burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Baggies™ Shorts - 5" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 181 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

4.2/5
True To Size
January 8, 2023

Amazing

Love these!

January 4, 2023

I prefer these to the Men's Baggies.

the slight differences to these shorts make me prefer the tailoring and many colors they offer. A major plus is the pockets are regular sized, and they DO NOT have mesh liners in them, which many guys end up cutting out. I also have noticed they drag less and have a slightly more "athletic fit".

December 2, 2022

Miss the old baggies!

I am a baggies super fan, but sadly the cut of these new ones don't work well for me - too large, and loose in the waist. I returned them but am hopeful that the design team makes some tweaks for the next version

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2022

We truly appreciate the time you took to write this review, Carlyn! Please rest assured that we will absolutely pass your feedback along to our Product Team so they can look into making those tweaks for future versions of these shorts.

November 22, 2022

BEST Shorts But Need Neutral Colors

Guys, I'm obsessed with these shorts- this is coming from someone who is a total stickler for quality in clothing. I don't like loose seams, materials that wear or don't wash well, discoloration, or any of these things. But when I tell you that these baggies are the best shorts I've ever worn, that is no understatement. They&#x2... Read More7;re comfortable, cute, versatile in style AND fit, as well as indestructible seeming. Their longevity is fabulous, especially considering the price- these bottoms look new after three years!! I would be a happy gal if this were the only pair of shorts I could wear for the rest of my life. However, I am begging the design team to *please* release these in neutral colors! It's the only reason I've looked elsewhere for summer bottoms. Baggies in white, cream, beige, rose, and browns would be so incredibly appreciated. They would appeal to so many women on-the-go who otherwise don't have much room in their closets for the statement colors that baggies are predominantly known for!

October 19, 2022

Very comfortable

These shorts are very comfortable and quick dry. I wore it for sailing and hiking. It's also great for biking due to big and deep pockets.

October 10, 2022

Good and bad

The fabric and construction of these shorts is great. Fast-drying for the hiking trip I purchased for. But the elastic in the waste-band stretched out the 2nd time I wore them and hasn't returned to its original self. Very disappointing, since I have another pair of patagonias I've been wearing for ~15 summers and are in like-new conditio... Read Moren.

October 10, 2022

Exactly what I wanted

I've been trying to find a pair of hiking shorts with pockets that also has an inseam longer than my butt-cheeks. This pair DELIVERS. I'm a bit between the Sm and Med size, but the Med don't fall off. I meant to only wear them for hiking... Now I wear these shorts all the time. A+, excellent product!

October 9, 2022

Perfect Size

As a petite person, its hard to find shorts that fit me right. These are perfect. This piece of clothing is multi-use for water, gardening, running and comfy casual wear!

October 6, 2022

Love these shorts!

Great fit. Really comfortable. Super durable. I wear these all the time and will buy in different colors I love these so much.

October 6, 2022

Great Design

I have never liked baggies because the short legs always just bunched up and were not flattering at all. This higher waist design and maybe also the material makes both the short and longer ones flattering for any figure. The longer style seems to run slightly bigger than the short style, but I didn't try my usual S. Assumed the short and long... Read Moreer styles were the same. BUT, I am so happy I can finally wear baggies! 53 130. Bravo design team!

October 4, 2022

A classic

I've worn baggies all my life. I lived in Florida for 20 years and they were indispensable there. I'm now in the Northeast but with climate change, our summers are longer and hotter. And still my baggies are there for me. They will be my favorite shorts forever. And they last a lifetime.

October 2, 2022

Fit Great/Last Forever

This is a slightly different design of the baggies I've purchased in the past. I had mentioned in a past review that there was no little panel on the back waist and it made me have a Bunchy looking butt. LOL but after wearing them for a while it really isn't that way at all. I hadn't pulled them around evenly, with the seams at the s... Read Moreide so everything looked okay after all. I absolutely love these and I am slowly converting to just Patagonia baggies. My first pair was 1983 and they lasted forever and they just keep getting better. I will definitely get more I have told everyone about them and your company. More people have to get on board with sustainability and what your company is doing. It's awesome. Very pleased. Oh also arrived quickly.

October 2, 2022

My go-to shorts

I don't always feel comfortable in shorts but I do in these. Love the length and that they are higher wasted. I have two pairs with little to no elastic in the waistband and it takes some effort to get them over my butt. Once they are on they are good. These, to my surprise, are much much stretchier! They are the same in every way, just easier... Read More to get on. My go-to summer outfit is now a pair of baggies and a crop tank.

October 1, 2022

Love these shorts!

I am older and appreciate the longer inseam in these 5 inch shorts. The color (orange) is beautiful and the fabric feels very light and moves well while being sturdy and definitely abrasion/tear resistant! I live in Arizona and have slid down rocks and waded through streams with them. They dry very quickly and are very comfortable! I love them!

October 1, 2022

So comfy and the print

So comfy and the print is great I could live in these shorts.

September 28, 2022

Shorts for life

I live in these in the summer. Deep pockets, light weight, and breezy. Pairs well with an oxford button down for a business casual and life is good!

September 28, 2022

I returned them, i found

I returned them, i found rhem too baggy and too short.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

Hi Hennie, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry the revision to the fit of these shorts wasn't right for you, and we're glad to learn you've returned a product that wasn't going to work for you. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance!

September 27, 2022

Bring back the old baggies

I love my baggies that I have bought previously, but it seems that the fit and material have since been updated. I tried to like them but they were alot 'baggier' than my old ones and not as sturdy and structured as I am use to. The material was also thinner. I gifted them to someone that preferred the new fit. They just did not work for ... Read Moreme.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

We're very sorry to hear that the redesigned Baggies have been a disappointment. We have changed them a few times over the years. Please know that your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and we welcome a return. Our Customer Service team would be happy to help with a return or offer guidance on product measurements. Thanks for the review, Stacy!

September 26, 2022

I live in these all summer

Super comfortable, fast drying, cool. Perfect for hot humid climates. Would love more fun patterns.

September 23, 2022

Well made and comfortable

Love these baggy shorts: comfortable, lightweight, great for kayaking, hiking, walks, working in yard, walking on beach.

September 23, 2022

Lightweight, comfy, and made from recycled fishing nets!!

I'm 5'4" and 130-135 lbs and ordered a medium - they are a nice loose fit, just like I wanted. These shorts are a fantastic lightweight material that are super comfy during all kinds of movement. I got the tiger lily orange color and I LOVE it. Highly recommend them - plus, they're made out of recycled fishing nets, what could b... Read Moree better?!

September 20, 2022

My new favorite shoets!

Love the print on these! They are so comfortable and fit perfectly. Light weight and lots of room.

September 19, 2022

This shorts are too big,

This shorts are too big, they are not attractive and the material is too thick

September 19, 2022

I miss the old Baggies!

I've been wearing Baggies for over 20 years, and while I LOVE the green and zero footprint trend of production, the newly reworked styling of my old favorites just don't work for me. The material is stiff, rough, and too thick. The sizing has also increased...the same size I purchased ten years ago are 2" wider in the waist in the 20... Read More22 version. Please bring back the rear yoke, the subtle stretch, and softer feel of the Baggies we've been loving for all these years! Do the new ones work? Yes. Are they the excellent product we have been raving about for decades? Not even close.

September 19, 2022

I have been wearing a

I have been wearing a version of these shorts since I was in my 20s. I am now 66. They are still one of my favorite articles of clothing. I used top wear a pair my daughter handed down to me. I finally bought two new pairs, one in aqua and one in orange. I appreciated buying on sale.

September 18, 2022

I literally own 9 pairs

Could not recommend enough. I own 9 pairs and my roommate owns 6 of baggies in the 2.5 and 5 inch length- vintage and new. U have to get these! We have a baggies rainbow

September 17, 2022

Super comfy

Love these baggie shirts with pockets. Extremely comfortable and fun color. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars had nothing to do with the fit, but rather they changed to a darker orange once washed for the first time. I loved the soft sherbet color it was at purchase.

September 17, 2022

Nice color

I really like these shorts with the pockets the and fabric is very comfortable.

September 17, 2022

I love these shorts--they fit

I love these shorts--they fit great, they don't roll up the way some quick dry shorts tend to do, and I think they might be indestructible. I slid down a very muddy hill and was positive I'd ruined them, but every trace of mud was gone after they were washed. After buying one pair I got two more and wear them every day--

September 16, 2022

For the size I ordered, it was too tight

Sometimes I order large and it is very large and if I order medium sometimes it is good and sometimes very tight or short.

September 16, 2022

Baggie Shorts

Love these shorts! I am between a small and medium, so I went with the medium. They are super comfortable! The colors are great too.

September 16, 2022

Waiting to buy until fit is improved!

Leaving review for design team - manifesting a pair that fits me! I like the function of baggies, but none of them fit my curves. The 5" Small is too constricting around my hips (my hips measure 39") , but the 5" medium waist is way too big (my waist measures 26") . I own a size small of the Barely Baggies, but don't love ... Read Morethem because the 2.5" isn't enough to ~cover everything~ (I think because of being curvier) and they ride up which is not comfy. I just use them after surf sessions.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hi Jane! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the fit, and we'll share this with our design crew.

September 16, 2022

Weird cut to these new design Baggies

I have Baggies that I have been wearing for years- size small- and love. Wanted a couple more pairs; ordered aqua and orange, and due to various reviews I actually ordered a size larger (Medium). Result- mixed feelings on this new design variant to the otherwise forever-wonderful Baggies. Fabric remains fabulous. Pockets, fastening loop in pockets... Read More- all good, and typical of Patagonia paying attention to the needs of the people who wear their clothes. What is weird, is the cut of the shorts themselves. The hook (seam around crotch and up the back) seems super tight- just casually walking gives me a wedgie (does anyone use that term anymore? Sorry if not) because it is too short and narrow. This is a current fashion trend, which like most fashion trends will go away in a couple years; it disturbs me to find Patagonia following a whim of fashion in a garment that is otherwise intended to be worn in an active lifestyle. I for one find it amazingly annoying to walk along and have the shorts ride up into my backside. They are also slender around the hips and the leg- more slender than my older ones, size small, even though these new ones are size medium. And! The waist seems to have all the extra material- voluminous waist (I mean, its ok- there is a drawstring) but the insane thing is all that fabric up there, which tapers to not-much fabric around the hips and butt and hello, the average woman is bigger in the hips and butt, not the waist, so why is all the fabric in the wrong place? I kept the shorts because I really needed them but I am supremely disappointed in Patagonia changing a winning design in order to follow a fashion whim. If it made them a better hiking/running/walking/gardening/boating/whatever short- great. But it didnt. The fit makes them a distracting annoyance now. Why, Patagonia? Bottom line- size up unless you are a stick shape from waist to upper thigh. (I am 5 ft 6 inches, much of my height is in my legs; I weigh 130#, and am fit enough that my doctor called me buff. (I mean, I disagree but whatever). I have a fairly normal body. Just in case anyone thinks I must be shaped weirdly)

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Margaret; we're sharing it with our design team. We're sorry to learn these revisions made these shorts uncomfortable for you. If you wish, you can absolutely [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them. Please reach out to us if we can be of any help!

September 16, 2022

Super comfy!!

Super comfy!!

September 15, 2022

Great all activity short

Love these shorts for exercise but also bumming around. The pockets are big enough for a cell phone and the key tie is helpful.

September 15, 2022

Good but could use a few changes

I loved my black baggies. However, I recently purchased the tiger lily color. The lighter color stains very easily and the stains won't come out. I will stick with darker colors moving forward. Also, when will the womens version get the same butt pocket as the mens? Also would love a similar built in underwear as the mens.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hey Cooper, thanks for the review. You might find this [stain removal guide page](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) helpful, check it out!

September 14, 2022

Why did you mess with perfection?

Baggies are so fun because you can generally fit into a couple of sizes and just choose the fit that you like best. I like them a little big, so I have three pre-2022 pairs of 5" baggies in a size small that I LOVE, so despite the negative reviews of the re-design, I thought I'd try a new pair. I wanted to love them, but sadly, I will be ... Read Morereturning them. Now that the design has been simplified (more economical to make now?) to omit the back yoke and piece of fabric to shape the crotch they do not lie the same. They bunch when you walk and flare out and just are not as comfortable. The pockets are more in the front and smaller now too. Does any woman ever ask for smaller pockets? I am trying to imagine the pitch meeting for this re-design: "Hey, you know our iconic baggies with the cult-like following? Let's change them up." It is disappointing for a company that is consistently so reliable with attention to detail and responsiveness to customer needs to revamp a customer favorite. Patagonia, put this batch on clearance and bring back the originals which I would rate 6 stars out of 5.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2022

Hi Cindy, we're very sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the performance of Women's Baggies. Please feel free to [return them or take advantage of our free exchanges](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

September 14, 2022

Bummed about these new pockets :(

Baggies are my all time favorite bottom, and I own more than I care to admit, so I feel crazy giving these less than 5 stars. I will clarify that this is only for the redesign: Im so disappointed that the pockets have been moved to the front of the short. They seem smaller than they used to be, both in depth and width. However, the main issue is in... Read More mobility. It is now impossible to bend over to pick something up with my phone in my pocket without it painfully stabbing me in the stomach and leg. I have developed a bruise after wearing these for one day and doing my daily tasks. The pockets on the sides were great for carrying things and keeping them away from your bending hips, but these push everything towards the groin. I wear these for function, not fit, so its a bummer to see that overrule function in the design.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2022

Hey Gabriela, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear that you're not a fan of the redesign. You're absolutely welcome to send them back for a refund. We'll share your feedback with the team. In the meantime, you can shop past season iterations on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=baggies).

September 14, 2022

One of my favorite products!

I already own 3 other pairs of baggies but wanted another to add to the rotation. This season feels a bit lighter than previous seasons. The fit runs a little baggy (to be expected) and is great for casual wear, hiking, and running.

September 12, 2022

Wear them for years

I bought my first pair of baggies over 10 years ago; I wear some version of this short almost every day and I absolutely love them. They've never fallen apart, they look amazing on my body, and they are the perfect amphibious shorts.

September 12, 2022

Goes with anything!

I love the cut, fabric and design pattern of these shorts! Functional and cute! Comfortable doesn't pinch or bunch up, dries quickly and always keeps it's shape!

September 12, 2022

Bummer sizing

The sizing in the new baggies are SO OFF. Im usually an small across all patagonia and the small fit like a medium, but my biggest issue is size to size ratio. The small has an absurdly large waist, Im a 26 waist, 37 hips. Pretty standard, the waist I have to cinch all the way down and it still gaps. The xs runs tight across the hips and digs In p... Read Moreainful while sitting. Not sure why there is such a big gap between two sizes, and who the measurements across all sizes are so whacky. Bring back the old fit!

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Emily; we will pass it on to our product team. We're sorry the revised fit didn't work for you, but glad to see you've returned something you weren't going to be happy with. Please get in touch with us if we can be of any further help!

September 11, 2022

Better, not great

5'4, 205lb female, typically wear a women's size 16 or XL, with a butt. The fit is better than the 2016 version, but on my body the crotch rides up after walking around for just a few minutes. 3-stars because they're fine for lounging around at home, but I would not wear them for any strenuous activity or prolonged walking. There is ... Read Moreno stretch in the material, which I expected, but takes away from the comfort nonetheless. I kept them because of cute print and because these are the only shorts Patagonia shorts with an elastic band and 5-inch inseam; enough to cover my butt. Perhaps if youʻre a person who has a ʻstraighterʻ body/ less butt, these shorts would be more spacious and comfortable. In general, iʻve found Patagonia shorts and jackets to fit too tightly around my butt compared to other brands like Arcteryx.

September 10, 2022

I had a pair of

I had a pair of baggies I wore for 30 years for rafting and kayaking. I have lost enough weight recently that they were too baggy, so I ordered the new shorts. I love that they are still the classic design with ample pockets and the same fit. I also like the new key loop inside the pocket.

September 9, 2022

My go-to favorite shorts!

I treated myself to another pair of Baggies, even though my 5 year old ones are still prefect!! I like their casual and comfortable fit. My granddaughter keeps borrowing them, I'm going to get her some of her own!

September 9, 2022

I could live in these

We live on a lake. These shorts are great for most things outdoors. I play tennis and pickle ball in them. Love the pockets for tennis and pickle balls. The length and comfort of these shorts are great. Not too short, there is a lot of bending over picking up balls. I own 4 pair all different colors.

September 9, 2022

Classic baggie perfection

I like a very loose fit and go up one size (med to lrg). Actual color is softer and brighter than shows on my pc. Color and comfort, the best.

September 9, 2022

Super Comfy!

Super comfy and quick dry! Light weight shorts that I can basically wear anywhere.

September 7, 2022

Light, comfortable, perfect shorts

I love my baggies! These shorts are workhorses: sturdy, comfortable, lightweight, comfortable. I ordered two pairs, the solid orange and the lighter blue print, in the medium for a baggier fit. I want to wear them every day!

September 7, 2022

Super comfy

Easy to pull on for early morning activities with great pockets for all things chore related. Lighter fabric for warm weather - watch out for engagement with sharp material!

September 7, 2022

Comfy +

I love these shorts! They are roomy without being super baggy.

September 7, 2022

Redesigned since I last purchased

I own 2 other pairs of baggies and bought my 3rd with the annual sale. The shorts are now a thinner material and seem to have gotten a little bit larger overall. They also dont come as high of a rise. I do not like them as much as my other pairs, but theyre good shorts regardless.

September 7, 2022

Love the new fit!

Love the new fit with the higher waistband and the more streamlined silhouette. Way more flattering for me than the previous iterations! Comfort wise, I prefer the older fabric covered inner waistband versus the exposed elastic. One weird thing is that the fit is slightly different between colors; the Tiger Lilly orange fit perfectly, but the Fresh... Read More Teal color fit a little larger. Teal are physically wider and longer when i hold them up to compare. Not a huge issue. Overall still 5/5

September 6, 2022

Best shorts ever!

I love these shorts so much! They look and feel great, and perhaps even more important to me, they are super durable! They are cool in the Texas heat, and the dry really fast. The black ones are my favorite, which I've worn most of the year for at least six years now. They look like they did when I first got them! I've since added 4 other... Read More colors to my shorts drawer. I also love that some recycled plastic is used in their production. I'm only buying these shorts for the rest of my life.

September 6, 2022

Awkwardly baggy

I get that the name of these shorts is 'baggie' but they really are TOO baggy and not attractive, and I didn't feel good having them on. The bright orange color is fun. I returned them.

September 6, 2022

New and improved

Slimmer than my old pairs which I believe were a 2002 varietal, longer inseam too? Altogether very nice short.

September 6, 2022

Love!

I have been wearing Baggies for your and they never disappoint! Great fit and do comfy I wear a lot! Perfect short length

September 5, 2022

Nice easy dry well fitting short

For those of us with big hips having a large fit well is a real pleasure. Color is great and it dries fast.

September 3, 2022

Nice longer length

Ws Baggies 5in longer length feels better for coverage when kayaking(seat), walking or casual wear. The inner waist band has the elastic band exposed and is not really stretchy. IMHO, I would prefer the inner waist band to be covered with material and stretchy like the 2.5in Barely Baggies(which is a little thicker at the waist but NOT noticeable a... Read Morend still very comfortable). Both Baggies 5in and Barely Baggies 2.5 really takes a beating with NO no fading. Note the lengths differ in Fit so here are my sizes: 5in is Relaxed fit size =XS Baggies 2.5in Regular fit size =S Barely Baggies

September 2, 2022

Great shorts

I thought I reviewed these but I guess not. I really like them - the length is perfect especially for aging legs. They are a bit tight in the waist area but if you are slim that may not be a problem. It would be super awesome if they had back pockets! Overall very happy with them though and would recommend - bought several colors and hope to have t... Read Morehem for many years to come.

September 2, 2022

Great Old Faithful

Ordered a pair of baggies for the first time in a loooong time but I was tempted with the great colors and a little longer inseam. I'm 5' 2" and 112 lbs, the XS is perfect. Really comfortable fit but not too baggy. Will use them on the boat and pool side.

September 2, 2022

I have a similar style

I have a similar style short from 12 years ago that I wear to this day. They fit like butter. This is my second recent purchase of the same short and while the waist and leg fit is the same, the newer pairs go up the butt so to speak. I have a curvier waist/butt/thigh ratio, so this problem happens often in bottoms of any kind. I fell for the older... Read More Patagonia shorts because they somehow hit the sweet spot in all measurements and hiking was so comfy. These newer shorts work alright save for tugging at hiking wedgies. I will wear these as back ups, they are well made and function great, but dang I miss the fit of past pairs. Maybe just me, but I probably wouldnt rec these for curvy women,

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

We did revise the fit and design of all our Baggies for 2022 and we're sorry that this caused disappointment. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return them. You may also prefer our Outdoor Everyday Shorts or Nine Trails Shorts.

September 2, 2022

Different sizing

Ive had baggies for years and wear them almost every day in the summer. Unfortunately, the sizing seems to have changed and these are a lot looser than original sizes. Will return.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

We're sorry for the change in sizing, but we did revise the fit and design of all of our Baggies for 2022. Our [online exchanges](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for size or color are free of charge. Please let us know if you need any assistance. We'll be happy to help!

September 1, 2022

Horrible fit

They fit has been completely redesigned and does not work for me at all. There is superfluous, bunchy fabric in the front and the pockets are smaller than before. The pockets used to run alongside the seam but now they are slightly angled, which I like a lot less. I play tennis in the previous design and the pockets were great to hold balls, but th... Read Moree new pocket design is too small to carry two tennis balls comfortably. I thought that perhaps they would fit better in a smaller size, but I tried those on and still had the same issues. Additionally, they removed the yoke at the back, which makes them less attractive (a small detail I wouldn't care about if the overall fit were the same). For reference, I am 5'8" and 140 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

Hey Juliet, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that you're not liking the redesign. You're welcome to send the ones you have back for a refund. We do have some older options you can find on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=baggies), If you're not finding what you want, we recommend checking back because we add to inventory everyday. The redesign was for Spring '22, so anything before that should be the fit you prefer.

August 31, 2022

Old time favorite short

Been buying these for quite awhile. A great all a rounder that works well while pulling weeds or kayaking. Great selection on prints and colors. A favorite.

August 31, 2022

Why no back pocket?

They're fine, not mind blowing but fine. Thick material. Good for hiking, not good for trail running. Why does the men's version get a back pocket but the women's doesn't? Makes zero sense.

August 30, 2022

Love Love Love

I like these shorts so much. I get separation anxiety on laundry day. I wear them climbing and they are the perfect length so that my harness doesn't chafe. I wore them to the beach and they dried right off after I got soaked playing in the surf with my siblings. I got the watermelon sorbet color and get so many compliments on their bright col... Read Moreor! I am eyeing the brick red and fresh teal, and can't wait to buy them. I definitely recommend these shorts!

August 30, 2022

Favorite quick dry shorts

I wear these bad boys to the beach, hiking, walking around town, or when I'm working on the farm. They dry quick and are easy to clean so they are PERFECT! They are a flattering fit and seriously my favorite shorts. I probably have 8 pairs of baggies between my pairs of the 5" and the 2". 10/10 would recommend!

August 29, 2022

Completely different shorts

I've been wearing Patagonia Baggies since the 90's and buy a few new pairs every couple of years. This year, I was surprised to see so many options still available in August (they usually sell out); now I know why. These are completely different shorts. The best way I can describe them is that, when I'm wearing these new Baggies, I c... Read Morean always tell I have them on because they're bunching or binding or constricting somewhere. The pockets are different and the waistband is weird. This isn't just a tweak as in years past. They took out the yoke, which completely changes the silhouette. The classic Baggies were great because the fit flattered and you never noticed you had them on--even when hiking or climbing or doing lawn work. Patagonia--any plans to bring back the Classic Baggie? Also, I cut my tags off and washed my recent purchase before I realized they're completely different--can I still return? Thank you.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Deann; this feedback is very helpful not only to other customers but also to our product designers. We made some significant design changes to these shorts this season, with the intent of improving the fit by tilting the side seams and removing the back yoke for what was meant to be a more flattering fit​. We're sorry to hear this wasn't the case here. We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we will reach out to you about return options.

August 28, 2022

Good quality and great length

I ordered these thinking they might be too long but they are a perfect length and I love them! My days of short shorts are gone and thats fine as long as I can still wear a style that looks and feels good. These are awesome and you could tell they will last a long time - they launder well too. My only thought for improvement would be that maybe bac... Read Morek pockets to fit a phone would be nice but is not a big deal to me since I really don't like carrying my phone around with me anyway. The loop in the front pocket is handy for keys. Highly recommend for all ages!

August 27, 2022

Shallower pockets :( but good otherwise!

The 2022 version has a pocket design that diminishes the capacity and security of the pockets in 2 ways, as compared to the 2021 version: (1) 2021 pockets have an in-seam opening, which maximizes the area of the pocket-front in a way that holds in essentials like cell phones much better, whereas the 2022 pockets have a slanted pocket opening that l... Read Moreeaves an exposed triangle; and (2) 2021 pockets were way deeper. I *much* prefer the 2021 pockets, as at least one other reviewer has noted. Otherwise, the 2022 version seems good! Originally bought my 2021 pair for a kayaking/camping trip, and it did the job beautifully - sturdy but also flexible, and very quick-dry. Now, I wear it everywhere to do everything, including on summer walks to the beach, where I continue to benefit from the quick-dry action when I wade too deep into (or get caught unawares by!) the waves. Looks like my new 2022 pair are about the same, except the pockets. Please bring back the 2021 pocket design! :)

August 26, 2022

Great Shorts! Sizing was strange.

I love the color and the fit; they are so comfy! my favorite non-denim summer shorts. I wear them casually but also for bicycling, hiking, and paddleboarding. I haven't gone swimming in them yet so can't comment on how they feel in the water or the drying time. They're very breathable and great for keeping cool. The biggest downsid... Read Moree of these shorts is the variation in fit between different colors. I've never owned baggies before so i went to my local patagonia shop to try on the different lengths and find my size, but i knew i wanted Fresh Teal. The 2in baggies in Fresh Teal (size Medium) fit well but since there is no inner lining when you sit cross-legged your underwear is visible up the leg holes! The shop didn't have the 5in in Fresh Teal so i tried on the mediums in black - and they wouldn't fit over my hips. None of the black pairs in medium would fit over my hips. I moved up to a large in black and they were too big! so, i grabbed a different color (sunshine dye: current blue) and the mediums fit me perfectly. I tried on the tidepool blue in medium just to see and they fit me differently than both of the other colors. It was very surprising and made me worried to order my color online without trying it on first. I had low expectations when i ordered but thankfully they fit when they arrived! I would also appreciate a butt pocket like the men's baggies have.

August 25, 2022

Best Hybrid Shorts

I use them for everything. They are quick dry, durable, and cute! They have that baggie look, hence the name, with a synch waist. I pair them with a tight shirt, loose shirt (tuck the front, or a crop top. They are part of my weekend summer uniform!

August 23, 2022

Dont go with the black

I have these in two colors. The orange feel incredible and so comfortable. The black has a weird stiff fit, seems more meant for a males body than a female. My friend has the exact issue with the black but loved the turquoise one. Will try and return if possible. Dont order online, try it on at the store first. The orange is amazing.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2022

Hey Jen, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. This sounds like a very unusual situation, and potentially something we need to look into with quality control. We've emailed you to gather more info, thanks for bringing it to our attention!

August 23, 2022

Great shorts!

Very comfortable shorts, nice and cool for my outdoor work!

August 17, 2022

Too much room at top

These had a strange fit and I needed to return. They fit my muscular thighs, but there was too much poof in the lower abdomen area. Not flattering.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2022

Hi Rachel! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving fit for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

August 16, 2022

Don't fit or feel like classic baggies

I am bummed that Patagonia has changed perfection with its Baggies. I have several dating back many decades and cannot understand why they don't just dig up those old patterns and make them like they used to be. They were actually baggy, allowing a lot of movement and comfort and the inner waistband was covered with fabric instead of bare elas... Read Moretic which was much more comfortable on my skin. The baggies I tried on this year were tight in the rear end and hips but when I sized up, they were giant with a weird shape. Patagonia, I beg, beg, beg you to go back in your archives and reproduce the true, classic baggies!! My baggies from back in the day are still my fave shorts and going strong. Please especially consider having a fabric wrapped interior waistline as it is so much more comfortable for those of us with sensitive skin!! BRING BACK THE CLASSIC BAGGIES!!

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2022

We're sorry for the disappointing fit of our most recent Baggies redesign. Our product designers will take your feedback into account for future plans. You might prefer our [Outdoor Everyday Shorts, Tech Shorts or our Nine Trails 6" Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-shorts). We will be happy to help you with a return, or exchange so please don't hesitate to reach out to us!

August 14, 2022

Comfortable

Very comfortable. Super lightweight and still looks professional. Would recommend even though slightly more expensive. Looking to purchase more!

August 14, 2022

Nicely made

Very sturdy and well made. A little snug to pull on. Good for my long walks.

August 14, 2022

So sad the design changed

I bought three pairs of baggies last year and was so excited to buy two more this year. Sadly, the cut has changed so much that I had to return these shorts. I was expecting the shorts from last year that had good sized pockets that ran parallel to the side seam. The fabric had changed, which I don't really mind, but the cut changed as well. T... Read Morehere appears to be extra fabric in the front that poofs out and makes an unsightly bulge and the pockets are not nearly as big as previous iterations, which was another bad change. I tried different sizes and also tried the mens baggies but none fit right. I had to get a full refund. Please, please, please return to the previous fit; it was so much better.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2022

We always hope we are making our products better when we try something new. We're truly sorry to hear that we missed the mark on our revised Women's Baggies Shorts - 5. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding your returns. Thank you so much for your feedback.

August 13, 2022

Comfortable

Wear these shorts daily, perfect causal wear or to work depending on line of work. Great fishing shorts, overall good product!

August 12, 2022

Cool shorts

I love my baggies. At first I purchased the size L because other reviews said they run small. But for me they are true to size. I returned the L and got the Medium. I really love my baggies. I plan to order more soon.

August 11, 2022

Great shorts

Daughter loves these shorts - she is a college freshman and wears them for hikes and everyday activities. Great quality, fit and style - iconic Patagonia!

August 10, 2022

Favorite shorts

I love this shorts! Very comfortable and perfect in humid weather. Besides running in these shorts I use it when playing tennis. Pockets are perfect for holding a tennis ball.

August 10, 2022

Baggies are the best.30 years

Baggies are the best.30 years of buying them.

August 8, 2022

Great shorts!

I'm not a huge shorts fan -- hard to find the right length/waistband ratio, and the fabric has to be just right. These shorts tick all the boxes for me -- great length, adjustable drawstring waistband, a whole host of cute colors -- quick drying, comfortable and perfect for pretty much anything you're doing -- hiking, running, climbing, s... Read Morewimming, paddling, etc. Get these shorts!

August 5, 2022

Well, I am in my

Well, I am in my 6th decade and not like I used to be 30 years ago and that is true for the shorts I bought. Sizing is not the same and a different fabric. I need a new set of shorts so I will keep them. Thank you for packing with paper that can be recycled or safely reused.

August 5, 2022

Sizing a little weird

I have purchased these shorts for many years, and I have a lot of them. But I found the sizing a little funky. One size sort of too big/off, sized down and definitely too small. Still love these baggies, and yes, they are a little baggy.

August 1, 2022

Runs small

I definitely don't agree with the size guide for something that is supposed to be a loose fitting short. According to the size guide, I would wear a medium, meanwhile the large was too tight on me, so I bought an XL. The XL fits me how shorts called "baggies" should. I should note that I do have a size 8/10 waist and size 12/14 thigh... Read Mores, which sometimes accounts for me having to size up one size, but not two, so I do think they run at least one size small. I do wish the waist tie cinched a bit more, given my waist to thigh size ratio. When I am walking a lot they do ride up a bit in the thigh area and have to be pulled down occasionally to prevent chafing, although I realize that might be more due to my body type rather than the shorts themselves. Other than that️, I am very happy with these! They were comfortable to wear walking around all day during the heat wave that just happened in Seattle. I bought the bright light orange color, which is a really cheerful and fun nod to the 80s/90s. I wouldn't exactly call these shorts "flattering," on me, but that's not the reason I bought them, so I don't care. They're very functional and I think they're also fun.

July 28, 2022

New favorite shorts!

I have really enjoyed these shorts, they are a perfect length and super comfy.

July 28, 2022

*Almost* the perfect short

I bought the navy and camel colors. I love how they look on. The length is perfect, not too long not too short. They even have a key loop in the right pocket (my favorite part)! They are extremely comfortable as long as you don't put anything in the pockets. Putting a phone in the pocket has proven to pull the shorts up into the crotch in a ve... Read Morery uncomfortable way as I walk or bend down. Problem would probably be solved with a slightly larger pocket. Other than that, I would highly recomend.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2022

Hi Maya, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pockets. That said, feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll share this with our design team!

July 26, 2022

Too short a rise.

The fit us too short in the rise. Love the shorts but to size up they would be too big through the hips. I have the same problem with the sweaters - not long enough. Please make clothes for average to taller people!

July 24, 2022

First time trying Baggies

I haven't seen many reviews from those who bought larger sizes, so wanted to add my two cents. I was hesitant to try these as I'm a 16-20 (240 lbs, 52 inch hip) and am often sized out of conventional brands, but I needed a pair of casual shorts that weren't jeans. I bought a XXL and I'm happy with the fit. They were a little tig... Read Moreht in the hips when I first tried them on, but they loosened as I wore them. There is a bit of an a-line feel to them overall (tighter at the hip then the legs kind of flair out), but overall they're comfortable and fit well on me. I wouldn't size up even if it was offered. It would be great to see Patagonia commit to extending their sizing because everyone, regardless of their size, deserves well-made and environmentally responsible outdoor apparel.

July 23, 2022

Dislike the New Fit

I agree with many of the reviews. These were the perfect all around outdoor hiking short. My go to for years. The new fit is tight in butt and straight up and down. They are uncomfortable when hiking and sitting. I love the color but Im unhappy with the fit.

July 23, 2022

I love those shorts any

I love those shorts any time but especially when kayaking.

July 21, 2022

"Fitted Baggies" is better term for these

I LIVE in these shorts in the summer and have 4 pairs from previous years. This year's iteration is tighter in the rear end so the legs of the shorts feel a little restrictive when bending over, taking a big stride, etc. I wear these for everything from trail running to hiking to running errands. I wore this new version on a super hot, humid l... Read Moreong trail run today and I couldn't quite get comfortable with them - the inseam hangs a tad low and the reduced space in the back just felt weird. The shorts used to have a back yoke, which provides a better fit. Not sure why they changed something that was working. I won't notice the slightly smaller sizing when I'm coaching or out for a walk, but I will probably reach for an older pair for runs.

Response from Patagonia
July 25, 2022

Hi Anne, thank you for sharing this feedback. If that fit becomes a deal breaker please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

July 21, 2022

Best Shorts for Anything

I adore these shorts--exactly the loose, light, versatile piece I was looking for. I wear them for ultimate frisbee, climbing, and at my bakery's stand at the farmers market. Love them to bits, and I can't wait to buy more pairs.

July 17, 2022

Super comfy but small around the hips

I absolutely love this fabric & short. I did not give it 5 starts because it fits me a bit snug around the hip area (size L) and the XL fits me to big at the waist. Overall I would still wear them they are still comfy and they are great for the summer.

Response from Patagonia
July 20, 2022

Thanks for the review, Jacqueline! You may prefer the "relaxed" fit of our [Everyday Short](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-outdoor-everyday-shorts/57455.html), which uses the same fabric as our Baggies.

July 17, 2022

Prefer these over the mens version

Ill be completely honest, I wear these as a guy. I prefer the women's baggies over the mens for a few reasons. 1. No liner 2. Despite both being listed as a 5inch inseam, the womens version are shorter (I wish Patagonia would make a 3-4 inch inseam for mens shorts) 3. Mens baggies have an obnoxiously visible pocket stitching down the entire ... Read Morelength of the shorts since the pockets are so deep where the womens shorts have a plain smooth front 4. They aren't as baggy and don't flare out as much as the mens version do The ONLY thing the women's version could use is a back pocket

July 16, 2022

I really like the Women's

I really like the Women's Baggie 5". I prefer the shorts that have a design as compared to the solid color ones. This year I was disappointed with the design patterns on the WB 5". I prefer bright colors and fun patterns that you have offered in previous years...would love to see those types of designs again : ) The shorts are very d... Read Moreurable and hold up well after several years...I love them. Thank you.

July 14, 2022

New pattern and don't fit the same

Baggies are my favorite shorts. I wear them all the time but I am sad because the new pattern is so different that I can't wear them anymore. The back yoke has been removed as well as the gusset and separate waste band. These cause some serious fit differences. I am disappointed because these all seem like things that cut corners to make prod... Read Moreuction cheaper, which I never thought I would have to worry about with Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Hi Sophie, we're sorry to hear these revisions haven't worked for your needs! Thank you for this feedback. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we'll contact you about returning them, if you wish.

July 14, 2022

Not as good as they use to be.

I have always absolutely loved these shorts. So much so, that I ordered 4 new pairs this season - expecting more of the same, only better. Unfortunately, the changes they made have in fact made them less comfortable. The new material rides up easier and causes more sweating. The pockets show the white lining at certain angles due to what I assume w... Read Moreas an attempt to reduce materials. The lining of the pockets is much less durable. I have a pair of these shorts that Ive had for over 8 years and aside from some fading from frequent outdoor wear - they look brand new. I highly doubt these new ones will hold up half that long. Hope they go back to previous years quality next season - otherwise this will be my last purchase of these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Brittani. This feedback is very helpful to both other customers and to our product designers for future development. We're so sorry the revisions to these shorts were a disappointment! We'll reach out to you about some options.

July 14, 2022

Super Comfortable and Nice Looking

These shorts are super comfortable and are casual dressy looking, which is why I love them.

July 14, 2022

Love the new cut!

Thank you for changing the cut of the baggies pattern. It fits so much better with the higher rise. I have a pair from spring of 2021 for comparison. I wish there were more color and pattern options - most were sold out. Also thank you for your commitment to environmental and social responsibility. I'm happy to wear recycled fishing nets. :)

Response from Patagonia
July 18, 2022

Hi Teresa, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Great news, we'll be getting new colors in for the Women's Baggies on November 21st, 2022. Please be aware that this date is tentative, but be sure to check back in with us then.

July 12, 2022

ruined a classic

What the heck, Patagonia??? Why did you change perfection? I've been wearing these shorts for 25 years, since I was a teenager, and the redesign has ruined them. They are now too high waisted (the old ones already hit at my natural waist, and I'm long waisted...the new ones are just ridiculous), tight in the butt, and straight up and down... Read More. One of my favorite things about the old Baggies were the loose legs that let the air flow and gave amazing range of motion. Now these are just like any generic, mediocre shorts you can pick up at any store. Luckily I was able to find some of the old cut on other websites and am stocking up, but please bring back the classic cut that worked for decades!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

Hi Skye! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes we've made throughout the years. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 11, 2022

Quick drying

I'm mostly just happy Patagonia is making larger sizes in a wider range for women. Keep it up!

July 11, 2022

best thing ever

cute color, nice fits, impeccable material. i wear it all the time, basically live in it. what i love about it is because it goes with every style and gives me so much comfort. from city to outdoors, you can see me wearing it everywhere. infinite love for baggies <3

July 11, 2022

baggie smalls

Usually a medium in Pat bottoms but sized up because this version is somewhat unforgiving if you've got glutes. Wore them every day on a week long SUP trip. Love the deep front pockets. Use the sewn-in elastic band in the right pocket for my key clip. A classic summer basic and highly functional in great colors.

July 9, 2022

Love these shorts!

Baggies are the perfect shorts-light weight, fast drying, with pockets, and fun touches like the inside waist elastic matching the color of the shorts. Would not change anything about these shorts.

July 9, 2022

Very comfy

I tend to prioritize comfort in my clothing choices, and these shorts are exactly that. I appreciate the length. I weigh about 120 and am 5 5, and the small was a perfect fit for me

July 9, 2022

Inaccurate colors and using a new pattern?

I ordered two new pairs, but was quite disappointed by the changes made to the pockets - they seem significantly shallower and were made out of a mesh material rather than the same fabric as the shorts themselves (like all my previous pairs of baggies are). Additionally, I found that neither the sumac red or dark camel colors were true to the photo... Read Mores, the red was quite a bit more orange than expected and the tan was noticeably lighter than the color shown. I hope these changes to the pockets especially are reconsidered and maybe I'll try again next year, but this season's colors/design unfortunately just isn't it for me.

July 5, 2022

Great Everyday Shorts

I bought a couple pairs of these for m'lady as casual shorts in the summer because she works at an outdoor venue in the humid NC heat. The solid earth tone colors are nonchalant enough to get away with in her semi-casual work environment, and they've turned into her go-to shorts for every warm weather activity.

July 4, 2022

Love these shorts!

They fit perfectly and look great. The fabric seems extremely durable. Love the side pockets. Based on the quality, I expect to wear these for years.

July 4, 2022

Great outdoor shorts

Great for outdoor activities. The only issue is it fits great through the thighs, however its little difficult to pull on as the waist doesn't have much give. My daughter had the same issue and is 10 pounds lighter than me. Her friends complain about the same thing. Would be great if the waist is slighter bigger.

July 3, 2022

Great over the bathing suit

Great over the bathing suit beach walking shorts! Looked everywhere for shorts with big pockets- gotta take the phone! Love these!!! Now have 4 pair!

June 30, 2022

Perfect length - fit depends on body proportions

5in shorts are perfect - still feminine, but don&#x27;t ride up. I tried on several colors and noticed some minor size differences among them (not dramatic, I was able to pull them all on, but since my butt and waist juuuust fit the medium, it was definitely noticeable). The black run smaller than the others enough so that I would need to size up b... Read Moreecause they were mashing my butt, and I checked this by trying two different pairs. Overall, the amount of space you need in the butt and waist will determine what size you get, I think, and if you're on the edge of sizing, they offer no stretch but the size guide is pretty accurate. The leg holes are plenty roomie and that's coming from someone with fairly athletic legs. I tried on a L and the legs were too baggy. In order of small to big, all size M: - black - pink - teal - orange/royal blue/navy blue (all about the same) - blue pattern (noticeably a little roomier in the butt, not so much so that I'd change sizes though)

June 30, 2022

Perfect for every activity

I truly LOVE these shorts and wear them several times a week. They are so comfortable and work for every summer endeavor. The higher rise waist and 5&quot; inseam is even bike friendly, I wear them over a liner when I am riding and they never fail. They are truly quick to dry and unlike some performance fabrics don&#x27;t compromise against the ski... Read Moren comfort.

June 30, 2022

Colors are beautiful. Fit is

Colors are beautiful. Fit is very comfortable (I like clothes loose). I love all Patagonia clothing I have purchased and I wear them frequently

June 25, 2022

Love the color and fit

The fabric is great as well. Very happy with my purchase. In fact I bought another pair!

June 24, 2022

Great quality, 0 stretch

I&#x27;m a big fan of these shorts overall. I was worried the inseam might be too long (nope, it&#x27;s perfect) and the color would be too wild (sumac red is a great balance and works as a neutral!). My only gripe is the lack of stretch. The length, waist, and width around my legs is perfect. They&#x27;re just a touch too tight around the hips/but... Read Moret on my athletic/curvy build. If you're unsure on sizes, I'd go up just for the fact they aren't forgiving as the fabric has 0 stretch to it.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

Hi Abby, we're so sorry to hear about the fit issue with the Baggies. If you find the constriction at the waist too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

June 23, 2022

Great, utilitarian, but runs very small

The waist is okay, but the butt is really tight. Grabbing it in one size larger after trying to manage with them. But otherwise, great, versatile shorts.

June 21, 2022

telegraphs casual

Buy BIG for ultimate casual elan. I wear them to the market and walking 7 am East River loops. I'm 64, and living my best life summer-to-summer, smile-to-smile.

June 21, 2022

Best cut in years!

I work in outdoor education/wildlife biology so I live out of Patagonia Baggies for 3/4 of the year and I typically buy one or two new pairs every summer to keep the rotation fresh. I can say with enthusiasm that the cut of the short this year is superior to the past 4 years at least. Even bloated, there is no uncomfort pulling on, and wearing thes... Read Moree shorts. The netplus fabric is also sturdy but lightweight and feels really good (almost silky), dare I say BETTER, than ever. I really hope someone can pass on my enthusiasm and love to the design team on this one. I am such a happy camper and I cannot wait to wear the green and khaki colors not only in the field but also in semi professional outdoor ed settings. We have BAGGIES that are BAGGY again!!

June 20, 2022

Great Shorts-if you buy 2 sizes too big

I love the material and utilitarian style of these shorts! They&#x27;re lightweight, quick to dry, and virtually indestructible. HOWEVER, the fit is odd and they run very, very small. I normally wear a small or a medium in shorts. I had to buy a large in these. Getting them on was a struggle with the mediums, and once on they fit perfectly in the w... Read Moreaist but felt like they were cutting my butt in half. This caused the material across my hips and butt to pull, and made it difficult to even put my hands in the pockets. I couldn't imagine wearing them around the house, much less hike! I ended up with the large which is enormous in the waist, but fits in the baggy style around my hips, butt, and legs which is what I wanted. I have a muscular butt and thighs, so if you're of a similar build, size way up. For comparison, the large baggies are the same size as a small pair of shorts from Mountain Hardware in the hips and butt. These are definitely shorts you need to try on in the store, and you should expect to size up. For reference, Im 5 ft 3in tall, and I weigh 135lbs.

June 19, 2022

I love these shorts. I

I love these shorts. I have 5 pairs now. I bought the most recent pair to support your efforts cleaning up fishing net. I love the orange color. I saw a comment from a woman wishing there were both 5 inch and 7 inch length for women. I agree.

June 18, 2022

great length and fit. Just

great length and fit. Just the right amount of roominess. Love the rust color. And light weight enough for our hot humid summers

June 17, 2022

Truly so much better than I thought

To be honest, I wasnt expecting much. Im a larger body who loves a company with good values. So I always so badly want to support, but cant always get what I want, in my size. I went on a limb to order these after reading some iffy reviews about fit &amp; size. As a woman with a wider stomach, these are so forgiving. I range btwn a 14-18 &amp; I lo... Read Moreve them. They are SO comfy & in this 100+ heat, I feel like Im wearing nothing! Sadly, if you were bigger than me, its probably a no-go. So I really hope Patagonia does the work to make these & all their products accessible to those existing in larger bodies!

June 16, 2022

Great short for certain body types

I lived in my size M baggies last summer, but since then I have been lifting weights regularly so I decided to size up to have a looser fit. The size up in the L was too loose in the waist, but the size down in the M did not have enough give. I think you are a narrow or more boyish build with minimal curves or bulkier muscles these will work, but o... Read Morether wise they should work on making the short a little more A-line with a more adjustable waist. Big fan of Patagonia!

June 15, 2022

What did you do to the fit.

Let me start off by saying I live in baggies all summer. I have 17 pairs in rotation so I know what I am dealing with. The cut of the pair I got this season is way off the mark. I agree with the other reviewers who said they are just too poofy in some areas. This size large is way off and wish you would go back to the past cuts and get them back to... Read More their glory days when right out off the shelf they were fine. Please adjust the cuts back to a bit more fitted size. Thanks!!

Response from Patagonia
June 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Missie. We're sorry to hear this revised fit doesn't work for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we'll be happy to help you return them. We will reach out to you about returning them to us.

June 12, 2022

Sizing is still off

Purchased 4 medium pairs. First pair fit great so I took the tags off and was excited to wear the rest come to find that the other colors dont fit the same and are too small! So now I have a couple pairs that I cant return and cant wear. I went to a local store that had L just to try it on, and it was too big but the draw string helps. Its better t... Read Morehan before, but these shorts still arent made for small waist, big butt women.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

Hi Nicole, thank you for sharing this review. We're so sorry to hear some of those shorts aren't fitting you! You can absolutely return them to us! We will reach out to you to help.

June 12, 2022

The cuts gone weird

Do I already have three pairs of Baggies? I do. Did I attempt to buy more because this season has two new colors that I love? I did. Unfortunately, I wont be getting either color because I cant deal with this new cut. I ordered a large because thats what worked for me the last time I bought Baggies (my oldest pair are a medium, and they fit fine, o... Read Moreddly). This time I ordered large again and they were too big throughoutwaist, hips all of it. I went in to the store near me to try on the mediums and they fit so weirdfine in the waist, but snug around the hips and butt. The effect was a little poofy pouch of fabric right where you wouldnt want one. Yikes and a hard no. Im baffled why theres been so much tinkering with the cut of these classics. If they just fit like my old mediums, Id have bought them again in a heartbeat. Might want to go back to the archives to rework these, Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear the revision of our Women's Baggies Shorts - 5" missed the mark. We like to hope that our revisions take a step forward in progress but the adjustments can make it difficult for those who are used to the previous model. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We thank you for your feedback and have passed your feedback along to our Design Team.

June 1, 2022

Favorite shorts

Im a fishing guide and work in these regularly in the summer. Perfect for wet-wading, the pockets drain quick and material dries quickly. Comfortable, practical, and cute!

May 26, 2022

Best ever

I am 70 plus years old. Been wearing Baggies forever. I wear them to exercise in the morning and frequently for the rest of the day. Deep pockets for my phone and gardening tools - and totally comfortable.

May 25, 2022

Beautiful colors and pattern

Beautiful colors and pattern. I bought a size too big but I am keeping them anyway because I like them so much

May 25, 2022

Durable

These shorts are the most comfortable and durable shorts! Ive had them for many years and keep buying new pairs. They are a great and modest length and they come in so many fun colors. You can swim, hike, work, etc in them and they never wear out or get damaged.

May 25, 2022

My "go to" shorts!

Tough, comfortable, multitasking shorts. Have so many colors of the baggies. I have been adding for several years. There are no cons to the shorts I love every thing about them. They can go anywhere, do anything. Probably would fit in a small. but they're baggies RIGHT? !!

May 21, 2022

Classic favorite

I love the classic baggies. My summer short I reach for again and again. Super comfortable and the print design is fun

May 18, 2022

Great shorts!

These shorts are great. The colors rock, they're the perfect length, and they're a great fit! Just be sure to follow the recommendations on the size chart for your measurements. I originally ordered the small and after trying them on I exchanged for the XS. Turns out the size chart was correct (shocking, lol). Get them!

May 16, 2022

Super cute but sizing is off

Fits perfect on the waist but really tight across the hips, butt, and thighs. I wouldnt even describe myself as particularly curvy, but if you are anywhere near hourglass shaped, Id really suggest sizing up.

May 13, 2022

Love!

These are really cute and flattering. The quality is great and I love the higher rise and pockets. 5'4" 130 lbs (athletic build) and the S fits perfectly.

May 11, 2022

So Impressed!

I finally decided to invest in two pairs of these shorts after being envious of all the people Ive seen rocking these! Im so impressed with the fit. Ive been searching for shorts that I feel comfortable in and these are definitely it. The 5 inch offers a bit of a higher waist without minimizing the length, and they arent tight to your thighs and un... Read Moreflattering. Love them!

May 10, 2022

every day, all day

I have been wearing baggies for 35 years, could it be. Now that I live in Hawaii, I wear them every day all day. Can I give a better review than that? But let me ask you, would you consider a third version with a couple more inches of length so I may wear them into my 70ies ?

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Gemma. We're so glad they're still a hit for you! Our product design team reads these reviews, so your suggestion for a longer length will be heard.

May 6, 2022

Love them!

I so love the new feel and fit of the baggies!

May 4, 2022

Super Comfy

Very comfortable. Unexpectedly comfortable. I have been wearing them every other day (after washing) this week. Great for hiking, lounging, and walking the dogs.

May 3, 2022

Favorite shorts

These are my favorite shorts by far. I got the new split color and I absolutely love the color way, 2 of my favorite colors. These shorts fit baggy in your normal size which is amazing and are lightweight, breathable and fast drying, plus look great on!

April 29, 2022

Great color

Love these short. The orange is a great color. Fit is great. The length is perfect. Not too short and not too long. I am buying another pair in a different color.

April 27, 2022

MY FAVORITE SHORTS EVER

I absolutely love these shorts. I own 5 pairs in different colors. These are my everyday shorts that I can wear doing anything. I wear these shorts sailing and working all day in the sun and they are still in great condition years later. I cannot reccomend these enough.

April 26, 2022

Love Them!

I already had one pair of Patagonia Barely Baggies - these are my first full-length baggies and I LOVE them. I think this length is better because you can wear them high-wasted or roll them down if you prefer them a bit shorter. The colors are great, too. These look like retro Patagonia styles & feel super high quality too.

April 25, 2022

Fantastic Update

I own the previous version of the women&#x27;s 5&quot; Baggies and I love the fit update on this redesign. I&#x27;ve always felt it was a little tight to pull the old style over my hips and that the elastic was a little constricting. I find the new style is so much more comfortable to take on and off and the elastic seems lighter and much better. T... Read Morehey're a great short made even better by the fit updates and would recommend them in a heartbeat.

April 20, 2022

Best shorts ever

Super comfortable, cool, and fast drying. I have several pairs and basically live in them all summer. Love the colorful print ones, but solids are also great. The 5 is a perfect length for me. They last like iron.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches