Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 150 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2 1/2"

4.5
True To Size
June 29, 2020

So Comfy!

They are very high quality and comfortable, a little large on my hips but theres a draw string. I love these!

June 26, 2020

Best Patterns

I bought the alligator pattern and love them! They are so fun and dry super fast. I love wearing them out on the lake.

June 26, 2020

Perfect Universal Shorts

These are the raddest shorts I've ever worn! The pockets are big enough to fit my phone and wallet, plus the key hook is so convenient. Comfortable enough to wear to sleep or on a run.

June 26, 2020

Super cute

These shorts are great ! Flattering, true to size. I swam in them the other day and they dry fast. Great versatile shorts

June 26, 2020

Versatile

I found these shorts to be very comfortable and versatile. Will be purchasing more.

June 26, 2020

Perfect summer shorts

Im 52.5 & ~113lbs, athletic, and these shorts are great! I bought a S (too big) but the XS fit and length are good for me. Ive been wearing these non-stop since I got them. I wanted a short-ish short that wasnt skin tight and these did the job; now I have them in 3 colors.

June 25, 2020

Comfy shorts

Great for most types of activities. They dry quickly when wet. I havent worn them running, I dont think it would be an issue if youre looking to do that. The material is a little too thick for a running short for me.

June 25, 2020

Great Purchase

I got the pink color and couldn't be happier Great Lightweight material and waistline.

June 25, 2020

The perfect short

The color/pattern is fantastic and the fit is great. I love the size of mesh pockets and the elastic within the pocket to attach my keys. They are so versatile and look great. My first Patagonia purchase and I am in love. Wish I could buy in every color!

June 25, 2020

So comfortable!

I love these shorts! I wasnt sold at first, but after wearing them Im a believer. Theyre comfortable and easy to throw on when hanging out by the water with the kids.

June 25, 2020

So comfortable!

Ive been wearing these to go on 3 mile walks with my 2 month old baby. They are very comfortable.

June 25, 2020

Fabric is great!

Fabric is great and I love the print!

June 25, 2020

I love these shorts!

I want every print!

June 23, 2020

The best!

I love my baggies! They're the most comfortable pair of shorts I own. So far I've been hiking and fishing in them and they're breathable and quick dry. I could even tie my wading stick to them for fly fishing! Great for all outdoor activities and everyday use. When I wear shorts this summer, it's going to be my baggies.

June 21, 2020

Summer Essential

I own many, many pairs of these baggies. They have become part of my summer uniform, and I wouldnt have it any other way. Theyre durable, comfy, adorable, dry quickly, have pockets, and wash like a dream. The fact that there is now a print that includes nighttime pollinators has me over the moon in love.

June 21, 2020

Flattering and comfy!

I love these shorts! I owned a pair of baggies before these, and while I really like that pair, the short version is actually way nicer IMO. While both fit well, the barely baggies have a more elastic waistband which makes it more comfortable to put on/take off.

June 21, 2020

I wear these more often than I'd like to admit

Shoulda bought a few more pairs as I can already see they will be my go-to shorts all summer. I wear them running, fishing, doing workouts/yoga, and just around town. They pair super well with the Sender briefsand since there's no liner or gusset you'll need something underneath them. I usually wear a size small in Patagonia items and the... Read Morese fit great at a small. The blue color is a nice neutral. Would like to see more neutral/earth tones in the future.

June 21, 2020

Best summer shorts

I have struggled for years to find shorts that are super short and cute, have a drawstring waistband, and are beach-friendly. These are the shorts that check all the boxes. I swear I am never wearing denim shorts to the beach ~ever~ again.

June 21, 2020

Cute and Casual

These are simply the best if you want to wear shorts that fit somewhere in between technical running shorts and 'nicer' shorts. I have baggies them in every color and print, they sometimes get worn to bed, too! Or, it's what I put on first thing in the morning and they stay on all day!

June 20, 2020

Cute and Casual

These are simply the best if you want to wear shorts that fit somewhere in between technical running shorts and 'nicer' shorts. I have baggies them in every color and print, they sometimes get worn to bed, too! Or, it's what I put on first thing in the morning and they stay on all day!

June 19, 2020

Flattering and comfy!

I love these shorts! I owned a pair of baggies before these, and while I really like that pair, the short version is actually way nicer IMO. While both fit well, the barely baggies have a more elastic waistband which makes it more comfortable to put on/take off.

June 19, 2020

Great shorts

These shorts were a great choice! Comfortable and durable.

June 19, 2020

I have 3 and want more!

I thought maybe the shorter version of the baggies would lose out on pocket space or comfort, in favor of a more flattering look, and I was wrong. It flawlessly conquers all those categories and more. If I had an endless budget Id own a pair in every color! My favorite part: huge pockets with a leash!

June 19, 2020

Perfect for everyday!

I wore these shorts for a week straight when they first arrived! Great to go in water with, or sit down during a hike on damp moss or rocks. They are super durable and breathable.

June 19, 2020

Amazing

I bought these shorts for my friends birthday present and she is absolutely in love with them. After she received them she went on to buy herself 2 more pairs because she loves them so much. Will definitely be buying a few pairs for myself! Such a great product

June 19, 2020

Awesome beach shorts

Im usually a size 4/Small in Patagonia bottoms but sized up for a looser fit with the elastic waist. I wear my Baggies to hike and over a swim suit for swim-hikes on the coastal trail here on the Big Island. They dry quickly over a wet suit and have perfect coverage.

June 19, 2020

Perfect for SUP

I bought these for three reasons. 1) I was looking for a pair of shorts when I paddleboard. 2) the pattern was funky 3) they were on sale and ridiculously cheap for Patagonia. Very satisfied, wore them on the water today. Fit perfectly and might consider buying a second pair.

June 19, 2020

The only shorts Ive ever liked.

I hate shorts. I hate all shorts. My thighs touch, my waist if flabby from growing humans. Shorts are not my thing. But these were on sale and Patagonia is quality and shorts tend to be a must for summer. I gave it a shot. I am so glad I did! All short should be these shorts! They fit great. They dont ride up my crotch. They dont bunch. They dry fa... Read Morest. The go with everything. I havent yet tired yet but I bet you could even pull of heels with these. Brilliant! I think the only other item that has made me this happy is my fuzzy lines chalk bag.

June 19, 2020

great but slightly big

i am 59 and 140lb and usually between a small and a medium. i ordered a medium because i was worried they might be too short and i read some reviews that said to size up. the length is great but they are a little big in the waist and since they are baggy, its not super flattering. i will keep them because they are comfy, but would recommend going s... Read Moremaller if you are between sizes.

June 19, 2020

Best summer shorts

I have struggled for years to find shorts that are super short and cute, have a drawstring waistband, and are beach-friendly. These are the shorts that check all the boxes. I swear I am never wearing denim shorts to the beach ~ever~ again.

June 19, 2020

Love these shorts

Great shorts

June 19, 2020

I live in these

These have become my go to shorts for everything. They are super comfortable, and cute. I have 3 pairs if that tells you how awesome they are. Just buy them now!

June 19, 2020

Love these shorts

These shorts are comfortable, easy on with an elastic waist, and the pockets are great. I love the bird print. Wear these on walks and hikes. Im usually a medium to large but based on reviews and measurements I got large and they are perfect.

June 19, 2020

Perfection.

I love these. Pockets hang out but the next size up is too big so I dont mind so much. They cover my butt so I dont mind so much. Buy them!

June 19, 2020

Blue Parrot Baggies

I think these are great. I have a pair of older yellow ones and finally decided to get a second pair. I pick the parrot b/c they were on sale, but I'm glad I did I really like them. They were comfortable as soon as I put them on. It took years for my yellow ones to soften up. The key loop in the pocket is a nice touch too. I probably could hav... Read Moree gone with a medium, they felt a little bigger over all then my yellow pair. But if the mediums felt too tight I wouldn't have liked them. I'm loving my parrots :)

June 18, 2020

Perfect Camp Shorts

I love these shorts for post-hike camp site shorts or when I'm doing yard work. These are my go-to shorts for everything. Work very well for the dog park, especially with a lake because of the DWR finish. The pockets to tend to stick out of the bottoms when I bend down which is annoying but then it also makes them deep enough to hold my phone.... Read More I have 4 different pair and love that they don't really show sweat through them so great for summer concerts and ball games. They do run small though. I am normally a good Patagonia XS and I need to get these in a S.

June 17, 2020

Summer Essential

I own many, many pairs of these baggies. They have become part of my summer uniform, and I wouldnt have it any other way. Theyre durable, comfy, adorable, dry quickly, have pockets, and wash like a dream. The fact that there is now a print that includes nighttime pollinators has me over the moon in love.

June 17, 2020

So comfy

These are so cute and comfy. Great adventure shorts!

June 17, 2020

Love these!!

Fantastic cut on these! They were my first baggies & Im officially a fan!! Super lightweight material & perfect for day to day & outdoor adventure.

June 17, 2020

Good

Like but run kind of small. Light and cool

June 17, 2020

Wanted to love them

But found them a little short and the elastic waistband constricting. Love the durability and design of the fabric. Id like to see the waistband widened and flattened and another inch added to the length.

June 17, 2020

Amazing fit and super comfortable

These are my favorite shorts - I literally have 10 pairs of them and rotate through them weekly. Perfect for the beach or over a bathing suit at the pool, also perfect to wear with a T-shirt or tank top . They wash and wear so well and look as perfect as the day I bought them . For reference I am 5 ft 9 and weigh about 160 lbs - t he medium fits pe... Read Morerfectly .

June 17, 2020

Love these baggies!

Perfect shorts for being athletic with kids or while out on the boat. Dries in a minute. Super comfy and go with anything.

June 17, 2020

Great for swimming

I took these swimming at beach this weekend and they were great. I'm 5'3" and about 120lbs and the small fits perfectly. I hope they stand the test of time because they are comfortable, lightweight, and cute. I will be taking these anywhere I might run into water!

June 17, 2020

Love

So comfortable, love the pockets!

June 17, 2020

XL was too Small

I wanted to love these shorts, but they fall very short of comfortable for woman who have large hips and big butts. Instead of being "Baggy" they are tight and restrict movement. I would love Patagonia to offer sizes appropriate for active woman who are larger. I'm a bigger girl, but I'm not so heavy that I should have issues fi... Read Moretting into an XL, bottom line- the size options are pretty discriminatory for heavy folks. I recommend Patagonia test their clothing on all different body types and sizes of people so they can offer their product to a wider audience.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2020

Hi Megan, we're really sorry this was too small. We are continuously expanding our sizes and are working on being inclusive to all body types as we want everyone to have the chance to enjoy the great outdoors in gear that lasts. Thanks so much for your feedback and please feel free to return your Barely Baggies if you were looking to do so but haven't already.

June 17, 2020

Love love

I wish they made this pattern in all the lengths! I get so many compliments and several friends have gotten similar because they liked mine so much. The fabric is high quality and quick drying and the pockets are large enough to actually store a reasonable amount of things without worrying about them falling out. I will definitely be checking out t... Read Morehe different lengths for for trail and climbing activities :)

June 17, 2020

The perfect shorts

These are incredibly versatile! I have worn them fishing, kayaking, to the beach, walking. Can't get enough different uses out of these. The length is great. The material dries quickly. Extremely satisfied.

June 17, 2020

So comfy

Love these! So comfortable and durable. I wear them outdoors a lot and the pattern is so cool! I have another pair in orange!

June 17, 2020

I wear these more often than I'd like to admit

Shoulda bought a few more pairs as I can already see they will be my go-to shorts all summer. I wear them running, fishing, doing workouts/yoga, and just around town. They pair super well with the Sender briefsand since there's no liner or gusset you'll need something underneath them. I usually wear a size small in Patagonia items and the... Read Morese fit great at a small. The blue color is a nice neutral. Would like to see more neutral/earth tones in the future.

June 17, 2020

I own a few pairs of these

The only reason I dont give these a five star review is that they are alittle to short in the butt. I like to pull my shorts up a little higher and when I go they go up my butt. And if you had a bid butt they probably wouldnt fit good. So Id say the backside needs to be a longer.

June 17, 2020

Good fit

The shorts fit well but I will say they tend to fold in and wrinkle when I sit causing me to have to straighten them out when I stand back up. But it's a comfortable material with good stretch. I recommend.

June 17, 2020

Super comfy and cute

Love wearing these around my pool on warm days, Very comfy and cute!

June 17, 2020

cute print

The bird print and color is great. I love these shorts. They're comfortable enough to wear working from home and keep me cool.

June 17, 2020

Not made for curves of any kind

Im of average size for my height with a fit build and some curves and these could not contain the shape of my butt. If you have quite a small build and a skinny composition these will work for you... but if not, I do not recommend.

June 17, 2020

Ultra Comfy

These shorts are great for casual wear, walking/hiking, and bouldering. I like that I can move freely without restriction and that the material isn't particularly stiff. The pockets are great for holding larger items like cell phones, but for walking around the house or store, I'm confident that my phone wouldn't fall out. Hiking tra... Read Moreils are a different story--phone goes in my pack for those instances. These run a little small. In most brands, I wear a size 2-6 or "small" pant, typically hovering around a size 4, but I've found that I'm more comfortable in Patagonia's size Medium for looser-fitting shorts like these and Nine Trails.

June 17, 2020

Great outdoorsy shorts

They are very comfortable and functional. The pockets are good size and the draw string stays tied well. They run a little small in the butt so if you got back, size up, you can tie them tighter to fit the waist.

June 17, 2020

So great!

I love these shorts!! They fit super well and are made of such nice breathable material

June 17, 2020

Love them!

Overall these shorts are cute and comfy, and I would definitely recommend them to all my friends. My only problem was that I ordered the red pair for my job and they werent as red as I expected them to be. While I cant use them for work, they are my most worn pair of shorts and I will be purchasing more in the future!

June 12, 2020

Great shorts

Im a solid 10-12, 6 with curvy hips and a mom belly. I was a little worried after reading about other reviewers who didnt have enough room in the seat, but mine fit just right! I also ordered a pair of the baggies with a 5 inseam but they havent come yet so I cant compare. But so far I love them and think Ill wear them a ton!

June 9, 2020

Size Down!

I bought a pair of these shorts four years ago and got a medium. I wanted the new shorts to fit a little bit tighter, so I purchased a small. Interestingly, enough the waist of the small is larger than the waist of my old mediums. Overall, I would size down; the sizing is not accurate for these because I am a four in jeans and the small is huge.

June 6, 2020

Love these!

These are so cute and perfect for a bunch of summer activities! They're so water repellant and perfect for kyaking and canoeing (where you don't want to just wear a bikini bottom but regular shorts get soaked). They are a little slim fitting as others have noted but fit true to size. Going to be buying more in other colors! I wish they ma... Read Morede more solid colors (like an orange and yellow) so it's easier to match instead of prints.

June 6, 2020

Great shorts, wish they were 3" or 3 1/2" inseam

These are short shorts. I am 5'4" and 112 lbs, and the xs is definitely the correct size for me through my waist and hips, but if you have a butt, the shorts may not really cover everything. I can't really bend over in them without flashing. Maybe sizing up and then using the drawstrings to tighten the waist would have been better. I... Read More still get tons of use out of them, I just can't wear them to work.

June 6, 2020

Love them

These are great for the hot weather where I live. I am 5'2" 125 # and got a medium. They are quite baggie on me -- a small would have been ok -- but I like them baggie.

June 4, 2020

Versatile shorts

I ordered a size up because I wanted them to be a bit looser (baggier, if you will) after seeing other reviews saying these run small. I have bigger thighs and a smaller waist and typically am a medium in bottoms. The legs fit great, they are loose and feel like I can run around in them, and the 2 1/2 inseam isnt too short. The waist is quite big o... Read Moren me but there is a drawstring hidden on the inside. Given the kind of fabric they arent the softest and I can see why people say they get a bit bunched up, but they seem like a sturdy pair of shorts. I plan to use them casually and to work out.

June 4, 2020

3rd Pair

This is my third pair of the barely baggie shorts and I love them. Like many folks have noticed, they are short and can run a bit small if you have more ample hips and thighs. Im generally a medium in Patagonia, but always buy a large in these shorts.

June 2, 2020

Weird fit

I ordered a med and large. I loved the fabric design, wish they had it in the regular baggies. As with some of the other reviews I read, the med fit great in the front, extremely tight in butt. The large fit fine in the butt, huge in front. Couldn't keep either, unfortunately. Wish Patagonia would fix this design, same problem with the 5"... Read More baggies but not quite as bad. I don't have a proportionally large butt at all and can't imagine how anyone with a butt would even fit in these without the front bagging out in the extreme.

May 26, 2020

My favorite summer shorts

I just recieved these shorts, and I have worn them for three days straight! I need to order another pair so I never have to take them off. I live in hawaii, and these are perfect for every aspect of my life! From the beach, to hiking, to bike rides, to bbqs. I love the. Durable material. Quick dry. A little baggie. I'm 5'7 200lbs bought t... Read Morehe XL. They are a little big but have a drawstring waist band and elastic and are SO comfy! Thank you Patagonia!

May 24, 2020

Perfect for my active life

I bought this in pink and I'm about to buy another pair because it fits well and looks great . I am considering replacing my Lulu short shorts with these as they're more functional

May 19, 2020

Not for curves

This is a well made product, but I would steer clear if you have a little more curve in your hips/butt. It tends to pooch in the front and hike up my waist. Built in underwear lining would help so much with riding up. I would love to wear them running/biking/hiking, but I know Ill be adjusting them from hiking up my waist every ten minutes.

May 17, 2020

Too small and not enough sizes

I love these shorts but because they run small and I have hips, I will not be able to wear these until Patagonia finally gets their act together and starts offering a FULL range of sizes. The out doors are for everyBODY not just those who fit in size small- large. PLEASE offer xl, xxl, xxxl sizes!

May 16, 2020

Wish they were high waisted

My only complaint with these is I wish they were high wasted like the 5 baggies. Otherwise they are wonderful!! The shorter length is better for those tan lines :)

May 8, 2020

Great Shorts

These are great shorts that I wear all the time exercising. I have the longer baggies as well that I wear out and about more.

May 1, 2020

perfect

I bought these in black and green and I love them. I have a pretty straight torso and hip situation, usually an 8 in jeans and the M works great. I dont have much to work with so I dont find them to be too short in the back. A khaki color would be cool for these.

March 19, 2020

Amazing

Love these shorts. I ordered a pair in this style and the 5in baggies. I like these a lot more. They run more true to size and are great for casual wear any time of the year. Will be ordering more!

December 16, 2019

The shorts are very well

The shorts are very well made. My granddaughter will love them in her warmer climate!

November 25, 2019

In between sizes...

The M was too big in the waist. The S was too small in the seat...

November 22, 2019

My 'Gonias

I love these shorts. I wear them everywhere, any day, indiscriminately. Climbing, to the beach, backpacking, running, to class; you name it. They're comfortable, simple, and durable. Not even kidding - I have three pairs.

November 22, 2019

Sizing too big!

I ordered the same shorts a year ago in S. They fit perfectly. I reordered the same product 1 year later, same size and they hang off of me like a scarecrow. My weight has not fluctuated from age 14 to 50, but Pata vanity sizing is an utter catastrophe. In 1995, I was a size 6. Same weight. You're not fooling anyone, just flattering a market P... Read Moreata prior distained.

November 20, 2019

Works but not fantastic

I typically buy large shorts to compensate for larger thighs and bottom, and they work for this, but is baggy in the front if you are buying for the same reason I do. They work for their intended purpose but I'm not in love with the fit.

November 15, 2019

Love, Love, love these shorts!

I now have three pairs for myself and I just bought two pairs as gifts. I am 5'2" and 155 lbs and the XL is a perfect baggy fit.

November 6, 2019

Love the length

Perfect hiking shorts. Love the pockets. The leg holes are just the right size. Not too baggy that they feel like a skirt or feel grumpy, but not too tight where you can’t lift up your legs. I also like that they are low-rise. Fabric is a bit on the not-super-soft side. Not to the point where I want to call it scratchy though. Maybe after a few was... Read Morehes it’ll soften up.

November 4, 2019

Adore these shorts

I LOVE these shorts for long, wet hikes. They dry SUPER fast, so I never worry about having to cross high water. I can wear them for days when camping, and they never smell disgusting, unlike my other shorts. The material is breathable and durable. I'm 5'8" and I weigh 145, and I got Small. should have probably gotten medium, but th... Read Moreey still fit great.

October 31, 2019

Love These Shorts

I am a commercial river guide and live out of these things during the season. They have held up so well, I have 5 pairs now.

October 6, 2019

Best Shorts

I love these shorts- I have 4 pairs. They are so comfortable and hold up very well.

September 22, 2019

swim shorts

I ordered the rash guard for protection from the sun for swimming. I usually wear a medium but these rash guard shirts (all that I've ever purchased --stretch out when wet). So I ordered a small. It too stretches out but is not as baggy as a medium would be. I wear the shorts to swim in. You should add this as a choice for both items. Works fo... Read Morer me.

September 22, 2019

great shorts

second time purchasing this style and still love em'

September 20, 2019

Say no to crack

I have a pair of baggies and I was hoping that these would fit the same way except shorter inseams, but the rise is also much shorter, so it wasn't enough coverage in the back. If you can get a size that works for you, they might be great, but I seem to be in between sizes.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear the rise wasn't as high as you'd like. Feel free to give our customer service team a call at 1-800-638-6464 to set up a return, and possibly go over alternative shorts.

September 18, 2019

Great shorts

Fit great, are comfy, perfect length. Have nice mesh pockets to store items. Good for running errands or actually running or hiking. Seem to be good for swimming too.

September 16, 2019

Review

Love these shorts but wish the elastic waist band was a little narrower.

September 16, 2019

So close

These shorts are perfect for summer or a warm vacation. The quick wicking allows for lots of YESs in the day. Yes, I'll get on that paddle board. Yes I'll, wade into that stream. They are basically all I wear. My suggestion is to get a less scratchy material for the pockets and a lightly less baggy leg or maybe a slim cut version.

September 15, 2019

Take them anywhere

These are the do almost anything short for summertime.

September 12, 2019

Amazing shorts for just about everything

I have been an avid Patagonia customer for many years now and recently purchased my first pair of baggies shorts. I ordered the black in medium and wear them constantly. I absolutely love them! I am 5'4", 160lbs and have pretty meaty legs, meaning my thighs rub together and shorter shorts can be uncomfortable wearing for long periods of t... Read Moreime. These do not restrict movement, the pocket are decently practical (a rarity in any womans clothing), I can put my phone and key away, I love the little elastic band in the pocket to clip keys to when out and about. I wear them primarily for running errands and traveling, I drive/fly a lot of miles for my job and these keep me comfy when I'm on the road. They are flattering, yet loose. They stretch a bit after wearing for a few hours, which I like and cant wait until Im home in a warmer climate to wear them again!

September 10, 2019

Love em!

I got these shorts in a L instead of M because I wanted them to be fairly loose fitting, and I made the right choice. I’m 5’6”, 160 lbs, and wear an 8 usually. I love the length and how they fit. And the pockets are a good size.

September 9, 2019

Great shorts!

I bought these for sailing and hanging out. They're reasonably flattering, very comfortable, and dry quickly. I can't wear short or baggy shorts for running (chafing!) but I'm sure these would work well for running for folks without the chafing issue.

September 9, 2019

new favorite shorts

I LOVE these! They are so versatile- I bought them to wear swimming/ kayaking but so far I've also worn them hiking, running, and out in everyday life! I have a very small, athletic build ( as in no butt lol) and they are still pretty short in the back- so I would imagine if you're curvy you may want to size up Also, I had a shipping pr... Read Moreoblem (totally my fault) but costumer service was so helpful and went above and beyond to get these shorts to me in time for a trip!

September 6, 2019

Love these shorts!

So happy with these and want to get more in different colors! Perfect length and so comfy. 5’9” and 151 and medium fits perfectly.

September 4, 2019

I love my barely baggies

This is the fourth pair of barely baggies that I've purchased, and I love them all. The bright patterns make my wardrobe fun, and they're so comfortable. They're fitted, but not in a constricting way at all. Items do fall out of the pockets (although now there's a loop in one pocket for keys), but other than that these are my go... Read More-to shorts for everyday wear, and they're nice for hiking too.

September 2, 2019

Would wear them everyday if I could!

I wear them anytime I want to stay cool (always) and might get wet/dirty (almost always). That means I wear them hiking, biking, and to the beach.... but also while being a mom to my two young boys! Ha. The prints are cute enough so I can wear them around town for errands when they are actually covering up my bikini from being at the beach. I wear ... Read Morethem on family hikes (where they dry quickly and are comfortable for stream jumping and rock walking) and then directly into a brewery for dinner. I have tried wearing the 5" baggies in an attempt to cover my legs, but I don't like how they feel on my legs when I am hiking. The only issue I have had with the 2.5" baggies is that sometimes larger items fall out of my pockets if I am moving around too much, but if the pockets were bigger, they would hang out of the bottom of the shorts! The size Small fits me perfectly. I am 5'5" and 120 pounds, and wear a size 2 or 4 in pants.

August 27, 2019

Love them! I got the yellow size medium!

I got the yellow size medium and they sit on my hips perfectly! I forget how short they really are because they move so well when you're hiking or lounging around. I'm usually a size S, 27.

August 26, 2019

Baggies are the best!

Bought these for a friend who works outdoors and she absolutely loves them. Fabric wears well and dries quickly. Great product!

August 25, 2019

Patagonia Shorts - the best!

Our daughters love Patagonia shorts! They are “cool”, a little longer than most other exercise shorts, and the colors are great!

August 21, 2019

Great for work + fun

I'm a river guide and I live in an active community. It's important for me to have a quick drying short that's comfortable. I also love that I can easily dress it up a bit, since I don't dress girly at work. I have bigger hips n bum (~41" hips) and a medium is great. The large was too baggy and just looked silly. TBH the me... Read Moredium runs a little small around the waistband, but once they're on I love them.

August 15, 2019

PANTS!

Love them, but wish they came in a shorter length and/or that the elastic at the ankles was a bit tighter.

August 15, 2019

I'll never need another pair of shorts.

Last year I picked up the 5" baggies, and although they're still great, I am so much more in love with the 2½" baggies. They're comfortable, airy, quick drying, durable, and flattering - making them perfect for literally any outdoor activity as well as a day in the office or walking around town. The design is perfectly simple an... Read Mored there's a color and pattern for every style. Pair that with the fact that they're responsibly made with recycled nylon, and there truly is no better short on the market. I'm 5'6", 150lbs and prefer really baggy and loose fitting clothes, so I got a size Large.

August 12, 2019

Not Stretchy

I loved the color and the length of the shorts, but with my athletic build I felt like they didn't provide enough stretch for when I was walking, and the waistband felt just a little bit too snug. I'm inbetween sizes so that probably doesn't help, but I ended up returning them in hopes I can find another pair to hike in.

August 12, 2019

Perfect for summer

Be it from sweat or the lake, these babies keep me dry and cool. The pockets are real pocket size (unlike some athletic shorts I’ve worn), and the waistband stays put. I only wish I had bought the yellow ones before they sold out!

August 11, 2019

Too!!!! Baggie

Had no idea they would be as big as they are. Already wore them, so can’t return. Mistake.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2019

No worries! You can always [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) items if you are not satisfied with them, worn or not!

August 10, 2019

Favorite shorts

I love these shorts - I wear them over a bathing suit, on a run and lounging after work. I could live in these baggies! and the pockets are a great feature

August 10, 2019

Barely baggies

I sized up, and they are still too small- I also miss the mesh liners!

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear these were still too small! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them and let us know if you have any questions.

August 10, 2019

Essential pair of shorts!

I love my baggies so much! They have gone through hiking, climbing, swimming in lakes and just daily life on the go and have been amazing. Fast drying, durable and cute!

August 10, 2019

Shoooort rise

I love everything about them, except how short the rise is! You have to sit them soo low to get good crotch clearance. The length of the actual short is fine but you feel like you have to pick a wedgie most of the time wearing them... fabric, color and function are all great.

August 10, 2019

Best hiking shorts ever!

Bought these for a hiking trip through Arizona, they have become my summer staple!

August 6, 2019

Overall Winners!

Love these shorts! Used them mostly for backpacking trips this summer. Loved the pockets and the fun colors. The fabric did sometimes roll up on the bottom hem of the legs so you could see the mesh from the pockets-- didn't love that, but think it was maybe just from overwearing them and not washing enough. I did LOVE them as a cute everyday s... Read Morehort as well! As far as sizing goes, I'm 5'4" and 115lbs and bought an XS-- fits like a glove! Looking for another pair in a different color-- have the surfboard yellow and it is CUTE.

July 24, 2019

Wanted to Love Them

I was really hoping I'd like these shorts! I hate wearing gym shorts or jeans shorts when I'm on the water because they take too long to dry, so these seemed like the perfect solution. The quality is absolutely there, the pockets are great, and the key loop is fantastic. Unfortunately the sizing is weird. After reading reviews I ordered b... Read Moreoth an XS and a S. The XS was too snug, and the S was too big in the waist and front, but didn't fit over my butt (there was a little cheek-peek going on). Honestly, if you don't have a squat-butt these shorts would probably be great!

Response from Patagonia
July 25, 2019

Thanks so much for the feedback and we are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing. Please feel free to send those back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need any assistance.

July 23, 2019

A longer option for us tall girls would be sweet

I'm 6'4" and have a 38" inseam these shorts are so close to being the ultimate summer shorts. The fabric is unbeatable and they are super cute (unlike the regular baggies) and the rise is perfect. But they are just too short for my long legs and they lack some of the mobility I want out of an outdoor short. A 3.5 or 4" inse... Read Moream option possibly with a gusseted crotch would be awesome.

Response from Patagonia
July 25, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send in for a refund or merchandise credit.

June 23, 2019

Awesome

I love the barely baggies. I have them in four colors and actually use them for swimming off the boat or at the beach instead of my annoying bikini bottoms. I'm 5' 4" and 122 lbs, curvy and wear a medium. The elastic hugs my hips without being too tight. They dry super fast, so they don't stick to my skin after being in the wate... Read Morer. They also stay on really well if you're active at the beach/in the water. I don't know how many times waves have knocked my bikini bottoms off. I can comfortably chase my daughter around without feeling like the whole beach is about to get a show. I love my baggies!

June 18, 2019

The most versatile and greatest shorts ever

I have been looking for shorts like these for so long. They are wonderfully breathable and long enough that you would not have to worry about showing too much! They are easy to use and comfortable to wear! They are so versatile; go hiking in them, running, anything really. I love to dress mine up with a nicer shirt and shoes during the summer and t... Read Morehey just look fabulous with the patterns and cute colors. The only thing I found is that with me and my larger thighs you might want to size up if you find that your thighs are sometimes bigger than your waist. They come with a wonderful waist tie if you find yourself needing them more secure and snug.

June 14, 2019

Love the shorts but not the sizing

So I have several pair that are rather old (couple of years) and recently bought a new pair based on old size... super bummed!! They are HUGE!! So I bought the next size down and guess what- they’re way too small!!!

May 22, 2019

Great Go-To Shorts

I had initially tried on the 5" Baggies b/c I wanted a more modest length for casual round-town shorts. Alas the 5" were way too long and swimming on me. I am 5'1 (95 lbs) and so I tried on the 2.5" Barely Baggies in size XS. Perfect fit waist-wise and not *too* short/showy. I mean, they are pretty short, but I don't feel u... Read Morencomfortable wearing them out. Unlike the reviews I have read, for me these Barely Baggies fit true to size (I am normally an XS, and did not find these to be on the smaller side). They are a little stiff, but doesn't bother me. As with all Patagonia gear, these shorts will last a lifetime, and can be used for all activities and outdoor pursuits! The only thing - they don't have an inner liner like the Strider Short, which I don't mind for a casual short - but just be mindful if doing something super active because these Barely Baggies are pretty short.

May 8, 2019

Perfect shorts for summer!

I love that I can wear these to class, hiking, or swimming. Great shorts! The fit seemed a little different than previous pairs I’ve bought, but I don’t really care they still work great!

May 8, 2019

Great Boat Shorts

Was going on a boat trip for over a week and wanted easy dry and light weight shorts. These we're perfect I am 5"6 140lbs and a medium worked well. I think from the front the shorts look better than the backside looks a little big or baggy but would highly recommend.

May 8, 2019

Patagonia Baggies

Best shorts I've ever owned. More breathable than athletic shorts and work perfectly for convincing people I'm outdoorsy

April 9, 2019

Weird fit

Just right in the waist but the legs were wayyyy too small. They road up too much

April 3, 2019

Love the Barely Baggies

I'm short and look best in shorter length shorts that sit on the hip. The Barely Baggies size small fit me like a charm. Great in a hot, humid weather. Wore mine to the beach and a couple of quickie walks through Florida swampland this past weekend and they were perfect for the climate and for their ability tp cram a phone in the pockets.

April 1, 2019

I love these shorts. I

I love these shorts. I now have them in 4 colors!

April 1, 2019

I love these shorts. I

I love these shorts. I now have them in 4 colors!

February 24, 2019

Sizing is off

Purchased a medium pair based off of the recommendation given by the sizing tool. I am 135 lbs. and 5' 5" and usually wear a medium in pants, but when I got these they were huge. They fit around the waist fine, still not as snug as I would have liked but the legs were huuuuuuge. If I were to were these and step upward, everything was expo... Read Moresed. This is not the first time that I purchased a pair of medium pants and they were too big either. So moving forward, I am going to order a small in pants. I would have given these 5 stars if they had fit.

December 30, 2018

Small and awkward

Super bummed by my barely baggies. I was so stoked to try these that I bought 2 pairs to take to Thailand with me but my dreams of traveling the world in my cute AF shorts were dashed when I tried them on. Well, long story short, they fit terribly ( I DO NOT look cute AF in them as I was hoping). I am a perfectly average sized gal (5'3" 1... Read More30lbs and athletic. lots of muscle and yeah I'll just say it, I have a nice butt) and ordered the SM based on the size chart and other reviews. Lets just say that the waistband is not stretchy and I get awful muffin top with these (plus weird red ribbing on my skin from the waistband digging into me). Also, they are too tight around the bottom of the leg opening. Like the top of the thigh is fine but then they seem to get smaller towards the bottom? This makes them ride all up in my business which is obviously uncomfortable. Long story short, these are NOT made for athletically built ladies. If you are built like an actual Barbie these will be hella cute on you but any ladies with shape should stay away! Patagonia. PLEASE make clothes for athletic girls. You know, girls who like to hike..and cycle...and run...

November 15, 2018

Indeed, barely there

I wish I liked these since in principal they are what I'm looking for; durable, short, functional, and fun fabric for hanging out at the beach. But I bought them, wore them once, and they have been in my closet ever since. Why? Well the fit is just slightly off, and I think it has to do with these being lower cut. Just an additional 1/2 in wou... Read Moreld make a big difference. They are also tight around the butt/hips. I've noticed that Patagonia women's bottom's all fit like this, and have a somewhat awkward tightness around the hip/upper butt area. (5 in baggies, same issue.) I don't think the model pictures accurately depict how these shorts are on a real body. The video about them is more realistic since it shows how tight they are. There isn't much give in these so if you aren't stick skinny like the model these will give you muffin top and sausage legs. If there was less elastic, slightly more length at the top, and more give in the fabric these would be great.

September 25, 2018

can never go back to regular shorts

i really thought i would hate these because they don't have a liner but i absolutely love them. the pockets are a game changer and now i cannot wear my lulus. i think these are very quick drying and durable. obsessed! 5'3 110lb got the size small

September 17, 2018

My Everything Shorts

I got these over the summer as a test run for my kit for the John Muir Trail. I wanted quick dry & durable without a liner; being on the trail for 14 days and only taking one pair of shorts, it was important to be able to wash my underwear (patagonia) on the trail [which is not easy with built in.] They lived up to expectations and I now use th... Read Moreem for mountain biking (can wear bike chamois), trail running, backpacking, and everyday stuff. They aren't as quick dry as your standard running shorts, but that's because they are more durable- so I will take the trade off. Couldn't be more stoked on these!

August 22, 2018

Great Summer Shorts

I bought these shorts earlier this summer and am obsessed. They are great for hanging around during the summer, going to the beach, hiking (particularly on hikes with lakes/ponds that I can stop and jump into), and kayaking. Pockets are good size (although things may fall out if you are sitting). I highly recommend the purchase to anyone who is in ... Read Morethe decision process, I want to buy a ton more (although even with one I feel like I can do anything with them)!

August 1, 2018

Different, but still good

I have a couple pairs of Barely Baggies from 2(ish) years ago that I absolutely love. They are amazing for travel, are super durable, dry quickly, are comfortable, and fit amazing. I basically wear them all summer. Because of this I decided to invest a new pair. They just arrived and the color is really pretty (Beryl Green), however, the texture of... Read More the material and fit seem to have changed. They are definitely thinner than my older pairs and they don't fall as well (maybe because they are thinner?). I haven't decided if I am going to keep them because I am disappointed in the changes as I am really hard on my old pairs and am not sure these will hold up as well. I always find that Barely Baggies seem to run a little small for me so my usual M in Patagonia bottoms always seems to be a L in these. I am 5'6" and 150 lbs with small hips and bigger/athletic thighs.

June 26, 2018

Perfect summer shorts

These are my new favorite shorts for anything outside. I bought them for hiking and backpacking which they are perfect for because they are so lightweight. Also great on the river because they dry so fast. I originally ordered a M because the "slim fit" made me think they might run small but ended up returning for my normal size,S.

June 18, 2018

Great Shorts

Just bought these shorts for kayaking. Loved them. The length is perfect. Fast dry time. Durable. Flexible. Also cleaned up very easily in the wash. I am 5'7 very fit but curvy. Bought a medium. Loved the way they looked on me. Will be purchasing a couple more.

June 10, 2018

I own these in four different colors!

I bought a couple pairs over the past two years and I love them! I own these in black,red,and a fun multi-pattern,as well as a pair of the Hemp Barely Baggies. I wear them all the time in the summer! These board shorts are so good for swimming,paddleboarding,hiking,traveling,relaxing,etc. They fit and look great. I find I wear them all the time!

June 8, 2018

Mine are Not Waterproof

I bought these a month ago and they are not waterproof. I sat with them wet in the canoe for 3 hours and they did not dry. Pretty upset about it as I was super exctied for them.

June 5, 2018

You can do everything is these!

Super psyched on my first pair of Baggies! I've had them and been wearing them for a couple months and they are the best all-around short! Comfortable for hiking/backpacking,biking,fishing,sitting in camp.. I haven't run in them yet but the fabric is so quick-drying I think they'll be great. I love along the Eastern Sierra and so far... Read More they've held up well to my sitting on abrasive granite - no pilling or wear. The pocket is deep and my phone stayed in during the entire hike on an overnight backpack trip. I'm 5'9" and around 145 lbs,and I got a medium and happy with the fit! Plenty of room for movement but not too "baggy" :)

May 28, 2018

Go to summer short

I'm almost 6 months postpartum and struggling with getting back to my prepregnancy body. With summer here I dread going outside with leggings on. But I found these shorts! So cute! You can wear them fishing,over you swim suit,to a theme park. Even a day out. I'm about to purchase my second pair!

May 22, 2018

Great pair of shorts!

I have two pairs of these shorts and I love them! They are comfortable,have deep pockets and dry quickly if they get wet. Even though it says slim fit,they fit loose in the leg like I like.

May 22, 2018

best shorts

I love these! The most comfortable,versatile shorts. I have worn them biking,camping,hiking,and just around campus,and they are so awesome. They fit on the looser side,but that's fine with me.

May 20, 2018

Best shorts I've ever owned

I LOVE these shorts! I bought them in dolomite blue and they are my go to shorts for the summer. They are simple yet cute! I love that Patagonia always makes things that are not only cute but also super comfortable :) The little loop in the pocket is great for keeping car keys without the worry of them falling out. I wore these on a road trip recen... Read Moretly and I spilled water on myself multiple times but never need to change because of the quick dry material. Highly recommend,especially for travel and hiking! Very versatile.

May 17, 2018

Happy Camper!

I love these shorts because I have used it for hiking,camping,kayaking,working out,and travel... They are easy to wear,fabric is durable,3 pockets are handy for gear,I love the side slits on the legs,and it's super comfy! I am also GLAD that these shorts are not lined because I can wear my bikinis or Nike Pro compression shorts underneath. ... Read More In the Baggies Shorts I wear an XS because it's a Relaxed Fit. I read that these shorts were slim fit and went up a size. The size small fit perfect and it doesn't look big or sloppy on me. I am 5',106lbs,athletic build,usually wear an XS,waist 25.5.

May 17, 2018

Beyond LOVE

I found these in the store and thought I'd give them a go. Little did I know they would become my favorite shorts. I am coming to buy a second pair right now. I seriously wear them more than I'd like to admit.

May 7, 2018

Best shorts ever!

When I bought these I figured I 'd use them mostly for hiking and camping. And I've done a lot of that in them but I've also worn them while gardening,running,and out and about. They're amazing! I bought them in red and am about to order them in green. Highly recommend!

April 29, 2018

The Perfect Shorts!!!!!

I love these shorts so much. I've worn them on week long canoe trips,months long road trips,backpacking overseas,and strolling through downtown Toronto. They're perfect for whatever life throws at you,and are just as rugged as they are cute!

March 30, 2018

Odd Fit for a Curvy Lady

I'm typically a Large in our bottoms,especially if they are a "Slim Fit". This "fit",but in a weird way. The front had a ton of extra fabric,so it just ballooned out instead of laying flat. I've heard washing them can help,so I tried that,but it didn't do the trick. They fit great in the back,around my hips and in... Read More the legs,just not the front.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches