burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2½" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 51 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Barely Baggies™ Shorts - 2½"

4.1/5
True To Size
January 19, 2023

Stylish shorts you can feel good about buying

I chose this product because it fits and performs well and is made from recycled materials.

December 29, 2022

Cute and Functional

Love this product they are cute and dont ride up too much when working out!

October 10, 2022

Almost perfect

I love these shorts, and they are almost perfect. The pockets are deep enough for my phone, and theres a key loop inside the pocket so you feel secure. They breathe well, are a great length & travel well because they dry quickly and don't wrinkle. My only problem is with the waist band. The gathered band is not very comfortable even though... Read More it fits well. It feels almost itchy. I find myself wishing it had a smooth band like their running shorts.

October 6, 2022

First design I can wear

The new style baggies with a slightly higher waist are great for me. I gave away the old style ones that I bought because they were SO unflattering. I did buy M in these instead of my usual S. I bought a couple pairs in longer length which seem to run a bit larger, but I neglected to try the S. I think the new style can look great on women with bot... Read Moreh perfect or not so perfect figures. 53 130. Love the patterns and colors.

October 3, 2022

Recycled Fishing Nets!!!! LOVE

I bought these shorts because they fit well, the style is cutie but primarily because of what they are made from. I loved that they were made from recycled fishing nets. I care about this world and doing things that take care of our environment. The shorts were a bit pricey but because of what they were made from, I bought them. If they were not ma... Read Morede for a purpose like this, I would not have spent the money on them.

September 26, 2022

Be aware of the updated fit

If you like the "old" 2 1/2 inch baggies, be aware of the updated fit. The new ones fit completely different--longer, larger (had to size down), and a different profile through the hips and leg as well. I sized down thinking that would fix the issues, but it didn't. The waist was small, but the legs were still long and weird. Please ... Read Morebring back the old baggies style!!!!!!!!

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Amanda; we're sharing it with our product design team. We're sorry this revised fit wasn't suitable for you, and we're glad to see you've returned shorts that aren't going to work for you. Please reach out if we can be of any help!

September 22, 2022

Cute shorts

These shorts are cute and comfy. You can just throw them on with a t-shirt and be ready to work out in yard, run to store, do whatever. Even though They are 2.5 inch inseam, they don't look too short.

September 19, 2022

Not cut for curvy figures

I bought a pair of these shorts after a friend raved about hers, but they are not cut for curvy women. The shorts were too tight in the hips/butt area and there is not much stretch at all in the fabric, while there was gapping at the waist (even with the elastic). I wish these had worked because they look so nice and seemed like they had the potent... Read Moreial to be the perfect summer short!

September 18, 2022

New favorite go-to shorts

Love these shorts. My new favorite go-to pair for every day things and hiking. Held up well with a constant drizzle of rain, kept me dry. Great for hiking. Only thing thats different between these shorts and my usual choice of athletic shorts (ie nike, lululemon) is that there is no lining on the inside, so these wont be the choice of shorts if you... Read More were to go bouldering.

September 18, 2022

Comfortable, functional and good-looking

Purchased these for my wife, and she loves them. They're a short length, but the design of the pockets make them fully functional. The fabric is comfortable, the color fantastic, and the fit is relaxed. These shorts have quickly become her summertime favorite.

September 3, 2022

Love the waist band of 2.5in

Ws Barely Baggies 2.5in shorter length is great for activities with lots of movement. The inner waist band is covered with material so it is a little thicker, but NOT noticeable. The waist is really comfortable and more stretchy than the Ws Baggies 5in(inner elastic exposed). Both Barely Baggies and Baggies really takes a beating with NO no fading... Read More. Note the lengths differ in Fit so here are my sizes: 2.5in Regular fit size =S Barely Baggies 5in is Relaxed fit size =XS Baggies

September 2, 2022

Love the new fit - Pay attention to sizing

Baggies, the ultimate short of the summer that makes me feel like Im at summer camp. I got a second pair of the barely baggies, but ended up sizing down. The medium worked for me before (am interestingly a small in the 5 inch baggies). Heed the heads up about the new sizing this year! I followed the sizing guide and they fit true to size. The highe... Read Morer waistband is also a welcome change. I am 5 ft 6 inches, 142 lbs, 29 in waist, and 38 in hip. The small was definitely the better fit for me.

September 1, 2022

BUY THIS

im 5'3" 135 lbs . I got a Small and probably could have gotten a XS but I like a loose fit. These shorts are awesome. Make you feel super put together and great for hiking, walking, or running errands. They are pricey but you will wear them all the time!! I've recommended them to multiple people who have all loved them. Get them!

August 31, 2022

Nice Casual Fit

My first baggies and bought the Green on sale. Fit great and exactly what I expected (i.e. a little loose but not crazy loose). My only issue is that the Green looks **much** darker in the photo. When it arrived, it's actually much lighter and more of a light green. It is definitely not an olive green.

August 30, 2022

Finally a pair of shorts for my body

I couldn't be happier with the updated fit. Barely baggies never fit me properly before, and I hated the low-cut fit. The updated cut has a higher waist and more of a vintage look while still being short (but not too short). I have a small waist and wider hips and these are my new favorite shorts. So flattering. I will promptly buy all the col... Read Moreors. For reference, I'm 5 ft. 10, 155 - 160 pounds, athletic build and usually wear an 8. The mediums are perfect. I can understand how those who loved the old version might not like these, but sometimes change is good.

August 29, 2022

discomfort

had to return this short, put it on and felt like my butt got stuck with some weird thick material. quite disappointed

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback on the design of these shorts, Melissa. We're sorry to hear the fabric was so uncomfortable! Please let us know if we can be of any help with your return.

August 29, 2022

Sizing is SO off

Super bummed on the sought after baggies. The sizing feels so inconsistent size to size, like there is too big of a jump. Im typically a small in all patagonia, and the small size was so oversized I was swimming in them, at least 2-3 inches extra room at the waist. Xs fit okay at the waist, and was sooo tight around the hips and groin. With the no ... Read Morestretch fabric theres No way I could have done anything besides standing in them. Super bummed bc they seem like the perfect short!

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2022

Hi Emily, thank you for sharing this feedback; we will pass it on to our product designers. We're so sorry this fit wasn't right for you, and we will reach out to you about returning them.

August 28, 2022

Cute but not for Hispanics

I was just received this product as a gift, that I requested. I read and read reviews trying to decide on the perfect size. Patagonia has never really fit me right so when I read they are bigger then normal then thought my normal size would work. I decided on a small. In the past small never fit my butt and meds were always to big. Being an Hispani... Read Morec outdoors person is hard because nothing seems to fit right. Hope that changes. Im going to try and stretch the shorts because they are soooo cute.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2022

Hi Theresa, thank you for sharing this feedback about the fit of these shorts; we are passing it along to our design team. We are working on more inclusive sizing and fit across the board. If the Small won't work for you, please remember you are always welcome to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

August 27, 2022

Great for short people

I am so happy with this purchase! I already have two pairs of 5" baggies (the OLD style), and I love those so much. I went to buy a 3rd pair of 5" a few weeks ago, but realized with the updated style they no longer fit right. I am 5'2", 115 lbs, and have a short torso. The new style of 5" baggies went way too high up on my ... Read Morewaist, and were too...well...baggy for my preference. So, I returned those (Patagonia has excellent customer service!) and decided to give the barely baggies a try. They are great! The waistband sits right at my belly button, and the length of them still gives good coverage. Only downside is the pockets aren't as deep as the 5", but that is expected due to the shorter inseam. They are still larger pockets than 90% of the other shorts I own! Overall, I am super stoked about this updated style of barely baggies, they fit great. I never had a pair of the old style so I can't reference them, but I am very, very happy with the new.

August 18, 2022

Too big

I find the sizing a bit inconsistent with Patagonia. Im normally about a size 12 but ordered XL based on my previous experience with Patagonia shorts. They were too big. I wouldve ordered a new pair but didnt have time to receive them and live overseas.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear this sizing issue, Letha. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some advice about how to return items from other countries. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

August 8, 2022

Forever a favorite!

I love barely baggies they are so comfy and versatile but I will say that there is a big size difference in the new design compared to the old one. I used to wear size small (Im 5 foot and 115lbs and prefer a little looser fit) but with the new design I had to size down to an xs. Hope this helps someone!

August 8, 2022

ICONIC

I bought my first pair about a year ago and now I have almost all of the colors. I am addicted. I have used them for everyday wear, camping, backpacking, biking, hiking, traveling, just everything really. Keeps you dry in the serious heat and/or humidity. I usually wear a size small with Patagonia bottoms but I sized up for the *baggy* look.

August 6, 2022

*READ NEW DESCRIPTION BEFORE PURCHASING!!!

Barely baggies have been my go to shorts for years (kayaking, hiking, post-swimming, casual) and the new sizing is VERY different! Although the sizing has been steadily getting larger over the last few years (2016 fit is my favorite!), I should have read the description and reviews before purchasing new colors because I look like a child playing dr... Read Moreess up w/ the updated sizing and higher waist of the 2022 version (why not just add additional sizes to accommodate more people rather than succumbing to vanity sizing???). I reordered in a size down, but I'm not optimistic because I'll likely have to roll the waist band or end up w/ a saggy crotch.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear that our revision of the Barely Baggies missed the mark for you. If you have any questions regarding your exchange or return please let us know. You can reach us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

August 3, 2022

Super comfortable!

Absolutely love these shorts! I want them in every color!! I love that they have a tie since my thighs are larger than my waist so I don't have to be pulling them up while I wear them! I bought a size that I would wear for my running shorts and they fit perfect.

August 1, 2022

A bit disappointed.

I have baggies from a few years ago, which fit perfectly. Unfortunately, it looks like theyve changed the baggies around because the fit is way off. I am normally a M but had to return them because they were huge. Got a S and now its a bit too small. Wish they would have kept the old ones.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2022

We appreciate your feedback! We did revise the fit on our Women's Baggies for Spring 2022 and we're sorry the new design didn't work out for you. Please reach out to our [Patagonia-owned store nearest you](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) to return the shorts if they're too small. We'll be happy to help!

July 27, 2022

Love these

Dry super quick, so comfy, good length, do shrink in the dryer though.

July 21, 2022

Different fit from previous model

I have the same shorts from years ago in the same size. This new pair fits so differently: tighter in the waist, the legs stick out more. A size small is too large for me, with the legs being comically loose (I cant sit down without feeling like Im flashing people). Disappointed with the change and wish the old model would be brought back! For refe... Read Morerence, Im 5feet3, 116lbs, athletic build

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2022

Hi Tianlin, thank you for submitting this review. This feedback is very helpful to our designers in considering revisions, and to other customers as well. We're sorry this update wasn't a hit for you! Thank you for returning something that you weren't going to be happy with. Please keep in mind you are welcome to do that with any of our products in the future, as well.

July 12, 2022

Love the product. I'm 5

Love the product. I'm 5 ft with a small waist and wide hip. I wish that the waist is a bit smaller and the length just a bit shorter like the pair I bought the year before. The cut overall seems bigger than last year. The colors are very cute and they dried really fast!

July 10, 2022

Yassssss Patagonia!!!

FINALLY a barely baggies that actually comes to my waist! For years I have wanted to wear my baggies, but have struggled with poor fit of previous models. Thankfully, these are higher rise so are more comfortable and feel like they are holding me in where it matters most. The legs are quite wide, which is great for ease of movement, but they do fla... Read Morere out weirdly in the back if you have any kind of butt. Still, these are SO much better than other years styles. My biggest complaint: please, please, please make the pockets large enough for a cell phone. A back zipper pocket would also be appreciated! Ladies need FUNCTIONAL pockets.

July 5, 2022

So comfortable and light!

My daughter loved her baggies so much that I had to try them. They are so light and comfortable! Love the fit. They dry quickly and are great for hot weather. Haven't had a chance to hike in them yet so cannot speak to that but for casual wear I now have 3 pair that are my go-to weekend wear. Highly recommend.

July 4, 2022

very durable

these are great shorts for hiking! i love the pockets and how cool the fabric keeps me. the only problem i had was the are tight to get over my hips, but i have a small waist and wideish hips so thats probably not a common problem. other than that these are amazing shorts!

June 26, 2022

A little short.

I know, I know. Why get such short shorts if you're just going to complain about how short they are? But my problem isn't that the shorts are too short; it's that they ride up as I'm walking for a hot minute. I definitely would say if you've got bigger thighs like me to opt for the 5'' baggies.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

Hi Cristina, thank you for sharing this feedback on the Barely Baggies Shorts. This is bound to be helpful both to other customers and to our design team. As you probably know, if that riding up issue is a deal breaker we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them!

June 25, 2022

The smallest size of baggies no longer fit me.

Unfortunately, I purchased a pair of Barely Baggies in XXS and they were really loose. There are draw strings on them however I have to pull pretty significantly to get them to the correct tightness- and in doing so makes them flare out quite significantly. I have a pair of baggies from about 2 or 3 years ago and the fit on them are lovely, no draw... Read Morestrings required. I will be returning these pair and will be (im)patiently waiting next year to see if the sizing will change.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

We're so sorry to hear the fit is disappointing. We redesigned our current Baggies and it sounds like the previous 2018-2021 design was a better fit for you. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return the current pair, or you may take those to your local Patagonia-owned retail store. You may wish to check out our Stretch Planing Micro Shorts, Nine Trails Shorts, Tech Shorts or Outdoor Everyday Shorts. Please reach out if you have any additional questions!

June 13, 2022

These shorts are amazing

Absolutely love these shorts. Very comfortable for hiking and other active pursuits, but also great for casual wear. I also love that they have good sized pockets!!

June 12, 2022

Great casual short

I like these shorts for casual wear, but a little bit of extra length in the inseam wouldnt hurt. The fabric bunches a bit, so I find myself having to flatten them out when I stand up so theyre not super revealing. I still like them though. I will say, the borealis green looks much darker in person.

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2022

Hi Crystal! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate this feedback as it helps us to improve things for future seasons. We do offer a slightly longer version called the [Women's Baggies Shorts - 5"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-baggies-5-inch-inseam-shorts/194187461324.html?dwvar_194187461324_color=BLK). We'd encourage you to take a look as you might find them to be more comfortable.

June 9, 2022

No longer Barely Baggies, Just BAGGY

This new fit is a disappointment. I have the previous iteration of the baggies (where the logo tag was on the side of the short instead of on the pant leg), and they have a much more flattering fit. This new cut flares out, and is now too long. These went from being Perfectly Barely Baggies to Just Baggy. I'll have to cut off the logo patch a... Read Morend hem these so they fit properly. Bring the old fit back!

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2022

Hi Stephanie, thank you for sharing this feedback on the revision of these shorts. We're so sorry these changes weren't a hit with you! You are absolutely welcome to return them for a refund, and we'll reach out to you about options.

June 6, 2022

Inconsistent Sizing

I own multiple pairs of the 2.5" baggies and I am typically a small. However the last few pairs I have purchased have run so large I can't wear them and they are extremely unflattering in the butt and hips. Baggies are one thing a circus tent is another.

May 31, 2022

Inconsistent Sizing But Great Product

I sit right in between sizes for XL and XXL depending on the brand. Last year I purchased the 5 in. baggies in a XXL (expecting that outdoor industry sizes usually run a little smaller) because the barely baggies stop at an XL. They were HUGE. Legs, waist, everything was comically large. This year I decided to purchase the barely baggies in an XL s... Read Moreince the XXL was so large. There is a HUGE difference between the XL and XXL (I know they are 2 different product's but both are still baggies and I have issues with this with almost all other patagonia items). The XL fits but is much tighter through the hips and waist. When I first put them on the waistband is almost taught and is noticeable taking on and off. The nature of the fabric doesn't allow for much give but become very comfy/relaxed after some wear. Leg width is perfect. I really like the length of the short (hits at mid thigh vs above the knee) and was a large part of why I bought these shorts. I was pleasantly surprised with the rise. Based on the pictures I expected them to sit a lot lower. The fabric is a little "crunchy" at first but softens with wear and dries relatively quickly (great for the river). Love the key loop. Overall it is a really great short to get outdoors in. I love Patagonia, their story, and environmental commitment and is why I continue to support them (plus pieces last FOREVER). I really appreciate that they are slowly integrating more size inclusivity but I would love to see the barelys in an XXL. On the bright side these shorts have single handedly motivated me to hit the trails harder so that these fit perfectly!

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2022

Hi Tay! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're truly appreciate all this feedback. We're sorry to hear that our sizing has been inconsistent for you. We rely on feedback like this to improve things for future seasons. We'll share this with our design crew.

May 15, 2022

Super comfy

These shorts not only look great, but are also comfortable. The only downside are pockets. They are fine for carrying a bar or some spare change, but I wouldnt carry a phone, because I would feel anxious it would fall out.

April 23, 2022

Super Fit and Quailty

These shorts are made to go all summer, year after year. They fit both at the waist and hip in a comfortable way. Pockets are roomy. I'm in my fifties, 110 lbs. I'll purchase more!

April 19, 2022

Awesome Shorts

Comfy, durable, versatile!

April 12, 2022

Just perfect

These are amazing and know I just order them in all the colors. They are comfortable and perfect material for anywhere but especially in Hawaii.

April 5, 2022

Finally, the perfect fit!

THESE SHORTS ARE PERFECT! After years of baggies (barely and regular) never fitting me quite right, these ones are perfect. Rise is not too low, not too high. Legs are loose enough to accommodate hearty ski butt and thighs. They seem slightly longer than the old barelies, making them the perfect length on my longer frame. Please keep making these, ... Read Moredefinitely going to order a second color. Ill be living in them all summer.

March 21, 2022

Not the same as the original Barely Baggies

These are kind of a cross between the 5" baggies and the barely's. The higher rise is why I dislike the 5" and have bought several pair of the original design of the barely's. This new design is a disappointment, I bought 2 colors, Tidepool Blue and Monkey Flower Current Blue and the fit is inconsistent. One (Tidepool Blue) is m... Read Moreuch tighter in the waist and hips and very unforgiving trying to pull on and off. The higher waist causes bunching at the waist in the back and the legs feel wider as well. I won't be back for more and am disappointed they changed the design.

March 21, 2022

Fit better when I was more fit!

I love baggies and always will (and all Patagonia clothing) but as I get older and am not super slim/ hardcore athletic anymore, I have so much trouble with the sizing. In order to fit my thighs and bum in these I have to get a large which are quite wide at the waste. Id love to see higher-waisted and curvy fitting clothing in the future from Patag... Read Moreonia! I end up wearing most of my husbands Patagonia clothing because theres more room and more pockets!

March 11, 2022

An Updated Style & Fit?

Last season, there was a pattern printed in the Barely Baggies that I loved! However, when I went to try them on, these felt WAY short!! Too short for my personal taste. This season, I tried the Barely Baggies again and I swear they fit differently a little more low-riding and a touch baggier, which works great for me. I love these!

March 5, 2022

It's baggie awesome

I'm a bit more on the thicker side when it comes to the needs of my bottom half. I got a booty and finding shorts that fit has always been a challenge particularly when it comes to more outdoor instead of pure "athletic" or athlesuire brands that are usually more slim fit. Thank goodness for baggies which do accommodate a bigger rump... Read More roast and are super comfortable. Also prefer the barely baggies that prevent me from looking like a solid stump due to the shorter inseam.

March 4, 2022

Do not wash

Perfect fit, true to size, great for fishing, paddle boarding, hiking. Washed them once and they shrunk so small I can't wear them out of the house. Sad to see this happen, as I loved them so much. But I can't justify spending this much money for something that shrinks that much.

Response from Patagonia
March 14, 2022

Hey Joanna, thank you for the feedback on the Barely Baggies. We have not encountered this shrinking issue before, could it be that it was dried on high rather than low, or washed with warm/hot water? See the care instructions below. If you followed the care instructions and still had this issue, you're welcome to [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a warranty evaluation. Machine wash cold, do not bleach, tumble dry low, do not iron.

March 3, 2022

I LIVE in these shorts!

I love these shorts so much, I have a pair in every color. Though I do prefer the old design of the Barely Baggies more, I still love the new ones just as much. The old version was slim fit; these puppies are regular fit, so I recommend sizing down for a perfect fit.

February 27, 2022

Great For Men Too!

I've been wearing baggies for well over a decade and have always loved their durability. My search for a pair of shorts that was shorter than the Men's 5" led me to the Barely Baggies and I couldn't be happier. The same durability and quality that I'm accustomed to with a shorter leg to fit my current taste. I have a 31&quo... Read Moret; waist and sized up from a small in the M5's to a medium in the BB's.

February 18, 2022

Cute

These shorts are baggy like the description states but the models make the shorts look more fitted. I bought a large and the fit is ok in the waist but too large in the leg opening for me to love them. I havent tried washing them yet to see if the shape might change from poking out at the bottoms to a more relaxed drape. I dont think the waist woul... Read Mored have fit me in a medium but I bet the leg holes would have been tighter. They have a cool feel to them and am looking forward to wearing them on hot summer days.

Response from Patagonia
February 23, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Sara! We wouldn't expect the shape to change with washing, due to the nature of this fabric. Please do let us know if you decide the shape won't work for you, and we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches