Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 668 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

4.5/5
True To Size
October 13, 2021

Great everyday shorts

These are Patagonia Baggies. Not much else to say. They are lite weight and fit great. And with pockets can be easily worn out around town.

October 13, 2021

5 Inch Baggie is My Favorite

I have had both the 7 inch and 5 inch baggies, and I much prefer the 5 inchers for the daily walks and hikes I do here in Santa Barbara. I am on the short side, 5'6" and found that I sometimes got my knee caught in the longer Baggies. The 5 inch Baggie suits me well as I go up trails and walk along the breakwater. These baggies will last ... Read Morelonger than I will. My only wish is that Patagonia made mango a permanent color choice. The shorts I am reviewing are gray.

October 10, 2021

hole in left pocket in both of my pairs

love my baggies wear a pair every day the only problem is in both of my shorts a hole has opened up in left pocket within only a couple months

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2021

Hey Elijah, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear about the holes in the left pocket. Check out our [repairs page](https://www.ifixit.com/Patagonia) to see if you're able to patch them up. If you give it a go and are still unhappy with your purchase, you're welcome to send them back to us or return in store as a warranty return.

October 9, 2021

Super fit

Super fit and comfort and a must

October 6, 2021

5" Inseam Heavy Hitters Clean Look, Super Comfy

I bought these after hearing about them on a podcast called throwing fits. I was looking to upgrade from a pair of cheap ones I snagged a few years back that were coming apart. These are soft, and super comfy, I usually blow the brains out (cut the mesh lining) but I haven't done that with these since the liner is unobtrusive even when wearing... Read More boxer shorts or briefs underneath. They dry quickly and can double as swim trunks easily. Great shorts to pick up for the summer and for general activity around the house or the great outdoors. The inseam is short and the fit is modern without being too baggy. I am a slim 5'11" and weigh around 67Kg with a 30" waist and bought a size small which fits perfectly. They are very well made and did show some excellent moisture wicking as droplets of water beaded right off the short even after the first wash.

October 1, 2021

Excellent!

Purchased as a gift To my son and they are now his favorite! He says theyre excellent and will be purchasing another pair. Excellent choice.

September 30, 2021

Incredible shorts

I have three pairs (black, gray, and navy) and alternate between them most days of the week. Incredibly comfortable and durable enough to handle playing with my kids, working on the house, camping, working from home, etc. I waited around 10 months for my size to come in stock, which was the only downside as I could have been living in these sooner.... Read More

September 30, 2021

These are the best!

Very well made, thick material that feels like it will last a long time. 100% recycled which is awesome. I could probably do without the mesh inside, but aside from that I'm in love.

September 30, 2021

Best shorts ever

Bought these as a hiking short and they ended up becoming my all-around short. The length is a tad longer than i would have hoped but I rolled the waist up one time and they are the perfect length and still super comfortable with a ton of room. The material is top notch and dries extremely fast. I cannot recommend the shorts enough if you are looki... Read Moreng for a do everything short!

September 28, 2021

What is going on here?

Its odd, I have been doing business with Patagonia since its inception. I believe the baggie 5" have been around since the mid 1980's and for me, they exemplify perfection! Its the absolute one "go to" that gets packed for someone who spends time on the land and sea. A pocket that snaps closed, a key loop that defies any attempt... Read Mores to come undone, fairly quick drying, but above all real comfort for all activities! So for 35 years they have been the "One" For All!" So why pray tell why would you attempt to redesign perfection? I heard I was in the minority in my disdain for the new design. But, I literally couldn't hike with them without them binding on my quadriceps. Even getting up from guitar practice they would bind. HERESY I screamed. Of course, I will always be a loyal customer. Patagonia exemplifies the model companies should follow in this age of environmental degradation. And the iron glad guarantee...well we all know that it rocks! I wanted the stand up 5" as well, but I know that 7" wouldn't work for my femur length! Oh worries me what's a lad to do? If Patagonia is failing me, I think its a dire warning for the future of our Water Planet!

September 28, 2021

Incredibly Comfortable

From the first touch, great fabric weight, soft and comfortable interior mesh - one of my favorite features of this type of short, and what a happy color and design. All of these features, and more, are why I continue to get my clothes at Patagonia. I appreciate the thoughtful sourcing and design. Well done. See you out there. Michael

September 27, 2021

A classic!

New to loving these shorts. Retro vibe, fantastic prints and colors, super comfortable. They're "baggy" for real, the large is LARGE! But they look perfect with an oversized Snap-T. Thanks Patagonia!

September 26, 2021

Pshorts

I have been buying this style Patagonia Shorts for years...have a Collection...they are light and durable....and last forever...first pair I had for 10 years!

September 26, 2021

RUNS LARGE FOR ME

THESE RUN LARGE FOR ME. THEY FALL DOWN TO MUCH FOR ME.

September 23, 2021

Awesome shorts

Comfy for hiking, running and casual use.

September 18, 2021

Wonky pockets

These shorts are ok: good durable fabric and relatively comfortable. The pockets are poorly designed. First, they cut the bottoms off at an angle with the mesh drainage bit on the upper diagonal. The first result is that items in the pocket (phone, wallet) sit at annoying angles. The second is that stuff other than water you want leaving the pocket... Read More (e.g. sand while body surfing) will settle in the non-mesh bottom of the pocket, defeating the purpose of the drainage mesh. Second, the pockets are too long-they run to the bottom of the short. The result is that items "bounce" on the thigh above the knee. This is a classic and annoying long dumb cargo short problem. The pockets are nice, deep and secure, but they could be so about 2" higher on the thigh with a flat mesh bottom. Do that and you've got a great pair of shorts.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pockets Kyle. We'll pass it along to our design team.

September 16, 2021

Pretty Good

I like these a lot, theyre pretty comfy and pair well with a lot of things. The legs are a little wide, but it fits well

September 11, 2021

Great for water sports

Wore them rafting down the Grand Canyon-comfortable and quick drying

September 10, 2021

Comfortably casual!

Feels great to wear, and looks good too!

September 10, 2021

Great Shorts

I have several of these shorts, which I use for casual wear and working out. My one complaint is that you don't carry enough of the popular colors, so I've had to settle for a second or third choice, or not ordered.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2021

Hi Riachard, we’re so happy to hear that you're enjoying your Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5". We normally get new colors and prints in at the beginning of each season, so keep your eyes peeled around the mid-March and early September for new colors to drop.

September 9, 2021

Durable but Odd Fit

I use these shorts mostly for water activities (SUP, canoeing, kayaking). They are durable and quick drying and I like the pockets. What I do not like as much is the overall fit of the shorts. I realize they are designed to be baggy but the height of the crotch seems excessive. (The waistband of the XS rests well above my navel and I'm 6'... Read More1". Wearing the shorts at a more natural hip level causes the brief to sag and be unsupportive.) To alter the fit I sew a seam across the liner, about 2" from the bottom of the brief. This still allows for a relaxed fit stops the brief from sagging.

September 8, 2021

Favorite pair of shorts

These 5" Baggies are my favorite pair of shorts that I have ever bought. I shamelessly wear one of three pairs I own pretty much everyday throughout the summer. Personally I have found that these shorts fit best one size smaller than most other athletic/hiking shorts I have worn. My only complaint is that they are not made in a forest green t... Read Moreype color which would be perfect for casual wear or good on a hiking trail. I find that some of the more flashy colors I would only want as a bathing suit rather than as a multifunctional pair of shorts. Please, Patagonia, make the forest green color happen like you have in some of your other pants and shorts selections.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback. The best we can do for your green needs at the moment, is to suggest you check out our lightweight Strider Pro Running Shorts in the beautiful Borealis color. Thanks for your review, Andrew!

September 7, 2021

Close to Perfect

Loved the shorts, length is nice and material is durable. Fits true to size and in the water they wont pull off. The issue with these is the built in net, my god is this the most uncomfortable thing ever. Its too tight in the rear and not long enough in the front. I ended up cutting it out and was fine after that. Still ended up purchasing a second... Read More pair and also cutting the net out.

September 4, 2021

Baggies need to evolve

I bought My first pair of Baggies shorts in the 80's and I had many pair. I backpacked, climbed, ran, kayaked & swam in them. Then I stopped wearing them for whatever reason. But I recently ordered them and remembered the reason. The mesh lining is uncomfortable. I have other shorts that have a Lycra liner (like bike/yoga shorts). They now... Read More my most comfortable lightweight shorts. Time to evolve the Baggies !

September 4, 2021

Great shorts, love the pattern

I get compliments every time I wear my baggies. Two small things I would change if I could. Id like a second butt pocket, and Id like it if they came in a shorter version (maybe a 3 inseam?).

September 3, 2021

Perfect trunks

Typical of Patagonia to create the perfect shorts for a variety of uses.

September 2, 2021

Great everyday shorts

I use this casually to run errands. Very comfy. The liner is a little tight tho, I might just cut it out eventually.

September 1, 2021

Great shorts, but...

These are great and I have several pairs, but be warned that if you stretch too much the stitching holding the side pockets to the outer fabric can break, and, if this happens, you have a gaping hole in the pocket that your things can fall through (this has happened to two pairs of mine). I recommend the pocket be constructed as a self-enclosed uni... Read Moret and then stitched to the outer fabric, and perhaps use zig-zag stitching to secure the pockets to the outer fabric to allow a bit more stretch.

September 1, 2021

My WFH workwear

Ever since WFH restrtictions began in late March 2020, I have been wearing my baggies (one blue, one gray) in my home office, Monday thru Friday. After repeated washings, they look and fit just like new. I might need a new pair with some print on them, just to add a bit more color into my office attire!

August 31, 2021

Awesome

Good quality shorts, use em for pretty much everything. It also has netting on the inside that is removable if you dont like it.

August 31, 2021

Too tight on the thighs

My bfs review of the shorts I purchased for him: not comfy for thicker thighed folks/folks with a butt. Wore them once and Ill need to return/sell back.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2021

Hey Erika, thanks for the review on the Baggies Shorts - 5". We're sorry it didn't end up working out. If you'd like to exchange for a size up or return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 31, 2021

Classic

Love the 5 inch baggies. I'm a 31 waist and the small fits great.

August 31, 2021

Great shorts

My son wore these all summer as a counselor and found them to be comfortable and stylish. He is 18, 5-10 and 172lbs. He says the shorter 5 inch inseam is the style these days. I think he likes to show off his quads! He has them in 2 colors. He does not like the lining so he cuts it out. These are a huge hit!!

August 30, 2021

Comfortable shorts

Purchased this for my 15 yr. old grandson & he loved the quality & fit these shorts. Wash & wear well.

August 28, 2021

More funky prints please

Love those shorts, I'm not a fan of inside liners but I don't mind these at all. Would love to see funkier designs!!! Awesome for hiking

August 28, 2021

Good but could be better!

I just wish they made the same patterns across the mens and womens 5 baggies because womens fit me much better and I like that they are shorter, but the mens gets the cooler patterns

August 27, 2021

Top Shelf

Absolutely great shorts, I must have 6 now! You will love them.

August 27, 2021

The BLACK ones are cut differently

We need to address the fact that the black baggies are cut very differently from all the other colors. I love baggies. I've had a pair I still use for 30 years. They are black. The new black ones are not only cut differently than the new ones but also my old pair. The front fabric is too restrictive and bunches up. You can see it in the produc... Read Moret photo on REI. The 30 year old black pair are not like this. Neither are my Blue ones. It's just the black ones. Patagonia can you please look into this? The black ones are the best looking ones. I usually wear large in every color of baggies except the black ones. In the black ones the legs are restrictive and tight and the waist is perfect. So I have to buy an XL, then the waist is too big but the legs are good. There is a female reviewer who mentions it also somewhere. My wife has the exact same problem. She has multiple colors and it's only the black ones that are cut weird for her.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hi Henry, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We're really sorry to hear that you've found there to be inconsistency in sizing between black and the rest of the colors. That is definitely disappointing and its something we'd like to look into. We've passed this to our quality team so they can address it!

August 26, 2021

Fantastic shorts

I purchased these shorts a few weeks ago, and have practically lived in them since. I wear them around the house, hiking, swimming, and sailing, and they are super comfortable. Won't be my last pair for sure.

August 25, 2021

Nice fit

I had to cut the netting out because theyre more like a bathing suit but other than that the shorts fit me well. The only other issue I have is that the pockets go all the way down to the bottom of the shorts. Decent but could be better

August 24, 2021

Elite shorts

My favorite out of shorts hands down! Ive been waiting to get my hands on the pink pair which look awesome.

August 22, 2021

Super baggies of love

I have three pares of baggies right now, but have had many over the years. They are the only Patagonia threads I can actually wear out, because I use them everyday. Gosh, I love em baggies! Cheers.

August 22, 2021

inner lining

inner lining is a bit annoying

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Drew. You may prefer our [Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-all-wear-hemp-volley-shorts-7-inch/57870.html) for an everyday short with no liner.

August 20, 2021

Versatile

I gifted these shorts to my boyfriend and he LOVES them! he loves the stretchy waistband and the fun pattern.

August 16, 2021

All-Purpose Wear

I love baggies, these purple obese were no exception. Theyre great for casual wear, hiking, and Ive even biked in them. One tiny complaint is how it can be hard to take things out of the pockets because of the small opening and my pair came with a small fray on the stitching. But all in all great shorts!

August 11, 2021

Awesome design and it fits great which is why I always buy patatgonia, when I order something I know it will be great quality and a great fit.

Awesome design and great fit, which is why I always buy Patatgonia. I've been wearing patagonia for over 20 years and when I order something I know it will be great quality that lasts for seasons to come.

August 7, 2021

Great swim trunks/shorts

Perfect swim trunks or casual shorts. Dries very fast, comfortable, and nice color selection (bought the purple and eyeing the pink). Would like an option without the mesh liner for the future.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2021

Thanks for your thoughtful review! We do offer two Women's Baggies that do not have a liner. Don't hesitate to reach out to Customer Service if you have any questions about details on any of our shorts styles. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 3, 2021

Classic

Great fit and feel. Use as shorts and swim trunks.

August 2, 2021

one of the best short I own but...

Love this short, own 3 of them... the only thing I "struggle" with, is that the pockets are pretty deep as it goes all the way down the hems. But I understand that adding a stitching line to make it shorter wouldnt be nice visually and having the bag pocket floating wouldn't be comfortable neither...but yeah, that is the only thing ... Read MoreI wish could be solve...cause that short is anyway BANGER !

August 2, 2021

Very Comfortable

They fit and look great. My favorite pair of shorts for sure right now.

August 2, 2021

Good material but long

Bought for my boyfriend whos 6 feet, and thought the 5in shorts would be on the shorter side, but they were longer than expected

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

Hi Cynthia, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the shorts, but we appreciate this feedback. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

July 31, 2021

Have two pair and love them but one basically disintegrated after two years.

I love these shorts they are the perfect staple. The reason my review is negative is that one of my three pairs completely fell apart in the second year. Expected them to last a bit longer. Worried a bit about the other now.

Response from Patagonia
August 2, 2021

Thank you for your review, Ian! We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability in the one pair of Baggies. This is certainly not the norm and it sounds like you may have received a defective pair or part of a larger batch issue we would like to investigate. Please reach out to our Customer Service to discuss our Ironclad Guarantee so that we can [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you to return them.

July 30, 2021

Bad Quality Stitching and Inconsistent Measurements

I purchased several baggies in different colors. First, the stitching on the pockets came undone and left gaping holes, the mesh is no longer stitched to the shorts. This happened on BOTH pockets. Like what?? Then, all of my baggies are cut differently, despite them all being mediums. I guess I bought into the hype and it backfired, but I would... Read More not recommend them until they are made with greater attention to detail.

Response from Patagonia
August 2, 2021

Hey Fernando, thank you for the review on the Baggies Shorts. We're very sorry that you experienced some inconsistency in sizing and that the stitching has come undone for you. We'll include care instructions below in case that would be useful for you. If you're shorts are fairly new, and they're already failing like this, that would be considered a warranty issue and you're more than welcome to send them back. As far as sizing inconsistency is concerned, we'd love to gather some information from you to ensure this is not a quality control issue. Please [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Care instructions-- Machine Wash Cold, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Cool Iron

July 30, 2021

Great, But Needs Some Stretch.

These are great, simple shorts. The pockets are HUGE, so they can actually fit your phone (although it's a little hard to get your phone out). Much needed improvements to these shorts would be to make them out of a stretchier material to give better range of motion. I'd also like to see the waste band have a strong enough and snug enou... Read Moregh elastic band in it so that I don't have to use the drawstring at all. Thanks.

July 29, 2021

Extremely Versatile

These shorts are amazing! They are some of the most comfortable lounge shorts I've ever owned. They are also perfect for hiking/backpacking and I have logged some good miles in them. There is no real problem except they are kind of tight to bend down/squat in and you might need to pull them up if you were going to be doing lots of that kind of... Read More motion, especially to get some ROM. I also find that sometimes if I want to lift my leg high to say take a large vertical step you must also pull them up. But that is nothing unexpected, they are nylon not a stretchy fabric, still amazing shorts.

July 29, 2021

Warm

Love the product, wish they had more stock

July 29, 2021

Warm

The product I receive was great Have been wearing the short for a number of years. I wanted to buy additional pairs however, they have been out of stock for the past three months. Basic item should have more stock

July 27, 2021

My 5 " baggies

Material good, construction fine. Not sure I have use for the loop in the right front pocket. I also find that after a month or two I have to tie the ties to keep the shorts up, unlike the older versions.

July 26, 2021

Great swim shorts- fit well

Fit well- true to size - dries fast

July 26, 2021

A Classic wardrobe staple

I am 6'4 weighing in at 210 and these shorts have become an ALL TIME favorite of mine. The inner liner is super comfortable to live with daily and the material of the shorts is second to none. They tend to soften out with more washes and uses as they were a bit more rigid at the beginning. Fit is perfect, they do sit above the knee and make fo... Read Morer great tanning opportunities on a lake day and overall fantastic shorts for hiking or doing big yoga movements with. These are my go to shorts for everyday in SoCal weather and would 10/10 recommend adding a few to your lineup!

July 26, 2021

All 6 Pair of Shorts Are Great. But be careful...

All around comfort. Love the deep pockets. Variety of colors. Wear exceptionally well. Dont paint in them if you cant trust your care in neatness or make sure the paint is the same color as your shorts. Also make sure you forget your ball point pens only in the pockets of your black shorts. I now have 2 extra pair of shorts (Red and Blue) used ... Read Morefor painting in any hue and any color of the rainbow.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Hey Austin! Thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We're stoked that you're loving your Baggies Shorts! Sorry to hear about the stains - you could consider checking out our [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) page and refer to the washing guides for different types of stains.

July 26, 2021

Not happy

The shorts a lined similar to swim trunks and I had no clue. Plan to return them asap.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Hi Alexander, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We're sorry the Baggies weren't what you expected and we'd be happy to help facilitate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). In the future, we're always happy to answer questions about our garments prior to purchasing when you call us at 800-638-6464 or chat live with us online.

July 25, 2021

Uber functional

I really like these shorts because they are so versatile and comfortable. I have no problems dressing them up and down for when I go out, running in them, or using them as board shorts

July 25, 2021

Tapered oddly, not good for athletic butts

The build quality is great but I'm disappointed in the shape. I own many shorts from many companies and these have the worst tapering. Shorts are supposed to go up into the crotch more these are almost like a mini skirt where the crotch comes together is way further down your legs than average. So if you're taking a large stride or going ... Read Moreupstairs etc the shorts will work against each other and you will feel like you're stretching them apart. I have athletic legs not powerlifter legs so I'm surprised how poorly they fit around a more bulbous butt and bigger thighs.

July 24, 2021

Pretty good

I wear a large and I thought it be a bit slim but its pretty baggie, any1 that wears a large I prefer to get a medium

July 24, 2021

Comfy and deep front pockets!

Great shorts. Why change what aint broke. Ive got 4 pair now. Love em all. Way to go, Patagonia!

July 24, 2021

Happy w/My Exchange

Okay, so I have been stalking Baggies 5 for a long time. I have to say seeing it casually worn on people looked dope. Researching more about he company, allows me to appreciate them more. Okay I ordered medium purple, always wanted purple literally sold out EVERYWHERE for a year. Okay Ill waitfinally purchased it. Didnt like the size, the color I w... Read Moreas not feeling. I debated to just return or exchange. There are alot colors I liked the pink, yellow, gold, turquoise. Okay exchange it, I swear I got blue but there were two with the same name. I got the big sky blue. When I opened it, I wasnt happy. But I said let me try it on. People, when I tell you the fabric on these shorts. Are super dope. For me doesnt even make sense to get all the colors. I see why people live in them. Listen, I love to run, I have Nike wovens (no comparison) they feel selvedge denim & Nike flex stride nope ! Nothing Compared to the Patagonia 5 baggies. I cant wait. Doe you guys make sheets too. I am definitely sleeping these. No joke, I enjoy style, fashion , comforting clothes and companies that actually try to help the environment. Kudos to Patagonia !!!

July 24, 2021

Love my purple shorts

They sag a little but they're great! Only change I'd make is the pockets could be a little shallower, they're real deep!

July 24, 2021

Simply the best

Hands down the best shorts I own. Comfortable, versatile, fashionable. Perfect fit. Now I want a pair in every color!

July 22, 2021

I love Patagonia, but this isn't it

I shop at Patagonia at least 1x a month and usually love the products, even though they run large. These shorts are just so incredibly large. Im 5'11, 150 lbs, and the S was still to big on me. The pockets are super weird with how deep they are, you can literally hide two water bottles in them. They also definitely look longer than 5" bec... Read Moreause of how poorly they fit. Material is fine. Just a super awkward fit/bathing suit. I'm not going to wear them and wouldn't recommend these to a friend.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Baggies, we are certainyl sorry to hear that they did not work out for you. You are of course welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not meet your expectations.

July 22, 2021

Best shorts ever!

I bought these for my son who is hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. Baggies are his favorite thing to hike in. He started his hike in an extra large but now that he is over half way done he lost so much weight he needed a smaller pair. In his opinion Patagonia Baggies are the best shorts ever! .

July 22, 2021

Great shorts

Super comfortable and light weight, Love the color

July 21, 2021

Not exactly true to size

I love the color and materials but the sizing is off by I'd say almost two sizes . I most of the time but north face shorts so I'd figure I'd give these a try as I heard good reviews. But when I tried on they were a bit on the snug side . My advice go a size up if you can . If you are already a 2X avoid buying or loose weight :))

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the sizing Ralph. We're happy to provide garment dimensions anytime. If you're finding yours don't work please feed free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

July 21, 2021

Good fit

Great fit I have big thighs and they surprisingly fit very well. They do ride up but other than that perfect.

July 21, 2021

Great swim trunks

I like these trunks a whole lot especially because they aren't long like board shorts. The crazy design is an added bonus. Comfy + durable like all Patagonia stuff.

July 21, 2021

Great quality, great fit

I found the fit to be a little awkward when I first tried them on, but I quickly grew to love them. I think this is because they don't stretch. However, the cut leaves plenty of room for a good range of motion without looking too big/sloppy. Love them. Will probably buy more in other colors.

July 20, 2021

Baggies are the best!

Love love love the deep front pockets. And the key loop inside. The style is forever right. Why change what doesnt need changing after all. This will be my fourth pair. I still have and wear the other three. Highly recommended!

July 20, 2021

Overall great experience

Great price for a great product. Fit great. Huge pockets. Shipped and delivered very fast. 11/10 recommend

July 20, 2021

Versatile

Great quality shorts

July 20, 2021

Good Quality

The quality of these shorts, constructed from recycled materials, is excellent. The 5" medium short is a little baggy on me, but they are, after all, called "baggies". My only complaint is the mesh liner which gets uncomfortable on my man parts. For a liner, I would prefer a solid material rather than mesh. I own three of these short... Read Mores in different colors, so obviously, I'm a satisfied customer.

July 20, 2021

Comfortable!

Awesome shorts! Super comfortable. The only gripe I have is the leg width. I could probably fit a whole extra leg in there. I might size down on my next pair to see if it is different but after all they are called the Baggies. Love them though!!

July 19, 2021

Nice trunks

I used to buy the baggies lite short as my primary swim trunk and tried these out. They are comfortable and dry as fast as the lite. I find the fit a bit too large, particularly the width of the legs. I wondered if I should have bought a medium. Slimming that dimension down just a bit would make them perfect.

July 18, 2021

Very comfortable

Very nice looking , I'm only 5-3 and its perfect.

July 17, 2021

High quality

Really great shorts for the type of day when youre not exactly sure what youre gonna do. Youre prepared to go swimming in these, but theyre also stylish enough to just wear around. Nice material, nice pockets.

July 16, 2021

Great Shorts

I wear these all the time, have 2 pairs. If I order more, I'll probably try medium because the large are big on me. In probably 32 - 33 waist and 6'2

July 16, 2021

Perfect if you wear whitey tighties

These were the perfect hiking shorts you could wear in a restaurant, but, they have this bikini short lining that completely ruins the shorts.

July 16, 2021

Best all around shorts!

I own 6 pairs of these shorts with the first pair purchased 8 years ago. I live in a pair no matter what the activity all summer long. Whether Im swimming, hiking, camping, running or working out, my baggies are always ready. Material is rugged and dries fast. The built in liner is perfect and means I go sans undies from June to September in the no... Read Morertheast. No better short on the market!

July 15, 2021

Pickle Ball Shorts - bring on the sweat

These shorts are perfect for my two and a half hour pickleball sessions. With high temperature and humidity, I need shorts that don't hold onto the moisture. The nylon does the trick. I have always used my Baggies for all water sports. The new use makes them indispensable .

July 15, 2021

Great shorts

Over all the shorts are awesome. Super comfortable and breathable.

July 15, 2021

Best materials

Best shorts Ive ever purchased thanks!!!!

July 15, 2021

Great shorts!

I wear mediums for swim, larges for hiking and casual wear. You can wear them with or without bikini underwear and still feel comfortable and protected.

July 14, 2021

Nice shorts

Comfortable, fit well. Good purchase.

July 14, 2021

sizing issue

I have had these shorts for some some 25 years. I am still wearing the original ones I bought, but the newer ones don't have the same fit and material. The most recent ones feel a couple of inches longer than the old ones and are also a lot looser in the waist.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for your feedback! Our Baggies are very similar to how we have made them for nearly 40 years, but recently we switched the fabric to 100% recycled nylon, and that may be what you're noticing. If the new shorts are not working for you, please reach out to our Customer Service team to return them. We'll be happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/home/)!

July 14, 2021

Go anywhere do anything shorts

If I was stuck on an island with only one article of clothing it would be a pair of baggies. Comfy, breathable, fast drying.

July 14, 2021

fast drying

Don't care for draw string, prefer the old round one.

July 13, 2021

Everything I wanted in a short

Its light, its comfortable, the mesh is really useful if youre a guy who likes a breeze, its truly a dream short. Feels pretty sturdy but with the guarantee I dont really mind it its not indestructible. The colors are choice, the pockets are deep. Although, I wonder why theres a little elastic loop in one pocket. For your keys Im guessing? I get my... Read More keys tangled in it a bit, but its worth it if I needed to really keep something in my pocket at all costs. Maybe a chain wallet for this

July 12, 2021

Great Short, just too big

Fantastic shorts. I do not know why companies even bother with liners, but they were no match for my trusty pocket knife. Just wear your fav undies and call it a day. Now I know the shorts are literally called Baggies, but they're real baggy. These shorts definitely run larger. I have a 33-34 waist and can fit into my roommate's small a... Read Morelthough my preferred size is Medium. If you're in between sizes, definitely order the smaller option.

July 12, 2021

Comfy, many uses

I love all my patagonia stuff and these shorts are no exception. Durable, comfortable, and they look good. The opposite of fast fashion and wasteful trends. These will last for many years I'm sure.

July 12, 2021

Baggie Shorts

Good pair of shorts. Use them for many different activities.

July 11, 2021

Perfect Short

It took me a while to pull the trigger and get a couple pairs of these shorts. One hesitation was size; I tend to run between small and medium with Patagonia sizing and shorts are a hard thing to fit right. The other hesitation was color; all the cool colors were hard to come by. I finally got two pairs of Medium in some colors that are brighter th... Read Morean I normally wear. I am happy with the fit; the waist is a hair large for me (30 waist), but I just pull the draw strings and its good to go. One thing that surprised me was the toughness of the material. It feels rugged and long lasting. Its a little heavy for hiking and running for me, but they would work well for those activities for some folks. I will surely be purchasing more in the future in some toned down earthy colors.

July 11, 2021

Good swim trunks

These are great looking swim shorts- wish it had the boxer brief lining- Im concerned the mesh lining might stretch out- but REALLY like these.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hi Keith, if you do end up having trouble with the mesh later on, please do not hesitate to initiate a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 10, 2021

Waist size does not match leg and mid area size

The waist on the smalls fit perfectly but the mid-area is too small. There is not a lot of mobility moving because the mid area and thighs catch when you sit or stretch. The size Medium waist was way to big but the legs and mid-area feel way better. Seems like a sizing issue when matching the waist size to the thighs/mid. I almost always wear mediu... Read Morems in all shorts, have a waist size 31, but there was not way the medium baggies would work. Sticking with the smalls and a little discomfort. They do look great, though.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hey Jono, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Men's Baggies Shorts - 5". We're sorry to hear that you encountered some size discrepancies, and have passed your feedback along to the team. There is a waistband drawstring that you can use to adjust the waist size if you'd ultimately like to go with the size medium instead. To begin the exchange process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 8, 2021

Get a pair

Seriously. Get a pair. Youll end up shopping for another color.

July 8, 2021

Swim shorts

Bought for my husband. Great fit and love the tie front. So good we bought 2 pairs!

July 8, 2021

Fun shorts

Since I lived in Galápagos for three months and absolutely love blue footed boobies I had to get these shorts. I was worried they would fit short on my legs but are definitely plenty long. They fit a little baggy, which can be good if thats what your looking for. Overall comfortable with super deep pockets which are great. They meet my usual expect... Read Moreations for Patagonia.

July 8, 2021

Fun colors but leg opening too big

I am a 32 waist and usually a M but the M was too big so I got a S. Even with the S the leg opening is about 2-3 inches bigger than most of the similar shorts I have. This results in extra fabric between the legs bunching up and flapping around. But I like the colors enough that I am keeping a couple pairs and having the legs tapered 2 inches by a ... Read Moretailor.

July 8, 2021

Best Ever

Couldnt be better

July 8, 2021

Good for Everything

I wear these shorts for swimming, tennis, biking and going to the gym. Good short for just about all out door activities.

July 8, 2021

Dont rub me wrong

Let my inner thighs feel like a 1970s summer Drop the liner

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Shawn! The Baggies design has been a classic since 1982. If you're looking for nylon shorts without a liner, we recommend Guidewater, Quandary, MOC or Wavefarer Shorts. Please reach out to [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have any questions!

July 8, 2021

Excellent shorts for nearly everything

These things are so comfortable whether Im lounging around the house, swimming, or even out for a hike. The mesh basket is also soft enough where you dont get irritated after wearing them for a whole day. The pockets are waaay bigger than I would have thought, and theyre just awesome shorts. Worth every penny.

July 8, 2021

Versatile

Comfortable, look good, dry quickly, sturdy

July 7, 2021

Best Shorts Ever!

Love these shorts, they are the most comfortable shorts I have ever had. The material is sturdy, the fit is spot on. Even though they are called Baggies, they don't seem baggy and don't get in your way when moving. These shorts are lined so easily can function as swim trunks and the drawstring in the waist keeps them in place. I bought on... Read Moree pair and liked them so much I immediately ordered another. I plan to buy more once the colors I want are back in stock.

July 7, 2021

Great Product

Have been purchasing Patagonia products for over 30 years. They are truly the best - in both their products and philosophy. I would never think of purchasing from someone else. They are indeed 10 stars. Philip Kercher

July 7, 2021

Very comfortable

I very much enjoy the comfort and breathability of the shorts, and they look sick. Beware, however, that the pockets are very large and extend down to the bottom of the shorts. I dont mind but I think its important to note.

July 7, 2021

Patagonia baggies - great shorts

Great shorts XL works best for me 5 foot 10 inch 205 pounds. I also have L which is true to fit just not as baggie.

July 7, 2021

Top shelf fun hog shorts!

Picked up my first pair of baggies a few years ago and it was time to add some fun colors to the collection. Purple and red look great! Best all around swimming, biking, camping, relaxing in the backyard shorts ever. Get em!

July 6, 2021

Purple Baggie

I love these.

July 6, 2021

Style First!

Got three separate compliments on these shorts on the first day I wore them... so they look pretty good I guess. Very comfy, and worn them outdoor climbing, river swimming, hiking, you name it. Love my baggies.

July 6, 2021

Perfect shorts!

These are the best shorts! Easy to wear, breathable, comfy

July 6, 2021

Great, classic pair of trunks

5" is the perfect length. Booby design is great and was a topic of conversation. Really happy with my purchase!

July 6, 2021

Versatile Shorts

These shorts are great for pretty much anything, super durable, dries easily, comfortable and presentable. A little long for my personal preference, a 3 inseam version would be perfect. Aside from that no complaints about these shorts!

July 5, 2021

Better than womens

Im a woman with big hip, womens shorts are too shirt for me I feel like Im in underwear. This mens shorts is perfect, not too revealing feels comfortable. Just the fabric is a bit stiff

July 5, 2021

Great Shorts

Classic versatile shorts that work for nearly every occasion.

July 4, 2021

Great boating shorts

My husband and I are whitewater boaters (canoe/kayak/raft. We have worn these shorts for years. We love the mesh liner. I know they are mens shorts, but they are great for women too. I wear them casually as well.

July 3, 2021

Fits kinda small

I wanted the purple baggies 5 inch for almost a year it was sold out. Finally got it. Im a little disappointed. Im usually a medium, in shorts. These run kinda small, I wish I knew the fit first. Well Im not sure to return it now. But over seems like pretty cool shorts. Im not a fan of the liner. But hey each is own.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. You're welcome to return them if you'd like. Take care.

July 2, 2021

They are baggy, baggy is good.

The elastic loop in the pocket is great for securing your keys. The back pocket snap keeps does the same for your wallet. Little things are what make these shorts great. They run kinda large-ish (they call them baggies for a reason!). Just buy them.

July 2, 2021

Impressive

Never owned a Patagonia product before. The quality is great! Nice deep pockets too so your items wont fall out. I went down a size since reviews said it ran big. Fit was slightly snug but still breathable. I bought 3 different colors.

June 29, 2021

Horrible lining

These are great shorts but the lining is a disaster. Way too loose, leaving a visible bulge in front. Adopt the lining from your Nine Mile shorts and youll have perfection and Ill buy every color.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Rick! We're sorry to hear that our classic Baggies design isn't working for you. Our [Nine Trails Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nine-trails-running-shorts-8-inch/57601.html?dwvar_57601_color=SPRB&cgid=root) have a longer inseam and boxer-brief style inner liner and can be used for many of the same activities as our Baggies. Please let us know if you need any help with a return or exchange!

June 28, 2021

Vital summer gear

I like thousands of other people live in these shorts in the summer. Last count I had five pair. One thing that could be improved upon is the elastic in the waistband. the elastic gives out after three or four seasons. but no worries, Patagonia stands behind it. It's all good. Chore On

June 28, 2021

The best

Great shorts. I love baggies. Theyre my uniform for the summer - hiking, kayaking, swimming.

June 28, 2021

Baggies are great, but the liner is miserable.

After cutting out the liner, I love these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2021

Sorry to hear that the liner wasn't working for you, Stacey. While this does void the warranty, we're very glad to hear that you love the shorts now!

June 28, 2021

The Legend but...

I bought a pair of these shorts after my wife and brother both rave about their baggies. I have found them comfortable and great to do just about anything in. However, the mesh lining that is included doesn't provide me with enough coverage to feel comfortable in without wearing underwear. Granted, that could just be me and I accept my insecur... Read Moreity in that area so take this as you will. Yet, the advancements that other companies have made with their mesh linings, or compression linings, leave me wanting more support or more coverage with these shorts. In the end, I still wear something underneath, so the mesh lining will likely get cut out at some point.

June 27, 2021

Good Quality

I have had two M baggie shorts years ago, but have gained weight. I should have ordered a L ,since the XL is a bit too large. However, the quality and look are great.

June 26, 2021

Swimming

The shorts are exactly what I expected. Superb quality and design

June 26, 2021

My favorite shirt!

These are my sons favorite shorts. Because the waist is elastic, size small was perfect.

June 26, 2021

Perfect

Best ever

June 26, 2021

Not like my old one

I miss the 4 inch baggies. Plus, this one is a medium and runs large. Hard to carry a phone without really cinching up the waist. Still, better than Beans.

June 25, 2021

Beach favorite

Earth friendly , abrasion resistant, quick drying warm weather body armor, highly recommended.

June 25, 2021

Little tight for 9month pregnant

The color was perfect purple! I ordered this to use as a swimsuit while I am pregnant and needed to exchange for S size.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

We're glad to hear these are working for you as a swimsuit! Please let us know if you'd like any assistance with your return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 24, 2021

Kinda big

Kinda big but its good

June 24, 2021

Great

Love these!

June 23, 2021

5 baggie shorts

Very comfortable and fast drying. I wish they were a bit more tailored. I wear them for tennis every week, 52 weeks of the year.

June 23, 2021

Amazing shorts, lack of colors

First off I absolutely love these shorts, the shorts themselves are a 5/5, I have multiple pairs and some Ive had for over 6 years and they have held up. My only problem with these is that they dont offer all the same colors in the 5 version and 7 version, there are some colors I like of the 7 version and would like to purchase but they do not offe... Read Morer them in the 5 version. This is relatively frustrating because I assume its the same material so I feel they should just offer all the colors in each length. The same goes with the Baggies Light version, not all of those colors arent offered in the regular version and its keeping me from ordering more of these. Overall, they are amazing shorts and I would recommend but the design team is missing when it comes to the colors theyre offering in each length.

June 23, 2021

Baggies

Ive been wearing Baggies since I bought my first pair thru LL Bean in the 80s. There have been tweaks and experiments (stretch Baggies?) but the only way Patagonia has been able to improve on them is by making Baggies Longs. Comfortable, sturdy and dependable. Theres really nothing more to say. Highly recommended.

June 22, 2021

Perfect Summer Shorts

Material is great, as is the fit.

June 21, 2021

King of the shorts

I just bought my second pair of baggies. The first pair I bought in 2013, wore for 4,000 miles of backpacking, countless swims, day hikes, runs, and house projects. I practically lived in them from spring to fall for eight years, theyre still fine by the way, I just wanted another pair for when I was doing laundry.

June 21, 2021

Best piece of clothing ever created

If I only could own one article of clothing, this would be it. You can do anything and everything with the baggies and at the same will hold up to any circumstance you throw at it. Comfortable, reliable, simple yet pretty stylish.

June 19, 2021

Nice Shorts

I like these shorts, the are good for both casual and swimming and hiking. If you do not like nets in the shorts you will have to cut them out is the only thing but I don't mind the nets personally.

June 18, 2021

Pockets are too big.

Dont get me wrong, the quality is great. The pockets on the front are huge. They are the entire front of the short so your wallet hangs to your knee. If you like that, you will love them. For me I just dont like my belongings hanging that low and for that I would not buy again. Everything else about them is great!

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi Amos, thanks for taking the time to write a product review! We're sorry that you didn't like the design of the pockets on these and we've passed your feedback along to our Design Team. All of our products are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at any time.

June 18, 2021

Baggies, what's not to like?

Warrantee replacement for a very well worn pair (thanks Patagonia!), same fit, drawstring is more of a tape than the original (circa 90's) string.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches