burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Baggies? - 5" Inseam Shorts

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 99 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Baggies? - 5" Inseam Shorts

4.3/5
True To Size
August 11, 2022

Great shorts

Daughter loves these shorts - she is a college freshman and wears them for hikes and everyday activities. Great quality, fit and style - iconic Patagonia!

August 10, 2022

Favorite shorts

I love this shorts! Very comfortable and perfect in humid weather. Besides running in these shorts I use it when playing tennis. Pockets are perfect for holding a tennis ball.

August 10, 2022

Baggies are the best.30 years

Baggies are the best.30 years of buying them.

August 8, 2022

Great shorts!

I'm not a huge shorts fan -- hard to find the right length/waistband ratio, and the fabric has to be just right. These shorts tick all the boxes for me -- great length, adjustable drawstring waistband, a whole host of cute colors -- quick drying, comfortable and perfect for pretty much anything you're doing -- hiking, running, climbing, s... Read Morewimming, paddling, etc. Get these shorts!

August 5, 2022

Well, I am in my

Well, I am in my 6th decade and not like I used to be 30 years ago and that is true for the shorts I bought. Sizing is not the same and a different fabric. I need a new set of shorts so I will keep them. Thank you for packing with paper that can be recycled or safely reused.

August 5, 2022

Sizing a little weird

I have purchased these shorts for many years, and I have a lot of them. But I found the sizing a little funky. One size sort of too big/off, sized down and definitely too small. Still love these baggies, and yes, they are a little baggy.

August 1, 2022

Runs small

I definitely don't agree with the size guide for something that is supposed to be a loose fitting short. According to the size guide, I would wear a medium, meanwhile the large was too tight on me, so I bought an XL. The XL fits me how shorts called "baggies" should. I should note that I do have a size 8/10 waist and size 12/14 thigh... Read Mores, which sometimes accounts for me having to size up one size, but not two, so I do think they run at least one size small. I do wish the waist tie cinched a bit more, given my waist to thigh size ratio. When I am walking a lot they do ride up a bit in the thigh area and have to be pulled down occasionally to prevent chafing, although I realize that might be more due to my body type rather than the shorts themselves. Other than that️, I am very happy with these! They were comfortable to wear walking around all day during the heat wave that just happened in Seattle. I bought the bright light orange color, which is a really cheerful and fun nod to the 80s/90s. I wouldn't exactly call these shorts "flattering," on me, but that's not the reason I bought them, so I don't care. They're very functional and I think they're also fun.

July 28, 2022

New favorite shorts!

I have really enjoyed these shorts, they are a perfect length and super comfy.

July 28, 2022

*Almost* the perfect short

I bought the navy and camel colors. I love how they look on. The length is perfect, not too long not too short. They even have a key loop in the right pocket (my favorite part)! They are extremely comfortable as long as you don't put anything in the pockets. Putting a phone in the pocket has proven to pull the shorts up into the crotch in a ve... Read Morery uncomfortable way as I walk or bend down. Problem would probably be solved with a slightly larger pocket. Other than that, I would highly recomend.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2022

Hi Maya, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pockets. That said, feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll share this with our design team!

July 26, 2022

Too short a rise.

The fit us too short in the rise. Love the shorts but to size up they would be too big through the hips. I have the same problem with the sweaters - not long enough. Please make clothes for average to taller people!

July 24, 2022

First time trying Baggies

I haven't seen many reviews from those who bought larger sizes, so wanted to add my two cents. I was hesitant to try these as I'm a 16-20 (240 lbs, 52 inch hip) and am often sized out of conventional brands, but I needed a pair of casual shorts that weren't jeans. I bought a XXL and I'm happy with the fit. They were a little tig... Read Moreht in the hips when I first tried them on, but they loosened as I wore them. There is a bit of an a-line feel to them overall (tighter at the hip then the legs kind of flair out), but overall they're comfortable and fit well on me. I wouldn't size up even if it was offered. It would be great to see Patagonia commit to extending their sizing because everyone, regardless of their size, deserves well-made and environmentally responsible outdoor apparel.

July 23, 2022

Dislike the New Fit

I agree with many of the reviews. These were the perfect all around outdoor hiking short. My go to for years. The new fit is tight in butt and straight up and down. They are uncomfortable when hiking and sitting. I love the color but Im unhappy with the fit.

July 23, 2022

I love those shorts any

I love those shorts any time but especially when kayaking.

July 21, 2022

"Fitted Baggies" is better term for these

I LIVE in these shorts in the summer and have 4 pairs from previous years. This year's iteration is tighter in the rear end so the legs of the shorts feel a little restrictive when bending over, taking a big stride, etc. I wear these for everything from trail running to hiking to running errands. I wore this new version on a super hot, humid l... Read Moreong trail run today and I couldn't quite get comfortable with them - the inseam hangs a tad low and the reduced space in the back just felt weird. The shorts used to have a back yoke, which provides a better fit. Not sure why they changed something that was working. I won't notice the slightly smaller sizing when I'm coaching or out for a walk, but I will probably reach for an older pair for runs.

Response from Patagonia
July 25, 2022

Hi Anne, thank you for sharing this feedback. If that fit becomes a deal breaker please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

July 21, 2022

Best Shorts for Anything

I adore these shorts--exactly the loose, light, versatile piece I was looking for. I wear them for ultimate frisbee, climbing, and at my bakery's stand at the farmers market. Love them to bits, and I can't wait to buy more pairs.

July 17, 2022

Super comfy but small around the hips

I absolutely love this fabric & short. I did not give it 5 starts because it fits me a bit snug around the hip area (size L) and the XL fits me to big at the waist. Overall I would still wear them they are still comfy and they are great for the summer.

Response from Patagonia
July 20, 2022

Thanks for the review, Jacqueline! You may prefer the "relaxed" fit of our [Everyday Short](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-outdoor-everyday-shorts/57455.html), which uses the same fabric as our Baggies.

July 17, 2022

Prefer these over the mens version

Ill be completely honest, I wear these as a guy. I prefer the women's baggies over the mens for a few reasons. 1. No liner 2. Despite both being listed as a 5inch inseam, the womens version are shorter (I wish Patagonia would make a 3-4 inch inseam for mens shorts) 3. Mens baggies have an obnoxiously visible pocket stitching down the entire ... Read Morelength of the shorts since the pockets are so deep where the womens shorts have a plain smooth front 4. They aren't as baggy and don't flare out as much as the mens version do The ONLY thing the women's version could use is a back pocket

July 16, 2022

I really like the Women's

I really like the Women's Baggie 5". I prefer the shorts that have a design as compared to the solid color ones. This year I was disappointed with the design patterns on the WB 5". I prefer bright colors and fun patterns that you have offered in previous years...would love to see those types of designs again : ) The shorts are very d... Read Moreurable and hold up well after several years...I love them. Thank you.

July 14, 2022

New pattern and don't fit the same

Baggies are my favorite shorts. I wear them all the time but I am sad because the new pattern is so different that I can't wear them anymore. The back yoke has been removed as well as the gusset and separate waste band. These cause some serious fit differences. I am disappointed because these all seem like things that cut corners to make prod... Read Moreuction cheaper, which I never thought I would have to worry about with Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Hi Sophie, we're sorry to hear these revisions haven't worked for your needs! Thank you for this feedback. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we'll contact you about returning them, if you wish.

July 14, 2022

Not as good as they use to be.

I have always absolutely loved these shorts. So much so, that I ordered 4 new pairs this season - expecting more of the same, only better. Unfortunately, the changes they made have in fact made them less comfortable. The new material rides up easier and causes more sweating. The pockets show the white lining at certain angles due to what I assume w... Read Moreas an attempt to reduce materials. The lining of the pockets is much less durable. I have a pair of these shorts that Ive had for over 8 years and aside from some fading from frequent outdoor wear - they look brand new. I highly doubt these new ones will hold up half that long. Hope they go back to previous years quality next season - otherwise this will be my last purchase of these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Brittani. This feedback is very helpful to both other customers and to our product designers for future development. We're so sorry the revisions to these shorts were a disappointment! We'll reach out to you about some options.

July 14, 2022

Super Comfortable and Nice Looking

These shorts are super comfortable and are casual dressy looking, which is why I love them.

July 14, 2022

Love the new cut!

Thank you for changing the cut of the baggies pattern. It fits so much better with the higher rise. I have a pair from spring of 2021 for comparison. I wish there were more color and pattern options - most were sold out. Also thank you for your commitment to environmental and social responsibility. I'm happy to wear recycled fishing nets. :)

Response from Patagonia
July 18, 2022

Hi Teresa, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Great news, we'll be getting new colors in for the Women's Baggies on November 21st, 2022. Please be aware that this date is tentative, but be sure to check back in with us then.

July 12, 2022

ruined a classic

What the heck, Patagonia??? Why did you change perfection? I've been wearing these shorts for 25 years, since I was a teenager, and the redesign has ruined them. They are now too high waisted (the old ones already hit at my natural waist, and I'm long waisted...the new ones are just ridiculous), tight in the butt, and straight up and down... Read More. One of my favorite things about the old Baggies were the loose legs that let the air flow and gave amazing range of motion. Now these are just like any generic, mediocre shorts you can pick up at any store. Luckily I was able to find some of the old cut on other websites and am stocking up, but please bring back the classic cut that worked for decades!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

Hi Skye! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes we've made throughout the years. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 11, 2022

Quick drying

I'm mostly just happy Patagonia is making larger sizes in a wider range for women. Keep it up!

July 11, 2022

best thing ever

cute color, nice fits, impeccable material. i wear it all the time, basically live in it. what i love about it is because it goes with every style and gives me so much comfort. from city to outdoors, you can see me wearing it everywhere. infinite love for baggies <3

July 11, 2022

baggie smalls

Usually a medium in Pat bottoms but sized up because this version is somewhat unforgiving if you've got glutes. Wore them every day on a week long SUP trip. Love the deep front pockets. Use the sewn-in elastic band in the right pocket for my key clip. A classic summer basic and highly functional in great colors.

July 9, 2022

Love these shorts!

Baggies are the perfect shorts-light weight, fast drying, with pockets, and fun touches like the inside waist elastic matching the color of the shorts. Would not change anything about these shorts.

July 9, 2022

Very comfy

I tend to prioritize comfort in my clothing choices, and these shorts are exactly that. I appreciate the length. I weigh about 120 and am 5 5, and the small was a perfect fit for me

July 9, 2022

Inaccurate colors and using a new pattern?

I ordered two new pairs, but was quite disappointed by the changes made to the pockets - they seem significantly shallower and were made out of a mesh material rather than the same fabric as the shorts themselves (like all my previous pairs of baggies are). Additionally, I found that neither the sumac red or dark camel colors were true to the photo... Read Mores, the red was quite a bit more orange than expected and the tan was noticeably lighter than the color shown. I hope these changes to the pockets especially are reconsidered and maybe I'll try again next year, but this season's colors/design unfortunately just isn't it for me.

July 5, 2022

Great Everyday Shorts

I bought a couple pairs of these for m'lady as casual shorts in the summer because she works at an outdoor venue in the humid NC heat. The solid earth tone colors are nonchalant enough to get away with in her semi-casual work environment, and they've turned into her go-to shorts for every warm weather activity.

July 4, 2022

Love these shorts!

They fit perfectly and look great. The fabric seems extremely durable. Love the side pockets. Based on the quality, I expect to wear these for years.

July 4, 2022

Great outdoor shorts

Great for outdoor activities. The only issue is it fits great through the thighs, however its little difficult to pull on as the waist doesn't have much give. My daughter had the same issue and is 10 pounds lighter than me. Her friends complain about the same thing. Would be great if the waist is slighter bigger.

July 3, 2022

Great over the bathing suit

Great over the bathing suit beach walking shorts! Looked everywhere for shorts with big pockets- gotta take the phone! Love these!!! Now have 4 pair!

June 30, 2022

Perfect length - fit depends on body proportions

5in shorts are perfect - still feminine, but don&#x27;t ride up. I tried on several colors and noticed some minor size differences among them (not dramatic, I was able to pull them all on, but since my butt and waist juuuust fit the medium, it was definitely noticeable). The black run smaller than the others enough so that I would need to size up b... Read Moreecause they were mashing my butt, and I checked this by trying two different pairs. Overall, the amount of space you need in the butt and waist will determine what size you get, I think, and if you're on the edge of sizing, they offer no stretch but the size guide is pretty accurate. The leg holes are plenty roomie and that's coming from someone with fairly athletic legs. I tried on a L and the legs were too baggy. In order of small to big, all size M: - black - pink - teal - orange/royal blue/navy blue (all about the same) - blue pattern (noticeably a little roomier in the butt, not so much so that I'd change sizes though)

June 30, 2022

Perfect for every activity

I truly LOVE these shorts and wear them several times a week. They are so comfortable and work for every summer endeavor. The higher rise waist and 5&quot; inseam is even bike friendly, I wear them over a liner when I am riding and they never fail. They are truly quick to dry and unlike some performance fabrics don&#x27;t compromise against the ski... Read Moren comfort.

June 30, 2022

Colors are beautiful. Fit is

Colors are beautiful. Fit is very comfortable (I like clothes loose). I love all Patagonia clothing I have purchased and I wear them frequently

June 25, 2022

Love the color and fit

The fabric is great as well. Very happy with my purchase. In fact I bought another pair!

June 24, 2022

Great quality, 0 stretch

I&#x27;m a big fan of these shorts overall. I was worried the inseam might be too long (nope, it&#x27;s perfect) and the color would be too wild (sumac red is a great balance and works as a neutral!). My only gripe is the lack of stretch. The length, waist, and width around my legs is perfect. They&#x27;re just a touch too tight around the hips/but... Read Moret on my athletic/curvy build. If you're unsure on sizes, I'd go up just for the fact they aren't forgiving as the fabric has 0 stretch to it.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

Hi Abby, we're so sorry to hear about the fit issue with the Baggies. If you find the constriction at the waist too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

June 23, 2022

Great, utilitarian, but runs very small

The waist is okay, but the butt is really tight. Grabbing it in one size larger after trying to manage with them. But otherwise, great, versatile shorts.

June 21, 2022

telegraphs casual

Buy BIG for ultimate casual elan. I wear them to the market and walking 7 am East River loops. I'm 64, and living my best life summer-to-summer, smile-to-smile.

June 21, 2022

Best cut in years!

I work in outdoor education/wildlife biology so I live out of Patagonia Baggies for 3/4 of the year and I typically buy one or two new pairs every summer to keep the rotation fresh. I can say with enthusiasm that the cut of the short this year is superior to the past 4 years at least. Even bloated, there is no uncomfort pulling on, and wearing thes... Read Moree shorts. The netplus fabric is also sturdy but lightweight and feels really good (almost silky), dare I say BETTER, than ever. I really hope someone can pass on my enthusiasm and love to the design team on this one. I am such a happy camper and I cannot wait to wear the green and khaki colors not only in the field but also in semi professional outdoor ed settings. We have BAGGIES that are BAGGY again!!

June 20, 2022

Great Shorts-if you buy 2 sizes too big

I love the material and utilitarian style of these shorts! They&#x27;re lightweight, quick to dry, and virtually indestructible. HOWEVER, the fit is odd and they run very, very small. I normally wear a small or a medium in shorts. I had to buy a large in these. Getting them on was a struggle with the mediums, and once on they fit perfectly in the w... Read Moreaist but felt like they were cutting my butt in half. This caused the material across my hips and butt to pull, and made it difficult to even put my hands in the pockets. I couldn't imagine wearing them around the house, much less hike! I ended up with the large which is enormous in the waist, but fits in the baggy style around my hips, butt, and legs which is what I wanted. I have a muscular butt and thighs, so if you're of a similar build, size way up. For comparison, the large baggies are the same size as a small pair of shorts from Mountain Hardware in the hips and butt. These are definitely shorts you need to try on in the store, and you should expect to size up. For reference, Im 5 ft 3in tall, and I weigh 135lbs.

June 19, 2022

I love these shorts. I

I love these shorts. I have 5 pairs now. I bought the most recent pair to support your efforts cleaning up fishing net. I love the orange color. I saw a comment from a woman wishing there were both 5 inch and 7 inch length for women. I agree.

June 18, 2022

great length and fit. Just

great length and fit. Just the right amount of roominess. Love the rust color. And light weight enough for our hot humid summers

June 17, 2022

Truly so much better than I thought

To be honest, I wasnt expecting much. Im a larger body who loves a company with good values. So I always so badly want to support, but cant always get what I want, in my size. I went on a limb to order these after reading some iffy reviews about fit &amp; size. As a woman with a wider stomach, these are so forgiving. I range btwn a 14-18 &amp; I lo... Read Moreve them. They are SO comfy & in this 100+ heat, I feel like Im wearing nothing! Sadly, if you were bigger than me, its probably a no-go. So I really hope Patagonia does the work to make these & all their products accessible to those existing in larger bodies!

June 16, 2022

Great short for certain body types

I lived in my size M baggies last summer, but since then I have been lifting weights regularly so I decided to size up to have a looser fit. The size up in the L was too loose in the waist, but the size down in the M did not have enough give. I think you are a narrow or more boyish build with minimal curves or bulkier muscles these will work, but o... Read Morether wise they should work on making the short a little more A-line with a more adjustable waist. Big fan of Patagonia!

June 15, 2022

What did you do to the fit.

Let me start off by saying I live in baggies all summer. I have 17 pairs in rotation so I know what I am dealing with. The cut of the pair I got this season is way off the mark. I agree with the other reviewers who said they are just too poofy in some areas. This size large is way off and wish you would go back to the past cuts and get them back to... Read More their glory days when right out off the shelf they were fine. Please adjust the cuts back to a bit more fitted size. Thanks!!

Response from Patagonia
June 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Missie. We're sorry to hear this revised fit doesn't work for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we'll be happy to help you return them. We will reach out to you about returning them to us.

June 12, 2022

Sizing is still off

Purchased 4 medium pairs. First pair fit great so I took the tags off and was excited to wear the rest come to find that the other colors dont fit the same and are too small! So now I have a couple pairs that I cant return and cant wear. I went to a local store that had L just to try it on, and it was too big but the draw string helps. Its better t... Read Morehan before, but these shorts still arent made for small waist, big butt women.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

Hi Nicole, thank you for sharing this review. We're so sorry to hear some of those shorts aren't fitting you! You can absolutely return them to us! We will reach out to you to help.

June 12, 2022

The cuts gone weird

Do I already have three pairs of Baggies? I do. Did I attempt to buy more because this season has two new colors that I love? I did. Unfortunately, I wont be getting either color because I cant deal with this new cut. I ordered a large because thats what worked for me the last time I bought Baggies (my oldest pair are a medium, and they fit fine, o... Read Moreddly). This time I ordered large again and they were too big throughoutwaist, hips all of it. I went in to the store near me to try on the mediums and they fit so weirdfine in the waist, but snug around the hips and butt. The effect was a little poofy pouch of fabric right where you wouldnt want one. Yikes and a hard no. Im baffled why theres been so much tinkering with the cut of these classics. If they just fit like my old mediums, Id have bought them again in a heartbeat. Might want to go back to the archives to rework these, Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear the revision of our Women's Baggies Shorts - 5" missed the mark. We like to hope that our revisions take a step forward in progress but the adjustments can make it difficult for those who are used to the previous model. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We thank you for your feedback and have passed your feedback along to our Design Team.

June 1, 2022

Favorite shorts

Im a fishing guide and work in these regularly in the summer. Perfect for wet-wading, the pockets drain quick and material dries quickly. Comfortable, practical, and cute!

May 26, 2022

Best ever

I am 70 plus years old. Been wearing Baggies forever. I wear them to exercise in the morning and frequently for the rest of the day. Deep pockets for my phone and gardening tools - and totally comfortable.

May 25, 2022

Beautiful colors and pattern

Beautiful colors and pattern. I bought a size too big but I am keeping them anyway because I like them so much

May 25, 2022

Durable

These shorts are the most comfortable and durable shorts! Ive had them for many years and keep buying new pairs. They are a great and modest length and they come in so many fun colors. You can swim, hike, work, etc in them and they never wear out or get damaged.

May 25, 2022

My "go to" shorts!

Tough, comfortable, multitasking shorts. Have so many colors of the baggies. I have been adding for several years. There are no cons to the shorts I love every thing about them. They can go anywhere, do anything. Probably would fit in a small. but they're baggies RIGHT? !!

May 21, 2022

Classic favorite

I love the classic baggies. My summer short I reach for again and again. Super comfortable and the print design is fun

May 18, 2022

Great shorts!

These shorts are great. The colors rock, they're the perfect length, and they're a great fit! Just be sure to follow the recommendations on the size chart for your measurements. I originally ordered the small and after trying them on I exchanged for the XS. Turns out the size chart was correct (shocking, lol). Get them!

May 16, 2022

Super cute but sizing is off

Fits perfect on the waist but really tight across the hips, butt, and thighs. I wouldnt even describe myself as particularly curvy, but if you are anywhere near hourglass shaped, Id really suggest sizing up.

May 13, 2022

Love!

These are really cute and flattering. The quality is great and I love the higher rise and pockets. 5'4" 130 lbs (athletic build) and the S fits perfectly.

May 11, 2022

So Impressed!

I finally decided to invest in two pairs of these shorts after being envious of all the people Ive seen rocking these! Im so impressed with the fit. Ive been searching for shorts that I feel comfortable in and these are definitely it. The 5 inch offers a bit of a higher waist without minimizing the length, and they arent tight to your thighs and un... Read Moreflattering. Love them!

May 10, 2022

every day, all day

I have been wearing baggies for 35 years, could it be. Now that I live in Hawaii, I wear them every day all day. Can I give a better review than that? But let me ask you, would you consider a third version with a couple more inches of length so I may wear them into my 70ies ?

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Gemma. We're so glad they're still a hit for you! Our product design team reads these reviews, so your suggestion for a longer length will be heard.

May 6, 2022

Love them!

I so love the new feel and fit of the baggies!

May 4, 2022

Super Comfy

Very comfortable. Unexpectedly comfortable. I have been wearing them every other day (after washing) this week. Great for hiking, lounging, and walking the dogs.

May 3, 2022

Favorite shorts

These are my favorite shorts by far. I got the new split color and I absolutely love the color way, 2 of my favorite colors. These shorts fit baggy in your normal size which is amazing and are lightweight, breathable and fast drying, plus look great on!

April 29, 2022

Great color

Love these short. The orange is a great color. Fit is great. The length is perfect. Not too short and not too long. I am buying another pair in a different color.

April 27, 2022

MY FAVORITE SHORTS EVER

I absolutely love these shorts. I own 5 pairs in different colors. These are my everyday shorts that I can wear doing anything. I wear these shorts sailing and working all day in the sun and they are still in great condition years later. I cannot reccomend these enough.

April 26, 2022

Love Them!

I already had one pair of Patagonia Barely Baggies - these are my first full-length baggies and I LOVE them. I think this length is better because you can wear them high-wasted or roll them down if you prefer them a bit shorter. The colors are great, too. These look like retro Patagonia styles & feel super high quality too.

April 25, 2022

Fantastic Update

I own the previous version of the women&#x27;s 5&quot; Baggies and I love the fit update on this redesign. I&#x27;ve always felt it was a little tight to pull the old style over my hips and that the elastic was a little constricting. I find the new style is so much more comfortable to take on and off and the elastic seems lighter and much better. T... Read Morehey're a great short made even better by the fit updates and would recommend them in a heartbeat.

April 20, 2022

Best shorts ever

Super comfortable, cool, and fast drying. I have several pairs and basically live in them all summer. Love the colorful print ones, but solids are also great. The 5 is a perfect length for me. They last like iron.

April 19, 2022

versatile; good colors this season

Normally a medium but sized up to a large for the latest cut. Really like the hi-viz fuschia pink version on the trail. Inseam is a little awk on me and causes some chafing. Not typically in the chub rub club, these Baggies just hit different. I wear them every weekend.

April 18, 2022

Very happy with the new version!

I bought about 6 pair last year, I love wearing these do anything shorts as my grandson and I call them, but this years version fits so much better! Have to control myself to only invest in a few of the new colors, I think the non-yolk version makes them fit much better!

April 18, 2022

Versatile

After reading other reviews that stated it was tighter in the hip area, I sized up to L from my normal M and this was the right decision. Had I not it would have pulled tightly in that area. The waist is a little big but nothing the inside tie doesnt fix! Perfect for every activity in shorts weather. Ill be using them from yard work to kayaking to ... Read Morehiking.

April 18, 2022

I love the pockets

First off, I love the pockets on these shorts, this is why I purchased them. This is my second pair of baggies, I have a medium and a large. The medium just fits, if any weight is gained I will not be able to wear them. I decided to also get a large for this reason. The large are huge. There is a very big difference between the two sizes. If roll t... Read Morehe waist band down on the large I should be able to wear them to places like the beach . I will use the medium for everyday wearing.

April 15, 2022

Best outdoor short ever

Obviously theyre a classic patty purchase. Perfect for sun & swim. I wear these as a river guide, I wear them hiking, casually. Just wish they had a liner inside like the mens do!

April 15, 2022

Not for hourglass bodies

I agree with the other reviews. These are not made for people with small waists and bigger hips. They feel snug across my butt with way too much material around the waist. Wanted to love them! Bummed.

Response from Patagonia
April 18, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Jana. We're always working to improve our products, and feedback like this from customers is incredibly useful! We're so sorry the fit of these shorts was a miss for you. If you haven't already sent them back to us, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

April 15, 2022

2022 Baggies vs. 2019 Baggies!

I think I&#x27;m in the minority here--I like this iteration of the Baggies better than the old model. I&#x27;m 5&#x27;1 and ~160lbs. I have bigger thighs and a bigger butt and based on the size chart was going to order a medium, but ended up ordering a large. They fit perfectly! The 2019 Baggies had a &quot;yoke&quot; on the back (like a lot of r... Read Moreeviewers have mentioned). I found that this meant they fit weirdly, at least for me. I wanted them to be higher-waisted but still roomy and 90s-ish looking. I got a large of this version and was kind of swimming in them, but kept them anyways. The legs were pretty big and sort of flared out in an unflattering way. I feel like the 2022 Baggies are truer to size, as I'm usually a large and these fit me well. They're higher-waisted which I like and a little more fitted in the upper waist/lower back area. Not actually fitted, just not as crazy flared as the older ones. I also feel like these ones might be a smidge longer, and the legs ride up less than my old ones. Anyways, just my 2 cents!

April 14, 2022

So comfy

I live in my baggies all summer. They are perfect for just about everything! I prefer the 5inch shorts due to long legs.

April 13, 2022

Too Big

Exchanging for a small Medium too big Love the color

April 10, 2022

Runs small

I have to other pairs of baggies size large (purchased 2020) they both run a lot larger than these. These hug my butt a lot tighter, in most other brands I run small-large. If you got a large before the remodel, I reccomend getting an extra large now.

April 10, 2022

Best Shorts!

These shorts are definitely a summer staple. Very cute and great quality. Definitely size up though, the shorts dont have any stretch and to get that baggie look, I recommend a bigger size.

April 9, 2022

All around perfect baggies.

I have had baggies for many years ( they last a very long time). I have tried different 'iterations' of baggies. I am glad they have released the new style that is fitting better to a 'females' body shape. Thanks!

April 7, 2022

Best all-purpose shorts

I could only take one pair of shorts on my adventure as everything had to fit in my backpack. They were perfect as they are light weight, comfortable and barely took any room in my bag. Great for all activities. I used mine for jungle trekking, traveling, lounging and heading to the beach.

April 7, 2022

Love

Something I couldnt tell from the product images but a fun surprise is the drawstring is pink on the harlequin color block! Adds an additional pop of color which is super fun. I also really like the updated fit!

March 28, 2022

Who is your fit model?

The fit on these shorts is terrible. Who is the fit model? The fit on these shorts feels out of touch because the inseams are too short and the pockets are incredibly shallow. These shorts also have one less pocket than the mens shorts, why? Women like multiple pocket options too. If youre thinking about these, and happen to be a power lifter/weigh... Read Moretlifter/hill runner, with thick thighs, skip them and order the mens. Youll be happier.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear these didn't work. You may prefer our Outdoor Everyday Shorts or Nine Trails Shorts. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like any assistance to return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 28, 2022

Super comfy

I've seen a lot of reviews complaining about sizing, take your measurements and follow the size chart, it's extremely accurate if followed properly. Extremely comfortable, durable, they have really big pockets, and a hoop to hook your keys on. I ordered another pair within 24 hours, if your size is in stock get it.

March 27, 2022

Very versatile

I really like the fit of these shorts. I also love the colors and the style. The only thing I would change is maybe the material because the waistline is a little scratchy.

March 24, 2022

Good length of shorts

good quality and good length

March 22, 2022

Most comfortable shorts

My coworkers have been wearing these for years and bragged about the fit. We were heading to Mexico and I wanted a comfy pair of shorts for the beach. These worked out perfectly. Ill be buying another pair.

March 22, 2022

Favorite Shorts Ever

These have been my favorite shorts for years. They go well with all outfits and I can wear them to my behind the counter job as a barista or out on hikes/paddle-boarding. They do fit slightly differently depending on the year, but otherwise they are true to fit if not slightly large around the waist. 15/10 will purchase again.

March 16, 2022

ACTUALLY true to fit

Literally so nice to find a brand that didnt seem to run super small. Waistband is comfortable on me, and the waist ties which is nice. It even cute if you want to roll it up once because the drawstring is a fun pink color on mine( hips are 40 and waist is 29 and I got a medium if that helps anyone) Also love the longer length, I can get up on the ... Read Moreslack line without feeling like Im gonna flash my friends lol

March 11, 2022

The Fit Keeps Changing

The first time I purchased my baggies was several seasons ago (the green, melon pair). I adored them so much that Ive been purchasing Patagonia shorts since but no other pair of baggies fits as well as that first pair! Theyre tighter across the butt. The elastic doesnt have enough give for over the hips. I love the length and fit of my first pair; ... Read Moremiss how they once fit me! If I have any recommendation, its that you should consider sizing up if you want that comfortable, baggy feel.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

We're sorry for the changes and we appreciate your feedback. It sounds like you bought our Beryl Green Women's Baggies from Spring 2021. We did a slight redesign prior to that in 2018 and then again just now for our Spring 2022 Baggies, so we're sorry for any disappointment. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like to return or find out any particular measurements for the designs in various seasons and years. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 11, 2022

Stick with last year's model

I love that they&#x27;re going to last forever and I love the color, but the new model is making my butt look bunchy. Put that panel back in the back. I&#x27;m with the other gals that are having a problem with this. I arranged the fabric evenly all around my waist after I tie them and the shorts end up bunching! Going to keep them. Please change b... Read Moreack to the old pattern with the panel. I was planning on buying more this year, but I'm going to wait.

March 11, 2022

Look Great- but could function better

I bought these at REI in the fun blue print and they felt great on in my usual size (XL/14) but, I should have walked around the store before purchasing. Being a thick thighed lady, these shorts are simply not made for us. They ride up and the tougher material causes some intense chaffing. While the material is purposely made to dry quick- that sam... Read Moree material is what works against the shorts. Beyond riding up/chaffing issue- they're also loud. The fabric itself is so loud when walking they made me really self conscious as someone felt comfortable enough to comment. Love that for me. Wanted to love these so much- but definitely not made for women with thicker thighs.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Hi Kelsey! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with fit of the shorts, and the loud material. This feedback is greatly appreciated as its how we improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 7, 2022

Shorts

I like the way these shorts fit and I love that they have pockets. Unfortunately, I find them to be very stiff. I am not sure how comfortable they will be on a hot day.

March 5, 2022

baggies bummer

I don&#x27;t think the current size chart is applicable to the S/S &#x27;22 cut on these shorts. Very tight through the waist and butt. I got the mystic pink in M and unfortunately they were already sold out of L by the time I realized these are cut smaller than standard. Definitely have a sad over here since I got in early with my preferred color,... Read More and I thought the right size, only to find out the sizing had shrunk. Preferred colors--in the new correct size--are sold out. Did not bag the baggies!

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2022

Hi Sheigh, we're so sorry to hear that the sizing information was inaccurate. We'll go ahead and let the appropriate members of our team know about this. Also, new Baggies in all colors and sizes should be arriving on April 10th, so be sure to check back in with us then.

March 4, 2022

Great summer short

My last pair of baggies lasted 15 years and I hope that these last that long also. I love the thin material, great for wearing on boats/paddlesports. I would like these baggies 2 inches longer. I wear a size8-10 and the medium fits. A large would have been a more baggy look.

March 3, 2022

Love this product but size is always changing

The baggies are my holy grail in the summer. I love this product. My only issue is it seems like the fit changes year by year. Some past baggies fit bigger and this year they run small! I have some mediums that are big on me but this year I had to sized up to a Large.

February 27, 2022

Go to gear for kayaking

I own several pairs of these. It is my go to gear for kayaking. Comfortable & quick drying. Great for multiple day river trips.

February 24, 2022

New Fit

Overall these are a nice short; however, the fit and materiel has changed between these and the ones I got in the fall. I purchased both my old and new pair in a size Small, which seems consistent between the two. The fit change is more of a feel and look than size change. The four main differences Ive noticed are: the old ones have a yolk on the b... Read Moreack by the waist but the new ones do not, the old ones have a gusset in the crotch while the new ones do not, the new ones have smaller and differently shaped pockets than the old ones, and the material changed. I havent worn them enough to know how the new material is going to wear, so I cant speak on that. The yolk on the back does effect the way they look in the back, and I find it to make them not fit as well over my hips and butt. They look bunchier near the waist and tighter over my butt than the old ones do. The gusset in the crotch in the old ones allowed me to bend and move my legs without risking anything showing. I dont feel that the new ones fit as well in that area, and I have more of a concern for lack of coverage there. The pockets on the new ones are completely mesh, which gives them less structure, and they have a smaller shape, which I dont find holds my phone as securely as the old ones. These also seem to look longer than the old ones, even though next to each other they look almost identical in length. The fit of the front on these is also more flattering and less bunch looking. Overall Im not sure how I feel about the change in design. Just be aware that if you have had baggies in the past that these will fit differently.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Hey Lydia, we appreciate the thorough and insightful review on our Baggies 5" inseam shorts. You're right about the redesign. We've switched the material out to a 100% recycled nylon with DWR, have removed the yoke and tilted the side seams in attempts of improving fit. We appreciated the feedback on your experience with the redesign, we'll pass along your thoughts to the design team. As always, our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee so if you find that you're ultimately unhappy with these changes, you're welcome to [send them back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 21, 2022

Awkward and uncomfortable

As a kid I lived in Baggies every summer but once I hit puberty, haven&#x27;t been able to make Baggies work for me. I&#x27;m an athletic build with hips and a booty - 27&quot;, 39&quot; hips and got a medium. The length is great but the waist and hips are very awkward on me - they pull across the booty too much and then bunch up around the waist a... Read Morend the crotch so that I'd have to roll the waistband to make them work. Love the fabric and quick dry and if they were $20, I'd probably make them work. Wish Patagonia would make their bottoms a bit more inclusive for different body shapes.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches