Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 4"

Write Your Review

4.31 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 4"

4.31
True To Size
May 1, 2020

Sizing runs small

I love them, but it drives me nuts with Patagonia's shorts that you never can rely on the same size. Baggies run large, these shorts run really small. The material is great for runners and they're well designed, but I had to return them.

April 24, 2020

Excellent Trail Shorts

I lived in these shorts while training for my marathon, and still use them all of the time on runs. Despite months of regular use--and a couple of falls on the trails--they've held up great. I love the zippered pocket in the back--perfect for stashing my car key, ID, and insurance card. I'm an athletic 5'7", 130-135#, and the ... Read Moresmall ended up working best for me.

December 31, 2019

Favorite for Trails

These are my favorite shorts for trail running, as they feel so light! They're my go-to shorts for trail running, and even after runs from 15-20 miles, no chafing or other issues.

December 18, 2019

Nice shorts but fit does not work for me

I wanted to like these shorts. They are a nice material. However, the cut just does not work for me. I am 5'3" 120lbs. My butt and thighs are muscular from trail running and lifting. The size XS fit well in the waist but was too tight through the hips. I exchanged for a S which fit better in the hips but was just too loose in the waist. I... Read More just didn't find them comfortable, even when adjusted with the draw string.

December 17, 2019

My favorites

6ft, 170lbs, athletic built, wearing size M, they are at bit loose, but I like them this way. Very light, weightless, like wearing nothing. not too short and not too long. Fairly large back pocket (fits an iphone). I get the least chaffing in these. Ran multiple 50k and a 50 miler. They are my go to running shorts!

December 3, 2019

Soo comfortable.

These move with you, stretching where you do. Quick drying.

December 3, 2019

Perfect for running and hiking

I have these shorts in two colors now. They are the only ones I want to run and hike in. Super tiny, light weight, like nothing is there. The liner stays in place too. I’m usual a small but in these I get an xs.

November 25, 2019

Just ok...

These shorts don't fit as well as other long (3.5-4") running shorts. I think its because the material is slightly stiffer. Other than that, I do like that they don't add pressure around the waist which is really important to me as a long-distance runner. The 4 was slightly larger than I anticipated. In other brands, I typically wear... Read More a small or 4.

November 25, 2019

Skimpy coverage

I love the fabric and weight of the shorts. The pockets are fine.. The inseam is shy of 4" and coverage in the rear is, well, exposing. The inner liner is also a bit on the skimpy side. The shorts are fine for level running but beware of the rear view if elevated!

November 22, 2019

Best running shorts I’ve found.

Right size, right fit, love the pattern.

October 13, 2019

running shorts

These are great: beautiful fabric; fit is perfect; comfortable

October 10, 2019

fits weird in the crotch area

These shorts are nice and light but the liner inside is cut strangely. When I tried them on I immediately wanted to pull and adjust the liner because it rubs on my legs. I'm sending them back.

September 30, 2019

Fits great- and love the

Fits great- and love the back pocket!

September 23, 2019

I ended up sending the

I ended up sending the shorts back because they were too big. I’m 4’11 and 105 lbs. The quality seemed nice though, if I ever see the shorts in xxs I’d definitely give them another try.

September 20, 2019

Look! It has zippered pockets!

Last year, I lost my keys on a trail run around sunset while wearing open pocketed shorts. Ever since then, I have been on the hunt for a pair of running shorts that has zippered pockets--and can handle ridiculous amounts of sweat. This pair of shorts does both, and I couldn't be happier! Keep up the good work Patagonia!

September 1, 2019

Love these shorts

I have 4 pair of these and wouldn't run in anything else.

August 29, 2019

Love these for running & casual wear!

These shorts are very comfortable for longer-distance runs (I've worn them from 3-8.5 miles). The back pocket keeps your stash low on your hips so it doesn't bounce around and drag the shorts down. These run just a little bit small--I typically wear small-sized running shorts, but I opted for a medium after trying both S and M on at an RE... Read MoreI.

August 29, 2019

Seriously glad I bought these

These shorts rock. No chafing on thighs and they fit near perfect, much looser than the model pics. I've worn these from the hot desert to storming above tree line, they dry fast and cut the windchill.

August 19, 2019

Great shorts!

I bought these shorts for my college aged son. He loves them!

August 16, 2019

Lightweight running shorts

I absolutely love these shorts. I have worn them for running, and for summer out and about a like the farmers market. I love the large pocket on the butt. These shorts are a lightweight short which is great for all my activities. Definitely recommend.

August 16, 2019

perfect backpacking shorts

I LOVE these shorts. I’m 5’8” and 123 lbs., and a small was perfect for me. I don’t like super thick or canvas hiking shorts, but I need a longer short to prevent chaffing between my thighs when I’m hiking longer distances. These shorts were perfect for me. They’re breathable, lightweight, quick drying, and not too tight. I love how they’re long en... Read Moreough to protect my inner thighs from rubbing but short enough to still be flattering and good for casual wear. I’ve backpacked and hiked in these shorts for the entirety of my summer -through rain and shine and snow- and have yet to be disappointed. They’ve held up while I’ve gone bouldering and while bushwhacking through willow and krumholtz. I ended up getting pine tar on them during one backpacking trip, but I love these shorts so much I ended up spending a few hours scrubbing until they were clean. Would highly recommend these to anyone wanting a light weight yet durable and breathable hiking short.

August 15, 2019

comfortable fit

These are one of the most reliable shorts I own for not riding up and providing constant coverage and staying put without digging in to my waistline. These are the most comfortable, flattering, and practical pants I own. I will be buying a new pair.

August 10, 2019

Boardie short

Medium fit great, I am 5 8” and 130lbs, love them

August 7, 2019

Great shorts material and look

Great shorts. The design and fabric are both excellent. I'll be buying another pair.

June 26, 2019

Can't please 'em all, but you definitely pleased me

I am thrilled with the modifications to this short for Spring 2019. I was hesitant to order because some reviewers not happy and also the inseam on my last pair of Nine Trails were long for my liking. Also the waist with only a drawstring fell down on me, as does the waist on my favorite Strider Shorts 2017 model. ALL the features on this new Nine ... Read MoreTrails model work for me: 3.25 inch inseam (not 4"), side slits that add comfort for my athletic legs while hiking or running hills, pretty new prints, and the waistband has the perfect kind of elastic in combination with a drawstring. They no longer fall down. Material and liner were already to my liking. I'm in the same camp with another reviewer wherein I'd like to ditch all my other shorts and replace with only these. However, I am trying to live the Patagonia credo - The more you love, the less you need. 5'4", 120 lbs, athletic build and size Small fits me perfectly.

June 13, 2019

Love these shorts....finally a pair of Patagonia shorts that can fit some curves

I am 6ft tall and 170 lbs and ordered the XL - they are loose, but comfortable and flattering and I can tighten the waistband with the tie just fine. Guessing the L would be tight in the bum. The struggle has been real for me with Patagonia bottoms in general as they are all made so straight. I have a curvy and athletic build and these are a win. A... Read Morelso people complain about the length - they are short but not too short and I have long legs (34 inch inseam).

May 14, 2019

comfortable shorts that aren't too short

I've been running in these shorts for a few months and am back to order another pair. I really like these shorts because they're super comfortable and I don't have to worry about them riding up one way or another, theyre a perfect length and fit for me! Other styles or brands I've tried before this were either too long, too shor... Read Moret, or not stretchy in the right places. These are great!! I'm 5'1" and 115 pounds, for reference

May 8, 2019

Best All Around

Hiking, lounging, traveling - these are my go to shorts for everything. Flattering too. Just donated all my Nike running shorts. They’re obsolete now.

May 8, 2019

These shorts are perfect for my figure!

I read the other reviews about these shorts and I will say that I had to go up a size to the Large so that they would hang correctly on me, and the string on the waistband could be a few inches longer to that it's possible to tie a proper bow, but otherwise, I love these shorts! I would definitely recommend them! They are the perfect length as... Read More well.

March 13, 2019

Fits differently than Nine trail shorts from 2018

I ordered a size small, black of these shorts last year and absolutely love them. Super comfy...so I decided to buy another pair when they were on sale. The design has changed slightly and the waistband is definitely more prominent and the side slits are well, slitty. These shorts are not 4" long like my last pair and as others have said they ... Read Moredo fit weird. The waist and general sizing seems to have gone up (like maybe I should have ordered an XS, but was worried those would be too tight). It would be great to get standard sizing. For reference I'm 5'4, 120lbs and run on a fairly regular basis. Have mostly used these shorts hiking in the past. Bring back the old design and add more waistband pockets for my long runs and long hikes!

September 17, 2018

They bunch awkwardly in the crotch when running

These shorts look cute for just walking around, but fit terribly when I run in them. They get all bunchy in the crotch area. Further, the waist is pretty big and the sting does not hold securely when I tie them, so they tend to ride up when I run. I am a pretty average build female- 115#, 5'4'' and ordered the size small. Would not r... Read Moreecommend.

August 25, 2018

I love these shorts

These are the best running shorts I have ever owned and I am very picky about running shorts. They do not have a weird fit at all. I don't know where the two negative reviewers got their shorts but I was shocked when I saw the low review of this product. I love them and hope more people give them a chance despite the 2 reviewers. I am 4'1... Read More1 and 120 pounds and got a medium, fits perfectly, I got them on the looser side for comfort. I usually wear dress size 4 or 6 if that's helpful to anyone!

August 3, 2018

I beg to differ

I bought these shorts. I LOVE these shorts. They are very well designed and stitched. The waist band is just wide enough to be comfortable, but not so wide that the shorts are hot. There is a pocket to accommodate gels and a key. I'm average height/weight and run marathons as well as trail races. These shorts were comfortable from the get go a... Read Morend the lightweight drape of the fabric is flattering. Planning on using them for a 100 mile relay soon. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I'd say this product is (like so many Patagonia garments) one that I will wear for a very long time.

July 23, 2018

Weird Fit

I ordered these shorts just knowing they would become my favorite running shorts. But that didn't happen! They fit very "weird". I am 5'6", 130 lbs. I sometimes wear a small, sometimes a medium. I went with medium in these so they would be loose. They were loose in the waist and tight in the butt. And WAY too short (no way ... Read Morethey are 4" long). Good quality, bad fit. They were returned. :(

March 25, 2018

Crazy fit!

I am 5'11" & 135lbs. Ordered the medium,as the current pair I have is also a M and though a touch loose,fit very comfortably. These shorts are wide in the waist,HUGE in the legs,and made for someone with broad thighs. The shorts flair up on the sides as there is so much fabric that these are being returned.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches