Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.48 /5

Filter Reviews

All 52 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8"

4.48
True To Size
September 30, 2020

best short for travel

These shorts are great, they meet all of my needs. The fit is true to size and not baggy. The slash pockets are deep, as are the two rear pockets. Most importantly, there are two zippered pockets, so my things are secure from pickpockets, and from simply falling out while at the beach. The material is comfortable and stretchy. I own two pair. I&#x2... Read More7;d like it if there was a blue available!

September 24, 2020

I own 4 Pairs they are so great!

Probably the best short on the market today and in the past. I started with 1 pair and now own 4 pairs (3 Forge Grey and 1 Green). It's my most complimented short. Can't tell you how many strangers have come up to me and said that short looks great, who make it? The material is indestructible and very comfortable. I have even used a pa... Read Moredded bike short under at times. Has 2 zippered pockets very useful--wish it had one more. The crotch does hang a bit low on my waist, but that extra room in the short is helpful on the bike. I also have 5 pairs of the 10 inch Quandary Short also excellent. I alternate the 8 inch and 10 inch for different events and applications. You will not find a better fitting and quality short than the Quandary short here--I have used and tried on 100's over the years and this one is the best.

September 24, 2020

Not too long

Many shorts on the market are too long for many workout activities -- this size worked for me. Drawstring can be annoying at times.

September 22, 2020

Quiver Killer of Shorts

The Quandary Hiking Short is the quiver killer of shorts. You can wear this short doing anything... From work to hiking to the pub I wear my Quandary short so much that I'm going to need a couple of extra pairs. Finally, these shorts pack down super small. I can't recommend these enough!!!

September 15, 2020

No room for improvement

Im not a big reviewer, but I am opinionated. A short you can wear for several days MTB or hiking. I want every color bc theyre pretty ideal. Great fit and super functional. I wish there was a sturdy hemp version, tho.

September 12, 2020

Great all around shorts

Great shorts. Fit well

September 9, 2020

Awesome

Good cut, comfortable, and good for hiking and being active!

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great pair of shorts. Nice stretch. True to size for me. 61, 185 lbs. I have them in size 33.

August 17, 2020

Best Short on the Market

I have both the 8 and 10 inch short. The 8 fits better. Forge Grey is the best color followed by the Green. Great material--you can't kill it. Easy wash--looks new everytime. Soft and comfortable. I now own about 9 pairs of these shorts use them all over the world--you won't find better.

August 9, 2020

Great Shorts

These were a gift so I didnt have an exchange option. I wear 32 waist in everything but these shorts fit like theyre 2 inches larger in the waist and they bunch up too much when I use the draw cord or a belt. Only 3 stars because of this. The fabric, weight, ease of movement is exceptional. Id recommend them if you can try them on before purchasing... Read More. I wish I had a smaller pair.

July 22, 2020

Great hiking, everyday shorts

I hiked the JMT last summer in a pair of Patagonia baggies, but i wanted something with some more features for my day hikes and shorter backpacking trips, and these delivered! The pockets breath well, are well placed and easy to access on the move. I haven't used the cargo pocket, but it doesn't get in the way, and the zipper pocket works... Read More great for holding keys when you're running. I wear these basically every day when I'm not working. Great shorts!

July 13, 2020

One of the most versatile piece I own

These shorts are easily one of the most versatile Patagonia pieces that I own, and as result, easily one of my favorite. I picked up my first pair of these shorts sometime around 2015, I believe, and they immediately became my go-to shorts for a myriad of activities: hiking, mountain biking, offshore fishing, working around the house / yard, and co... Read Moreuntless days of pulling dad duty. They're cut well, comfortable, durable, and allow for ample freedom of movement. The fact that they're quick-drying is added an bonus. It's true that over time, they do begin to lose their shape a bit and stretch out; at least that is the case for my original pair. I haven't had the newest pair long enough to say whether that's still an issue (picked up my latest / 2nd pair in June 2020). What I will say though is that I'm not going to knock Patagonia for the fact that over time the shorts begin to stretch or lose their shape a bit. I've put the shorts through their paces, having worn them hundreds and hundreds of times over times over the span of several years, including wear them successive days on long hikes / backpacking trips. I'd say that's fair use and resulting fair fatigue in the material elasticity. The one thing I will clarify is that Patagonia sent me an email requesting a review for the 8" shorts - I bought both the 10" and the 8", and will be keeping the 10" and returning the 8". I'm about 5'10" and the 8" are a bit shorter than I like. My comments stand regardless of inseam as the length of the short is really just a matter of personal preference.

July 13, 2020

Perfect Outdoor Shorts!

I bought these shorts before a recent trip, and boy are they a beauty...wonderful fit and expert maneuverability. I am 6'3" /190 lbs with long legs and the shorts perfectly matched my expectations. They are a trim short (definitely not baggy!) and the length is spot on...it's wonderful to find a pair of shorts that doesn't hang ... Read Moreto my knees. Additionally, the shorts are light and stretch a little bit in the right directions. I was able to climb North Maroon Bells and nothing got in my way while we were moving up the Class 4 pitches.

July 13, 2020

What I needed

I have been stuck in my "dad rut" for a few year. Buy new clothes for my daughter and live with my same old stuff. After buying some amazing shirts from patagonia I decided to try some shorts. So glad I did. Quality and comfort is what this dad needed. No regrets and I will be getting more.

July 13, 2020

Versatile Shorts

Great set of shorts with just enough stretch to be comfortable without feeling cheap or flimsy. I ride my bike often in these and am always satisfied with how they perform both touring and commuting. The slimmer cut is also fashionable and goes with a variety of outfits.

July 12, 2020

One of the most versatile piece I own

These shorts are easily one of the most versatile Patagonia pieces that I own, and as result, easily one of my favorite. I picked up my first pair of these shorts sometime around 2015, I believe, and they immediately became my go-to shorts for a myriad of activities: hiking, mountain biking, offshore fishing, working around the house / yard, and co... Read Moreuntless days of pulling dad duty. They're cut well, comfortable, durable, and allow for ample freedom of movement. The fact that they're quick-drying is added an bonus. It's true that over time, they do begin to lose their shape a bit and stretch out; at least that is the case for my original pair. I haven't had the newest pair long enough to say whether that's still an issue (picked up my latest / 2nd pair in June 2020). What I will say though is that I'm not going to knock Patagonia for the fact that over time the shorts begin to stretch or lose their shape a bit. I've put the shorts through their paces, having worn them hundreds and hundreds of times over times over the span of several years, including wear them successive days on long hikes / backpacking trips. I'd say that's fair use and resulting fair fatigue in the material elasticity. The one thing I will clarify is that Patagonia sent me an email requesting a review for the 8" shorts - I bought both the 10" and the 8", and will be keeping the 10" and returning the 8". I'm about 5'10" and the 8" are a bit shorter than I like. My comments stand regardless of inseam as the length of the short is really just a matter of personal preference.

July 11, 2020

What I needed

I have been stuck in my "dad rut" for a few year. Buy new clothes for my daughter and live with my same old stuff. After buying some amazing shirts from patagonia I decided to try some shorts. So glad I did. Quality and comfort is what this dad needed. No regrets and I will be getting more.

July 10, 2020

Versatile Shorts

Great set of shorts with just enough stretch to be comfortable without feeling cheap or flimsy. I ride my bike often in these and am always satisfied with how they perform both touring and commuting. The slimmer cut is also fashionable and goes with a variety of outfits.

July 10, 2020

Great Shorts

love everything about them. wish they were true fit. little larger than expect, smaller size was too small.

July 10, 2020

Excellent shorts

Good quick dry material for on the boat and hot days. Better looking fit with the shorter inseam and trimmer legs. Holding up well so far.

July 9, 2020

Perfect Outdoor Shorts!

I bought these shorts before a recent trip, and boy are they a beauty...wonderful fit and expert maneuverability. I am 6'3" /190 lbs with long legs and the shorts perfectly matched my expectations. They are a trim short (definitely not baggy!) and the length is spot on...it's wonderful to find a pair of shorts that doesn't hang ... Read Moreto my knees. Additionally, the shorts are light and stretch a little bit in the right directions. I was able to climb North Maroon Bells and nothing got in my way while we were moving up the Class 4 pitches.

July 8, 2020

Legs Too Tight

The waist fit perfect. But the legs are so tight I could not move. If you have any leg muscles at all these will not work. Sent them back.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2020

Hello Mark, we're really sorry the legs ended up being too tight and so these had to be returned. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future!

June 30, 2020

Too tight.

I bought these for a pair of hiking shorts. The 33 fit well around the waist, but was definitely too tight around the hips and butt. When standing straight, the fabric was stretched at the hips; even more so when moving. I liked the material and function, but they are not made for an athletic guy with a strong butt.

Response from Patagonia
July 31, 2020

Thanks for this feedback, Chris! We're sorry to hear the sizing and fit of the Quandary Shorts have been disappointing. We'll be happy to [help](help.patagonia.com/s) you return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), in addition to making some product recommendations.

June 29, 2020

Just the right amount of stretch

These shorts are perfect for everything.

June 28, 2020

Great shorts for nearly any activity

I've been buying Patagonia products since the mid-70's, so a long time fan/customer. These shorts, like so many Patagonia products, lend themselves to a wide range of activities; with the fast drying, lightweight material you can jump from the trail to a favorite stream and back again. Good for a day of climbing and I'll sometimes ... Read Morewere these for in-town bike rides when bike shorts are not needed. As others have noted, the draw string is of no real use (for me). And, if I recall correctly, an earlier version of these shorts (of which I still have two) had a web belt sewn into the shorts (similar to the current Stonycroft short) eliminating the need for a "traditional" belt. I LOVED that feature and wish they still made this short so a regular belt was not needed. With all that said, I like the current version of this short and I'm getting a lot of use out of them.

June 26, 2020

Great Summer Shorts

I was looking to supplement (not replace; they won't die) a couple pairs of old Pat shorts, synthetic with built-in cinch belt, baggy and comfortable. This is as close to the old style as I could currently find. Much slimmer in cut, though not a problem. Internal drawstrings is a pain and not very useful. Either they pop over the waist of the ... Read Moreshorts or get caught in zipper. Ditch 'em. I would like to see them cut just a bit fuller, but that's about personal preference, not function. Also, love the stretch. Fully expecting these to last 10 years. For me, these are "go anywhere" for the summer months. Cheers.

June 26, 2020

Great in Hot Weather

Very satisfied overall. I live in South Florida and these are great for everyday wear during the 90+ summer heat.

June 26, 2020

Great Shorts

Very pleased with these shorts. Perfect for casual wear for the vertically challenged. Typical high-end Patagonia quality.

June 17, 2020

super comfortable

Great shorts for every occasion.

June 17, 2020

Sturdy and Comfortable

Awesome, could use a little more muscle space in the hip area, but awesome no less. Love the different lengths

June 17, 2020

Soft light and comfortable

I have always enjoyed Patagonia products. Ive worn their shorts for over 30 years. I particularly like the fit in the pockets. The addition of a cell phone pocket to the shorts allows me to organize the things in my pocket. Patagonia represents a major seasonal purchase for me. I know that I will have a product that I will wear, enjoy, and that wil... Read Morel last. I am retired, 73 years old, and very active. The shorts encourage and support my active lifestyle. I appreciate that

June 12, 2020

Best short there is!

I LOVE these shorts! Bought two pair and now have three pair of Quandary pants along with the shorts and have no regrets. So my dilemma was what size to go with (33 or 32) since I had heard the Quandary pant ran snug. In reading reviews on the shorts, majority of the reviews said these ran true to size. This is accurate... I tried on both pair of... Read More shorts and the fit was great. Even better knowing they will stretch a bit and fit more comfortably through normal wear. For reference, I am 6' / 180 lbs. and the 8" inseam is the way to go... they fit above my knees and that's what I prefer while hiking.

June 12, 2020

Best Shorts Ever

The Patagonia Men's Quandary Shorts have basically ruined every other brands shorts for me. The Quandary's pockets, fit and over-all comfort are fantastic. The shorts are super well designed. Unlike other shorts, I have never lost my cell phone by its falling out of a pocket with the Quandry shorts. Anyway, basically best shorts ever.

June 4, 2020

Great shorts, but not sized for athletic legs

So I have largeish thighs, but its not as if im massive, and these shorts were too tight around them, if I went a size up, it would be baggy on the waist. I wish this wasn't the case as they are really nice shorts.

May 9, 2020

Best shorts I own

Look fellas, Im a tall and lanky dude. Its hard for me to find a pair of shorts that fit my getaway-sticks appropriately. On other shorts, the leg openings are so wide that I look like I walked out of the Lord of the Flies novel. BUT NOT THESE SHORTS. Not sir. These puppies fit just right. My thighs are gently caressed but not strangled by the leg ... Read Moreopenings. My buttocks are slightly accentuated but not inappropriately. The material is light and breathable. Over all, this product is great. I can wear these shorts to the rock climbing gym. I can wear them to the beach. I can throw a nice shirt and some stinky cologne on and hit up a bar. I love these things and I think you will too.

May 6, 2020

so close

First I would start with the fit of the shorts it is good but the waist does stretch almost a full size after a hike. I wish a size 29 existed Another idea which brings me to the next point is the draw string The existing stretchy one is not great and doesnt really work. Better would be a standard tie string like on swim or running shorts As others... Read More have mentioned on the 8 short the side pocket zipper has extra fabric on the inside.that interferes with the front right pocket. Every time you place your hand in the pocket you hit a flap of extra material that creates the wrong kind of bulge in the wrong place.

April 7, 2020

so close to perfect!

wow, these shorts are so close to perfect. fit is good just make sure you size down since the stretch material does loosen up after a days hike and this brings me to constructive criticism: 1 ditch the stretchy draw cord. it does not work; in fact it end up knotting up tight and is difficult to undo; just add a simple draw string like on surf trunk... Read Mores. 2 fix the inside stitching around the side zipper pocket; there is just too much extra fabric and it is bulky and interferes with the front right pocket.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Nico! Thank you so much for your great product feedback! We very much value this information and have passed it along to our Product Design team. Thanks!

March 31, 2020

almost. . .

The initial fit great, stretch great, pocket depth good, inseam length perfect. my criticism are the side leg pocket and the weirdo stretch draw strings (worthless). there is SOOOO much extra material that is makes this massive lump in the front and when you put your hand in the right pocket it hits and folds over the extra material. seriously i me... Read Moreasured it and there is an extra inch of fabric on the inside of the pocket at the end of the zipper. totally mental and kinda poor fit and finish for shorts of this price. i am working on cutting and sewing it how it should be from the factory. come on patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Buck. Thank you for your feedback on the Quandary Hiking Shorts - 8". We are sorry to hear about your issues regarding the fit of the shorts. We would be happy to suggest an alternative or assist your with a [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy). We do not suggest altering the garment yourself as it will void the [Iron Clad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) warranty on the item.

October 28, 2019

Favorite Shorts

These shorts are amazing, light weight, just enough give (stretch) and can take abuse. I wear them every day until they stand up on their own, then I wash them and put them right back on.

October 17, 2019

Hike Hike Hike Hike Hike

Well hello and thank you for making shorts names after one of my favorite mountains!

October 15, 2019

Great

Super comfortable and flexible. Love wearing these in town and hiking.

August 29, 2019

Well made shorts

Great shorts made from light material for use in warm weather! Fit is fairly slim, so if you have large thighs make sure to try them on prior to purchase. Overall I recommend them.

August 25, 2019

Great multi-purpose shorts: from city cafe to mountain trail

Bought a pair of these shorts to bring on a 16-day trip to Spain in July 2019, and they ended up being practically the only thing I wore. We were in Madrid, Barcelona, Costa Brava, and the Pyrenees. We hiked, swam, climbed, and visited small towns and big cities. We picnicked in the mountains and sat in sidewalk cafes in Barcelona. These shorts w... Read Moreere good for all of these different activities and places, and provided much needed comfort in the 90+ heat of the summer. I have typically worn a 32, but the 31 version of these fit like a glove. I still think they run close to true to size. The 31 fits me in what might be referred to as slim or almost form fitting, but when I tried on the 32, they were just too sloppy and a bit baggy. Also, I love the fact that you can get these in a shorter version - I purchased the 8 - and it is a perfect length. I personally hate too long shorts for men - so this length is great! I am 5'-10 and about 165. When I came home from Europe, I bought another pair. These are now my go to shorts for the Michigan summer. I have worn them on a recent camping trip, and even to work. I think my only real complaint is that the first pair is starting to pill a bit, but it is not that noticeable unless you are looking for it at a very close distance. These shorts are made very well, at the level that you would expect from Patagonia.

August 12, 2019

Love these!

These are my new favorite shorts. I wear them everywhere for any activity. I highly recommend!!!

August 10, 2019

Right length and fit

Great pair of shorts for hiking. Fit as advertised and don’t have that old cargo shorts look.

August 10, 2019

Quandary shorts are excellent

I already had a pair of quandary pants which I liked a lot, so I tried the quandary shorts. They're light, they feel great and they hardly wrinkle after many days of use. The single zippered pocket is useful but not obtrusive. I recommend them highly.

July 5, 2019

Great material & design

Three outta five stars. Love my pair but needs: 1) a more durable waist drawstring than the stretchy black cord that knots when you try to untie in a hurry; and 2) why aren’t these available in a DARK color, specifically black, indigo or navy?

May 19, 2019

Great Slim Fit Shorts

The lightweight and stretch fabric is extremely comfortable for hot/humid weather. The 8" length is right above my knees (I'm 5'5") and most shorts are too long for me. I originally ordered a 32" which was way too big and after ready reviews in the other lengths I opted for the 30" due to the stretch fabric. It fits me... Read More perfectly. I own all three colors now.

May 11, 2019

Great Shorts.. and customer service as well

Only tried them on, but they seem solid... pockets, material, and stretch were all as advertised. Slim fit so I went up a size... but that didn't work... yes, there's a drawstring thats not really advertised (nylon rubber band might be good description)... but that's good for like a 1/4"... might make difference in the water... ... Read Morebut not going to change the overall sizing much. Exchange via chat was quick and free return label works for me... with new ones on the way.

May 8, 2019

Great all around fit

The first pair of Patagonia shorts I have ever purchased and it won't be the last. Length is right above the knees where I like them and the leg openings are not so large that it looks like you are wearing a dress. After receiving my first pair I ordered two more so I have all the colors just in case they discontinue this product. Waist size 2... Read More9 fits me the best but they only carry 28 or 30 so when I realized these shorts have the elastic band to make them tighter it made me very happy and it works great. These are very well made shorts and awesome customer service when I had an issue ordering.

May 3, 2019

If you have muscular legs avoid this length

The slim fit turns these into booty shorts from the 70s. Not a good look, need to exchange. Bought 32s and wear 32s in everything else I own from P that fits wonderfully. If you are a biker or runner these will not fit you in your normal size. One star for very comfy feeling fabric and thoughtful design - as usual. The fit is totally bonkers though... Read More.

March 21, 2019

Clothing Buyer

Hesitant with the length at first, but they are the most comfortable shorts I own! Being a smaller guy, the slim fit works well but does not feel too slim being they have stretch.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches