Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies? - 5" Inseam Shorts

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies? - 5" Inseam Shorts

4.3/5
True To Size
June 29, 2022

I want to love them....but the POCKETS!

I ordered the large before I lost a couple pounds from 175 to 145 and they still fit pretty good, but just got to tie the drawstring. The thing for me is the deep pockets are terrible! Being 5'6" anything that I put in my pockets (phone & keys) bang off my knee all day and it's very annoying! Then the back pocket is just a bit to... Read Moreo small for your phone to be secured. I love the look of them and love the material it's just that the pockets need cut off higher. I mean seriously, the pockets are huge and probably never been filled by anyone in the history of baggies!

June 27, 2022

runs large, still cool tho

usually wear a small or medium but an extra small for these

June 26, 2022

Cool, casual, comfortable

No fuss, no muss. Wear 1 day or 5 in a row. Perfect for work or play.

June 25, 2022

Great shorts

I've been a long-standing customer & big fan of baggies. Only complaint is that the waist can stretch out after time & become unwearable

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the waistband issue, but please know that your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. You might like to try our new [Men's Outdoor Everyday Short](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-outdoor-everyday-7-inch-inseam-shorts/57435.html) which has a webbing belt attached. Thanks for your review Christopher!

June 23, 2022

Not your fathers baggies

Buy a size smaller! Two reasons I didnt send them back 1. I already wore them 2. Would take too long to get a size smaller

Response from Patagonia
June 27, 2022

Hi John! Thank you for sending us a message. We're really sorry to hear that the baggies didn't fit correctly. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) even if they've been worn.

June 21, 2022

Rough

The material is a rough and stiff compared to my older baggies.

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2022

Sorry to hear about this, Frank! We want you to know your satisfaction is always guaranteed with us and we will be happy to help set you up with a return if necessary. Click [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to contact our customer service.

June 20, 2022

A true classic, but this year something changed.

Great shorts. I pick up a pair every summer and have a collection that is nearing a decade that I still rotate through. Every year has slight variations but this one seems to be the biggest. These fit much larger than last years shorts. Consider going a size down, or ordering two and returning one. I usually buy a size bigger because I like them ex... Read Moretra baggy, but these are huge. On the plus side; the nylon is much lighter and softer than previous years. Very much digging that, just wish the sizing wasn't wonky as I wont be back stateside to swap these out for another year. I will still wear them though.

Response from Patagonia
June 22, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear of the complications our revision to the Men's Baggies Shorts - 5" has caused you. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service to see what your options are in the new location you are residing in outside the USA, as we still may have some options for you. We are also happy to offer garment dimensions for future purchases to help take the guesswork out of finding the right size. We have gone ahead and passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 19, 2022

Great shorts

These shorts are great for lounging around or going to the beach

June 18, 2022

Best shorts

I love these shorts, been wearing them ever since they were introduced. Versatile for so many activities.

June 17, 2022

Perfect river/beach shorts

These, along with the 9 trails running shorts, make up the majority of my summer wardrobe. I wear these if I need abrasion resistance and expect to be in and out of the water, I wear 9 trails if i need flexibility and comfort on a hot day when I wont be near the water. Compared to a similar product made by a less expensive brand (you know the o... Read Morenes) these are more durable, higher quality, with better materials. The liner is never uncomfortable when sitting- the other shorts used to leave a mesh impression on my butt. Ive never had a pair rip, Ive never had the stitching come loose, Ive never experienced pilling- the craftsmanship is top notch. My only problem with them is the accessibility of the pockets. Because the opening is a vertical straight line, it is sometimes difficult to get my hand in there, but I really love how deep the pockets are. If they had a slanted pocket entry point, they might be more convenient, but that would also alter their fit, and this product has remained largely unchanged for decades- so my recommendation to Patagonia is to change nothing. Maybe use the same fabric to create a new cut, but never discontinue the current model- please!

June 14, 2022

NOBEL PRIZE CONTENDER!

Patagonia Baggies are a great product, one whose designers continue to thoughtfully evolve. I have been wearing them since the mid-80s. They are comfortable, with wide cut legs for climbing and hiking. They are made of durable fabric that withstands the coarseness of stone and the downright scratchiness of the briar patch. They are available in f... Read Moreun, jazzy colors (happily that Patagonia changes each year) as well as the more formal black and grey. To certain eyes, Baggies are stylish. The mesh liner is great - underwear be gone! The oh-so-deep pickets are utterly functional - the iPhone fits very well, sideways, into the rear pocket, and a respectful nod to the right front pocket key loop. A hearty Thank You to Patagonia for crafting the Baggies! Its time for me to call the Nobel Committee.

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on fit, fabric and features of a true Patagonia classic. Thanks for taking the time to send us a review, Kenneth!

June 12, 2022

Nothing Better

Wont write a long drawn out review here. The shorts fit great pockets, liner,fabric, and colors are all great they are a must have. Such a lightweight and totally comfortable short that can be used in so many ways

June 12, 2022

Wort Design and Quality I have ever seen in Patagonia

I have been buying Patagonia products for years and never had any disappointment but this one is just not at all seems like a Patagonia product. Inside mesh has the poorest quality, the logo tags are sewn into the Mesh instead of on the Mesh, I tired to take off the Tags from the inside seam and the entire mesh came undone from the shorts. The tags... Read More so uncomfortable as they had rough edges and made my skin to rash out. Who ever came up with the design should rethink of their ability in designing a product I wonder who approved the design. The shorts fabric has a feel of canvas tent rather than clothing. I'm returning the shorts.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear of your disappointment in our Men's Baggies Shorts. We have passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback. If you have any questions regarding your return, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service by clicking [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 11, 2022

Comfy and functional

Shorts are super comfy and with three pockets they carry everything I need. If I have keys, phone, and wallet in them at the same time I have to make the drawstring very tight to keep them from falling down. They have a sewn in liner which makes them uncomfortable to wear with underwear.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to hear these are comfy and functional, Bryan! If you're looking for a similar short that does not have a liner, you might check out our [Men's Hydropeak Volley Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-hydropeak-volley-shorts-16-inch/86435.html). Thanks for taking a moment to send us a review!

June 11, 2022

Pockets are huge

Why are these pockets so big? These pockets are perfect for sneaking a 6 pack into a bluegrass festival but anything other than that it is too much. Walking with your phone or keys in your pocket, get ready to have those slap against your legs for your entire walk. Need to check the time on your phone? Lets get elbow deep in that pocket to check. D... Read Moreecent short but built for someone that doesnt use pockets and a bit overpriced.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the pockets have been a disappointment. They're designed to be deep enough that important items don't fall out. You might prefer our [Men's Hydropeak Volley Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-hydropeak-volley-shorts-16-inch/86435.html). Please reach out if you'd like any assistance to return the Baggies, or you may trade them to Worn Wear at your local Patagonia-owned store if the shorts are used. Thank you for the review!

June 10, 2022

Please start making 3xl baggies!

I want my baggies to fit. Please start making 3xl in baggies and more bottoms, to go with all the tops and jackets that yall make in 3xl! Thank you!!

June 8, 2022

Awesome everyday shirts

These are great shorts for every day! Dry super fast. Super lightweight. Could do without the liner. But easy to remove it.

June 7, 2022

BAGGIES STILL GOING STRONG

Baggies are still what they have been for a long time. Everyday wear. Casual wear. Summertime wear. Workout wear. ETC ... ! I bought this new pair just to have an extra on hand for the summer and its associated activities. I finally 'burned' through a pair bought back in the mid 90's. Yep, almost 30 years with that last pair. Like I ... Read Moresaid, BAGGIES STILL GOING STRONG!

June 7, 2022

Very comfortable summer shorts

I purchased the 5" baggies a few years ago and liked it so much I bought another pair. They look and feel great. I am 5'8 and I prefer shorts fitted like these over the long basketball shorts. These are durable enough to be used hiking and held up throughout rock scrambles, tight spaces, white water rafting, and heavily wooded areas. I de... Read Morefinitely recommend snagging a pair of these.

June 6, 2022

Nearly perfect

The only thing that would make Patagonia baggies absolutely perfect is a wee bit of spandex to grant them a little give. Writing a review for a standard seems drib, but alas, the girls get the stretch thing.

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2022

Hey Allen, we appreciate the feedback! Both our Men's and Women's Baggies are made from NetPlus 100% postconsumer recycled nylon faille made from recycled fishing nets. Nonetheless, we'll be sure to share your thoughts with the team. If you decide you'd like to return, you can do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 6, 2022

The best

Own several pairs, big fan for years. They arent the softest material, but dont let that dissuade you. Took me a little while to adjust, but now I wear them all day every day. Working from home, casual dinners, errands on the weekend, etc. Theyre also my favorite running shorts because my phone fits well in the back pocket and it doesnt bounce as m... Read Moreuch as other running shorts. I always cut the underwear liner out, so I wish Patagonia offered the option to buy without the liner. Other than that, please keep these the same and add more colors.

May 31, 2022

Excellent shorts

I have many colors. Best shorts on the market. Shame the local dealer has poor selection now. Especially the 5 inch that I love . Excellent value long lasting!

May 30, 2022

Best shorts on the market

I have many pairs! Great shorts last forever. Excellent fit and value

May 26, 2022

Straight to the trash

I can't imagine a worse pair of shorts. After reading a recommendation by a blog, I ordered these. They were so uncomfortable that I drove home to change. Issues: 1. These are short shorts, but the crotch is super low. So low that you can't squat down without yanking them up. 2. The pockets go all the way to the bottom of the short. ALL T... Read MoreHE WAY. So if you put a phone in them, it's bouncing around as you walk, swinging the shorts around and whacking your legs constantly. I wear an insulin pump and the tubing wasn't long enough to make it to the bottom of the pocket on a 5" inseam short! I legitimately hated these so badly that I trashed them instead of donating them, as I don't want them to torture someone in need. It was outside of the return window before I wore them, or I obviously would have sent them back.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2022

We're sorry to hear that these shorts were so disappointing. For any future purchases, note that we do not have a set time limit for [returns](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy), so please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any issues with our product. You may prefer the longer length and stretchy fabric of our Baggies Lights or Hydropeak Volley Shorts. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review!

May 26, 2022

Too large

Honestly was really excited for these but they dissapointed. Got 3 pairs and the leg opening is just unbelievably massive for no reason. Please consider making the leg hole smaller , it just makes the shorts look silly when you wear them.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2022

Hey Andrew, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear the fit on the Baggies did not work for you. These particular shorts were designed to have a relaxed fit. You can double check on the fit of any item by going to it's product page and looking underneath the size range options. You can also filter through different categories to search specific fits. Here are all our [regular, slim and formfitting](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shorts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim%7Cregular%7Cformfitting) options for men's shorts.

May 23, 2022

Great shorts

Sturdy shorts for any sports activity and yet looks good to go out in

May 19, 2022

Great shorts

The Baggies shorts are a startle shorts you can not wrong with this everyday short. I had this short line up for a very long time they are are the best. I wear shorts. Everyday i not the baggies its the stand up short. I like the you are making them out on fishing line. I think it is great idea and will continue doing that

May 18, 2022

Favorite Go-To Shorts

I absolutely love these shorts. I never take time to write reviews, but for this i had to. The pockets are insanely deep, but honestly its something i appreciate a lot ab the shorts because im not worried about anything getting lost. the liner is comfortable and tempe shorts are very breathable IMO. 10/10 no complaints. All i could really say thats... Read More eh is maybe the fact that they feel like they run a bit bigger compared to other size medium shorts i wear, but then again theyre called baggies so what do you expect? if youre looking for a nice snug fit, id definitely consider sizing down. but for me, someone that appreciates the space go with your regular size.

May 15, 2022

Great all-purpose short

I love these shorts. They have tremendous functionality--swim, hike, run and just going around town. I absolutely love the 5" length. As a shorter guy, most modern shorts are so long they are like pants. I hate that. These shorts on the other hand, are spectacular.

May 15, 2022

Somewhat restrictive

The shorts fit to size well, and I like the fit of them, but the material doesnt give at all. The pockets are oddly large and are stitched to the bottom seam of the shorts. So it feels weird to carry anything in the massive pockets ironically. My dark grey is also more of a cyan/grey.

May 14, 2022

Sizes are inconsistent

Orders a pair of the yellow baggies because I had 3 other pairs I really likes all larges so ordered a large and it does not fit anywhere close to the same as my other three pairs

May 14, 2022

Bigger than the old ones

These baggies are wider and longer than the old ones. Not really a 5 inch inseam IMO.

May 11, 2022

Perfect Summer Shorts

These are some durable shorts that you can pretty much do anything in. I use them for running, playing basketball and tennis.

May 10, 2022

Longtime Classic

This Patagonia classic belongs in the outdoor gear Hall of Fame. I have enjoyed them for decades, their versatility is endless. I personally like the function of the liner but have found that the elastic poops out sooner than it should then I end up cutting it out. They are pricey but worth it, I just wish Patagonia would manufacture them in the U... Read MoreSA instead of sending those jobs overseas.

May 4, 2022

My new favorite pair of shorts

I saw a ton of people wearing these shorts, and thought they must just be overrated. Man I was wrong. I absolutely love them, and since I purchased two, I can wear them nearly everyday. My one gripe is that the front pockets are so deep that my keys slap my leg as I walk around, but at the same time, they never fall out which is nice.

May 4, 2022

My go to shorts

On almost any given day you'll find me in a pair of these. I have every color and love them. If hiking and need to dip in the river to cool off no problem. if out and about and need to dip in the pool, no problem. they are comfortable, light weight and dry very fast. I'd say get a pair if you don't already have and you can see for yo... Read Moreurself.

May 2, 2022

Great swimwear for sailing the islands

I bought these to replace similar swim trunks that were badly discolored by hot tub chemicals during a ski trip. They were great for snorkeling and wedding on the sailboat we chartered in the Grenadines in April.

May 1, 2022

My go-to shorts

These are my go-to shorts and have been for as long as I can remember. Actually, theyre not really my go-to shorts, theyre my only shorts. Walking, running, bodysurfing, whatever, they are for everything. My waist is actually 33 inches but I like shorts loose so I could wear a medium but I prefer the large. A word of warning: if you like changing y... Read Moreour outfit dont get these; they last forever. I cant recommend them highly enough.

May 1, 2022

Great Shorts

Literally a god send except for the mesh inside but you can cut and remove that

April 27, 2022

Old friends

I have been wearing and loving baggies for over forty years? They have run the Grand Canyon, trekked in Nepal, climbed in the Sierra, and shuffled around the house. They are one of my all time favorite Patagonia products still.

April 25, 2022

Favorite shorts

I love these shorts and have two pairs now. Great for swimming, biking, just going about your day, etc. The only thing I don't love is the built in mesh underwear part so I cut it out.

April 18, 2022

Great shorts

Love the fit, color, and styling.

April 12, 2022

Comfy

I love these very comfortable shorts. They are useful for any application where water is involved and dry quickly enough for hikes as well. Fit is perfect.

April 12, 2022

You see em wearing their baggies

Dries quick great for Hilo weather orange has white liner green has black

April 12, 2022

Fit poorly

These shorts fit poorly. They are advertised as 4 in shorts,but the rise, or the distance between where the legs meet and the waist it way too long. So long that when I lift one leg the shorts on the other leg pull against it. I wore them a few times as I hoped I was wrong. But when I went to put them on this weekend, I noped out and wore a differe... Read Morent pair. They are priced at a premium point, but designed on par with bargain bin clothes.

April 4, 2022

Great for Every Activity, Wet or Dry

Only one suggestion.... Do not change these shorts, at all. They are perfect. In fact, make more so they will always be in stock.

April 2, 2022

Classic

A staple of summer time swim and fishing wear. The best part is they still offer the 5 inch inseam!!

April 1, 2022

Great fit and style

The perfect short! Lightweight, yet tough as nails. Super stylish and a true classic.

April 1, 2022

Don't fit me right

These just don't fit me right. Too small in some areas and too large in others. I want to like them, but I don't.

March 31, 2022

Favorite shorts

Ive sworn by baggies for a number of years and this pair is no different. The addition of the recycled net liners is great and feels even more smoothly knit together than my previous pairs.

March 27, 2022

5 inch baggies

These shorts do what l need them to do. Looking forward to getting other colors.

March 25, 2022

Great fit its my second pair.

I wear these swimming in the ocean and while scuba diving. They dry quickly and fit great. They also look great as shorts apres water sports too.

March 25, 2022

I live in these

I have been wearing Baggies for about 30 years, and they are 90% of my wardrobe. I have worked at home for the past 10 years, and they are my uniform. The top might be a tee or a shirt, tie and suit jacket, but the baggies always complete my outfit. They are wonderfully comfortable.

March 21, 2022

Fades Fast

This is my second color Baggies and have been disappointed once again. I've used my most recent pair once in natural hot springs and once in a hot tub. The colors are noticeably faded already.

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Adam. We're sorry to hear that fabric has faded so quickly! Chemicals in various bodies of water can definitely cause premature fading, especially large amounts of chlorine. We will be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these for a refund, or you can reach out to our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 for assistance.

March 16, 2022

Best All Around Shorts

I love my baggies I practically live in them all summer

March 15, 2022

5 inch baggie surf suit

Very nice bathing suit and is comfortable and looks great

March 13, 2022

comfortable

Theses are my favorite shorts. I run, swim, and do yoga, besides just wearing them casually.

March 13, 2022

Lightweight and comfy shorts

Lightweight, soft and comfortable shorts, good for lounging around the house and and great for longboarding.

March 12, 2022

Better than Expected

I am wearing these shorts as I write this review. It is still a little cool but they are so comfortable I put them on. The fit just as I had hoped, a little larger than I needed, but I like loose and baggy for casual shorts. Deep pockets, lightweight and will get more wear as the weather warms. Love 'em.

March 11, 2022

Pockets Ruin a Great Short

I really want to love these shorts but the pockets are a deal breaker. They are extremely deep, the entire length of the short. Anything you have in there bounces off your thigh, is impossible to get to while sitting and looks goofy. Fit, comfort, style are all top notch, but the pockets need a tweak.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Hi Kyle! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the pocket placement. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 10, 2022

shorts i want with me always

these are the go to shorts for me. they go well with everything. they're useful for everything. not necessarily perfect for any one thing, but good for just about anything you could think to use them for. they reach their full potential when they've been dragged through the mud, peaked a couple 14'ers, rafted some rivers, and have st... Read Moreories and pinprick holes from nights filled with campfire sparks and stars. love them well and they'll return the blessing tenfold.

March 8, 2022

Still great, lower impact fabric

They've always been great and they're still great. My new pair is made from reclaimed / recycled fishing nets. Far out. The fabric is tough and light, and the cut is loose enough that they are comfortable and stay cool. Generally I don't love vertical slit pockets like this, but for casual water shorts it's nice to have pocket... Read Mores that don't catch in the water when swimming. I could maybe do without the liner, but it's one of the less restrictive I've used. Could be removed pretty easily I think.

March 8, 2022

Love them but...

So I love the baggies the fit is great not super restrictive, just amazing but I also bought them mens ones and the pockets for the womens ones are so much smaller and disappointing

March 5, 2022

Court Shorts

Perfect for any court sports. Pickleball, tennis, whatever. Not bad for a swim after 90 minutes of Pickleball either. Court to pool.

March 2, 2022

Almost there!

This will be a lengthy review from my specific use case after purchasing three pairs of 2021 Baggies. I realize these are different from the 2022 Baggies in terms of materials, but I feel as though this is a necessary review because the design of the new Baggies looks similar or identical to the older generation. This is my use case and following r... Read Moreeview. I am a 21-year-old college student in Arizona, and I purchased three pairs of Patagonia Baggies in the late spring/early summer of 2021 to be my do-it-all shorts for year-round use here in Arizona. I weighed around 170 lbs. at a height of 6'2" at the time. I purchased the Baggies after reading many reviews about the durability and the legendary lifespan of the all-nylon construction. I got to college and started wearing the Baggies to class, the pool, social events, hiking, and filming short films in the desert around Phoenix. These Baggies came to the gym with me off and on as well. I wore these shorts all the time, and I generally wore the Baggies with your normal everyday carry items: my phone, wallet, and car keys. Below are details about the Baggies I purchased. Fire Red: This pair of baggies has held up the best out of the three, maybe because I don't wear them as much. I don't have many shirts to go with them, so they tend to be on the back burner compared to the other two colors. I've taken this pair with me on hikes and a couple fly-fishing day trips. Overall, this pair held up great and is still holding up to my expectations. Stone Blue: This pair has the most versatility to me because of the color, so I think I might have worn these the most overall. And honestly, they've held up well. Again, this pair has been to the gym numerous times, hiking and camping trips, etc. I learned to skateboard this year and they've even held up against a few decently hard crashes where my thighs are bruised and cut but the Baggies are fine. However, the stitching around the pockets is where I find Baggies have fallen short for me, and it's disappointing to see in these shorts. The blue Baggies aren't the worst offender, but Ill explain. Since Baggies are made so minimally, there isn't much stitching on the shorts overall. That means that if a single piece of stitching comes loose, it could cost the functionality of your Baggies. For the blue shorts, the stitching on the left pocket at the base of the shorts came loose and unraveled in a small 2-inch section around the drainage mesh. This is a problem when carrying things in the shorts like keys, because any item small enough will fall out of the shorts. I understand some people may be able to stitch the section back together and fix the issue, but I'm in college and cant easily repair myself, nor will Patagonia accept a repair for men's Baggies because the liner qualifies Baggies as undergarments and makes them un-repairable for obvious reasons. So, until I can replace the weak stitching, I'll have to make sure nothing small or valuable ever goes in my left pocket, including my car keys. Kind of un-ideal for normal use. Mango: These were by far my favorite pair of Baggies because of the color. I wore these probably 3/4 as much as the Stone Blue flavor, and they looked great and worked well. You could really keep track of me in a crowd when wearing them. Again, I did nothing in these Baggies that I didn't do in the others. However, I was in the gym one night and looked down at my Baggies to realize that the stitching on the inside of the right pocket was missing in a 3-inch section. I had no indication of a tear or a cut on the shorts, nor any event that I had thought would have caused the stitching to break. I didn't think much of the missing stitching, as it was the first time it had happened on any of my Baggies, until my phone fell out of my right pocket a few days later. Again, one line of stitching with no reinforcement on the pockets makes a big weak point in design. I kept wearing these Baggies carefully until another skateboard crash ended their life, tearing holes into the pockets around the base and destroying the stitching at the leg opening on the right side of the shorts. RIP Mango Baggies. I didn't expect the Baggies to survive that, but the Stone Blue ones had in the past. Verdict: For the overall advertised uses of Patagonia Baggies, the stitching and lack of reinforcement or repairability (around the pockets specifically) really makes me question the design of the shorts. I am disappointed with the durability after reading so many reviews online claiming 5+ years of constant use. That being said, I thoroughly enjoy the functionality of the shorts. While mine lasted, they were excellent and I will probably buy more pairs in the future. I hope that this review can shed some light on the product after months of constant use and abuse for a very specific case of wear and tear.

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2022

Hello Sam! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. First, we love to hear how many adventures your baggies have been on. That said, we're definitely disappointed to hear that they've started to wear out more quickly than you expected. This is incredibly valuable feedback so we'll be sharing this with our product team. You are correct in that we cannot complete repairs on the liner of the shorts as that is considered an undergarment. However, being that the its the pocket that needs to be fixed we'd actually encourage you to send the Stone Blue pair in for [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'd love to get your Baggies back in action for Spring/Summer!

February 23, 2022

Best Shorts! All around

I was between sizes for the baggies but prefer the fit of the MD for me and my build. I've replaced all boardshorts with baggies as they are much more versatile.

February 20, 2022

A little baggy as the name suggests but super useful with the deep pockets and snap back pocket

L

February 18, 2022

Almost perfect

These shorts are great!!! I wear them for everything. However, I have two critiques: 1, they run a full size large. I have a 29/30 waist and ended up having to return and buy XS. Also, the pockets are very deep, which makes your phone and wallet slap your leg when you walk. Other than that, they rock!!

February 8, 2022

2022 version runs smaller

Compared to my other pair from 2020, the 2022 pair fits tighter all around. The old pair I sized down from my normal size but these I would probably have gone with my true size if known. They still look decent but there is less mobility and when measured there's about a 1" difference in the waist, hip, and leg opening compared the 2020 on... Read Moree in the same size.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Hello Nick, thank you for taking the time to share your findings on the fit of the Baggies Shorts. We want you to be satisfied with your purchase and welcome you to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a more comfortable size.

February 4, 2022

Lose the liner and theyre perfect

I know Ive definitely read mixed opinions regarding the liner in the baggies. Personally, I cant stand it and it immediately had to go. Like others have said, the leg opening is a bit baggie (YOU DONT SAY?!?) so if at all possible, Id recommend sizing down if you can

February 2, 2022

Dries almost instantly, but fit is too, um, baggy

It's probably my own fault for buying a short called the baggy, but the style just isn't working for me. The leg opening / thigh section is too wide around, doesn't fit my thigh contours (and I have biker's thighs so it's not like I'm skinny around there). That being said, these are incredible shorts for literally any... Read More outdoor use - swimming, paddling, biking, hiking, you name it. I like the deep pockets, I like the elastic, it's just a weird style for me.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches