burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 165 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8"

4.4/5
True To Size
January 18, 2023

Good fit and light and

Good fit and light and weight for warm weather wear.

November 24, 2022

Super comfortable

5'10 and wear 31's. I never bought a 8in short and wasn't sure if i'd think they were to small but the fit is great. just above the knee. Will buy again.

November 21, 2022

Spring/Summer and Fall Shorts

I bought two pairs of these shorts (blue and Beige), which are my go-to shorts for outdoor activities. I love the style, the way they fit, and how comfortable they are.

October 18, 2022

I wear shorts 24/7 and

I wear shorts 24/7 and these are my new favorites!

October 11, 2022

nice fit, light material good

nice fit, light material good for hot weather. I would buy more of this product if there were more color choices. And If they made pants from this material.

October 1, 2022

Lightweight is Great

I love the lightweight feel of these. They keep you cool in the heat of the summer. I have 3 pairs!

September 26, 2022

Runs kinda short

Not my favorite shorts, but I kept them. They run kind of short. Nevertheless, they are lightweight, and good for hiking in hot temps.

September 25, 2022

Super comfortable, durable with a perfect length

Same great product I have enjoyed to 40 years, but since I am now over 70, the 5 -inch baggies seem a bit short. these are perfect.

September 22, 2022

very comfortable and light weight

very comfortable and does not even feel like I have shorts on.

September 20, 2022

Super soft

These shorts are made for chilling. The material is thin, soft and comfortable.

September 17, 2022

Lightweight version of a classic

These are great everyday shorts. Office casual to around town or even light hiking use is perfect. Lighter than their cotton counterparts and more breathable.

September 9, 2022

Urban Casual

Great fabric, excellent fit, consciously made. Patagonia.

September 9, 2022

Wrinkle magnet

It looks great when its been ironed, but as soon as you sit down it looks like you slept in them for a week. Don't like the material.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2022

Hi Gregory, thank you for sharing this review. We're sorry you weren't happy with this fabric! Your satisfaction is guaranteed, so we will reach out to you about returning these shorts.

September 8, 2022

Soft but still durable

Fits great, the 8 inch length is not too short, not too long, its like a Goldilocks fit!! I like some color, I wish there were more options like this in the Patagonia line-up, one can only own so many grey, khaki, and earth tone shorts. How about some patterns?

September 6, 2022

go to shorts

lightweight, good fit and patagonia quality. get'em before there gone

September 6, 2022

Casual and comfortable

These are the second pair of these I own and they are extremely comfortable and dressier than technical. They get softer the more they are washed which means you are rewarded for keeping these shorts in your rotation. Would recommend these shorts for casual wear.

September 5, 2022

2nd pair and great all around shorts

breathable and comfortable

September 5, 2022

Perfect Shorts

These shorts rock! They fit great, are light, but tough and perfect for wearing out to dinner or on a hike. I'll definitely buy another pair or two.

September 4, 2022

Well made shorts

These are well made and fit well. Theyvare actually a blend of hemp and organic cotton

September 4, 2022

Love these shorts. Wish I

Love these shorts. Wish I had a pair in each color.

September 3, 2022

Just What I Wanted

Great, casual fit. Perfect for college life. Have been my go-to's when I'm not exercising. I am going to buy more colors soon!

August 25, 2022

Swamp butt

Fit great, awesome feel, looks nice. But man, they show every bit of sweat like my crotch went swimming. My wife doesnt comment on my clothes much, but shes instructed me to change out of these before because its so noticable.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2022

Hi Grant, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We're sorry this fabric wasn't good for you, but glad to see you've returned the shorts. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative that will suit your needs better!

August 24, 2022

Runs small.

A 33 is more like a 29. I wish Patagonia would get their sizing right. Leg opening is way too big. Looks more like a skirt than shorts.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback on the fit of these shorts, John. We appreciate hearing from you about your experience and we will share this with our product designers. We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, and we're happy to see you've returned the shorts that weren't going to work for you. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

August 19, 2022

Very nice casual short

These fit TTS. No vanity sizing here. Love these shorts, but would like two small changes. The zipper fly cover folds a little weird and leaves the zipper showing. They also have zero stretch. 2% stretch would be great in these. Crotch sits pretty high so any large leg movements get tight quick.

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the fabric and fit, Mark!

August 17, 2022

Versatile Shorts

Love these shorts. Great for hiking or wearing around town. Very comfortable and good quality. Will likely buy more in another color.

August 17, 2022

Love that you have size

Love that you have size 35. Great fit very comfortable

August 16, 2022

I love that you have

I love that you have size 35. great fit and very comfortable.

August 14, 2022

Excellent quality and fit

I like the natural fibers and the fit is good. Wears like a well made pair of shorts. Looks good.

August 9, 2022

Maax Comfort!

These shorts fit great and comfortable right out of the chute. Bought other hemp fiber products in the past and this one seems to present a bit of advancement in treadology.

August 8, 2022

Love Patagonia

These are good quality, but didn't work for me style-wise. Purely a matter of personal taste. I read other reviews saying the waist was a little small, which I agree with. I ordered a size one inch up and the waist was fine. I just didn't love the overall fit (a bit baggy and an inch too long), both of which would be fine for others. Th... Read Moreese wear like they might be more comfortable on the golf course than the trail, which is probably what they're designed for. If that's your vibe, these are a great choice. It's just not my vibe.

August 6, 2022

Dye fades

These shorts are great for the first wearing. Great fabric, cool in summer, TTS. The first time we washed them, the gray dye started to streak. Having had this problem with gray Patagonia cotton shorts, we returned them for a refund. Wish they had held their color. They were great otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2022

Hi Laurel! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the dye started to fade and streak after you washed them. We're happy to hear you returned the shorts as we definitely consider this a warranty issue. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

August 5, 2022

Not what expected.

Sizing is way off. I have a couple of pairs of Quandary shorts in 33" and they fit great. These shorts in 33" are way too small. Can't even button when sucking in my gut and I don't even have a gut. Leg opening is way too big.

Response from Patagonia
August 9, 2022

Hi John, we apologize for the off fit on those Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a new size at any time.

August 3, 2022

Love these shorts! I was

Love these shorts! I was looking for lightweight summer shorts, primarily for golf (sorry Yvon). These are perfect. Super comfortable with great styling. Environmentally conscious materials are a big plus. Could not be happier.

July 27, 2022

Issue with this color

I purchased 3 identical shorts with different colors, this one would not fit me, the other two did just fine

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2022

Hi Thomas, this sounds like it might be a quality control issue and we'd be happy to help out with a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll reach out to you privately as well, just in case you need further assistance.

July 21, 2022

Versatile and Comfortable

These run true to size and fit great if you like that in between length - not too short and not below the knee. I have multiple pairs. A workhorse one that I garden or camp in and another for work.

July 20, 2022

Finally -- shorts that fit!

Light weight & perfect for summer wear. I own numerous pairs of shorts but none that fit as well as these.

July 12, 2022

Great Shorts!

Love the lightweight and slim fit. The fabric feels really good and, of course, made patagonia-well!

July 12, 2022

My Everyday Shorts

Comfortable beyond expectations. Wears extremely well give the day to day abuse they take. Just ordered a new color.

July 11, 2022

Comfy and stylish

Love these shorts. They fit well and are quite comfortable.

June 30, 2022

Well made, excellent fit. Perfect

Well made, excellent fit. Perfect length.

June 28, 2022

Hemp shorts

Love these shorts, light weight And durable

June 27, 2022

Just really good shorts.

Had these a week or so and really dont want to take em off. Lightweight is an apt description, theyre super comfy even when its warm out. When my other pair of shorts finally gives up, theyll be replaced with another pair of these! Sizing was up 1 inch from what I normally wear, but manufacturers are all a little different. Patagonia customer supp... Read Moreort is the best, and handled the exchange with no fuss.

June 26, 2022

Great shorts

I have a few pairs in different colors.These shorts are very comfortable and light, great for a casual outing or other outdoor event. I am a size 38 which I purchased and the shorts are a bit wide on the waist. Washing them does not shrink or change colors. Overall great shorts

June 24, 2022

Ripped after 1 month

I bought this shorts for my daily use .. but it is ripped after 2-3 wash . I wish I can share pic but there is no option

Response from Patagonia
June 27, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Amit. We're so sorry to hear those shorts have already ripped! They should hold up better than that. We will reach out to you about returning them.

June 20, 2022

Great fabric for the tropics, worn in Costa Rica all year round

I use to wear stand up shorts and while the fabric seemed and is heavier it was always very comfortable and cool. Hemp is even more comfortable but maybe not as durable. The stand up shorts from the 70's and 80's use to wear longer than the hemp but that is not the case today.

June 20, 2022

Wrinkly

So wrinkly, I tried everything, hang dry delicate wash, iron them steam them. After a couple hours of wear back to a wrinkled mess. Way to much work for casual shorts

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2022

We're very sorry to hear that the fabric of these shorts has been a disappointment. We recommend closing the button and zipper, turn them inside out, then machine wash warm with a mild detergent. Hanging them to air dry is best, but you can also tumble dry on low heat. No fabric softener should be used in wash or dry. In addition, your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so we would be happy to help you with a return and we're reaching out privately.

June 17, 2022

Looks great

Love these shorts already, they look great. Fit is right where I expected it to be and the inseam is what I like which is just above my knee cap but not too short. I got the 8 inch inseam. Will be picking up other colors for daily wear

June 13, 2022

Nice Shorts

These shorts are very nice, comfortable for casual wear. They do come out of the dryer with a slightly wrinkled look, but it is acceptable.

June 8, 2022

Best Casual Summer Shorts

Its 103 this week in Austin and these shorts are the best to stay cool in!! You need to make some casual pants with this light weight hemp blend.

June 5, 2022

Excellent shorts

Super comfy and light shorts. Will be wearing them a lot.

June 5, 2022

Comfy and stylish shorts

I love these shorts and use them for both casual and with more of a dress shirt. They dry fast and do not attract dirt or stains. I highly recommend this product.

June 2, 2022

Light weight

Comfortable and cool. Nice feel!

June 2, 2022

Nice and Comfy Shorts

These shorts are really comfortable and they look good too.

May 30, 2022

Excellent

Great fabric and feel. I dont see the same wrinkling as others - the casual look is perfect and they stay cool. Blue and gray colors are perfect. Im a 30 and 30 fit is right on.

May 24, 2022

Great fabric for hot Texas summers

My husband has had several pair of this short. They can be dressed up and feel great on hot humid Texas days.

May 20, 2022

Great shorts

These are fantastic. No need to iron. Durable and slightly breathable. Great for a casual hot day

May 15, 2022

I wish I got a longer short.

These run at or just above my knees when I stand up and about 2 to 3 above my knees when I sit. I wish I ordered the 10 inseam. Otherwise fabric is comfortable and feels lighter than regular cotton shorts.

May 5, 2022

Great shorts

I normally wear a size 30 but ordered a 31 based on the reviews I read. They fit great and are comfortable. They are very light weight and will be great for the hot humid summers we have here. I have ordered them in every color. If there were additional colors I would order them too.

May 4, 2022

Most comfortable pants ever!!!

Just get one and you wont regret having one. Pretty sure you will want to purchase other colors, too.

May 2, 2022

Nice fit

Great fitting shorts. Work with a button up or t-shirt, will for sure purchase other colors.

April 29, 2022

nice pants but problem with the logo

logo in the front makes it look cheap

April 28, 2022

My waist looks like an accordian

Each time I wear these, the the shorts are completely covered with wrinkles radiating outward from the crotch like a sunburst. The fit on these shorts was what I expected, but the quality of the material is reminiscent of something that would cost 1/3 as much anywhere else.

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2022

Hey Matt, we appreciate the feedback on our Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. These shorts are a 76% organic cotton/24% hemp blend, so they can definitely be prone to wrinkling; nothing an iron shouldn't be able to smooth out. With that said, if you're unhappy with their performance, you're always welcome to return. Perhaps something with a synthetic material will be better suited to your needs, like the [Men's Quandary Shorts - 10"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-quandary-hiking-shorts-10-inch/57826.html?dwvar_57826_color=FGE&cgid=root).

April 25, 2022

Good Fit and Well Made

I think the pockets are just the right size. I've been wearing these for over a year and they show really no signs of wear.

April 10, 2022

Bring back the original All-Wear shorts!

I like that these new All-Wear shorts now use a hemp/cotton blend for breathability, but durability has been compromised. These shorts wear out faster than the original 100% organic cotton All-Wear shorts (and the Stand Up shorts are not a good alternative as they are too heavy and chafe with their rough texture). Please consider bringing back the ... Read Moreoriginal All-Wear shorts!

April 9, 2022

Super comfy.

Very comfortable, they fit well. I bought a second pair. They are replacing my Kuhl shorts because these breathe really well

April 7, 2022

Great lightweight shorts

Great shorts. Really comfy and lightweight/ breathable for hot days. But only 3 stars because 1) the logo on the leg makes them look too casual and 2) previous pairs havent lasted very long before they start to wear out and rip near the pockets

April 7, 2022

Not my style

The fit around the waist is good. However, the way the legs are designed and cut is weird. They should have an almost imperceptible taper, it would make them less stodgy, but instead they go straight down and almost flare out in this odd boxy silhouette that isnt stylish or flattering. Its not even dad shorts, its grandpa shorts. The material itsel... Read Moref is a bit like crepe paper. I was expecting it to be thick and casual but it looks thin and formal like one of those cheap looking suits made from a shiny fabric except its matte. It needs to be thick and ropey and hang like the trail harbor line, those are excellent casual pieces. Would not recommend for a casual, worn in short.

March 23, 2022

Awesome shorts

Great multi-purpose shorts. Comfortable with a great look!

March 17, 2022

Super comfy

I like

March 13, 2022

Runs way too small

I wear a 33 waist in all my of jeans and shorts from other companies. These were extremely tight, unwearable, no stretch at all. I would probably have to order two sizes up for these to fit right. But Im just going to return because the giant logo on front ruins them and the material has no stretch to it. Would not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2022

Hey Adam, we appreciate the feedback on the Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. We're sorry to hear that these ran small for you, and we will share your feedback on fit with the team. Details like logo placement and whether a material is stretchy or not can be found on the product page specs and features. For a pair of similar shorts with stretch and no logo, we recommend checking out the [Men's Altvia Trail Shorts - 10"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-altvia-trail-shorts-10-inch/57185.html?dwvar_57185_color=NENA&cgid=root).

February 9, 2022

Perfect length

Living in Hawaii I prefer something light weight. This short is casual enough to wear anywhere and throw on an Aloha shirt and fine dining awaits.

January 14, 2022

Good but....

Im on my fourth or fifth pair of these. I wear them until they disintegrate. Theyre great but please make black ones

November 19, 2021

Nice Shorts, fit nice

Great shorts and the grey was really cool. Not a big deal but took them on a vacation and I threw them in a back pack and the garment remained wrinkled for the rest of my trip.

November 10, 2021

Great fit!

I bought these for my son and he wears them so often I ended up getting him another pair in a different color - they fit him perfectly!

November 4, 2021

Great material that works well indoors and outdoors.

Fit true to size, great quality and fabric. 7' length lands about right about my knee for an under 5'9" human.

November 1, 2021

Great shorts

Great, comfortable shorts.

October 1, 2021

Disappointed

I just received my shorts. I ordered a pair a couple years ago, they fit well and wore well, so I wanted a second in a different color. The cloth of the new shorts is significantly thinner and flimsier than that used in my older pair, and there's a Patagonia logo label on the front hem (I should have noticed this when I ordered, but didn'... Read Moret). These shorts are too expensive to justify poor quality materials and enforced brand advertising. I'm returning them to my local store for a refund.

Response from Patagonia
October 8, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Tim. We've made some recent changes which has resulted in a lighter fabric. This allows for more breathability. We've also added the p-6 logo to the pocket as you've stated. We're always happy to discuss updates and changes to gear with you prior to purchase, or to make suggestions on other gear that may suit you better.

August 30, 2021

Thin material wears out quickly

These shorts are not at all durable. Ive worn out two pairs (purchased at the same time) in about two years of intermittent use. In both cases, the fabric on the seat wore through.

August 28, 2021

Not what I thought

These were not as I excepted, I have bought the hemp style shorts the shorts I received previous to these were much heavier fabric (which I thought these would have also). The shorts are fine but not what i wanted them to be.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2021

Hello James, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry the shorts did not meet your expectations. You are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at your convenience.

August 25, 2021

Lightweight and incredibly comfortable

These shorts are great for hiking. They are lightweight and super comfortable. I was impressed with how well-made they are.

August 24, 2021

Great fit fades and wears easily

The fit has been great and sits easily on hips with or without belt. Like the soft feel and length is right where expected. The finish is lacking in that after less than two months of wearing the have significant color fading and wearing on seat and front of thighs. I havent abused and regular wearing usage. I got the dark gray so will try another ... Read Morecolor in future.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hello Brandon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the shorts. We are sorry to learn about the fading and wear on the fabric. We do offer an Ironclad Guarantee on our product so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts as we want our customers to be 100% satisfied with their purchase.

August 20, 2021

Comfortable, good fitting shorts.

I wanted some sustainably produced, comfortable shorts for wearing around casually every day during warm weather. This is the second pair I bought as I like them so well the first time. They mstched my needs perfectly.

August 12, 2021

Great shorts

These are exactly what I was looking for in a pair of decent looking, comfortable and sustainably sourced shorts. The only thing that would be an improvement is cargo shorts in the same length from the same material. A flap pocket in back would be nice but that's quibbling.

August 10, 2021

Very comfortable, good fit throughout legs

Go-to shorts. Great material, light enough to be cool. Pockets are reasonably sized. Best of all, they fit my 26 legs unlike all the skinny leg options.

July 27, 2021

Runs small

Nice quality shorts! Keep in mind the 8" is 'short'.

July 25, 2021

shorts again

I like the shorter inseam that makes it feel like shorts again instead of a pair of peddle pushers. Never cared for the current style of shorts that are below your knees.....

July 22, 2021

Comfortable, light weight

Comfortable shorts that fit my legs instead of shorts that are too tight to move in. Ordered another pair in another color.

July 22, 2021

Best purchase of the summer

Light material, great fit, good color, timely delivery. Would definitely buy again.

July 18, 2021

Great shorts

Look and feel great. True to size. Highly recommend.

July 17, 2021

Khaki shorts

Enjoying the hemp shorts

July 17, 2021

Good replacement

This is a replacement for my all cotton Patagooch shorts that have been discontinued.

July 13, 2021

Not as good as old style

I'll echo other sentiments that the old 100% organic cotton model was a better overall short than the hemp blend. These are very light and comfortable, but the fit is different and the material doesn't feel as solid as the previous models. I have almost exclusively worn these shorts for the last 4 or so years, but I will have to start rep... Read Morelacing them with a different style going forward.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Robert! You may like our [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html) better in terms of fit and fabric.

July 12, 2021

Thin shorts run a little small

They looked great and I was happy with them until first wash. They didn't shrink as I was careful to dry on low but they do appear very worn already. They also wrinkle very easily. I will wear them for yard work and fishing but not for social outings based on their appearance after a couple washes. I suspect this is indicative of hemp.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We think you might like our [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html)

July 9, 2021

Great shorts!

I love these shorts. I got them in blue and khaki. Lightweight and they look great. They do run small. Im 6 195 and I typically fit in 33 in waist but those were too tight in these so I returned them for 34s.

July 9, 2021

Wrinkled wear

I am 5 foot 9 inches, 165 lbs. and athletic. Shorts are probably a little snugger than I expected in the seat, but relax with wear. Fabric is very lightweight as advertised, but after washing they wrinkle as if they were linen, and the wrinkles persist. Not the look I was expecting in a pair of summer shorts. I bought two pairs and am considering r... Read Moreeturning them.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8". Natural Fibers do have a tendency to wrinkle unfortunately. You could return and use the credit towards a pair of shorts that are a bit thicker to avoid it, we'd recommend our [Men's Stand Up Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html?dwvar_57228_color=PRTA&cgid=root).

July 8, 2021

Outstanding

Fits perfectly, despite elephant sized legs

July 7, 2021

Great shorts but VERY wrinkle-prone

I LOVE the fit and feel of these shorts. However, the material is extremely prone to wrinkles, particularly if you're going to be sitting for long periods. Even if you're not sitting, they come out of the dryer quite wrinkled. Much more so than my other shorts, including linen shorts. I'd still recommend them, but buyers should be aw... Read Moreare.

July 6, 2021

Perfect summer shorts

Great fit, very light and comfortable. Have received multiple compliments.

July 5, 2021

Best shorts ever.

Some of the most comfortable shorts I've ever purchased.

July 5, 2021

Just What I was Looking For

Ive been looking for lightweight shorts for a while. These are just what I was looking for. The range of lengths made the decision all the more easy.

July 3, 2021

Excellent

Material feels great, for is great. Only complaint is I wish it came in more colors

July 1, 2021

Perfect Size and Fit

I like them so well that I got another color and thinking about a third pair.

June 29, 2021

All Wear All Good

The All Wear shorts a a good addition to the summer wardrobe. They're doing quite well in the heat dome conditions. The subtle pattern of the hemp weave, the fit and finish, and the hand of the fabric are all excellent.

June 26, 2021

Great Fit, My Favorite Shorts

I was a little nervous about the fit when I ordered 34, thinking they would be a little too big but they fit great. I love the fabric and feel of the shorts, they've quickly become my favorite. So far I haven't been disappointed with any Patagonia product I've ordered.

June 25, 2021

Not quite right for me

I love the Patagonia brand but the feel of the fabric and the corresponding fit didn't work for me. Love the my Baggy Hemp Natural shorts by Patagonia, but these weren't quite what I was expecting.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on the Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. We're sorry to hear these didn't work out for you! If you haven't already, feel free to begin the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 24, 2021

Shorts review

Nice shorts, I do think you could do better job regarding description of what is the difference in the numerous shorts you offer. Why this one over that one . The length of hiking shorts seems long as well.

June 23, 2021

Comfy (but inconsistent sizing)

Comfy, sleek, soft. As others have noted these shorts run small. I'm normally a 32, these I needed the 33. Only thing is I bought 2 pairs of 32s, returned them, and bought 2 pairs same 8" inseam in 33s and the blue ones are tight, the gray ones fit perfect. Will return the blue ones in hopes it was a manufacturing error and try a new 33. ... Read MoreHope they work out.

June 20, 2021

Cool shorts

Good shorts, but I wish you still made the heavier cotton ones.

June 19, 2021

Perfect shorts

Love these! Great fabric, love the shorter length.

June 16, 2021

Runs a little small for it's size

I'm normally a 32" waist with Patagonia gear, but I had to exchange for a 33", and they fit perfect. They're nice and lightweight.

June 15, 2021

Nice shorts!

I ordered the wrong size initially, return process was very easy and the communication was great. Just got these shorts in the mail...they are nice and light and Patagonia rugged. Will be ordering more!

June 14, 2021

Cool and Comfortable

Lightweight and cool shorts for warm weather. Can dress them up with an iron or just go as is the rest of the time. Good length for anything.

June 13, 2021

Could pass for dress but

I have several pairs of shorts left to my disposal. I have GAP cotton/linen blend, and two of your hemp blend shorts. Your shorts are extremely comfortable and light weight. Living in Michigan, were getting more hot and humid days strung together. Your shorts are a perfect weight for the weather. As I said in my title, they look so good, I could we... Read Morear them to a summer party that may be on the more formal side. Unfortunately, the Patagonia label sewn into the front leg precludes that. Im betting Id get enough compliments on my shorts, I would get asked where I bought them, take care of your marketing needs.

June 10, 2021

Cheap

Disappointed... material covering the zipper fails at its assigned task...does not cover the zipper. I've also purchased 'Standup' shorts this season and experienced no issues... just 'cheap' I suppose.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2021

We're so sorry to hear these didn't live up to expectations. You're absolutely welcome to send them back for a return and if you're interested in checking out a similar pair, we'd recommend the [Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-all-wear-hemp-volley-shorts-7-inch/57870.html?dwvar_57870_color=MJVK&cgid=root).

June 9, 2021

Great "all purpose" shorts

These are great shorts, light weight, a good length (I'm 61 so I like shorts just above the knee).

June 8, 2021

Not Very Durable

I bought these shorts about two months ago and wore them primarily to work every day. Last week I noticed that the concrete countertops had worn a hole in the shorts. While I wasnt completely surprised as the countertops at work have worn holes in clothing before I had hoped that Patagonias material would have been tough enough for the job. Other t... Read Morehan that they were great shorts.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2021

Hey Jacob! We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with these. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so we'd be happy to assist you with a warranty return when you call us at 800-638-6464 or chat with us live online. If you're wearing these primarily to work, you could also consider checking out our [Workwear Line](https://www.patagonia.com/workwear/). We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

June 3, 2021

Lightweight, but run small

I'm a 32" in most shorts and pants, but these were just a bit too snug to hang onto. I'm not sure if I like how high they come above the knee yet either. They say they are 8", but the 7" Stand up Shorts come down lower than these, which is strange.

May 19, 2021

100% organic cotton is better

I've worn this model shorts for years. They used to be 100% organic cotton; now they are a blend of cotton and hemp. 100% cotton is much better: heavier, more durable, and more comfortable. I would like Patagonia to bring back 100% organic cotton.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the fabric change. You might like the [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html) for an all organic cotton casual short.

May 18, 2021

Not my last pair

These are great! I'm 5'10" / 143 lbs with a 32" inseam and I was worried these would be a little long at 8" but they were perfect. The material is very light, breathable, and comfortable. Can't recommend these enough.

May 9, 2021

Shorts are great

But can you please make a crew sweatshirt (no hood) but with a mono hoodie style pocket up front?! Promise wed all love it!

May 6, 2021

Very comfortable

Bought for my grandson. He loves them

May 3, 2021

Outdoor Adventure Shorts

I purchased several pair for an extended trip. They are comfortable, versatile and fashion flexible. They work great for hiking and trekking in the outdoors. Highly recommend them. By the way, Im 69. So, you dont have to be a young adventurer to enjoy them.

April 29, 2021

The Shorts of Summer

I purchased my first pair of these shorts in 2020 and now own several colors. These shorts are brilliant and my daily wear in summer.

April 28, 2021

Fits great! Now I want every color!

These shorts fit great and are super comfortable. They also feel cooler (temperature) than other shorts and the material seems really durable.

April 24, 2021

Great all around shorts

The red color is truly sick, love the 8 inch length too, perfect for me. They're rather light weight, which helps them feel great! Worth it!

April 23, 2021

Dope shorts!

Absolute staples of the closet!

April 20, 2021

Go-to

These hemp shorts have clean enough lines that I can wear them to work, but they fit in just as well on the bike or trail. They breathe well, move well, and are generally awesome. My favorite short, for sure.

April 20, 2021

PLEASE! Bring back the old fabric!

This fabric is lighter and STRETCHER. MUCH prefer the older fabric. I wear these shorts EVERYDAY weather permitting.

April 19, 2021

Perfect fit, super comfortable

I wear shorts year round. I often look for the perfect shorts. These are them. Super comfortable, great fit. They work while standing knee deep in a creek, fishing, or standing in a bar with friends. (Except for Covid. Wear a mask). I have these in a few colors, and will probably get more. Please make these forever.

April 16, 2021

Perfect for an office at the beach

So ordered a 34, but a bit tight. Usually spot on for me. Exchange for 35. Works after a tiny dart. Great feel and length. Nice material. They dont shrink.

April 16, 2021

sweet

good quality

April 10, 2021

quality

quality great

April 8, 2021

Please lose the brand logo

I've had many iterations of these pants through the years. They typically last 2-3 years of casual summer use before the hems start to fray. I do not like labels on clothes. It's acceptable when they are on the back but on the front is too conspicuous for my taste. I had not ordered them for this fact, but finally ordered 2 pair which arr... Read Moreived today. Shorts are great but labels on front leg is obnoxious. So I removed the label and I'm happy with a nice pair of shorts. 4 stars for limited durability and the label.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

Thanks for the review David. If you're finding that your gear isn't holding up the way you'd expect you're always welcome to send it back for a warranty evaluation. We'll also pass along the feedback regarding the logos to our design team.

April 3, 2021

Light and Comfy

Another great Patagonia product!

March 15, 2021

Super Breezy and Comfortable

I'm 6'0" and 245lbs, these shorts are very fresh and comfortable for Puerto Rico weather (average 90°F) and they are very easy wearing and provide enough mobility to not have to worry about any tears or rips. Also, if you get a stain it's very easy to wash since the knit is open and lightweight without sacrificing strength.

March 9, 2021

light weight, easy wear

Great and comfortable for all uses

March 5, 2021

comfortable short

very comfortable and light for warm weather

February 24, 2021

School Shorts

Bought 15 freshman two pairs. Wears them to school everyday, great construction, extremely durable.

February 7, 2021

Great feel, fabric

I love these shorts. Size was exactly as Id hoped/expected, and the feel is great. The hemp is comfy and durable.

February 3, 2021

Shorts

Super comfy, lightweight, fits perfect and looks good

January 5, 2021

Shorts. Wrong ones :(

I intended to buy swim shorts that were made of cotton and hemp I mistakenly ended up with the shorts that were sent to me which are comfortable however they require a belt

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Hey James! Thanks for your review on the All-Wear Hemp Shorts. These are not advertised as boardshorts. Perhaps you were looking for the [Organic Cotton Canvas Boardshorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-organic-cotton-canvas-boardshorts-18-inch/86710.html?dwvar_86710_color=PKNA) instead? We hope this helps!

September 22, 2020

Don't sweat the wrinkles or the fit

Reading other reviews, I was concerned about wrinkling, and whether the fit is consistent with the old cotton All Wears. While these do wrinkle a bit when you're sitting, it's nothing like linen or dress shirt cotton- they look fine. Likewise on the fit, these feel very, very close to the 2019 All Wears they replaced... exactly the same l... Read Moreength/width when overlaid.

September 19, 2020

My new go to

The weight and breathability of these shorts exceeded my expectations. The construction seems sturdy, but I suppose only time will tell. No distracting features. Wrinkle easier than anticipated, but its not like Im wearing them to church, so not a huge deal

September 17, 2020

Lightweight, clean look

The shorts are very comfortable and really lightweight for hot days. They seemed a bit shiny out of the bag and I'm hoping that dulls a bit with wear. We'll see.

September 14, 2020

Good short, runs small and long.

It took me several tries to get the right size for these. I finally landed on 35 waist - 8 length. I normally wear a 33/34. I have 10 shorts from other brands that arent too long but these 10 were too long and too baggy. Great lightweight short. While I love Patagonia and support their mission, I kind of wish the branding was on the inside too... Read More. If I put on a Patagonia jacket at the same time as the shorts it makes me feel like an unwitting walking catalogue pic.

September 14, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia since the 80s. My kids and grandkids are also huge fans. Ill try to wear these shorts out but my experience is that it takes a lot of wear over a lot of years.

September 11, 2020

Good shorts

Great shorts. 4 stars because the wrinkle quite a bit while sitting.

September 10, 2020

Received order in record time!

These were for my grandson for school. The delivery was super fast! The fastest I have ever gotten from a store. He really likes his shorts.

September 9, 2020

Best Shorts

These could be the best shorts Ive ever bought. Perfect fit and lightweight, Id would definitely recommend.

September 9, 2020

Awesome

awesome

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches