Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.62 /5

Filter Reviews

All 146 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 8"

4.62
True To Size
September 21, 2020

Amazing liner and pockets

I would buy a small next time for a snugger brief fit on cold days. I can run with a phone in pocket and not notice it a bit, I actually thought I lost my phone for minute. Very comfy, dry fast, great support. Great multi-sport shorts 5'11" 170 lbs

September 17, 2020

New Favorite

These quickly became my go to shorts for a log run. I like the lining and the zip pockets. Dry out pretty fast. You need to keep more in stock - I bought a medium because you didn't have any large. Thanks.

September 17, 2020

zippers

the lining and the zippered pockets sold me

September 16, 2020

Great Shorts

Great shorts. Fit great, and of course Patagonia is a great company to buy from because they're ethically focused. I do wish the pockets were bigger, especially in the back. My phone can't quite fit in my back pocket. Birddogs have done a great job with the pockets. They have one on the left side and one on the right back. I wish Patagoni... Read Morea would emulate that.

September 16, 2020

Perfect fit

Love the zipper pockets. Super comfortable. Great look.

September 16, 2020

Turns out these work for all situations

Purchased for running. Preformed well. Works as a bathing suit after a run near a beach. Great for paddling a canoe. Also work for home remodels or building patios. Preform well on a Zoom call paired with a collared shirt and tie. Would recommend.

September 15, 2020

Comfortable fit

This is the second pair I bought for my husband because he just loves them. He says the fit is very comfortable and they are of excellent quality. Thank you!

September 13, 2020

Very comfortable great for hiking

I initially bought one pair of nine trails shorts to check the fit. After trying on a a couple of hikes I bought 2 more pairs. Fit is great and love the stretch fabric. Highly recommended.

September 6, 2020

Does what one would ask of a trail short.

Does what one would ask of a trail short.

September 4, 2020

Perfect for jog

Great fit. Easy to run. Nice pocket for holding phone

September 3, 2020

Super comfy and functional!

I bought a couple pairs of these for trail running and hiking, and they've been great for that, but they're so dang comfortable and practical that I've also been wearing them around the house, swimming, doing chores, and basically any time I don't need pants. I didn't originally expect to use the pockets (my previous trail ... Read Morerunning shorts didn't have pockets) but now that I have them I find them very useful and no longer need my running belt. I've only had them for ~6 months but they've been durable so far. I've already ordered a third pair because I'm using them so frequently (because they're so comfortable and practical). 10/10 would replace all of my shorts with these.

September 2, 2020

Very nice fit and function.

Been a Baggies fan for years and these shorts really surprised me as to fit, looks, comfort and construction.

September 2, 2020

Perfect

Love these shorts. Very comfortable. Great length. Would definitely buy more if they were in different colors.

September 2, 2020

Very comfy

I was looking for good active shorts with zip up pockets and I came across these. Im a 34 waist and the large were comfortable but a little snug. I ended up ordering 2 more pair but got a size xl and they fit great.

September 1, 2020

Favorite running shorts

Extremely comfortable for running. I log about 40 - 50 per week. This is my favorite running short. Inside them for the pool and beach days - they work great.

September 1, 2020

I wear this every day

Love this fit. Flexible fabric. Odor reducing tech !

September 1, 2020

Durable running shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia running shorts for several years. In my opinion theyre the best running shorts on the market. They last long because theyre very durable. The inside shorts keep me from getting a rash. And I like the pocket designs because things dont fall out.

August 13, 2020

Best Running Shorts Ever.

These shorts are awesome! Finally a running short with boxer-brief liner that doesn't become a thong after the first mile. Lots of stretch, lots of pockets, good length, and just plain comfortable. I'm 5'8" with a 29-30" waist and the size small fits perfect. Will be purchasing another pair or two very soon.

August 6, 2020

Perfect All Day Short

I have worn these shorts (not the same pair) 75% of the time during Covid. I put them on in the morning and wear them all-day from work out to work to playing with the kids. I need a few more pairs.

August 4, 2020

Don't wait, these are perfect!

Working from home, running at lunch, and relaxing in the evenings are all slightly different conditions: the Nine Trails Running Short covers them all perfectly. In my life, I've never found a more comfortable and versatile garment like these...and in the hot, sticky summers of North Carolina, they absolutely make the difference!

August 4, 2020

New Favorite

These are the best shorts Ive ever owned, Im buying another pair immediately.

July 30, 2020

Great short, but the fit is a little weird

This short is great for running and backpacking. I just finished a trip where I wore them for 4 days straight hiking, running, and swimming. They dry quickly after a swim and the liner prevents chaffing even when they are wet. They have also held up great and I will likely buy another pair. My only complaint is that they bunch up in the front towar... Read Mored the elastic band and it doesn't look good. I thought it was because they were a little too small, but the large is way too big and I've subsequently lost weight and it hasn't helped. Otherwise, these are really great shorts.

July 25, 2020

Overall Good Design

Overall, these are very well designed shorts. The best parts are that all three pockets are zippered--you definitely need that on the shallow front pockets or stuff will fall out when you move around and sit. The good news is that if you put stuff in there and run it doesn't bounce around as much as long-pocketed shorts. The back pocket is lar... Read Morege--easily accomodating a cell phone. The inside mesh is not a brief but more mid-quad length like compression shorts--I may cut it out of mine eventually. Finally, the bottom hem is weirdly designed in that there must be a roll of fabric inside the hem. I'm sure it's durable knowing Patagonia but it took some getting used to because when you move you can feel the hem riding up your leg. It has not chaffed my leg, fortunately. Now, I just wish there were more color choices.

July 23, 2020

Almost perfect

I love the three pairs I have of these shorts. I'll start there. The fit is great, plenty of good pocket space and the inner lining is a nice touch for hiking, climbing and trail running. That said, it absolutely drives me crazy that Patagonia "updated" these shorts to go from a zipper with a plastic tab on the end to one with cord.... Read More I implore the gear lab to find a way to create a zipper pull that doesn't come undone after literally two washes. It is supremely annoying to essentially lose the zipper pull within weeks and then have to create your own out of spare cord. I buy a lot of Patagonia product and this oversight is out of character.

July 20, 2020

Shorts Are Great But

Very happy with the quality of the shorts. Theyre soft, they feel great, they dry quickly, pockets are terrific, liner is comfortable. Ive worn them for hours in high heat and humidity. My problem is the Patagonia size chart. Ive been an XL for years. Since the pandemic started, Ive lost more than 20 pounds and was prepared to buy a Large. The char... Read Moret shows 36 for Large which might have worked but also 34 which wouldnt have. I went on a chat with someone at Patagonia who recommended the XL and turned out to be right. But, I wish the size charts would be made clearer especially for the in between sizes.

July 18, 2020

Light and quick drying

It is form-fitting which helps with sweat control. At the same time, you can clearly see an outline of my junk, so I can't wear these for casual events which is a bit of a bummer.

July 16, 2020

Tight Crotch

The liner is nice but it's kind of tight near the crotch area. I'm 5'11 and 175 lbs and have big thighs and I think I would have been better suited had I gone a size up for large. The tightness in the crotch area isn't that big of an issue when running but why have it be an issue at all.

July 13, 2020

Simply the BEST

The best running shorts period. I really love the zipper pockets, the draw strings are outside the shorts which makes it even more comfortable. Very lightweight and breaths really well. The shorts liner provides great support, one of the best liner's I have ever used. Wish I had another pair!

July 13, 2020

Instant favorite

This pair of shorts became a favorite from the start. The long built in briefs are amazing compared to any built in briefs of shorts I've tried in the past. Normally I cut them out but these are so comfortable. The outer material is the right balance for lightness and durability. Love the zippered pockets which many similar shorts lack. The on... Read Moree small con for me is the front sags a little more than I'd like with weight in the pockets like a phone or keys. Overall my favorite shorts and I plan on purchasing more for backups.

July 13, 2020

Versatile and comfortable

These shorts are exactly what i was looking for when it comes to long (or short!) days in the mountains. Very comfy, pockets that hold things out of the way and equally as useful on a trail as on a SUP. I plan on buying more pairs.

July 13, 2020

All purpose

I have five pairs. The zippered pockets work great for someone who tends to loose things. Very comfortable and fits true to size.

July 13, 2020

Dig these shorts

For me these shorts really hit a sweet spot for exercise clothes that makes them my first choice for most active pursuits in warm weather. At first glance the shorts were longer than expected for some reason. If I was going to tweak one thing, Id maybe like a shorter version too. For running shorts they're definitely on the longer side. The ad... Read Moreded length makes them quite versatile though so I dont feel like such a nerd when I go out in public in them. The material is really nice, sheds moisture, good color (grey is a utilitarian favorite), zipper pockets all around are excellent - big enough for my iPhone if needed and I dont drop things like I do with other running shorts thanks to the zippers. Personally I like the liner but I could see where some folks may not love it. Its a boxer brief style and is a capilene grid-like fabric which I find is comfortable and has good wicking properties. I could see where it may run hot for some folks especially with the longer length but I have no problems there. I will likely buy another pair.

July 12, 2020

Favorite Running Shorts

I was hesitant at first due to the price. However, after a few long runs I am convinced they are worth every penny! To the point that I am about to order another pair! Thank you Patagonia!

July 10, 2020

Simply the BEST

The best running shorts period. I really love the zipper pockets, the draw strings are outside the shorts which makes it even more comfortable. Very lightweight and breaths really well. The shorts liner provides great support, one of the best liner's I have ever used. Wish I had another pair!

July 10, 2020

Instant favorite

This pair of shorts became a favorite from the start. The long built in briefs are amazing compared to any built in briefs of shorts I've tried in the past. Normally I cut them out but these are so comfortable. The outer material is the right balance for lightness and durability. Love the zippered pockets which many similar shorts lack. The on... Read Moree small con for me is the front sags a little more than I'd like with weight in the pockets like a phone or keys. Overall my favorite shorts and I plan on purchasing more for backups.

July 9, 2020

Versatile and comfortable

These shorts are exactly what i was looking for when it comes to long (or short!) days in the mountains. Very comfy, pockets that hold things out of the way and equally as useful on a trail as on a SUP. I plan on buying more pairs.

July 9, 2020

All purpose

I have five pairs. The zippered pockets work great for someone who tends to loose things. Very comfortable and fits true to size.

July 9, 2020

Dig these shorts

For me these shorts really hit a sweet spot for exercise clothes that makes them my first choice for most active pursuits in warm weather. At first glance the shorts were longer than expected for some reason. If I was going to tweak one thing, Id maybe like a shorter version too. For running shorts they're definitely on the longer side. The ad... Read Moreded length makes them quite versatile though so I dont feel like such a nerd when I go out in public in them. The material is really nice, sheds moisture, good color (grey is a utilitarian favorite), zipper pockets all around are excellent - big enough for my iPhone if needed and I dont drop things like I do with other running shorts thanks to the zippers. Personally I like the liner but I could see where some folks may not love it. Its a boxer brief style and is a capilene grid-like fabric which I find is comfortable and has good wicking properties. I could see where it may run hot for some folks especially with the longer length but I have no problems there. I will likely buy another pair.

June 26, 2020

Great all around summer shorts

Took them fly fishing, hiking, biking and they are awesome

June 26, 2020

Run and Water Awesomeness

I use these for running and waterskiing, the fit is perfect, quick dry and most important, the inner liner is a perfect balance of movement, function and comfort!

June 26, 2020

Go too

These shorts are the best, my go too. Theyre very functional, comfortable and user friendly. I have large quads and theres plenty of room. Having all zipped pockets is great feature, no body likes to loose there gear.

June 24, 2020

They Work

I bought these shorts and put them on my legs. Just as advertised, they stayed on. So I went for a run. The liner is like a boxer brief and I like it. The pockets have zippers and I like those too. I run at night sometimes and my headlamp in the pocket doesn't bounce around. The length is good for running, but the fit is a little provocative f... Read Moreor around town. The thighs are tight but the material isn't constrictive, so it doesn't impact running performance. The waistband fits snug without needing to tie it if you're a 32-33. Overall, I'm a happy customer. These fit pretty good and work great for running. They're a little less than ideal for around town. If I ordered another pair, I think I'd try a large.

June 23, 2020

my boyfriend loved them

they are definitely worth it! not very stretchable due to its good and durable material but just get your usual size.

June 21, 2020

Functional features

The Nine Trails shorts are perfect for trail running. I like the quick dry fabric and comfortable liner. No worries if I want to take a car key and phone along with the three secure zippered pockets.

June 21, 2020

Best shorts

As a former semi professional athlete I have worn many pairs of athletic shorts over the years and theses are hands down the best.

June 21, 2020

Great shorts!

Light and comfortable. Great for working out, yoga, running, hiking... etc! Includes multiple zipper pockets and a boxer-brief style liner.

June 20, 2020

Improved trail shorts

Like the tie on the outside of the waistband and the legs built into the liner. Zippers well placed for pockets. My old pair of Patagonia trail shorts is collecting dust

June 19, 2020

really like these shorts but...

This was the second pair of these shorts that I have purchased and use them for long, self-supported trail runs. Love the length and the pockets. Being female however, I find the liner short roomy (for man parts) but I usually wear compression under them for long runs anyway. Please make a women's variety with similar inseam (longer than 5 inc... Read Morehes) and lots of zippered pockets!

June 19, 2020

Great Shorts

Play tennis in these shorts.... Love them

June 19, 2020

Versatile, rugged, comfortable

I wear these for running and backpacking. They are obviously extremely well-made with high quality fabrics and stitching. They are very comfortable, light, and breatheable for running, and great for backpacking - comfortable under the waist belt.

June 19, 2020

best running shorts

my new favorite running shorts. bought one pair, tried them for a few weeks. just ordered two more. high quality, very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

My Favorite Shorts

These shorts are very comfortable and versatile. Whether youre working out, hiking, or hanging with friends these shorts are perfect. I have them in three different colors! Oh and I love the zippered pockets.

June 19, 2020

Used to be great, Quality has fallen over the years

I have multiple pairs of these, the most recent I bought and have used only for the past 3 months, and the liner is already falling apart and shredded. The zipper pull fell off, and I had to repair one of the zippers even though I rarely use the pockets. Less than 300 miles on them and they are landfill material, the opposite of why I bought from P... Read Moreatagonia. The other two old pairs wear like iron and are still my favorite workout/run shorts, but these new ones are not of the same quality.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

We are so sorry to hear your disappointment in these and appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback on that. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed and you're welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

June 19, 2020

Comfy

Super comfortable with the inner lining. Love all the zipper pockets! Great shorts!

June 17, 2020

Great shorts

These shorts fit a little tight but overall great shorts for a summer hike or trail run.

June 17, 2020

Functional features

The Nine Trails shorts are perfect for trail running. I like the quick dry fabric and comfortable liner. No worries if I want to take a car key and phone along with the three secure zippered pockets.

June 17, 2020

Best shorts

As a former semi professional athlete I have worn many pairs of athletic shorts over the years and theses are hands down the best.

June 17, 2020

Super Comfortable

Bought one pair and needed another stat! Love the fit, look and quality. Great shorts for an active lifestyle.

June 17, 2020

Constriciting for running and not the trail running shorts I expected from my last pair

These shorts are well made like I've come to expect from Patagonia. I had the same shorts from a few years ago and they were a favirite pair of trail runners. These seem more like hiking shorts. They are bulkier and my legs are actually quite constricted in my running stride. I was disappointed. While they will work for hiking shorts I was hop... Read Moreing for another great pair of running shorts for trail runs. They are not cheap so keep this in mind if you are looking for something to put miles on in.

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2020

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that these weren't what you were expecting. We appreciate the feedback and please feel free to send these back to us since they aren't working well for you: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

June 17, 2020

Great shorts!

Light and comfortable. Great for working out, yoga, running, hiking... etc! Includes multiple zipper pockets and a boxer-brief style liner.

June 17, 2020

great distance shorts.

Fit well, comfortable, useful pockets. Will be replacing all my other running shorts with these. Glad to to see camo in the lineup finally.

June 17, 2020

good multipurpose athletic shorts

All around good shorts. First pair I have ever owned with a thigh length lining, thought I would hate that but they actually don't bug me at all. I like having the utility of the full sized zippered pockets in theory, but I have found that the front pockets are not practical for holding anything of weight, like a phone, while running. Back poc... Read Moreket is more shallow than the two front pockets. I would buy again. Wouldn't mind seeing this same short with a shorter inseam length either.

June 9, 2020

Comfortable and durable shorts

I originally purchased the Men's 9 Trail Shorts (8") in size small. I'm 5' 9", 165lbs and have athletic thighs from regular crossfit exercise. The smalls were tight in the thigh as well as the waist. Exchanged the smalls for mediums which are a much better fit and the shorts are durable enough to handle rigorous workouts bu... Read Moret comfortable enough to wear lounging around the house. As for the liners - they are comfortable as well and provide additional support and protection from chaffing.

May 29, 2020

Awesome. Nearly perfect

Purchased for track running, mainly because of Zipper pockets,and great mesh liner. Could be a bit looser fit. I'm kinda thin right now so I'll work my way up and definitely need the large or maybe xl. Also found out they are perfect for the pool as well. More color options would be great. I'll buy more.

May 28, 2020

Perfect Fit, Questionable Durability

Love the shorts. I have tried every running short out there, and these are hands-down the best all-around running shorts I have found. I now have 4 pair. On the plus side, the fit is perfect. The liner stays in place without compression, and they are super light-weight, which is key for humid NC runs. On the negative side, the liner shows signs of ... Read Morewear (holes developing) after only a dozen or so washings, and I lost a pocket zipper pull in the middle of a race, without which getting into my pocket for nutrition required that I stop. All and all, best of the best and I'll keep coming back.

May 25, 2020

New Favorite Shorts

I am 5'10" and 185 lbs with an athletic build and purchased a size large. They are true to size and fit perfectly. The moment I tried these on, I knew they would become my new favorite pair of shorts. I like them so much I now have four pairs in different colors. They are so comfortable I wear them nearly every day no matter what I am doi... Read Moreng (running, working-out, hiking, swimming, kayaking, camping, relaxing, working, etc.). I really like the built-in liner for when I go on long runs or hikes, it provides support and breathability. The material is lightweight, very comfortable, and extremely durable. They dry quickly and I love how they have a zippered back pocket. The only thing I recommend is that when you first wear them you make sure the chord attached to the zippers are tight. I did not on my first pair and I lost a couple chords. It was not a big deal and I haven't lost one since. I spend a lot of time outdoors and have a variety of shorts in other outdoor apparel brands but these shorts are by far my favorite. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

May 22, 2020

Great overall, but a bit baggier than the photos suggest

I love the Patagonia strider shorts. So much so, that I've given to wearing them all day during stay at home. So, when I came across this short, I thought I'd be able to give my wife a break from seeing me in my running shorts. These are great all around shorts for anything active. They're a bit long to run in for me. The one problem... Read More I have is that, from the images on the site, it looked like it had a more athletic cut. I don't really like how baggy they fit. I actually think I'm going to have a seamster take them in a bit at the leg. Then they'll be perfect.

May 22, 2020

New Favorite Shorts

I am 5'10" and 185 lbs with an athletic build and purchased a size large. They are true to size and fit perfectly. The moment I tried these on, I knew they would become my new favorite pair of shorts. I like them so much I now have four pairs in different colors. They are so comfortable I wear them nearly every day no matter what I am doi... Read Moreng (running, working-out, hiking, swimming, kayaking, camping, relaxing, working, etc.). I really like the built-in liner for when I go on long runs or hikes, it provides support and breathability. The material is lightweight, very comfortable, and extremely durable. They dry quickly and I love how they have a zippered back pocket. The only thing I recommend is that when you first wear them you make sure the chord attached to the zippers are tight. I did not on my first pair and I lost a couple chords. It was not a big deal and I haven't lost one since. I spend a lot of time outdoors and have a variety of shorts in other outdoor apparel brands but these shorts are by far my favorite. Keep up the great work Patagonia!

January 3, 2020

Fit perfectly perfect for any

Fit perfectly perfect for any activity. 5’10” wear size small

December 31, 2019

Good for indoor cycling

Good for indoor cycling

December 26, 2019

Men’s lined running shorts

The shorts are great, but upon receiving them the stitching along the bottom cuff of the inside liner was already significantly freying. As a result, I’ll need to return or exchange this product.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2020

Hi Carol, please feel free to return or exchange those Patagonia Men's Nine Trails Shorts. You can start that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

December 25, 2019

Love them

M son loved the vest and running shorts!

December 23, 2019

Pockets for all

If you're going to run for a while you'll likely need to bring a few things with you, food, hydration, phone, etc. Most running shorts aren't up for the challenge, the Nine Trails aren't other shorts. Zippered pockets all around, enough space to hit the trails for miles without dropping everything when you bounce. Run farther!

December 11, 2019

Awesome shorts

Okay, listen carefully. I'm convinced the only pairs of shorts you ever need are these and the cargo shorts Patagonia sells. I bought a pair of these in blue and black and they are the most comfortable, versatile shorts I have ever worn. They are extremely easy to hand wash, don't hold odor and extremely lightweight.

December 2, 2019

Typical bad-ass quality!

Shorts are everything you need. They're light weight while still feeling tough, three large zippered pockets, comfortable liner, and the simple up front drawstring tie.

November 27, 2019

3rd Generation, and keeps getting better

This is the fourth pair of 9 Trails Shorts I've purchased over the years, and they are the most comfortable running shorts I've found. I find the brief-length liner very comfortable, and the stretch component in the means you never feel constrained. I uses these for trail running and warm weather day hikes. Minor nit: the string pulls on ... Read Morethe zippers can disappear in the wash.

November 14, 2019

Love these shorts. Not just for running

Just bought my second pair of these shorts. Appreciate the pockets. Not just for running.

November 10, 2019

Perfect for hiking in our

Perfect for hiking in our TN mts.

November 7, 2019

Nine trails shorts

Shorts are great, have only had them for a week or two at this point and have put some miles on them with many more to come. The quality is top notch as I have come to expect and love from Patagonia. Keep up the awesome work

November 1, 2019

Almost perfect

I love everything about these shorts--the snug built in lining, but loose enough short fit, and the ability to store stuff. My only hesitation is that if you are doing a lot of vertical movement, the lower back seems to slide down.

October 21, 2019

good

These are good shorts, but the zippered pockets on the front don't sit flat. They look a little awkward.

October 18, 2019

Love these

These are great for running! I love the zippered pockets, and the liner feels great. I don't enjoy wearing short-shorts, so this length is perfect.

October 11, 2019

These are the most comfortable

These are the most comfortable shorts I’ve ever ran in!

September 26, 2019

All around sport shorts

Very comfortable and nice light weight.

September 25, 2019

Great shorts wish they made the pants version of this

Patagonia can you please please make the long pants version of this?

September 17, 2019

Nine trail shorts

These are incredibly designed and made but they run a tad small I think. I've had some of Patagonia's similar shorts and a medium fit me fine .

September 5, 2019

Most comfortable shorts I own

These shorts are the most comfortable shorts I’ve ever had,. The liner is great - breathable and snug. This is my second pair. Bought first pair in T.C. Michigan and had to get another pair online.

September 3, 2019

Great gym shorts

I am 6'3", 200lbs, size 33 waist. I bought the Medium. They fit great. I bought these to use primarily in the gym and they are fantastic. The stretch in the fabric works great for squats, deadlifts, and any type of bent leg movement without feeling like I am fighting against my shorts. The zipped pockets keep everything tight and secure... Read More when I lay on the ground or on a bench. The antimicrobial liner works magic for odor suppression. I have also used them for their intended use of trail running which was same positive experience.

September 3, 2019

Fantastic running shorts. Great wicking,

Fantastic running shorts. Great wicking, and comfortable, even after 15 miles on a hot day.

September 2, 2019

Nine Trails Shorts

Great fitting and highly functional, especially with the zippered pockets! I immediately bought a second pair after wearing the first for a day.

August 31, 2019

Great everything shorts.

Very versatile shorts. With the inner lining perfect for running, hiking, swimming, weights. Dry rather quickly so if hiking and jump in river, they dry quickly and are quite comfortable to hike in even when wet. Bought a second pair a few days after the first.

August 29, 2019

Nice quality, a little more bulky than expected

I really like the material and lining. The zipper pockets are nice but for running shorts, probably could do with smaller/fewer pockets. Makes the shorts feel a little bulky.

August 28, 2019

Great Shorts!

These shorts are light, comfortable, and have smart details with the pockets. I find them very useful for my needs of walking and light hiking.

August 28, 2019

The Sizing is Way Out of Whack!

I have a 29" waist and cyclist legs (i.e., big quads for my size). The size chart indicates I should take a sz. Small but those seem to be made for someone with a 31"+ waist (despite the 29"-30" listed in the size chart) and are "sack of potatoes" baggy for something called "regular fit". I then tried a sz. X... Read MoreS which seemed to fit two sizes smaller (perhaps for a 26"-27" waist not the 28" in the size chart) and they were the opposite of baggy (difficult to get on and were noticeably stretched around my hips). Otherwise they have very nice features/materials for the price (I love the use of all zippered pockets, the stretchy material, and the boxer short liners)...if only they fit. NOTE to Patagonia: Please revisit the sizing on these shorts (the Small is too big and the XS is too small vs. the size chart)!

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been such a huge disappointment! You're always welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 27, 2019

Perfect 21st century running shorts

Unfortunately I rarely throw away old running shorts - I think there are some in the bottom of my bin from the late 20th century with worn out elastic, small pockets for gels, and guaranteed to chafe liners. These Nine Trails Shorts are perfect for running in the 21st century - strong elastic, zippered pockets big enough for an iPhone XR (I log on ... Read MoreStrava via my iPhone), and the super comfortable boxer brief liners. The length is just right as well - not Bill Clinton, 90s white thigh, scalloped edges short or NBA basketball player super long. I hope to add another pair in the next decade (2020).

August 26, 2019

Spent a week wearing these shorts

I spent 16 days in Greece and Israel. These shorts were fantastic. They spent time as shorts, swim trunks, and actual running shorts. The back pocket was big enough for a phone and the side pockets held just enough stuff to make sure that I could take everything else I needed. Highly recommend!!

August 25, 2019

Good but not perfect

I like the material, the design, the length, the zipped pockets. The fit seems a bit baggier than I prefer (I’m 6’1, 180, I bought a large) I don’t like the boxer like liner. I prefer a brief liner or no liner at all. I think a brief liner would make these perfect.

August 18, 2019

Great for running Distance

The Trail shorts have a large pocket behind to carry a phone and other pockets for energy gel, keys, etc. They are comfortable and look great!

August 18, 2019

Great running shorts

One of few running shorts in the market with two front zipper pockets and one rear zip

August 17, 2019

Fit

Certainly not cut very full for XXL and draw string definitely not long enough for this size. Would be willing to bet fty use same length string for most sizes.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

Absolutely love these shorts. They’re my all day weekend shorts as well as my go to runners. Given the 8 inch length, you do feel them on your thighs a little but they stretch well so I don’t feel too restricted. Might bother someone used to the super loose and short track style, but the versatility is worth it for me. Zipping front pockets also ke... Read Moreep your thumbs from catching which is great. Liner is super comfortable too

August 15, 2019

Sweet

Super comfy, durable, and the same quality I’ve come to expect. Can’t go wrong with Patagonia!

August 15, 2019

Does the job nicely

Having been used to the old style brief liner, I was a little worried I wouldn't be able to get used to these. After about 10 runs, including 2, 12+ mile trail runs, they're working great.

August 15, 2019

Best Running Shorts

The only running shorts I wear. Great fit

August 14, 2019

The men in my life love these shorts!!

My husband bought these this summer to use as workout shorts and a bathing suit! He loved them so much and talked about them so often that my 11 year old wanted some. So we were able to get him men's size small and he is wearing them almost every day. They are light weight and dry quickly and the guys love that they have a boxer brief type lin... Read Moreer instead of mesh. All around great purchase and one I would make again.

August 14, 2019

Amazing

I wear these shorts non stop cowboy style and the boxer brief insert is perfecr for ventilation. Theyre an amazing everyday short if youre a minimalist as they pack down very small as well. Best shorts Ive owned

August 12, 2019

Favorite workout shorts

The perfect all-arounder short. Love the clean fit, all zippered pockets, under liner and ample drawstring. They’re a staple in my work bag for whatever I want to do for mid day exercise.

August 12, 2019

Nine trail shorts

Only issue was the circumferential stitching around each leg on the liners is not very strong or elastic and broke

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the elastic on these shorts. We would absolutely consider this to be a [warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) issue and encourage you to send these back to us. Let us know if we can offer any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this.

August 12, 2019

9 Trail

Great running shorts. Favorite pair after about a month. Boxer briefs are comfortable and no chafing. Also like the size of the pockets, which actually zip closed and are slightly larger pockets than most trail running shorts. These also fit true to size as indicated on the sizing chart provided on Patagonia website.

August 12, 2019

Nine Trails Shorts

These shorts are great. They’re comfortable and my phone and wallet fit easily into the zippered pockets.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

Got them for racquetball. Excellent quality and fit, light weight, dry quickly after laundering. Good pockets.

August 10, 2019

Great but needs small key

Great but needs small key pocket

August 10, 2019

My go to workout shorts

Sized well (6’1” 180lb wearing size Med). Nice supportive comfort and slim look. Would recommend to others and will likely purchase again.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts!

Some great shorts for trail running or street, three zippered pockets rock. The color is great, not just basic black for men which I always felt is a cop out. The built in liner is nice too, not too restrictive but also supportive. Just buy a pair and don't worry about it.

August 10, 2019

The Short For Everything

What are these not good for? I’ve used these so many times since I got these all my other shorts are probably feeling lonely. from the yoga studio to the river I have used these for it all.

August 10, 2019

I love these shorts. Great

I love these shorts. Great for running!

August 2, 2019

Great running shorts

I like running shorts with zip pockets for security and loosing things! These are the best and apparently the only one on the market. One problem— zip pulls are not rugged. They easily come off in the wash. Pantagonia has been great in sending me new and improved pulls! Thanks!

July 22, 2019

Great Shorts

I easily fell in love with these shorts. I'm a medium on the size chart and they fit exactly as expected. They have everything I was looking for; quick drying, multiple zipper pockets and a boxer-brief style liner. I've used these to raft in at the river, on my daily bike commute, and of course running and in the gym. I'm training fo... Read Morer my first marathon and these are the perfect shorts for me due to the longer legs the drop just above the knee and the larger liner all help combat chafing. Just bought two more pairs.

June 20, 2019

Love these shorts

I use these for trail running medium to long distances and these are the best shorts I've come across for this use (I now have 4 pairs). I like to carry an iphone in one of the front pockets and it fits great and doesn't bang against my leg or distract me. I liked the previous iteration of these, but the newer version feels a bit more str... Read Moreeamlined and I much prefer it.

June 10, 2019

Great Shorts

Was looking for a good pair of shorts for working out/running/etc that fit somewhere between normal and slim. These fit great (6' 200lbs / size 32/33 waist). Extremely comfortable and very durable material. The internal liner is a very nice feature and the zipper pockets are more than large enough to fit a phone.

May 24, 2019

Great Product

These have quickly become my favorite pair of running shorts. The material is lighter and more durable than most shorts in this category. The liner is excellent - just the right weight and breathable. The fit is spot on and the zippers ensure you don’t drop car keys of valuables on the trail. I highly recommend these. As a side note, an iPhone 6 do... Read Moreesn’t fit vertical in the back pocket but it does fit when oriented horizontally.

May 24, 2019

OK for casual, not for serious running

I bought these shorts hoping to use them for easy, non-serious/workout runs. I also do some run commuting and prefer to have a more normal length short for those types of days. The fit of the shorts is good, and the liner is also nice, but the pockets on the front were annoying- when I was running the zippers were a bit stiff and they were bunching... Read More up. I actually had to unzip them during my run to avoid having all the material bunched up around my hip. I would say go for these if you need a casual short, or if you really want front zipper pockets. But for dedicated running, look for something else. Patagonia take note - you seem to have good features scattered around different shorts but not all in the same one (not sure if this is by design or not). Please make 1 short with these features - rear zipper pocket, possibly add waist pockets like Strider pro, inner boxer liner, waist tie on outside of shorts - not inside.

May 8, 2019

Nice shorts

I like these shorts. They are lightweight, comfortable, breathable. Perfect for the gym or a run. I especially like the built in mesh liners which provide great support and two real pockets! Hard to find this in running shorts. Highly recommended.

May 8, 2019

Great running shorts

I'm new to trail running and this is my first pair of "running" shorts. They did everything I needed them to do, great support, could carry my giant phone in the pocket without issue, comfortable and breathable.

April 19, 2019

Dixie Reb

I absolutely love these shorts. I just got my first pair, in the carbon color. They are the perfect length for me- sit right above the knee. I hate shorts that are too long, but these are perfect. I also love the fact they have zippers on every pocket- makes it easier when working out with a phone, wallet, and AirPods. Didn’t think I would like the... Read More built in liner, but it’s surprisingly very comfortable- even when wearing boxers. I sweat a lot, so I dont want to go commando in these and boxers dosent feel bulky or anything underneath with the liner. Ive even started dressing these up a bit- like wearing to hit golf balls with a polo, or even to lower tier courses that don’t require khakis- and they look great dressed up with a good looking striped polo. My only complaint is that they make MORE COLORS. The navy camo is a little much, a standard navy would be nice.

April 11, 2019

Great fit, unisex as well, if you like more coverage

I'm 5'11", 150 lbs, long legs, short torso while my wife is 5'9", 140 lbs, short legs, long torso. We are long past too short shorts and both like at least 8" with pockets for keys and iPhones. A iPhone 6 in Otterbox fits in the rear pocket with zipper open; it is easy to get in and out, secure and doesn't move ar... Read Moreound. Front pockets hold keys, or in my case a small key case with house key and id. I bought a pair at REI and we both were not not too sure about the fit; short waist/crotch. I decided to give them a try, liked them and ordered another pair here. For whatever reason the second pair fit was better; my wife agreed. Difference? The pair I bought at REI was Spring 2018. The pair I ordered was Spring 2019. We ordered 2 more. They also fit better than the 2018 pair.

March 26, 2019

Go to trail running shorts

I love these shorts. I first got them back at the beginning of the 2018 season and they instantly became my go to shorts. I also own some strider pros, but I like the fit and liner better on these. Also I prefer having the zippered pockets as well (haven’t lost a zipper tie after 500-600 miles)

February 8, 2019

Reports of Nine Trails Death Have Been Greatly Exaggerated

I own many pairs of both versions (old & new) of these shorts. Both versions are great. Both have performed flawless for me in 5Ks, half marathons, and marathons. I disagree with reports that the new version has ruined the short. The only difference I notice is the liner and zippers/drawstring. The new liner is a slightly different fabric. Ho... Read Morewever, it appears to functional equivalent to the previous one. I have noticed no difference in compression, insulation, or friction. The zippers/drawstring are now more prominent. I slightly prefer the more subtle look of the old version. However, both zippers/drawstrings are functionally equivalent. I do not notice any difference to the cut that some reviewers have mentioned. Both old and new are a flattering tailored cut. I find it very functional and visually appeasing. I have tired many brands of running shorts w/ compression liners (Nike, Brooks, LuLus, Target, Salomon). I find Patagonia Nine Trails to be the best.

February 5, 2019

Favorite Any Activity Short

I pack a medium black hole cube in my work bag for mid-day workouts. Since first trying these on these are now my go to shorts to be in that bag. They’re perfect for almost any activity I can throw at them from a quick run thru the trails to hitting the company gym. I was sceptical about the liner after reading reviews and I don’t know what the p... Read Morerevious liner was like, but these are great. I’ve never had a liner with legs before, but these feel great. I love that every pocket has a zipper so my phone isn’t taking its typically customary dive to the floor while sitting down on a gym bench. Perfect length. I ditched the attempts at orchestrating packing for any particular day - shorter short for runs, longer for climbing day or gym - these work for anything.

January 17, 2019

Favorite running shorts

Got the at the beginning of the 2018 running season and these quickly became my go to shorts. I personally love the liner (never had old model).

January 5, 2019

Great Shorts

I really like the design of these shorts. Length is good, zipper pockets are handy, and I love the boxer brief liner, which is better than the brief liners in other Patagonia models. My only complaint is the string pull tab on the zippers, which have come untied in the past and been lost, otherwise I’d have given these shorts five stars.

December 30, 2018

Skeptical at first, but now sold.

First of all, I also own the previous version of these running shorts. I had several pair, in fact, and gave two to my son when he was visiting me a couple of months ago. He loves them so much that he complains that I have now spoiled him and he refuses to run in anything else. They were an absolute perfect shorts for both of us. Since I gave him s... Read Moreome of mine I ordered a pair of the new ones. I was very skeptical at first, but I have grown to like these also. As people have noted they are quite different than the previous version. Since I live in northern Florida I actually find the outer material more comfortable in the warmer weather. I will wear the older pair when the temperature drops down into the lower 30s. I have had absolutely no issues with the liner although the fit is definitely different. As so many people have noted, the three pockets are great on those long trail runs when you need to carry some gels or bars with you. No problems with the new pulls. All of that being said, I hope that Patagonia is listening to all of us and returns to the previous model. I can guarantee them my business as well as my son's (who has many more running days ahead of him than I do.)

October 20, 2018

Bring back the old version!

I was so grateful to find the nine trails shorts about 2 years ago. Compression liner was just right, iPhone fit in back pocket and gels in the front. New version liner is much dinner and not as good.

October 19, 2018

shorts

I like them. I'm 5'7 and weigh 155...the fit is great as far as tightness is concerned. Length is a bit longer than I would've liked. People are complaining about the netting underwear and I will say it's going to take some getting use to...probably because I must have some unreasonable festering fears that bring me back to midd... Read Morele school of being pants'd. Once I get over that mental hurdle I'll be good

August 25, 2018

Great shorts but new version isnt as good

I liked these shorts so much I bought a 2nd pair. However, the newer version 57601 has an inner liner that is much different and doesn't stay in place like the older version did 57600. Please go back to the 57600 version! Still great shorts though!

August 22, 2018

Completely Redeemed! - 2nd Review

I initially hated the changes to these shorts over last year’s model but have since grown to love them. Since getting these shorts I’ve put in about 100 miles of road/trail running and have summitted multiple peaks in NY’s Adirondacks, and they just keep getting better. I’ve order two more pairs since, in different colors. Most notably, while mow... Read Moreing my front lawn two nights ago I unwittingly ran over an underground wasp nest and was immediately swarmed by hundreds of the angry little buggers. As per usual, I was mowing while “commando,” but the awesome lining of these shorts thwarted the wasps’ attempts to fly up my shorts and reach my critical lower region. Thanks, Patagonia, for making a pair of shorts capable of protecting my junk against angry wasps! Please note, these shorts should not be intentionally used as armor against wasps.

July 26, 2018

Great Shorts, Don't Love the Updates

I think these are the best trail running shorts I have ever owned. I love the 3 zippered pockets, few companies seem to get the importance of multiple zippered pockets for doing long trail or city runs. The shorts are very comfortable and I often forget I am wearing them. The inner brief is also very comfortable and supportive. I bought my first pa... Read Moreir from REI back in 2016, love the shorts, used them so much the inner brief needed repairing. I particularly save them for my longer trail runs. The beauty of the zipper pockets is I can store lots of gel packs in them. I use one pocket for full ones and another pocket for the empty ones. Okay, so I loved these shorts so much I figured I should buy another pair since my mileage has really increased lately and I am doing pretty long runs during the week and longer ones on the weekends. I bought a new pair from Backcountry. I still like the shorts, but not as much as the first rendition. I agree with reviewer ADKen on a couple of points: 1. Why did they change the fit of the inner brief, it was perfect, please go back. 2. The pocket pulls are terrible, the old one were much better. I have already lost one and expect to lose more, I might have to try ADKen's crazy glue idea. Still great shorts, but wish the left them alone, they were perfect!

June 22, 2018

Poor update

I have a previous year's version,that I absolutely love. They have zippered pockets and a large enough pocket in the rear for a phone. That's hard to find in running shorts these days. However,these new versions have a droopy fit in the crotch,the liner isn't right and the zippers are over engineered. Patagonia,do you field test?

June 22, 2018

Great shorts

Perfect short with the liner/boxer brief removed. With it in the shorts were always slippomg around. I cut it out and they're the best running/ultra shorts I've ever owned. And zippered hand pockets! I don't know why there aren't many trail running shorts without zippers on all the pockets,but these nailed it. Love em and am buy... Read Moreing a few more pair in case these are discontinued...

June 5, 2018

What Have You Done?

I recently purchased a new pair of these shorts and I'm scratching my head over some of the changes that were made. First the positives: The larger pocket openings are great. Adults with adult sized hands can reach into them now. Moving the drawstring to the outside of the shorts was also a great improvement. This enables us to add our own c... Read Moreordlocks to the shorts which we couldn't previously do. That being said,the drawstring should have been made a little longer. Not so great changes: First,the fit: why? The older (2017) model was completely true to size and were probably the most comfortable shorts I've ever worn. This year's model seems a little baggier and features and strange droopy crotch. What's the point of that? I don't care how well endowed you are,shorts with a compression liner don't need a crotch that sags halfway to the knee. This makes it feel like the shorts are constantly falling down and isn't very comfortable to run in. The zipper pulls: Whatever the logic was behind switching from the old plastic zipper pulls to these new pieces of string,is asking for problems. This was recognizable as soon as I unpackaged them. My "fix" for this was to tighten the knots as much as possible and add a drop of superglue to each one,otherwise they would have surely come off in the washing machine on their first cycle through. So far the new liner seems OK,although the old one was perfect so not sure why that was messed with. Please,Patagonia,fix these shorts! Change the fit/cut back to the way they were in the 2017 model!

June 1, 2018

Go back to old design please

I agree with another reviewer that the upgrade is a disappointment. The liner is hot,sticky and binding'the opposite of what you want in a pair of trail shorts. The shorter length and slimmer fit are both uncomfortable. I am stuck with my old pair. Patagonia clothes are becoming too expensive to make these mistakes. Patagonia,please try to avo... Read Moreid fixing what's not broken. and give us back our old trail shorts!

April 6, 2018

Disappointing update

I bought two pairs of these about 8 weeks ago and was surprised to find they were an updated model when the package arrived. Everything about these shorts changed from the previous revisions. Within the first week I lost a zipper pull in the washing machine. But the real issue is the change in fit and the new liner. The liner of both pairs wore thr... Read Moreough and fell apart on the inner thigh area with less than a dozen uses per pair. The old liners were thicker and more durable (except for the seam coming open over time) and the previous zippers didn't fall off either.

March 25, 2018

Why the Change?

Really bummed out that these have been changed this year,you have ruined my favorite running shorts. The new style is baggier with a larger inseam,the fabric feels cheaper,less soft. Zipper pulls come off after first time wash cycle. Not a fan of the drawstring on the outside of shorts. It all just feels off now. No bueno.

March 15, 2018

Maybe too much stuff going on here.

Sizing is just right. Both fabrics are soft and non chafing. Like the idea of the pockets,but for longer runs,suspect they'd be comfortable filled only with very small or softer items like liquipaks. The briefs with that quasi compression feature frankly don't vent very well. I found them way too warm to wear even on short (6-8 mile) runs... Read More here in AZ at 55-60 degrees. Will take them back to CO and try them in cooler conditions in the mountains.

March 9, 2018

Awesome Shorts!

These are truly great shorts. They are simple,but provided all the necessities for an active lifestyle. Pocket size is great,I can fit keys,wallet,money,an an iPhone 7+ in the pockets. The liner is comfortable and soft. Good cut in the legs and butt. I'll be buying again.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches