Back to Product

Patagonia Women's All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts - 8"

4.2/5
True To Size
September 13, 2021

Great Form & Function

I'll just say it: I love Patagonia! Quality of material is exceptional, craftmanship is impeccable and those pockets - damn! Form, function and yes, stylish. Best of all, I feel good supporting a company that does Good!

September 5, 2021

Sturdy shorts

Great hiking shorts. I traded in a shorter pair because I never wore them. These will be used.

September 4, 2021

Great shorts!

Really love the pocket detail in the back. Always wanting clothes with pockets. The hip area is slightly large for my body type, but overall fit is great.

September 4, 2021

Good gardening wear

Like the material, like the fit. I wish there were reinforced side "pockets" for secateurs (hand pruners), then they'd be perfect.

August 10, 2021

Practical shorts for pandemic times

The pockets are super roomy, and I have a giant wallet & smartphone that most shorts pockets don't accommodate. I saw other reviews commenting on not so flattering pockets BUT-- they will hold all your stuff securely while biking and walking around. Like you could handily use them to hold a 12 oz. bottle of water. The waist is cut a little... Read More narrow , which is always the case for me in patagonia clothing. However, my usual size 14 was really uncomfortable in the waist while the legs fit-- so the waist runs on the small side, at least as of 2021 season (and earlier). IMO they'd be great shorts for gardening too!

August 6, 2021

working shorts

I'm a late 50's gal with thicker waist at 5'6", 150lb, so size 12 shorts a a little loose in the hips, but easy to move in for house repair and yard, and for walks with the dog, neighborhood biking. Basically, once I'm off work, these go on and I'm moving. Tough fabric but not heavy with lot of deep pockets. Easy to w... Read Moreear in hot summer days. No fraying of the fabric seen. Washes great. Expect to wear for years.

July 28, 2021

Too-Thick fabric, tight, and uncomfortable.

I am 66 years old and have bought dozens of size 8 pants in my lifetime. These are not a size 8. These shorts, were stiff, tight, and uncomfortable and in my view, mis-sized.

July 28, 2021

Canvas shorts

I like the shorts, but they are a bit long and a bit wide in the leg. Granted, I have slim legs. I miss your stand-up shorts and would love to see them come back for women at something like a 6 inch length.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

We'll pass this along to our product designers. Thanks for your feedback on the fit and style of these shorts, Julie!

July 22, 2021

Serious shorts!

This fabric is tough...maybe a bit too tough for my everyday life, but I feel like I will have these for years to come. The fit was good and rides close to the body. Still, I wish they could give a little bit more. Very good for activities outdoors.

July 21, 2021

Comfortable for hiking

I wore these shorts while hiking in glacier national park this month. They are super comfortable and the pockets are ideal for storing things such as cellphones. I highly recommend it!

July 6, 2021

Great fit, great comfort,

These shorts are exactly what I have been looking for in casual wear shorts. They are a bit stiff, but the fabric does give, the pockets are deep & plentiful. But most of all, the length is exactly what I like. So many shorts are too short. These are a normal & comfortable length.

July 1, 2021

Comfortable

I dont think the grommets on the pockets are a good idea. They may be fashionable but are just another thing to fail or get hooked on something. Stick with the old stand up shorts with the reinforced pockets that are sewn (tacked). I had to replace the first shorts I bought because having never been worn but washed before wearing, a grommet fell of... Read Moref. Not a positive feeling that the shorts are going to last.

Response from Patagonia
July 8, 2021

We're so sorry to hear you had an issue. Everything we make is backed by our Ironclad Guarantee and we'll always take care of you if the shorts fail. We'll pass along the feedback to our design team.

June 22, 2021

perfect fit!

great quality and size!

June 19, 2021

Usually love all Patagonia but not this

These shorts were very boxy and park ranger look alike...usually size 8 fits nicely but these were huge and loose. Kinda boxy and not feminine at all.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2021

Hi Cindy, we're sorry to hear that the Women's All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts - 8" we're as feminine as you had wanted them to be. We do have a different length in this short that may suite your needs better. You can find the Women's All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts - 5" [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-all-seasons-hemp-canvas-shorts-5-inch/57096.html?dwvar_57096_color=SNBL).

June 18, 2021

Run larger

I love the quality of these shorts. They are a high waist and run larger than other items I have bought. I did return 1 of the 2 pairs I bought.

June 15, 2021

Patagonia Women's All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts - 8"

Very practical apparel - deep pockets front/sides.

May 29, 2021

Good shorts but fabric is already wearing out

These shorts fit me well, but the material isn't very durable. The fabric is already starting to fray and look discolored, even though I've only worn them a couple times. I was hoping for something more sturdy.

Response from Patagonia
June 1, 2021

We are so sorry to hear about the fraying and discoloration, Mercedes. We certainly expect more from our product and encourage you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back. We'd be happy to get you an exchange or refund.

May 19, 2021

Just right

Im always careful about shorts. These are 100%: fit perfect, great weight and fabric, perfect length, color which will pretty much go with anything. Bravo, Patagonia! I look forward to many happy summers in these.

May 11, 2021

Great shorts

These shorts are wonderful to wear out and about around town and working on the farm.

April 18, 2021

Not For Curvy Chicas!

I really wanted these to work for summer hours working in Parks and Rec in AZ. I have the hemp overalls thats I love. The 6's were so tight I could barely get them on, the 8's were still tight on my thighs but gapping horribly in the back. For reference I am 5'6" and 150lbs with most of my weight in my butt and thighs, with a sm... Read Moreall waist. The stand up crops fit me perfectly in a 6. Finding athletic attire with a small waist is a huge ordeal.

April 6, 2021

Awesome Shorts - Thumbs Jump for me

I read some of the review and was not sure at first what size to get so I order my size and a size up. The shorts are true to size. I love the pockets in this shorts. They are very versatile. In fact, I bought another pair in a different color. I wore them while traveling. The shorts are very comfortable and because of the number of pockets, I was ... Read Moreable to put varies things in my pockets, ids, cell phones, coins without any worries.

April 4, 2021

Durable fabric, funky back pockets

Im 5 feet tall, and about 120 pounds. I have a long torso; my hips are somewhat slim, but I have wider than average thighs. I normally wear size 26 pants so I chose the size 2 shorts and they fit me pretty great. I love the green color. The only drawback was the odd back pocket design, which look like front pockets (I dont really want to look like ... Read MoreIm wearing my shorts backwards). Though all the pockets are deep and overall very comfy. Would recommend.

April 3, 2021

Durable hemp work short

I work outdoor maintenance and ordered this short for summer work. The fabric seems durable. The pockets, inseam length, and higher waist seem practical and functional for active use. I initially ordered a 10, a size that I do wear in Patagonia (typically M/8-10), however, it was fuller in the fit. I exchanged the 10 for an 8 which fits better and ... Read Moreeliminated the fullness. Could use a bit more space in the waist but anticipate that the hemp/cotton will stretch a bit in humid weather so should fit just right. We shall see.

April 1, 2021

High rise way too high

The high rise was way too high! It pinched my belly every time I bent. I really wanted to love it b/c the material is sustainable and so soft, but I just couldn't. Please make it midrise. The world needs more hemp and sustainable clothing in workwear.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Hi Melodie, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that the rise is uncomfortable for you. We've passed your feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly working to improve the style and fit of our products. Of course, if you are not sold on these, you can absolutely [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us under our warranty.

March 12, 2021

Very Durable

The shorts were too small, even though I bought the right size. I returned them without a problem.

February 24, 2021

Well Made & Deep Pockets

I love these shorts. They are comfortable and excellent for hiking. The pockets are deep and the fabric and stitching very well made. These shorts will last a long time. I highly recommend.

January 29, 2021

Super comfortable and thoughtful

These are very comfortable. Ive had to return them because the size I ordered was too big. Im not a big fan of the curved pockets and when I walk the front inseam rides up, but this could be fixed with a smaller size? Because of how good these feel Im now looking into buying some other hemp products from Patagonia.

October 31, 2020

I tried to make these work

And for the right body type they'd be very flattering. I went with a size 12 because I wear a W31 in jeans (which is actually not a big size). Using Patagonia's size chart a W31 translates to an L (size 12). I'm a fit althletic type and usually wear men's slim jeans because they fit me well. Note that I do not have an hourglass ... Read Morefigure ! I tried to like these shorts (which I optimistically purchased in both colors) but they looked like grandpa's shorts on me. The waist size fit perfectly but I lack the booty and voluptuous body to fill these shorts in. I wore the mustard color around for a day then had someone take a pic of me to post on Instagram. When I saw the pic I realized that this style simply doesn't work for me. I'm 5'1, 140 lbs and have a stocky but lean boyish body. But pay close attention to the model for these shorts ! She's got a small waist and a big shapely butt. That's exactly the kind of body you need to make these shorts work. Also I don't think these are particularly flattering on short people. So I ended up returning both pairs this morning. This is the first time that Patagonia didn't work out for me !

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2020

Thanks so much for your detailed review! We're sorry they didn't work out, but all information you can provide regarding fit, sizing, fabric and your own measurements is incredibly helpful for our designers as well as other customers. Please let us know if you need any [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with products or returns!

September 10, 2020

Best shorts ever!

These are my new go-to shorts. The fabric is thick, comfortable, and doesnt require ironing. The length provides modestly for outdoor activities like gardening and hiking. Best of all, my large iPhone fits in one back pocket and my gardening shears in the other.

September 2, 2020

Poor design - right on top, baggy on bottom

I had really high hopes for these and plans to use them in the pottery studio. Theyre incredibly high waisted (to my belly button) with little give and make it incredibly uncomfortable (kind of unbearable) to sit down in. The legs were disproportionately baggy around my thighs. I really hope Patagonia can get their sizing/designs figured out for wo... Read Moremens wear. The material is good and sustainable and I support that.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that these missed the mark in some ways. If you decide you don't have use for them, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) those back.

September 2, 2020

Phenomenal construction and comfort

These feel like they will last until the trees I planet while wearing them are large enough to cast shade. Phenomenal construction and comfort after a wash or 2. They start out stiff.

September 1, 2020

Durable

I bought my first version of these shorts in 1997 and Im still wearing them so decided I needed a new pair. The new shorts are longer than my old ones and the fabric a little heavier weight. I love them and will probably wear them this Fall and Winter with a sweater (Texas heat). Same great fit and very durable, I expect they will outlive me!

August 4, 2020

Just what I was looking for!

I'd been envious of my husband's Patagonia shorts (which are similar to these) for ages - these are perfect! They are durable, well made, comfy, and have fabulous pockets. What more could you want?

August 2, 2020

Sturdy

I am a gardener and these shorts fit great with plenty of room to move. The large pockets are handy.

June 21, 2020

Great shorts

I got these for working in the garden. The pockets are deep and I like the fit.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts

I got these for working in the garden. The pockets are deep and I like the fit.

June 17, 2020

Durable !

This short is true to fit. The 8" inseam is great for a gal in her sixties !The hemp material is durable and should last a long time. I only wish it came in more color choices.

June 6, 2020

Wear them all the time

These shorts are terrific. I usually wear a 6 but went up a size for a loose-fitting fit which is very comfortable in my hot climate. The shorts are a heavy weight but they're breathable and feel light when wearing them. I have both colors and may order duplicates as they are my favorite shorts in many years.

September 28, 2019

I love the hemp but

I love the hemp but the back pockets are cut a little different so they're not as deep as most pockets and I'm always concerned about losing things

September 18, 2019

Stoked these fit great

Loved everything about these from the pic and so stoked they live up to it. The hemps definitely lighter/more breathable and softer than most. Fit great and love the look

September 12, 2019

Sizing is off

I bought these shorts to do a long bike tour in. Unfortunately, the sizing is off by a lot. I got a size 2, which I usually wear, but everything was huge. The fabric felt really soft but also very durable and the pockets are as deep and wonderful as they look online. I would recommend them if you can find your size.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 6, 2019

NOT EXPECTED!

I ordered the shorts from the web site. I am in Honolulu. I went topics up the shorts at the Patagonia store. I wear a size six in the Patagonia traveler shorts. ( Love them). The ' All Season" hemp shorts were extremely large in the size 6 and the material was dense and heavy. Not a fit for a warm climate. I returned them.

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We're sorry these didn't fit your needs! [Let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 1, 2019

Nice shorts, bit the sizing....

I have the Iron Forge Hemp work pants and thought these would be sized the same. They're not. These run way smaller. So that was a pain having to exchange size 10 for a 12. Regardless they are nice shorts. I'm 5'3" and they're a bit too long, but I roll them up and they're fine. And, like all Patagonia shorts/pants the... Read Morey're tight in the waist. I do really like the fabric and the utility. They're great summer work shorts -- mowing the lawn, spreading mulch, working on my car. Patagonia quality is always great.

August 17, 2019

love these

I love the fabric, and they fit similar to the stand up style, but slightly smaller. I have worn and washed them, and am sure that they will be in the class of a favourite! 5'9" 140lbs. size 6

August 15, 2019

Ws All Seasons Hemp Canvas Shorts

LOVE these shorts!! They are great for working in the garden and the dirt doesn't really show if I suddenly need to run an errand in the middle of it. The pockets are perfect for anything and everything, you don't need an addition belt to hold hand tools or whatever. Super handy, super cute and seriously durable.

August 15, 2019

Tougher than expected

They are definitely well made. For the right purpose they would be perfect but as a hiking short I felt they are too thick. They felt bulky and too heavy.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

I love these shorts. They are so well made and comfortable. They don't necessarily run small, but I always have to wear one size up with Patagonia clothes, so I just ordered a size up and they fit well. I would say they are not particularly flattering, but I like them so much, I don't care.

August 10, 2019

New gardening shorts

I love the fabric and the differently cut pockets in the back will work really well for holding tools, etc. The fit is weird, though. Extremely high waisted, but the waist cinches in a different place than my natural waist. I’m hoping they’ll stretch a bit, but right now they cut off my circulation a bit when I’m bending over.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! Please don't hesitate to send these back if they didn't work out after all.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

These shorts are super comfortable, long enough to move and work in them and look good! I love them

August 10, 2019

Best shorts ever

I’ve lived in these shorts since I got them. I’m thinking about another pair.

May 14, 2019

So comfortable

I’m older and want long shorts. These are great. After a couple of washes they are soft. Since the leg is just a little loose fitting they are comfortable for movement. I’m ordering the other color.

May 11, 2019

Hiking shorts

I love these shorts. They have plenty of pockets and are very durable for hiking. They run slightly small so order a bigger size if you have curves.

March 11, 2019

Runs large!

Great, sturdy fabric that's already soft, a good length, nice utilitarian pockets. My only problem is with the sizing. I initially ordered a 10-- I checked the size chart and honestly measured my waist-- and the shorts were way, way too big. I just received the size 6, and these fit just fine. You might talk to customer service before choosing... Read More your size.

August 3, 2018

Great fit!!!

Whoa these are great! I've always worn Columbia's PFG canvas shorts. They have discontinued them to my dismay. So I found these fabulous fitting hemp shorts. They are perfect......the size chart (I came up as being a size 12) worked. Thanks Patagonia. I love the fact that you are Fair Trade certified too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches