burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Altvia Trail Shorts - 10"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Altvia Trail Shorts - 10"

4.4/5
True To Size
September 19, 2022

Great Hiking Shorts

Super comfortable and stretchy. Great shorts for hiking or camping

September 16, 2022

Great lightweight hiking and climbing pants

I have been waiting for Patagonia to make a short like this pair and they nailed it. Breathable, comfortable, stretchy fabric with thoughtfully located zipper pockets (love the right side pocket). 10-inch length is perfect for hiking and climbing. Bought a second pair I liked them so much. Only suggested improvements would be 1) integrated belt (... Read Morelike on the Altvia Alpine Pants) for easy adjustability and 2) slightly more durable fabric in the rear and where harness leg loops sit (mine are showing pretty fast wear in the latter, although I recognize I may be using them differently and more frequently than most).

August 27, 2022

Amazing Multi-Use Shorts

These shorts are true to size not overly baggy, but loose enough to fit comfortably over my squat quads. The zippered pockets are well sized and fit the essentials for virtually everything you need for any endeavor. Just enough stretch for any activity and breathable enough for hot and humid summers.

August 22, 2022

Perfect Travel Shorts

Do my best to travel abroad once per year to relax the mind and have been on a mission to find the best possible travel shorts, almost had it with another pair of Patagonia shorts, but these take the cake. Great fit (incl's some waist band elastic for comfort), exactly right leg hight to knee, zippers in front AND in back to lock in money, roo... Read Morem key, iPhone, mask as needed, etc. (not that long ago my credit card fell out of my pocket at the start of a trip, not fun to replace while on the go), lightweight so you can take that impromptu swim. As others have said these run small, I wear a 28 or 29 in jeans, needed a 30 in these shorts. Would be nice if they came in other colors.

August 21, 2022

Great active wear product. Really

Great active wear product. Really like the slight stretch in the fabric and zippered pocket. Wish more color options were available.

August 10, 2022

Wow

Excellent fit, supreme comfort, as well as coolness during hot weather. I wore these right away for mountain biking and moved without any restriction. Best outdoor shorts I have ever owned.

August 8, 2022

not big enough

WHY CANT YOU MAKE LARGER SIZES... 42, 44 OR EVEN 46 ... I WANT TO USE YOUR PRODUCTS BUT YOU ARE FORCING ME TO GO ELSEWHERE

August 8, 2022

Comfort is king, pockets a close second

These are great warm-weather hiking or climbing shorts. While not massively fashionable, I wear them as casual too. They are very comfortable, with a light, stretchy fabric that also has a nice hand and feel. Typical Patagonia outperformance, reminds me of the stand up shorts I had in the 70s which lasted for decades and were great to the end.

August 2, 2022

Great casual lightweight shorts

Absolutely love these shorts. My new summer go to. Got the navy and light blue. Lightweight and stretchy, plenty of pockets, well made like all Patagonia products.

July 25, 2022

Ideal!

Bottom line: they are expensive as heck, but totally worth it. I literally don't want to wear other shorts besides these. Having pockets that zip is great, especially in airport or travel settings. Bending over in these is a breeze as well; the elastic portions of the waistband are very useful. If you're on the fence, go ahead and get the... Read Morem. You will be happy you did.

July 22, 2022

Comfortable and classy

Short is light weight fit, enough pockets and shows well and very comfortable feel like not having it on.

July 8, 2022

Product runs small. Needs better

Product runs small. Needs better description from Patagonia. Not all of us are super fit like your models.

Response from Patagonia
July 11, 2022

We're sorry for the lack of information on our site and we appreciate your feedback. The Altvia Short is a "slim" fit design which may prompt sizing up for a looser fitting short. Otherwise, you may prefer one of our ["regular" or "relaxed" fit shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shorts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Crelaxed). Online exchanges for a different size or color are free of charge, but please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like any guidance with our size charts or for help with a return.

July 5, 2022

These are extremely comfortable and

These are extremely comfortable and functional minimalist shorts with just the right amount of give in just the right places.

June 16, 2022

Fit/price

Runs small -thus a little tight. Traded back for Quandry shorts. Also saved money on purchase.

June 11, 2022

Runs slightly smaller than the Altvia pants

Hmmm... I don't get it. I have the Altvia pants (fit perfectly) and logically ordered the same size in the shorts, but found they are slightly smaller in both the waist and hip - enough so that I have to exchange them for the next size up. I've experienced the exact same issue w/ the Quandary pants and Quandary shorts - the pants fit perf... Read Moreectly and the shorts are smaller in the waist/hip. It's puzzling to me how this can happen b/c I'd assume they use the same pattern for pants/shorts except (obviously) the legs - since I experienced the same in two different models, seems like there's some sort of QA issue. Otherwise, they're great shorts, just like the pants!

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

Hey Keith, thank you for sharing this feedback with us. Both the pants and shorts from the Altvia line have a slim fit, so you're right, they should fit similarly. We'll be sure to mention this to our product team for investigation. Luckily, our exchange process is easy and simple, and could be started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you ever need it.

June 11, 2022

Comfortable and Stylish

With my recent purchase I now have three pair of these shorts which Patagonia advertises as trail shorts and I use for casual city wear. Really, everything about the shorts are perfect. Their length, quality of stitching, zippered pockets, stretch material, fit, quick dry quality, and slim looking style.I wish Patagonia would come out with a khaki ... Read Moreshade to complement the other three colors: navy blue, jet black and now blue grey.

February 10, 2022

could be better

the 10 inch inseam is too long, please make an 8 inch inseam version. other than that these are pretty solid shorts for hiking, but i wouldnt bring them on a thru hike. i think i would stick to the nine trails or strider pros because theyre lighter and have a shorter inseam. the altvia is still really light but if youre a gram weenie, they are lite... Read Morerally 1-3 ounces heavier than the other options. probably wont be a deal breaker for the day hikers and weekend warriors.

December 9, 2021

Excellent shorts

A little shorter, which is great. Material is top notch. Very light, stretchy, slim fit and has a nice sheen to it. Have not tried it for swimming yet, but i think it will do well. These are going to become my go to shorts for chilling, travel and workouts.

November 8, 2021

Nice shorts...an inch shorter would feel a little more on trend

Shorts are super functional, flexible and lightweight. Dry fast as well. I wish these shorts were an inch short to be a little more on trend but since they're pitched as hiking shorts I guess that didn't make sense.

October 19, 2021

The perfect pair of shorts? I think so...

Great pair of shorts in all respects, methinks. Comfy, not too tight or too baggy, not too heavy or too gossamer, just very right. Makes me want to go for a run and make out with my girlfriend at the same time. The Patagonia of trail shorts.

September 27, 2021

perfect amount of room, not too baggy

These were a great find. My fellow Patagonian, Bruce- at Cambridge store suggested. exactly what I was looking for. Super comfortable, yet can get cleaned up very quickly to be presentable. perfect.

September 8, 2021

Great addition

very well put together pair of shorts. I bought a little big and just ordered the next size down. was afraid of being a slim fit like the pants, but not so.

August 25, 2021

So comfortable

I have own the same pair of Patagonia shorts for 10yr and finally bought these new ones. They are the most comfortable shorts I have ever had. I'm sure I'll have these for the next 10yrs

July 14, 2021

They fit well. The fabric already has a fray.

They fit well. The fabric already has a fray.

July 13, 2021

Good fit with lotsa pockets

Everything is working well

July 9, 2021

Super light.

These shorts are amazing. They are very light and dry very quickly. But they have a dressy side as well, so you could wear them to a picnic or to the bank. Lots of pockets, although the pockets bulge if you put a lot in there. I like the 10 length on the leg. I purchased the blue and like the lighter accented zippers. If they came in dark green I w... Read Moreould get that too. Initially I balked at the price, but its worth it. For the record, Im an athletic female.

June 27, 2021

All around great

I would wear these everyday and sometimes do. Look nice enough and also comfy.

June 25, 2021

My Active Shorts

I've fallen in love. These shorts are remarkably comfortable and versatile. I feel that they are rugged enough for light-duty work, they stay relatively clean when doing dirty jobs and dry quickly when jumping in the lake to cool off. I will certainly be purchasing another pair soon. Thanks!

June 19, 2021

Extremely well made!

The attention to detail in this short is nothing shy of what you expect from Patagonia! Im 6-0 and weigh in at 205 (post COVID). They fit perfectly and the roomy legs leave room for off trail scrambling and bouldering. I was reluctant to buy my first 35 pants. With the built in elastic panel I have room to move either way, The main fabric is extrem... Read Moreely stretchy and will be perfect for hiking and warmer weather. The 5 zippered pockets (and fly) lie flat against the material and insure anything stashed stays with me. The shorts sport a very clean line and are nice enough to wear in town. Truly the best shorts Ive ever purchased. Highly recommended.

June 19, 2021

Best Hiking Short Ever

Initial foray with this product was a 10 mile hike with lots of vertical scrambles. The material is remarkably breathable with just the right amount of stretch. The numerous zippered pockets lay flat and are unexpectedly handy. At the end of the day they looked as if I hadnt worn them. I never thought a pair of shorts could have such a positive imp... Read Moreact on my outdoor experience but these did. Kudos to the design team on this one, you crushed it.

April 30, 2021

Wonderful Work Shorts

Needed some durable shorts I didn't mind getting dirty while working out at the local bmx track this spring. These were great. I can't wait to wear them this summer!

April 21, 2021

Comfort and utility

True fit and very comfortable, good for all around use and so far seem durable (maybe not climbing as indicated in a previous post...) . More colors please!

April 10, 2021

A little on the baggie side

I am trying to like them. Good for hot weather perhaps. But theyre just too sheer and gossamer for me. Good for things like running, fishing, maybe, but not climbing. Hiking I can see. But unlike most things Patagonia, I just dont get them.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the feedback on that. If you can't bring yourself to liking them, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) those back. We're sorry to hear they aren't quite what you were looking for!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches