Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 596 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

4.5/5
True To Size
July 21, 2021

Not exactly true to size

I love the color and materials but the sizing is off by I'd say almost two sizes . I most of the time but north face shorts so I'd figure I'd give these a try as I heard good reviews. But when I tried on they were a bit on the snug side . My advice go a size up if you can . If you are already a 2X avoid buying or loose weight :))

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the sizing Ralph. We're happy to provide garment dimensions anytime. If you're finding yours don't work please feed free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

July 21, 2021

Good fit

Great fit I have big thighs and they surprisingly fit very well. They do ride up but other than that perfect.

July 21, 2021

Great swim trunks

I like these trunks a whole lot especially because they aren't long like board shorts. The crazy design is an added bonus. Comfy + durable like all Patagonia stuff.

July 21, 2021

Great quality, great fit

I found the fit to be a little awkward when I first tried them on, but I quickly grew to love them. I think this is because they don't stretch. However, the cut leaves plenty of room for a good range of motion without looking too big/sloppy. Love them. Will probably buy more in other colors.

July 20, 2021

Baggies are the best!

Love love love the deep front pockets. And the key loop inside. The style is forever right. Why change what doesnt need changing after all. This will be my fourth pair. I still have and wear the other three. Highly recommended!

July 20, 2021

Overall great experience

Great price for a great product. Fit great. Huge pockets. Shipped and delivered very fast. 11/10 recommend

July 20, 2021

Versatile

Great quality shorts

July 20, 2021

Good Quality

The quality of these shorts, constructed from recycled materials, is excellent. The 5" medium short is a little baggy on me, but they are, after all, called "baggies". My only complaint is the mesh liner which gets uncomfortable on my man parts. For a liner, I would prefer a solid material rather than mesh. I own three of these short... Read Mores in different colors, so obviously, I'm a satisfied customer.

July 20, 2021

Comfortable!

Awesome shorts! Super comfortable. The only gripe I have is the leg width. I could probably fit a whole extra leg in there. I might size down on my next pair to see if it is different but after all they are called the Baggies. Love them though!!

July 19, 2021

Nice trunks

I used to buy the baggies lite short as my primary swim trunk and tried these out. They are comfortable and dry as fast as the lite. I find the fit a bit too large, particularly the width of the legs. I wondered if I should have bought a medium. Slimming that dimension down just a bit would make them perfect.

July 18, 2021

Very comfortable

Very nice looking , I'm only 5-3 and its perfect.

July 17, 2021

High quality

Really great shorts for the type of day when youre not exactly sure what youre gonna do. Youre prepared to go swimming in these, but theyre also stylish enough to just wear around. Nice material, nice pockets.

July 16, 2021

Great Shorts

I wear these all the time, have 2 pairs. If I order more, I'll probably try medium because the large are big on me. In probably 32 - 33 waist and 6'2

July 16, 2021

Perfect if you wear whitey tighties

These were the perfect hiking shorts you could wear in a restaurant, but, they have this bikini short lining that completely ruins the shorts.

July 16, 2021

Best all around shorts!

I own 6 pairs of these shorts with the first pair purchased 8 years ago. I live in a pair no matter what the activity all summer long. Whether Im swimming, hiking, camping, running or working out, my baggies are always ready. Material is rugged and dries fast. The built in liner is perfect and means I go sans undies from June to September in the no... Read Morertheast. No better short on the market!

July 15, 2021

Pickle Ball Shorts - bring on the sweat

These shorts are perfect for my two and a half hour pickleball sessions. With high temperature and humidity, I need shorts that don't hold onto the moisture. The nylon does the trick. I have always used my Baggies for all water sports. The new use makes them indispensable .

July 15, 2021

Great shorts

Over all the shorts are awesome. Super comfortable and breathable.

July 15, 2021

Best materials

Best shorts Ive ever purchased thanks!!!!

July 15, 2021

Great shorts!

I wear mediums for swim, larges for hiking and casual wear. You can wear them with or without bikini underwear and still feel comfortable and protected.

July 14, 2021

Nice shorts

Comfortable, fit well. Good purchase.

July 14, 2021

sizing issue

I have had these shorts for some some 25 years. I am still wearing the original ones I bought, but the newer ones don't have the same fit and material. The most recent ones feel a couple of inches longer than the old ones and are also a lot looser in the waist.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for your feedback! Our Baggies are very similar to how we have made them for nearly 40 years, but recently we switched the fabric to 100% recycled nylon, and that may be what you're noticing. If the new shorts are not working for you, please reach out to our Customer Service team to return them. We'll be happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/home/)!

July 14, 2021

Go anywhere do anything shorts

If I was stuck on an island with only one article of clothing it would be a pair of baggies. Comfy, breathable, fast drying.

July 14, 2021

fast drying

Don't care for draw string, prefer the old round one.

July 13, 2021

Everything I wanted in a short

Its light, its comfortable, the mesh is really useful if youre a guy who likes a breeze, its truly a dream short. Feels pretty sturdy but with the guarantee I dont really mind it its not indestructible. The colors are choice, the pockets are deep. Although, I wonder why theres a little elastic loop in one pocket. For your keys Im guessing? I get my... Read More keys tangled in it a bit, but its worth it if I needed to really keep something in my pocket at all costs. Maybe a chain wallet for this

July 12, 2021

Great Short, just too big

Fantastic shorts. I do not know why companies even bother with liners, but they were no match for my trusty pocket knife. Just wear your fav undies and call it a day. Now I know the shorts are literally called Baggies, but they're real baggy. These shorts definitely run larger. I have a 33-34 waist and can fit into my roommate's small a... Read Morelthough my preferred size is Medium. If you're in between sizes, definitely order the smaller option.

July 12, 2021

Comfy, many uses

I love all my patagonia stuff and these shorts are no exception. Durable, comfortable, and they look good. The opposite of fast fashion and wasteful trends. These will last for many years I'm sure.

July 12, 2021

Baggie Shorts

Good pair of shorts. Use them for many different activities.

July 11, 2021

Perfect Short

It took me a while to pull the trigger and get a couple pairs of these shorts. One hesitation was size; I tend to run between small and medium with Patagonia sizing and shorts are a hard thing to fit right. The other hesitation was color; all the cool colors were hard to come by. I finally got two pairs of Medium in some colors that are brighter th... Read Morean I normally wear. I am happy with the fit; the waist is a hair large for me (30 waist), but I just pull the draw strings and its good to go. One thing that surprised me was the toughness of the material. It feels rugged and long lasting. Its a little heavy for hiking and running for me, but they would work well for those activities for some folks. I will surely be purchasing more in the future in some toned down earthy colors.

July 11, 2021

Good swim trunks

These are great looking swim shorts- wish it had the boxer brief lining- Im concerned the mesh lining might stretch out- but REALLY like these.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hi Keith, if you do end up having trouble with the mesh later on, please do not hesitate to initiate a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 10, 2021

Waist size does not match leg and mid area size

The waist on the smalls fit perfectly but the mid-area is too small. There is not a lot of mobility moving because the mid area and thighs catch when you sit or stretch. The size Medium waist was way to big but the legs and mid-area feel way better. Seems like a sizing issue when matching the waist size to the thighs/mid. I almost always wear mediu... Read Morems in all shorts, have a waist size 31, but there was not way the medium baggies would work. Sticking with the smalls and a little discomfort. They do look great, though.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hey Jono, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Men's Baggies Shorts - 5". We're sorry to hear that you encountered some size discrepancies, and have passed your feedback along to the team. There is a waistband drawstring that you can use to adjust the waist size if you'd ultimately like to go with the size medium instead. To begin the exchange process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 8, 2021

Get a pair

Seriously. Get a pair. Youll end up shopping for another color.

July 8, 2021

Swim shorts

Bought for my husband. Great fit and love the tie front. So good we bought 2 pairs!

July 8, 2021

Fun shorts

Since I lived in Galápagos for three months and absolutely love blue footed boobies I had to get these shorts. I was worried they would fit short on my legs but are definitely plenty long. They fit a little baggy, which can be good if thats what your looking for. Overall comfortable with super deep pockets which are great. They meet my usual expect... Read Moreations for Patagonia.

July 8, 2021

Fun colors but leg opening too big

I am a 32 waist and usually a M but the M was too big so I got a S. Even with the S the leg opening is about 2-3 inches bigger than most of the similar shorts I have. This results in extra fabric between the legs bunching up and flapping around. But I like the colors enough that I am keeping a couple pairs and having the legs tapered 2 inches by a ... Read Moretailor.

July 8, 2021

Best Ever

Couldnt be better

July 8, 2021

Good for Everything

I wear these shorts for swimming, tennis, biking and going to the gym. Good short for just about all out door activities.

July 8, 2021

Dont rub me wrong

Let my inner thighs feel like a 1970s summer Drop the liner

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Shawn! The Baggies design has been a classic since 1982. If you're looking for nylon shorts without a liner, we recommend Guidewater, Quandary, MOC or Wavefarer Shorts. Please reach out to [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have any questions!

July 8, 2021

Excellent shorts for nearly everything

These things are so comfortable whether Im lounging around the house, swimming, or even out for a hike. The mesh basket is also soft enough where you dont get irritated after wearing them for a whole day. The pockets are waaay bigger than I would have thought, and theyre just awesome shorts. Worth every penny.

July 8, 2021

Versatile

Comfortable, look good, dry quickly, sturdy

July 7, 2021

Best Shorts Ever!

Love these shorts, they are the most comfortable shorts I have ever had. The material is sturdy, the fit is spot on. Even though they are called Baggies, they don't seem baggy and don't get in your way when moving. These shorts are lined so easily can function as swim trunks and the drawstring in the waist keeps them in place. I bought on... Read Moree pair and liked them so much I immediately ordered another. I plan to buy more once the colors I want are back in stock.

July 7, 2021

Great Product

Have been purchasing Patagonia products for over 30 years. They are truly the best - in both their products and philosophy. I would never think of purchasing from someone else. They are indeed 10 stars. Philip Kercher

July 7, 2021

Very comfortable

I very much enjoy the comfort and breathability of the shorts, and they look sick. Beware, however, that the pockets are very large and extend down to the bottom of the shorts. I dont mind but I think its important to note.

July 7, 2021

Patagonia baggies - great shorts

Great shorts XL works best for me 5 foot 10 inch 205 pounds. I also have L which is true to fit just not as baggie.

July 7, 2021

Top shelf fun hog shorts!

Picked up my first pair of baggies a few years ago and it was time to add some fun colors to the collection. Purple and red look great! Best all around swimming, biking, camping, relaxing in the backyard shorts ever. Get em!

July 6, 2021

Purple Baggie

I love these.

July 6, 2021

Style First!

Got three separate compliments on these shorts on the first day I wore them... so they look pretty good I guess. Very comfy, and worn them outdoor climbing, river swimming, hiking, you name it. Love my baggies.

July 6, 2021

Perfect shorts!

These are the best shorts! Easy to wear, breathable, comfy

July 6, 2021

Great, classic pair of trunks

5" is the perfect length. Booby design is great and was a topic of conversation. Really happy with my purchase!

July 6, 2021

Versatile Shorts

These shorts are great for pretty much anything, super durable, dries easily, comfortable and presentable. A little long for my personal preference, a 3 inseam version would be perfect. Aside from that no complaints about these shorts!

July 5, 2021

Better than womens

Im a woman with big hip, womens shorts are too shirt for me I feel like Im in underwear. This mens shorts is perfect, not too revealing feels comfortable. Just the fabric is a bit stiff

July 5, 2021

Great Shorts

Classic versatile shorts that work for nearly every occasion.

July 4, 2021

Great boating shorts

My husband and I are whitewater boaters (canoe/kayak/raft. We have worn these shorts for years. We love the mesh liner. I know they are mens shorts, but they are great for women too. I wear them casually as well.

July 3, 2021

Fits kinda small

I wanted the purple baggies 5 inch for almost a year it was sold out. Finally got it. Im a little disappointed. Im usually a medium, in shorts. These run kinda small, I wish I knew the fit first. Well Im not sure to return it now. But over seems like pretty cool shorts. Im not a fan of the liner. But hey each is own.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. You're welcome to return them if you'd like. Take care.

July 2, 2021

They are baggy, baggy is good.

The elastic loop in the pocket is great for securing your keys. The back pocket snap keeps does the same for your wallet. Little things are what make these shorts great. They run kinda large-ish (they call them baggies for a reason!). Just buy them.

July 2, 2021

Impressive

Never owned a Patagonia product before. The quality is great! Nice deep pockets too so your items wont fall out. I went down a size since reviews said it ran big. Fit was slightly snug but still breathable. I bought 3 different colors.

June 29, 2021

Horrible lining

These are great shorts but the lining is a disaster. Way too loose, leaving a visible bulge in front. Adopt the lining from your Nine Mile shorts and youll have perfection and Ill buy every color.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Rick! We're sorry to hear that our classic Baggies design isn't working for you. Our [Nine Trails Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nine-trails-running-shorts-8-inch/57601.html?dwvar_57601_color=SPRB&cgid=root) have a longer inseam and boxer-brief style inner liner and can be used for many of the same activities as our Baggies. Please let us know if you need any help with a return or exchange!

June 28, 2021

Vital summer gear

I like thousands of other people live in these shorts in the summer. Last count I had five pair. One thing that could be improved upon is the elastic in the waistband. the elastic gives out after three or four seasons. but no worries, Patagonia stands behind it. It's all good. Chore On

June 28, 2021

The best

Great shorts. I love baggies. Theyre my uniform for the summer - hiking, kayaking, swimming.

June 28, 2021

Baggies are great, but the liner is miserable.

After cutting out the liner, I love these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2021

Sorry to hear that the liner wasn't working for you, Stacey. While this does void the warranty, we're very glad to hear that you love the shorts now!

June 28, 2021

The Legend but...

I bought a pair of these shorts after my wife and brother both rave about their baggies. I have found them comfortable and great to do just about anything in. However, the mesh lining that is included doesn't provide me with enough coverage to feel comfortable in without wearing underwear. Granted, that could just be me and I accept my insecur... Read Moreity in that area so take this as you will. Yet, the advancements that other companies have made with their mesh linings, or compression linings, leave me wanting more support or more coverage with these shorts. In the end, I still wear something underneath, so the mesh lining will likely get cut out at some point.

June 27, 2021

Good Quality

I have had two M baggie shorts years ago, but have gained weight. I should have ordered a L ,since the XL is a bit too large. However, the quality and look are great.

June 26, 2021

Swimming

The shorts are exactly what I expected. Superb quality and design

June 26, 2021

My favorite shirt!

These are my sons favorite shorts. Because the waist is elastic, size small was perfect.

June 26, 2021

Perfect

Best ever

June 26, 2021

Not like my old one

I miss the 4 inch baggies. Plus, this one is a medium and runs large. Hard to carry a phone without really cinching up the waist. Still, better than Beans.

June 25, 2021

Beach favorite

Earth friendly , abrasion resistant, quick drying warm weather body armor, highly recommended.

June 25, 2021

Little tight for 9month pregnant

The color was perfect purple! I ordered this to use as a swimsuit while I am pregnant and needed to exchange for S size.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

We're glad to hear these are working for you as a swimsuit! Please let us know if you'd like any assistance with your return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 24, 2021

Kinda big

Kinda big but its good

June 24, 2021

Great

Love these!

June 23, 2021

5 baggie shorts

Very comfortable and fast drying. I wish they were a bit more tailored. I wear them for tennis every week, 52 weeks of the year.

June 23, 2021

Baggies

Ive been wearing Baggies since I bought my first pair thru LL Bean in the 80s. There have been tweaks and experiments (stretch Baggies?) but the only way Patagonia has been able to improve on them is by making Baggies Longs. Comfortable, sturdy and dependable. Theres really nothing more to say. Highly recommended.

June 22, 2021

Perfect Summer Shorts

Material is great, as is the fit.

June 21, 2021

King of the shorts

I just bought my second pair of baggies. The first pair I bought in 2013, wore for 4,000 miles of backpacking, countless swims, day hikes, runs, and house projects. I practically lived in them from spring to fall for eight years, theyre still fine by the way, I just wanted another pair for when I was doing laundry.

June 21, 2021

Best piece of clothing ever created

If I only could own one article of clothing, this would be it. You can do anything and everything with the baggies and at the same will hold up to any circumstance you throw at it. Comfortable, reliable, simple yet pretty stylish.

June 19, 2021

Nice Shorts

I like these shorts, the are good for both casual and swimming and hiking. If you do not like nets in the shorts you will have to cut them out is the only thing but I don't mind the nets personally.

June 18, 2021

Pockets are too big.

Dont get me wrong, the quality is great. The pockets on the front are huge. They are the entire front of the short so your wallet hangs to your knee. If you like that, you will love them. For me I just dont like my belongings hanging that low and for that I would not buy again. Everything else about them is great!

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi Amos, thanks for taking the time to write a product review! We're sorry that you didn't like the design of the pockets on these and we've passed your feedback along to our Design Team. All of our products are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at any time.

June 18, 2021

Baggies, what's not to like?

Warrantee replacement for a very well worn pair (thanks Patagonia!), same fit, drawstring is more of a tape than the original (circa 90's) string.

June 17, 2021

Best all-around short in the game

Love this short perfect for about any activity you enjoy. Except nudism.

June 17, 2021

Great Every Day Shorts

Super comfortable and great for any occasion. Pockets are extremely deep which at first was strange but I quickly got used to it. Could probably fit an entire tube of Pringles in there if you so desire. A must have for anyones wardrobe.

June 16, 2021

Love them but takes a day to get use too

I love the shorts. I bought 4 pairs within 2 weeks. The pockets are alittle tight in the groin area but deep enough that your phone can fit and wont fall out when your sitting, running or biking.

June 14, 2021

Super versatile

Been wearing baggies shorts for over 45 Years the best go to shorts ,would not wear anything else

June 14, 2021

Highly recommend

I purchased a size medium and a small to see which would fit better. The medium is a bit lose on me and the small is almost perfect. If they had a in between size thatd be great.

June 13, 2021

Great short but dont like sizing chane

I love the baggies! However, the sizing became bigger in the last year and the drawstring changed. I prefer the drawstring remain on the outside as in previous years. This, the 3 star review due to those two changes. Quality and functionality is superb!

June 13, 2021

Classic shorts

I bought these for my boyfriend in large and medium. The mediums were awesome.

June 12, 2021

Great all around shorts to own

I have always loved Baggies. I just bought my 4th pair, over a period of 7 years. I still have all the older pairs. All of them have held up very well. No rips, holes, stains, or worn out spots, on any. They are well well constructed, and designed with function in mind. I love the 5 inseam, as Im under 6 ft. So the shorter length works better with ... Read Moremy height. The 7 inseam is just to long for me.

June 12, 2021

Quality as always and blue footed boobies!

How can you go wrong wearing blue footed boobies? The fit is the usual for the baggies, and makes for more fun runs!

June 12, 2021

comfy

love them, i wear them everywhere.

June 12, 2021

6shorts

Great look and fit, better company.

June 12, 2021

Great Multipurpose short

Great for running, swimming, back yard and even ok to run an errand in. Deep pockets and snap pocket keep a key, ID, or other bits safe. Dries quickly.

June 12, 2021

Comfortable, durable, and versatile

Best pair of shorts Ive ever owned

June 12, 2021

Title fits

I like these shorts a lot. I like that there are a ton of options to choose from. They fit really well and the length is perfect. One thing I do not like is that there is no option of the same shorts but without the liner in them.

June 11, 2021

Solid

Very solid all around pair of shorts. I have two pairs in two sizes, a large and a medium, the large works great for hiking yoga and just about anything you can imagine. The medium works great for swimming and other stuff where youd want a slightly tighter fit. You wont regret getting these shorts

June 11, 2021

Super comfortable and stylish

The shorts are very comfortable. They are very light and you can stretch any way when wearing them. The only downside is that the pockets seams are tricky to get into.

June 10, 2021

A Classic in need of an update

Let me start out by saying--I REALLY wanted to like my pair of Baggies. I'm a 30 size waist and went with the size guide to choose a small. I have large, athletic thighs though, and while the waist fits, there's not a lot of give in the thighs, constricting mobility. When just standing, it's fine, but walking around, sitting, squatti... Read Moreng, or really any movement, it squeezes my leg from the sides in a not so comfortable way. If I hadn't removed the tags and walked around in them to test them out; I would have returned it to try a medium, but I feel like then the waist would be way too baggy/billowy. I really wanted to like these, but the lack of mobility and way it restricted my movement would lead me to buy other alternatives with 4-way stretch. If I get another opportunity to buy/exchange these for a medium, I'll give them another shot.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2021

Thanks for the thorough feedback on these shorts! You're welcome to return them. Please just reach out to our Customer Service Team.

June 10, 2021

Versatile and Comfortable

The fit and material feels great. They dry quickly for an easy transition from the lake to the campground.

June 9, 2021

Doge Friendly

I take my two dogs Bronx and Charli to the doge park everyday and these shorts have plenty of pocket space for treats and poop bags. Much versatile, MUCH WOW!

June 4, 2021

Add zipper pockets!

I own more than one pair and these shorts look better on me than any other pair I own, I just find myself on fishing and hiking adventures wearing a different brands pair that have zipper side pockets and no liner. 5 baggies the best looking swimsuit tho and to wear around town. If they had side zippers would be 5 star.

June 2, 2021

Best, Everyday Short

These shorts are my go-to for general activities and errands. I own these shorts in three colors, and I would purchase more if they also came in stretchier fabrics.

May 25, 2021

Stitching issue

I own two pairs of baggies which are great. Unfortunately on my newer pair there is an issue with the stitching around the waist band, half of the waist band stitching unraveled.

Response from Patagonia
May 25, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review on our Men's Baggies Shorts - 5". We're sorry to hear about the loose stitching! All of our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so this issue might be covered by warranty. Please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can gather some more details and set you up for a return.

May 21, 2021

Too large

The fit on the extra small size was still way too big

May 20, 2021

Look and feel great

Love these shorts overall, only one minor complaint: the pockets are very deep, the deepest of any short Ive ever worn. Im sure its helpful for more active endeavors and more secure but for just walking around its a little distracting to have my phone / wallet / keys swing so much and constantly make contact with my kneecap. Still - five stars over... Read Moreall.

May 20, 2021

Fit is really nice

I really like these shorts especially due to the 5-inch inseam that sits higher on the leg above the knee. Also, you can use the shorts for almost any activity.

May 19, 2021

Deeeeeep pockets

That's all, super comfy but best of all they have the pockets you can shove your whole hand in and more!

May 19, 2021

comfortable

I wanted a second pair (Mango) and was disappointed that after less than one day after I was notified they were available, they then were not available.

May 19, 2021

Great all-around use summer shorts!

I really love these shorts. I cut the lining out of them and use them as a light hiking short, paired with briefs. They dry absurdly fast, they feel light and airy as you're moving, and they are very packable if you want to stow shorts in your bag. Also great for a dunk in a swimming hole post-hike. I feel like using these exclusively as a sw... Read Moreim trunk is neglecting the full dirt-bag potential of these shorts. They're great in almost every active situation. That's why they're an outdoors classic.

May 18, 2021

Great all around

These shorts are super versatile and allow comfort able freedom of movement. I appreciate the 5" length. Thank you.

May 18, 2021

Great fit but one big design flaw

These shorts are great and I love the fit. My only issue is because the pockets go all the way to the bottom of the shorts, if you put anything in them it anchors the shorts down.

May 17, 2021

The best short!

Cant say enough about these shorts. Comfortable, well made, and stylish. Wear them around the house, on the trail, and around town!

May 17, 2021

BAGGIES: THE KING OF SHORTS

Holy f**k. Baggies could replace all my other clothes. I dont even need shirts or underwear, NOTHING. These shorts are the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. I want every single color. Best. Shorts. Ever.

May 17, 2021

Perfect in every way.

Great quality and perfect fit -- the best shorts I've ever owned.

May 16, 2021

perfect classic

i repeatedly buy these and wear them very often please keep the fit the sameand continue to offer wide range of colors and patternsappreciate that some of nylon is recycled

May 16, 2021

New Baggies

Great looking shorts, produced in an environmentally friendly way.

May 16, 2021

Great fit

Great for walking around when not swimming. Also, comfortable when swimming.

May 16, 2021

swimming

I bought the medium baggies for swimming; I bought the large baggies for casual. They both are perfect.

May 15, 2021

As expected

Great as always

May 15, 2021

Great Product

I love the feel and look of these shorts. They dry quickly in the event you chose to take a swim. The only negative is the liner. The leg openings want to slide down which is a bit uncomfortable. Patagonia should either make the leg openings a bit smaller or, eliminate the liner and you can chose to wear your favorite underwear or go commando!

May 14, 2021

Great hiking shorts!

I am a 52 woman who finds the fit of the mens baggy shorts With elastic waist,to be perfect. They are simple, well-made, loose and perfect for hiking and other outdoor activities. 3 Low profile pockets that are perfect for putting a cell phone etc. into. Im so glad I tried some shorts on in the mens section.

May 14, 2021

Good over all short

I wear these every day in the summer. they are super comfy the only issue I have with them is they arent great for Lou tian biking. Too baggy so they get stuck on the seat and stuff.

May 14, 2021

The best shorts

The best shorts, great for biking and yoga, but also quick drying and great for surfing. Comfortable, short, and baggy but you johnson doesn't hang out.

May 13, 2021

shorts of the summer

the best shorts on the market

May 13, 2021

Very good

These shorts are indeed quite epic. They are good shorts.

May 11, 2021

Love the baggies

Started with a large but exchanged for Medium. First Medium anything I've written in years

May 8, 2021

Best all around shorts

These are my go to shorts for just about anything. I have a pair with the mesh in just to keep things from floating away when swimming, and then I cut the mesh out of 3 other pairs that I use as knockaround shorts. Super durable, super comfortable, colors are awesome. Buy one or 3 and be happy.

May 8, 2021

If it ain't broke, don't fix it

5" baggies have been a staple of my wardrobe for 25 years with little in the way of updates or improvements - and that's a good thing. Some changes to the liner or cordage in the waist band have been fine but recently someone decided to move the tags from the lower back to the front left hip - where it now is a constant source of irritati... Read Moreon if you are cycling or running for extended periods. Put the tags back to the small of the back please.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Men's Baggies Shorts. We've shared your feedback about the tag to our product team. If you find the tag to be too annoying to do your favorite activities, feel free to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 8, 2021

So Comfortable

I just bought my second pair because I wore my first pair all last summer and loved them. I can wear them to town, swim in the river, and play pickleball in these shorts.

May 7, 2021

Super Warm

I have a 31 inch waist and the medium was a little too big for my liking. I bought the small and love them, wearing them around the house, outside, and for hiking and biking. Highly recommend!

May 6, 2021

Weird sizing

I bought the M size but they we too snug on the legs and eggs. No way could I execute a roundhouse kick without tearing my Baggies asunder. So, I exchanged for the L size and it was like I was wearing culottes again. I felt cute for a moment, I admit, but a parkour high-kick on the mean streets of Kirkland would've put my boys out on full disp... Read Morelay in front of god and everyone. Sadly, I returned the shorts. May try again after I either loose 10lbs or gain 10lbs.

May 5, 2021

Too small or too big

I started w the medium but they were a little snug in the legs and the male private area- no way I could throw a roundhouse kick lest my Baggies be torn asunder. So I exchanged for the large and it was like I was wearing culottes. I felt cute for A moment but quickly pictured how a flying high kick would leave my boys flapping in the wind in front ... Read Moreof god and everyone. Alas, no luck w the baggies for me. Sad really. These are my kind of short.

May 5, 2021

too big

the mediums are too small and the large is too big

May 4, 2021

great all around shorts

I have been wearing baggies for working out, hiking, and casual wear for decades. I give them as gifts and they always get rave reviews.

May 1, 2021

Baggies

I started wearing these baggies 30 years ago when i worked on sailboats - in and out of the water 9 months of the year. Now, semi retired, again in and out of the water 9 months out of the year. These remain perfect shorts for me. Thanks for continuing to make a great product

April 30, 2021

Nice

Very very nice short

April 30, 2021

The best

Not much can be said that hasnt been said before. These are a classic and perform as a classic piece should. There are imitators out there but nothing better. These are a summer go to pair of shorts that you should definitely add to the arsenal.

April 30, 2021

Great shorts

I got a large and it was too baggie for my taste. I returned them for a medium and they are my favorite shorts now!

April 29, 2021

Best Summer Shorts Around

Perfect length, super deep pockets, and mesh on the pocket bottoms to reduce drag in water. The best summer shorts Ive owned. Fast drying material too

April 29, 2021

Super warm

Great short durable last forever and well-made Only complaint put tag in the back of short not in front near drawstring

April 28, 2021

Little bit long

The size itself was great nice fit for me (32 waist) the only complaint I have is the length. I personally prefer shorter shorts, and was expecting them to be more towards my center thigh. That's my only complaint it would probably look better if I was taller.

April 26, 2021

Now i know whats the hype is all about

Im usually size 30 in everything yet decided to go on 29 opting for a regular fit, fits me ok. Durable material but still allow for breathability (not much). Pockets are fine, No problem with the liner, Color a bit fade than shown. Its a swiss-knife for shorts, I think you can do close to anything with these. The only downside is price, Im gonna ma... Read Moreke sure to get more during sale.

April 25, 2021

Perfect fit

Tossing all my other swim trunks, perfect length and fit. Bought a blue pair and platypus pattern. Work great as running shorts. Get lotsa curious compliments on the pattern shorts.

April 24, 2021

Best shorts out there

I own 7 different Patagonia baggies and use them for literally everything. I live in Florida so they are great for that weather. I personally cut out the liners and use them as regular day to day shorts. I can wear them to the gym(great for leg day) great mobility and and I can even wear them out to brunch with a nice button down. Great versatile t... Read Moreop of the line shorts. Very durable. I dont own any other shorts.

April 24, 2021

All around good buddies.

I purchased a pair of royal blue Baggies in 5 length about four years ago for an upcoming hike on the AT. Since then, they have been on five multi-day section hikes on the AT for over 200 miles, they have been worn kayaking, fishing, working out, driving range, to the beach on four trips. Worn as swim trunks into the ocean and into my chlorine pool... Read More, and recently just completed a 3 day Rim2Rim2Rim hike across the Grand Canyon and back. They have become like a friend and I always feel like they need to be with me on any adventure. Although they are a bit faded and a little softer i have no doubt they will outlive me.

April 23, 2021

Very Versatile

Great shorts that I wear all the time in spring, summer, and fall. Sadly, the seam in my first pair's seams in the pocket ripped during COVID so I was unable to send them back to Patagonia for replacement... So had to stitch it up myself. Love that they aren't warming and they also dry quickly from water/sweat.

Response from Patagonia
April 23, 2021

Hello Brady, we're so sorry the seams in the pocket ripped! Whenever you have the chance, don't hesitate to send them in to us for a [free repair](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html).

April 22, 2021

Perfecto Rio Shorts

I love these shorts for running the rio, when it's hot. They dry super fast and they're so comfortable you could only be more so, if you were naked!

April 20, 2021

The perfect shorts

Probably the most comfortable shorts out there even with the inner lining. So comfortable that I bought 2 other pairs in different colors. Material is lightweight and great for almost any outdoor activity.

April 20, 2021

Favorite Dual Purpose Short

This is my third pair, just getting a new color. Comfy, simple, multi-functional and durable. I love the 5s but if you want length closer to knee fo 7s

April 19, 2021

Good everyday short, runs a little wide/large

These shorts are maybe one of Patagonia's most popular items of all time. They also have a lot of hype surrounding them regarding their place in the world of fashion. They're loved by hikers, runners, swimmers, pink Polo-wearing bros, Dads, normcore crowds, and celebs and rappers alike. However, I feel the hype surrounding these shorts ... Read Moreis just that -- hype. At then end of the day, they're just a pair of shorts -- albeit, well-made. For me, they're a bit too wide in the leg. I like my pants and shorts to be a bit more fitted (not tight/skinny, just fitted), and with the Baggies, at certain angles, I feel like it looks like I'm wearing a skirt. The size guide for a medium says the waist is 31-33. I am a hard 32, pushing 33. But right out of the gate, these were a little loose. I have to tie the drawstring pretty tight for them to feel snug. I've sized down to a small. The crotch is a little tight, but the waist and legs feel more fitted. Also, the pockets on these shorts are HUGE. They're not only wide, but deep. Anything that goes into them (phone, keys, etc.) ends up falling way to the bottom of the thigh and flops around uncontrollably. Still giving them 3/5 stars because they are well made, simplistic, and somewhat affordable. But I wouldn't be mad if Patagonia came out with a "slim" version one day with smaller pockets.

April 18, 2021

Deeper pockets

This all-time favorite just got even better with deeper pockets and a plastic loop inside the right pocket for hooking up keys.

April 16, 2021

good shorts, slightly weird sizing. I know they're baggies

Mediums fit well for a 31-33 waist but legs are too small and large is good for legs but waist is way too big. My legs aren't exactly big either. Cutting net out is first thing you should do when buying other than slight size issues the shorts are amazing and should last for a long time.

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2021

Thanks for the detailed feedback on the way your baggies fit. By cutting out the liner you void the warranty on that area of the garment. If you're looking for other board shorts with no liners you might check out the [Men's Stretch Wavefarer® Volley Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stretch-wavefarer-volley-shorts-16-inch/86511.html).

April 13, 2021

Sizing

I purchased baggie shorts in Large. They are a little on the loose side. I have other baggies I have purchased in the past that were large and fit fine.

April 12, 2021

Best shorts ever

I bought these for my son who is tall and thin. He absolutely loves the fit and I love the durability!!! We bought several pairs and would definitely recommend

April 11, 2021

BEST SHORTS

One of my favorites everyday shorts. Deep pockets, great quality, and love the key loop. Perfect sizing too, I definitely recommend!

April 11, 2021

Amazing shorts

These shorts are so perfect for use in daily life. They dry fast, have a good quality fabric, and come in all the right colors. I'll be getting more, thanks Patagonia!

April 11, 2021

Love these shorts

This is my seventh pair of baggies and I absolutely love them. Perfect for the beach, a run or just getting things done around the house.

April 10, 2021

Best shorts Ive found

I never write reviews, but baggies are just that great. I didnt know what to expect, but with all the rave reviews I had to try them out. They fit great, look great, and theyre way more durable than I thought theyd be. From pictures I thought theyd be a thinner, more rip prone material, but these things are heavy duty. Ill definitely be picking u... Read Morep a few more pairs in different colors.

April 7, 2021

Hot

The Baggies are the only clothes I wear due to a physical injury. I have tried other folks shorts and . . . wait for . . . they always come up SHORT. Baggies RULE!

April 7, 2021

bombproof shorts

sturdy pair of shorts. well designed. these would be perfect if they had a bit of stretch to them. still super solid. i have a 32" waist and went with the small size. i could've done a medium but they would be a little less secure.

April 6, 2021

Best Shorts Ever

Like no gonna lie or sugar coat it, but these pants slap. Never have I ever felt so comfortable without boxers in a pair of pants like these. I can't wait for summer so my friends and I can go to the mountains and hike and do a ton of stuff and I know these will be my go-to pants because how nice they are. I'm a broke college kid, but I&#... Read Morex27;ll probably buy another pair just because I love these so much.

April 5, 2021

Very comfortable

These are my new go to shorts. They are super comfortable and have nice, deep pockets that fig almost everything. Love them

April 4, 2021

Pockets are not great

The pockets go the full length of the shorts, which is not what I was expecting. It makes it a little uncomfortable to have your phone all the way at the bottom of your shorts.

April 4, 2021

good

jellyfish color is good!

April 3, 2021

Meh

Baggie and way to big for size selected

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

We are sorry to hear that the Baggies did mean your expectations. They are one of our Relaxed Fit items, and can be tricky to size. We can always be reached at 800-638-6464 to discuss more in depth sizing matters, and help with an exchange if needed!

March 31, 2021

Awesome

I have 8 pairs of 5 baggies. I wear them most weekends from the ocean to the mountains and everywhere in between. Highly recommend for any activity you think they might be good for, and far more durable than any similar articles I own.

March 27, 2021

Win win shorts

5 baggies are probably the most comfortable do it all shorts out there. theyve been my go to shorts since 1992? when I got my first pair. Great for hiking, swimming, around town, you name it. I love the grey color the past few years. If I could make one request it would be more earth tone colors. Keep up the good work!

March 26, 2021

Men's baggie shorts

I use these shorts for senior swimming aerobics, in a warm salt water pooling Olympia WA, I have had many of your baggies, great product. Only shortcoming is the fade quickly in the pool water.

March 26, 2021

Great Swim Trunks

I am in the pool 3-4 times weekly and these are my favorite swimming trunks. The chlorine can be a little hard on them-they fade after a few months but the durability is great.

March 26, 2021

Lighter colors are see-through!

I love Patagonia Baggies - I own probably 5 or 6 pairs. I recently ordered the 'Jellyfish Yellow' colorway (I'm really into that yellow-lime green color right now) knowing it was risky because colors on a screen don't always represent the actual color well, and it turns out I was right to worry - in real life, it's more of ... Read Morean anemic highlighter yellow color. This might not be that big a deal on its own, but it's also so light that it's see-through (which the picture online doesn't show at all!). It's not even about wearing the right colored undergarments - the built in liner is dark grey and shows through the yellow outer fabric regardless of what color your underwear is. 4 stars because the shorts are great and fit well, but sadly this color is a miss.

March 26, 2021

Baggies

Best piece of sports clothing I have ever owned. Thats why I keep on repurchasing year after year.

March 26, 2021

Baggy, rugged, comfortable

These are the go-to hang out around the house shorts, or the go-to trail runners. I have yet to try them in the water but Id sure theyre fantastic. Pockets are massive, your phone might fly out on a run. 10/10

March 25, 2021

Utilitarian and Versatile

Shorts that feel like they'll last for years!

March 25, 2021

Classic shorts, good for anything!

A great pair of shorts. Perfect for lounging, working out, or hanging at the beach. The only thing it needs is a smaller, dedicated cell phone pocket. The pockets are very large and deep, and my cell is always flopping around when I wear these. Otherwise, highly recommend!

March 25, 2021

Just get em

Best shorts Ive owned

March 24, 2021

Simply The Best

I really love my Baggies. Gotta do classic black. Great material, great look, and very versatile. Definitely my favorite shorts, I anticipate having a pair until I'm 6 feet under! When the seat split on my last pair, I sent them in and received a new pair. These do run large in the waist, but I love the 5 inch inseam. Personally, I remove the ... Read Morelining which is a bit restrictive. I also tapered the sides with a sewing machine to make them a little sleeker. With these two alterations they are unbeatable.

March 24, 2021

Shorts

These are the best shorts money can buy

March 18, 2021

Awesome shorts!

Love the material, fit, and style.

March 17, 2021

50/50

I purchased two pair of these shorts one pair was awesome the other pair were cut wrong. I will never use them. So its a fifty/ fifty shot on what you will get

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hey Jason! We are so sorry to hear about your experience with these. It's possible you received either two pairs from two different seasons or that the cut on the other pair was a quality control issue. Either way, these are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at any time.

March 17, 2021

Great Shorts

These are great shorts. Comfortable to wear on many occasions. Dry fast if you happen to use them to swim. Lightweight and durable.

March 10, 2021

Great swim and surf trunks

I have been wearing these for over 30 years. I still have a couple of 25 year old and they dont approval from my wife. Hey a little ratty is comfortable. Cheers

March 9, 2021

Best Shorts Out There

I've been wearing these shorts for five years now. They have replaced all workout shorts for me and my khaki chino shorts are all but forgotten. I use these to lift weights, run, swim, and hike. The liner is convenient and they dry quickly due to the material. The inseam is a happy medium between short enough not to interfere with motion but l... Read Moreong enough so you don't have that "sky's out thighs out" look. Durability is not a concern for this product.

March 7, 2021

Minimalists

Moral of the story, these shorts have replaced all my other casual shorts and swimsuits. They Helped downsize my wardrobe. I enjoy this because I am more prone to focus on the actual travel(not the packing) or the actual thing your doing, and not all the gadgets and widgets to do it. So for me it helps me focus on life, and connections with peopl... Read Moree, and less about what Im wearing, because they are ergonomical and as often you wear shorts you shouldnt have to worry about them. Bought 6 pairs of these second hand(some are the 5inch and some are7inch), and absolutely love them. I mostly use them for an all day board short in Hawaii. They put up abuse from workouts, running, climbing, Spearfishing/fixing cars(working on pavement), surfing, thrown by waves, the works. I love the webbing in them. But I also dont wear chonies with these shorts. So, to each their own.

March 2, 2021

LOVE these shorts

I wear these shorts all the time in Lake Tahoe during the summer! Swimming, Stand Up Paddle board, hiking, you name it!

March 2, 2021

The best shorts

The only problems with these shorts is they are so popular they are always backordered. Make more, Patagonia!!!!

February 24, 2021

Incredibly comfy and versatile

Wonderful shorts. Very lightweight and can withstand just about anything.

February 2, 2021

Super comfy

Perfect gear for working out and then jumping in the pool/ocean!

January 31, 2021

Nice fit

Besides all the great colors the biggest reason I like buying shorts from Patagonia is all the options for lengths. I have a short inseam. And have a shorts so long they look like "manpris."

January 30, 2021

Cool Shorts

Shorts are kinda big and for me do not fit like 5 shorts, definitely fit more like 7. Maybe I couldve gone with an XL but the sizing and fit isnt the same as other workout shorts I wear - they actually fit kinda funny. I guess my body type doesnt quite work for these shorts very well.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

We're sorry that these didn't work out for you! The 5" and 7" are referring to the inseam on the short, there is potential they could look longer depending on how low on the waist they're worn. They're intended to sit mid-waist as shown on the product page. Our Baggies are day to day shorts, that work in and out of the water. While they could also function for work outs, that's not necessarily what they were intended for. If that's what you were looking for, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Endless Run Shorts - 5"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-endless-run-shorts-5-inch/24870.html?dwvar_24870_color=BLK&cgid=root) which are made for high output activity.

January 23, 2021

Best shorts ever

Love the baggies 5 have them in just about every color when you find something you like just makes since to get more ,I like the 5 not really into the long look I have them in the 7 but prefer the 5 ware them just about every day look good with with a polo or tee shirt or a button up Marc from Maui

January 7, 2021

Looks fly

Looks good, feels good, plays good

January 5, 2021

You Can't Go Wrong With Patagonia Shorts

Looks great, quick drying, functional AND versatile (from the pool/beach right to the street), and nice to lounge around in with friends - everything that I want in a pair of shorts.

January 5, 2021

Very Comfortable

Perfect! Just right size!

January 4, 2021

Durable comfortable fit

I ordered these for my son who is 57 and weighs 105. They fit him perfectly, and we have struggled finding shorts that fit his slim structure. Would definitely recommend, wears great, very durable

January 2, 2021

Comfy Womfy

bought these for my boyfriend for christmas and he hasnt taken them off since!

December 31, 2020

one pair of shorts to rule them all

These are great multi-purpose shorts: running, yoga, swimming, you name it. There's a reason they say "If it's been done, it's been done in Baggies."

December 31, 2020

Need more room

I bought the Pink ones before and loved the fit . Went for a second pair in Purple but, they are cut slightly smaller then the Pink one. No Bueno!

December 10, 2020

Breathes, Nice for Summer

The fit is great, love the netting, allows you to wear it as swimwear or casual wear. Nice in spring for running, great in summer, breathes great through the netting. Runs a little large. If you're considering what size to get, I'd recommend sizing down. I'm 5'8 135, XS fits perfectly.

November 28, 2020

Time tested

I started wearing Baggies in 1985 and se no reason to switch. They last a long time and as I'm a Dive Instructor in Florida I am hard on my shorts. I will continue to wear them as long as they are still made as well as they have always been.

November 19, 2020

Amazing Fit

great quality and great fit, worth every penny

November 18, 2020

Ok

Nice material. Waistband needs improvements. Elastic doesn't hold up. Need to pull drawstring too tight so short will not slip off.

November 14, 2020

Sturdy, reliable, comfortable

My go-to for easy wearing warm weather shorts. Ready for action at all times, for a hike, or swim, or chill

November 11, 2020

Look no further

These shorts are the best. You will never have to look for another pair of shorts again.

November 10, 2020

Excellent to replace older pairs

I loved my earlier ones Swimming Pilates Yoga Thanks for maintaining excellence

October 31, 2020

The Best

I love these shorts! They really stand out in a good way. The color pops and goes with everything. A must have if you are a stylish person!

October 29, 2020

very durable

i was worried these wouldnt feel light enough to run in but they were great especially on rainy day runs. they are pretty heavy duty shorts without being too restrictive. excited to hike in these as well. the only thing youll regret about these shorts is getting just one pair

October 28, 2020

Indestructible and Machine Washable

Took them on a 20 mile hike and couldn't be happier. The mesh, built-in underwear is breathable and comfortable. I hopped in the lake and they dried what seemed like instantly. The lookout that my friend and I were on gave out and we fell 40ft; him sustaining a broken pelvis, fractured orbital socket, concussion, severe lacerations, sprained a... Read Morenkle, and me deep muscle contusions and these babies did not even get a stretch mark. In my haste to go get help in the dark, I proceeded to fall off another 30ft cliff. I sustained a two torn MCL's, more muscle contusions, lacerations on my ankle down to the bone, and a concussion. Once again the Patagonia Baggies, held together by quality craftsmanship and top tier material, did not flinch. I was lost and spent the night buried deep in the dirt, so as to keep warm and conceal myself from mountain lions, and these top notch shorts didn't even come out dusty. My mental state held together only by the strength and superior comfort of these shorts, I finally made my way to help and got my friend a helicopter off the mountain. It took us several months of recuperation and physical therapy to heal from the traumatic experience. These bad boys, soaked in blood and mud, only required one quick wash and they were ready for the next hike (in a couple years when my family lets me hike again). 10/10 would recommend. Wish I had every single pair.

October 15, 2020

true to form

I probably own 10 pair of baggies - definitely my go-to shorts. The pockets are deep so when I keep my phone or keys in them, they sag a bit, but it's not a deal breaker and just a good reason to get a waist pack. I like that the back pocket has a snap for my wallet. The newer style seems to have a bit more give and the fabric isn't as ri... Read Moregid as older pairs (2017).

October 2, 2020

The Best Pair of Shorts I've Ever Owned

I'm usually skeptical of taglines, but "Life's Shorts" is probably about as concise and real as it gets for these bad-boys. These are quite simply the most versatile, durable, comfortable, and wonderful pair of shorts that I have ever owned. I lived out of my van for 3 months this summer, (exploring the western US with my girl... Read Morefriend) and I wore these shorts every. single. day. - no exaggeration - and wow did they stand up to the task with flying colors. I would bike, run, and hike multiple times a day, and not once did I run into any odor issues or a breakdown in construction, even if I didn't touch water for days at a time. To shower I would wear the Baggies into rivers and lakes, and when I emerged the shorts were as good as new. I really value low maintenance clothes, and hot dang these puppies put in WORK. I think it's important to note here that by the end of the trip my girlfriend was a very vocal proponent of the Baggies, and I think that says a lot about what these shorts have to offer the world. I was initially concerned about the liner being uncomfortable, but I don't even notice it! In fact, it turned out to be super breathable and a fantastic feature. The liner served as a great no-nonsense retaining system and frankly rendered underwear irrelevant for all of my backpacking/mountain biking excursions and most of my trip. TMI? maybe, but this is the kind of hard-hitting data you need when making a critical decision like this. I'm not usually one to review products, but these shorts have just given me too much. TLDR: Get these shorts. It's the best shorts-related decision you'll likely ever make. And if you're choosing between the 5" and 7" in-seem: Go for the 5", live a little!

September 19, 2020

Perfection Achieved

Bombproof. Comfortable. Stylish. Ive got 4,000 miles split between 3 pairs of baggies with the 5" being my most recent acquisition. There is simply not a better pair of all around, functional and long-lasting shorts available. I'll also add that I have tree trunks for legs and these shorts are the only one's I've found where I ... Read Morecan have full range of motion without fear of splitting seams. I am a baggie collector for life!

September 19, 2020

Comfortable, durable anytime clothing

I love the brand! The material is strong and doesnt seem to wear nor fade. The size can run true to size or go a bit bigger. I love the length of these because I am short.

September 13, 2020

Perfect shorts

Light, comfortable, the perfect summer shorts. Or spring. Or fall, depending on how you dress from the waist up. I need all colors...

September 13, 2020

Fit and fill are ME!!! If it starts with a P then it is for ME!

Dont stop Inovating..I have 6 pair of the Baggies! And a new brimmed, I simply love.

September 13, 2020

Improvement suggestion

DURABILITY I use a pair of baggies daily. The outer shell is very durable and drys quickly. The inner jock support elastic fails. Frustrating to discard a good looking garment due to internal elastic failure. I keep replacing them. My Favorite here in Florida.

September 12, 2020

Dope shorts.

Will get med next time

September 12, 2020

Best shorts

Best shorts I have ever gotten from Patagonia.

September 12, 2020

Best shorts

I only got the extra small because the pockets are large but these are far d away my favorite shorts.

September 11, 2020

Comfortable shorts

Other that the liner the fit is relaxed. The liner is super relaxed and needs tighter elastic at the leg openings. The outer fabric is comfortable. The waistband elastic appears to have a limited life expectancy even though not used in water-sports and washed according to Patagonia guidelines. Im pleased with them.

September 8, 2020

Mesh liner is too big

I'm a fan of Patagonia, especially after having read "let my people go surfing" multiple times. The ethos behind this company is up my alley!! I was really looking forward to some classic shorts for hiking/backpacking/gym when I ordered several pair of Baggies but quickly found out that despite my 35 1/2 - 36 inch waist (I'm 45... Read More, just shy of six feet and 188 lbs) they were huge. I returned them all and exchange for one Medium Stone Blue pair. They were still a little big, which is crazy to me. I decide to commit and give'em a go for a weekend backpacking trip near the Stuart Mountains in Washington. Yeah, they're big...I can get away with them for sure, but after some heat and sweat they feel especially large and the mesh liner is undoubtedly on the large side. I was often pulling up the shorts so that the leg holes in the liner would return to wear a standard underwear would sit around my upper thigh. Then, because there's too much fabrics, they bunch up on the rear and I'd have to pull out a wedgies periodically; all the while the mesh would overflow out of the back waistline as my backpack would sometimes push the exterior of the shorts down. It was a mess! LOL! All in all, I'll keep'em for now (perhaps I'll ebay'em later) but for a 5 in. short they're pretty baggy and perhaps the Small is ideal, but for my height and weight small doesn't really compute. So strange. Keep up the good work Patagonia!

September 7, 2020

Perfect

not much to say besides perfect

September 7, 2020

Favorite shorts ever

Bought these (grey), wore them for a day, and immediately bought two more pairs (navy and black). Ive tried similar shorts from other brands, but my search has ended. Please never change these. I plan to buy more in the future. I like all 3 but grey is my favorite.

September 7, 2020

Perfect

Excellent product and high quality

September 6, 2020

Better than the first version 40 years ago.

Back in the day, when I was a size smaller and routinely jogging around Washington Square, I had these shorts in all the colors and used them all the time. They were light, lined, comfortable, flexible, they dried fast, had a good pocket, and wore like iron. I kept watching forth to reappear at Patagonia, and now finally they have. They're not... Read More cheap, but they're worth it; I tried a red pair to see, and they are great to exercise in. As far as I can tell, nobody else makes anything comparable. Now I have to collect the other colors (although they have also added creative patterns), which will, I hope, motivate me to work out regularly.

September 6, 2020

Perfect Beach Shorts

I wear these shorts every day when I run on the beach. They are lightweight, fit securely, and are extremely comfortable. They dry quickly and the inner mesh lining is secure and comfortable as well. They are my favorites.

September 5, 2020

Comfortable fit

Always look to purchase Patagonia brand. shorts and Baggies Shorts because of the fit and comfort.

September 5, 2020

Sizing Issues and Fit Suggestion

Two stars for 100% recycled nylon and ethical manufacturing. However, Patagonia's sizing is currently inconsistent across their men's shorts, and now I own a loose pair of Baggies that are better suited to lounging than active use. My advice to other customers would be to buy multiple sizes when in doubt, attempt to devine at home how th... Read Moreey'll perform on a run or in the water, and keep only the pair that fits best.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hi Seth, thank you for sharing your feedback and advice. I am sorry the fit of the shorts did not work out. If you have any questions regarding the fit the future, please also feel free to reach out and we will be happy to provide you the garment measurements to offer a comparison. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our warranty.

September 5, 2020

Great shorties

Awesome shorts for any place or event

September 4, 2020

Baggies the ONLY short that I will ever wear...period...!!!...I have ten pairs and wear my baggies for everything!

Incredible flexible versatile and good looking cool shorts!

September 3, 2020

Great Fit

Great outdoor short, I wear them playing Pickleball, and hiking.

September 3, 2020

Pockets Broke

The stitching that held the pockets to the shorts on the inside broke in place and my phone and keys keep falling out.

September 2, 2020

Comfy and stylish!

These shorts fit great and are super comfortable! The make and material warrants the price.

September 2, 2020

Easy to wear with activity

Great fit, quick dry when wet. Runs small

September 2, 2020

Love his new baggies!

I bought these as a gift. I was told they run pretty true to size but a little small so it was requested I go up a size and they fit great on him! Theyre perfect for all the activities we like doing especially being on the water. Theyre comfy but casual and he wears them everywhere we go. He may or may not have gotten a new pair for every day of th... Read Moree week :)

September 2, 2020

Perfect fit, comfortable, easy to wear

5" baggies are just the perfect summer short. They fit perfectly and can take you from the beach to dinner if you really need them to. The fact that they are made with 100% recycled nylon should be enough to make this a yes for everyone looking for a do-everything short.

September 2, 2020

Nice design - Patagonia quality

Love the seagrass pattern and colors. The bathing suit is constructed well and fits comfortably. Id like a slightly shorter inseam option as I like my swim suits to fall between my thigh and knee, not just above the knee. Other than that, its a total winner!

September 2, 2020

Great despite the pockets..

Id give this short 5 stars if it werent for the fact that the pockets reach the bottom seam of the short. It gives the short an awkward look when youre carrying around keys, wallet and phone. Basically everything bunches up at the very bottom instead of suspending in the upper thigh. Why it was designed this way I cant imagine. Despite that, I fin... Read Mored myself wearing these shorts constantly, theyre comfortable and they look good when you need to leave the house without thinking about it too much. I dont find that the liner is uncomfortable either. Overall, Solid short.

September 2, 2020

Sturdy

Nice item. Sturdy.

September 1, 2020

excellent product,

great quality and last a long time. I wear them everyday

September 1, 2020

Versatal Shorts

Bought for wearing around the mountain cabin, fishing and swimming...they are PERFECT.

September 1, 2020

Cabo bound

Leaving for Cabo next week, these are my go to shorts! Do you do this style in a cotton/nylon blend more of hybrid?

September 1, 2020

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

First purchased Patagonia mens Baggies o/a 1990 as my go to running/hiking/swimming/casual weekend wear. Still wear the original 2 pairs and have been so totally impressed with the product that I just recently purchased additional baggies in different colors! WOW. Fit, finish, functionality and durability will not disappoint. I highly recommend. Gr... Read Moreeat company with outstanding product(s). kw 09/01/2020.

September 1, 2020

Cool material

Multi purpose shorts

September 1, 2020

perfect outdoor shorts even for the big boys out there

300 pounds and been geting back into working out. It's been great to have a pair of shorts that are A) 5in and B) Comfortable / fit well. Wasn't super into the fit at first but have grown to love them for any and all physical activity. Looking forward to buying more pairs. Plus, there's a little loop in the pocket for your keys. Jus... Read Moret a genius addition.

September 1, 2020

Perfect Gift

I got these as a gift for my partner. He absolutely loves them! Theyre great for all sorts of wear, for casual to working out.

September 1, 2020

I live in my baggies

I have been wearing baggies for several years, but with COVID and telework I am now wearing them all the time for work, yard work, hiking and lounging. They are comfortable and cool in the DC summer. The mesh brief is particularly welcome since my workspace gets hot during the day. The only comment on the new version is the cord in the right pocke... Read Moret gets in the way sometimes. I assume it is for securing your key with a mini-carabiner but don't need to do that too often.

September 1, 2020

Best shorts you will ever buy

The Patagonia Men's Baggies Shorts - 5" are the best shorts on the market!! They are the perfect length, are comfortable, and are very versatile. You can not only wear them casually, you can also wear them as a swimsuit because of the mesh lining inside them. The only complaint I have is the stock, because they are so popular they sell ou... Read Moret super quick and then you probably won't be able to get them until the following year, unless you find them in a store, which is rare. I wish there was a higher produced stock when Patagonia releases them, I would buy literally every single color available.

September 1, 2020

Fantastic shirts

My high schooler loves these shorts! I plan to get him just about every color! Great material s d they are made so well!!!

September 1, 2020

great shorts!

Love the shorts, super comfortable and easy to pair! recently wore them out to a national park and they were comfortable the whole time

September 1, 2020

Baggies Review

Love these, had to copp another pair. They are true to fit, deep pockets are nice. The only thing is the inside swim thing which can be cut out if you really want.

September 1, 2020

Super comfy

best short ever

September 1, 2020

Ultimate Quarantine Attire

Looking for something to wear around the house? To the gym? To go surfing? Look no further. Comfort and functionality all in one pair of shorts.

August 27, 2020

Patagonia Baggies do it all

I have hiked, swam, and casually wore baggies for over a few years now. They dry quickly and do anything you could need them to, as simple as that. I wear my baggies whenever I can, so I have worn them and washed them quite a bit over the years. The material is a little stiff initially, but after breaking them in they feel great on. For those loo... Read Moreking for a size reference I am 5'8 165ibs with an athletic build at a 30 inch waist. I wear a size small and they fit me well. Finally, I would love to see ash tan or surfboard yellow in the 5 inch option, as well as more inventory on sizes (although I understand economics, the fair trade certification, and all the in between process of creation)!

August 25, 2020

The only shorts youll want to wear.

I bought a couple pairs that I cut the liner out of and I wear them almost every day. Theyre comfortable, breezy, rugged, and you can fit a tall boy in each pocket. Wearing anything else feels almost wrong.

August 23, 2020

Wish they were made of Stretch Wavefarer

I love being able to wear these all day in the heat of the summer, though when I load them down with phone, wallet and keys, they become a bit much -- and the material is a bit heavy and rigid for athletic adventures -- would LOVE to see an option with the Stretch Wavefarer fabric please! Thanks for being a responsible company in the world!

August 22, 2020

Really bad

Unfortunately I had a really bad experience trying to get a pair of these shorts that would fit. I was getting them for my partner as a gift and even with their full measurements, it was an awful time! ended up buying TWO different sizes of these, one WAY too small (incredibly tight) the other was huge and falling off. the size calculator on the si... Read Morete was not correct. I think the sizing for these is just extremely inconsistent, and you're better buying somewhere else.

Response from Patagonia
October 30, 2020

Thanks so much for providing feedback on the fit of these shorts. As always, if you're unsatisfied with the fit you can [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

August 21, 2020

Love the style, but not the liner.

Overall I love the comfort of these shorts, the style, the length, but the liner just ruins them as a whole for me. It more often than not rides up and restricts my legs from extending to their full extent when hiking, trail running, and climbing. If I could order the same materialized shorts and style without the liner, I would appreciate them muc... Read Moreh more. I find myself just wearing them around the house rather than using them for the outdoors as I intended.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hi Sabastian, sorry to hear that the liner in the Patagonia Men's Baggies Shorts were a bit too confining. Try taking a look at our Men's Terrebonne Shorts, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-terrebonne-shorts-10-inch/24690.html?dwvar_24690_color=BLK. It's an awesomely breathable, quick drying short that flexes with your body and does not feature a liner. They may be just what you're looking for!

August 21, 2020

Better made than the women's version

I'm a woman, but I bought a pair of the men's Baggies in an XS because I liked the color and they were on sale. I was surprised (and rather dismayed, honestly) to see that they appear better made than the women's version of the same style, which I purchased at the beginning of the summer. Specifically, the men's shorts have back... Read More pockets with a snap closure (!!), a covered inside waistband for comfort, and a built-in mesh brief. None of these features are present in my women's sized Baggies. Also, note that the men's shorts do not have a drawstring, and the sizing is generous, so if you're on the slimmer side, you may wish to size down. Overall, these seem very well made, and I still like my women's Baggies. I love the generous pockets on these shorts; they're excellent for playing tennis. The 5" length is just right to provide enough coverage for active pursuits without being bulky. I like the colors available, and I plan to get many years of use out of these. I just wish that the men's and women's shorts were made with the same features. Especially for a progressive company like Patagonia, it's disappointing to see that the women's version is not quite as nice as the one made for men.

August 19, 2020

Need More Baggies

I bought a pair, wore them for a week straight, and then bought another pair. Can't stop wearing them. I wear them running, short bike rides, boating and swimming on the lake, and for my go to everyday shorts. Small fits perfect for my 28-30 waist, and the shorts end above the knees which is great. I just wish Patagonia would release more!

August 17, 2020

Classic but the fit needs an update

Classic shorts and the material is tough. Big sewn in pockets are a plus, but the fit is rough. Even in a medium these shorts are too loose in the waist. The string has no stretch so it cuts in when tied tightly. Also the mesh liner needs to be cut out. The brief style liner and heavy mesh is itchy and chaffes. Keep the classic baggy cut and update... Read More the waist band.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2020

We appreciate your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Baggies Shorts - 5", but are sad to hear you are unhappy with the fit and feel. Please feel free to make a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you are not satisfied with your purchase.

August 9, 2020

It's A Bathing Suit

These are not casual shorts you would wear to when going to the shops or a friends house....this is a bathing suit. Pretty good bathing suit, but if you are looking for lightweight casual hot weather shorts this item is not your solution. I tried mine on around the house and to the grocery store...I was asked 3 times if I was going swimming. They a... Read Morere comfy but do not mistake them for a pair od all around "sport" shorts.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

Hello Peter, we're sorry to hear the Baggies weren't the right fit for you. They can indeed be used in and out of the water but they are not board shorts. We appreciate your feedback nonetheless and have passed it along to the appropriate team. You can return your Baggies [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 6, 2020

Excellent - deep pockets

Deep pockets all the way to the bottom so just be aware of that. Good at times, sometimes a little annoying with a big cell phone in it, but I usually put my phone in the back pocket if possible. Great quality and the 5s are the perfect length.

July 31, 2020

disappointed

The shorts are very comfortable and look great but they have a major design flaw in my opinion. I ordered 2 pairs of baggies at the beginning of June and I didn't notice until they arrived but Patagonia has begun sewing the pocket into the front of the pants so instead of having a loose pocket, you just have one extra piece of material that is... Read More sewn to the front of the shorts to create a pocket. Within 2 weeks of getting these shorts the stitching on one of the pairs of shorts has popped about halfway up on both pockets which means that now both pockets have giant holes in them. I'm pretty sure that it happened while I was climbing in these and having to lift my legs up pretty high. If the front pocket was still loose then that wouldn't have happened. Unfortunately, I don't have a sewing machine to fix them and Patagonia currently isn't accepting items for repair.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hey there, we are so sorry to hear about the troubles you experiences with these shorts and appreciate the feedback. We do want to you let you know that we are now accepting [repairs](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) and you are also welcome to send items back for [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 29, 2020

A Patagonia Staple

I've been wearing Baggies for a few years now. I love them in the summer. I think the best way to describe these would be adventure shorts. They are part swim trunk, part short. I've also used these as running shorts, worn them hiking and backpacking, and everything in between. I've never cut out my liners, but I know that a lot of p... Read Moreeople do. This is probably my biggest gripe with these shorts. I would love it if Patagonia paired baggies shorts with a built in Sender boxer brief liner... Think about it Patagonia, this could be a winning combination. Try it out, send me a pair to sample, I'll let you know what I think. I'll still probably keep buying them anyways.

July 28, 2020

Never Going Back to Other Shorts

These shorts are the BEST shorts ever, I got a pair for my birthday and I never want to take them off! Theyre super comfortable and durable, a great fit and so versatile. Im never buying another brand of shorts again, fan for life.

July 25, 2020

Pretty comfy

Got a size small but wish I went one size down cause they run a little big. They look more like six inch seam on me so if I went one size lower I feel like I would have the look I am going for. Overall very comfy though and still look great.

July 23, 2020

Best shorts ever!

These shorts are sick! I have 7 different pairs (one for every day of the week). They run a little big. Im 511 195ish lbs with a 31-32 inch waist and an athletic build. I have relatively big quads. I thought Id wear a large because I normally wear large shorts, but the larges fit big (especially on the waist) so I went down to medium and they fit p... Read Moreerfectly! I love these shorts. They are ridiculously comfortable, they look amazing, and you can wear them for any occasion. I will definitely be buying more!

July 21, 2020

Best shorts ever

I now have 3 pairs and they have completely replaced any other active shorts I own. I wear them hiking, around town, and lounging at home. The material feels great and feels like itll last. On one pair I cut out the lining on the other two I left it in. Both methods are great. Ive worn them swimming too and theyre great for that too. The pockets ar... Read Moree deep but its fine, stuff doesnt fall out of them but they swing around.

July 20, 2020

Great shorts but not as durable.

These shorts have been my favorite shorts I've ever owned. I got my first pair a few years ago and still have them. Unfortunately I ordered a new pair and noticed a decline in the quality. My first pair has yet to get a hole in them but the new pair is a different material and got holes within the first few wears. Still wearing them all the ti... Read Moreme but disappointed in the lesser quality.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Kyle, thanks for your review! We're so sorry about the developing holes in your newest Baggies. Please feel free to either send them in to us for a [free repair or a warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 15, 2020

Versatile and Eternal

The baggies can seamlessly work for any occasion or with any outfit that I could ever need in the summer. For a quick trip to the lake, they breath easy enough to wear on the ride up, handle moisture with aplomb when jumping in the water, and dry off with speed so there's no need to change. I can wear them with a workout shirt or something mor... Read Moree casual. If I need a durable pair of shorts for work that will clean well after the fact, the baggies are my go to. They're the perfect clothing item for the season.

July 15, 2020

Great short

Great product, can be worn across activities.

July 15, 2020

Love but already damaged

I got these shorts about three weeks ago, and I really love the pattern and the feel. They fit well around my waist but are a little bit bigger than I expected so I wear them with the waistband folded to get a look that I like more. Doing this doesn't affect any comfort, so that's good. The problem that I have is that they already ripped ... Read Morea little bit over the right-hand pocket. I got these shorts hoping they would last me at least a few years, but this makes me nervous that they might not make it through the rest of the summer.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2020

We're so sorry to hear that these ripped and we thank you for providing that feedback. We back everything we make under our Iron Clad Guarantee so please feel free to send these back to us and we are happy to process that [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 14, 2020

Would NOT Recommend

I love Patagonia and my wardrobe has slowly come to be mostly Patagonia clothing but this was my most disappointing purchase thusfar and I returned these after about 4 seconds of trying them on. The pictures they show are extremely misleading as to the width of the leg. The length of the shorts is great, but I could fit 3 of my leg inside of these ... Read Moreand that is not what the picture shows... Very disappointed in these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2020

Hi Ben, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the baggies fit. We will definitely pass your experience along to our design crew so they can review it.

July 13, 2020

Light and comfortable, lose the lining

Baggies are shorts, but the lining has always baffled me. I decided on this pair to lose the lining (cutting it out myself) and I have used them immensely more than a pair I had years ago. Light, breathable with excellent pocket placements, theyre a summer staple.

July 13, 2020

The best shorts I have ever owned

I have been wearing patagonia shirts for a while now and this summer I really wanted to try their shorts. So I originally bought 2 pairs. I had them avout a week and wore them so much I bought 2 more pairs. I live in this shorts for anything and everything some of the most comfortable shorts I've owned. Would recommend to anyone looking for sh... Read Moreorts that can be worn to almost anything.

July 13, 2020

True Classic

Have been wearing these shorts since I was 5 - 30 years later and they are still some of my favorite shorts. Perfect for rivertrips.

July 13, 2020

Elite

Simply put the best swim shorts you could ever own. Baggies have the best designs and are made out of the best materials. As an undergrad myself, its nice to know I will be able to wear these well into adulthood and not look washed-up. Only thing that I dont totally love is that the inseams are a bit long even though it claims to be 5 inches.

July 13, 2020

Still the best

This was my second pair of these shorts. The first pair was well worn over 5 years. My family and I purchase Patagonia clothing for durability and comfort. So we have many favorites. We hike, run, camp, and play hard. Patagonia fits our lifestyle!

July 13, 2020

Superior quality

Overall excellent shorts. These are the shorts Ive spent a lifetime looking for; great fit, comfortable, superior quality, stylish. Very versatile; great for casual wear, hiking, and swimming.

July 13, 2020

Iconic for a Reason

What can be said about Patagonia's Baggies that hasn't already been said? The shorts are durable and will last many seasons without needed to be repaired. My last pair has held up great over 3 years. The mesh liner can be decisive but I've found it to be very comfortable on warm to hot summer days. The liner allows for great air f... Read Morelow and reduces the need for an under layer. Finally, the shorts look good! They're a little wider than your fashion / casual shorts but it's part of their charm.

July 13, 2020

Incredible quality!

I got these shorts as a gift for someone else and they absolutely love them! I am not kidding he wore them for 3 days straight. I was so impressed with the material quality and how well made they are. Love these shorts, love this brand.

July 13, 2020

The go to short

I'm telling you, just try them. They are awesome!

July 13, 2020

Little too big

The pants are good, but I think I could size down.

July 13, 2020

Great summer short

The 5 baggies are perfect for an summer outfit. Dress them up or down for any occasion. Very comfortable and great fit.

July 13, 2020

A swell pair of shorts

Used for fishing, swimming, and beach wear, these baggies do the trick. Durable enough for long days on a panga. Glad they are available in a shorter length, too.