Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"

Write Your Review

4.44 /5

Filter Reviews

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"

4.44
August 4, 2020

Iconic Shorts

I loved these shorts so much, I bought three pairs. They're stylish, functional, durable and downright cozy! From my hiking trips to moseying about, these shorts are my go-tos.

August 3, 2020

what title?

I love my very old standups with 4 inch inseam and add my name to the long list of those desiring for a return of the 5 inch inseam!

August 3, 2020

The new 7 are super baggy/almost long

I have been addicted to the stand ups for almost 18 years, at the time 5 were all they had. I lived in Key West, worked on a boat and they were ideal. I have since moved elsewhere, but love the style, the 7 were perfect for someone with short ish legs. I own 10+ pairs and order a new pair about every year. I rotate between a few pairs, sometimes we... Read Morear one pair for months at a time. I ordered a new pair recently, but noticed right away they were more like Bermuda shorts than stand ups I have been accustomed to. The fit was fine and hadnt changed, but the shorts seemed to be longer and wider. I felt like I was wearing board shorts. They arent terrible by any stretch, but they arent great for shorter legged folk that dont want shorts over their knees. I bought some of the lightweight hemp 6 shorts offered, they fit the bill sort of, but are no way as rugged as the stand ups. Please bring back the circa 2010 pattern. -Rob

August 1, 2020

Bring back the 5 inch!

This is the first apparel review Ive ever written. I was compelled to joint the chorus in calling for the return of the 5 inch stand up shorts! Aside from running shorts these are the ONLY casual shorts Ive purchased in 20 years. I wear each pair until they disintegrate and all but fall off. The design and mobility of the 5 inch set it apart from a... Read Morell other shorts and I didnt mind paying the premium. In the name of functionality and cool bring them back please.

July 30, 2020

Bring Back 5" Inseam

I am VERY disappointed that the 5" inseam version has been discontinued and will be returning the 7" version. Bring back the 5" inseam!

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hello Ray. We're really sorry about the disappointment with the 5" inseam design being discontinued. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Please click [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) if you have any questions regarding our current return process. Thank you very much for your review!

July 27, 2020

great, but I miss the 5 in inseam option!

Please consider bringing back the 5 in Standups. I know I can't be the only one who misses the old classics! I bought a new pair last year and am hoping they aren't my last! Thanks for always being the best

July 24, 2020

Great All Around Shorts

I bought my first Patagonia product, the original pile jacket, in 1978. My second product was the original stand up shorts 5" shortly after. I've owned many Patagonia products throughout the years. My last pair of stand up shorts was 5" purchased 10+ years ago. I recently purchased several 34" waist 7" inseam stand up short... Read Mores which fit me perfectly. I love the 7" for daily activities including casual hiking, walking, working, everyday stuff. The current version accurately reflects waist and length sizing. While I love the 7" for everyday activities, I keep the old 5" for climbing and more extreme hiking. I would purchase more updated 5" shorts for more extreme activities if they were available.

July 23, 2020

Durable, comfortable, outstanding overall

I actually wore a pair of these out once - spent multiple summers wearing them almost every day guiding canoe trips, and the main rivet rusted and broke. They're comfortable, extremely durable, very utilitarian with the big back pockets, and sufficiently good-looking for casual wear. A classic. I miss the 9" version.

July 23, 2020

Prefer Previous Sizing

Stand Up Shorts have been my favorite shorts since the mid-80's. Each of my other pairs fits perfectly and did from the get-go. This year's addition is bigger all over, too much so, though a 33 was too small. I'm hoping they'll eventually shrink but so far, no. Unlike many of the reviews, I prefer the 7 inch length and would not... Read More consider 5". I also prefer the thicker fabric from prior years but the new fabric is acceptable. Please keep making the 7's and lose about 1/4 inch across the butt and legs!

July 22, 2020

The Death of Stand Up Shorts

Stand up shorts were made for a trim physique like Yvon Chounard's. They had a unique fit with a snug waist, close fit through the hips, flared in the leg. Wearing the 5" shorts gave total freedom to leg movement. This is now gone after a redesign. They are now just another pair of baggy, heavy canvas shorts - loose through the hips, no s... Read Moretyle, no unique fit. RIP stand up shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hello Tom, thanks for your review. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fit and design of the Men's Stand Up Shorts as favorable as the previous one. Your feedback has been passed along to the Design Team and please don't hesitate to return the shorts if you were looking to do so and haven't already. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

July 18, 2020

Great shorts, bulletproof, Love the 5", Please bring back mens pants

I love the shorts but the standup pants were awesome. I took a pair of the 5" shorts and pants when I climbed the Nose in 1982. I found the pants on ebay last year and i think they'll last the rest of my life....

July 17, 2020

Best shorts ever!

I have lived in these shorts for 40 years now. First used them on the river as daily work horse shorts, go to shorts for climbing, and now every day work casual wear. While the canvas and gotten lighter over the years, these shorts still hold up as durable, comfortable work and play shorts, but please bring back the 5 inch inseam for us guys with s... Read Morehorter legs!

July 14, 2020

Gotta bring back 5

Best shorts ever! Just please bring back the 5! Please.

July 13, 2020

Pleeeaaasssee Bring Back the 5" Shorts!

Outside of my running shorts, these are the only shorts I wear. They are comfortable, durable, and look GREAT! Ive had the same 3 pair of 5" inseam shorts for about 10 years and its time for a new pair... PATAGONIA PLEASE BRING BACK THE 5" SHORT!

July 1, 2020

ROBUST!

Excellent HD shorts. Fit is generous, these arent slim fit for delicacy. Fixing motors, banging in the shop, grabbing a bite. Extra bonus is they are the only shorts Ive ever encountered that I can conceal carry without a belt. STURDY!!!

June 28, 2020

BRING BACK THE 5 Inch!!!

Have been wearing these for decades .... pls bring back the 5 inch!!!!

June 24, 2020

5" Stand Up Shorts Best on the Planet!

I've been wearing Stand Up Shorts since they were first released sometime back in the 80s. (I even have original Chouinard carabiners, chocks, ice screws and Alpine hammer.) The Stand Ups fit perfectly and hold up incredibly well, except inside the front pockets wear out. I've worn them hiking, climbing, biking, doing carpentry, making s... Read Moreculpture, travel, wandering around town and just hanging out. In short Best. Shorts. Ever. Was looking for a new pair, but there's NO 5" model? Say it ain't so, Yvon! PLEASE bring back the 5 inchers!!! Remember: Shorts should be SHORT!

June 23, 2020

Changed (slightly) for the better!

I love these shorts and live in them all summer. They're comfortable, functional and damned tough. I'll echo what a previous reviewer said: They did change the fit a little, but I think it's for the better. Past versions had a higher rise and narrower waist, so that the shorts fit closer your natural waistline. This year's versi... Read Moreon has a more generous waist and a slightly lower rise, so that now they fit a little lower on the hips. As a guy with a lifelong big butt and hips, the changes are perfect for me, but your experience may vary. Also, yes, please bring back the 5-inch version! And please consider green next year, or red or blue; four shades of brown this year should have us covered, lol.

June 22, 2020

Fantastic short, but too long in the leg

These are fabulous shorts that Patagonia has made for years. They wear and wear and won't quite wear out. But for some reason, Patagonia has decided that shorts should look like the shorts they wear in Bermuda. Inseam used to be 5", now 7". I'm returning them. Great fabric, well made, poor change in design. Bring back 5", p... Read Morelease.

June 22, 2020

Five Inch Please

As the years go by, I'm on my forth pair of these canvas shorts. Please do bring back the option of the 5 inch inseam.

June 22, 2020

Durable

I bought a pair of these in Bozeman Montana 15 yrs ago and their still going strong, a bit faded and a dime size hole in the pocket but still my favorite shorts. Planning on buying more soon.

June 12, 2020

Repeat buyers beware

For a long time, maybe a couple of decades, stand up shorts have run small, making it necessary to buy a waist size 1 inch larger than usual. I don't know about 2019, I can only compare to 2018 and before, but the pair purchased in 2020 no longer runs small, buy your regular size. Unfortunately the redesign included dropping five inch inseam s... Read Moretand up shorts, a definite loss. These shorts are still a favorite though.

June 11, 2020

Bring back the 5" inseam version!

I have 8 pairs of 5" Standup shorts. Once the stores reopen I'm taking 4 pairs to my Patagonia store to get them repaired. I LOVE these shorts - I wear them every single day. My wife doesn't like the look when I wear the 7" version. Save my marriage and bring back the 5"!! Thank you!

May 29, 2020

Please bring back the 5" Stand Up Shorts

My husband lives in your 5" Stand Up shorts, year round practically. It was time to replace a shredded pair and I'm so disappointment to see you've dropped the 5" size. Please reconsider, they are so much better for active sports folks!

May 29, 2020

Wears like iron

Ive worn these shorts for years. Nothing compares to the durability. The 9 style should be brought back, possibly 10.

May 26, 2020

Live-In Them

Since I bought my first pair I look forward to shorts-wearing weather. I live in them all summer. I bought a second pair to wear because my first pair needed to be washed occasionally. I, too, would like to see the return of the 5" inseam. The longer inseam looks like all the "other" shorts despite the features and quality.

May 17, 2020

Havent worn another short since!

These are the best pair of shorts I own. If youre looking for a versatile garment thats tough, look no further. The wide cut leg openings make them breathe-able and provides movement free of any restriction. I love my grey pair but am not excited about the other colors. Buy em, run em into the ground.

May 15, 2020

Ditto on the 5 Inch Inseam

Simply asking you to strongly consider putting the 5" inseam back in the mix. It's a great short and the only ones I wear. Wanted to refresh this year but will make due.

May 13, 2020

Great fabric

I've owned quite a few pairs of Stand Up shorts. Of course, I wouldn't keep buying them if I wasn't satisfied. The sturdy fabric is their best feature as far as I'm concerned. I am puzzled (and a little bit frustrated) though by the constantly changing and rather arbitrary inseam lengths. You used to have your choice of a longer... Read More and shorter version. Then they went to strictly 9"; now they are at 7". I'm not sure I get the point of these changes. I've had several versions and prefer the 9", now unavailable. You'd think there'd be more consistency on this point because at present it seems there's a certain degree of chasing fashions over time.

April 27, 2020

Short People Like Patagonia Too

Can you bring back the 5 inch inseam shorts? Its all I wear all summer. I need a new batch and I can't find them anywhere. Loyal customers come in more shapes than your models. Disappointed not to see them in the lineup.

April 27, 2020

Great look for sport or casual

I have purchased at least six pairs over the years. They are so comfortable. Love the deep rear pocket to keep my wallet secure on hikes. So pleased you keep making them. Stand up is a good name. They do stand up.

March 4, 2020

Long

These shorts are perfect: comfortable, rugged, large pockets. I wear them (almost) every day, all year round, including Chicagos winter. Please bring back the Stand-Up Longs! Mine are disintegrating after many decades . . .

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches