Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.44 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8"

4.44
True To Size
May 9, 2020

Best shorts I own

Look fellas, Im a tall and lanky dude. Its hard for me to find a pair of shorts that fit my getaway-sticks appropriately. On other shorts, the leg openings are so wide that I look like I walked out of the Lord of the Flies novel. BUT NOT THESE SHORTS. Not sir. These puppies fit just right. My thighs are gently caressed but not strangled by the leg ... Read Moreopenings. My buttocks are slightly accentuated but not inappropriately. The material is light and breathable. Over all, this product is great. I can wear these shorts to the rock climbing gym. I can wear them to the beach. I can throw a nice shirt and some stinky cologne on and hit up a bar. I love these things and I think you will too.

May 6, 2020

so close

First I would start with the fit of the shorts it is good but the waist does stretch almost a full size after a hike. I wish a size 29 existed Another idea which brings me to the next point is the draw string The existing stretchy one is not great and doesnt really work. Better would be a standard tie string like on swim or running shorts As others... Read More have mentioned on the 8 short the side pocket zipper has extra fabric on the inside.that interferes with the front right pocket. Every time you place your hand in the pocket you hit a flap of extra material that creates the wrong kind of bulge in the wrong place.

April 7, 2020

so close to perfect!

wow, these shorts are so close to perfect. fit is good just make sure you size down since the stretch material does loosen up after a days hike and this brings me to constructive criticism: 1 ditch the stretchy draw cord. it does not work; in fact it end up knotting up tight and is difficult to undo; just add a simple draw string like on surf trunk... Read Mores. 2 fix the inside stitching around the side zipper pocket; there is just too much extra fabric and it is bulky and interferes with the front right pocket.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Nico! Thank you so much for your great product feedback! We very much value this information and have passed it along to our Product Design team. Thanks!

March 31, 2020

almost. . .

The initial fit great, stretch great, pocket depth good, inseam length perfect. my criticism are the side leg pocket and the weirdo stretch draw strings (worthless). there is SOOOO much extra material that is makes this massive lump in the front and when you put your hand in the right pocket it hits and folds over the extra material. seriously i me... Read Moreasured it and there is an extra inch of fabric on the inside of the pocket at the end of the zipper. totally mental and kinda poor fit and finish for shorts of this price. i am working on cutting and sewing it how it should be from the factory. come on patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Buck. Thank you for your feedback on the Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8". We are sorry to hear about your issues regarding the fit of the shorts. We would be happy to suggest an alternative or assist your with a [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy). We do not suggest altering the garment yourself as it will void the [Iron Clad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) warranty on the item.

October 28, 2019

Favorite Shorts

These shorts are amazing, light weight, just enough give (stretch) and can take abuse. I wear them every day until they stand up on their own, then I wash them and put them right back on.

October 17, 2019

Hike Hike Hike Hike Hike

Well hello and thank you for making shorts names after one of my favorite mountains!

October 15, 2019

Great

Super comfortable and flexible. Love wearing these in town and hiking.

August 29, 2019

Well made shorts

Great shorts made from light material for use in warm weather! Fit is fairly slim, so if you have large thighs make sure to try them on prior to purchase. Overall I recommend them.

August 25, 2019

Great multi-purpose shorts: from city cafe to mountain trail

Bought a pair of these shorts to bring on a 16-day trip to Spain in July 2019, and they ended up being practically the only thing I wore. We were in Madrid, Barcelona, Costa Brava, and the Pyrenees. We hiked, swam, climbed, and visited small towns and big cities. We picnicked in the mountains and sat in sidewalk cafes in Barcelona. These shorts w... Read Moreere good for all of these different activities and places, and provided much needed comfort in the 90+ heat of the summer. I have typically worn a 32, but the 31 version of these fit like a glove. I still think they run close to true to size. The 31 fits me in what might be referred to as slim or almost form fitting, but when I tried on the 32, they were just too sloppy and a bit baggy. Also, I love the fact that you can get these in a shorter version - I purchased the 8 - and it is a perfect length. I personally hate too long shorts for men - so this length is great! I am 5'-10 and about 165. When I came home from Europe, I bought another pair. These are now my go to shorts for the Michigan summer. I have worn them on a recent camping trip, and even to work. I think my only real complaint is that the first pair is starting to pill a bit, but it is not that noticeable unless you are looking for it at a very close distance. These shorts are made very well, at the level that you would expect from Patagonia.

August 12, 2019

Love these!

These are my new favorite shorts. I wear them everywhere for any activity. I highly recommend!!!

August 10, 2019

Right length and fit

Great pair of shorts for hiking. Fit as advertised and don’t have that old cargo shorts look.

August 10, 2019

Quandary shorts are excellent

I already had a pair of quandary pants which I liked a lot, so I tried the quandary shorts. They're light, they feel great and they hardly wrinkle after many days of use. The single zippered pocket is useful but not obtrusive. I recommend them highly.

July 5, 2019

Great material & design

Three outta five stars. Love my pair but needs: 1) a more durable waist drawstring than the stretchy black cord that knots when you try to untie in a hurry; and 2) why aren’t these available in a DARK color, specifically black, indigo or navy?

May 19, 2019

Great Slim Fit Shorts

The lightweight and stretch fabric is extremely comfortable for hot/humid weather. The 8" length is right above my knees (I'm 5'5") and most shorts are too long for me. I originally ordered a 32" which was way too big and after ready reviews in the other lengths I opted for the 30" due to the stretch fabric. It fits me... Read More perfectly. I own all three colors now.

May 11, 2019

Great Shorts.. and customer service as well

Only tried them on, but they seem solid... pockets, material, and stretch were all as advertised. Slim fit so I went up a size... but that didn't work... yes, there's a drawstring thats not really advertised (nylon rubber band might be good description)... but that's good for like a 1/4"... might make difference in the water... ... Read Morebut not going to change the overall sizing much. Exchange via chat was quick and free return label works for me... with new ones on the way.

May 8, 2019

Great all around fit

The first pair of Patagonia shorts I have ever purchased and it won't be the last. Length is right above the knees where I like them and the leg openings are not so large that it looks like you are wearing a dress. After receiving my first pair I ordered two more so I have all the colors just in case they discontinue this product. Waist size 2... Read More9 fits me the best but they only carry 28 or 30 so when I realized these shorts have the elastic band to make them tighter it made me very happy and it works great. These are very well made shorts and awesome customer service when I had an issue ordering.

May 3, 2019

If you have muscular legs avoid this length

The slim fit turns these into booty shorts from the 70s. Not a good look, need to exchange. Bought 32s and wear 32s in everything else I own from P that fits wonderfully. If you are a biker or runner these will not fit you in your normal size. One star for very comfy feeling fabric and thoughtful design - as usual. The fit is totally bonkers though... Read More.

March 21, 2019

Clothing Buyer

Hesitant with the length at first, but they are the most comfortable shorts I own! Being a smaller guy, the slim fit works well but does not feel too slim being they have stretch.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches