Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Cargo Shorts - 11"

Write Your Review

4.72 /5

Filter Reviews

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Cargo Shorts - 11"

4.72
True To Size
September 20, 2020

Solid Product!!!

Coming across Patagonia, I started to read more about the company. Really impressed with their mission, vision, and goals. I had never owned any Patagonia products in the past, but was intrigued by their cargo shorts. Always been a fan of cargo shorts and decided to give these a shot. Glad I did! Before purchased I read the various reviews. My take... Read More away is that they are a solid product. Comfortable. Great material. Solid warranty and guarantee. Love the fair trade initiative associated with the product and company. The pockets run deep, but deep enough to were things stay steadily in your pockets and you dont have to worry about anything falling out. No gripes at all. I do wish that there were more colors to choose from. But overall, a very solid product!!!

September 18, 2020

Best pair of shorts I own

I just love these shorts. There is a weight to the hemp you dont get with denim that makes it even nicer and would work great in Spring/Fall or where you have large swings in temperature.

September 17, 2020

Rugged work wear

This is the second pair I purchased.A little pricey for work but will last forever so totally worth it . Theres nothing that compares to the durability

September 16, 2020

Sturdy

I get the feeling these could last for many years. Most of my cargo shorts last one summer.

September 16, 2020

Awesome shorts

I bought these shorts for my husband. He lives in everything Patagonia. Need I say more? He loves them.

September 14, 2020

Heavy Duty

Runs very large. Heavy duty material. Would wear well in cooler weather. Well constructed. Made for serious hiking over rugged terrain.

September 14, 2020

Really Tough

I am hard on work clothes. Gardening is my free time consumer. These are the best work shorts I have owned. I am 6' and wish these were offered in a 10" inseam version

September 10, 2020

A Man's Cargo Short

But soft enough for a woman. This is a seriously well thought out and executed piece of kit. The fit is worthy of the name "Patagonia" (functional but not without style). The fabric is Robust (Like I Like it) and is a blend of mostly hemp which is a wise choice. Unless your looking for something on the thin (read labile) side that does no... Read Moret fit well then don't bother but If you are of opposite ilk then by all means...Bother !!

September 10, 2020

Heavy Duty

Great cargo shorts; iron forge fabric is heavy and abrasion resistant as you would expect; the cut is full. It appears they will not shrink in the wash. Use for just about anything! Very happy with these shorts.

September 9, 2020

Best shorts ever.

Best pair of shorts I own. Heavy duty, but dry quickly and don't wear heavy.

September 9, 2020

Lovem

Like these a lot, haven't taken them off since they came except to throw them in the wash. Run a little big, thought I'd be a 35 waist, which they unfortunately don't make , but lucky for me the 34s fit great, no need for a belt. Like the deep pockets, keeps things lower on my thigh so they don't bind up while squatting down or ... Read Morefalling out. Thanks for putting them on sale at the end of the season, being a blue collar guy I appreciate that! Love all my patagonia stuff cuz it's so well made, keep it up.

September 8, 2020

Super comfortable

Comfy. Practical. Wore them ten days straight camping.

September 8, 2020

Tough and comfortable

Deep pockets,rugged material fits well for work or pleasure.

September 7, 2020

Comfortable shorts

Great shorts a little long for me but not bad enough to keep me from wearing. Pockets are great plenty deep . A 1/2 liter water bottle fits easily in lower pockets. Would like different color selection.

September 6, 2020

Great Fit

Love the fit. Love the heft of these shorts. Love their functionality. Highly recommend these shorts for work, play, and leisure.

September 5, 2020

tough

I bought some of these shorts at an outlet, and they felt really heavy, but once you put them on, I fell in love with them. They have extremely tough fabric (both the pants and shorts) I own two pairs of pants, and two pairs of shorts. My absolute favorite. I get bummed when I have to wear anything else

September 5, 2020

Super rugged quality

My husband wears Patagonia everything! Hes been wearing these and the other pair I got him since he opened the shipping box. Thank you for such amazing quality. Hes a happy guy!

September 5, 2020

No Velcro, gotta love it

I love the fact Patagonia offers inch increments for waist sizes. I detest belts and am an odd number sized person. The fit and the fabric are just what I hoped for. The pocket flaps having no Velcro or other fasteners is great, the flap keeps the stuff in and the debris out. I will be buying more of these.

September 4, 2020

Iron Forge Shorts

I bought this for the super durability. I have a pair of the Iron Forge Pants that I use for tree climbing with topping trees on my property. The Iron Forge material wears much better that canvas duck.

September 3, 2020

Super warm

My only suggestion is to shorten the Mens cargo shorts to10 in. They are a little long. Othrewise they are perfect as designed!

September 3, 2020

Love 100% cotton

New style for me. Love quality & fabric. Will wear these often! Thank you.

September 2, 2020

Tough!!

Very tough fabric yet still comfortable Fit true to size. NIce color

September 2, 2020

Your favorite work pants in shorts

These shorts are great. Deep front pockets to keep things from falling out. Side pockets perfect for dropping the tool in for quick retrieval. Back pockets for those tweener items that you need before you sit down. These shorts are meant to be worn and used just like the Workwear line.

September 1, 2020

Just right!

So strong, so comfortable, such useable pockets! And knowing they are made from organic cotton, recycled plastic and hemp in a workplace that takes workers rights seriously...just right!

August 31, 2020

Perfect shorts except the pockets

I absolutely love these shorts. Their quality is exceptional. They are heavy, but once theyre on it feels just like a sturdy pair of casual work shorts and you forget about the weight. My only complaint is the two front pockets are so tight you can barely get your hands in them. I usually carry a pocket knife clipped to the pocket as well and once ... Read MoreI slide my phone in the same pocket, its almost impossible to jam my hand into the unusually deep pocket to retrieve my phone. The quality overrides my complaint about the pockets so Im still more than happy with the shorts. Its hard to find shorts that are this sturdy yet still so comfortable. Ill most likely buy the other color at some point.

August 19, 2020

Built to last

These are my go to shorts for all outdoor work pursuits. Long enough to protect thighs and short enough not to bind up while kneeling. Tough fabric Has proven & insures that I will be getting many days out of these shorts. I tuck the side pocket flaps into the pockets for the ease of multiple access moments.

August 4, 2020

Favorite shorts

I wear shorts regulary 10 months out of the year in a humid tropical climate and I own 8 pairs total; two of them are these Forge Hemp Cargo Shorts. Now, I'd probably own more if they came in more than two colors. I don't hike with these as they are pretty heavy but I do like the heaviness of the material, the durability after a year and ... Read Morea half has been remarkable. They are long on my lean/athletic frame which is desirable, hang right down the mid point of my knees and as a result, creates the only problem with these shorts; the hand pockets are like black holes, hard to fetch items that squirrel down to the bottom of my pockets especially while sitting.

July 18, 2020

Too heavy.

These shorts are suitable for dry weather hiking, but these are too heavy for hiking in any place you might get wet.

July 14, 2020

Tons of room

I love the feel, look and weight. Wish they were a tad shorter in the leg but overall a great pair of shorts. I disagree with the pockets being too deep, I think they are just right!

July 14, 2020

Tough, with loads of space

Comfortable, plenty space for tools

July 13, 2020

Heavyweight

These are the heaviest shorts I have ever seen. I'm sure they will be with me for many years. Love the dark ash color. Pockets are deep and strong. I might like snaps or buttons on the cargo side pocket flaps, there are no fasteners.

July 10, 2020

Heavyweight

These are the heaviest shorts I have ever seen. I'm sure they will be with me for many years. Love the dark ash color. Pockets are deep and strong. I might like snaps or buttons on the cargo side pocket flaps, there are no fasteners.

June 25, 2020

Hemp shorts

Shorts are rugged. Will outlast me. Wish they came in 35 inch waist.

June 22, 2020

Good fit

Comfortable good to wear around only drawback is a little heavy

June 22, 2020

Heavyweight

First feel, these are heavyweight, really solid fabric. You probably won't be wearing them in hot weather. Also, the cargo and back pockets have no way to secure themselves, which I find a bit difficult. I put Kinda Large on the sizing, even that may be a slight exaggeration,; I think they're pretty close to what I'd expect as I&#x27... Read More;m between sizes and ordered up. I think I'll like them, but will probably have to wait until fall to find out.

June 21, 2020

Bomber comfort

These shorts are great. Rugged as hell, fits true to size, cargo pockets are capacious without being billowy. The pockets are deep, but unlike some reviewers here I've found no trouble getting in them and appreciate that change etc doesn't fall out when working (even in the occasional inverted position). The abrasion resistance of the mat... Read Moreerial is A++, yet through some voodoo manages to feel supple/comfortable/easy- to- move in. The only bad thing: limited colors (not to my taste, though I'll wear 'em anyway). Tighten up on that Patagonia, please!

June 18, 2020

Stoke shorts

I decided to get these shorts because, dammit I needed a pair of good shorts. It turns out they are so good, I havent washed them in the month that Ive had them. That means I wear them for everything casual wear, at work, for an impromptu adventure. They are Super burly, and damn comfortable. They are heavy duty, I dont think they would be my first... Read More choice for something where Im shaving ounces, but I expect to be wearing and enjoying these shorts for years to come. Yeah, totally worth it!!!

June 17, 2020

Durable

***Pros*** - Durable materials & construction that will last a super long time - Enough room to move freely - Comfortable - Accurate sizing - Nice looking...like the orange materials used inside that stand out ***Cons*** - Heavy, but expected - Front pockets a little deeper than expected

June 17, 2020

Super comfy, solid as a rock

I tried them on but held off for months before buying a pair of the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Cargo Shorts, thought thought they would be too burly and stiff for my tastes. I'm so glad I finally caved! This fabric is amazingly comfortable and they're durable as hell. The pockets are deep enough so your stuff is secure and the cargo pockets a... Read Morere great for holding a phone, tools, whatever. I literally wear these every day and just bought a second pair (in the other color). Just bombproof, I couldn't be happier. Patagonia did a great job with these!

May 25, 2020

Limited uses as with any short cargo pockets handy

Hopefully you have more technical gear as this is utilitarian through and through. I like the fabric and think the blend will hold up no matter what. As far as biking with these i think your skin would wear before the shorts so that's a no go. Got a pair of bike shorts here way lighter (these are heavy). If a pant these would be almost restric... Read Moretively heavy from a wardrobe standpoint. Best pair of shorts I've ever owned.

December 9, 2019

Front pockets too deep and too tight for easy access

The canvas feels stiff and hardy, and I'm sure it will soften with further wear. The waist is the size I ordered and fits my hips well, but I can't use the front pockets as I'd like to. The pockets are extremely deep, going almost all the way to my knees, but because the shorts are fitted to my hips, I can't easily access things... Read More I put in the front pockets. I have to be standing and wriggle my hand down my leg to access my keys or phone. I may actually end up trying to shorten the front pockets so they're actually usable. The lower pockets are roomy, and just fine. The main reason I bought these shorts was their fabric and fair trade workmanship, and the front pocket issue definitely doesn't override those benefits.

October 27, 2019

Great Cargo Shorts

Really like the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Cargo short. Purchased a pair in the olive before the summer and though the shorts are a bit heavy, they do breathe well. So i purchased a second pair in Khaki. Great for wearing on mild Autumn days as well.

October 20, 2019

Great Shorts

These cargo shorts are a nice color and feel durable yet comfortable. They fit great, and the pockets are crazy deep! Lots of room for storage, the pockets literally go probably twice as deep as my other cargo shorts.

October 13, 2019

Great Feel

My second pair of Forge Hemp shorts I love the feel and the way they ride on your hips etc. very easy to get into the pockets. Like the fact all the pockets are deep enough to prevent items from falling out without having to use buttons, Velcro etc.

September 25, 2019

Old school baggy cargos

Love them, hard to find toughness with worn in feel first time out. I have the work pants that ran a little small these are more in line with true to size fit

September 8, 2019

Comfy

Please make a hemp short with 6” or 7” length. After 16 surgeries I want to show off my knees!

August 17, 2019

Great fit, comfortable and indestructible

I like these enough that I bought a second pair. These are heavy duty and will last a long time.

August 12, 2019

New Favorite Short

All I wear all summer is cargo shorts. No reason to wear anything but in my opinion. Adding the Forge Hemp short to my collection is a plus. I’ve got two pairs of the pants and love the fit, and shorts also fit perfectly. The heavy weight fabric always looks fresh and never wrinkles so I can wear them to dinner without catching hell from my Wife to... Read More iron my shorts.

August 11, 2019

Great shorts

They aren't perfect but they are sturdy as you know what, comfy and they look good

August 11, 2019

One tough pair of shorts

I am impressed with these shorts. Tough, comfortable and feel like they will be around a while. My only complaint is they are a little hot for the hot humid Virginia summer we have had this year.

August 10, 2019

Hemp cargo shorts

The pants are very comfortable. It would help if the fabric was lighter

August 10, 2019

Go for the hemp

Iron Forge shorts: awesome. Will last forever; plenty of pockets; love the use of hemp; look cool too!

June 16, 2019

These are awesome pants

I’ve been buying Patagonia gear for years, so it’s a brand I really trust. I work for a roofing company and these shorts are great! The take plenty of abuse, I can move in these no problem, the extra long pockets fit a full hammer and everything else and the fit is great. Is it sad that I haven’t washed these in three weeks? To the design team, wel... Read Morel done!

May 8, 2019

Hemp Shorts

This is my second pair of Patagonia hemp shorts. I love them. I took my first pair to Europe last Fall and wore them for 16 days. They held-up great.

May 6, 2019

Great shorts but heavy!

Great feeling shorts, the fabric in wonderfully smooth. But the shorts are incredibly heavy, hence 4 stars.

December 15, 2018

“Rivets” fell off after 4 days

Way too pricey in light of poor durability

October 9, 2018

Long pockets

I own 3 pairs of the pants and decided to get a pair of the shorts for the warmer days. Love everything about the pants but for some reason the front right and left pockets are way longer. I can’t reach the bottom of the standing straight up and it’s a problem because I like to utilize those pockets. Everything else about these however are the same... Read More that I have found and are great!

June 18, 2018

Durable,comfortable,practical & lloks good,too!

Happened to be in Portland,Oregon for a family event and slipped into the downtown Patagonia store for a quick look. These caught my eye immediately: nice burly texture but not over-stiff,well-shaped,and not that shambly all over the place thing of so many cargo shorts. I'd been looking for something like this for a while -- need the extra poc... Read Morekets in the summer when my shirts are either pocketless or too thin to hold up to my everyday work carry (pocket notebooks,metal pens,mobile phone -- takes a heavy canvas shirt to handle these). And these do that job just beautifully. A perfect close to the body fit,yet with room to maneuver. The material blend is wonderful for holding shape,yet keeping cool enough (it's a humid 92 degrees out here in the midwest today and I feel fine with these shorts & a back step shirt). I have machine-washed and machine-dried these twice now (more to experiment -- cold wash & regular dry temp) and there has been NO shrinkage! I'm 6'3" & 192 lbs and got the 32" waist -- fits perfect,shorts come down to right at the top of my knee (so maybe longer for shorter people),not baggy but not tight either. These are the perfect work and hang-out short for the summer! I'm getting another pair to be set for the coming hot months.

June 5, 2018

Cargo shorts are the worst. But these are amazing

Okay,I like my hemp jacket from Patagonia but I think the really clever idea was in making cargo shorts out of this blend. It makes for cargo shorts that aren't baggy and terrible. They hold their shape but not stiffly like duck canvas. They breathe. They're tough as nails. They're... pretty cool cargo shorts. Leave it to Patagonia... Read More's R&D department to figure out how to make that one happen.

May 6, 2018

Lots of great things going for them

Pros -durable fabric -soft touch for canvas -deep pockets,both hand and cargo - long ,loose fit (my preference),not too baggy or narrow -no velcro (can't stand it) - feel of quality materials very apparent -felt breathable in warm weather Cons -very heavy,strange getting used to the weight -slight pilling on the fabric pretty quickly after ... Read More wearing I love these shorts. I think they will only get better with age. Other than the cons listed,I think these will be my go to cargo shorts for years to come,maybe decades,considering how burly these are... Fitment note: I do think the shorts fit on the baggie and long side,especially for Patagonia but the waist runs slightly small/ tight,in my opinion. I wear a 32 easy in the Patagonia board shorts but I ordered these in 33 and I am glad I did. Definitely not too loose in the waist. They hit slightly below the knee in length. I am 6ft 175lbs for reference...

April 11, 2018

Way nicer in person

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice they were when they came in the mail. They aren't kidding when they say the pockets are deep. Goes up to my elbow almost when I reach down to the bottom. Also they feel amazing. The fabric is crazy soft. I got these to wear to work cus I live in a warm climate and work outdoors. They feel tough enough to ... Read Moretake on alot of abuse so that's cool. Only issue I have with them,which isn't that big of a deal,is how heavy they are. These are seriously heavy shorts. I've never really held a pair of pants or shorts that are as heavy as these. They got alot of weight to them. And being so thick they might be warmer than,say,running shorts or something. But being shorts they're alot more comfortable to wear during hot months than pants that's for darn sure. So yeah. I give these 4 and a half out of five. Definetly buying another pair.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches