Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 267 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2 1/2"

4.5/5
True To Size
September 7, 2021

Love it

I love it, wish it was a little longer.

August 31, 2021

Beautiful and cute shorts

Nice shorts, comfy and airy. Love the colors!

August 30, 2021

LOVE <3 <3

love this look, goes great with a tank. though size feels a little small when sitting (got an x-small) but that was on me.

August 28, 2021

Favorite shorts

Perfect bottoms for work as a kayak guide--quick-dry, cute, and comfy. They are a little more snug on a curvy girl so if you want a looser fit size up but they are not snug to the point of discomfort. Just a different look. Love these!

August 23, 2021

Best shorts ever

These shorts are incredibly comfy and cute. Theyre great for any occasion and id recommend them to anyone who wants some chill shorts.

August 16, 2021

Tricky to know what size to get

I first purchased a medium, I am relatively small, but tend to need to size up bottoms to a medium, and since these dont stretch I didnt want them to be too tight. They arrived and were almost falling off my hips. Exchanged for a size small, and they fit nicely! Quite short, but theyre supposed to be, so I cant complain.

August 16, 2021

Poor fit

I don&#x27;t usually write reviews, but was so disappointed in these that I felt compelled to. These are one of the most ill-fitting garments I have ever purchased. The leg holes are way too big relative to the waist size. It was a super unflattering look. I&#x27;m a little over 5&#x27;6&quot; and 120 lbs. Approximately 27&quot; waist, and 36&quot;... Read More hips, ordered a small and they looked awful. The material is really stiff. Felt and looked like I was wearing a paper bag. Definitely not worth the price. I'd give zero stars if I could.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2021

Hi Nik, thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're so sorry to hear about these sizing issues. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We want you to be satisfied with your gear so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us at your earliest convenience. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future.

August 8, 2021

Love these!

I love these shorts, these are my second pair I own. I sized up to large because I wanted more of a baggy feel and the inseam is quite high in the middle.

August 3, 2021

Amazing

These shorts are so comfy and they fit so perfect! I love how bright the colors are. I also like how I could wear them over a swimsuit bottom or as a swimsuit bottom and go hiking with them too! The length is just right, not too short. I plan on buying more!

August 2, 2021

Super comfy

I really like my Patagonia baggies, I bought two pairs because I liked them so much. I mostly wear them for hiking and casual wear. They are super durable so I dont have to worry about them getting damaged if I sit on a rock or the ground and I love how they look, they go with everything. A few things I wish they had though are a back pocket and me... Read Moresh underwear on the inside. The mens baggies have these and Im confused why the womens dont. Other than that I really love these shorts and will definitely be getting more colors.

July 19, 2021

Great Cut and Very Comfortable

These shorts are perfect for lots of walking around the city or hanging at the beach!!

July 9, 2021

My New Favorite Shorts - More Neutral Colors Please

Ive worn these shorts every day since I got them! The current blue color is a great neutral color that matches a lot of my shirts. I just ordered black too. Id love to see army green, red, lilac and khaki colored ones too! I live in Hawaii and these fast drying shorts are not too hot like my other fabric shorts in this tropical climate. I am obsess... Read Moreed! The mesh pockets are just absolutely perfect. Perfect for beach, hiking, backyard playing, working from home, errands Im 53 and 134 lbs and the Med fits great. I think the Small would have been too tight and restricted my range of motion. The Med is a great comfortable relaxed fit but not showing too much leg through the leg holes and definitely not falling down - they are still perfect around my waist. Highly recommend!

July 7, 2021

absolutely love

comfy and cute i never want to take these shorts off. worth the price

July 5, 2021

Awesome summer shorts

This is my first pair of baggies and won&#x27;t be my last. I was worried they&#x27;d be too short but they&#x27;re the perfect length - short enough to feel feminine but not too short to be revealing. They&#x27;re so comfortable too! I usually wear a small in athletic shorts, I got a medium for a looser fit and they&#x27;re perfect. Will be buying... Read More more!

July 5, 2021

Great shorts

This is my 3rd pair of baggies. I love the durability of these shorts, they dry super fast. Great for boating/surfing. I wish they came in a 3 1/2 inch inseam. 5 inch is too long for me, but these are on the short side of comfort for me.

July 4, 2021

Good, but not made for thick/muscular women

I love these shorts. Ive got probably 10 pairs. Theyre great for summer and outdoor activities like swimming, sand volleyball, and hiking. Sadly, I have to agree with other reviews that say Patagonias sizing is getting worse over the years and becoming less inclusive for all body types. Im 510, 165, with muscular legs and glutes and Im confused as ... Read Moreto why theres a big difference between M and L. M was way too tight and short, and L is much too big on the waist and almost too baggy. Thank goodness for the drawstrings. If Patagonia could make a short like this that had some stretchy fibers that would be awesome! But I do love these and will continue to wear them.

July 3, 2021

My summer uniform

I keep coming back to purchase more baggies. Theyre what I wear all Spring/Summer long! (Even into the Fall) They wash well, dry super quick, have pockets that fit my phone(in a pinch), and fit true-to-size. I get them for all of my family too.

July 2, 2021

Great Shorts

Perfect shorts; great length and moved well with my body during a hike. Kept me cool on a warm day and lots of compliments on the bright blue color. Highly recommend.

June 30, 2021

Love these shorts! They do run small though.

With every other brand I purchase size small but after reading reviews I was skeptical about doing the same for these shorts. I was in between a small and a medium and ending up buying the medium. I&#x27;m 125 pounds and the medium is a perfect fit. There is also a drawstring around the waist to tighten them if you need. Can&#x27;t wait to go hikin... Read Moreg in these.

June 28, 2021

Extremely comfy. Quite versatile

Very, very comfortable. Full of clever details, especially the little key loop inside the pocket. Could wear these everywhere.

June 26, 2021

Cute until you sit down

Im keeping these because I LOVE the color but a few details could have been thought out better. I like how these fit until I sit down: the shorts roll up a bit exposing the bottom section of the mesh pockets. I dont like seeing the pockets or whats in my pockets exposed below the shorts! And the shorts arent riding up very high at all!

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2021

We appreciate you taking to the time to share your experience with the shorts and for your valuable suggestions. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you should change your mind in the future.

June 22, 2021

Cute Shorts

Super comfortable.

June 19, 2021

Amazing Shorts

5'4" 120lbs and these are perfect! The most magical thing about them is that my phone completely disappears into the pocket and I can't tell it's there. I don't know many other girls pants let alone shorts that do that! Plus, these are cute and comfy. Patagonia, send me a pair in pigeon blue!

June 17, 2021

Just a bit short.

Love the baggies. I have multiple pair. I do however wish they came - bit longer. Just an inch more in length would be awesome. I tried to size to the XXL in youth for the added length, but they were too big. These are so close to being great.

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hey there, we wanted to point out that we do have a 5" option for our Women's Baggies, check them out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-baggies-shorts-5-inch/57058.html?dwvar_57058_color=MTIB).

June 16, 2021

Super comfortable

I freaking love the 2 1/2 shorts. I wear them so much, its where I have my tan line. Not too long, not too short. Just right and very comfy!

June 12, 2021

Not big butt friendly

The shorts are really cute and have the appearance of casual and workout shorts. The only downside of these shorts is the material doesnt really stretch. I have big thighs and they rise, I would size up to prevent this.

May 30, 2021

OBSESSED

I love these shorts. Feels like Im wearing mens boxers in the best way- my go to sailing shorts. The prints are so fun, I need them all!!!

May 23, 2021

Amazing shorts

I love these baggies! Extremely comfortable. Im 52, 140lbs and the fit well. I sized up due to having athletic legs. Highly recommend.

May 20, 2021

Wanted to love but

I wanted to love these. The negative reviews on these are accurate. Waist band is too small, not enough rise, not enough crotch space. I am a thin and small individual and I found squatting down or bending over caused an instant, incredibly uncomfortable wedgie. The crotch area is generally too tight from front to back. I couldnt size up any more s... Read Moreince the leg holes would be ridiculously baggy. Could also use another half inch in the length - these are a little too short. Hope these get a makeover with some improvements!

May 16, 2021

My favs

These are the best summer shorts. You can get them fully wet and they dry in like 15 minutes. Theyre sturdy but still breathable, last forever, you can wear them for absolutely anything

May 15, 2021

simple but cute

love these simple shorts. look and feel great!

May 10, 2021

Noooo why baggies why

I basically live in old model baggies. They are my go to short. Never show dirt, wonderful pockets, and basically always ready for adventure. This new version is Terrible with a capital T. The waist band is super small, theres no room for an actual butt (and I dont even really have a butt so this is saying something)doing squats or moving at all wo... Read Moreuld be a struggle. The pockets are small and dont hold an iPhone and saddest of all, the adorable yellow pair are see-through. For a staple that I live in, it was super disappointing to receive this new, but definitely not improved version.

May 9, 2021

Great shorts

Great shorts. Have had other pairs that have latest for many years.

May 4, 2021

best shorts

my favorite pair of shorts

May 3, 2021

My new fav shorts

I ordered a medium and they are definitely baggy, like it says but I LOVE how they fit. Theyre sooooo cute

May 1, 2021

Summer basic

They are made perfect of course as all Patagonia gear, and I plan on using them as a quick beach cover over swim suit ..or just on a super hot day .. But it'ts not that warm yet! So haven't worn them. They're cute tho..

April 20, 2021

Great

These are great

April 20, 2021

Super cute and comfy shorts

Love these shorts. They are made for anything. From lounging to hiking. Pink and black are the colors I choose. I love how pink gives a pop of color. Would love a pair in every color.

April 12, 2021

Super cute!

I do love these shorts however they are too short in the rise. I returned the small for a Medium and am waiting to see if the fit will be better. I would love them to be reconstructed with a bit more in the rise... and perhaps a bit softer fabric... they feel stiff... but overall, they are super cute on.. Im hoping the Medium gives me more room to ... Read Moreexercise easily without compromising on the size too much...

April 7, 2021

Pair number 7 in my closet

Love them so much I have 7 pairs, I go for the most brightly coloured pairs I can find and these yellow melon slices fit the bill perfectly!

April 5, 2021

Baggies for the win!

I ordered a S and M in the 2 1/2&quot; baggies. I&#x27;m in my late 40s, 5&#x27;5, 120 lbs. I kept the M because they give me a little extra room to move, I wear them a little lower on my hip so they aren&#x27;t as snug in the butt. Bought for fly fishing the saltwater flats and I love how quick drying they are plus the colors and patterns are fun.... Read More

April 1, 2021

my new favorite

was worried that these wouldnt fit because the fabric doesnt stretch at all but theyre super comfy, durable, and they go with everything

March 26, 2021

A little better than the 5" Baggies

I wrote a similar review for the 5&quot; Baggies, both of which I returned. I wanted to love these based on the positive reviews, but I ended up in the negative review camp. The crotch is too low and the waist definitely runs small without much give despite being elastic. The material is also much more like a board short than I expected and didn&#x... Read More27;t seem like it would be too comfortable for longer summer alpine approaches which is what I was hoping. The prints and colors are fantastic and I wish the fit were right, but it's just weird. For reference, I am about 5'2" and 115 pounds, muscular with climber shoulders and back but not curvy.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Thank you for the thoughtful review on our Barely Baggies, we're sorry that these didn't end up working out for you. We don't have alpine focused shorts at the moment, but thanks for bringing this gap in our alpine line to our attention. We do have our cropped [Women's Stem Gem Rock Crops](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-stem-gem-rock-crops/82915.html?dwvar_82915_color=DLMB&cgid=sport-climbing-womens) which could fit well for your needs, check them out!

March 23, 2021

Impractically short

Got these in the henna brown print and theyre really cute. Unfortunately they hit right where my cheeks start to show :( Im short with short legs(52, 26inseam) so the regular 5 baggies look ridiculous on me. But these are just too short. I really wish Patagonia had a 3 or 3.5(almost baggies!lol) I tried these on and they felt so light and breezy. I... Read More hike often in the summer and was excited for these. But, I dont really want to moon people.lol Was really excited for the breathable mesh pockets and the wide,breezy legs. They fit TTS. I have a 32.3hip and 26 low waist,22 waist. They fit perfectly. Very well made. I knew the inseam, just hoped from their popularity that meant they were short girl friendly as opposed to booty shorts. But theyre definitely booty shorts. Im thin but I dont think fit enough to pull them off lol. If you have straighter hips, you could maybe wear them low. I have pretty wide hips for my frame and they ended up shimmying up to my low waist. Hope Patagonia releases even just a 3 or 3.5. I want a breathable short-short, but not cheekies.

March 23, 2021

Super comfy

These are my new favorite shorts. I purchased three pairs and I could honestly buy more! I wear size 2/4 and the small worked perfectly for me. They are pretty short so I wont be using them as activewear. I think they work best as casual wear or for walking. Well worth the price!

March 11, 2021

Better than expected

Of course these are 5 star. Im between small and medium and these are great with a bit of extra room. Leg holes large but not bell-shaped. Crotch a bit pouchy but all elastic waistbands do that to me. Will buy these as needed for the rest of my life. Full marks on packaging materials as well

March 10, 2021

Perfect size

I absolutely love these shorts. Theyre the perfect length for me, and I love the waistband fit. Overall great! Will buy again.

March 3, 2021

Better than baggie

I am approx 5&#x27;9&quot;, 130 lbs. 26 inch waist and 38 inch hips. This fit me so much better than the regular baggie! I toggle between xs and small sizes- some items are made for straighter bodies and even though I&#x27;m small I still have curves and can struggle getting items without a fly over my hips. These fit great- not having the high wai... Read Morest to contend with really made them much easier to get on and off.

February 12, 2021

Pockets!

These are exactly as advertised. Love the material and the pockets!

February 5, 2021

Great Shorts

I am 5ft5in 140lb about 37 inches at the hips. I have an athletic build and not very curvy. I bought a size medium and they fit perfectly. They are not see though at all and the material is very durable. I bought them to use on kayaking trips. There are pockets! Big, deep, usable pockets that are mesh so they don&#x27;t fill with water. The only th... Read Moreing I don't like is they do bunch up in the crotch when you sit down. But my husband says they look good on me so I'm not complaining.

February 4, 2021

Cute, if you like your butt cheeks to hang out.

I was really excited to try my first pair of Baggies after hearing others rave about them, but I was disappointed to find that they&#x27;re extremely small and short if you have junk in the trunk. I ordered a size small as recommended by the Patagonia size chart. The front length is ok, but there just isn&#x27;t enough material in the butt. This ca... Read Moreuses the material to pull tightly across my butt, giving it a flattened "pancake butt" appearance, and the bottoms of my butt cheeks are actually visible at the bottom of the shorts. Any movement causes them to ride up further, increasing butt-cheek-hanging, so these are out of the question for any physical activity for me. The crotch pulls tightly, and because the shorts are so short, there isn't a lot of crotch material, which has the dual effect of resulting in a nice camel toe *and* increasing the chance of an unintentional flash-reveal (be careful how you sit!) I'm not sure why the fit on these is so awkward when the 3" Island Hemp Baggies in the same size fit so much better (I compared with a friends Island Hemp Baggies, also in size small). Sosize up? Then I wonder if the waist will be too big. Patagonia, please be consistent in your sizing across shorts, and importantly, please make shorts for real, curvy women! I suggest either increasing the height of the waist or adding 0.51" of material to the leg opening so our lady parts and butts are covered when the shorts ride up. And, add a little cheek material to give a healthy caboose some breathing room, would you?

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi Jessie! Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear the sizing didn't quite work out. All our garments are under our Ironclad Guarantee. Feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us if you haven't already. Please note, we are always happy to provide with exact garment measurements to ensure a confident fit for any future purchases.

November 19, 2020

smaller than expected

bought these for my daughter and the medium ran much smaller than 5" version in unexpected ways. The rise was much lower and made shorts pull uncomfortably.

November 8, 2020

True to their description

They are called baggie but the 2.5 length is perfectly flattering- especially those of us with short legs! I have these in almost every color - green bluish - and this one is my favorite- side pockets fit phone comfortably- never worry about falling out of pocket even during bike ride.. best pair of shorts!

November 2, 2020

Kind of small...

I am a curvy girl and recently lost some weight so was finally able to fit into Patagonia stuff. I LOVE my jackets. Why is there no XXL size in the barely baggies yet? I love the shorts I bought but they are still a little tight. Would love an XXL size in these too. But the fabric in print is great! Thanks guys!

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hello Addy, we appreciate your sizing suggestion. We are slowly increasing our style offerings with expanded sizing, and hope we may be able to offer the Women's Barely Baggies in Size XXL in the near future. To help narrow the search, you may want to use the search filter by size to view the current style selection.

October 5, 2020

best shorts

i&#x27;ve wanted these shorts forever and finally got them! i ordered a size small (im 5&#x27;3-5&#x27;4 28&quot; waist, abt 130 lbs and size 4-6 in pants) and they fit almost perfectly. super comfortable, had an issue w shipping and patagonia offered to buy a new pair but we ended up getting the original shorts found. only problem is they ride up ... Read Morea little and wrinkle easily but that's not really a problem for me. pls make more colors patagonia!! i love the colors on urban and the pink, blue, yellow pattern here but everything sells out really fast.

September 18, 2020

BEST SHORTS EVER

I have multiple pairs in different colors and have given many pairs to friends and family as gifts and they all love them!! Cant wait to see what next seasons colors are!

September 18, 2020

Fits great

Looks good, is comfortable. Fits great.

September 16, 2020

Comfy and Practical

These shorts are so comfortable to wear around town, the campsite, hiking, kayaking or lounging on the couch. They dry fast, breath well and have nice pockets to hold phone and keys

September 12, 2020

Cute, but short

These shorts are true to size around the waist and even have an elastic band! However, I have a bigger bottom. I felt like my bottom was hangin your the bottom so I had to trade them in for the classic baggies. Other than that, they are super light, comfy, and water repellent. They almost have a swim trunk/old school nylon jacket feel.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2020

Hi there, we're sorry to hear these didn't fit as expected, but are glad you found what you were looking for in the regular Baggies! Please let us know if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 11, 2020

Too small and uncomfortable material

I ordered these shorts online and bought a small. The small was too small for me, but I wouldve returned them for a different size if it werent for the fact that the fabric felt stiff and uncomfortable. Not something I would want to hike in.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on our Women's Barely Baggies Shorts - 2 1/2". We're sorry to hear that the feel of the material wasn't doing it for you. Sometimes a wash will help soften them up a bit. If you're interested, please check out our [Women's Island Hemp Baggies Shorts - 3"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-island-hemp-baggies-shorts-3-inch/57030.html?dwvar_57030_color=TSSY) for a similar design in a nice soft hemp/cotton blend.

September 9, 2020

Barely Baggies: Obsessed

I tried to order these a few months ago but after I submit my order and selected standard ground shipping I went back to show somebody what I ordered it it said backorder until January 2021. I contacted Patagonia customer service and they were really helpful and gave me a refund and coupon for the inconvenience. Somehow I saw they had a few pairs b... Read Moreack in stock I ordered some immediately. They are worth the hype they're comfortable and flattering and one of my best purchases to date.

September 9, 2020

favorite shorts

Love these baggies! They are comfortable and great to wear for camping, hiking, playing on the water, etc. My husband and I both love and wear them. My only complaint is that I wish the women&#x27;s had a liner in them like the men&#x27;s do. The hubby gets to wear his around freely and not worry about a thing. I&#x27;d like the option to wear with... Read More underwear or a swimming suit underneath.

September 6, 2020

My daughters go to short

First item she pulls from clean clothes pile. Great versatile short.

September 2, 2020

Uber Summer Shorts

I&#x27;m about 5&#x27;7 but have shorter legs so the 2.5 inseam isn&#x27;t wicked short. With my arms by my side, the bottom seam lands at my fingertips. These are great to wear or, store in your pack for camping / hiking. Rather breathable and quick to dry after a dip in a water. I got the pink - the light color shows dirt but a little soap helps.... Read More Totally expected with the light shade. Fav feature- elastic in the right pocket, helpful security for keys.

September 2, 2020

so comfortable

I also wear kayaking, as they dry quickly.

September 2, 2020

Odd fit for me really baggy but kinda small.

Ive been wearing baggies since I was old enough to steal them from my Dad. Im tall and thin, no butt, no hips. The length is nice, but they are so baggy in the legs and but that they feel skirt like. But on the other hand, they grab my thigh in the front when running or even just walking. Im wearing the right size - the larges also grab the front o... Read Moref my legs and the smalls do too with the added fun of camel-toe. I landscape in them and they get filthy but still look presentable. I run in them and by the time Im done with my run in the woods Im covered in scratches and am bleeding and generally torn up but my baggies arent - they are sturdy! So I love them, but for my body type the 2.5 length is just not perfect. But the fun pattern won me over and even with grabby thighs and baggy baggies, I teach for them first.

September 2, 2020

Great casual shorts

These are great casual shorts with cute prints and a good cut. I've already recommended them to friends how have purchased and love them. Great variety of prints and colors. Keep them coming Patagonia! P.S. Please bring back the barley baggies skirt!

September 1, 2020

Best length!

Im very short (under 5) and while I like the 5 baggies this is a much better length for me! Super comfortable and I love the pockets.

September 1, 2020

Great for men and women

Like the 2-1/2" inseam and no interior brief. Pockets are now deep enough to securely hold my iPhone. Overall, this is a well-designed, unisex Baggies short. As a male, this is a great swimsuit.

August 30, 2020

Barely baggies are great!

I bought these this summer because I lost a large amount of weight(70lbs) and guessed at the size I needed and went with size XL. I was nervous they would be to small based on reviews. I don&#x27;t agree with other reviewers about these running small as I&#x27;m larger(5&#x27;8 190lbs) and they are fairly baggy like the name says. They look a bit b... Read Moreaggier on me than on the model so I could probably do a size L but haven't tried yet. Love the drawstring waist and the pockets are amazing, the loop comes in handy for securing things when being active. I'm not sure if I've seen in the description but the pair I got also have an inner pocket you can put stuff in but kinda awkward location as you have to shove down in your pants but nonetheless useful. They do not ride up my butt but have a tendency to ride up the front of my thighs but if I sized down I'm sure the issue would be resolved as baggy clothing tends to move around on the body. I don't have the issue others had with butt cheeks hanging out or anything, I do wish there was another inch in the rise more as a preference because they do fit but more low rise like juniors clothing. After ordering my first pair I bought two more and have lived in these all summer, these are my favorite type of shorts now because they are so comfortable and versatile(and the prints are cute). Everything washes out of these like it was never there too! And mine show no signs of wear despite wearing them so often. Fall is coming here so Ill likely hold off on buying more right now but summer of next year I will definately be repurchasing more. Wish they kept more stock of these though as the other two pairs I went to other retailers for because the size I wanted in the colors I wanted to get were not in stock. Seems they sell out quick, I can see why though they are awesome!

August 15, 2020

Neat looking, fun shorts

I am 57 and 63kg curvy. I do love these shorts. They fit my body perfect, not too tight or not too loose. They are breathable and feel very light when you are wearing them. I like the mesh feature inside the pants and key ring feature inside the pocket as well. Print on the pants does not look cheap and they are actually high quality and pretty. I ... Read Morehave got 5 different colors so far after I got the first pair(pineapples) and am thinking keep getting them more in different colors.

August 11, 2020

great for the beach and kayaking/watersports

These are great shorts for throwing on over my swimsuit at the beach, many clothing items claim to be quick-dry and aren&#x27;t - these actually do dry quickly. I also use them for kayaking. I am 5&#x27;2 and I have found that a lot of water/board shorts are more like a Bermuda shorts style and are just not proportioned well for people with shorter... Read More legs, but these are perfect. I wear a 4-6 in pants (38 inch hip) and have athletic body type, my legs are more on the muscular side and the small fit well.

August 9, 2020

Check your measurements

I love these shorts, I bought them for a river tubing trip to have coverage over my bathing suit and they preformed exactly as promised. However they are not kidding when they say lower rise and shorter in-seam. To be comfortable in the crotch I have to wear them pretty low so Id recommend sizing up if you have wider hips. Cant wait for them to mak... Read Moree some high waist sizes

August 6, 2020

Fits perfectly!

Really happy!!! - I ordered a pair from the newest season (Homeward bound, xxs) and they seem to fit a lot better (smaller) than the last pair I bought (marble pink, xxs) a month ago! I appreciate that because Im really petite/lean (90 lbs; 00 / 24) and the older pair, although cute, were a bit on the puffier side, which I mentioned in the review o... Read Moref those, and I feel like the newer pair are more size-inclusive. I commute by bike, currently in 100+ degree weather, and am outside often - these are perfect for hot weather conditions, very element resistant; dirt, water, and grime just roll off of them. I also love cleaning my bike in my baggies! :3 Cute, classic summer staple!

July 31, 2020

Favorite Shorts

I got my first pair two summers ago and these are the best shorts I&#x27;ve ever owned. I mostly wear them day to day but I also hike, backpack, and sometimes swim in these. They&#x27;ve been completely caked in mud once to the point that I was worried that they&#x27;ll stain but it washed out quickly and they were good as new. I ditched wearing de... Read Morenim shorts because these fit me better and are more comfortable. I haven't had any problems with these yet, no holes or anything, despite how often I wear them.

July 28, 2020

Fun, functional shorts

Love the melon print! They dry super fast, making them perfect for paddle boarding, kayaking, etc. The pockets are a great size and the elastic key loop is an excellent feature. The XS is a bit snug but still incredibly comfortable.

July 27, 2020

Ill-fitting

I had high hopes for these, as they look so cute on the models. But in my experience, these look bad on both big butts and small butts. On big butts, your butt hangs out of the bottom even though the shorts fit in the waist/hips. The fabric is also kind of rough and uncomfortable. Definitely returning.

July 21, 2020

LOVE

I absolutely love these shorts! The color is beautiful and the fit/length is perfect. Ive already worn them several times and the pockets are a great addition. The only problems are easy wrinkling and ridding up but neither bothers me that much. I will definitely be ordering more pairs.

July 21, 2020

Can handle anything

I have used these shorts for just about everything in the summer and they are perfect! They also dry super fast so I do not need to worry about it affecting my car AT ALL. Women, even when it is your time, it all comes RIGHT OUT! Perfect to have a pair of shorts that comes with no worries

July 16, 2020

Great shorts!

These shorts are super cute and they shipped to my house so quickly! 10/10 would recommend. I can't wait to wear them paddle boarding this weekend!

July 14, 2020

Amazing shorts

These quickly became my all time favorite summer shorts - perfect for any activity. They are comfortable and quick drying, and I love the hook inside the pocket for keys.

July 14, 2020

LOVE

I ordered 2 pairs of these and then ordered 2 more because they are my absolute go-to this summer. I haven't worn any other shorts thus far. They fit great, are water resistant, dry super quickly and just work super great all around. :-)

July 13, 2020

Perfect and Adorable

Loved my baggies, looking to get more in other colors! fits wonderfully, doesn't bunch uncomfortably between my legs, and the pockets are awesome. The interior pocket fits my phone comfortably, and I use the bungee in the pocket to secure it when on the water.

July 13, 2020

Weird fit

I'm 5'5, 130, athletic build. These were a really weird fit on my body. Very tight in the seat, right fit in the waist, so they sort of rode up and looked and felt very awkward. I don't think sizing up would have helped. Too bad, I thought they were cute off my body.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2020

We're so sorry to hear that these didn't end up working out and really appreciate your feedback on this. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us since we always want to ensure you're satisfied.

July 13, 2020

The perfect short does exist

Baggies have never let me down, this year I treated myself to a new pair for my summit up Mount Washington. As always they kept me cool and comfortable. The key hook is an awesome detail and the pockets are big enough to hold my Iphone. Even on hot days when I sweat a bunch, these things dry incredibly fast. Whether its mountain climbing or just lo... Read Moreunging around, these are my go to!

July 13, 2020

Perfect for staycation with the kids

In and out of the baby pool or sprinkler. Giving baths at night. Or bathing the dog these are perfect for casual wear around the house or even a canoe trip.

July 13, 2020

Best shorts

I love these shorts! This length is perfect - not too short, but meant to be worn slight below the waist for a more relaxed fit. I started with one pair but now own 4.

July 13, 2020

Small Baggies

I own 3 pairs of Baggies and thought I would try out the shorter pair, Barely Baggies. I ordered the same size thinking only the length would change, but these are very short waisted and much smaller all around. They didnt work out for me, but I gave them to my daughter and she loves them.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2020

Hi Wendy, we're really sorry these ended up being to small all around. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

July 13, 2020

Comfort and function

Great pockets that keep your things secure! Little loop for a key. Perfect!

July 13, 2020

comfy

I love the color and the way it fits. It runs small on the waist but if good overall.

July 13, 2020

Not the same fit

I own several pairs of baggies but this year i bought 3 pair and they have a really odd fit. I kept one pair because i love the print. I miss the old cut. I get tons of comments when i wear my older baggies. The new cut is almost diaperlike super bulky in areas where bulky looking isnt good and super open legs when you sit down you can see inside t... Read Morehe shorts. The waist seems tighter than my older style too. The pair I kept I plan on resewing them to fit better. I also bought 2 pairs of baggies for my boyfriend and his fit weird too. They went back as well.

July 13, 2020

These shorts!

I absolutely love these shorts. Comfortable, fits well, has functional pockets and cool to hike in. Also fit phenomenally well under my long pant layer. What more could I ask for?

July 13, 2020

Cute and Functional

Bought these for summer hiking and comfy wear. Theyre great! Fit true to size and have good pockets. They were a little stiff when they arrived but one trip through the washer and dryer made them perfect. I will probably be coming back for more in different patterns!

July 13, 2020

Perfection

Absolutely love these shorts! Im 53 135 and the medium fits perfect. They are lightweight and super comfortable. Perfect for just about any outdoor activity or even just running Errands around town. Theyre comfortable and cute! I do wish more colors were available in medium The last few times Ive tried to order another pair theyve been out

July 13, 2020

The BEST shorts

I love these shorts so much I immediately bought a second pair!!

July 13, 2020

Great shorts, can we get an extra half inch?

Love love love these shorts. Have 2 pair that I wear all the time. They are rugged, fast drying, flattering, and more. I wish they were a 1/2 inch longer. The 5 inch shorts are too long/u flattering on me, these are just a bit short for bending over/squatting without worrying that the goods are exposed. Overall, they are great shorts.

July 13, 2020

Super cute!!

I was debating for awhile whether or not I should try the baggies. I'm so glad that I did! They are super cute and comfortable! I have two boys that like playing in the water frequently and it's nice to have something that's fast drying and still cute/comfortable!! I will most likely purchase a couple more pairs!

July 13, 2020

Perfect and Adorable

Loved my baggies, looking to get more in other colors! fits wonderfully, doesn't bunch uncomfortably between my legs, and the pockets are awesome. The interior pocket fits my phone comfortably, and I use the bungee in the pocket to secure it when on the water.

July 10, 2020

The perfect short does exist

Baggies have never let me down, this year I treated myself to a new pair for my summit up Mount Washington. As always they kept me cool and comfortable. The key hook is an awesome detail and the pockets are big enough to hold my Iphone. Even on hot days when I sweat a bunch, these things dry incredibly fast. Whether its mountain climbing or just lo... Read Moreunging around, these are my go to!

July 10, 2020

Perfect for staycation with the kids

In and out of the baby pool or sprinkler. Giving baths at night. Or bathing the dog these are perfect for casual wear around the house or even a canoe trip.

July 10, 2020

Best shorts

I love these shorts! This length is perfect - not too short, but meant to be worn slight below the waist for a more relaxed fit. I started with one pair but now own 4.

July 10, 2020

Comfort and function

Great pockets that keep your things secure! Little loop for a key. Perfect!

July 10, 2020

comfy

I love the color and the way it fits. It runs small on the waist but if good overall.

July 9, 2020

These shorts!

I absolutely love these shorts. Comfortable, fits well, has functional pockets and cool to hike in. Also fit phenomenally well under my long pant layer. What more could I ask for?

July 9, 2020

Great summer lake gear!!!

These barely baggies are a great swim cover for lake days or water activity!! Quick drying and very comfy!!

July 9, 2020

Perfection

Absolutely love these shorts! Im 53 135 and the medium fits perfect. They are lightweight and super comfortable. Perfect for just about any outdoor activity or even just running Errands around town. Theyre comfortable and cute! I do wish more colors were available in medium The last few times Ive tried to order another pair theyve been out

July 9, 2020

Great shorts, can we get an extra half inch?

Love love love these shorts. Have 2 pair that I wear all the time. They are rugged, fast drying, flattering, and more. I wish they were a 1/2 inch longer. The 5 inch shorts are too long/u flattering on me, these are just a bit short for bending over/squatting without worrying that the goods are exposed. Overall, they are great shorts.

July 9, 2020

The BEST shorts

I love these shorts so much I immediately bought a second pair!!

July 9, 2020

Super cute!!

I was debating for awhile whether or not I should try the baggies. I'm so glad that I did! They are super cute and comfortable! I have two boys that like playing in the water frequently and it's nice to have something that's fast drying and still cute/comfortable!! I will most likely purchase a couple more pairs!

July 8, 2020

Comfy and cute! Perfect for outdoor activity!

I am really petite - Im 90 lbs, 00, 24 1/2 jean size, and xxs fit much better than xs, but they are still on the baggier side and I hoped for them to be a bit more fitted. Overall though, theyre comfortable and look great! Im excited to finally have a pair of these ️ Such a chill, 90s vibe they bring to any wardrobe! I will be using them to cycle i... Read Moren, jog in, and chill! They are an essential summer piece, Id say. And the UPF is great for me as I live in Arizona and commute by bike!

July 7, 2020

i wanted to like these :(

im 55 and 135 lbs, and usually a size small. i ordered these in a small based off of the reviews saying theyre true to size, but they didnt fit me well. they fit really low on the hips and still managed to have some of my butt cheeks showing!! im planning to get the 5 inseam baggies instead and size up to a medium :(

June 29, 2020

So Comfy!

They are very high quality and comfortable, a little large on my hips but theres a draw string. I love these!

June 27, 2020

Great Shorts and so comfortable

The design is so pretty. Goes nice with different tops. I ordered a large, thinking they would run small. However, they are baggy as in the description, especially in the front area. I would say it is safe to order true to size. I should have ordered my medium. I purchased two in different colors and will definitely be purchasing more.

June 26, 2020

Perfect summer shorts

Im 52.5 & ~113lbs, athletic, and these shorts are great! I bought a S (too big) but the XS fit and length are good for me. Ive been wearing these non-stop since I got them. I wanted a short-ish short that wasnt skin tight and these did the job; now I have them in 3 colors.

June 26, 2020

Perfect Universal Shorts

These are the raddest shorts I've ever worn! The pockets are big enough to fit my phone and wallet, plus the key hook is so convenient. Comfortable enough to wear to sleep or on a run.

June 26, 2020

Versatile

I found these shorts to be very comfortable and versatile. Will be purchasing more.

June 26, 2020

My favorite summer shorts

I love LOVE these shorts. They fit great, cute patterns, and dry quickly. Unfortunately with this pair the seam on the elastic came unraveled after 2 washes. I have at least 3 pairs of these and have never had it happen before so it must be a fluke

June 26, 2020

Super cute

These shorts are great ! Flattering, true to size. I swam in them the other day and they dry fast. Great versatile shorts

June 26, 2020

Light and Airy

I love this short style ...always buy 1 size larger just for comfort! The only problem I have with this company is inseam irregularity; and I have to return it. I feel this is a defect and I shouldnt have to pay return shipping!

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Colleen! We're sorry to hear the sizing has been inconsistent and disappointing. We'll be happy to help you return any items from your orders, so please don't hesitate to reach out to us here: help.patagonia.com/s

June 26, 2020

Best Patterns

I bought the alligator pattern and love them! They are so fun and dry super fast. I love wearing them out on the lake.

June 25, 2020

So comfortable!

I love these shorts! I wasnt sold at first, but after wearing them Im a believer. Theyre comfortable and easy to throw on when hanging out by the water with the kids.

June 25, 2020

Cute and functional, but not for the curvy

On the hunt for shorts to kayak, hike, and cycle in, I was super excited for these, but sadly my thighs and bum were just too large. I tried the small and medium and neither worked. I am just under 5&#x27;4 and weigh 150. I typically wear size 6 pants and small dresses, so I didn&#x27;t think I&#x27;d have an issue, but I am curvy and these shorts ... Read Morejust didn't leave enough room for the curves.

June 25, 2020

Fabric is great!

Fabric is great and I love the print!

June 25, 2020

Comfy shorts

Great for most types of activities. They dry quickly when wet. I havent worn them running, I dont think it would be an issue if youre looking to do that. The material is a little too thick for a running short for me.

June 25, 2020

The perfect short

The color/pattern is fantastic and the fit is great. I love the size of mesh pockets and the elastic within the pocket to attach my keys. They are so versatile and look great. My first Patagonia purchase and I am in love. Wish I could buy in every color!

June 25, 2020

I love these shorts!

I want every print!

June 25, 2020

Great Purchase

I got the pink color and couldn't be happier Great Lightweight material and waistline.

June 25, 2020

So comfortable!

Ive been wearing these to go on 3 mile walks with my 2 month old baby. They are very comfortable.

June 23, 2020

Comfy, cute and short!

These are called shorties, so take heed! They are comfortable, the pockets are roomy and you can get wet in them, which is a bonus! I use them for running and I do like them a lot. They are SHORT, so if you don't mind showing some leg, then these are great.

June 23, 2020

The best!

I love my baggies! They're the most comfortable pair of shorts I own. So far I've been hiking and fishing in them and they're breathable and quick dry. I could even tie my wading stick to them for fly fishing! Great for all outdoor activities and everyday use. When I wear shorts this summer, it's going to be my baggies.

June 22, 2020

Not for Ladies with Big Butts

I received these shorts today and after wearing them around the house for a couple hours I&#x27;m going to have to return them. I love almost everything about the shorts, but they&#x27;re clearly only designed for people who are stick thin and have tiny butts. I love Patagonia as a company and I would like to support them. However, I wish their pro... Read Moreducts were designed with other body shapes in mind, not just the models on their website.

June 21, 2020

Summer Essential

I own many, many pairs of these baggies. They have become part of my summer uniform, and I wouldnt have it any other way. Theyre durable, comfy, adorable, dry quickly, have pockets, and wash like a dream. The fact that there is now a print that includes nighttime pollinators has me over the moon in love.

June 20, 2020

Cute and Casual

These are simply the best if you want to wear shorts that fit somewhere in between technical running shorts and 'nicer' shorts. I have baggies them in every color and print, they sometimes get worn to bed, too! Or, it's what I put on first thing in the morning and they stay on all day!

June 19, 2020

Great shorts

These shorts were a great choice! Comfortable and durable.

June 19, 2020

Best summer shorts

I have struggled for years to find shorts that are super short and cute, have a drawstring waistband, and are beach-friendly. These are the shorts that check all the boxes. I swear I am never wearing denim shorts to the beach ~ever~ again.

June 19, 2020

Flattering and comfy!

I love these shorts! I owned a pair of baggies before these, and while I really like that pair, the short version is actually way nicer IMO. While both fit well, the barely baggies have a more elastic waistband which makes it more comfortable to put on/take off.

June 19, 2020

Perfect for everyday!

I wore these shorts for a week straight when they first arrived! Great to go in water with, or sit down during a hike on damp moss or rocks. They are super durable and breathable.

June 19, 2020

Comfort

I love Patagonia merchandise!!! From Spring to Summer to Fall and Winter. Clothes are comfortable and lasts for years. I tell my friends about the products and give as gifts to my family. Keep up the good work. Prices are reasonable because they are durable products. Thanks

June 19, 2020

great but slightly big

i am 59 and 140lb and usually between a small and a medium. i ordered a medium because i was worried they might be too short and i read some reviews that said to size up. the length is great but they are a little big in the waist and since they are baggy, its not super flattering. i will keep them because they are comfy, but would recommend going s... Read Moremaller if you are between sizes.

June 19, 2020

I have 3 and want more!

I thought maybe the shorter version of the baggies would lose out on pocket space or comfort, in favor of a more flattering look, and I was wrong. It flawlessly conquers all those categories and more. If I had an endless budget Id own a pair in every color! My favorite part: huge pockets with a leash!

June 19, 2020

Amazing

I bought these shorts for my friends birthday present and she is absolutely in love with them. After she received them she went on to buy herself 2 more pairs because she loves them so much. Will definitely be buying a few pairs for myself! Such a great product

June 19, 2020

Blue Parrot Baggies

I think these are great. I have a pair of older yellow ones and finally decided to get a second pair. I pick the parrot b/c they were on sale, but I&#x27;m glad I did I really like them. They were comfortable as soon as I put them on. It took years for my yellow ones to soften up. The key loop in the pocket is a nice touch too. I probably could hav... Read Moree gone with a medium, they felt a little bigger over all then my yellow pair. But if the mediums felt too tight I wouldn't have liked them. I'm loving my parrots :)

June 19, 2020

The only shorts Ive ever liked.

I hate shorts. I hate all shorts. My thighs touch, my waist if flabby from growing humans. Shorts are not my thing. But these were on sale and Patagonia is quality and shorts tend to be a must for summer. I gave it a shot. I am so glad I did! All short should be these shorts! They fit great. They dont ride up my crotch. They dont bunch. They dry fa... Read Morest. The go with everything. I havent yet tired yet but I bet you could even pull of heels with these. Brilliant! I think the only other item that has made me this happy is my fuzzy lines chalk bag.

June 19, 2020

Love these shorts

Great shorts

June 19, 2020

Awesome beach shorts

Im usually a size 4/Small in Patagonia bottoms but sized up for a looser fit with the elastic waist. I wear my Baggies to hike and over a swim suit for swim-hikes on the coastal trail here on the Big Island. They dry quickly over a wet suit and have perfect coverage.

June 19, 2020

Perfection.

I love these. Pockets hang out but the next size up is too big so I dont mind so much. They cover my butt so I dont mind so much. Buy them!

June 19, 2020

Perfect for SUP

I bought these for three reasons. 1) I was looking for a pair of shorts when I paddleboard. 2) the pattern was funky 3) they were on sale and ridiculously cheap for Patagonia. Very satisfied, wore them on the water today. Fit perfectly and might consider buying a second pair.

June 19, 2020

Way too short

I wear shorts all the time, and frequently on the shorter side, but these were way too short for my 5'10" self. They sit low on the hips and the bottom of the shorts curl up and get crinkled. I returned them after a month of hoping they would get better. Way too short and low rise. Not comfy!

June 19, 2020

Love these shorts

These shorts are comfortable, easy on with an elastic waist, and the pockets are great. I love the bird print. Wear these on walks and hikes. Im usually a medium to large but based on reviews and measurements I got large and they are perfect.

June 19, 2020

I live in these

These have become my go to shorts for everything. They are super comfortable, and cute. I have 3 pairs if that tells you how awesome they are. Just buy them now!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches