Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.4 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 183 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

4.4
True To Size
May 25, 2020

Best Shorts Ever Made

Great pair of shorts, will definitely be getting more in the future. Great for tall guys. People that consider too big should probably hit leg day more often.

May 21, 2020

Super comfortable, retro action shorts

These guys run big. I'm 5'11" with a 31" waist and so I ordered in Small and Medium to try them out. The Mediums were like poofy church bells around my legs, and although I was worried the Small might pull a little on my top of my quads, a few runs, hikes, and swims confirmed the Small is the perfect size. An awesomely retro fas... Read Morehion shorts with a lot of exposed leg--extremely comfortable, dries quickly, and light weight, but with substance to the nylon. Perfect for hikes, swimming, jogging, and videoconferencing.

May 21, 2020

Good quality. Be careful with sizing

The quality is great. I also love the deep pockets. However, I got the mediums and they were too baggy and long for my liking (6'0 175lb). I like wearing my shorts short to show off my thicc thighs. So, I ordered smalls instead. If you like shorts to be slightly baggy and a little longer, get true to size. If you like them more snug and a litt... Read Morele tighter, size down.

May 18, 2020

All around okay.... Few tweaks and it would be perfect

Bought my first pair of baggies in January as I was returning to Asia and wanted to add an all-purpose short to my travel arsenal. Bought the 5 in mango, rad color. During an intense beer pong tourney in Bali I slid to catch the ball and my left pocket had a blowout. I was bummed cuz I only had them for a month. Havent sewed them yet cuz the sewing... Read More store close to me is closed due to covid-19 and the only one on this side of the island. This wouldnt have happened if they had a bit of stretch to them, is that tech possible to incorporate into recycled shorts??? The draw string seems as if it stretches when I sweat in them, so they sag down and the mesh becomes exposed which is a bit annoying. Besides that they look great, dry fast, and all in all are pretty tough. Everything I expect from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Oh no, we are so sorry to hear that these ripped diving for the ball! Hopefully you caught it? Please note, we are happy to help with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for these if you're interested.

May 11, 2020

Material Change?

I have 4 pairs of baggies. Three I bought a few years back and one that I bought this year. It seems that the material in my new pair is a lot stiffer than the previous ones. It now pulls on my thighs when working out and I wish I would have gotten the next size up instead.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these are a little tight on you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us and we are happy to help with an exchange. Thanks for your feedback!

May 11, 2020

Love them however..

Alright, I will start by saying that I love the shorts, they feel amazing as far as the material goes. I purchased two pairs of these. I used to have a pair in XL but they were way too big so got a Large this time, the waisted and bottom of the shorts are perfect but the middle of the shorts are very tight unlike the rest of them. I did not have th... Read Moreis problem with XL because they were oversize so I figured Large was going to be perfect. Again I love this product I'm just looking for the perfect fit!

May 8, 2020

Terrible Fit

I really wanted to to like these shorts- The construction is solid, they seem practical, and the colors are cool- but the fit is terrible. Im 57 170 and wear a size 32 waist. I initially ordered the medium (5) which is what I wear in most every brand (including Patagonia), but they fit like a tent. Way too big. I wanted them to fit like my 5 stand ... Read Moreup shorts. I returned them and ordered a size small. The smalls were too small and severely restricted my leg movement and I will be returning them tomorrow. In both sizes, they are too long. If they actually have a 5 inseam I would be amazed- They fit more like board shorts. As previous reviews have stated, the sizing is all wrong on these shorts and I hope Patagonia can get it fixed.

April 27, 2020

Love these shorts, but...

I love the looks of these shorts. Truly some of the coolest shorts in the market today, an icon. Unfortunately though I simply cannot find a pair that works for me. I started with a size M 7. After I started wearing them I noticed they restricted my range of motion horribly. Im 6 foot 3 and approx 195 lbs, Im skinny and dont have overbearing thig... Read Moreh muscles. I could barely move around in them without the shorts pulling on my legs, which isnt good with the tough (and very durable) nylon material. After a year of suffering thru the uncomfortable-ness I tried on a M 5 at the store and they still restricted my range of motion. So next I ordered a L 5. No more restricting but they were super baggy and the only way they wouldnt sag and give me a plumbers crack every time I bent over, was to tie them ridiculously tight. I love these shorts and I tried and tried to make them work. The M fit well other than I didnt have a full range of motion in them, which really isnt ideal for shorts that are made for, you know, swimming and hiking and the outdoors.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

Hi Brent, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with sizing. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 24, 2020

Best "Water" Short / "Everyday" Short

I rotate between the black and the stone blue colors of the baggies. Its nice having short that you can wear causally for whatever you are doing and be able to wear the same thing to go for a swim and know that it will dry fast. Most shorts I like when the side pockets have zippers so I don't have to worry about my phone, keys, wallet falling ... Read Moreout. Luckily these shorts have such deep pockets your stuff is pretty secure. The back snap seal pocket helps as well too! You don't need to have so many pairs of these but sometimes the season colors I can resist haha. Overall you can wear just one pair over and over again with washing and it holds up very well.

March 27, 2020

Sizing.

These shorts are built big hence the name. I am 6' tall / 175lbs and the size Medium is a perfect fit. At one point I weighed 210lbs and I would wear baggies in size Large. Looking back now I believe the Medium would have been a better fit all along! The liner is not constricting yet does the job when it comes to containment. The front pockets... Read More run deep and I would not carry a cellphone in them as the shorts themselves don't hold weighted items very well. Baggies are light and airy, great for warm days in the sun. All that is needed to round out this outfit is a pair of flip-flops & your favorite cold elixir at hand. Salud!

March 18, 2020

Good, but BRING BACK THE OLD BAGGIES

Baggies are my favorite shorts. I probably have 10 pairs (all 5 version). However, the new models are not nearly as good as the older ones. They fit larger, they dont stay up as well, and the liner is not nearly as comfortable. More specifically; they are slightly longer, they are not as tight fitting on the waist, the liner is not as soft and is l... Read Moreooser, and the shorts are looser and more sloppy fitting over all. In my opinion the short version (5) should be very short (not getting longer) and the people who dont like short can get the longs version. If you still want to buy baggies, my advice is to size down honestly. The size xs in the new model fits the same as size s in older ones for me. I even have a vintage pair in size s that is tighter than the newer pairs in size xs. *for reference I have a sz 28 waist and a slim, tall frame* Only positive things I can say about the new baggies is that the material itself is spot on (in my opinion) and they are still coming out with really cool colors and patterns (purples on my radar). Another note on colors, Patagonia, PLEASE bring back Spiced Coral and Surfboard Yellow.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hey there Nathan, thanks for taking the time to share this feedback. We can understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product of yours is revised. We truly appreciate the feedback on the revisions and we'll pass it along to our design crew

March 4, 2020

BE A PART OF THE SHORT SHORTS COMEBACK

If you can't see your knees when wearing shorts then you have an issue. These are by far the best shorts I've ever owned. I wear them to school a lot, and a lot of people will compliment you for breaking the norm and showing off some leg as a guy. So buy these shorts. Strut your stuff! They're called shorts for a reason so grab a pai... Read Morer and they will last you a lifetime. Without a doubt would wear these every day if I had enough of them!!! greatest. shorts. of. all. time.

January 1, 2020

Great Shorts

I have been wearing Baggies for 35 plus years. Have a pair I dated my wife in 1984😎👍

December 31, 2019

Gift for son- loved them

He was very impressed with the quality of the shorts, liner and size of the pockets.

December 31, 2019

Great

Great

December 27, 2019

Grown sons favorite

My son who is now grown with a family has worn theses since in high school.. loves them.. no imitation measure up

December 26, 2019

Baggies for Baja

I haven’t had a pair of these for twenty years. Forgot how much I love them. My favorite shorts again!

December 24, 2019

Great shorts

Wore them through Laos and Cambodia and they were fantastic. Hiked and hiked miles in them, went in and out of water and they were great

December 21, 2019

Exceptional customer service and product

USPS lost my initial package- I was frustrated and a bit frantic as this package was intended for a Christmas gift. I notified Patagonia and they took over. I didn’t have to file a claim, nor lift a finger. Patagonia handled the situation for me and within a couple days from reaching out- a new package was at my doorstep. Amazing service. Amazing p... Read Moreroducts. Amazing people. Thank you so much Patagonia!

December 19, 2019

Love Em

Comfortable, liner is actually nice and doesn't mess with you if you don't wear underwear with em. Super comfy. I just don't get why the pockets are so deep, but that's really nice to make sure my stuff doesn't fall out because I typically have bad luck with pockets.

December 18, 2019

Elastic waistband fails with fail.

Love these shorts and continue to order them even though the elastic waistband seems to fail without fail after a year or two of moderate use. The shorts would go forever if not for this flaw. Patagonia, please make the appropriate change.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hey there Benjamin, sorry to hear that the elastic has worn out in your baggies! You are welcome to bring them to a Patagonia store or [send them in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns) for a free repair.

December 17, 2019

Great for running. Could use some stretch.

Overall these shorts are great. I use them as all purpose shorts from relaxing, going out, running 5-10 miles, lifting at the gym and more. They don’t sweat through on long runs and don’t rub or irritate anywhere. Very breathable and feel very durable. My only constructive feedback would be that they have a tiny bit of stretch. The fabric they’re m... Read Moreade of does not stretch at all (except at the waist of course) which does not cause any discomfort or issues but having tried other similar shorts with a bit of stretch, they have the potential to be just slightly more comfortable. I’m nitpicking here and the shorts are great.

December 17, 2019

I love them

I got the baggies in the stone blue color and they have a really pretty color and the fit is perfect! The only thing that I didn’t like was that the rockets were a little too deep in my opinion, but that’s not a big deal. They are probably the best shorts I’ve ever had.

December 4, 2019

M’s Baggies

I have two pairs and love them. They are the best, most durable shorts I own.

December 3, 2019

Go To Shorts

These are my new favorite shorts! Great length for any occasion, and the internal mesh is not to constricting. I feel very comfortable keeping my phone in the deep pockets, without a worry of it slipping out. The key loop and rear pocket are very useful keeping this a do all short. I can wear this swimming, balling, even napping. I hope some camo c... Read Moreolors get rereleased.

November 29, 2019

Most awesomest

Bought these to replace a pair that was stolen at the gym. Seriously, someone thought my shorts were that awesome.

November 27, 2019

Best of both worlds

Great shorts and great trunks. My 4th pair

November 24, 2019

Baggies

Great product, have a pair in four colors!

November 23, 2019

Awesome shorts

Super useful. Especially love the breathable material and the deep pockets.

November 22, 2019

I wouldn't use them for yoga

Durable, easy to fix when you do overstretch doing the splits (pocket mesh breaks away from outer fabric), and good for everything. I use them for gym shorts, bathing suit, outdoor climbing, etc and have only found one flaw. They tend to catch on your leg muscles pretty aggressively when doing splits-type leg spreading, which can be annoying on cli... Read Morembs sometimes.

November 22, 2019

Should be called VERY BAGGY

This is my 2nd pair of these shorts. I like the fact that they are lined. I love the relaxed fit. These are my go to shorts for any and all water activities. You are NOT going to find a better pair of mesh lined trunks.

November 22, 2019

Good for run/swim, gym workouts

Good for run/swim, gym workouts

November 19, 2019

All around short

These shorts can do it all. they're comfortable for hiking, swimming or stay cool in the desert. I only with the pockets were not quite as deep. Other than that minor issue, they are still at the top of my list

November 4, 2019

Basic Shorts

Comfortable quick drying shorts.

November 4, 2019

Thicker fabric?

Most summer weekends I live in my baggies. From surfing and hiking to yardwork and grocery shopping they have served me well. Try as I may I have never actually worn a pair out. I am happy to see that the newest pair that I purchased appears to be made of a stiffer, heartier type of fabric. These will certainly go the distance and live up to my ex... Read Morepectations for baggies. Long Live Baggies!

November 3, 2019

great.

great.

October 27, 2019

Perfect shorts

Got these to wear over my bib shorts and they worked perfectly!

October 23, 2019

Great!

Excellent, functional shorts that you can do just about anything in. Pockets for phone, keys, and wallet. Could benefit from a little bit of stretchiness in the material for a little more mobility if you've got a lot of junk in the trunk. If you're not sure about buying the 5 inch or the 7 inch, just remember that the shorter the shorts, ... Read Morethe badder the dude. In summary, a recent conversation: Girlfriend: Are you going to wear these everyday? Me: Yes.

October 21, 2019

Baggies

Great weight and love the length.

October 12, 2019

greater than great. durabler than

greater than great. durabler than durable.

October 9, 2019

A master-class pair of shorts -- until they stunk

So I got these shorts over the Summer and immediately put them through a stress test -- 10 days of backpacking through Cuba. I swam in the ocean, rode horses, did some minor caving, and hiked all over the island and these shorts handled it all with aplomb. I made it back stateside and gave them their first wash. Not because they reeked or even smel... Read Moreled a little bad -- I just thought I would do something nice for such dependable shorts. I wear them all the time now. I live and go to school in Central Texas, so it's hot. These shorts are so loose, thin, and comfortable -- I can't remember how I endured the heat before I bought them! The pockets are another huge plus -- literally. They're enormous. If the opening were slightly larger, I'd be able to throw a Nalgene in each one and be the guy with 2 Nalgenes in his pockets (tautology anyone?). The rear snap pocket I'm sure is secure, but since the front pockets are basically reusable grocery bags, I tend to throw phone, keys, wallet, etc. in them. They each hold upwards of 4 tennis balls. There's a loop inside the right pocket, which I'm sure is useful for somebody but I haven't used it. I appreciate the utility of the tough, quick drying nylon these shorts are made of and the giant pockets. And as a male, I feel like I'm doing by body a favor by wearing shorts with this much breathing room! Also, they're great for rock climbing (if you like climbing in shorts), biking, and casual games of tennis. Recently, however, my experience has taken a dark (rank) turn. My shorts stink -- specifically, the liner stinks. I've heard some people cut it out, but personally I really like not having to wear underwear, so I kept my liner. I was washing my shorts once every 2-3 wears. But as of about a week ago, they've started to stink (badly) after only a couple of hours of wear. I'm confident my personal hygiene is good. My other clothes don't stink. I've tried hand washing the shorts, to no success. I talked to customer service, and they recommended I wash with vinegar, which I'll try (and if it solves the problem for 2-3 wears, I'll update this review). I think the problem is probably because the liner is not made of nylon, but polyester. I can't find this information on the product page, but it's clearly indicated on the tag of my shorts. I think what happened is the polyester for the liner was treated in some way (and I know Patagonia doesn't use silver nanoparticles, so some other treatment) and after about 3 months of lots of wearing and washing, the treatment has faded. Personally, I think the liner itself should be made out of nylon. The body of the shorts being made of nylon -- and so being resistant to bacteria and stinking -- is a major selling point of the product. The liner seems like the most at risk (of stinking) part of the whole shorts, and it's not a lot of fabric, so you'd think making it smell-proof would be both a priority and not terribly expensive. I also know Patagonia's warranty is incredible, and I have no worries that if I am unable to use these shorts, that I'll be able to return them or replace them. I'm actually bothering to write this review (instead of just returning my shorts) for 2 reasons. First, I love these shorts and I'm really hoping I'll perform a cleaning miracle (maybe with vinegar) on them and bring them back to life. Second, I respect these shorts as a feat of engineering and I'm hoping this review will find its way to interested parties and the shorts will be perfected -- impossibly tough nylon shorts, made by adequately compensated laborers with low environmental impact materials, featuring enormous pockets and a nylon (or better!) liner that real humans can wear day after day, year after year -- in SHORT, the greatest shorts ever made.

October 8, 2019

Favorite Shorts

The new baggies are great for just about anything and you get what you pay for. The liner is comfier than the older edition, which a definite plus.I wear these for mostly running, beach, and gym days. The 5" shorts are the only way.

October 3, 2019

Great Fit

My first pair of baggies and they are great. The large is roomier than I expected. I'm on the huskier end of the large spectrum and the fit is comfortable.

October 3, 2019

Amazing but limited

Baggies have been my go-to shorts for a long time now. I first got the grey 7" pair, and then I got the 5" royal blue pair. I use the grey ones as daily shorts and the blue ones as a swimsuit, the best one I've ever had. I liked both of them so much that now I have 4 pairs of baggies and want more, but every color I like is getting r... Read Moreemoved. They had the mayan yellow, neon green/yellow, burnt orange, and many other colors I liked but are gone now. I just wish they would have more variety and then keep them in stock.

September 25, 2019

Overall Good but Some Complaints

Overall, the Baggies Shorts are of good quality. After constant wear, they've held up very well, and are simple enough that you can wear them in most summer scenarios when paired properly. I also love the variety of colors and lengths. My complaints about the Baggies are regarding the pockets and mesh lining. Because the pockets are so deep ... Read Moreand go all the way to the leg opening of the shorts, even light-weight items will drag your pants down and you have to constantly pull them up. It also feels weird having items flail around just above your knees. It can also be a hassle getting items like a phone out of your pockets because of how deep the pockets are (especially when sitting down). I also don't understand the mesh underwear lining because during the summer it chafes you and feels incredibly awkward and uncomfortable for shorts that are more outdoorsy geared. I cut mine out.

September 24, 2019

Great pair of shorts, both

Great pair of shorts, both durable and comfortable.

September 24, 2019

Comfortable fit, lightweight, fast drying,

Comfortable fit, lightweight, fast drying, durable -- perfect for summer.

September 15, 2019

Great for lake, ocean or

Great for lake, ocean or pool

September 15, 2019

My all day every day beach wear

This is my second pair, because I end up spending all day in these when I go minimalist at the beach. They are comfortable and versatile enough to kick around town with pockets for wallet, etc. and then later go jump in the sea.

September 14, 2019

Ultimate Summer Shorts!

Perfect for lounging poolside or just chilling at home!

September 14, 2019

A little disappointed

My husband ordered theses shorts to hike the AT. The shorts are comfortable. The reason for the 2 star deduction is related to the pockets. However, within The first few days he wore the shorts the stitching of both pockets came undone. This is odd since he didn’t carry anything in his pockets. We expected more from Patagonia quality.

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 12, 2019

Sizing is forever changing and

Sizing is forever changing and difficult to estimate. I used to be men's medium but now it seems I'm a small. I understand that freedom of movement is important.

September 10, 2019

Bummer Sorts Man...

At the price they could be designed better. Movement and quality of the fabric is fair and the pockets drain but add difficulty when items need to be stored in them. Also, the webbing for water play is on size fits all and is not kind to movement of flaccid flesh...just cut it out and wear your own underwear.

Response from Patagonia
September 18, 2019

We're sorry you're disappointed with the design! Thank you very much for your feedback.

September 8, 2019

Good shorts

I like these shorter Baggies better than my old longer ones. The legs might be too baggy for rowing, though. The legs might catch in the slide; but I haven't tried them for that yet. Beach wear, mowing the yard, good for those things.

September 5, 2019

still good but not as good as before

Only 4 stars because Patagonia changed the drawstring, and now it hangs up in a knot if you're not careful about untying it. No matter, I must have 6-7 pairs of these, two for swimming in, a couple for yard work, the rest for bopping around town with a Polo or an Hawaiian shirt. They are, of course, part of the standard SoCal uniform (bags, Re... Read Moreefs and a less-than-new T). Still good!

September 5, 2019

Mens Baggies 5"

Great workout, walking, & beach short. All in one!

September 3, 2019

Great Product

I've been wearing baggies for many years and this pair continues the tradition. I use them for sailing, running and working out. They never disappoint - tough but comfortable, I've only had one pair wear out during in spite of the abuse I put them through.

September 2, 2019

5 stars. Super breathable, and

5 stars. Super breathable, and perfect length. Stylish design.

September 1, 2019

Always great

I’ve been wearing Stand up Shorts since the mid ‘70’s when I taught rock climbing and Baggies since the early ‘80’s as a river guide. They can’t be beat.

August 31, 2019

Baggies shorts rock

My son loves these shorts. We have bought 3 pair now.

August 31, 2019

These are the only shorts

These are the only shorts you need. Fit true to size and are comfortable for absolutely everything. 10/10

August 31, 2019

Awesome shorts

I have way too many pairs because I love wearing them. They are comfortable, relaxing and have some cool colors.

August 31, 2019

Baggies

Amazing pair of shorts! Feels durable. Looks great. Super comfortable. One of my favorites. It's easy to see why it's a classic

August 31, 2019

Bought for my son

My 18-year old son asked for these shorts. He was looking for plain, black, athletic type shorts in a shorter length than your typical athletic shorts. These fit the bill (and him!) perfectly. We did, however, cut out the mesh lining, as he felt it was not necessary and would be uncomfortable. He said he knows others who have done the same. Would l... Read Moreove to find some without the lining, as it seems kind of wasteful to be cutting up brand new shorts at this price point.

August 29, 2019

You can never have enough baggies

I love patagonia baggies! The cut is so comfortable for someone with bigger legs, and a booty to match. I wear them to the gym, hike in them, and feel really comfortable sleeping in them as well. I have a lot of solids, but the pattern ones really are fun. The 7 inch shorts come right above my knee. The 5 inch shows off a little thigh. Both have th... Read Moree same cut.

August 28, 2019

Waist seems to be an

Waist seems to be an inch or two larger than my previous (6 or 7 yr. old) pair. Is America getting that much fatter?

August 28, 2019

Pockets make these awkward to wear

These shorts fit funny. Pockets in them are stitched to the shorts and go all the way to the bottom of the short. Returning and won’t buy again. Uncomfortable

August 27, 2019

Ms 5" Baggies

I love these shorts. I've hiked over 750 miles in various pairs and they do pretty darn good. Only complaint is that the net interior doesn't tend to last long. I just cut it out and keep going. Please don't change the design.

August 26, 2019

Yellow baggies

Awesome. Look great and feel great. Highly recommend.

August 23, 2019

The Perfect Shorts!

They go with everything, do everything, and I want to wear these every day!

August 23, 2019

Everyday Driver

Lot's of aesthetic options in the style dept. I have worn them trail running, beach going and bike riding and they are comfortable throughout. They hold up to active wear and tear. The comments about the deep pockets from other reviews are just silly.

August 23, 2019

I live in my Baggies

I added this pair of baggies to two others I've worn for about a year. I get home from work, put on baggies. I get up on the weekend, put on baggies. Hike? Baggies. Kayak? Baggies. Gardening? Baggies. I've worn my baggies on the Colorado River, rafting the GC, the Trinity River in N. CA, the Snake through Devil's Canyon, and the Lowe... Read Morer Salmon in the past year. They are comfortable and seemingly indestructible.

August 23, 2019

New School 5” Baggies

These are awesome shorts for sure. I loved my old Baggies and I haven’t had any of those for many years so I got some New School ones last month. Are they the Baggies you once had before? No. Things have changed. These are a more durable, 100% recycled nylon product that feel twice as thick as the originals, more robust. The added thickness makes t... Read Morehese shorts feel bomber tough. The only drawback is that the original Baggies were shorter, like 80’s short - these are just a bit longer at 5” long. Pro Tip here: the original Fun Hog uniform was mid-weight Capilene bottoms with Baggies worn over them in the cold. Why? Because the Baggies have a drawstring to keep them and the long tights in place, and the Baggies also have three useful pockets for lip balm or whatever. Looks funny, but works great! That’s how I plan on wearing these, old habits die hard. I love the solid colors, this is my second pair purchased recently. Pick up a few pairs and you’ll be set for summer. And winter!

August 22, 2019

Surprise ending

I admit that I bought these entirely for myself, a woman, because I wanted to try baggy shorts with the liner in them to see if I liked it better than the unlined women's version. Also, there were way more fun colors on sale in the men's version :) When I tried them on, I loved how they fit and was excited to wear them even though my par... Read Moretner told me they looked like I was wearing men's shorts (which I was, to be fair). When I told him to try them on to see if they fit him too, he said, "Oh, these are actually really comfortable." and proceeded to wear them for the rest of the weekend. He also insists that they are swim trunks because they are lined, and I can't convince him otherwise. Anyway, long story longer, I loved the shorts and my partner loves the shorts and we will be "sharing" them because they are so comfortable and well-made. For context, my partner refuses to wear anything besides jeans and sweatpants so the fact that these shorts won him over is a standout review in itself. Thanks for the cool shorts, Patagonia!

August 21, 2019

Great Shorts!

This is my second pair of baggies and my first pair of 5". I love them as casual shorts, a swimsuit, and even have worn them climbing in the gym even though that isn't their intended use. Would recommend.

August 20, 2019

Capilene

The tropic comfort 2 hoody is what I’m living in on my drive across America Alaska to Memphis Tn. I also have two capilene short sleeve shirts and a snap -t synchilla. All of these combined and I’m ready for whatever comes my way. Pack it in pack it out, get up and get out my friends !

August 20, 2019

Loyal Customer

I love the Baggies, they are great for kayaking, running, swimming etc. I would definitely buy again.

August 20, 2019

Baggies

I bought the men’s baggies for myself because I wanted them baggy! And they are great! So comfortable. Great for semi wet conditions. Highly recommend!

August 20, 2019

Love the fit, questionable quality

I was excited to receive this shorts in the mail about a month ago, and at first they were everything I had hoped for; however, after a month a light use, perhaps 5 times in total, I’m disappointed to find a large hole in the liner. If I had been running or anything else to stretch these shorts out, I’d understand, but I’ve worn them on the boat tw... Read Moreice and around the house a few others; nothing that’d warrant a tear. As a longtime fan of Patagonia, this product did not meet the standard I expect from them, nor the quality I’ve paid for.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear this happened! Please contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team so they can send you a free shipping label for you to return the Baggies.

August 18, 2019

Best Action Shorts Ever

I bought two pairs of these baggies for my backpacking trip to South America and I couldn’t be more happy with my decision. They are extremely comfortable and versatile. You can hike, swim, exercise and sleep in them. The deep pockets are great too so you don’t have to worry about losing items on the move. 100% would recommend!

August 16, 2019

Great fit... great style and

Great fit... great style and comfort. Wsh they had 1 additional back pocket.

August 15, 2019

Great improvement to the liner!

This is the first pair of baggies I have purchased in 20 years and the first thing I noticed is the liner is so much more comfortable. The design of the shorts is timeless, which is refreshing, but I would like to see relief cuts on the (out) sides for greater range of motion.

August 15, 2019

Top Notch

These shorts are more than baggies, they provide a solid comfort for an array of activities. They fair well on water and on land. The loop in the bottom of the right pocket is very useful for hooking fishing plier leads to so you don't loose them. The pockets are deep enough to be very useful and the length of the shorts are as advertised. Ove... Read Morerall, I would purchase and recommend the shorts. Fabric, wear, and look are all above board.

August 15, 2019

Great for being active

The shorts are perfect for swimming, running and hiking. Durable build and great cut. My only issue is for casual wear when I have to carry phone, wallet and keys. The weight is too much for the elastic and drawstring to keep the shorts from riding down.

August 15, 2019

Great but sizing needs some adjustments

I love baggies and the quality is great overall. I just think the Small is too small and the Medium is too big. I'm 165lbs, a 31 waist, 5'10" and I find the Small size to be very small, it fits more like an XS, then the Medium fits but has so much more room to give from a Small, the size difference is way too big, if there were an in... Read More-between size that'd probably fit perfectly.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

Love the baggies. Can be used in all the elements.

August 13, 2019

Great!

Love these shorts -- all I want to wear all summer!

August 12, 2019

Awesome shorts

Originally bought the 7" in XL, much too big. Got the 5" L, and love them. I use them for water and outside the water. The pockets are a bit too long, they could definitely improve in this area but overall great purchase.

August 12, 2019

Great Shorts

I bought these shorts for my son prior to his 2-week hike in the Pyrenees. They would out great - he could hike and then jump in one of the many lakes He said they were really comfortable and liked the way they looked.

August 12, 2019

Great Trunks

Very comfortable and love the pattern on them. Built well to last a while too. These are gonna be my fav's for quite some time.

August 12, 2019

5' Baggies

Great shorts, seem to run a little big but the drawstring helps with that.

August 11, 2019

Great shorts!

My 16 yr old son loves these shorts! He has 3 pairs and wears them all the time. Great quality and always look nice. Even though I tell him they're not a bathing suit, he swims in them all the time and they still look great. They are his favorite and we'll definitely be ordering more!

August 10, 2019

All the stuffs

I love everything your products are wonderful baggies are some of my new favorite shorts

August 10, 2019

Men's Baggies

Great shorts for everything. Comfortable, quick drying, versatile for any activity, great colors. I have worn them daily for decades. Thank You

August 10, 2019

Great shorts. Fit well and

Great shorts. Fit well and at exactly what I was looking for

August 10, 2019

Best swim trunks

Thought the price was a little high it Patagonia stuff is usually worth it. Very happy with these. Used them every day on recent 10 day beach vacation. They fit great, dry fast, and look great!

August 10, 2019

Baggies

Bought these for my husband—he loves them & they are the only swim trunks he wears now.

August 10, 2019

Pockets ridiculously large

Great shorts, great design, great quality, but the pockets are too big!!

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

Love them, love the lining and 5” is just right. Great material and plenty of colors to chose from. So far I own two!

August 10, 2019

Yellow shorts

Great! Got them for pickleball for the looks but also love deep pockets for balls

August 10, 2019

Best Shorts Ever

My husband sleeps, eats, does yard work and goes to the beach in these shorts. They are multi purpose and come in handy for whatever life throws at you. We love these shorts!

August 10, 2019

Mens Baggies 5" Inseam

Best mens' shorts made on the planet. Soft. Comfortable. Durable. Competitively Priced. Stylish & Fashionable. MFG'd from recyclable materials. Earth & Environment Friendly.

August 10, 2019

Love em!

My 4th pair. What can I say?

August 10, 2019

A Timeless Classic but...

Whatever the intent was to construct the side pockets in such a way is lost on me. Everything in the pocket goes down to the very bottom of the leg hem and slaps against your leg with a pendulum effect.

August 10, 2019

Baggies

I’ve always found these shorts to be very versatile and comfortable. This is my third or fourth pair.

August 10, 2019

Disappointing liner

The outer material is wonderful, but the liner in these shorts are not as well made as in previous versions

August 10, 2019

Baggies don’t disappoint

Been wearing Baggies for years and always love them!

August 10, 2019

A-W-E-S-O-M-E

I love love love these shorts... hands down one of my favorite purchases.

August 10, 2019

Baggies are the best

Baggies are the only shorts I need!

August 10, 2019

Baggies

Best shorts I’ve ever worn hands down. You’ll never need another pair after you get your first baggies

August 10, 2019

As usual, INCREDIBLE!!

I love the Baggies! They are so comfortable and versatile. I can go from hiking, to swimming, to paddling, to shopping! They're style, comfortable, and an all around incredible purchase.

August 10, 2019

Baggie 5 inch shorts

They are fantastic shorts. They run up about a size bigger than your normal size. They fit a little lower on the waist and therefore are not as short when you wear them as you might think

August 10, 2019

Best Ever

Best shorts in the world. Wish they had an option to not have the mesh lining though...

August 10, 2019

Can't beat 'em

Fun in the sun. They are cool, lightweight, bright, and vibrant. I feel great wearing these. They get compliments all the time. You can just as easily be in a river as out on the trail. These things are made to enjoy the day.

August 10, 2019

Men’s Baggies

I’ve been wearing baggies for like forever! Last forever..always have a couple of pairs for any adventure..they are the best!

August 10, 2019

Good quality, poor fit.

Good quality shorts, but they run big for their size. I ordered a medium, as I’m a 32 in their pants, however, the shorts are huge. They feel like they’re going to be pulled down with any movement in the water. When I tie the wast strings, the waste bunches up all around my waste.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We're sorry to hear these were too big. Please contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team so we can send you a free shipping label to return them.

August 10, 2019

The best!

I have warm these shorts for over 10 years & found them to be comfortable & versatile for work out shorts , swim & casual wear.

August 10, 2019

Awesome!

A great, all around pair of shorts! Very comfortable and versatile. I’ve worn them for a basketball tournament, swimming, and just a casual pair of shorts. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

August 10, 2019

Meh, they’re fine...

Nothing wrong with the shorts. They’re as advertised, are comfortable and easy to wash/wear.

August 10, 2019

Quality

The undermining of mesh is a little uncomfortable but I chose to wear them with underwear and they wear comfortable all around great shorts

August 10, 2019

Baggies are great!

Great fit and comfort! Glad I purchased baggies for my son & myself!

August 10, 2019

Overpriced plastic shorts

runs large so always size down unless you like the grandpa fit

August 10, 2019

Ok

Length of 5” is good and the pockets are a great size, but the liner is all wrong. It’s an old baggy mesh swimsuit liner instead of a comfortable soft running-short style liner.

August 10, 2019

Men’s baggies shorts

Very comfortable just like the pair I had 30 years ago.

August 10, 2019

Durable

I bought two pair of these swimsuits. I had an identical pair that had gotten paint on them. They are amazingly durable and lasted years without showing much sign of wear. Definitely the best swim trunks I've ever purchased. Now I just have to remember NOT to paint while wearing them.

August 10, 2019

Women’s 5”Baggies

Love my Baggies! I play pickleball 3 to 4 times per week in them and they are great. I have some that are at least 10 years old and they still look brand new. I have many pairs and have only ever had one problem. I have a pair of red ones that faded.

August 10, 2019

R1 pants

The R1 pants that I bought are great except for one leg is 2 inches longer than the other so now I have to sew these pants already I hope they hold up through my at thru-hike

August 10, 2019

Very big pockets! Two thumbs

Very big pockets! Two thumbs up!

August 7, 2019

Best shorts ever invented

These things are very comfortable. You can really match them with anything.

July 31, 2019

An Ode to Baggies

I own two pairs of baggies. One I bought May 2019--less than three months ago as I write this. The other pair I have had since 2008ish. I firmly believe that baggies were the best product that Patagonia makes, and I have loads of Patagonia clothing. I've had baggies since I was a little kid and looked up to my dad wearing them. I love baggies.... Read More At work as a wilderness therapy field guide I wear my old baggies at every moment that I can possibly bear being in shorts. When I'm not working I wear my newer baggies. If I had to wear a single piece of clothing the rest of my life, it would be a pair of baggies. When the weather is amenable I wear baggies almost constantly. I wear them thrashing through brush, climbing, hiking, practicing yoga, dipping into swimming holes and hot springs, surfing, laying in parking lots trying to diagnose or fix my van, and even sometimes while skiing. I am wearing baggies as I write this. The stitching on my older pair of baggies is finally starting to fail in bits and pieces; more than a decade after purchasing them. Each time I lovingly sew them up. It's getting to the point where there is more of my own stitching on my old baggies than Patagonia's. The older pair is wildly durable--and what few small holes I've gotten from wearing them constantly I've patched myself or sent them in to Patagonia for their excellent repair work. The leg elastic now bags out a day or two after washing. The drawstring once got caught in a dryer and ripped; I spent over an hour fishing a new drawstring through. My old baggies are hosses and I love them. They are burly and rugged. The new baggies are a different story. While I am not gentle to my clothing, my newer pair of baggies live an easier life. They spend more time in low wear environments like "around town" or "hanging out" than the thrashing that my older pair endures at work. And yet... Two weeks ago, I put my hand in the pocket of my new baggies and found my finger poking out the bottom. The stitching had ripped and was backing out. I bought these baggies less than three months ago. I sewed them. The fabric must either be a lighter weight or a different weave. I climbed in them once and now they're covered in scuffs which are wearing into full on holes. I bought these baggies less than three months ago. Maybe these changes in baggies are a result of Patagonia's continual push towards more environmentally friendly products... At this rate though, I'm looking at going through a pair of baggies per year while my old pair has kept truckin' for more than a decade. Is whatever Patagonia doing on the supply side so much more environmentally friendly that it's worth making a product that lasts a tenth of the time? Patagonia are you still making clothes for people who live their lives outside or for someone else? My old baggies are my favorite piece of clothing and their scars are memories of the fun hog ideology that Patagonia uses in their marketing. My new baggies are only fun hogs in the sense that they demand the attention of my sewing kit and wallet while I could be having fun. I would also like to suggest making the leg openings a bit narrower; I believe they would fit much better while wearing a climbing harness and create less potential for wardrobe malfunction. Love, A bummed baggies owner

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2019

Thanks so much for your thorough feedback and we're sorry you're disappointed with the quality of our recent Baggies. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them and let us know if you have any questions.

July 28, 2019

So disappointed - Elastic waist goes brittle, drawstring is useless. Careful these shorts will fall down.

I've been wearing these since the 90's (when they were good) - But ALL THREE PAIRS of shorts I have purchased over the past few years have ALL had problems with the elastic waist giving out after a few months. Forget about putting anything in the pockets, the shorts will come down. Also, the outer shell fabric isn't what it used to b... Read Moree. I have shorts that are over 20 years old which have held up better than my 2 year old shorts. And the elastic waist hasn't given out on the old ones. What happened? Try hiking the White Mountains with one hand holding up your shorts lest they fall down. So disappointed

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about the disappointment and appreciate you taking the time to express your feedback. We are happy to receive those back and try and [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the elastic or we can process them as a warranty [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). If you'd like [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with any of this, please reach out to us.

July 22, 2019

Baggies

Colors. Please please please bring back for men and women 5” the tan/khaki color. It is classic and should always be offered. My husband and I live in them all summer long and when we go away on vacation. Can be mad casual and dressy

July 17, 2019

Meh

Bought a pair of large baggies in 5" inseam. Length was too long for my liking (I prefer my shorts to be short - the stand-ups have an excellent length for this), and they were too large in the waist for me to be able to swim in them and not worry about them falling off. Ordered a medium, and the length was right, but they were far too tight t... Read Moreo be comfortable. Returning both pairs, and the search resumes for a comfortable all-wear short made of swimsuit-like material.

June 28, 2019

Great Shorts

There very good shorts, the length make them really great!!!

June 17, 2019

Not as good as before

I've been purchasing Patagonia Baggie shorts since the late 80s. At times the quality has been better and other times not at good. I purchased my most recent pair of 5" baggies because one of the pairs in bought a few years ago did not have a rear pocket big enough to fit even the smallest iPhone. Although I appreciate that this material ... Read Moreis recycled nylon and is free trade sewn, the interior liner is way to big to be functional if one is interested in not wearing underwear. The length of the shorts is actually getting longer as well. I also don't like the internal drawstring which is like a flat shoe string; the rounded drawstring from earlier years was much better and more colorful. Finally, I don't see why there's a hanging loop (if that's what it is) on the inside of the right front pocket. The better place (IMHO) would be where the inside label is located (or to design the inside label so that it could function as a hanging loop. I would hope that you would offer more of the shorts with 5" inseams and it would be great to have some travel shorts with zippers for the pockets. I will continue to be a supporter of Patagonia but I'm disappointed that you're continually changing the country in which your clothes are produced. It seems like every time you do, the quality changes. Some of us would like to know that we could get the same quality and the same commitment to the environment every time we purchased a product from Patagonia. I wish you continued success with your products.

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment and appreciate the helpful feedback. Please feel free to send these back to us. You are welcome to reach out to our [customer service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) if you need any assistance.

June 7, 2019

Good, not great

I love these shorts. They're great quality and like the fact that the pockets run deep. They run true to size and stop right above the knee which are perfect in that aspect. The one thing that is stopping me from leaving five stars is that the lining in the middle of the shorts run lower than I'd prefer which prevents me from having full ... Read Morerange of motion on my hikes and it restricts each step I take. Other than that the shorts are perfect.

June 3, 2019

Pockets way too long

The pockets go so far down that putting anything in them looks and feel ridiculous

May 25, 2019

These are great for women too!

I prefer the length and fit of these over the women’s styling. I inherited a pair from my husband and bought two more pairs pretty quickly. The 5” inseam provides great coverage. I wore them to the Y and the length was fine for core work on the floor. These are my go-to in the summer for casual wear. I don’t mind the liner but it could be cut out. ... Read MoreI am 5’6”, 130lbs, 58 years old and wear a small in these.

May 9, 2019

My husband's GO TO shorts

I bought my husband (a professional stay at home dad) two pairs of these and he rotates wearing them each day. They're perfect for lounging, for fishing, for yard work, for quick trips to the store, for chasing after our active toddler, for hiking, for naps, and everything in between. Full disclaimer, he cuts the inner lining out of them, but ... Read Moreonce it's out he's golden.

May 8, 2019

Perfect in every way

My outdoor fiend son loves these in Albuqerque and the Pacific Northwest!

May 8, 2019

Great for swimmers

I've been using Patagonia Baggies as a bathing suit for about 25-30 years. They are simply great.

May 8, 2019

Awesome - could be shorter

I love my baggies. I have a couple of pairs of old vintage baggies shorts from the 70s and 80s and while my first pair was a 5" inseam and I love them, I am anxiously waiting for the day when I can buy a new pair of 4" inseam baggies and wear them without my wife rolling her eyes at me. I have 5 pairs now, ranging from the 70s to new, and... Read More I love them all. (The new peach sherbet color is on point.) I originally bought them as a pair of backpacking shorts, but I quickly had to get more and they are now my every day shorts. As soon as I'm home from work, the baggies come out and on. Absolutely worth the eye rolls.

May 8, 2019

The omnipotent 5 inch baggies

I now have 10 pair of five inch baggies....I add 2 or 3 every year....they just won't wear out. I swim every day....chlorine in the pool has not faded or worn them down in any way. Indestructible, versatile, highly social depending on which loud color you're wearing, and for the money....worth every cent!!

May 8, 2019

Do it all short

At the bouldering gym, going for a swim in Lake Michigan, or just stopping into my local watering hole, these are the shorts I wear all summer. I especially like the drawstring closure for a secure fit as well as the corded loop sewn into the right pocket to keep my keys tethered.

May 8, 2019

Best shorts I own.

I love my baggies, they pair a nice classic style with great durability.

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

I used to have Patagonia baggies in the '90's when raft guiding in Colorado, I am very pleased to have found the product again. Nice styling and comfortable materials make it my got to shorts.

May 8, 2019

Men's Baggies

Extremely comfortable and bulletproof. Almost indestructible and yet feel light and breezy.

May 8, 2019

Best Shorts Evermade

Rugged sborts that take a beating. Been wearing Baggies for 30 years. The csn do short that can do anything. .

May 8, 2019

Ideal Shorts

Light,Packable, No need Belt, Quick dry, 5" inseam, Best for Backpacking.

May 8, 2019

Good Shorts

I used them for hiking to and swimming at some beaches and they did well. They have an internal mess, but I would recommend wearing a layer underneath them for hiking to prevent chaffing. They run on the bigger side. I was between sizes and went up, but wish I had gone down. Also, the side pockets are gigantic.

April 18, 2019

Love these shorts

I prefer the men's version of these shorts. They just fit my middle-aged old lady body better. As a bonus my husband and I trade off on them when backpacking. We both love them. They are well worth the money. I have had zero issues with either pair we own. They dry super fast and are very lightweight. Have an old pair and a new pair and they h... Read Moreave held up and fit perfect.

April 2, 2019

Baggies Waistband

I have worn these shorts every day for three decades. I have noticed that the tension of the elastic waistband has declined. Currently wearing old ones to avoid "the plumber problem" of sagging over the derriere. Have fitted drawstring of newer baggies with barrel locks. The old ones with more tension just never sag. My suggestion is to u... Read Morese an elastic drawstring to allow individual tension adjustment.

April 1, 2019

Sadly, patagonia quality has decreased

These shorts WERE the best, now inferior quality and it shows. They don't stay up even when the drawstring is tied. Pockets too long and put stuff in the pockets and they sag. The drawstring has cheapened, the elastic does not last. Too bad Patagonia has trashed a great product - the almighty dollar (make more profit) is in charge, once again.... Read More Long time supporter and purchaser of these shorts - not now

March 29, 2019

Run big

I'm a size 30 waist and usually wear a small (in most shorts and the older baggies). However, this new version runs big. The earlier baggies were shorter, had a snug liner, and fit trimmer in the waist. I sized down to an XS and they fit perfectly now. Other than sizing, the baggies are great. Durable all around short.

March 24, 2019

PHENOMENAL SHORTS

These shorts are the most comfortable shorts I've ever owned! A lot of people have complained about the mesh liner, but I honestly don't notice it when I'm wearing them. The only gripe I have with these shorts are the overly large pockets, but that's more of a personal preference thing. I am 6'2 with long, womanly legs, and... Read More a '30 waist (for reference). The small fits perfectly! Good job, Patagonia.

March 5, 2019

Great can be better

Used for years, Baggies wear like iron. Pockets well designed not to "scoop' water. However... (1). Mesh pockets: Way too fine not to trap coarse sand body whomping. Larger holes will drain little chunks far better. (2). Inner liner: Grabby, pulls shorts down, uncomfortable. Check the flexible inner ICEBREAKER liners. Although Merino/wo... Read Moreod fiber blend I used in the tropics are very costly, I'm switching to them. Best comfort, wearability, freedom, weight in hot and humid climates. (Of course they lack reasonable pockets, the search continues....) (3). Pockets: Good enough. However, at least large one (front or back) with a zipper would be more useful than the single snap rear.

February 10, 2019

Good All-Around Shorts

Really comfortable shorts, pretty much all purpose (can swim in them easily). Personally, I cut the mesh out because I usually wore them with boxers and it was unnecessary. Another minor complaint is that the side pockets are pretty deep (so I just used the back pocket for my phone/wallet). The length is perfect.

February 5, 2019

Great shorts, but....

I’ve had these shorts for about 4 years now and have loved them. However, over time, the elastic in the waistband is practically gone even with only moderate wear. It’s unfortunate that the elastic goes out so quickly in this product. However, overall, they’re an exceptional product!

February 2, 2019

Best All-around Shorts

Amazing value in a pair of shorts that you can literally do anything and everything in. Extremely comfortable, looks great, and drys fast. This has been my go to for any trips we've taken near bodies of water or just being outside in the warm weather in general.

January 3, 2019

Elastic lasted less than one year in one pair; other pair separated in the seat.

Years ago, I bought a pair of these, and they were awesome. Lasted for years and the only reason I don't have them anymore is that I lost them in the San Francisco airport. I bought two new pairs, and the quality has declined quite a bit. The elastic in one pair has stretched from a small size to a large, and the seam in the other separated, c... Read Moreausing a rip. The quality has decreased tremendously in these two pairs. Disappointing.

December 8, 2018

Used to be great, but no longer

I've been wearing Baggies for many years as swimsuits in saltwater and swimming pools but the recent iterations have serious quality control issues. The waistline elastic in one recently purchased pair lasted about 2 years of moderate use before failing completely. A second identically-sized pair bought a year later was much larger in the wais... Read Moret and the liner mesh seemed to be made of different materials. Now its elastic waistband is also stretching out and starting to fail like the previous pair. Sizes seem to be getting larger over time. This is very disappointing.

December 7, 2018

Run big

I ordered these for my husband and they're great shorts! You can tell the material is worth the cost and I wouldn't be surprised if they lasted years. He really likes them, the only problem is they run a bit big. I would advise you to size down or maybe even two if you're small.

November 12, 2018

My Go to Shorts

Whether I'm going to the gym, the pool, hiking, biking, or running, these shorts are what I wear! They are so functional and dry out well. If you want a pair of shorts that can do it all, these are the shorts. Some people complain about pocket depth but if you carry a lot of stuff (phone, wallet, keys, knife, etc) then you will appreciate the... Read More depth.

September 19, 2018

Favorite warm weather shorts

I wore these all summer. Long hikes, trail running, water sports, anytime, these are great . The lining is comfortable and has enough room to move within. Pockets even on the 5” have enough room where my iPhone 7 Plus won’t fall out when I sit down .

September 4, 2018

What was Patagonia thinking.....pockets on Baggie Shorts M7 way to deep

I own several pairs of Baggy shorts purchased over the years....my go-to casual shorts. The 2018 shorts have pockets that go the the bottom hemline....a whopping 3" deeper than the previous versions. At 5'10" 170# I cannot reach to the bottom of the shorts without having to raise the shorts up. A cellphone or keys annoyingly swing ar... Read Moreound just above my knees. I have never worn such an ill-fitting pair of shorts. BEWARE and try them on before purchasing.

August 9, 2018

Solid Versatile Shorts

These shorts are the best. I use them for wake boarding, fishing, sports, and pretty much everyday life. Pockets are roomy enough to fit anything you need. I love how they lay flat and dry quickly. I cut the liner out as soon as I got them, not a big free baller guy so usually wear knitted boxers with them. Ive had these shorts for five summers now... Read More and they are my only pair of swim shorts and there is not one loose thread on them.

August 8, 2018

Buy these now

Best shorts ever. My wife gets annoyed that I wear them too much. I call them my all terrain shorts. Pockets for a wallet and fishing license, great fit and comfort. I use mine u fee my waders when I go fly fishing g, as swim trunks, and as every day shorts, they have also occupied various bar stools. I thought about buying another pair just to hav... Read Moree different color options but it’s not necessary because mine work on every occasion. Do t waste you’re time reading reviews and just add to your cart already.

August 1, 2018

Love

Perfect shorts for summer. Like everyone else said, I can do anything in them!

July 30, 2018

Pockets too long

the pockets go to the very end of the pants, which makes it hard to reach and increases the distance your stuff gets flung around with each step

July 30, 2018

Patagonia missed the mark on the cut and pockets

Waist is too loose and I don't like that the pocket run the entire length of the leg.

July 8, 2018

The best shorts on the planet

The Platonic form of shorts. I wear 'em all summer,for absolutely everything. You'll never hear me say,'sure,I just need to change quick' in the summer,because these shorts do it all. Plus I've had pairs for years that have been worn & beaten,and they look exactly like the new pair I just bought.

July 3, 2018

Perfect outdoor shorts

These have become my new weekend/outdoor shorts. I can do anything in them from just lounging to swimming,hiking,climbing,etc.

June 23, 2018

The Perfect Travel Companion

I don't typically write reviews for products,but I am getting married later today & have some free time until then & felt like these shorts deserved a good word. Recently spent over 2 months on the road in these shorts: I won't travel without them going forward. Whether it was hiking in New Zealand,surfing in Bali or just relaxin... Read Moreg in Kathmandu with my soon-to-be wife (who is also an amazing travel companion in her own right!),these shorts did it all. I even found them perfect to wear under a pair of pants to save on skivvies. These are comfortable,durable,stylish & made for the journey! Superior Blue is an outstanding color and as another review stated,the key loop is a great feature. Also,I find the back pocket perfect for my wallet or cash. I highly recommend these shorts for your next adventure,whether that is a trip to the market or around the world!

June 4, 2018

Baggies short

bought these shorts because they are Patagonia and I've been satisfied with other Patagoia items. The shorts fit fine and the quality is outstanding. However,the liner inside the shorts is FAR to loose,to the point that I feel like I'm going to expose myself and need to wear underwear. Patagonia missed the mark on the liner.

May 23, 2018

Too big!

I was expecting something "baggie" but this go beyond,we could save that extra polyester. I was expecting a shorter short,not a same large different inseam short,it is a nonsense. Great pockets by the way.

May 14, 2018

The Best Pair of Shorts There Is !

Hands-down the best pair of shorts there is they are tried-and-true classic.Was happy to see not much has changed .The addition to a key loop in the right-hand pocket was very welcome .I didn't expect it because I didn't see it in the description anywhere but it's cool. I measured up a new pair to an older pairs I have and did not se... Read Moree any discrepancy in size like a previous poster stated all the same length here. If you're looking for do all short look no further certain things stay around for a long time because they just work and baggies are one of them !

May 10, 2018

Nice Shorts

Just got my pair today,but I'm certain I'll be putting plenty of miles on 'em. They're very comfortable and fit as expected. Went with the Yurt Yellow color and they look great. Only gripe is the mesh liner,I decided to cut them out of my pair. They are little pricey,but worth it!

February 9, 2018

Changes for 2018?

Just got a new pair of Yurt Yellow baggies. They are about 1/2" longer than past years - just enough to be noticeable. The tag says 100% polyester,but I just confirmed with a Patagonia chat agent that they are still made of recycled nylon. My big gripe is that the tag is now sewn inside the lining. In the past,it was sewn between the linin... Read Moreg and the shell - this is my umpteenth pair of baggies and until I received this pair,I wasn't aware that there was a tag. The tag on this pair rubs a little bit,and flaps out. I'll probably cut it back and let the rest fray. Still a great product - versatile and long-lasting.

January 6, 2018

Incredible versatility

These shorts have a very flattering look. They are minimalistic,but still offer an impressive amount of versatility. My favorite thing about these shorts are the pockets. They are very well designed in that they're angled just right to make your hands easily fall inside,which is a great feature if they're meant to have multipurpose outdoo... Read Morer use. I can certainly appreciate the thought put into this product. I also run and cycle so my thighs are thick and muscular. My concern with buying shorts is always if they're going to hug my thighs too tightly. Despite this problem I frequently encounter,these shorts fit very well and still offer plenty of flexibility.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches