Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 6"

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 173 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 6"

4.6/5
True To Size
September 10, 2021

Love the design and fabric

Living in Florida, I perspire a lot. The material is light and very breathable. Excellent Shorts.

September 2, 2021

Sturdy & comfortable

Initially purchased a 34 and found the size to be a little snug (though honestly I appreciate the lack of stretch; I was in the market for shorts that could stand the test of time, and any with elastics got stretched out of shape very quickly). Sized up and the waist fit is perfect. The thigh fit is a little on the baggy side, but the 6" insea... Read Morem is great. Would recommend.

August 26, 2021

Lightweight hemp shorts

Couldnt be more pleased with this purchase, lightweight, great feel and true to size. Im 510, 180 lbs , ordered a 36 and fit was perfect! Very satisfied!!!

August 23, 2021

So soft

The shorts are incredibly comfortable and soft. They are a perfect length and the color options are great The only two complaints I have is that the item shipped in a plastic bag. I ordered 2 shorts and each were individually wrapped in a plastic bag. The other complaint is that the size is slightly inconsistent. I ordered the 36 because I like the... Read Morem to be slightly loose however one fits well and the other is slighty tighter.

July 26, 2021

Excellent! for the front country

I got one pair. It's become nearly daily wear, I wear it for a few days, then wash it, then put it back on. So I ordered a few more... It's a great fit, the 8" seems perfect length. The short is showing more wear and piling than I would expect after only a few months of use, and I've been pretty gentle with them. Front country o... Read Morenly!

July 22, 2021

Perfect for Floridas very warm weather...

The best pair of shorts this 85 year old guy has ever worn... I now have two pair and will order another in a different color...

July 21, 2021

So comfortable

I first saw these at an REI garage sale. Instantly drawn to them. The ones I saw were ripped so I went in search for them on the Patagonia website. They're so nice, light and breathable for the summer. Easily the best shorts I've bought in a while. I also have short legs so the 6" inseam is gold. I'm going to buy all the colors ... Read Moreand use them for everything.

July 20, 2021

Overall perfect but wrinkle to easily

Overall I really like these shorts, they are the perfect length and are very lightweight. However, the one downfall is these shorts will wrinkle extremely easily. After you wear them for maybe 30 minutes they will look like you have been wearing them all week. The larger your legs, the worse they will wrinkle. If there was a way to prevent this, th... Read Moreey would be the perfect go to shorts.

July 20, 2021

Great summer short

The fabric of these shorts is really nice. Soft and lightweight - good combination for hot weather. Also, the color on the website is consistent with the short. Really interesting shade of blue.

July 17, 2021

look great

fit is great. looks are great. very flattering. a little pricey. but i rather pay a bit more and get exactly what i want.

July 16, 2021

Shorts should be short...

...not baggy pedal pushers! Light weight, extremely comfortable, and 6" inseam.

July 13, 2021

The shorter 6" are perfect!

I thought I'd try the shorter 6" after buying a longer pair, they're perfect. The colors are great this summer, a fun short that is sure to last many future BBQs, beach trips, and days around town!

July 12, 2021

Impeccable Design and Looks

My fault, but buying on line is hard. I ordered a 35-inch waist and should have gone with a 33. It's best to try on in a store if you can. I can't because I live in a remote area and it's difficult to travel distances to buy stuff.

July 12, 2021

Great Shorts

Great fit and material is very cool. The light-colored short is almost white.

July 8, 2021

Amazing fabric

I have been a stand-up shorts fan for years and like them especially well when they age and soften. As noted in a separate review that is also when they can significantly deteriorate making public wear questionable. The fabric in these hemp-cotton shorts is as, if not more, comfortable than aged stand-up shorts making them a delight to wear right o... Read Moreut of the package! Love them, even with all the wrinkles!

July 7, 2021

Great Fit and Style, Terrible Durability

I love these shorts for their length and their fit. But I've probably gone through about 4 pairs in the past two years. They look great and feel great, but are light in material and far from durable. I bought my newest pair about two weeks ago. I already have a tear on the pocket.

Response from Patagonia
July 13, 2021

Hi Austin, we're so sorry to hear about the troubles with the Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 6". We 'd be happy to help out with a return or exchange and you can begin that here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 6, 2021

Great short, long pockets

Bought these shorts for casual wear, around the yard and bike rides around town. Very comfortable and breathable. only downside is when riding a bike with phone in pocket, you can see the pocket hanging out of the bottom of your shorts. Not a deal breaker, just not the classiest look. Still bought another pair because i enjoy the fit.

July 4, 2021

Too thin and wrinkly

These shorts are so thin they just feel cheap. Even if you throw them briefly in the dryer or iron them they are extremely wrinkly within a few minutes of wear. They dont live up to typical Patagonia quality in my opinion. These dont feel like they were made to last.

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that the shorts did not meat your expectations. They are made from Hemp fabric blend, so they will certainly have a different and more soft feel then most other shorts. As always though, you are more then welcome to contact us at 800-638-6464 to arrange a return.

July 4, 2021

Extremely comfortable

I bought these because they dont hang down past my knees, which allows for freedom of movement. They are comfortable, lightweight, look good which makes them perfect for the midwest humidity. You can wear for everyday or for going out at night, pockets are deep enough to carry keys, wallet and phone comfortably.

June 28, 2021

Perfect Short!

I love these shorts! They're surprisingly light and cool and the perfect length that hits mid-thigh. I usually wear these for casual wear, but if I find myself on a hike they work great. Love them! My only criticism is that I would like the option to have these without the label, but that's just my personal preference.

June 24, 2021

nice and cool

disappointed that fabric wrinkles so easily, otherwise great

June 20, 2021

Not great for muscular legs

Quality product but if you have any leg muscle at all, they run tight through the thigh. Theyre right in the gray area to keep vs return and might try a bigger size. Quality product but maybe get a size up if you have athletic/muscular thighs

June 15, 2021

High quality material

High quality material. Like the length. Offer more colors and Id buy them. Some of the best shorts I own and have recommended them to several friends.

June 13, 2021

Versatile and excellent

I simply love these shorts. I bought 1 pair last summer and quickly bought a 2nd. My partner loves the way I look in them and I love how comfortable they are biking, hiking, and walking around. I live somewhere where I wear them year round and I have noticed a bit of wear and tear in the crotch area - usual pathology for people who bike a lot and ... Read Moreconsidering it's been a whole year with only 2 pairs of shorts, not a surprise. I have sewn reinforcement patches , which seems to help. These are incredible and will continue buying them until I die. Of note, I am 5'8/5'9 about about 180lbs. I usually wear 33-34 pending on the brand and 34 was too large for me for these shorts.

June 11, 2021

Real Shorts Are Back!

I love these shorts for many reasons. The main one is that they look and feel like real shorts did back in the 1980s through the 1990s. Not "short" shorts, but actual shorts the way they were meant to look! I hate "board" shorts, which are just like old-man bermuda shorts. I can't ride a bike, walk or run comfortably with l... Read Moreong shorts. These Organic Cotton and Hemp shorts are eco-friendly, very tough, yet lightweight. I hike, walk and mountain bike and as a result have muscular thighs and legs. These shorts help me not only move easier, but they show off my legs. I personally think all men's shorts should be around 6" to 8" inseam, anything else is way too long! I own 4 pairs of these shorts, because I love them so much. Great product!

June 10, 2021

Good length, runs slightly big

I purchased two pairs, one 38 and the other 30. The 28 was too tight around the waist while the 30 was slightly big. Realistically I'm a 29 but not many companies carry that size and therefore a belt took care of the issue. Fyi go slightly bigger rather than smaller and have to exchange the shorts.

June 7, 2021

No curves allowed

As with nearly every pair of bottoms from Patagonia, these fit extremely narrow through the hips. As a more full figured guy, I have to size up to get a proper fit at the hips, leaving the waist and leg holes very loose. Additionally the rise gets longer, to the point that the crotch is dropped too far for proper range of motion. These shorts are b... Read Moreetter suited for folks with a more slender build. On the positive, the fabric is lightweight and comfortable.

May 21, 2021

Excellent lightweight shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia shorts since 1991. From the Original Stand-Up canvas short-shorts, to baggies, even chino style shorts that were pleated. These new hemp shorts are like every other piece of Patagonia clothing that I own. You can tell they will last forever and will become even more comfortable as we grow older together. *FYI- order your... Read More honest waist size. Dont order size 32 and complain about them being too tight and running small, when youve been a 34 for quiet some time now. Patagonia, thankfully, doesnt do vanity sizing.

May 18, 2021

inconsistent sizing

I bought a pair of these previously, loved them, and left a glowing review. I loved them so much, I bought 2 more pairs, and the sizing is totally inconsistent. One is slightly larger (but still wearable), while the other is so small I can't even put them on (I will be returning them immediately). So buyer beware, and make sure you try them on... Read More before throwing away your receipt.

Response from Patagonia
May 19, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback, Jeff! We're incredibly sorry for the inconsistencies in sizing which necessitates returning them. Your purchases are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return or exchange them!

May 18, 2021

Shorts that won't snag on my knee.

Most the shorts I've bought in the past go below my knee even though they're labeled XS or SM. Not these shorts. These fit me well and won't snag on my knee when I lunge or squat.

May 15, 2021

Amazing, but please relocate the logo

Awesome, but fly cover will fold back and the logo is placed in a way that is more prominent than other shorts. Would prefer it be at the waistline like the other shorts

May 15, 2021

the perfect pair of shorts

These shorts look nicer in person than they do on the website (mostly because the color looks richer in person), and the hemp manages to both feel sturdy and durable, yet also comfortable. The shorter inseam looks on-trend, but not so short that you'll embarrass yourself. And most important, I got compliments on my backside the first time I wo... Read Morere them.

May 11, 2021

Cool and Comfortable Shorts

These are awesome, super cool, comfortable and lightweight shorts.

May 10, 2021

Bring back 5 Standup short

Bought size 32. Fit a little snug but overall fit well. Would really like if you brought back 5 Stand Up short.... great version of this current short. Thanks

May 3, 2021

Best shorts since stand ups

These are the best shorts that Patagonia has made since the stand up shorts (what ever happened to the 5 inch stand ups? Please bring them back). I was a little grumpy about the longer 6" inseam but quickly got over it. The material is soft and lightweight compared to the stand ups. Hopefully it holds up with time. I bought an extra pair just ... Read Morein case as Patagonia likes to discontinue good stuff.

April 29, 2021

Super comfortable

This is the perfect summer short, very lightweight, roomy, and not too long. Its my everyday wear around town, in my workshop, climbing and hiking. The hemp fiber is never hot or sticky, so its great on the hottest days. The material is extremely tough; so far I havent worn any holes after extensive use.

April 24, 2021

A little small

Much smaller than comparable brands, but since I was able to exchange it no problem I am quite happy with these shorts. They show some leg.

April 23, 2021

They're awesome!

These shorts are fantastic, and I can tell they'll last a long time. Super light and comfortable.

April 17, 2021

Inconsistent sizing

I really like these shorts. The material is great. Subtle branding patch on left side. The 6 inseam hits just right. Only if it came in more colors. I bought the pigeon blue one in a size 33. So I bought the gray one in a 33. It was way tooo small. You can improve the leg opening diameter. It runs large.

April 15, 2021

Check the size before you order

I was wearing a size 35 Patagonia hemp short from a few years back when I ordered these, but these didn't fit. The older ones measure 19" across the waist line, I expected these to be the same. These measure 18" across or = to 36" at the waist. I returned them for 38" to accommodate my post pandemic profile.

April 11, 2021

Great shorts

I was looking for a pair of casual light weight shorts that are not down to my knees. These are perfect. Not the heavy stand up shorts, which are great for hiking and working outside, but rather thick for hot weather walking around. Well made and more dressy. Good price. Would buy again.

April 8, 2021

Nice Lightweight Shorts

These shorts are excellent for hot weather: breathable and quick-dry. I own several pairs and all have survived fair wear and tear.

April 3, 2021

Light, rugged

I have wear three types of shorts; baggies, stand-up shorts and these. I walk/hike in them and wear them as general all around shorts. They are tougher than cotton of a similar with and ventilate really well. I have probably 6 pairs and have been wearing them for years. The button seems to fall off of all of them after a certain amount of time. Thi... Read Mores hasn't happened to my stand-up shorts. Also, I would prefer they remove the logo. If these were cut (pockets, etc) like stand-up shorts they would be even more awesome.

March 30, 2021

Love the fabric and fit!

I love this fabric! It feels like the perfect balance of matching weight with durability. The shorts fit as expected and I appreciate the 6" inseam option because most similar shorts are longer than I like. These will be my go to casual shorts this summer!

March 27, 2021

runs small

Nice quality, but can't get away with wearing them even if i wanted to. I had bought 3 pairs of pants from patagonia, and had a goldilocks experience, this one was an inch too small.

March 26, 2021

Lightweight for sure!

I am a stand-up shorts guy all the way, but I wanted something that was a little cooler for the summer months. These are great! very breathable, and they also have a little stretch to them as well.

March 25, 2021

Very light and breathable

I'm 6'0" and weigh 240lbs, these fit perfectly and are ideal for my local 95°F weather. They also have a very flexible crotch area so no more ripped pants when crouching or climbing up something.

March 23, 2021

Why move the logo?

Whose idea was it to move the logo from the back waistband to the front leg? I can wear shorts to work as long as they don't have a logo. I guess it's the seam ripper for me if I have to replace the ones I have. Kind of a silly change to make for no real reason. They looked nice without the logo so plainly visible.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. We'll be sure to pass your thoughts along to our design team. If you'd like to check out some shorts with the logo on the back we'd recommend our [Men's Stand Up Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html?dwvar_57228_color=PRTA&cgid=root).

March 20, 2021

Comfortable and stylish

These are super thin and comfortable. They look good with every shirt I own, button up or casual.

January 20, 2021

.

I ordered these shorts for my son. He needed a smaller size but you all have not had smaller sizes in over a year

January 8, 2021

Great fit

Great garment the only critical comment I have is I thought I was purchasing the heavier canvas like fabric. I think your catalogs should have been more detail oriented.

December 31, 2020

Shorts

Grandson loves them!

December 31, 2020

3 pair purchased

I just purchased a third pair of these shorts for my husband because he loves them so much! He does a lot of physical work and he loves the fit!

December 24, 2020

GOOD FIT

THE SHORTS FIT GREAT, THEY ARE TRUE TO SIZE. THE DONT STRETCH OUT.

December 4, 2020

wow

just amazing fit super well very light and comfortable , I bought in other colors keep making this babies!!!

November 9, 2020

Probably Buying More Soon

My husband has always had a hard time finding shorts that fit comfortably. I decided to buy the lightweight hemp shorts for him for his birthday, just to see if they were any different than traditional work shorts . They fit so well for his body type in size and comfort I immediately bought another pair. I was also surprised how fast they were deli... Read Morevered. My only wish is that, after washing them, they were a little more wrinkle free. We hope you never discontinue this line.

October 10, 2020

Satisfied

Great shorts. Wish they came in a 7 inch inseam.

September 14, 2020

Super nice But...

Its nice! I have ever color in these hemp shorts. But the white ones are absolutely see through!:( disappointing. And every one of these wrinkles like crazy!!!

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on those shorts and we are sorry to hear they are see-through. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) those ones back to us and we are happy to get you a refund or other color.

September 8, 2020

Lightweight short. Flimsy

Need extra heavyweight thick high % hemp , 50% - organic cotton blend scrubbed and softened fabric (indestructible) short length short.

September 6, 2020

mr

Excellent, comfortable I would prefer thicker material. Belt loops could be bigger. THX Robert

September 5, 2020

great color

A very light perfect short for being active in or lounging.

September 5, 2020

Great shorts

My husband loves them. TTS and very comfortable. Perfect length for his stature.

September 3, 2020

Very Comfortable

Perfect length, perfect weight, interesting color, all this and nice price.

September 2, 2020

Versatile and light

These shorts are very functional in the sense that you can be comfortable wearing them during many activities. Theyre lighter than the standup shorts, although they dont have as much thigh clearance as the stand up shorts (although, still enough for someone with thicker thighs). My main gripe about them is that they wrinkle very easily after maybe ... Read Morea days use. Overall, love them and if you dont mind wrinkly shorts youll love these even more than me.

September 1, 2020

Excellent shorts

Just buy a pair of these. I replaced a bunch of old, non-Patagonia shorts with these and 5" baggies and I couldn't be happier. My legs are free at last! Most importantly, my wife thinks they show off my legs so your wife / girlfriend / partner will probably like them too.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable!

These shorts are really great. They fit perfectly. The fabric is lightweight and perfect for summer.

August 19, 2020

Too snug

Im a size 32 in Levis jeans, so I went with the same size when I ordered these shorts. The material is great- airy, comfortable, and has room for a lot of movement. Unfortunately the fit around my thighs and butt was too tight so I had to return them. Going to size up to a 34 to see if thats a better fit around my legs.

August 5, 2020

Not a fan

Love Patagonia products and these are a true fit. But the material is too thin for my liking. A wrinkle bomb within minutes.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

Hi DJ, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us and we're sorry that these ended up being too thin. Please feel free to [return them](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a refund.

August 3, 2020

Best Shorts Ever

Really dig these shorts. They fit true to size, and the length is perfect for hot summer days. The hemp fabric is comfortable and light. Dont want to take them off. What else I can say-solid purchase.

July 26, 2020

Fits until you wash them

Perfect shorts out of the box. Loved them. Perfect fit until you wash them. Easily shinks from 33 to 32 or even 31 after 2 washings. Buy up 1-2 sizes. Cant wear the 2 pairs I bought.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

We are so sorry to hear this. Please feel free to reach out to us and we are happy to see what we can do to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with this. As long as the washing instructions were followed, they should not have shrunk significantly so we are happy to get you taken care of.

July 25, 2020

Like Formal Baggies

I was looking for another pair of baggies but I needed something that had a bit more substance to them, something that I could wear out in public and feel good about it. Then I came across the all-wear shorts. The 6" inseam is fashionable and the color is unique (Spanish red) so they aren't boring. They're more versatile than baggies... Read More because I can still wear these when I'm doing anything outdoors without overheating, but I can don them in a more formal setting and won't feel scrubby. I'd even sport these to a wedding if the temperature was right. I bought them at the beginning of the Arizona summer and haven't worn much else since, if these aren't on my body, they're in the wash or I'm sleeping.

July 22, 2020

Perfect

I typically like my shorts a little shorter, and these are perfect. In my efforts to find the perfect pair of shorts, these may be it! I feel like shorts are either too long, dont fit true to size, too thick, weird pockets, etc... but these are none of those bad things. So lightweight and breathable. Fit perfect. And so comfy. Perfect for casual we... Read Morear, but I use them for work (gardening), climbing, hiking, having a great timing.

July 18, 2020

Short but comfy

These shorts are kind of short, but they are very light lightweight and comfortable.

July 15, 2020

Remember the guys with the big thighs!

Great lightweight shorts! The hemp blend makes them strong but very breathable. Yeah the fabric is a little wrinkly, but it's summertime casual wear. My one caveat is they could use just a smidge more room in the seat, thighs and legs. Dudes who aren't skipping leg day might not find these as roomy and comfy as the Stand Up shorts.

July 13, 2020

Comfort + durability

Love the hemp! Comfortable and durable.

July 13, 2020

Great Material

These hemp shorts are super lightweight and soft for a cool, comfortable fit in the summer. They look nice enough to wear to dinner, too.

July 13, 2020

Everyday shorts

Great shorts. I got the Spanish red color, 6 inch inseam. Hits above the knee without being too short. Fabric is nice, could be dressed up a little more or just worn casually.

July 13, 2020

Great shorts

Wear these shorts nearly everyday

July 13, 2020

These are crisp, dressy enough for a casual get together, someday.

I like the fabric. Light, cool and cut for a real person. Waist and length are perfect.

July 13, 2020

Buttery Soft

These shorts are so buttery soft and comfortable. They are my new favorite shorts! The material is so very soft and the pockets are the perfect depth for keeping your phone and keys from falling out. I've worn these shorts all day while working from home and taken them out on a long hike afterward with no riding up or twisting. They seem to h... Read Moreandle moisture well too, no waist band full of sweat, even when I hike carrying my daughter in a pack on my chest. I highly recommend these for anyone that wants some shorts that can do it all. The only drawback I can think of is that they come out of the wash very wrinkly and I need to iron them before wearing them every time. But other than that, I give them 10/10.

July 13, 2020

Fits well looks good

Very happy with product

July 13, 2020

Just the best

I've been wearing the stand up shorts for 30 years and for what ever reason the size and me don't jive. I tried the light weight bingo size and me work . Size 34 perfect fit and they feel and look good.

July 13, 2020

Chicks dig 5 shorts

Fit well and long shorts r for dads

July 13, 2020

So summery

These are light ! Love them - for hot summer wear (I like the Stand-up shorts better for less than 80 degree weather - but I like the hemp pants and I like lots of pockets so take that with a grain of salt).

July 13, 2020

Very comfortable shorts

Very nice quality shorts. Very comfortable as well. The fit is great and true to size

July 13, 2020

Super light and comfortable

Light, comfortable, and easy to dress up or down

July 13, 2020

My 3rd pair

I have 3 pairs of these. They are easily the best shorts on the market. They hold up well and I wear them all the time. My go to shorts.

July 12, 2020

Comfort + durability

Love the hemp! Comfortable and durable.

July 10, 2020

Great Material

These hemp shorts are super lightweight and soft for a cool, comfortable fit in the summer. They look nice enough to wear to dinner, too.

July 10, 2020

Everyday shorts

Great shorts. I got the Spanish red color, 6 inch inseam. Hits above the knee without being too short. Fabric is nice, could be dressed up a little more or just worn casually.

July 10, 2020

Great shorts

Wear these shorts nearly everyday

July 10, 2020

Buttery Soft

These shorts are so buttery soft and comfortable. They are my new favorite shorts! The material is so very soft and the pockets are the perfect depth for keeping your phone and keys from falling out. I've worn these shorts all day while working from home and taken them out on a long hike afterward with no riding up or twisting. They seem to h... Read Moreandle moisture well too, no waist band full of sweat, even when I hike carrying my daughter in a pack on my chest. I highly recommend these for anyone that wants some shorts that can do it all. The only drawback I can think of is that they come out of the wash very wrinkly and I need to iron them before wearing them every time. But other than that, I give them 10/10.

July 10, 2020

These are crisp, dressy enough for a casual get together, someday.

I like the fabric. Light, cool and cut for a real person. Waist and length are perfect.

July 10, 2020

Just the best

I've been wearing the stand up shorts for 30 years and for what ever reason the size and me don't jive. I tried the light weight bingo size and me work . Size 34 perfect fit and they feel and look good.

July 9, 2020

Chicks dig 5 shorts

Fit well and long shorts r for dads

July 9, 2020

So summery

These are light ! Love them - for hot summer wear (I like the Stand-up shorts better for less than 80 degree weather - but I like the hemp pants and I like lots of pockets so take that with a grain of salt).

July 9, 2020

Very comfortable shorts

Very nice quality shorts. Very comfortable as well. The fit is great and true to size

July 9, 2020

Super light and comfortable

Light, comfortable, and easy to dress up or down

July 9, 2020

My 3rd pair

I have 3 pairs of these. They are easily the best shorts on the market. They hold up well and I wear them all the time. My go to shorts.

June 28, 2020

Super comfortable, fast drying

These are some of the very most comfortable shorts ever! They are lightweight, breathable and just the right length. Nice, useable pockets. So good I ended up buying three pair, and might buy more. They dry fast, too.

June 27, 2020

O.K.

I didn't read the product description entirely before I purchased it. I enjoy the product, and I share you firm's decision to endorse the use of hemp fiber. I was disappointed to learn that they are a majority cotton fabric.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Thanks for your thoughtful feedback on the fabric of these shorts, Peter! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed. We'll be happy to help you return them under our Ironclad Guarantee, so please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us for assistance.

June 26, 2020

A great pair of shorts that is hard to find anywhere else.

Keep making these shorts

June 26, 2020

Best Short Pants

As a raw denim connoisseur, I have a complicated relationship with short pants. Dont get me wrong! I love a good short pant on a hot, fetid Midwest summers afternoon, but my slubby 14 oz mistress gets awfully jealous. After all, wearing short pants feels like cheating when the inseam is too long or the fabric too thick. Not so with these exquisite ... Read Moreshort pants! The fabric is light and surprisingly strong, along with the quality craftsmanship we expect from Patagonia products. Yes, these shorts pants are a keeper, just dont tell that to my 14 oz kurabo, she might blow a seam!

June 26, 2020

Great shorts

Well made, fit great, look great. Excellent.

June 25, 2020

Great everything shorts

Great lightweight shorts. I wear them around the house, hiking, fishing, pretty much everywhere. Lightweight but feel durable. I bought them in two other colors as well.

June 25, 2020

Very Happy Customer!

Im not the tallest guy in the world. These shorts fit perfectly. Im buying them in different colors as finding comfortable shorts in my size is usually difficult!

June 24, 2020

Just ordered my 4th pair

Great, comfortable and well made.

June 22, 2020

They really are light weight

In fact, too light weight for me. I'm keeping them for casual wear, but they will get very occasional use. Well made, but I prefer standup shorts for everyday wear.

June 21, 2020

Inconsistent sizing

As another reviewer mentioned, the sizing on these shorts is inconsistent. I have size 33" All-Wear Hemp Shorts from two seasons ago that are my favorite pair of shorts and fit perfectly (as well as multiple pairs of Patagonia pants in a 33" waist that also fit great), but the red shorts from this season were tight in the waist and restri... Read Morective in general.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these were too restrictive and thanks for taking the time to let us know. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these shorts back to us for a return and we'd be happy to help with getting you a different size.

June 21, 2020

Proper Length shorts (finally!)

Some of the only 6" inseam shorts I can find in the outdoor sphere. I would buy any and all other 5" or 6" inseam casual shorts you all make!

June 20, 2020

Quad Bangers Fo Sho

Who likes short shorts? I like short shorts! Man, the look of horror on my daughters face when she saw these on my told me all I need to know. Finally my dreams of being as cool as Magnum PI have come true. Seriously though these shorts are great, they run a little snug in the waist so possibly size up 1 waist size if you are on the top edge of a s... Read Moreize.

June 19, 2020

Light, Durable, and Great Fitting

These are the shorts Ive been searching for. As a short guy, I love the 6.5 seem length (Id even go for 6 if available). Theyre super comfy.

June 19, 2020

The Perfect Summer Shorts!

I like how these shorts feel, the 6" inseam is the perfect length for every activity. The fabric is soft, just the right thickness and the colors are classic. I'm glad I ordered 3 different colors of these - since now these are my go to shorts; The Perfect Summer Shorts!

June 19, 2020

Super Duper

Love these! I have 3! They are amazing, relaxed fit and soft but also durable!

June 18, 2020

A bit small for me

Shorts seem a bit tight and are quite short. My family teases me I need some sideburns and hair over my ears to complete the 70s look. In spite of that, I do like them just wish they had a bit more room.

June 18, 2020

very light

Perfect for hot weather. Wears better with each wash.

June 17, 2020

Crossover Shorts

Nice versatility -- works for casual social or for recreation -- simple style and not too long

June 17, 2020

These are not standup

I wanted standup shorts but they stopped making the 5 inch ones. Boooo. Thats the only pair of shorts I ever needed but they are no longer. These are not an adequate substitute.

June 17, 2020

A little tight

The waist fit perfect on a size 30. it was a little tight around the groin area, so I had to go one size up from my normal waist to fit the groin and rear better, even though it is about an inch too big on my waist now. It worked out well and I love the shorts.

June 17, 2020

Solid casual wear

I bought these because Patagonia seems to have discontinued the 5 inseam Standup Shorts, something I am not happy about to say the least. These are very nice casual shorts but they cant compare to Standup for outdoor activities. Lighter and not as tough. Oh well.

June 17, 2020

Great 3-season wear

Well made. Fabric is comfortable and lasts. These are actually shorts - 6 inseam is the key style item. Pocket securely hold iPhone 10xMax. Wear them every day.

June 17, 2020

Proper Length shorts (finally!)

Some of the only 6" inseam shorts I can find in the outdoor sphere. I would buy any and all other 5" or 6" inseam casual shorts you all make!

June 17, 2020

Good But Sizing Inconsistent

I love these shorts, but the waist seems to be inconsistent between colors. I have the khaki pair in a 34 and they stretch out waaaay too much and the waist fits loose. Meanwhile, I have the blue pair and they're absolutely perfect. The gray pair I also have and that's somewhere in the middle.

May 19, 2020

Logo

I've worn different variations Patagonia shorts for the majority of my life. This is the first time I have ordered a pair and the logo is on the front leg. I am not a big fan. I am going to order the 8' and have them hemmed to remove the logo. I get why you would want the logo more prominently displayed. Just dont like it. My $.02. Other ... Read Morethan that, great shorts. Keep up the good work.

April 30, 2020

I bought 3 pairs

I bought a pair randomly while browsing through the site one day. I liked them so much I ended up coming back and buying 2 more in different colors. The fit is great and I really like the length. They do get wrinkly pretty easy out the dryer but still look pretty good.

April 10, 2020

Average

The fit on these are odd. Big legs, small waist. Pockets shallow, and material stretches and shrinks. Color also fades. Was hoping for an everyday pair of shorts, not the best.

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these aren't fitting right and we appreciate your feedback on that. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, please feel free to do so. Thanks!

December 27, 2019

Perfect minimal shorts

I’ve owned and bought a lot of different shorts from a lot of manufacturers. I usually prefer drawstring waisted shorts but I don’t look like a bum in these. I wear short shorts because I’m always hot and I usually wear cotton because it helps me keep cool. These are minimal and don’t have Velcro and buttons that could wear out over time like other... Read More shorts have. These are a great casual wear short and gone with the Patagonia guarantees that I come back for. The only improvement I would make is for these to come in more colors. I am 6’2” 200lbs; I can wear 34” but I usually buy 36” if the material is cotton to allow some shrink.

November 25, 2019

My hubby’s favorite shorts

Now he won’t wear any others. He likes the shorter length and they are indestructible

November 17, 2019

This is my second pair

This is my second pair because I can’t find a more comfortable pair of shorts.

November 10, 2019

Great all purpose shorts!!

Great shorts to always have in the bag on work trips!! My jobs brings me to NYC, key west or the Middle East nearly every month. These shorts are quick and easy to clean and provide a great option to look good!

October 29, 2019

They flare at the legs.

They flare at the legs. And are super wrinkly just from sitting down.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Donald, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the shorts. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 4, 2019

All Wear Help Shorts

I have a pair of these shorts and they are incredible. I Use them for short hikes and random lazy days roaming around town. They look great with loafers or hiking shoes.

September 16, 2019

good fit, nice fabric

Just what I was looking for, a nice looking pair of shorts that are comfortable as well.

September 7, 2019

too tight at the hem

all other fit is pretty good but i find the legs to be too tight at the bottom restricting movement - not like the old classic stand up short

September 5, 2019

Hemp Shorts

Love these things so much. So cool, light & comfortable.

September 2, 2019

Really happy with the shorts.

Really happy with the shorts. A separate pocket for a cell phone would be great.

September 1, 2019

Great shorts cut a little tight in the butt.

The title says it. Patagonia makes clothing for athletes. These shorts are a little too tight in the butt for the waist size.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you. Please feel free to send them back and we are happy to get you a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or exchange. Let us know if we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this process.

August 31, 2019

Comfy and practical

Always great products and equitably made from pure materials

August 23, 2019

Ms Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 6

Love these babies! They are a bit on the short side. If skies out, thighs out is not your thing you may want to consider another pair. The fabric is soft, breathable & durable. I’ll get a lot of milage out of this pair.

August 20, 2019

Looks good Feels good.

This are great shorts. They are stylish and comfortable. Used them for traveling.

August 17, 2019

Great shorts. Fit as listed.

Great shorts. Fit as listed. Comfortable, and durable.

August 15, 2019

Daily Drivers

The best shorts I’ve owned in years. Cut is perfect for my tall slender build and the material is extremely resilient. I bought 3 pair and I’ll wear them every day the weather allows

August 15, 2019

Love the products and the brand, issues with size

I loved everything in the order. For the most part everything was as expected or better. The shorts though were a size to small. I have purchased shorts from you before and the fit of these are smaller than the ones i already have. It seems that for this model i would need a larger size than what i bought before. Its a bit of a bummer because i rea... Read Morelly like the shorts!!! :) i will be returning them, and buying ones a size larger!

August 14, 2019

Hemp shorts

Hears the deal. The hemp shorts are perfect the size is correct meaning a size 34 is size 34 and the reason I actually bought them is the stand up shorts which I have been buying for at least 25 years the size is not the size a 34 is a 33. I would have to buy a 35 . The leg width then Looks like I'am wearing a tu- tu. That's it. Thanks f... Read Moreor the opportunity to say I really enjoy wearing Patagonia.

August 12, 2019

Simplistic and Refreshing

I received my new shorts and could not wait to get them on and going. I cant fault them one bit on this design and comfort. They wear so well all day and are keen for anything you throw at them. They wash well and air dry just fine. A truly exceptional product that will service just about anything you throw at them.

August 11, 2019

Great but maybe too thin

These shorts are incredibly soft and comfortable. My only complaint: They are so thin that if anything drips on them (just a drop of water), it looks like you peed yourself.

August 11, 2019

Light weight and comfy all around Hemp Shorts

These shorts are the perfect length and super light. Makes for great shorts during hot summer days outside in your yard, chillin at the beach, or chillin in the mountains somewhere. The length is exactly what I was looking for and the waist sizing is perfect and true to size. Might have to get another pair. Love these shorts.

August 10, 2019

Nice

Good fit, right length, good pockets, looks good in formal and informal, like the sustainable material. A little bit of sheen on the dark ones I like.

August 10, 2019

My husband really likes these shorts

I ordered two pairs of these shorts as a gift for my husband. We were both very pleased with these shorts.

August 10, 2019

Hemp happiness

Super comfortable, great fit for a 6ft tall guy w/ mtb legs. Getting my second pair today!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches