Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 246 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8"

4.5/5
True To Size
October 17, 2021

New Go-To Shorts

These shorts are super comfortable and so far seem to be durable. I am a rough and tumble guy, so to have shorts that last is always a predicament. We also live in a rather hot climate, and these shorts keep me cool. They are versatile for going out with my bride or to go lift some weights or run. Great shorts Patagonia. I was a bit skeptical of h... Read Moreaving shorts with a liner, but it is comfortable and supportive. Side pockets and back pockets have enough space to carry my belongings.

October 11, 2021

Great shorts, a little fragile

I absolutely love these for hiking, swimming, whitewater rafting, backpacking, general excercise, anything outdoors or active. They dry incredibly quickly and remain comfortable after multiple days of wear. The only thing to be aware of is that they are not the most durable-I ripped the back of mine scrambling down a boulder in Wyoming. I would not... Read More suggest these for climbing, bushwhacking, or any heavy duty work. The inner liner did not tear so I still wear these in the backcountry by myself!

September 30, 2021

Awesome shorts/different material

I have an old pair of these shorts that have never had any problems other than the liner wearing out after a few years. But the shorts have held up for a long time through climbing, surfing, work outs - whatever! A small hole developed on the butt of them recently so I got another pair for when I have to send them to worn wear for fixing! The new p... Read Moreair certainly feels great but very different and slightly longer than the older pair. That and the fabric had already picked to wear there is a strange line in the pattern. I expect them to be just as durable, but only being a few weeks in and already having a mishap in rugged quality was a little upsetting. Still, Ill wear the shorts everyday like I did the last pair, washing when needed and wearing them hard. I hope they hold up, but we shall see!

September 27, 2021

Perfect shorts

Take them everywhere I go as they are very breathable and stretchy, yet stylish enough to not get told to change on date night's. Perfect!

September 16, 2021

Comfortable with great range of motion

I have used these mostly for climbing indoors and they are comfortable with no compromises in terms of range of motion. In regards to sizing, I am a 32" waist and the medium fit nicely and if anything, just slightly fitted. The zippered pockets are a nice touch, overall I would definitely recommend!

September 14, 2021

Fits small not a medium

Shorts are too small are not true size.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Jack, fit and comfort are extremely important so please feel free to begin a return or exchange for those Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8". You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/home/.

September 5, 2021

Great Shorts

Definitely the best running short Ive owned in a long time. Comfortable liner, lightweight and cool, zipper pockets are super useful. Durable, great fit. I have 3 pairs now; theyre pretty much all I wear when its nice outside.

September 2, 2021

Three Zipper Pockets are Useful

These are my new favorite shorts. I wear them around the house, working in the back yard, biking, running, and in yoga. Having zippers is great for securing a phone and wallet when shopping, holding keys when running, and holding a snack when biking. I'm not used to wearing a liner in shorts, but this liner is great and it feels like boxer sho... Read Morerts. I plan to buy a second pair next spring so I can alternate shorts during the summer. Highly recommended.

August 30, 2021

Best Running Shorts

These are great for running, hiking, whatever active. But far and away my favorite running / hiking shorts. The do run a little small.

August 30, 2021

Greatest Shorts

I love these shorts so much i have 4 pairs. The only thing i would change is have the pockets a little deeper and maybe a cargo pocket.

August 27, 2021

Fits like a glove

I absolutely love these shorts. They provide so much room for movement and flexibility when running and on long hikes.

August 22, 2021

Very comfortable and breathable

These were my primary shorts for a 4-day summer backpacking trip in the Sierra Nevadas. They were fantastic: comfortable, breathable, and functional. The zippered pockets are great to ensure that valuables arent lost on tough climbs.

August 21, 2021

Favorite do all summer shorts

I run in them, hike in them, impromptu swimming in the nearest watering hole and lounging outside when it's 90 and humid. They're light, breathable, super quick drying and really comfortable. My favorite part: no under-britches required. If I don't know what the day is going to bring, I'm wearing the 9-trails.

August 20, 2021

Pockets!

Zippered pockets are a must for me. My large iPhone will fit in these pockets.

August 19, 2021

Cool in summer

Underpant makes these supportive, cool, and comfortable. The pockets are nicely sized, zip shut, and there are THREE of them, making these shorts perfect for daily hot-weather wear.

August 18, 2021

Excellent shorts

These shorts are as good as advertised. The spandex layer is excellent and wonderfully wicks moisture. I Initial use was 2.5 hours of Spike Ball and the second was an incredibly hot, humid small one night backpacking trip with the kiddos. These shorts were amazing in both scenarios. Will definitely be buying more pairs. Thanks!

August 18, 2021

By far the best shortsI

These are perfect in every way except the liner. I have three pair that I wear all the time. The length is great, the material is exceptional, the pockets are well placed and very functional and the style is on point. I cut the liner out of them and now they are the perfect shorts. I know this voids the warranty but I cant stand shorts with liners.... Read More The only way to improve on these would be to make a version with out a liner for a little less money.

August 14, 2021

flexie

good shorts for running. runs small imo according to size chart.

August 12, 2021

Cool , light, and comfortable

This is my second pair (also have the grey) and I love these for hiking, backpacking and trail running. Super light and comfortable and the material does, in fact, keep the smell away. Wore these four days straight during an extended hike on the Camino del Norte in Spain last month with temps in the high 80s F. Outstanding!

August 12, 2021

Best Running Shorts

These are the best running shorts I've ever had. They are comfortable and when I put my phone and keys in my pocket they don't bounce around.

August 10, 2021

Great fit

Great fit comfortable and good for all activities

August 8, 2021

Almost perfect

If it had a dedicated phone pocket in the back tailbone area, it would be perfect. I don't understand the position of the angled pocket on the backside of the shorts. Overall still great shorts and thankfully my phone fits in the back pocket, but would bounce less with a centered pocket.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the features of these shorts. These details are valuable for our product designers!

July 29, 2021

Favorite running shorts for long runs

These are fantastic. They fit great, have a moisture wicking fabric and three zipper pockets for keys, snacks etc. Compared to a previous version of these shorts the liner is shorter on the legs (which I prefer) and the fabric seems more water repellent. I've run two marathons in these and never had any issue with chafing, pocket blowout or ot... Read Moreher negative experiences. I'm 5'9, 175 lbs and bought a medium.

July 28, 2021

Great zippered shorts

Great shorts. I love the 3 zippered pockets!

July 27, 2021

Liner failed

I bought these for my husband as hiking, SUP, and casual wear shorts. He truly loved them. He loved how quickly they dried out and he loves the zipper pockets. However, after a year of pretty regular use, the inside liner has completely worn out. I understand that he wore them a lot, but I still feel like high end gear should hold up a bit better t... Read Morehan they did. It seems wasteful to buy another pair knowing they may do the same thing in a year.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to let us know about the untimely wear and tear on your husband’s Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8". We'd be happy to help you out with a repair, return or exchange. Please feel free to begin any of those processes here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 27, 2021

Go-to for everyday shorts

These are close to perfect. zip-pockets each side and right side rear are deep and wide enough. Fit is just right for me. Had one pair, loved 'em enough to order two more pairs. The construction is excellent. My first pair are showing me how well they are made and how durable they are. They still look as good as the two new pair. Thanks, Patag... Read Moreonia.

July 25, 2021

The gift was a hit

This was a give and they fit true to size the black and blue pair of shorts great for water as well like swimming!

July 24, 2021

Runs Small

Purchased as recommended by fellow hikers. Ordered my typical running short size (XL) and sadly this pair of Patagonias run too small.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit John. They do come in a XXL which might fit you better.

July 23, 2021

A bit tight. Favored over Baggies.

I was between sizes, so I ordered up and they were still a bit tight. I favor these over the Baggies. Pros: Very comfortable, soft outer shell Comfortable, bicycle-style liner All pockets have zipper closures Cons: Undersized tight. Order up Bicycle-style liner I would prefer brief-style for lighter weight backpacking. Pockets are insanely shallow... Read More do not fit an iPhone 6s. Expensive

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Nine Trail Shorts. We are certainly sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. As always, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not meet your expectations.

July 23, 2021

No adjustments needed!

I've only had these shorts for a short time but couldn't be happier so far! The fit and comfort are excellent and on the few short runs I've been on so far, I haven't needed to make a SINGLE adjustment to the shorts while running. That's a beautiful thing. The built in liners don't ride up and are (to my surprise) very... Read More comfortable; no chaffing thus far and these are bound to be the first running shorts I don't cut the liners out of! Zip pockets are awesome & appreciated. Knocked these out of the park, Patagonia!

July 22, 2021

Great fit. Love the inner lining.

Fits great and the inner lining is great for running/sports.

July 22, 2021

Great fit

Fit great , for me a tad longer would be better

July 21, 2021

Running and hiking with pockets!

Thankfully these have pockets. Its hard to find quick dry running shorts with pockets. Good looking enough to wear casually without the feel of workout gear and preforms well in stride. Theres room for improvement on the fabric durability, these have begun to fray after a few work outs. Definitely not rip stop so be mindful if you snag these while ... Read Morehiking. At this price point Id expect a bit tougher. Otherwise it would get another star.

July 15, 2021

Great product

These shorts are thin and breathable, but feel super sturdy. Ive run, biked and swam in these, and they performed great. The pockets are well placed and useful. I do have bigger thighs, so I might have been able to get away with a size large, but the mediums have enough give for me to get into. My favorite pair of workout shorts by far.

July 15, 2021

Should have bought 3!

I bought one black pair, then loved them so much and the inner liner fits so well and doesnt chaff at all that I bought another gray forge pair less than four weeks later, my only complaint is I havent bought a third pair yet!

July 14, 2021

Worn out liner

Bought these to go trail running and they are awesome when they are new. I put about 45 miles on them and they wore through the inner liner...like - they disintegrated. I bought another pair at the same time and I'm not running in those, just hiking and they're great and have had no issues w a hundred or so miles on 'em. So running, ... Read Moreno. Hiking, yes.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear that the liner wore out so quickly when using them for running. That is definitely disappointing considering this is what they're intended for. We really appreciate this feedback as its how we improve things for future seasons. With all that said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 13, 2021

The shorts you always wanted

I purchased these shorts for running shorts. Upon receiving them, I quickly realized they were going to be my favorite. So comfy and perfect for swimming, hiking, running, everything...

July 13, 2021

Great running shorts

It's just a great running short with an inner liner that is super comfortable. I LOVE the fact that these shorts have pockets to carry ID, keys, etc. on my run. Am planning to purchase a second pair.

July 10, 2021

Favorite workout shorts

I generally hage shorts with liners, and cut them out. These are a noted exception! Super soft and moisture wicking. Also like that they have enough pockets that I can hike in them, carrying keys, wallet, etc. But the pockets aren't so obtrusive that they get in the way during a workout.

July 9, 2021

I own 5 pairs!

This is an outstanding running short! I own 5 pairs, if something does not work I don't buy duplicates. The "boxer brief liner" is a blessing, no seam to slide up between the man-bits and your thigh. Have run in these from freezing temperatures and zero humidity up to 92 degrees and 90 percent humidity. Takes a little effort to get u... Read Moresed to tieing the outside drawstring but it is worth the effort. 3 zippered pockets? More gels for long and longer runs! Overall a slightly pricey short that is very comfortable and worth the extra money.

July 5, 2021

I Like Em

I have worn the strider pros for years and the relatively recent change to a brief liner rather than the boxer liner has been a tragedy. Anyways, enter the Nine Trails Shorts. A little longer than I usually like but I am adjusting. The zip pockets are nice. The stretch pockets on Strider Pros always wore out after 5+ years of heavy use and it will ... Read Morebe interesting to see how these hold up. I am happy with them so far.

July 3, 2021

Great fit

I bought these shorts because my gf drags me to hot yoga every now and again. These shorts have amazing range of motion and help keep everything where it should be, they have made it a more enjoyable experience for me.

June 29, 2021

my go to shorts, period

I love these shorts for everything from walking around, the city, hiking, swimming, everything. I cut out the liner and just wear them with my regular boxers most of them time. Great looking, comfortable and durable.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Note that altering the liner does void the warranty in that area, but we're glad that you've been happy with the shorts overall, Jason!

June 27, 2021

Comfy

Went for a run in these yesterday in hot, muggy weather in the woods . Unzipping the pockets make for effective venting. The liner is comfortable while moving. Thanks!

June 27, 2021

Super nice!

Love the boxer lining. Loving the large and well built pockets even more! Wish they had these shorts in 5 or 6 inches, tho. Draw strings cinch up nicely. Super light and comfy.

June 25, 2021

Lightweight Dream

I wasn't expecting them to have a liner on the inside but I was presently surprised as it keeps everything compressed and snug. These are my go to for a casual evening at home during this summer heat.

June 23, 2021

Incredible comfort

I have bought running shorts from many brands and they never fit comfortably. The nine trails are great running in the desert or on the treadmill.

June 20, 2021

Ideal running shorts

Comfortable liner, great zip pockets, perfect length and worth the price.

June 17, 2021

Comfortable

I would wear these for days on end, but as they are made from synthetic materials, they do whiff a little on day two! Very comfortable, excellent fit. Pockets in the right place. My second pair and will buy more.

June 16, 2021

Disappointing shorts

I really wanted to like these shorts, but they just don't work very well for me. I'm a slender 6'4", and I've finally decided it's the liners that are the problem. They seem to be undersized, so that as you pull the shorts up, they liner kind of pulls the shorts back down. To make up for this you have to cinch the draw... Read Morestrings tighter, which, due to their narrow width, don't distribute the pressure well and cut in slightly. Overall they seem to be consistently working their way down, and this is even with my skinny legs. The other features like the pockets, fabric and versatility seem great though....would be great for running, hiking and swimming. That liner just needs to be more relaxed.

June 13, 2021

Lose the netting!

A little awkward of fit Plus the netting drives me insane

June 11, 2021

One of the best pairs of shorts Ive ever had.

This is a great pair of shorts, extremely well-made, zippers work wonderfully and the positioning is flawless. The inner lining is great at keeping things secure, not too thick and also very breathable. My only criticism is that they ride a little low on my lower back but the drawstring helps keep things riding right.

June 9, 2021

Go to shorts

These are my go to shorts. Whether working in the yard, sleeping, or going for a run they are my go to short when I want to be comfy or active. Zippered pockets keep everything where they belong. The liner is comfy whether you go commando or not. String draw gets the job done, and their quick drying are nice for whatever you are doing.

May 29, 2021

won't go "commando"

Received shorts and tried them on for fit and appearance. Immediately disliked the "boxer brief liner". It felt as though I was wearing a girdle, restrictive and tight. Why in the world would anyone want "tights" under their shorts? A liner like your baggies would be better. suffice to say, I won't purchase or recommend the... Read Morem to anyone.

Response from Patagonia
June 1, 2021

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback on these shorts. We are so sorry to hear that you aren't loving the liner. We welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

May 25, 2021

Ready for the long haul..

I picked these up to replace a pair Ive had for years and years.. wow, I know these shorts will go the distance and stand up to the abuse that I will surly put them through training rookie smokejumpers..

May 22, 2021

Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8"

They are perfect but O wish the drawstring was replaced with something easier and more secure

May 20, 2021

Always Great Short

Perfect running shorts with built in brief!

May 17, 2021

My number one favorite running shorts!

This is my second pair of these running shorts! Very comfortable high quality materials and well engineered! Love the inner lining and pockets!

May 17, 2021

Great fit

I bought a pair of these and absolutely loved them so I bought another pair! Highly recommended!

May 17, 2021

Headlines for the liner

The liner grabs my thighs and keep my pants lower than I like in the back. I keep having to pull them up, or this could be that im not used to liners? Im going to see how it feels after a couple more months. Might just be that I ordered a size to small? Love the pockets with the zips and the textile. would not recommend yet, going to put it throu... Read Moregh the paces a bit more.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2021

Thank you for the review on the Nine Trails Running Shorts. If you find that you're ultimately unsatisfied and a different size doesn't solve the problem, feel free to [send them back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for warranty evaluation.

May 15, 2021

Awesome shorts!

I have 3 pair of these shorts and they have been through a lot of wear and they're still holding up like the day I bought them the only issue is the reflective logo is pretty much toast but that's not an big problem cause these shorts are still super comfortable to wear! Great product by Patagonia!

May 15, 2021

shorts

Great product..gift ti my grandson!

May 14, 2021

Underpants too small

I liked the shorts, great color, great look. However the underpants that were attached were way too tight.

May 12, 2021

Mr

Patagonia is quality product and that is why I opt the product.

May 12, 2021

Runner's Delight

I can't say enough good things about these shorts. I own 4 pairs if that tells you anything. The fit is spot on and super comfy. The stretch material moves with the body. The liner keeps everything in place without feeling constricted. If you're on the fence, let me just say you get what you pay for.

May 12, 2021

Serious shorts for long runs and hikes

These have a more substantial feel than the Strider running shorts and arent as svelte. The multiple pockets serve longer journeys when you need to carry more stuff. I havent ripped through any shrubs yet but I expect theyll do just fine when I do. Still light enough for more daily road running too.

May 11, 2021

These short bottoms are tops!

My favorite shorts, for almost every occasion !

May 11, 2021

Took a sec, now Im impressed

When I opened these up I really liked the boxer style liner. When I put them on I was initially a little bummed because they felt weird, like they were too small and were pulling the shorts down. I thought maybe I needed a larger size but after wearing them for a few minutes I got used to the full liner and several miles later theyre one of the bes... Read Moret running shorts I think Ive ever owned. Theyre light weight, comfy, fit just tight enough, and have a perfect amount of support. I would say if youre buying your first pair and arent used to a full liner just give them a few minutes before you toss in the towel and make a return.

May 10, 2021

Very Good Shorts

These shorts are very good, with one drawback for me. First off, the zipper pockets allow me to securely store items while running. Phone, running gloves can be stored with no problem. I don't give these 5 stars, because they can cause some chafing on long runs. Short runs, I've never had any problems.

May 9, 2021

Great all around running short

Ive tried a lot of different brands and this is my favorite running short. I like the material and the fit. It's great for long distance running or walking around the neighborhood. The pocket set up is the best Ive found so far. Two normal sized zippered pockets o the sides and one small pocket in the back. Perfect for the cell phone and keys.... Read More I'd recommend these shorts to anyone, especially if your looking for one all-around pair.

May 7, 2021

Like wearing nothing

Great lightweight shorts. Never wore running shorts or anything with a liner and these felt awesome.

May 5, 2021

Great Running Short

These are the best running shorts I've found. Very comfortable liner, perfect inseam length, and great abrasion resistance/durability. Perfect fit for me (I'm 6'1", 170 lbs, 33" waist). WAY nicer than comparably priced shorts offered by other brands. I have three pairs, and will buy more if the ones I own ever wear out.

May 4, 2021

Nice Short

High quality that I have come to expect from Patagonia. Very comfortable pair of shorts, perfect for knocking around in, running errands, or a day at the park with the ninos.

May 4, 2021

Super Versatile

Great shorts for hiking: great movement, quick drying, and very comfortable, and well-designed pockets and fit.

May 4, 2021

Best fitting running shorts I own.

I have owned so many running shorts over the years...and all with variable fit. I am stocky but run long distance and somehow Patagonia hit a home run for me with the inserts in these pants. To put it bluntly, these shorts have all but eliminated my need for body glide. A+ on the fit! Add in the the number and placement of the pockets and these are... Read More my new favorite shorts for long runs.

May 1, 2021

Trail running shorts

Pretty slim fit. Like the zippers on the pockets. Will order XL next time.

May 1, 2021

Not the same...

So I have the same shorts from a while back. It is the best workout shorts I own and I wanted to buy few more, so I got two more shorts. But sadly they arent the same quality. I could immediately tell with my skin that they used lower quality polyester. The difference is that they used 100% recycled polyester for lining. I appreciate that they recy... Read Morecle but Im not a happy customer... I rather want them to raise the price and keep the quality the same or even upgrade. What a Disappointment...

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Nine Trails Running Shorts. We'll be sure to notify the appropriate teams about your thoughts on the recycled polyester. You might be able to find a pair from a past season that have that feel you're looking for on our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) website, check it out! We're always adding to inventory on there so if you don't see any now, check back.

April 27, 2021

Strange fit

Inside crouch mesh lining was too small where is the pant on the outside was a little big and the thighs were really big for a large. Maybe that way for climbing? Patagonia was good about returning them and got a different pair of shorts which my husband like but would Love to see zipper pocket in front to put his phone in. Pocket out back of short... Read Mores it's hard to get two to unzip to get your phone and your phone will just fall out.. hence he almost lost it the phone.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2021

Hello Lourena, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. The Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8" is a popular running short style but can certainly be used for any casual purposes. They do feature two large, zippered front pockets. Your valuable suggestion on zippered front pockets for phone storage is much appreciated for our men's bottoms.

April 27, 2021

Very Solid

Overall really good shorts. Love having zippers, decent cut, good length, comfortable to run in. What held it back from the fifth star is that something about the fit leaves it riding low sometimes, as if there isn't quite enough material for it always to stay in place. But I still wear them a lot. Would recommend.

April 24, 2021

The Best

Best running and swimming shorts

April 20, 2021

Most comfortable

Fantastic! Most comfortable wear I have had!

April 20, 2021

Zipper shorts - life essentials, nailed by Patagonia

As a long time zipper shorts enthusiast I have naturally been on the lookout for comfortable, athletic, above knee shorts with zippered pockets. I only buy shorts/pants with zippers as its impossible to lose your phone/wallet when sitting or be pick pocketed when traveling. The zippers on these shorts are of the highest quality, you can open and c... Read Morelose them with one hand, which is not possible with my other brands of zipper shorts. Another thing thats great is they arent very revealing in front as most right athletic wear is due to the liner. My only suggestion is making a similar short without the liner. I have considered buying a second pair and cutting out the liner. Overall 10/10 shorts, would buy again.

April 16, 2021

Great Shorts

Love the camo shorts. Great fit and style.

April 14, 2021

Great fit and functionality

The fit is very nice for trail running, with an 8" inseam and lightweight fabric with a little stretch that doesn't seem to absorb water/sweat. I love the zippered pockets (2 front/thigh, 1 rear) which are essential for keeping gear stashed safely while on the move. I've run with a larger phone (Pixel 3XL) in the thigh zipper pocket ... Read Morewith surprisingly little bounce. The liner is very breathable and working okay for now, but I may buy a second pair and remove the liner to give more freedom of movement. Would also like to see more color/pattern options for this line. Overall highly recommended.

April 11, 2021

Awesome shorts!

Really like these shorts. Wanted to try these alongside my baggies. I like the differences of both. Not sure how people feel about the lining. I dont mind it. But would be cool to see options with and without lining.

April 8, 2021

Excellent Product

Excellent Product

March 31, 2021

Finally! Great Shorts

Ive spent years looking for a style of shorts I really, truly enjoy, and Ive found them! Theyre amazing for runs, and perfect for travel because the pockets zip and are big enough for passport, phone, etc. The material breathes really well. The only part I was surprised by was the elastic lining (originally I was looking specifically for travel/cas... Read Moreual wear), but Ive found that makes them excellent for runs and it doesnt detract from the comfort of the fit. Perfect cut, length, material, colors...couldnt be happier! (Ive purchased 3 pairs)

March 30, 2021

Nice

I put kinda large because I probably should have preferred the large instead of XL. I love these shorts and want another pair. Zippers are a key so I dont lose my phone while running. Super stoked on them.

March 27, 2021

Great Fit

There is nothing worse than running in floppy shorts These are not those kind of shorts. Plus they have plenty of storage to carry a phone, credit cards and earbud cases.

March 22, 2021

Honest review

I have these pants for many years personally, I know so well how good they used to fit for large size, and now where ever Patagonia contracting this out stitching is super cheap as the pant is a lot tighter for large size and the lace that ties the pant is small too. this Patagonia is way too commercialized than it used to be. another sweet company... Read More turned into a greedy bunch -- please pay the company proper money and ask them to stitch something nicer fit, or stop charging customers too much money for cheap quality like this

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you aren't pleased. You're welcome to return them. As for where they're made you can find all that info [here](https://www.patagonia.com/our-footprint/facilites/youngone-namdinh.html)

March 19, 2021

Great gifts!

I purchased these for my son in law. He raves about this short. He has another older pair. This family loves Patagonia from the quality of their work, ease of their return/repair policy and their commitment to the environment!

March 11, 2021

Perfect Short

After wearing this short for three years, the only annoyance was taking it out of service for washing. I solved that by finally buying another pair. These shorts are extremely comfortable at the gym, on a bike, on the couch, and even in the pool, although I try not to swim in them for longevity. These the only liner shorts I find comfortable, and... Read More for sure the only liners that enhance the shorts, IMO. Except for a missing zipper pull (not the zipper), which Patagonia-Cardiff replaced, zero signs of wear. Highly recommended.

January 29, 2021

Best Trail Running Shorts Ever

These shorts are my favorite trail shorts. They're light, breathable, and contain large pockets. I love that the pockets all zip closed. I always wear these shorts on my Saturday long run.

January 17, 2021

Best trail running shorts in years

I had a hard time finding a good replacement for my prior favorite trail running shorts (REI's 2013 trail running shorts). I initially bought two of Patagonia's 9 Trails 8" shorts to try and loved them so much I bought another pair. The Good: - Zippered side + back right pockets--perfect for ID, keys (I put my phone in my hydration v... Read Moreest for running) - Fit: perfect--size, length - Materials: quick drying, perfect amount of stretch, very high quality, should last for years - Liner: it's a longer boxer brief style and works well at preventing chafing on longer runs (with caveats below) The Maybe Not So Good: - The external drawstring: I worry about it getting stuck in the washer and getting pulled out or stretched out; we'll see how it holds up (the elastic waistband is good enough without the drawstring) - The Liner: while good for running, it feels a little too restrictive of hip range of motion to use these for general workout shorts or mobility work (although awesome for running) The Bottom Line: Overall, I really like these shorts and will probably pick up another pair or two to replace some of my older, worn out shorts. Definitely recommend.

January 7, 2021

Very Comfortable

These shorts are very comfortable. Plenty of pockets to store whatever I need on a run.

January 4, 2021

Good. But breaks down.

I love the nine trail running shorts and the boxer brief liner. As far as comfort and protection from chaffing these are golden. Ive used them for 1 mile runs and 100 mile runs. The problem is the stiching in on the seams seems to not last very long on both boxer liner and outside liner near the groin regions. Thankfully Patagonia will repair or re... Read Moreplace their product.

December 18, 2020

Just a terrible product, complete design fail...

I have been a Patagonia customer since the late 70s, so this isn't a random ding. I was a huge fan of the original 9-trails short ands wore out multiple pairs, but these are a failure in almost every way. Lets start with the long liner. First, they make the shorts hot to wear and are a bit restrictive when running. Talk about an oxymoron - re... Read Moreally, who wants shorts that make you hot? They also never sit in place and consistently wind up making the shorts ride low on your waist, like bad low-rise jeans from Wally World...I'm constantly tugging them up. Then there are the pockets. I love the zipper feature for security, but they are incredibly shallow and the openings are designed for the hands of small children or dwarves- I can only get 4 of my fingers in and the opening is so small that the zippers scrape and bite my skin. The back pocket doesn't fit much of anything, so what's the point? On the upside, the shell material is solid, length would be good if the liner didn't keep pulling them to my knees, and the waistband is comfortable, or would be if it stayed in place. Just a genuinely poor design. The originals were epic - comfortable, cool, and practical. These are none of the above, so I'm going to ship them off to Worn Wear and Strat looking for the old models on eBay

November 18, 2020

Super comfortable

These are great and the material is very soft. They do come with an attached layer underneath that I wasnt anticipating but work great nonetheless.

November 18, 2020

Perfect shorts

I have 3 pair of these now since my first purchase. I wear them everywhere and, most recently, on vacation in Mexico. Wore them zip lining, swimming in a cenote, and snorkeling in the ocean. They actually dry super fast and are extremely versatile. I need more color options but like the pattern variety better than solid.

September 21, 2020

Amazing liner and pockets

I would buy a small next time for a snugger brief fit on cold days. I can run with a phone in pocket and not notice it a bit, I actually thought I lost my phone for minute. Very comfy, dry fast, great support. Great multi-sport shorts 5'11" 170 lbs

September 17, 2020

New Favorite

These quickly became my go to shorts for a log run. I like the lining and the zip pockets. Dry out pretty fast. You need to keep more in stock - I bought a medium because you didn't have any large. Thanks.

September 17, 2020

zippers

the lining and the zippered pockets sold me

September 16, 2020

Perfect fit

Love the zipper pockets. Super comfortable. Great look.

September 16, 2020

Turns out these work for all situations

Purchased for running. Preformed well. Works as a bathing suit after a run near a beach. Great for paddling a canoe. Also work for home remodels or building patios. Preform well on a Zoom call paired with a collared shirt and tie. Would recommend.

September 16, 2020

Great Shorts

Great shorts. Fit great, and of course Patagonia is a great company to buy from because they're ethically focused. I do wish the pockets were bigger, especially in the back. My phone can't quite fit in my back pocket. Birddogs have done a great job with the pockets. They have one on the left side and one on the right back. I wish Patagoni... Read Morea would emulate that.

September 15, 2020

Comfortable fit

This is the second pair I bought for my husband because he just loves them. He says the fit is very comfortable and they are of excellent quality. Thank you!

September 13, 2020

Very comfortable great for hiking

I initially bought one pair of nine trails shorts to check the fit. After trying on a a couple of hikes I bought 2 more pairs. Fit is great and love the stretch fabric. Highly recommended.

September 8, 2020

shorts

i found the shorts, due to the "insert" fairly uncomfortable and not nearly as good as a pair i bought last year from you. overall, a bit disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

We're sorry to hear you are a bit disappointed with these and appreciate the feedback on these compared to earlier models. Please feel welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

September 6, 2020

Does what one would ask of a trail short.

Does what one would ask of a trail short.

September 4, 2020

Perfect for jog

Great fit. Easy to run. Nice pocket for holding phone

September 3, 2020

Super comfy and functional!

I bought a couple pairs of these for trail running and hiking, and they've been great for that, but they're so dang comfortable and practical that I've also been wearing them around the house, swimming, doing chores, and basically any time I don't need pants. I didn't originally expect to use the pockets (my previous trail ... Read Morerunning shorts didn't have pockets) but now that I have them I find them very useful and no longer need my running belt. I've only had them for ~6 months but they've been durable so far. I've already ordered a third pair because I'm using them so frequently (because they're so comfortable and practical). 10/10 would replace all of my shorts with these.

September 2, 2020

Very nice fit and function.

Been a Baggies fan for years and these shorts really surprised me as to fit, looks, comfort and construction.

September 2, 2020

Very comfy

I was looking for good active shorts with zip up pockets and I came across these. Im a 34 waist and the large were comfortable but a little snug. I ended up ordering 2 more pair but got a size xl and they fit great.

September 2, 2020

Perfect

Love these shorts. Very comfortable. Great length. Would definitely buy more if they were in different colors.

September 1, 2020

I wear this every day

Love this fit. Flexible fabric. Odor reducing tech !

September 1, 2020

Favorite running shorts

Extremely comfortable for running. I log about 40 - 50 per week. This is my favorite running short. Inside them for the pool and beach days - they work great.

September 1, 2020

Durable running shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia running shorts for several years. In my opinion theyre the best running shorts on the market. They last long because theyre very durable. The inside shorts keep me from getting a rash. And I like the pocket designs because things dont fall out.

August 13, 2020

Best Running Shorts Ever.

These shorts are awesome! Finally a running short with boxer-brief liner that doesn't become a thong after the first mile. Lots of stretch, lots of pockets, good length, and just plain comfortable. I'm 5'8" with a 29-30" waist and the size small fits perfect. Will be purchasing another pair or two very soon.

August 6, 2020

Perfect All Day Short

I have worn these shorts (not the same pair) 75% of the time during Covid. I put them on in the morning and wear them all-day from work out to work to playing with the kids. I need a few more pairs.

August 4, 2020

New Favorite

These are the best shorts Ive ever owned, Im buying another pair immediately.

August 4, 2020

Don't wait, these are perfect!

Working from home, running at lunch, and relaxing in the evenings are all slightly different conditions: the Nine Trails Running Short covers them all perfectly. In my life, I've never found a more comfortable and versatile garment like these...and in the hot, sticky summers of North Carolina, they absolutely make the difference!

July 30, 2020

Great short, but the fit is a little weird

This short is great for running and backpacking. I just finished a trip where I wore them for 4 days straight hiking, running, and swimming. They dry quickly after a swim and the liner prevents chaffing even when they are wet. They have also held up great and I will likely buy another pair. My only complaint is that they bunch up in the front towar... Read Mored the elastic band and it doesn't look good. I thought it was because they were a little too small, but the large is way too big and I've subsequently lost weight and it hasn't helped. Otherwise, these are really great shorts.

July 25, 2020

Overall Good Design

Overall, these are very well designed shorts. The best parts are that all three pockets are zippered--you definitely need that on the shallow front pockets or stuff will fall out when you move around and sit. The good news is that if you put stuff in there and run it doesn't bounce around as much as long-pocketed shorts. The back pocket is lar... Read Morege--easily accomodating a cell phone. The inside mesh is not a brief but more mid-quad length like compression shorts--I may cut it out of mine eventually. Finally, the bottom hem is weirdly designed in that there must be a roll of fabric inside the hem. I'm sure it's durable knowing Patagonia but it took some getting used to because when you move you can feel the hem riding up your leg. It has not chaffed my leg, fortunately. Now, I just wish there were more color choices.

July 23, 2020

Almost perfect

I love the three pairs I have of these shorts. I'll start there. The fit is great, plenty of good pocket space and the inner lining is a nice touch for hiking, climbing and trail running. That said, it absolutely drives me crazy that Patagonia "updated" these shorts to go from a zipper with a plastic tab on the end to one with cord.... Read More I implore the gear lab to find a way to create a zipper pull that doesn't come undone after literally two washes. It is supremely annoying to essentially lose the zipper pull within weeks and then have to create your own out of spare cord. I buy a lot of Patagonia product and this oversight is out of character.

July 20, 2020

Shorts Are Great But

Very happy with the quality of the shorts. Theyre soft, they feel great, they dry quickly, pockets are terrific, liner is comfortable. Ive worn them for hours in high heat and humidity. My problem is the Patagonia size chart. Ive been an XL for years. Since the pandemic started, Ive lost more than 20 pounds and was prepared to buy a Large. The char... Read Moret shows 36 for Large which might have worked but also 34 which wouldnt have. I went on a chat with someone at Patagonia who recommended the XL and turned out to be right. But, I wish the size charts would be made clearer especially for the in between sizes.

July 18, 2020

Light and quick drying

It is form-fitting which helps with sweat control. At the same time, you can clearly see an outline of my junk, so I can't wear these for casual events which is a bit of a bummer.

July 16, 2020

Tight Crotch

The liner is nice but it's kind of tight near the crotch area. I'm 5'11 and 175 lbs and have big thighs and I think I would have been better suited had I gone a size up for large. The tightness in the crotch area isn't that big of an issue when running but why have it be an issue at all.

July 13, 2020

Instant favorite

This pair of shorts became a favorite from the start. The long built in briefs are amazing compared to any built in briefs of shorts I've tried in the past. Normally I cut them out but these are so comfortable. The outer material is the right balance for lightness and durability. Love the zippered pockets which many similar shorts lack. The on... Read Moree small con for me is the front sags a little more than I'd like with weight in the pockets like a phone or keys. Overall my favorite shorts and I plan on purchasing more for backups.

July 13, 2020

Simply the BEST

The best running shorts period. I really love the zipper pockets, the draw strings are outside the shorts which makes it even more comfortable. Very lightweight and breaths really well. The shorts liner provides great support, one of the best liner's I have ever used. Wish I had another pair!

July 13, 2020

All purpose

I have five pairs. The zippered pockets work great for someone who tends to loose things. Very comfortable and fits true to size.

July 13, 2020

Dig these shorts

For me these shorts really hit a sweet spot for exercise clothes that makes them my first choice for most active pursuits in warm weather. At first glance the shorts were longer than expected for some reason. If I was going to tweak one thing, Id maybe like a shorter version too. For running shorts they're definitely on the longer side. The ad... Read Moreded length makes them quite versatile though so I dont feel like such a nerd when I go out in public in them. The material is really nice, sheds moisture, good color (grey is a utilitarian favorite), zipper pockets all around are excellent - big enough for my iPhone if needed and I dont drop things like I do with other running shorts thanks to the zippers. Personally I like the liner but I could see where some folks may not love it. Its a boxer brief style and is a capilene grid-like fabric which I find is comfortable and has good wicking properties. I could see where it may run hot for some folks especially with the longer length but I have no problems there. I will likely buy another pair.

July 13, 2020

Versatile and comfortable

These shorts are exactly what i was looking for when it comes to long (or short!) days in the mountains. Very comfy, pockets that hold things out of the way and equally as useful on a trail as on a SUP. I plan on buying more pairs.

July 12, 2020

Favorite Running Shorts

I was hesitant at first due to the price. However, after a few long runs I am convinced they are worth every penny! To the point that I am about to order another pair! Thank you Patagonia!

July 10, 2020

Simply the BEST

The best running shorts period. I really love the zipper pockets, the draw strings are outside the shorts which makes it even more comfortable. Very lightweight and breaths really well. The shorts liner provides great support, one of the best liner's I have ever used. Wish I had another pair!

July 10, 2020

Instant favorite

This pair of shorts became a favorite from the start. The long built in briefs are amazing compared to any built in briefs of shorts I've tried in the past. Normally I cut them out but these are so comfortable. The outer material is the right balance for lightness and durability. Love the zippered pockets which many similar shorts lack. The on... Read Moree small con for me is the front sags a little more than I'd like with weight in the pockets like a phone or keys. Overall my favorite shorts and I plan on purchasing more for backups.

July 9, 2020

All purpose

I have five pairs. The zippered pockets work great for someone who tends to loose things. Very comfortable and fits true to size.

July 9, 2020

Dig these shorts

For me these shorts really hit a sweet spot for exercise clothes that makes them my first choice for most active pursuits in warm weather. At first glance the shorts were longer than expected for some reason. If I was going to tweak one thing, Id maybe like a shorter version too. For running shorts they're definitely on the longer side. The ad... Read Moreded length makes them quite versatile though so I dont feel like such a nerd when I go out in public in them. The material is really nice, sheds moisture, good color (grey is a utilitarian favorite), zipper pockets all around are excellent - big enough for my iPhone if needed and I dont drop things like I do with other running shorts thanks to the zippers. Personally I like the liner but I could see where some folks may not love it. Its a boxer brief style and is a capilene grid-like fabric which I find is comfortable and has good wicking properties. I could see where it may run hot for some folks especially with the longer length but I have no problems there. I will likely buy another pair.

July 9, 2020

Versatile and comfortable

These shorts are exactly what i was looking for when it comes to long (or short!) days in the mountains. Very comfy, pockets that hold things out of the way and equally as useful on a trail as on a SUP. I plan on buying more pairs.

June 26, 2020

Great all around summer shorts

Took them fly fishing, hiking, biking and they are awesome

June 26, 2020

Go too

These shorts are the best, my go too. Theyre very functional, comfortable and user friendly. I have large quads and theres plenty of room. Having all zipped pockets is great feature, no body likes to loose there gear.

June 26, 2020

Run and Water Awesomeness

I use these for running and waterskiing, the fit is perfect, quick dry and most important, the inner liner is a perfect balance of movement, function and comfort!

June 24, 2020

They Work

I bought these shorts and put them on my legs. Just as advertised, they stayed on. So I went for a run. The liner is like a boxer brief and I like it. The pockets have zippers and I like those too. I run at night sometimes and my headlamp in the pocket doesn't bounce around. The length is good for running, but the fit is a little provocative f... Read Moreor around town. The thighs are tight but the material isn't constrictive, so it doesn't impact running performance. The waistband fits snug without needing to tie it if you're a 32-33. Overall, I'm a happy customer. These fit pretty good and work great for running. They're a little less than ideal for around town. If I ordered another pair, I think I'd try a large.

June 23, 2020

my boyfriend loved them

they are definitely worth it! not very stretchable due to its good and durable material but just get your usual size.

June 21, 2020

Great shorts!

Light and comfortable. Great for working out, yoga, running, hiking... etc! Includes multiple zipper pockets and a boxer-brief style liner.

June 21, 2020

Functional features

The Nine Trails shorts are perfect for trail running. I like the quick dry fabric and comfortable liner. No worries if I want to take a car key and phone along with the three secure zippered pockets.

June 21, 2020

Best shorts

As a former semi professional athlete I have worn many pairs of athletic shorts over the years and theses are hands down the best.

June 20, 2020

Improved trail shorts

Like the tie on the outside of the waistband and the legs built into the liner. Zippers well placed for pockets. My old pair of Patagonia trail shorts is collecting dust

June 19, 2020

Used to be great, Quality has fallen over the years

I have multiple pairs of these, the most recent I bought and have used only for the past 3 months, and the liner is already falling apart and shredded. The zipper pull fell off, and I had to repair one of the zippers even though I rarely use the pockets. Less than 300 miles on them and they are landfill material, the opposite of why I bought from P... Read Moreatagonia. The other two old pairs wear like iron and are still my favorite workout/run shorts, but these new ones are not of the same quality.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

We are so sorry to hear your disappointment in these and appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback on that. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed and you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

June 19, 2020

best running shorts

my new favorite running shorts. bought one pair, tried them for a few weeks. just ordered two more. high quality, very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

Versatile, rugged, comfortable

I wear these for running and backpacking. They are obviously extremely well-made with high quality fabrics and stitching. They are very comfortable, light, and breatheable for running, and great for backpacking - comfortable under the waist belt.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches