the waistband tie string took care of that, plus no belt removal at the airport TSA checkpoint! The stretch fabric was comfortable on my two recent air travel days and the black color looked reasonably dressy with a button down shirt. I'm tempted to buy a another pair in tan now for a... Read Moren upcoming trip to Europe!

September 16, 2022

Be careful if your butt is bigger

These pants are hard to get over my butt but once they're on they fit great and wear well.

July 6, 2022

Excellent Black Stretchy Dressy Pants

Every time Patagonia makes a black pair of pants I'm all about it! Especially something thats casual or dare I say, dressy! These are really good looking pants, they are super comfortable with the stretch (ever since I started wearing the performance jeans I cannot wear pants happily without stretch!), they are slim but not ridiculously tight,... Read More they have some good pockets but not over the top tactical style... I don't use the draw cords personally, I bought size small and they fit snug. These were sort of an answer to me wanting the performance twill jeans in black. I just bought another pair in the green for good measure. Nice job design team! These pants are rad!

June 21, 2022

Comfortable Pants

Great fit and the pants are flexible during strenuous hikes. Great product! I cannot wait to get additional colors.

May 25, 2022

Perfect Travel Pants

I am extraordinarily pleased with the transit traveler pants. The fit, color, and wind/water/stain-resistant/lightweight fabric are the perfect combination for long-haul trips.

May 17, 2022

Short inseam is great!!!!

This is the only pair of pants I brought/wore on a recent ski trip to Europe. I wanted to pack as light as possible for flexibility and the ability to jump on and off public transit. I was able to make it work with only a 36l ski pack and a roller ski bag. The fit is a little baggier than I normally like for casual wear but if comfort while seated ... Read Moreon trans-oceanic and trans-continental plane and train rides is the design goal, these pants are the best.

May 8, 2022

Versatile pants that run a bit big

I am usually between a M and L with Patagonia pant sizes and went with the L here due to the pant's fit being listed as slim. However, I found the Transit Traveler pants to be kind of baggy, and the drawstring did not hold tight enough when moving around. I also own the similar Skyline Traveler pants and found the overall fit to be more to my ... Read Moreliking, with it feeling more sportier than these pants. Both would greatly benefit from having belt loops as an option instead of just relying on the drawstring though.

Response from Patagonia
May 11, 2022

We're sorry to hear these pants let you down. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

April 26, 2022

Nice pants,loose and comfy.

I enjoy everything about them, but not so much the drawstring.

April 24, 2022

Comfortable

Really comfortable and good looking pants.

March 28, 2022

Nice look

Hybrid between nice sweats & slacks, can wear walking, hiking or for travel, just what I wanted.

March 16, 2022

Nice material fit not so much

I bought these in XL because I was in between sizes and preferred to size up because the description reads that's it's a slimmer fit. They are baggy all around and the cord doesn't really tighten the waist very well. If in between two sizes size down. The quality is good and the pants look good as well, it could be used for hiking an... Read Mored other activities but the fit would be my main worry. Overall, I wouldn't buy these again or if I had the opportunity to try it on at a store.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Frank. Feedback is critical for both our customers making decisions, and for our product development team. We're sorry to hear that fit wasn't good for you! Please let us know if you'd like to return or exchange them, or you can start that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 13, 2022

Strange fabric

Really liked the fit and features on this pant; unfortunately returned as the fabric has a strange feel and look. Feels almost "swishy" like track pants, and has a bit of a shine/sheen to the fabric. At 5'6" 140-145 lbs a small fit great - trim fit but not skinny jean tight, perfect length, nice stretch.

March 11, 2022

Great pants

I really like these pants, especially the material and fit. Well done, thank you Patagonia!

March 11, 2022

Great Pair of Versatile Pants

I originally bought these as something to wear as an alternative to jeans. They fit great and look awesome as well. Ive got a similar pair of pants and they dont come near these in terms of quality, construction and materials. Great for travel, pack easily and dont stay wrinkled out of a suitcase or duffel. While theyre not lined I just wore them a... Read Moreround town on a ski trip in temps of 5-12 degrees Fahrenheit and was comfortable. Liked the first pair so much I bought two more!

January 24, 2022

Too big

I am 5'10" and I first bought the small and it was too short. I then got the mediums and it is too big...too baggy in the seat area.

December 13, 2021

Classy!!

Super happy with these pants! Ordered the other two colors. I have the black pair and i am surprised how dressy they look, almost like slacks. Very versatile, dress up or down. Very comfortable and classy!

December 9, 2021

Great design and quality; incredibly functional and comfortable.

Great design and quality; incredibly functional and comfortable. Wish there was a third color choice. Probably the most comfortable and versatile pants one could imagine. A must have.

November 24, 2021

Fit was off a bit

I purchase a lot of Patagonia casual wear pants and shirts. I also buy a lot of their fly fishing gear. My intention was to wear these pants for golf and fly fishing, because of the stretch feature. When they came and I tried them on, they seemed to gather around my legs and thighs as if they didn't fit correctly. There were wrinkles in the ar... Read Moreea rather than flowing like the usual fit in my Patagonia pants. The gathering made them very uncomfortable.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2021

Hello Arnold! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is truly appreciated as its how we improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 18, 2021

A little short in the inseam

The fabric is great but the inseam is short for the Medium. I normally wear a 32/32 and the inseam does not measure to a 32. There is no inseam measurement specified. I know the style is to be more of an athletic pant but I prefer the inseam to be longer for the Medium

November 16, 2021

Work Pants in Hot Climate

I bought these as site pants in a hot desert environment and I think they work well for that. They wick water and sweat if not a little bit hot for that kind of use. I used them for a week in the desert where shorts would not work and I needed some leg coverage. Fit well over site boots and I am looking forward to getting them in the wash a few tim... Read Morees to see how they change after a few washings. Would recommend

November 8, 2021

Nicest pants Ive ever has

Perfect combo of comfort and style. Business casual to actually casual. Material is so stretch and comfortable

October 29, 2021

Great fit, but only one length and no belt loops???

I've tried wearing Patagonia pants for decades, and never had much luck. To me the fit always seemed off - crotch too high, crotch too low, legs too tight/too long/too short. It was exhausting. The first pair I kept and loved was from the mid-90's era, and they were more of a pull-on loose-fitting casual wear/climbing pant. Almost like th... Read Moree old-school Gramicci cotton climbing pant, except more technical and packable and dried 10x faster. They were made out of a thin but tough poly/nylon material with huge front pockets, a zip back pocket, and a tough stretchy waist with a black stretch hidden belt-style drawstring. Ingenius in that you could pull them pretty tight and was never constricting, never locked in like some of the nylon webbing locking mechanisms I've seen recently. I think they were an early Patagonia "GI" pant. I still have these old 90's GI pants in khaki, and I use them for painting and other dirty jobs around the house. I should really send them back to Patagonia for their Hall of Fame. 25-year-old pants that are irreversibly stained with several paint colors, but still perfectly functional, with no tears/rips. Sorry for the trip down memory lane, I'll get back to the Men's Transit Traveler Pants now. I'm 6'0" and 180 pounds, and bought the Large size. These pants fit me borderline perfect in the waist/crotch/legs. No adjustment needed with the tie string hidding inside the waistband. They are cool-feeling, and have great stretch. And they don't seem to wrinkle. I actually took a nap in them and they looked perfect afterward. Now for the every-rose-has-its-thorn part: 1) There is only one length, and if you don't fit Patagonia's arbitrary height mold, you're out of luck. For me they are about an inch too short, but to overcome that I wear them slightly lower on my hips. 2) Left thigh pocket is an unnecessary and ill-designed feature. It doesn't even fit my iPhone. Get rid of it. 3) No belt loops. In work or other social situations where you need to wear a "real" shirt and tuck in the tails and finish with a belt, these pants are a fail. A small but important feature like belt loops could put this pant into the "if I could only have one pair of pants" category. To me it seems strange that a pant with this design-fit-finish profile doesn't include belt loops.

August 27, 2021

Ironically Poor Design

I have owned more than 30 pairs of Patagonia pants and shorts. I am a fan of the brand and especially of the pants. However, these pants are disappointing. The fit is a bit off, especially around the crotch, but the real frustration (and I know this is a minor thing) is the thigh pocket. I travel extensively internationally and use the thigh pocket... Read More on my other pairs of Patagonia pants and shorts all the time for phone and passport, but the the thigh pocket on this pair of pants is both on the wrong side, (the left all of my other Patagonia pants and shorts have the thigh pocket on the right,) and the pocket is WAY too small to hold either my phone (standard iPhone) or passport. Ironic, given that these are called transit traveller pants.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Thanks so much for your thoughtful feedback on the features and functionality of these pants. We're sorry they were disappointing. Your purchase is covered by our [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) policy, so please reach out to return. We'll be happy to help!

August 18, 2021

Very comfortable casual wear

I have not purchased pants from Patagonia for a while since my waist size became 29". But it turns out these pants goes by different sizing system and the size small comes in waist size of 29". The inseam is 31", but it seems a little on the short side. But for the occasions that I was planning on wearing that is perfect. These pant... Read Mores are extremely comfortable. More comfortable than any of the other Patagonia pants I owned. If I was to make one suggestion, it would be to make the side zippered pocket a little larger so that cell phones can fit. Otherwise, I would have to take out my phone every time I sit down. Which I am not a big fan of everyone having their phone on the table. Also, if you can make size 29" for other pants that would be amazing. A significant part of my wardrobe used to be from Patagonia, since I know they are good quality, long lasting, and are from a good company that does their best to not harm the earth and treat their workers and partners well. I have looked through and tried many other brands, but I have not been able to find what is comparable to Patagonia. I like to own very few clothing that I really love and lasts a long time. And for me, it is difficult to find a substitute for Patagonia.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches