Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 93 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8"

4.4/5
November 19, 2021

Nice Shorts, fit nice

Great shorts and the grey was really cool. Not a big deal but took them on a vacation and I threw them in a back pack and the garment remained wrinkled for the rest of my trip.

November 10, 2021

Great fit!

I bought these for my son and he wears them so often I ended up getting him another pair in a different color - they fit him perfectly!

November 4, 2021

Great material that works well indoors and outdoors.

Fit true to size, great quality and fabric. 7' length lands about right about my knee for an under 5'9" human.

November 1, 2021

Great shorts

Great, comfortable shorts.

October 1, 2021

Disappointed

I just received my shorts. I ordered a pair a couple years ago, they fit well and wore well, so I wanted a second in a different color. The cloth of the new shorts is significantly thinner and flimsier than that used in my older pair, and there's a Patagonia logo label on the front hem (I should have noticed this when I ordered, but didn'... Read Moret). These shorts are too expensive to justify poor quality materials and enforced brand advertising. I'm returning them to my local store for a refund.

Response from Patagonia
October 8, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Tim. We've made some recent changes which has resulted in a lighter fabric. This allows for more breathability. We've also added the p-6 logo to the pocket as you've stated. We're always happy to discuss updates and changes to gear with you prior to purchase, or to make suggestions on other gear that may suit you better.

August 30, 2021

Thin material wears out quickly

These shorts are not at all durable. Ive worn out two pairs (purchased at the same time) in about two years of intermittent use. In both cases, the fabric on the seat wore through.

August 28, 2021

Not what I thought

These were not as I excepted, I have bought the hemp style shorts the shorts I received previous to these were much heavier fabric (which I thought these would have also). The shorts are fine but not what i wanted them to be.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2021

Hello James, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry the shorts did not meet your expectations. You are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at your convenience.

August 25, 2021

Lightweight and incredibly comfortable

These shorts are great for hiking. They are lightweight and super comfortable. I was impressed with how well-made they are.

August 24, 2021

Great fit fades and wears easily

The fit has been great and sits easily on hips with or without belt. Like the soft feel and length is right where expected. The finish is lacking in that after less than two months of wearing the have significant color fading and wearing on seat and front of thighs. I havent abused and regular wearing usage. I got the dark gray so will try another ... Read Morecolor in future.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hello Brandon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the shorts. We are sorry to learn about the fading and wear on the fabric. We do offer an Ironclad Guarantee on our product so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts as we want our customers to be 100% satisfied with their purchase.

August 20, 2021

Comfortable, good fitting shorts.

I wanted some sustainably produced, comfortable shorts for wearing around casually every day during warm weather. This is the second pair I bought as I like them so well the first time. They mstched my needs perfectly.

August 12, 2021

Great shorts

These are exactly what I was looking for in a pair of decent looking, comfortable and sustainably sourced shorts. The only thing that would be an improvement is cargo shorts in the same length from the same material. A flap pocket in back would be nice but that's quibbling.

August 10, 2021

Very comfortable, good fit throughout legs

Go-to shorts. Great material, light enough to be cool. Pockets are reasonably sized. Best of all, they fit my 26 legs unlike all the skinny leg options.

July 27, 2021

Runs small

Nice quality shorts! Keep in mind the 8" is 'short'.

July 25, 2021

shorts again

I like the shorter inseam that makes it feel like shorts again instead of a pair of peddle pushers. Never cared for the current style of shorts that are below your knees.....

July 22, 2021

Comfortable, light weight

Comfortable shorts that fit my legs instead of shorts that are too tight to move in. Ordered another pair in another color.

July 22, 2021

Best purchase of the summer

Light material, great fit, good color, timely delivery. Would definitely buy again.

July 18, 2021

Great shorts

Look and feel great. True to size. Highly recommend.

July 17, 2021

Khaki shorts

Enjoying the hemp shorts

July 17, 2021

Good replacement

This is a replacement for my all cotton Patagooch shorts that have been discontinued.

July 13, 2021

Not as good as old style

I'll echo other sentiments that the old 100% organic cotton model was a better overall short than the hemp blend. These are very light and comfortable, but the fit is different and the material doesn't feel as solid as the previous models. I have almost exclusively worn these shorts for the last 4 or so years, but I will have to start rep... Read Morelacing them with a different style going forward.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Robert! You may like our [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html) better in terms of fit and fabric.

July 12, 2021

Thin shorts run a little small

They looked great and I was happy with them until first wash. They didn't shrink as I was careful to dry on low but they do appear very worn already. They also wrinkle very easily. I will wear them for yard work and fishing but not for social outings based on their appearance after a couple washes. I suspect this is indicative of hemp.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We think you might like our [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html)

July 9, 2021

Great shorts!

I love these shorts. I got them in blue and khaki. Lightweight and they look great. They do run small. Im 6 195 and I typically fit in 33 in waist but those were too tight in these so I returned them for 34s.

July 9, 2021

Wrinkled wear

I am 5 foot 9 inches, 165 lbs. and athletic. Shorts are probably a little snugger than I expected in the seat, but relax with wear. Fabric is very lightweight as advertised, but after washing they wrinkle as if they were linen, and the wrinkles persist. Not the look I was expecting in a pair of summer shorts. I bought two pairs and am considering r... Read Moreeturning them.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8". Natural Fibers do have a tendency to wrinkle unfortunately. You could return and use the credit towards a pair of shorts that are a bit thicker to avoid it, we'd recommend our [Men's Stand Up Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html?dwvar_57228_color=PRTA&cgid=root).

July 8, 2021

Outstanding

Fits perfectly, despite elephant sized legs

July 7, 2021

Great shorts but VERY wrinkle-prone

I LOVE the fit and feel of these shorts. However, the material is extremely prone to wrinkles, particularly if you're going to be sitting for long periods. Even if you're not sitting, they come out of the dryer quite wrinkled. Much more so than my other shorts, including linen shorts. I'd still recommend them, but buyers should be aw... Read Moreare.

July 6, 2021

Perfect summer shorts

Great fit, very light and comfortable. Have received multiple compliments.

July 5, 2021

Best shorts ever.

Some of the most comfortable shorts I've ever purchased.

July 5, 2021

Just What I was Looking For

Ive been looking for lightweight shorts for a while. These are just what I was looking for. The range of lengths made the decision all the more easy.

July 3, 2021

Excellent

Material feels great, for is great. Only complaint is I wish it came in more colors

July 1, 2021

Perfect Size and Fit

I like them so well that I got another color and thinking about a third pair.

June 29, 2021

All Wear All Good

The All Wear shorts a a good addition to the summer wardrobe. They're doing quite well in the heat dome conditions. The subtle pattern of the hemp weave, the fit and finish, and the hand of the fabric are all excellent.

June 26, 2021

Great Fit, My Favorite Shorts

I was a little nervous about the fit when I ordered 34, thinking they would be a little too big but they fit great. I love the fabric and feel of the shorts, they've quickly become my favorite. So far I haven't been disappointed with any Patagonia product I've ordered.

June 25, 2021

Not quite right for me

I love the Patagonia brand but the feel of the fabric and the corresponding fit didn't work for me. Love the my Baggy Hemp Natural shorts by Patagonia, but these weren't quite what I was expecting.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on the Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts. We're sorry to hear these didn't work out for you! If you haven't already, feel free to begin the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 24, 2021

Shorts review

Nice shorts, I do think you could do better job regarding description of what is the difference in the numerous shorts you offer. Why this one over that one . The length of hiking shorts seems long as well.

June 23, 2021

Comfy (but inconsistent sizing)

Comfy, sleek, soft. As others have noted these shorts run small. I'm normally a 32, these I needed the 33. Only thing is I bought 2 pairs of 32s, returned them, and bought 2 pairs same 8" inseam in 33s and the blue ones are tight, the gray ones fit perfect. Will return the blue ones in hopes it was a manufacturing error and try a new 33. ... Read MoreHope they work out.

June 20, 2021

Cool shorts

Good shorts, but I wish you still made the heavier cotton ones.

June 19, 2021

Perfect shorts

Love these! Great fabric, love the shorter length.

June 16, 2021

Runs a little small for it's size

I'm normally a 32" waist with Patagonia gear, but I had to exchange for a 33", and they fit perfect. They're nice and lightweight.

June 15, 2021

Nice shorts!

I ordered the wrong size initially, return process was very easy and the communication was great. Just got these shorts in the mail...they are nice and light and Patagonia rugged. Will be ordering more!

June 14, 2021

Cool and Comfortable

Lightweight and cool shorts for warm weather. Can dress them up with an iron or just go as is the rest of the time. Good length for anything.

June 13, 2021

Could pass for dress but

I have several pairs of shorts left to my disposal. I have GAP cotton/linen blend, and two of your hemp blend shorts. Your shorts are extremely comfortable and light weight. Living in Michigan, were getting more hot and humid days strung together. Your shorts are a perfect weight for the weather. As I said in my title, they look so good, I could we... Read Morear them to a summer party that may be on the more formal side. Unfortunately, the Patagonia label sewn into the front leg precludes that. Im betting Id get enough compliments on my shorts, I would get asked where I bought them, take care of your marketing needs.

June 10, 2021

Cheap

Disappointed... material covering the zipper fails at its assigned task...does not cover the zipper. I've also purchased 'Standup' shorts this season and experienced no issues... just 'cheap' I suppose.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2021

We're so sorry to hear these didn't live up to expectations. You're absolutely welcome to send them back for a return and if you're interested in checking out a similar pair, we'd recommend the [Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-all-wear-hemp-volley-shorts-7-inch/57870.html?dwvar_57870_color=MJVK&cgid=root).

June 9, 2021

Great "all purpose" shorts

These are great shorts, light weight, a good length (I'm 61 so I like shorts just above the knee).

June 8, 2021

Not Very Durable

I bought these shorts about two months ago and wore them primarily to work every day. Last week I noticed that the concrete countertops had worn a hole in the shorts. While I wasnt completely surprised as the countertops at work have worn holes in clothing before I had hoped that Patagonias material would have been tough enough for the job. Other t... Read Morehan that they were great shorts.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2021

Hey Jacob! We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with these. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so we'd be happy to assist you with a warranty return when you call us at 800-638-6464 or chat with us live online. If you're wearing these primarily to work, you could also consider checking out our [Workwear Line](https://www.patagonia.com/workwear/). We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

June 3, 2021

Lightweight, but run small

I'm a 32" in most shorts and pants, but these were just a bit too snug to hang onto. I'm not sure if I like how high they come above the knee yet either. They say they are 8", but the 7" Stand up Shorts come down lower than these, which is strange.

May 19, 2021

100% organic cotton is better

I've worn this model shorts for years. They used to be 100% organic cotton; now they are a blend of cotton and hemp. 100% cotton is much better: heavier, more durable, and more comfortable. I would like Patagonia to bring back 100% organic cotton.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the fabric change. You might like the [Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html) for an all organic cotton casual short.

May 18, 2021

Not my last pair

These are great! I'm 5'10" / 143 lbs with a 32" inseam and I was worried these would be a little long at 8" but they were perfect. The material is very light, breathable, and comfortable. Can't recommend these enough.

May 9, 2021

Shorts are great

But can you please make a crew sweatshirt (no hood) but with a mono hoodie style pocket up front?! Promise wed all love it!

May 6, 2021

Very comfortable

Bought for my grandson. He loves them

May 3, 2021

Outdoor Adventure Shorts

I purchased several pair for an extended trip. They are comfortable, versatile and fashion flexible. They work great for hiking and trekking in the outdoors. Highly recommend them. By the way, Im 69. So, you dont have to be a young adventurer to enjoy them.

April 29, 2021

The Shorts of Summer

I purchased my first pair of these shorts in 2020 and now own several colors. These shorts are brilliant and my daily wear in summer.

April 28, 2021

Fits great! Now I want every color!

These shorts fit great and are super comfortable. They also feel cooler (temperature) than other shorts and the material seems really durable.

April 24, 2021

Great all around shorts

The red color is truly sick, love the 8 inch length too, perfect for me. They're rather light weight, which helps them feel great! Worth it!

April 23, 2021

Dope shorts!

Absolute staples of the closet!

April 20, 2021

Go-to

These hemp shorts have clean enough lines that I can wear them to work, but they fit in just as well on the bike or trail. They breathe well, move well, and are generally awesome. My favorite short, for sure.

April 20, 2021

PLEASE! Bring back the old fabric!

This fabric is lighter and STRETCHER. MUCH prefer the older fabric. I wear these shorts EVERYDAY weather permitting.

April 19, 2021

Perfect fit, super comfortable

I wear shorts year round. I often look for the perfect shorts. These are them. Super comfortable, great fit. They work while standing knee deep in a creek, fishing, or standing in a bar with friends. (Except for Covid. Wear a mask). I have these in a few colors, and will probably get more. Please make these forever.

April 16, 2021

Perfect for an office at the beach

So ordered a 34, but a bit tight. Usually spot on for me. Exchange for 35. Works after a tiny dart. Great feel and length. Nice material. They dont shrink.

April 16, 2021

sweet

good quality

April 10, 2021

quality

quality great

April 8, 2021

Please lose the brand logo

I've had many iterations of these pants through the years. They typically last 2-3 years of casual summer use before the hems start to fray. I do not like labels on clothes. It's acceptable when they are on the back but on the front is too conspicuous for my taste. I had not ordered them for this fact, but finally ordered 2 pair which arr... Read Moreived today. Shorts are great but labels on front leg is obnoxious. So I removed the label and I'm happy with a nice pair of shorts. 4 stars for limited durability and the label.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

Thanks for the review David. If you're finding that your gear isn't holding up the way you'd expect you're always welcome to send it back for a warranty evaluation. We'll also pass along the feedback regarding the logos to our design team.

April 3, 2021

Light and Comfy

Another great Patagonia product!

March 15, 2021

Super Breezy and Comfortable

I'm 6'0" and 245lbs, these shorts are very fresh and comfortable for Puerto Rico weather (average 90°F) and they are very easy wearing and provide enough mobility to not have to worry about any tears or rips. Also, if you get a stain it's very easy to wash since the knit is open and lightweight without sacrificing strength.

March 9, 2021

light weight, easy wear

Great and comfortable for all uses

March 5, 2021

comfortable short

very comfortable and light for warm weather

February 24, 2021

School Shorts

Bought 15 freshman two pairs. Wears them to school everyday, great construction, extremely durable.

February 7, 2021

Great feel, fabric

I love these shorts. Size was exactly as Id hoped/expected, and the feel is great. The hemp is comfy and durable.

February 3, 2021

Shorts

Super comfy, lightweight, fits perfect and looks good

January 5, 2021

Shorts. Wrong ones :(

I intended to buy swim shorts that were made of cotton and hemp I mistakenly ended up with the shorts that were sent to me which are comfortable however they require a belt

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Hey James! Thanks for your review on the All-Wear Hemp Shorts. These are not advertised as boardshorts. Perhaps you were looking for the [Organic Cotton Canvas Boardshorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-organic-cotton-canvas-boardshorts-18-inch/86710.html?dwvar_86710_color=PKNA) instead? We hope this helps!

September 22, 2020

Don't sweat the wrinkles or the fit

Reading other reviews, I was concerned about wrinkling, and whether the fit is consistent with the old cotton All Wears. While these do wrinkle a bit when you're sitting, it's nothing like linen or dress shirt cotton- they look fine. Likewise on the fit, these feel very, very close to the 2019 All Wears they replaced... exactly the same l... Read Moreength/width when overlaid.

September 19, 2020

My new go to

The weight and breathability of these shorts exceeded my expectations. The construction seems sturdy, but I suppose only time will tell. No distracting features. Wrinkle easier than anticipated, but its not like Im wearing them to church, so not a huge deal

September 17, 2020

Lightweight, clean look

The shorts are very comfortable and really lightweight for hot days. They seemed a bit shiny out of the bag and I'm hoping that dulls a bit with wear. We'll see.

September 14, 2020

Good short, runs small and long.

It took me several tries to get the right size for these. I finally landed on 35 waist - 8 length. I normally wear a 33/34. I have 10 shorts from other brands that arent too long but these 10 were too long and too baggy. Great lightweight short. While I love Patagonia and support their mission, I kind of wish the branding was on the inside too... Read More. If I put on a Patagonia jacket at the same time as the shorts it makes me feel like an unwitting walking catalogue pic.

September 14, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia since the 80s. My kids and grandkids are also huge fans. Ill try to wear these shorts out but my experience is that it takes a lot of wear over a lot of years.

September 11, 2020

Good shorts

Great shorts. 4 stars because the wrinkle quite a bit while sitting.

September 10, 2020

Received order in record time!

These were for my grandson for school. The delivery was super fast! The fastest I have ever gotten from a store. He really likes his shorts.

September 9, 2020

Best Shorts

These could be the best shorts Ive ever bought. Perfect fit and lightweight, Id would definitely recommend.

September 9, 2020

Awesome

awesome

September 4, 2020

Best

I will Describe it in one word AMAZING !!

September 3, 2020

Good shorts

Nice shorts

September 3, 2020

Favorite shorts!

These shorts are my new favorites! They fit comfortably, but yet are very trim. They move well with active pursuits, and they wear like crazy. I have bought four pair!

September 2, 2020

Nice fit, but terrible wrinkles

Nice fit and very comfortable, but terrible wrinkles, even hard to get out with an iron.

September 2, 2020

Different length

Love the shorts but they were too long. Would like to have a 7 inseam. I returned for the 6 which I like and kept but 7 would be perfect.

September 1, 2020

Size runs small.

I am used to a more of stretch fabric for action pants. These feel like they are too small and not designed for outdoor fun. OK for casual.

August 21, 2020

Awful fit

I can't even picture the body type these are meant for but it's not mine. I want them to fit because I want some shorts that are a bit heavier than the 'baggies' ones but still not super heavy. These would be a good medium. I tried a few sizes and lengths and they all have the same terrible fit. My waist measures 32 with a tape ... Read Moremeasure but usually 29-31 is what fits. 30 of these has far too big a waist. The fit top to bottom of the short is such that the belly part digs in but the rear falls down. The butt also just has no shape so you feel weird pressure points constantly and are always uncomfortable. It's like theyre for someone with literally zero glute muscles. Because of all the above they also then are always tight against the front of your knees but have way too much space behind your knees. Complete nonsense. They also have the horrific black patagonia logo on the knee that totally stands out against the color of the shorts and is just tacky and ugly. Very disappointed and really curious if theyre even having anyone actually wear their clothes for more than the time it takes to do a photo shoot for the website.

August 5, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

I ordered these shorts in Mojave Khaki for my husband, who is 5'7" and 34" waist. He loves them -- very lightweight (for hot VA summers) and comfortable with a TTS waist feel. As some other reviewers have noted, because these are hemp shorts, the legs tend to wrinkle if you've been sitting for a while and the wrinkles stay unles... Read Mores you walk around for a while. My husband doesn't mind/notice this -- I do, but I don't think it looks sloppy so it's not a big deal (I think wrinkles would be less noticeable in one of the darker colors). He wanted the 10" inseam originally but I felt like those would be too long so I ordered the 8" which are perfect.

August 4, 2020

Nice shorts, size is crazy-making

They are nice shorts, but my Size 36 stretch out to a Size 38 within day, and shrinking them in the washer did not hold. Bought a pair at Size 35, and they came out of the envelope Size 37---went back.

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2020

Hello Pete, we're really sorry the sizing didn't work out. Your feedback has been passed along to the Design Team. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you have any questions regarding your return.

July 17, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

Nice lightweight fabric is great in hot weather and very comfortable. Runs true to size or a tad small, do not size up. Having 3 inseam options is a plus.

July 14, 2020

I love these!

I was initially disappointed that the all-cotton All-Wear Shorts were replaced with a new cotton/hemp version. But having these new All-Wear shorts have changed my mind in every possible way! The fit and finish are perfect and the weight is perfect for hot summer days. I'm so happy and in love with these shorts!

June 26, 2020

Great shorts

These are really nice casual shorts. Light weight and very comfy. The only thing that I found to be a bit off the mark is the sizing, at least compared to some of the other shorts. I have several pair of the stand up shorts and compared to them, the LW Hemp shorts run about a size large.

May 8, 2020

Excellent Shorts

These shorts are great. The fit is perfect, although a bit more of an athletic fit it seems than the pure cotton version, which is a good thing! Excellent shorts for the Tucson heat, handle 100+ days like it's nothing.

April 30, 2020

Too wrinkly!

I loved the fit, color and comfort of these shorts. I didn't love how wrinkly they get with big creases in the groin area giving them a sloppy look. That's a dealbreaker for me and I'm sending these back.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

Thanks for that valuable feedback, Tim! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so don't hesitate to reach out to us. You might prefer the [Four Canyon Twill](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-four-canyon-twill-short-8-inch/57235.html?dwvar_57235_color=MJVK&cgid=mens-shorts) or the slightly longer [Back Step Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-back-step-shorts-10-inch/57736.html?dwvar_57736_color=CHNN&cgid=mens-shorts).

March 23, 2020

i bought all colors; theyre that good!

for reference, Im 511 and 155 lbs. i have a 32 inch waist but ordered 30s. every tailor tells me my waist is 32 but for some reason size 30/31 are the correct fit. i got 3 online from Patagonia, the pigeon blue, Spanish red, and pelican. loved them so much i got the other two colors from the Patagonia store in San Francisco. these fit true to size... Read More and are super comfortable. the 8 inch is the perfect median between nut huggers and bike shorts. i have yet to test these thoroughly, but the quality of the product has me confident they will hold up to the abuse ill give them from hiking and bike touring.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches